North Little Rock, AR

Burns Park - Red

3.395(based on 38 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Burns Park - Red reviews

Filter
3 0
lines
Experience: 35 played 1 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Burns Red Arkansas 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 22, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

Nice, wooded course with tight lines.
Easy to follow. Signage easy to read.
Shorter but challenging.
Well maintained park.
Perfect for what I wanted. Quick solo, on-the-road round.

Cons:

Not a 'con' from everyone's standpoint... But I did not like the feel of the teepads. They had a gritty, sandy feel, that i was not used to... No biggie.

Other Thoughts:

Fun. Would play again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
vicarofvhs
Experience: 9.1 years 27 played 5 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Updated and Looking Great! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 19, 2018 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

New MACH-X baskets installed in the last 1.5 years, which were much needed. New concrete teepads were installed just last week, another excellent update. New signage as well.

Short, technical course that is great for beginners and fun for seasoned vets.

Excellent use of elevation changes and terrain. Multiple pin positions on many holes. (Pins are moved periodically by the parks department or local clubs.)

Benches on many holes, facilities available nearby. Course map and printed maps available near Tee #1 (close to the parking lot). Lost disc return box also, which is a nice feature.

Cons:

Highly trafficked, multi-use park, so watch out for dog-walkers and others walking down the fairways.

Despite trash cans being available at multiple holes, trash can still be a problem, though how much of this is disc golfers and how much non-golfers is unclear.

Rocky and hilly in several places, so not terribly cart-friendly, though you can certainly make it with one.

Loud freeway noise on a few of the holes.

Other Thoughts:

The shorter of the two courses at North Little Rock's Burns Park, this one is much less open and more technical than its counterpart (Burns Blue). And just like its sister course, this one has been updated and given a lot of TLC by the parks and rec department. New baskets, new teepads, new signs, and lots of brush-clearing have really improved both the look and play of the course.

You don't need a big arm, but you do need to hit your lines here, as it's a very wooded course and tree kicks can be very punishing. However, good shots will be rewarded with lots of birdie looks.

Overall, a very fun course to play along with Burns Blue to make a day of it. And you can even warm up on the new 9-hole Juniors course (pitch-and-putt) right next door! If you haven't played Burns in a while, you'll be amazed at the difference.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
jsemales
Experience: 19.9 years 91 played 39 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great balanced course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 12, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Just like the blue course, the red course offers a fun variety of shots that will challenge any player regardless of skill level. The course is not easy, but it's very forgiving, so a bad shot here and there still leads to a decent score. The mix of woods and open throws makes for a great afternoon.

Cons:

Bugs and chiggers are everywhere on this course. Bring bug spray and try to stay out of the brush. The tee pads are a little beat, just like the blue course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
LL_NiO
Experience: 14.3 years 21 played 12 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Red 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 3, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Nice course. Will challenge your technical game for sure. Couple of ace opportunities but they don't just hand it away by any means. Lot's of shade so great course for a hot day. Good amount of trash cans and benches too.

Cons:

Not a lot wrong with this course it's just pretty basic. No length anywhere. Signs and baskets could use a little updating.

Other Thoughts:

If you like wooded technical courses then you'll love it. Then you can jump over to Blue for some distance. Fun course and great day out.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
discgolfnovice88
Experience: 9 years 5 played 5 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Wow, tough course for beginner 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 21, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course will challenge you
Lots of elevation changes
Do you like playing in the woods? If so you will like it.
Easy to get to off interstate

Cons:

We got lost halfway through the front 9
Signage is non-existent in places
Old baskets, but all functional
Interstate noise is LOUD
The map doesn't help much, but print one off before you try for the first time
No real long drives available with all the trees and short holes

Other Thoughts:

We loved this course for the challenge it presented. It is definitely a wooded course and the majority of the holes are short. Yes it is true, we got lost halfway through, but a local that plays the course a bunch pointed us back in the right direction. I advise going with someone that knows the course the first time you play. The elevation changes on this course are awesome. We both birdied 18. We will be back.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
Joshwest
Experience: 11.1 years 106 played 28 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Pretty good 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 5, 2016 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

- Everything you would expect from an above average course is here. Signs, teeboxes, navigation arrows, alright baskets. There isn't anything that is bad.

- Very good variation in the hole shapes.

- Love the levee hole. I really enjoy high risk shots. There aren't too many of those around.

- Even though the course is almost entirely in woods, the under brush off the fairways seemed well kept. When I had to go hunting for a disc, I didn't ever feel like I was having to push through tons of bushes and brush. The only seemed like bushes were kept thick near baskets to require more accurate shots.

- Lots of picnic tables/benches at holes. Not sure there was one at every hole, but I'd say at least 2/3, probably more. Also, the course goes near multiple bathrooms, but I didn't go in any, so I can't speak to their quality.

- I played with locals, and it really seemed like that the pin locations were changed pretty consistently. Which is a big plus. Most courses that I've seen that have alternate locations, don't actually use them.

Cons:

- They just changed out all the baskets to Mack X's on the Blue course, so I would assume that will happen for Red in the near future, but until that happens, hold you breathe on all putts. Played here twice and saw 5 or 6 spit outs that were center chains.

- There were navigation arrows between holes. However, since the baskets can be in very different locations, I'm not sure that all arrows could be seen from either pin location, would help to make them bolder and visible from every possible pin spot.

- I'll list it as a con, but it's more of a nuisance, than an actual negative of the course. It gets very close to the interstate. There is a constant sound of cars rushing by, and the holes nearest to it, the sound can make it difficult to hear if you aren't close to your group.

- I feel like it favored left to right shots more, but I think it mostly depends on which pin location the baskets are in. Probably would be best for the group who changes the locations to make sure the pin locations require the most variety of shots.

Other Thoughts:

- I haven't made up my mind if I like Red or Blue more. It's clear they are perfect compliments to each other. I'd probably have to flip a coin on which to play if I could only play one, but I would hope I would have the time to play both. I would definitely recommend playing both, but if you have to choose.......good luck.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
cheese dog
Experience: 10 played 10 reviews
1.00 star(s)

looking better 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 24, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

course has improved

Cons:

old baskets

Other Thoughts:

I wrote a real nasty review on this course after I played it for the first time. since then the local club has added signs, benches, and cleaned up the park a lot. this is the most played course in little rock for a reason, its a good course and it will challenge most.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
Pizza God
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 36.1 years 1717 played 560 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Always good 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 11, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Cement tee pads on all holes

Excellent use of terrain.

Very easy to get to from the interstate.

Bathroom located across the street from the course.

Cons:

Tee signs are posts, most have worn off.

While most of the course is marked, there are a few spots it can be hard ti find your way around. If you have not played here before, print out the map to make it much easier.

Basket #11 was missing

Other Thoughts:

I have been playing Burns park for over 25 years. Back from the 9 hole single chain days when the holes were located where the tennis courts are now.

The red course is a shorter technical course with a very very good mix of holes.

Some of the baskets are the original single chain baskets from years ago. Needless to say, they have seen better days.

But as far as a good day of golf, this is the place to go.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
KimD
Experience: 11.2 years 29 played 12 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Nice Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 2, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Lots of elevation changes and trees.
Great shot opportunities.

Cons:

A few fences you may have to hop, and a road or two that you throw at. Hope you don't roll down a hill...

Other Thoughts:

Beautiful park.
Nice playground for kids at the start.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
Schlangewurst
Experience: 11.6 years 20 played 5 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Not Bad 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 15, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Good variety in distances and pin locations.
- Course is maintained enough to keep the fairways clear.

Cons:

-Very little signage.
- I'm sure it wouldn't be bad after your first time playing the course but it's sometimes hard to find your way from hole to hole and some holes are longer and it takes a while to find where you need to throw.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
Memphis Newbie
Experience: 12.4 years 33 played 23 reviews
3.00 star(s)

hilly fun 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 11, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

fun, steep, elevation

well defined, wooded fairways

good mix of shot shapes

adequate baskets and tees

nice looking woods

another 18 hole course on site

Cons:

a couple holes are right by the noisy freeway, spoils the experience a bit

missing or unreadable signs, made for some confusion and waste of time

not much variety in length of holes

Other Thoughts:

I love hilly, wooded courses like this, I really enjoyed it. I would have enjoyed it a lot more with matching, updated signage.

I really appreciate the contrast between this and the blue course which is longer, flatter and more open
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
SuperBorg
Experience: 13.1 years 18 played 16 reviews
4.00 star(s)

A Great Little Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 13, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

I really liked this course. Very pretty. Great use of elevation. Lots of trees, with nice fairways.

Cons:

Poor signage, and we got lost a few times between holes. Ended up playing toward the wrong basket once, which was frustrating. The tee pads are ok, but not great. No long or open holes to air it out, but I didn't mind.

Other Thoughts:

This is, in my opinion, better than the blue course, by quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 4
dlopez916
Experience: 12.7 years 40 played 16 reviews
3.50 star(s)

I really liked it 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 3, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

I love this course, it was designed for a backhander. It is a fun short course, with many aces opportunities. If your looking for length, this is not it. It would be a great course to play daily and fine tune your short game!

Cons:

Baskets, Baskets, Baskets! The baskets are terrible, hard to see, and the course is tough to navigate. Multiple tee pads makes it confusing
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
MattMan
Experience: 14.8 years 17 played 5 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 10, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Fun course for the most part. Definitely better than the blue counterpart. Plenty of holes for FH and BH. Really have to be accurate on your lines, or you'll lose the birds to pars.

Cons:

Extremely short. It's a rarity to bring out anything faster than a mid. It's definitely a course you can break par with only a putter at hand. I like to throw far, and you just can't do it here. Not a big con though.
The baskets are pretty old and don't catch very well at all. Similar to the Blue Course in that respect.
A couple of holes are a bit confusing and it's tough to tell where baskets are. Every time I play this course, things are moved around.
I'm pretty sure the basket on 17 is missing, if it's not, I have no idea where it's been moved to.
Children run around the course sometimes, which gets annoying.
18 ends on the other side of a playground area. I always feel awkward walking past it and the kids back the where I parked or the blue course, hahaha.

Other Thoughts:

I don't live in the area anymore, but anytime I come down to visit, I always hit up this course (and if time the blue only second). It's a good course, pretty easy if you have solid control of your mid/putter game.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 4
cream
Experience: 18.9 years 9 played 9 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 14, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

lots of birdies; wooded but with fair lanes; shady; good elevation changes; need your forehand and your backhand for this course.

Cons:

hard to navigate the course; baskets are hard to see sometimes; two holes have a fence that's easy to throw your discs over; lots of rogue tee boxes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 5
rflahive
Experience: 24.9 years 63 played 7 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Righty forehand paradise... 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 18, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Good topography; nice mix of vegetation; good signage and directions

Cons:

SHORTY!

Other Thoughts:

If you throw right handed and don't have a forehand...you're in trouble on this course....the design is typical of a course that is biased towards lefties...and meant to frustrate righty backhand players...
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 0
Donovan
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 37.1 years 302 played 187 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Easy, Treesy, Stay Under Threesy 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 10, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This short Ace Run type course is a real treat. It has enough trees to keep you on target and enough shade to be a great stop on a hot day. The holes are a series of Ace Runs, yes, but they are what I call Fun Ace Runs! It is basically a series of alley type runs. You will find yourself throwing and wanting to throw again thinking, I could have gotten closer. They have concrete tee pads and the baskets are in fair condition. The elevation is diverse enough to enjoy what it gives you, even though there isn't anything too dramatic here. They do post a few arrows on some of the trees to help direct you to the next hole. This part of the park looks to be mostly DG only; so pedestrian safety was not an issue. Restrooms, water, and trashcans were available in a couple places on this course. Parking was easy and you can get maps at the park's welcome center. Plus, two courses on the same property is always a welcomed sight.

Cons:

Navigation is poor. You really need a map and even then the little short posts that may or may not have the hole number on it will be needed to be checked for sure. There is no footage or map type signage here. There are some OB spots that would be nice to know before you throw. Upon a first visit, I found it better to walk ahead on each hole just a little to check, if you don't have a guide.

Other Thoughts:

The Fun Factor was really good here. The trees and well-designed fairways that were carved out make you really want to throw multiple drives on many of the holes. That is usually a good sign of a fun course. Outside of signage and navigation, I had a great time and would love to play here again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 2
LookIhitAtREE
Experience: 13.6 years 47 played 11 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Red Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Mar 5, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great short, technical skills course. Not being a very long shot yet, I enjoyed the shorter lengths. Ups, downs, lefts, rights, this course is a wonderful mixed bag. Good course for sliders and skippers with all the leaves and dirt instead of grass. The course is an all-around blast to play and continues to be fun each and every time.

Cons:

Signage is weak, but at least is existent. One hole, I think 12, throws right toward a busy road that's down a steep hill. Some fences that are easy to throw over and a few holes share space with non-golfers. Very, very confusing at first and a map is necessary from the web site. A guide would be best the first time. I have played it 10+ and still occasionally start to get lost and then realize it, lol. Just like the blue course, lots of leaves to slide under and dissapear.

Other Thoughts:

This is a really awesome course that continues to deliver time and time again. Better signage would make it a 4.5 for me.

When you park by the rocket slide and start playing, be careful as both courses are side by side at first.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
mashnut
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.2 years 831 played 777 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Fun short course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 21, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course plays through a hillside forest. Most holes have fun elevation, with a great mix of uphill and downhill holes and a few side hill shots mixed in. Nearly all the holes are wooded, with varying widths of faiirways, so it plays pretty technical. Most holes have plenty of trees waiting off the fairway to make errant shots tough to recover from, and there is a little brush throughout the course to add challenge but not enough to risk losing discs.

There is a nice mix of hole shapes. The course is short, but because the lines you have to hit are mixed up throughout the course it doesn't feel repetitive. I threw mostly putters here, but had a ton of fun working lots of different lines in my short game. The pvc "tree" hanging in one fairway was a fun touch to add an extra challenge on that hole. The tees are concrete, and are in pretty good shape. The course map online is accurate and helpful here.

Cons:

The course is really short, so it's not all that challenging. Better players won't need much more than a putter here, and it's pretty much deuce or die. There are some odd spots in terms of navigation, and the signage is inconsistent and not in great shape. The baskets are older, and don't catch all that well, there are some that are worse than the rest scattered around the course.

Other Thoughts:

This is a fun disc golf complex, with this shorter course complemented by the tougher blue course. I had a great time playing this one, with tricky elevation shots and some creative pin placements it's got a lot of unique shots. It's a great course to learn on, technical enough that you'll need to try different shots but not long enough to be frustrating. True beginners might find it a little tight and punishing. Experienced players won't find it all that challenging, but it's a fun warm up to the blue course and definitely worth playing while you're here.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
fountg
Experience: 13.7 years 4 played 4 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Tricky Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 25, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

Compared to some of the others in the area, this was a really fun course to play. My favorite thing was that while wooded, I didnt feel like I was definetly going to hit a tree every time I shot. Another local course (Dupree) Is in really thick woods, while this course is more open, with trees on every fairway to add a bit of challenge.

Cons:

This course was hard to navigate. Im normally pretty apt at this and I couldnt find my way around at all. I found hole one, (Although I felt like there were like 3....I think some were practice holes...) Found holes 2 through 5, and then was totally lost. The next hole I could find was 9. 9 through 13 werent too difficult to find, but it was a little confusing which baskets I was shooting at sometimes. I didnt find 14 until I had almost skipped it, but after that the rest of the holes were pretty straightforward.

Other Thoughts:

Basically, This is a really fun course, BUT I would definetly take a guide with you, if not you could wind up spening more time trying to find your way around than playing.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top