Becker, MN

Becker City Park

3.685(based on 17 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Becker City Park reviews

Filter
3 0
Ratherbediscgolfing
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Solid course - well designed, good variety 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 7, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course has a good variety of holes - both wooded and open. It definitely takes some strategy and well-played shots to get through this course with a good score. This is definitely the best course in the immediate area.

Cons:

There are a few areas that can be a bit soggy if it has rained a lot (as it had when I was there), but it definitely was not enough to be anything more than a small additional challenge on a few holes. Most course navigation was not affected by the heavy rain.

Other Thoughts:

Great course with a good variety of holes - mostly wooded, some open, good basket positions, good technical holes. Great course!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
Moonpie Brown
Experience: 6.7 years 2 played 2 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Beautiful and dynamic 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 21, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This is easily my favorite course in the surrounding area. It has everything you could want in a course. The tee-pads are cements and the holes are accurately marked as well as being very graffic as to what lies ahead of you. It's maintained regularly and beautifully. The trees, and lanes are ideal, and challenging to conquer, but not seemingly impossible. Usually very open in the context that very few players are enjoying the trek, meaning the course is yours to play at your own pace. If you go into the woods, it's not very difficult to find your disc if you throw a slice or a strong draw as there isn't a plethora of short bushes off of the fairways. This course is truly beautiful. It offers a couple of challenging doglegs which test your precision when it comes to laying up for an ideal approach. The water hazards are mainly to the side, so there isn't much danger there, but it is an element to keep in mind, as well as one i genuinely enjoy.

Cons:

For all of you bombers out there, this course may frustrate you. The holes can be long enough to put all you have into it, but it truly tests your accuracy. Only one hole (#5) is completely wide open, allowing you to just let it fly freely, however if you miss the fairway and find yourself in the tall grass off of the fairway, it can be very difficult to find your disc. so, if you throw into that tall grass, do not take your eye off of where it landed the entire walk to your disc as simple spotting your end point is certainly not enough to retrieve your disc in a timely fashion.

Other Thoughts:

Close to perfect.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 4
Wetlawnmulch
Experience: 25.9 years 12 played 5 reviews
2.50 star(s)

sub par course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 12, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

There are 6-8 well designed holes.
You have the course mostly to yourself

Cons:

One of the poorest courses for signage. Lucky I had my phone and the map from this site. Poor guy in front of me left 2 mins before I started and I caught him on hole 5 because he didn't know where to go.
Most of the wooded holes are pull and pray, but even a bad shot should be a 3.
Distances on the long tees are completely in accurate. I'm a 400 ft average driver, the sign said 340 ft and I was still 20 feet short.

Other Thoughts:

There are too many good courses in this area to ever play this course again. The ovetall course design is very poor considering the space between holes and overall space available.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 2
Murderous Monkey
Experience: 12.6 years 19 played 7 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Average 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 27, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Short and long tees
-Nice baskets
-Some elevation changes
-Blend of both open "field" holes and wooded holes.

Cons:

-Poorly marked, missed a hole because we didn't know where to go.
-Too many other trails as someone else mentioned that I could see (and we did) going down the wrong trail.
-Some lower areas where water puddles, can see this being a bug-magnet.
-Tees are not uniform, some of the concrete ones are short, others longer.
-As another reviewer said, the plastic yardage markers are smashed, and I'm not too sure they are accurate.

Other Thoughts:

Pretty decent course, I'll hopefully play it again before I leave, but it was an average course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
notapro
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.6 years 568 played 281 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Beginner/Intermediate 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 22, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Course is set in the back portion of a large multi-use park, away from the playgrounds and such. The disc golf is pretty well separated from any other activities, except for horse trails and a run-down pavilion.
- A good amount of the holes here are set in the woods or forest in some way or another. There are holes with tighter, almost tunnel-like lines with lots of small trees to avoid off the fairway, like #1, #2, #3, #6, the first half of #7, #9, and #15 thru #17. Decent job of mixing up RHBH hyzer shots, straight shots, and anny/flick shots. #7, for instance, is a sharp hyzer/dogleg left past a tight gap, #3 finishes uphill and right under some mature trees, #16 is a sharper flick shot, pretty good variety.
- Other holes have more open lines, with mature trees and larger patches of forest to get around. #4 is a downhill shot that is a RHFH or RHBH hyzer around a big row of trees, #8 is an uphill shot underneath a large, low hanging tree, #11 has a gap off the tee into a more open area, and #12 and #13 are pretty open with low and wide bushes/trees to avoid. #5 is the most open; a nice long downhill bomber.
- Some elevation changes present here, like the big downhill shot on #5, some decent uphill shots on #7 and #8, a little downhill slope on #9 and #15, and some uphill slope on #3 and #14. Enough to keep things interesting.
- Decent mix of hole lengths; the course follows the usual tight/short and open/long format. A lot of the tighter holes are on the short side, like #1 at 220', #6 at 253', #16 at 251', and #17 at 200'. Still, some longer wooded shots that are pretty tricky, like #3, #14, and #15. Longer holes are here to bust out the drivers, with five over 400', and the big boy at 801'.
- Practice basket here, and baskets are good overall. Nice concrete long tees, natural short pads have informative maps. Navigation is pretty easy, with signs to help get around. The ten hole loop is well marked, and is pretty convenient.

Cons:

- I guess the biggest con here, is that some of the tightly wooded holes are kind of short, and aren't too exciting. It's definitely a challenge to hit the gaps, for sure, but they are pretty straightforward and kind of repetitive at times. A few holes in the open aren't too exciting either, like the pretty open #11 and #12. A small gripe, but the fun factor is a little lacking.

Other Thoughts:

- Overall the course offers a good variety of holes; there are the short wooded ones, decent length open ones, a few longer wooded ones, decent variety of lines, and some elevation changes on top of that. It is usually just a little bit of this and a little bit of that on each hole, so there aren't any crazy ones, but it is pretty solid start to finish. Definitely well suited for beginners or intermediate players; more advanced people will tear it open.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
The Valkyrie Kid
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 45.8 years 1563 played 1507 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Just Slingin In The Rain! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 21, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

This is another course I attempted to play under the worse of conditions-Monsoon Rain Storm. My less than overwhelming experience here had to be adversely affected by the conditions.
The course features a variety of holes regarding both length and lefty-righty. Some players comment on the extreme technicalness of this course with all it's trees while others love the 2-3 wide open holes which really give you a chance to air it out, like # 5, 850' across the open field.
There are two natural tees per hole. I don't think they are the best. Concrete, rubber mats or patio blocks would be a huge improvement.
Becker has the DGA white plastic signs. They're always broken. To me, they're an open invitation to the vandals and punks who stalk our courses at night, saying "Break me." Might as well be glass,
Some of the newer pads were longer and have simple wooden signs (much more vandal resistent).

Cons:

I had a really difficult time navigating this course by myself. Of course, the locals were smart enough to all be safely under cover somewhere in this rain. But I found myself constantly wondering back and forth in this labyrinth of horse trails, cross country ski trials, disc golf tails, old Indian trails and the Oregon trail. I must confess, it might have been better on a sunny day with some other players to follow.
I didn't like # 7, 431' down a ski trail. It's not a hole that anyone could air it out on. It's just a hole that one could get into big trouble on once you get off the fairway.

Other Thoughts:

Apparently, most everyone else is a little more enchanted with this course than I am. Even taking in account the miserable conditions I encountered here, I can't bring myself to give this course a rating which equals Very Good. I hope I have a chance one day to return and play it under brighter skies, perhaps with a knowledgeable local to guide me through the maze the trials.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
whitechocolate
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.9 years 437 played 23 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Play the longs 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 15, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

-decent park amentities
-variety in holes
-semi-secluded

This is a fun 18 hole between the Twin Cities and St. Cloud. The course is a park which seemed to have enough parking, restrooms, pavilions, and playground space to use. To get to hole one you need to walk past the building and through the volleyball court. It is easy to find with the giant sign that tells you where hole one is.

The course plays in and out of the woods in the back end of the park. It offers a good variety of holes with some elevation changes, shorter technical holes, and longer more open holes. It lets you throw your drivers and air them out in places, and work on your control in other more shaped holes.

If I leave in the general area this course would have a good potential for my workout course. It is not as busy (when I was there) and could work on multiple shots and focus on certain parts of my game. If offers enough of a challenge where a high rated player can get something out of it, but not overly challenging where an amateur could still enjoy it without shooting too high.

Cons:

-uneven natural tees
-slightly challenging to navigate
-shorts are basically a deuce or die course

From the longs, the challenges are definitely there. From the short tees, all with the except of maybe 6 are "deuce or die" holes. There is some wooded and technical parts that people who cannot shape a line would struggle with, however, the mosquitos were so bad that I played the shorts from 11 through 18 and I deuce 5 of those holes without putting my bag down. However, please note I am a stronger short wooded player and a solid putter. So these holes are to my advantage. I would like to see the shorts be a little more challenging. It is great for beginners, family, or large groups, however, a solid pro should be shooting in the low 40s from the shorts.

The teepads at the course need some loving. Some were decent, a couple were mediocre, and a couple were terrible. I did come after a recent rain storm so there was some standing water in places including tee so that may have been the problem. But love was needed for the tees indeed.

Other Thoughts:

Overall it is a fun course. It seems like a good place to play a round from the shorts, then a round from the longs, which I would have done if I had more time. Shorts are beginner friendly, Longs offer the challenge a seasoned player is looking for. I enjoy other courses in the Twin Cities area a little more, however, I could easily see myself coming back to this place again. The shared trails that the course weaved in and out of I only ran into a group of kids on BMX bikes a couple of times. Pretty much had the course to myself.

If you are out this way and want a quick 18 hit the shorts. If you're looking to be challenged some hit the longs. There is something for everyone. This may not be as fancy as some of the other courses in the twin cities, however, if they got cement teepads installed (especially on the longs), it would hold up well against the other courses in the area. If footing for driving is an issue for you, you will probably not like this course too much. If you don't mind the natural./grass pads it is a good play. With two sets of tees, gives it added value. So I gave it a 3.5. Some concrete or level flypads would give it a 4.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 0
ejsandstrom
Experience: 12 played 6 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 19, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Nice variety of terrain and elevation. The Pro tees can add difficulty not just distance. It requires you to use a variety of shots on most holes. It is well marked for a 10 hole cut off. Baskets are in reasonable shape. The 800 yard hole is a nice feature. A few blind holes make this a well rounded course.

Cons:

Tee boxes are horrid. Huge holes and ridges. Concrete Tee pads would go a long way to improving this course. The bugs (including ticks) are thick so make sure you have spray. The woods have thorns and poison Ivy. The open fairways could be mowed more often. The 18th basket is missing but you can dog leg to the practice basket.

Other Thoughts:

There are a few garbage cans around but people still seem to leave trash. A bathroom on the 9th would be a nice feature. This is a multiple use park so Horses have been known to make deposits. Watch your step.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
Martin Dewgarita
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.3 years 1559 played 93 reviews
3.50 star(s)

A Gem of the sourrounding area 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 16, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Opening thoughts:
I only wish I had a bridge across the river nearby as I "live" about 3 miles from this course, but it's over a 20 mile drive to get there. As it's one of the nearest courses though, it's well worth the drive, for a road trip from the cities I'd pair it with the St. Agusta course, with maybe even a stopover at the Clearwater course. For myself, it's the first choice in courses within 30 miles (this includes the courses from St. Cloud to Monticello and down as far as Annandale.

Variety of holes. I find a good challenge here, from accuracy shots, a technical variety, a few nice ace runs, and the wide open 800 foot bomb of a hole, number 5. The course is well laid out and will require a large variety of shots.

Fairways. All holes have a distinct fairway that is well maintained, in the woods, obviously trees line the fairway. And on the open holes, the fairways are mowed, surrounded by long prairie grass.

Few People. This course is busier than several of the surrounding courses, but still I never ran into a crowded course like in the cities, or St. Cloud. Only one time did I have to wait for a group of punk kids (about 7 of them playing together) that didn't have the common sense to let a solo player, play through. Otherwise the people I've met there have all been awesome.

Well Kept. Very little litter and well maintained.

Cons:

Construction. I'm not quite sure what's going on on holes 11 and 12, but the piles of dirt and rocks are a bit of an eyesore, though if played well shouldn't really be an issue.

TeesDirt or gravel tee boxes could always be improved, but here they're better than I've seen them other places, so I don't let it affect the rating, just worth mentioning.

Navigation The layout isn't terribly confusing, but there is very little signage pointing you to the next hole. I found myself wandering for a few minutes between 3 and 4. When teeing off on hole 4, look directly left of the short tee - there's the tee for # 5, it's not down past the basket. A pointer - if you're trying to play all 18 holes, don't follow the "10 hole cutoff" signs, seems simple enough - but it often appears that the next logical tee placement is where that particular sign points.

Missing Basket. Hole 18 has no basket as of 4/16/10.

Other Thoughts:

Closing Thoughts:
Though I can't think of many pros, in fact my list of cons out number the list of pros, I give this course a 3.5 disc rating. I really enjoyed the layout, the variety of holes and the overall challenge of this course. A few upgrades would be nice - nice tees/a basket on hole 18, these would bring my rating up to a 4 or 4.5 even. Definitely worth a play if you're in the area.

Favorite hole:
I'll go with #4, A challenging sharp dogleg left. A downhill approach shot, if place perfectly will set you up for an accuracy shot through a tunnel of trees at the pin. I enjoy this type of challenge. I do quite enjoy the monster number 7 though, a long downhill with the wind bomb is always fun to throw.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
deadbody
Experience: 20 years 152 played 66 reviews
3.50 star(s)

can a course be too wooded? 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 28, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

Very good mix of woods and open, good mix of short and long holes, good mix of right and left turns and straight, good use of elevation.

Many holes that are birdieable with a good drive, but missing the fairway will cost you strokes, control needed.

Cons:

No cement teepads, I slipped a couple times on drives. Almost too many trees, there are a couple holes where the is no real line, you just have to throw to the first opening and hope. Can get very overgrown during the summer, making finding a disc on the open holes a pain.

Other Thoughts:

Horse rides take place on some of the paths, you ned to watch for them as a disc will spook them at times. Overall a fun course, and if cement tees were added I would very likely go back and play in the spring and fall.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
mndiscg
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.7 years 480 played 477 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Great Course! 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 28, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Great mix of wooded and open holes.
-Wooded holes have the right amount of trees to make it a challenge without it being obnoxious.
-Tees are all marked with signs. Long and short for almost every hole.
-Good navigation signs, overall easy to follow.
-Signs that help you play just a 9 hole round if you're in a hurry.
-A decent amount of elevation.
-Lots of variation in distance. Ranges from around 200 to 800 feet.
-All fairways are mowed and the underbrush isn't too thick so losing a disc isn't too easy.
-Not too many people on the course, a course this good should be played more often.
-Adequate parking with a porta-potty right at the start.
-Some fun pin locations tucked into the woods or in a depression make for tough and interesting shots.
-Pretty easy to find just a few miles off us-10.
-Not alot of bugs for a MN course.

Cons:

-Tees are just marked with a sign and a little gravel. Cement tees would be a huge and welcome upgrade.
-Some of the signs are confusing or you can see more than one basket on a few holes but once you play through once it shouldn't be a problem.

Other Thoughts:

To get to hole one park in the lot and walk between the shelter and playground. Keep your eyes on the woods ahead of you and you will see a sign for hole one.

This course was overall an enjoyable play and i'll go back if im in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
Husky22
Experience: 14.7 years 9 played 1 reviews
2.50 star(s)

It's OK 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 17, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course definitely requires you to be able to make a good drive on every hole if you want a chance at birdie or par.

It has some nice holes, like the 800 foot hole, but a lot of the holes become repetitive.

Some good risk/reward situations that can really change a round.

Multiple Tees

Cons:

The course is fairly repetitive, half of the holes are straightaway par 3's of short/medium distance with trees lining the fairway.

The teepads are just gravel and some don't really serve much of a purpose.

Its very easy to turn a good round into a bad round with one or two bad drives. If you miss some of the fairways you're going to struggle to get a 4.

The bugs are awful so bring a ton of bugspray.

Its also fairly easy to lose a disc on this course. Plan on looking for your disc a few times throughout a round.

Other Thoughts:

This is a fairly good course but I wouldn't recommend going out of your way to play it. If you don't enjoy playing through the woods then this isn't the course for you. The best hole on the course (#5) is 810 feet from the long tees and its a really good hole. Makes the course a 2.5 instead of a 1.5 or 2!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
tolson
Experience: 48.5 years 153 played 10 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great Course in Becker 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 24, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

As with ball golf courses that I enjoy and rate highly -- those that require the use of an entire bag of clubs -- Becker challenges the disc golfer to use all her/his discs in the bag and a full arsenal of throwing techniques. What makes this a 4.5 in terms of course design (the 0.5 deduction and resulting 4.0 overall rating, is for the "deductions" I make in the Cons section), is the diversity of the holes and shapes of throws required.

In a nutshell, the following are the obvious plusses. For those that like details, read beyond the summary points.

(1) Diversity of holes in terms of the following:
-- Directionals: Straight / Left / Right
On the left-right holes, great variety that forces you to choose your range of stabilities, from very overstable to very understable discs. I did not record the exact hole-count of straights, lefts and rights, but an intuitive sense is that it is as balanced a combination as you'll see in any course around.
-- Tight technical holes vs. wide open bust-your-arm holes
All but four holes have significant thinking required regarding the release of your drive -- i.e. there are obstacles not too far away to consider. Some of these "technical" holes are real pinball (or, if you prefer the Japanese equivalent, pachinko) alleys, while others simply require you to make sure you launch relatively straight for the first 150 to 200 feet of your drive's flight path. Every course, I think, should have at least two or three holes where you can snap your wrist on the drive with abandon. Becker has a few of these, especially #5.
-- Thinking and technique required: The diversity of required throw shapes and degree of precision caused by the two aspects above force the disc golfer to consider hyzers, anhyzers, rollers, tomahawks and whatever other techniques they may have up their sleeves.

(2) A natural setting that is pleasing to the eye and senses. Nothing spectacular (in other words, no snow capped mountains or rushing mountain streams), but a pretty blend of hardwood forests, nature and horse-riding trails, and open prairie-type holes that are representative of classic central Minnesota scenery.

Here are some details for those who crave it:

Hole #1 sets the tone of what you will expect much of the round: a pause at the tee pad to ponder what disc to throw as well as to how best to navigate the various options on reaching as close to the basket as possible. It's a rather short starting hole, but precision is required, so take out the disc you trust most for accuracy.

As with #1, the following two holes require you to launch the disc at least 200 feet ahead without striking the many trees and overhanging leaves. If you slip in your final step before the launch (easy to do because of some uneven tee pads -- see "Cons") or in your release, you will be penalized with challenging approach shots to the hole that will make a pro par of 3 difficult.

#4 and #5 are a welcome respite from the heavily wooded first three holes and the accompanying bugs. It's nice to swing your arms a bit more freely after starting off carefully on the starting three. #5 is especially pleasing as you need to crank the disc over 800 feet. The inaccurate, big-arm thrower -- no doubt frustrated with a bogey or double bogey so early in the round -- will relish the chance to show up the DG partners with a big launch from atop the small hill to the open basket at the far end of the open field.

Rather than detail every hole, let me jump to a few more of the notables:

The dogleg #7 and #11 (I think). These two holes were 400+ foot 90-degree doglegs; after drives that require technical precision, hole #7 does a sharp turn to the left into an open field & basket and hole #11 -- I think -- does a sharp turn to the right into more trees and a well protected basket. #7 is especially a unique design; one that I have not seen at in the many courses I've played here in the US (mostly MN) and in Japan.

Becker's "Amen Corner" -- #12, #13 and #14 -- is not as memorable as that of the Master's Augusta National of ball golf fame, but they do serve a nice function and are interesting enough. Like #4, #5 and #8 of the outgoing 9, these three holes provide a temporary relief for the disc golfer who feels claustrophobic in the pinball alley holes.

The last four holes are a nice way to finish. #15 and #16 are wooded enough that they tempted me to thread the needle with rollers. #17 is the shortest on the course. I imagine there have been some holes-in-one on the hole, but to do so requires curving it around and through several trees to a well protected basket. And the finish? Throw it through the goal posts (two trees) and you are literally out of the woods and headed home onto the field that is adjacent to the parking lot.

Highly recommended for those passing through the area -- not too far from Hwy 10 and 15~20 minutes off of Interstate 94 -- and definitely recommended as well for those who don't mind an hour's (or more) drive from the Twin Cities area.

Cons:

No "Cons" to speak of in terms of course design. This is a 4.5 (or more) for design and layout. I would rate this course a solid 4.5 if it were not for the following nit-picky areas for improvement:
-- Some uneven tee pads. This is a course that is shared with horse riders (although I have not run across equestrians during the five or so weekday times I have played the course) and nature walkers, so it would not be eco-friendly, I suppose, to go with concrete tee pads. The downside of this is that, unless there is regular maintenance to keep the gravel/sand tee pads level, there will be depressions and loose surfacing to sidestep when you plan out your tee launch. In order to not slip or trip, I found myself testing my run up ahead of time on quite a few of the tee pads.
-- For first-timers, you may become confused in navigating the location of the next hole on a few occasions. You may experience this on these hole-to-tee transitions: #2 to #3; #3 to #4; and, if memory serves me correctly, between #11 and #12 and #14 and #15. No worries, though. Do a bit of exploration and you'll find the correctly marked tee sign. If you get lost for half a minute, think of it as extra exercise.
-- Not too important and nothing to do with the course design: Amenities are okay by the parking lot, but during the round, which can become lengthy, you're totally on your own -- i.e. no restrooms or drinking fountains. But hey, that's the beauty of being in nature.


Other Thoughts:

The easiest way to find this course? Just follow the signs to the Pebble Creek Golf Course -- a gem of a course if your'e a ball golfer -- and drive past the course an extra quarter of a mile. The entrance to the park will be on the left hand side. After you have parked, walk past the right side of the park building and go 150 yards or so past the open stretch of grass toward the woods at the top of the hill. Hole #1 starts here.

As I have only played this course during the summer vacations I take in Minnesota, I am basing my rating on playing alone in uncrowded conditions in the late mornings or mid-day range of summer weekdays. (I've never bumped into any other players in the five times I've played.) It would be fun to see how frequent-playing locals attack some of the holes.

Another bias of mine to know: Since my driving distance is limited (I'm an aging Grandmaster), I prefer technical courses that require precision and forethought off the tees.

Bring bug spray.


Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 4
Moptop88
Experience: 16.9 years 15 played 7 reviews
5.00 star(s)

You MUST Play This Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 1, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-This course has everything; challenge, distance, woods, open fields.
-Course allows for every type of shot; forehand, backhand, overhead, EVERYTHING.
-Incredibly scenic
-Course has distance shots, dog legs (both left & right), densely treed holes requiring skilled placement.

Cons:

-Bugs (including mosquitoes & ticks) are quite commonplace here and can get quite bad during the summer months. With several holes surrounded by tall grasses, it's quite necessary to check yourself after looking for your disc.
-Filling up the gas tank to play here can be quite expensive depending on your location.

Other Thoughts:

The only cons I can think of for this course are quite simply small-hat and trivial compared to the vastness of the pros. I firmly believe this to be one of the best courses in the state, with one of the best varieties of challenges and shots in the state.
If you play this course a couple times a day, for a couple days back to back, I guarantee you will see a noticeable improvement in your skill after just a couple of days like I did.

Summary:
You have NOT seen what Minnesota disc golf courses have to offer if you haven't played this course.
Play early in the year to avoid ticks.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
Cradical
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.7 years 110 played 61 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 2, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

There are many good things about this course. For starters, the holes are nicely varied. There is such a wide variety that every player would be challenged playing here.
One of the nice things you notice right away is how nice the course looks. It is one of the most scenic courses I have been to.
Another major thing was the length of the holes. One of the holes was 850 feet and a few others were also pretty long throws. This really forces good consistent throws as well as good approach shots.
There is some pretty good signage if you study it.

Cons:

It looks as if some of the holes could have some really tall grass in the summer months, so you could be looking for your disc a while on errant throws.
The course set up was pretty tricky to navigate. I think a course map would be greatly appreciated, but I don't remember where any of the holes are.

Other Thoughts:

Be careful of horses in the summer
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
stevep
Experience: 45.9 years 3 played 3 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Becker city park 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Oct 20, 2008 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Good elevation changes. Lots of technical shots because of trees in the fairways. A few open holes and one hole 850ft. There are dual tee boxes for each hole. This course is a hidden gem.

Cons:

A lot of distance between the holes. They could have added several more holes. The tees are dirt and gravel but are in good shape.

Other Thoughts:

Good course for strong winds as most holes are sheltered in the trees. I would recommend to anyone who likes a challenging technical course.
This is my second favorite course in the Twin Cites area. Everyone should take the time to play this course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 3
Ultraplop
Experience: 21.8 years 82 played 6 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Becer City Park Review 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 22, 2007 Played the course:never

Pros:

Lots of variety with some interesting challenges. The course makes liberal use of tree obstacles so you really have to focus on accuracy on many of the holes.

Some holes are fairly open, but you still will want to have some accuracy to avoid going in the brush.

Cons:

poorly marked course an easy to play holes in the wrong order or miss them entirely.

I ran into some nasty poison ivy here, so be careful where you step.

Very easy to lose discs here.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top