• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Xstep Beginners Advice

Redwingsrox5

So I've been playing for almost two months. As I began throwing I decided to take it slow and simple by just doing a stand still drive rather than learn the Xstep off the rip. My reasoning behind this was that I didnt want to have to think about too much when throwing when I didnt even know how to throw yet. Now that my throws have gotten more consistant, I think I'm ready to start practicing the Xstep. The issue I have now is I dont know where to begin. I've watched videos and everyone has their own opinion on how to work up to the full 3 steps, and everyone seems to have a different approach, speed and form. I've seen a lot of players do a very controlled, calm Xstep and have a smooth release. Others are almost a run up going for that extra power. But what I've found interesting is that even though I stand still and drive, my drives aren't too far off from my friends who do Xstep to drive. Sometimes I even beat their drives. Anyhow, any advice on where/how/what to do for learning the Xstep would help. I've tried it a few times and my throws are all over the place. Thanks in advance.

Footwork