South Lake Tahoe, CA

Bijou Community Park

Permanent course
4.045(based on 45 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Bijou Community Park reviews

Filter
13 0
NorcalJake
Experience: 34 played 8 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Pleasure in the Pines! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 20, 2021 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

I have played this course three times now. But really, each time I have played additional holes/loops because it's so easy. Got lucky with the smoke from the Tamarack fire today... pretty clear. Devastating loss of Turtle Rock DGC! Wanted to play it on this trip and review... Only played once.

+ very nice practice area (parking island) with two baskets near the start of each loop
+ you can start on hole 1, 10 or 16 from the same area
+nice yellow discatchers look great in the pine forest and flags are a nice touch for wind and quickly finding baskets
+ mulching keeps the dust down and makes it pretty and a groomed golf course feel.
+ benches galore! Never at a loss for a place to sit or set your bag on every hole.
+ tee pads are level and firm and nice n' big
+ tee signs are good and seem accurate but looks like they keep adding pins by using permanent marker on the signs (not a con really but tougher to find these additions, may be due for updated signs?)
+ Gorgeous scenery. Walk in the park.
+ Uses elevation about as good as you can on mostly flat course
+ although I like more elevation the flatness makes it a breeze to play multiple rounds and loops without burning out.
+ Really cool raised basket on 20 in a large stump when I played. They made it look nice with some stain, steps...
+ Great mix of short/long, tight/open.
+ water fountains throughout and public restrooms
+ convenient right in town (South Lake Tahoe) - easy to grab supplies, food etc., and return for more!
+ cool original blue plastic tub basket near hole 1! A local told me how these were the course's first baskets. Cool history!

Cons:

- some holes have tree spacing that borders on unfair/poke-n-hope mid fairway
- front 9 feels a bit exposed to roads, park users, dog park etc.. compared to the back 18, not nearly as cool
- some tee shots can feel repetitive

Other Thoughts:

Looks like they had some temp tees set up for an upcoming tournament. Sign on hole 20 says to skip two holes. There's some construction/trail work going on. The temp holes are kinda blah compared to the regular layout, but you can still play 27...

The cons are no big deal. This course is so enjoyable! I give it an easy 4.5. For myself I want some more serious elevation for a 5.0 The Club takes such great care here and it works surprisingly well in a park with a bunch of other actiivities (skateboard park, basketball, sand volleyball, dog park, bike park). Although the course is a bit tight to the bike park woop-dee-doos. Might not be the hardest course but I think almost all levels could really enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
elvenschool
Experience: 41.9 years 12 played 12 reviews
4.00 star(s)

One of the Finest 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 18, 2020 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

27 holes -- that's an experience you can't get in many places.
Wide variety between short and long holes.
Terrain varies from wide open throwing holes to tight tree clusters protecting the basket from approach.
Multiple pin positions guarantee a changing course every time.
Large tee boxes provided plenty of room for winding up.
Layout tends to prevent cross traffic.
Good mix between downhill and uphill fairways, with some that are mostly level.
Every shot in the bag is needed here and people that bring the baby carriage might actually use every disc.
Brooms, benches, garbage cans are available on almost every hole.
A general lack of weeds mean the roller is in play on many fairways.
Plenty of parking and a decent practice area.
Unlike certain high level courses, you never get the sense that the designers wanted to create some holes where you were likely to lose a disc after a bad shot, although the park certainly has that potential.

Cons:

Popular course given its quality and the large number of local golfers. You will find yourself waiting on occasion.
It's dusty, but that's not unusual in California.

Other Thoughts:

Outside of Kirkwood, no other course in the Tahoe area compares to the Bijou. If you have only once choice for a course to visit in the area and don't have the time to run out to Kirkwood, then you must play the Bijou course. Zephyr Cove is a manzanita fest and North Shore is not worth the trip in comparison. It's right in town, easy to get to, and a full test of your skills.
A beginner could still have fun here, but they need to temper their expectations, have walking endurance, and face the frustration of holes that have fair layouts, but are surrounded by trees.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
MoragaMaverick26
Experience: 9 years 4 played 2 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Great Tahoe course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 18, 2019 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

- 27 holes with DISCatchers (personally my favorite targets)
- Each hole has at least three pin positions
- Positions clearly marked by a washer
- Great rubber tees with brooms to brush off dirt
- You can easily choose to play 9, 18, or all 27 because the front 9 and back 18 are separated by about 50 feet and a sign directs you to both
- Great scenery
- For the amount of traffic it generates it's fairly quiet
- Couple of fun mandos and a clearly marked OB on each hole's sign
- There's a water

Cons:

- Al Tahoe Blvd. runs next to 5
- The tee for 3 is on one side of a road out of the park
- Very, very dusty
- Can be hard to find some baskets because of the trees; I actually could not find 18 and ended up shooting at 19

Other Thoughts:

I found this course on one of my 3-4 times yearly family trips to Tahoe last summer, when I was about as novice as you could get at disc golf. It's situated in a busy but large community park off Al Tahoe Blvd.

It is by far the best course I have ever played on. Challenging, shaded, and fun, this course with all its options makes it interesting for everyone. I am making it a point to play this course at least once on all my future Tahoe getaway trips during the summer and fall.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
Tahoe Cowboy
Experience: 4 played 4 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Fun Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 1, 2019 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Baskets are move frequently
Great views
Lots of different obstacles - water, trees, narrow, hills
Good for beginners and experts

Cons:

Very busy - big groups
Parking fills up quickly - you'll just need to park farther away and walk

Other Thoughts:

A must if you are in South Lake Tahoe
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 5
SavageOne88
Experience: 14 years 91 played 1 reviews
5.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 16, 2017 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Multiple pin placements with a par up to 88 on 27 holes . Best teepads I have ever played on and are the perfect size if allotted imo . Brand new 28 chain discatchers . Trash bins and recycling throughout the course , benches to suit. Clear signage . Incredibly clean!! Practice baskets with putting stations at each.

Cons:

Lots of traffic due to being a community park wit lots of other activities , Bicycle park , skate park , playgrounds, basketball courts .etc .etc

Other Thoughts:

Great park lots of efforts seen and shown deserves better review considering the how playable it is.. Snow rounds are also played here with a very awesome and active community and club support.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Ajampalm
Experience: 94 played 11 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Fun easy golf in Tahoe 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 13, 2017 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Easy to navigate (for all but a couple of holes)
Good tee pads
Good signage
Beginner Friendly

Cons:

Many holes on the front 9 bring the road/parking area for the park into play...
Only a couple of holes that weren't a simple drive and putt
Considering the setting there is little to no elevation

Other Thoughts:

If you are staying in the Tahoe area I highly recommend this course. It is simple enough to play quickly, and will be fun with some nice ace runs for advanced players, and will still be accessible for beginners.

Like most of the golf I saw in California the rough is very forgiving compared to the upper mid-west, and even the tight fairways don't feel that difficult to hit.

All in all I still had a lot of fun, and my wife played most of the holes as well! That is a treat for her to feel comfortable playing a course with me so a huge plus there.

Worth the stop if you're in the area!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 4
Schreuds2.0
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 6.9 years 93 played 81 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Nice long course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 3, 2017 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-Tee signs are very helpful, especially with the varied basket positions
-Most, if not all, Baskets are totally or partially visible from the Tee, or the walk to the tee.
-Baskets themselves are in good condition
-This course has very little elevation, but if there is a slight hill or bump, it is used.
-I wouldn't call this a wooded course, at least for the first 10 or so holes, but what teees there are come into play and make you take a more interesting line than a lazy Hyzer.
-This is a fairly popular course, lots of people playing, and it has a good vibe about it, which many popular courses lack.
-The few holes that have benches have good benches
-This course is located in a typical California wood, which is quite pretty
-Massive variety of shots, some holes have lots of open air to try stuff out

Cons:

-Fairways are really really dusty (in the summer when I played) expect to clean you discs
-Navigation is tricky without a map, not impossible, but harder than it needs to be.
-After hole 12ish, the rough becomes really bad, tall grass Devours discs.
-One hole crosses a road, which is obviously not good
-This course gets a 2.5/4 on the New Shoe Index, my shoes were covered in dust

Other Thoughts:

Park in which the course is located has a wide variety of available activities.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
droidly
Experience: 9.8 years 37 played 4 reviews
3.00 star(s)

bijou, adj., small and elegant 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 3, 2017 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

* SO much better than I thought it would be after driving past it for a couple of years, largely because...
* 9 holes have been inserted in the middle which border on some beautiful alpine meadow, with 180-degree views of surrounding mountains--well worth the price of admission right there! Holy crap, it's pretty.
* Excellent maintenance: good baskets, nice rubber tees with brooms, etc.
* Trash/recycling bins all over the place... and basically no grody litter. A coincidence? A conspiracy? You be the judge.

Cons:

* First 9 holes are fairly ho-hum, close to road/lot, and almost on top of each other.
* Pretty durned flat overall.
* In fact, the setting remains the main draw throughout... (but did I mention how pretty it is?)
* Beside a newly constructed BMX park but no one was killing sick tricks and stuff while I was near it, so that's clearly this course's fault. Or Obama's. I can't keep it straight anymore.

Other Thoughts:

Confession: Though we played here a couple of times, my friends and I kept having to leave after playing the first 18 (super-important business to attend!), so I actually haven't played the last 9 holes yet. My impression is that they are in between the front and middle 9 in character. I just hope that there are a few holes where guys do BMX tricks over the tee pads.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 3
denny ritner
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 26 years 170 played 115 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Definitely worth a visit 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 19, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

Gorgeous park with course winding through tall pines. A good challenge for all skill levels. Easy to navigate with zero chance of losing discs. Not a "mountain" course, but does have decent changes in elevation. Good variety of shot shapes.

The tee signs are easy to read and determine basket location with the washer system.

Cons:

The course overly rewards the power thrower. There is a high luck factor due to the nature of the forest. Slight misses can hit trees and re-direct while a major shank gets lucky and parked.

Many holes crowd each other and several baskets crowd the road. Hole 2 throws directly towards a dog park.

Other Thoughts:

While flawed, the fun factor is very high here.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
Gdizzle
Experience: 3 played 3 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Solid Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 10, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course is very well maintained
There are lots of pin locations for each hole, giving a good variety.
Good views of the mountain faces as you play along the edge of the back 18

Cons:

This place gets super crowded on weekends.
The course is very flat

Other Thoughts:

If you are in South Lake this is definitely worth playing through. There are lots of trees to make the course difficult, but I think its just an average course. I guess I get spoiled living up here with all of the other fantastic courses nearby.
Don't play on Sundays if you are solo, there is the weekly dubs Sunday morning and it will take hours to play through
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
bobmcnelly
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13 years 326 played 190 reviews
4.50 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Oct 13, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

- for 27 holes it play fast and easy
- very accessible, right in south lake Tahoe
- great teepads
- great variety of shot shaping and distance, shorter technical shots and some longer shots that force you to shape lines as well
- the layout of the course is very easy to follow, and most tee pads are within view of the previous basket
- benches at most tee pads and lots of tall trees to offer shade
- not much elevation change, but what they have they use well

Cons:

- while the course is easy to figure out, a few navigation signs would help out
- the tight course layout could lead to some injuries from an errant throw
- no real "wow" shot

Other Thoughts:

I was amazed how fast and easily I was able to fly through the 27 holes. Great course I would recommend to any disc golfer.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
sumo21
Experience: 10.2 years 35 played 26 reviews
5.00 star(s)

27 holes never seemed so easy and effortlessly to play 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 23, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

1) Nice, large teepads.

2) Signs at every hole.

3) Brooms on sign post, to clean teepads when dirty.

4) Two courses in one, the first 9 and the back 18, so you can play 9, 18 or all 27.

5) Great mix of long, medium and short holes.

6) Up to 5 pin positions for every hole.

7) Trash cans around the course, so do your part and keep the park clean.

8) Trees galore around the course provide challenges to all levels of golfer: beginning to advanced.

9) Tree stumps around provide places where you can sit your bag, instead of the ground.

10) Bathroom and water fountains on site.

11) Practice basket (homemade) near hole 1.

12) 3 loops on the course: 1-9, 10-15, 16-27.

Cons:

1) Holes 5, 6, 7 are near AI Tahoe Blvd, so watch your hyzers.

2) Cris crossing of holes occurs a few times on the course, so print out a map, if it's your first time playing there.

3) Very popular course as my friend and I allowed a few groups to play through, so get there early if you want to avoid those crowds.

4) Hole 27 is close to hole 16, so again, use the map.

Other Thoughts:

I drove 2.5 hours from Sacramento to play this course and I was not disappointed. It was easy to find and was, literally, a breath of fresh air from the city. Heck, I would drive any amount of time to play this course. This course was built for all levels of player.

Besides disc golf, there is a skate park, basketball court and a few pavilions for public use. Be sure to mind the 6.5 mph speed limit posted when you enter the park. Plenty of parking, even for the amount of people that play here.

Holes 12, 13, 14 provide a distinct and beautiful view of the mountains. There is a BBQ grill near teepad of hole 10. Not sure if it works, but it's there. Definitely will be making my way back to Bijou to play some more rounds. I highly recommend this course to any and all players. you, too, will NOT be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
goat00
Experience: 17.9 years 20 played 4 reviews
4.00 star(s)

The Home Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 16, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Multiple pin placements for every hole, some with 5. course can be totally different from 2 weeks ago. There are two practice pins/practice area enclosed by parking
The holes have excelent sinage that is updated with the movement of pins and addition of new placements. This course is always improving, more pin placements, better tee pads, pinecone and needle removal going on all year. If the winter was lame (like this year) the course is fairly playable. A variety of hole shapes and lenghts, the front 9 being typically a little shorter with at least 5+ birdie runs, the back 18 being longer and some tough/tech pars. Multiple shot possibilities and fairways for a lot of the holes. lots of tree coverage, so finding the best line can be a fun challenge.
No mandos. there are so many trees that they arent really necessary and you are free to attact the holes as you will. Easy to get to, in the heart of south lake tahoe, mountain views, and a giant meadow on east side of back 18 make for a nice atmosphere. Some mellow elevation changes throughout the course, not to monotonous as some flat courses can be. Windy days are playable, as the back 18 are down lower and mostly wooded. The ground is mostly clear of brush, kinda hard to lose discs, and bring your dogs.

Cons:

The biggest con is how crowded it can be. Near the college, subdivisions and middle of town, there is no shortage of loud kids and ten-somes around. The course seems to be under construction a good amount of the time(not always a bad thing.) There will be a bmx pump track in the near future that may alter some holes. And the trees... man, some days it seems like they have no mercy, and there are a lot. There used to be some fun water obstacles in a few fairways, but the drought has dried them up. A tee pad or 3 lies close-ish to pin placements, around 30 feet or so.

Other Thoughts:

This course is a few miles from my house, and I couldnt be happier, as this course is well above average. The front 9 and back 18 are laid out seperate, but are very close together, allowing for an easy walking 27, or a quick 9, or a mix n match of holes that cross over (crowd allowing.) A few years ago when some of the new pin placements were going in, some trees were cut down to open up new fairways, but not enough to affect the difficulty of the course. Curious to see what will happen with the bmx track in the next few years.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
swatso
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.7 years 755 played 414 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Fun Sans Thrill 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 26, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Tee areas: 4'x10-12' rubber, wood-framed, flat teepads. Teesigns showing all possible positions, and current position. Brooms. Benches. Picnic tables, too, at most holes.

Three loops, baskets 9, 15, and 27 near the parking lot. Water. Bathrooms.

Minimal chance to lose a disc, as the fairways are mostly dirt, and the few bushes that to grow are not dense nor found within clumps.

Cons:

Basket-2 quite near a dog park.

Crossing fairway-20 when moving from basket-22 to tee-23. A few fairways near roads. A few tees near fairways.

It's a bit of an adjustment when changing from the 12' teepads on the front nine to the 10' pads on the back eighteen.

Other Thoughts:

Course is set in a large public park, with the front nine playing amongst the tall pines near the main road and access drive, and back eighteen playing along the back of the park, amongst smaller-but-more-frequently-occurring trees, with a large meadow just beyond. There's a gentle slope separating the front from the back, but only a few holes play up/down it - the course is primarily flat.

The beginning part of the course plays amongst the tallest trees, so branches don't come into play. Quite flat, minimal shot-shaping, and if a line is missed, recovery is typically easy. Short-7, offering three different (straight-but-narrow, lefty-with trees late, right needing a steady, subtle line) lines, was an interesting hole.

The middle portion of the course is where the majority of the elevation change (down 10&16, up 15) comes into play. The holes lengthen :) while the tees shorten :-(. A slight increase in shot-shaping, but recovery still remains relatively simple. Number-10, a downslope, right-turner the day I played, was a challenging and visibly appealing hole.

The final section of the course has the more-definitive flight paths, with increased punishment for errant shots. A number of the baskets are closely guarded, unlike the earlier parts of the course, with decent length and some minor elevation changes. Number-21, a sharp right-turner with an abundance of smaller trees to punish premature turns, was tough.

With so many possible pin positions, your mileage may vary, but the day I played, I primarily threw straight of the tee, with a fair number of right-turner needed, too - only on few occasions did I reach for an overstable disc for the tee shot. There will be more air than trees between you and the basket on pretty much every hole.

Navigation, especially with the map, is fairly straightforward, the only two small problems I experienced as a first-time visitor was the need to backtrack from basket-12 to tee-13, and mistakenly going from basket-20 to tee-23 (tee-21 is near the road).

A course quite suitable for recreation players, especially when the baskets are in the shorter positions, and both they and intermediates should have fun here. Advanced players will need to work when the baskets are in the longer positions (I played a few days before a tournament, and it seemed as if most every baskets was in its long position), but probably won't experience any thrilling moments. Overall, a fun, relaxing, solid play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
Fntsygamr
Experience: 8.9 years 62 played 27 reviews
4.00 star(s)

In Tahoe? Play this course! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 28, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Great locals to play and help you navigate this course. Not that it is really needed, but having some local help is a pro in my book. Great tee pads. Baskets are kept up really well and bright yellow to locate. The maps at each tee are great and well laid out for the basket placement. Washer system helps those that have not played before locate the basket. Fresh air, great views, long and technical shots. Not too many short holes, which is good if you have a big arm.

Cons:

I don't think I can come up with anything that would be a con for this course. If I had to choose something, it would be the mass amount of pine cones on the ground. That should be taken care of in the next few weeks with the help of the locals who keep this course looking nice.

Other Thoughts:

Zephyr Cove is a more challenging course, so use this one as a warm up before heading to play Zephyr. Take some water, lots of water, when you play and make sure you pack out or throw away what you take in. Keep this course looking beautiful for others to play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
crouchingwombat
Experience: 16.3 years 87 played 20 reviews
4.00 star(s)

S. Lake Disc Golf Paradise 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 19, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Bijou is a great addition to the Lake Tahoe area courses. Unlike the other area courses Bijou is relatively flat. There are a few minor elevation changes but nothing over 40-50 ft. It also is the largest course in Tahoe with 27 interchangeable holes. There are multiple pin positions per hole. Pin positions can change the same hole from a 200ft par 3 to an 800 ft par 5. The local club takes excellent care of the course using a hole adoption program to make sure each hole gets the attention it deserves. As of this summer (2013) there are new tee signs that include all of the pin locations and their correct distance from the tee. With a wide variety of tight and open, left and right pins this course offers something for everyone. The course layout is also very convenient, there are 3 separate holes you can start from in the parking lot and two practice baskets.

Cons:

On a weekend with nice weather this course can get bogged down. During a tournament play is slow at best... Only other con would be the dust during a dry spell, bring a good towel.

Other Thoughts:

This is a great course to play, with a good club backing it. There are monthly tag rounds and weekly doubles during the summer. The crowds can be frustrating at times. A close neighbor and highly underutilized course is Zephyr Cove only 10 minutes away. It's the complete opposite of Bijou and much more challenging.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
mashnut
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.1 years 831 played 777 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Ok park course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 22, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course plays through a beautiful park with nice pine trees and great views of the surrounding mountains. The course starts out pretty short and straightforward, with some longer and tougher holes toward the end. The pines make you do some line shaping, though you generally have multiple options on each hole. The mix of holes where the easiest shot is left or right turning is fairly even, and there's a good balance of reachable holes with some longer shots where you can throw a driver.

The park is nicely maintained, with good tees (and brooms for sweeping off pine needles). The tee signs are plenty informative, and I always appreciate pin position indicators. The multiple positions add some variety, they were in a nice mix of shorter and longer positions when I played.

Cons:

The first nine are pretty short and straightforward, without much excitement or interesting challenge. The course gets better later, but it's a disappointing start. Too many of the holes are straight, you don't have to be too creative with different lines to score well here. With no real underbrush there isn't any punishment for a bad shot, you can almost always recover for par even with a horrible tee shot.

Other Thoughts:

This course is great for beginners, with little punishment and straightforward shots. There are some longer holes but not so many that newer players will get frustrated. Experienced players can have a good time here, but don't expect a real test of line shaping or recovery skills. This is a great place to warm up for some of the more intense courses in the area, and worth a stop while you're in Tahoe.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 5
Don DiscHulk
Experience: 34.6 years 137 played 15 reviews
4.50 star(s)

great course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 21, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

27 holes in tahoe's beautiful vista. rubber tee's, access is easy, and good distances. Shop on site

Cons:

usually unplayable in winter. Wish there was more elevation changes

Other Thoughts:

If your in Tahoe, this is a cant miss course
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
MikePinchico
Experience: 19.6 years 124 played 19 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Fun times in South Lake 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 27, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Bijou is a great 27 hole course set in beautiful South Lake Tahoe. Nice rubber tees, large pine trees, shop on site, multiple pin locations, and great tee signs. The course is very well maintained by the locals and most are very friendly to play with. This is a great tourney course allowing for good flow and challenging layouts. Plenty of trash cans, benches, and loop backs to the car area. Summertime in Lake Tahoe is one of my favorite places to be in the summer time. Good parking that starts you at hole 1 and finishes you at hole 27. There is a good putting area with cement markers for putting contest or practice.

Cons:

I personally do not have any issues with this course but I will mention some that I have heard. Wintertime DG in Tahoe is difficult due to snowfall. Summertime can be dry and dusty. The front nine is pretty easy (unless if set long). Can get pretty crowded but most people let you pass. Dogs have to be on leash or you can get a ticket. I'm not 100% but drinking is not allowed in the park. Lack of elevation for being in the mountains (I find that with what is available on the property that they do a pretty good job). There is only one drinking fountain by holes 10&15.

Other Thoughts:

This is one of my favorite courses to go and play regardless of the season. Not only does South Lake have great courses but the locals are some of the best. This course's biggest tourney of the year would be the battle of Bijou which is a B-tier in the Tahoe Series (this is a great event). It also used to host the national tour event King of the Lake. I know many people that hold this course high on their top courses but I have also met people who don't think much of the course. My explanation for this would be that compared to some of the other epic courses in the Tahoe basin this might not be as incredible. I think you are kidding yourself in saying you would be upset if this was your local course. With Zephyr Cove being about 20 minutes away you can easily play both in one day. Come play the Tahoe basin especially Bijou!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
frolfer97
Experience: 18 played 18 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 20, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-Large course with 27 holes.
-Good signage at each hole.
-Beautiful area
-Rubber pads with brooms

Cons:

-Not very much elevation change

Other Thoughts:

An easy course to find. Although there are numerous courses in the area that I would rate higher than this one its still worth checking out if you're in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top