Bellevue, NE

Aspen Park

Permanent course
2.385(based on 17 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Aspen Park reviews

Filter
12 0
knobby325
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 8.7 years 323 played 248 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Decent Park Course

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 31, 2023 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Concrete Pads
-Baskets OK
-Signage passable
-Quiet park

Cons:

-No elevation
-A few trees to work around, but not much
-A couple of missing tee signs

Other Thoughts:

Aspen Park (or Sun Valley Park) hosts a typical park course in the middle of Bellevue, NE. I was directed here by the local disc shop (Nebraska Disc Golf Company) as he knew I was looking for a short, rec style round. That is what you will get here. A typical park with several activities, playground, a pool, tennis courts, but the course stays mostly away from these. The concrete tees are nice, signage is adequate with exception of a couple that are missing. Ther are a few guardian trees along the way, but just a few to work around. I played on a spring Friday afternoon, so the park was quiet. I did enjoy my round but would probably opt for other courses nearby unless a niner to try some discs was at hand.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
aphilso1
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 6.4 years 52 played 49 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Beginner Course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 17, 2018 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great for beginners and for teaching kids. Typically very little use from other disc golfers and some of the holes have some real length -- that combo makes it a great practice course to unload on all of your distance drivers.

Cons:

Not a lot of trees and absolutely no elevation changes. Makes for a dull round. Also, this summer the city started allowing soccer matches in the middle of hole 7 one evening per week.

Other Thoughts:

Many holes feel like fieldwork that happen to have a basket at the end. For tha reason, this is my favorite course to go to when trying out new discs or trying to compare discs head-to-head for a slot in my bag. However, that also means the course is fairly boring if you're looking for a serious round. Course is not well marked, but it is well mapped on uDisc.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 2
Icky
Experience: 10.9 years 12 played 7 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Terrible layout 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 26, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

Open holes great for beginners or just letting some drive rip.

Cons:

Not a single marking or tee sign. I couldn't find hole one because most of the baskets aren't marked either. I found 1 teepad, threw to what I assumed was the correct target and then didn't know what to do after. There is no flow to to course, at least not one that I could figure out.

Other Thoughts:

Go here with a local if you want any idea of how it's played and where to start.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
HEFTYLEFTYSH
Experience: 3 played 2 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 7, 2017 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great practice course. Not heavily used, so you can take your time.

Cons:

mosquitos and bugs when wet or early evening.

Other Thoughts:

Nice quiet location. A great course to bring younger kids to who are learning to play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
The Valkyrie Kid
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 45.8 years 1563 played 1507 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Little Community Course Has Some Length! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 9, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Aspen Park (aka: Sun Valley Park) is hidden well back in this residential neighborhood. It's a decent sized city park that's totally flat with a smattering of mature trees.

The course begins by the pavilion. It has concrete tee pads an Discatchers with the yellow band and numbers. There aren't any signs but the course is pretty simple and instinctive to navigate. There is a nice variety of distances here varying from # 1's 190' ACE run to # 7 at over 600'. The trees don't provide a whole lot of obstacles as they're pretty easy to throw around.

Cons:

Flatness of the park.

Not a whole lot of variety, many holes felt similar.

No "Wow" factor. No hole will get you amped up.

No signage.

Other Thoughts:

I guess one of the pros here is the lack of players. I'm not sure if I consider that a pro or a con. There must be a reason players are flocking to Seymour Smith and generally ignoring old Aspen Park. There were a couple other players here. Both seemed to be working on their game by trying different discs and lines. This course is perfect for that kind of work.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 2
KingDonko
Experience: 8.7 years 18 played 3 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Fun little course! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 19, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Very nice concrete tees and nice baskets
- Great layout for the area they have available
- Fun beginner course. Wide open with few obstacles.
- Easy to find the next hole
- Well maintained

Cons:

- Not challenging for advanced players
- The park is kind of hidden off the main road. You have to drive through a residential area to get to it.
- There are no signs, but they really aren't needed on this course. For me it wasn't an issue. Once you know where hole #1 is you are set.

Other Thoughts:

Hole #1 is by the Gazebo next to the swimming pool. After that it is very easy to find the next tee box. Hole 9 ends on the opposite side of the swimming pool from #1 so it is an easy walk to 1 from the car and back to the car from 9.

I wish there were more little courses like this around. I really enjoyed this course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 4
pchitti
Experience: 14.8 years 36 played 5 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Its a course. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 22, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Good tees, baskets are nice, holes are layer out well for the area and obstacles available.

Cons:

Short, 9 holes in a very wet park, bring your off!

Other Thoughts:

Mosquitos suck, fun little course for a quick 9 if you don't want to fight the one disc wonders at Seymour. I would suggest taking the drive to Hummel for a real round, or Plattsmouth for a quick 9.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
mndiscg
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.8 years 480 played 477 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Not as Busy as Seymour 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 2, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

+Nice baskets and cement tees
+Nice park with ball field, pool, picnic areas, tennis courts, playground, etc.
+Large mature trees spread throughout the park
+I played on a saturday around 10 AM and there were only 3 other guys on the course
+Despite no signs, it is pretty easy to find your way around.
+One really long hole where you can air it out once or twice
+You shouldn't lose a disc here.
+Ace runs on most holes.

Cons:

-You play too close to backyards.
-There was garbage everywhere
-Besides the one long hole, all the others felt very similar. Not enough variation of any kind.
-No elevation change
-Trees barely come into play. Very easy to hit your lines here.

Other Thoughts:

+Seymour Smith was very, very busy on the Saturday that I played. I was ok with it as a visitor but I don't know if it would be fun for me to put up with that every weekend. Despite this course not being all that fun. I might use it here and there to get my disc golf fix instead of going to Seymour to wait at every tee.
+If you're a traveling player and have limited time, hit up Seymour and Hummel first and then leave courses like this for if you have extra time. This course is very close to Seymour so you might as well play it.
+Fun factor was low but it wasn't horrible. It did have the basics like good tees, baskets and it wasn't busy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 3
ZMesenbrink
Experience: 22.8 years 13 played 9 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Nice and relaxing 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 25, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Concrete tees. It's never busy. Good parking. Some long open throws, great for working on drives.

Cons:

I think the pads are a bit short. After a rain it is a marsh, beware. It's only a 9 hole course but play it twice and there you go.

Other Thoughts:

You really can't go wrong playing Aspen. It's well maintained and you can really work on accuracy while driving and not be punished too hard.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
Burd
Experience: 12 played 9 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Aspen DGC review 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 24, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Well maintained park with concrete pads and nice baskets with good shade cover from large trees in the park. Wide-open throws for big drives. Nice to play to get away from the traffic atSeymour Smith park up the road.

Cons:

Only a 9 hole course which am not a big fan of. Sometimes people at the park will picnic right on the pads for the holes because the course is so new and unused and they dont know apparently. Not much elevation change so course is a little dull but worth checking out.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
Nathan Stahl
Experience: 11.6 years 18 played 12 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Great for the family 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Nov 1, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

All concrete tee pads and very open. Like said before you can never loose a disk here. Take the family and have fun with them playing this flat open course. Being nine holes long it will be just enough not to bore the little ones.

Cons:

Very open and flat. It took a minute to get going the correct direction with no standard for marking. Some holes have the basket marked with the number and others have nothing. Three baskets where missing and only had a wooden stick for a target.

Other Thoughts:

Nice open park to practice your throws and not busy at all, but I went during the week day. Larger and nicer course just 2 minute drive from this one will always keep this course empty.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 1
mjareo
Experience: 2 played 1 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Fun Family course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 17, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Great course with your family - challenging for my kids without being too long that my younger ones get too tired by the end. Also great if you have limited time and you're looking for something to play quickly. I can jog this course in about 20 minutes. This is a good course for just some fun throwing.

Cons:

If you are looking for a challenge, it won't give you too much of one - there is one longer hole and a couple of trees guarding the basket on a few more, but overall it isn't going to push you too hard.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
tschirren87
Experience: 2 played 1 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Old Neighborhood Park 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 14, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Cement Tee Boxes
Lots of different distances from Tee to pin
Well manicured
Great course to introduce people to the game without them being intimidated.
Great family park activities for everyone

Cons:

Definitley One of The Blander courses in the metro area. Lots of the same.
Not many trash cans
Only one spot to sit

Other Thoughts:

Has the potential to be a very good course if trees are planted now to add some obstacles on course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Sl33pwalkn187
Experience: 19.8 years 5 played 4 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Sun Valley Park 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 25, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Does have cement Tee-off boxes. Most shots are pretty straight foreward; holes 7 & 8 are quite a walk. It is a nice "practice" course before going to Seymour.
I played all holes as par 3's

ACED #5 - 06/13/2013

Cons:

Not many trash cans. It is VERY open and bland, hardly any cover from the public or the adjacent houses. The course isn't labeled very well just the tee boxes and baskets are labeled, no signs. If you like to disc golf barefoot I wouldn't recommend it, my dog had sticky leaves (Sap) all over her and my feet were covered, took an hour to get the "gunk" off

Other Thoughts:

Well I grew up on 48th & Harrison so this is in my old neighborhood. I remember going to the pool as a kid. And playing baseball on one of the diamonds. Having a cookout with friends, great place for kids. Decent volleyball court.
I'm glad to see this new little 9 hole course. Its a good neighborhood. Great community. easy to find.
From Seymour park head East on Harrison, go past Bag N Save, turn right (south) onto Sun Valley Dr. Follow Sun Valley Dr to the 4-way stop. Turn Right (West) and follow that curvy road to the park.
First tee-off is at the Gazebo.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
Wheelz
Experience: 14.1 years 28 played 22 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Good Alternative 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 18, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Park Atmosphere... This small park is tucked back in a residential neighborhood and offers a quiet, albeit short, round of golf. It is mostly open with a few trees and a tennis court that comes into play. I haven't seen any vandalism since I've been playing there. There is a porta-potty at the park you can use if needed (not sure if this is kept year round). This course is a great alternative to the super-busy Seymour Smith course just down the road.

Tees/Baskets... This is a new course and the baskets and tee's are in great shape. Tee's are plenty long and the baskets are easy to see/find.

Layout... The courses uses the land available pretty well. It flows nicely and is easy to navigate. For being a small 9-holer, there are actually a few fairly long holes... even if they are straight ahead and open. Great course to take a beginner to. However, this also means...

Cons:

Little Challenge... While there are a few longer holes, it is still a point-and-shoot for the experienced golfer. Most of the holes are straight ahead and have few obstacles.

Location... This course can be a bit tricky to get to. It is right off of Harrison, but you have to drive through a residential area to get to the actual park. I got turned around my first time trying to find the course. Also, the locals call the place "Aspen Park", but I think the official name is "Sun Valley" park, so that could get confusing I suppose.

Other Thoughts:

Overall this is a fun little course. Great practice course for an experienced golfer - it has been pretty empty every time I've been there. Also a great course for a beginner as it is easy to navigate and not very challenging. Very hard to lose a disc. Fun factor was "meh". Not really worth making a special trip for. As previous reviewers have noted, could be a good warm-up round before hitting Seymour. I've driven to Seymour to find a line 20 yds long at the first tee, so I turn around and head for this park 5 minutes away. Hopefully word will get out and some of the rec players at Seymour will head to Aspen... SS needs to thin out some. Check it out if your in the area!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
JimmyJazz
Experience: 15 years 3 played 3 reviews
2.50 star(s)

not much to say 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 5, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Course was clean, baskets were all intact and undamaged. Lots of other activity in this park, but the tennis courts and playgrounds and such are pretty well segregated from the throwing course and kids aren't really cluttering up the course. The middle of the course runs by some private property, and you might get to see some horsies.

Cons:

Pretty bland, wide open and flat. not many trash cans. Tee pads short enough to feel constricting, and I don't even typically take much of a run-up.

Other Thoughts:

If you think of Aspen parks in terms of a practice course or a pre-Seymour warm-up, then it's totally satisfactory. Good option if you're in a rush and don't want to deal with the length and traffic of better courses
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
Hector Chain
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.8 years 222 played 189 reviews
1.50 star(s)

You won't be skiing at this Aspen... 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 31, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

There are concrete tee pads and bright yellow Disc-catchers on each hole.

The park has a safe atmosphere and had a good amount of traffic, although none of it interfered with the course. This park has a swimming pool, new-ish tennis courts, a volleyball pit, baseball fields, fun looking playground equipment...and somehow I'd never heard of this park.

This is a good course to introduce someone to the game. There are no crazy shots required here. There is some distance to content with, but nothing that would frustrate a casual player. It would require a phenomenally bad shot to lose a disc here.

The course will eventually have "B" tees.

Cons:

There is no real challenge here for intermediate and above players. Despite the course name, it is completely flat. And there aren't enough trees to really get in the way. I didn't find myself having to put a lot of thought into my next shot.

There is a very long hole (600'+) and one where the tennis court comes into play, but otherwise the holes are basically the same.

There aren't any tee signs, although navigation wasn't too tough. Start by the gazebo near the pool and aim at the basket in front of you (not the one farther away to the right). The only other tricky part is the long hole (#6?): the hole is far away in the other corner of the park, across the wide open field.

Other Thoughts:

Six months ago Omaha really needed a challenging course with some elevation and a rec-friendly course to divert some traffic from the overcrowded Seymour Smith. That is exactly what we got with Hummel and Aspen Park, respectively. So this is a welcome addition, even if experienced players might be underwhelmed.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top