• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Jefferson City, TN

Carson-Newman College DGC

2.095(based on 17 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Carson-Newman College DGC reviews

Filter
17 0
wellsbranch250
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 10.4 years 663 played 645 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Throw Through Déjà Vu

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 1, 2022 Played the course:once

Cons:

(1.194 Rating) A nine basket course that plays around a college campus.
- NAVIGATION AND SIGNAGE - That's right, I'm beginning this review with the cons. There are a lot of them, and they are substantial. Carson-Newman's game-play is at least 1.75 rating worthy, but the navigation and signage aspect is so bad right now, it'll be hard for many reviewers to justify that high of rating. Are there tee signs here? Nope. How about a course map? Nope and I'll add that the one on DGCR is incorrect. So how does one navigate this course? I have no idea. I relied on a navigational app to follow a supposed layout, but tomorrow someone could post an alternate layout as there are no markings on this course other than the numbers on the baskets. I constantly looked for markings flush with the ground and for tape residue along a paved areas. Nothing.
- SAFETY HAZARDS - Players will have ample opportunities to hit people on this layout. I played during summer break and I had to pause a few times. Buildings, sidewalks and/or roads are in play on every hole. Players need to be smart to play this one safely.
- AMENITIES AND EXTRAS - No other amenities other than numbered baskets.
- HOLE VARIETY - I didn't think the play variety here was above average or anywhere close. All straight park style shots. There is some modest length, but nothing over 400 feet long. Probably all par 3s (no tee signage), only modest elevation and no water elements.
- SIGNATURE HOLE - In my opinion, hole (4) is the best hole and also the worst hole on the course. First off, this was the first time a tee shot ever required me to throw through a college building. Very unique indeed. On the flipside however, I was throwing through (pause) A Building! I found it strangely exhilarating to play this hole. For those that are able to find the alt tees, they'll be able to run it through twice.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - Nice looking campus buildings, but I far prefer natural landscapes over bricks and mortar any day. I scored this aspect about 25 percentile.
- PARKING - Street parking only.
- NOT 18 - I don't see how this can be labeled as an 18 hole course. As noted, 9 baskets and zero tee markings. Someone could just as easily claim its 99 holes and be no less right than the 18 hole figure claim.


Pros: It's playable
- MODEST GAMEPLAY CHALLENGES - I really struggled to come up with pros for this one. Carson-Newman is one of those courses where a review could have done just fine without a section of pros, but I feel obligated to note something. I did like the fact that most of the shots required a bit of skill, namely the ability to chuck 275 feet to rack up birds. A couple trees and light-posts have to be avoided here and there and there is some slight elevation on a couple shots.
- CHAINS - 24 chain DISCatchers. Not as good as the 28s, but still a decent older model. A couple were in bad shape.
- BEGINNER FRIENDLY - Perhaps too long for many new players but it'll be hard for them to get into trouble. Carson-Newman is like many college campus courses where the layout plays around buildings. The grass will likely always be mowed and there's little chance to throw it into a hard to reach area, unless it ends up on top of a building. New players won't be scared away here.

Other Thoughts:

Weird course. Part of it felt like disc golf, but the frustration on not observing one frigg'n tee marking left a lot to be desired. I could not recommend this course to anyone other than to those that attend the school and to hardcore course baggers. It reminded me of other university courses that play in the heart of a campus like Saint Leo University, the old Kennesaw State University course and Athens State University. As is, I'm going with a 1.0 with potential to make a 1.5 if they marked tees and installed tee signs.
- TIME PLAY - I tried to run this one super fast and it still took me thirty minutes to complete this one. The poor navigation is mostly to blame.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
[email protected]
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Needs some TLC: bonus CN "Eagle" 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 1, 2020 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

It's a nice walk around central campus.

Cons:

There are no tees. Other reviewers have said there are flush-with-the-ground bricks-as-tees, but I didn't find a single one. Where I would guess the one for hole one would be there is a construction project going on. Someone really needs to make a map and pour some simple even 12x12" concrete tees. I could not find hole 8 from hole 7, but did eventually find the basket up near the library. Hole 9 is a mystery to this day

Other Thoughts:

There was a pretty cool juvenile hawk just above the hole 6 basket so we skipped that one. I'll try to upload a pic.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
DiscGolfCraig
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.1 years 605 played 551 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Hell-no Newman! 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 10, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

Carson Newman is a pleasant small-town college. You can take a nice stroll through campus. And if you're lucky, you may even find some of the holes.
- There are nine baskets. Each one is in pretty good shape.
- You get to walk by many nice campus buildings. Six to be exact. You also cross two streets and walk under one walkway.
- The course can be alright if you settle for a general area for your tee pads and/or just create your own tee pads. The baskets are spread out that one can create some excellent safari golf layouts. If you're more about exacts and structure, you'll be frustrated.
- I'm not sure whether it's genius or idiocy. Hole #5's tunnel fairway is either a great layout, or an extreme gimmick. I nearly aced it after having my tee shot skip off the wall and land three feet from the basket.
- Hole #3 was also a fun layout, teeing off next to one building, crossing several paths and an open area, and past another building. At 367 feet, it's one of the longer layouts.

Cons:

Navigation is a disaster. Even with the course map, trying to find tee markers was a fruitless challenge. I only spotted two my entire round and one of those wasn't close to where it's located on the map.
- Dual tee locations for each basket. Why make it twice as frustrating? I ended up saving time and frustration by throwing from each location at the same time.
- Without a map, you're not going to be able to play here. With the map, you're at least on the right track. Consider the map more of a passive suggestion.
- The hole numbers on the map and the distances listed on this site don't match. It seems every listing is one hole off. For example, hole #3 on this site is listed at 290 feet. I could tell by throwing it was closer to 350 - 375 feet. Quickly discovered the hole listings were off.
- Course really isn't fun. Even if navigation were a breeze, the layout is too simple. Some of the layouts are also dangerous. #10 has you throwing a dogleg right around the entire front of a building. One hit student or one smashed window would probably be most people's first awareness there's a course on the campus.
- The course would virtually be unplayable when school is in session. During the summer, the campus was virtually a ghost town. During the year, good luck trying to play.

Other Thoughts:

This course leaves a lot to be desired. There are glimpses of hope to turn around Carson Newman's course. That said, the reviews since day one highlighted the problems, so I'm not expecting anyone to step up.
- The argument can be made this course should just be yanked. Use the nine baskets at one of the local courses. Or find another park and drop them there. This layout just leaves a bad taste in everyone's mouth.
- At least #9 & 18 were pleasant layouts. This was one of the few layouts that gave you two different looks for each tee location. Contrast that to #2/11, which were seemingly only a couple steps apart on the map. And yet, neither tee marker was located.
- I probably spent as much time searching for tee markers as I did playing. Both tasks were a waste of time.
- It wouldn't take much time for some local disc golfers (local club or intermural players) to team up and get the tee marker situation squared away. Even the simple blue disc markers in the ground would be enough to solve the problem.
- If you're looking for disc golf, you're 15 minutes from an elite course, Panther Creek Park. Play there.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
eric_vdberg
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 41 years 1629 played 40 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Don't try to play without a local 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 4, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

Some interesting shots, variety of distances, beautiful campus, most of the baskets are in good shape.
Good practice area.

Cons:

Tees are mostly very hard to find, or no longer exist. Tees are just numbers on stones with no distances marked.
Fairways are over paths or very close to buildings.

Other Thoughts:

Most of the back 9 were so similar to the front that it seemed redundant for them to even be there.
I probably would have spent a very long time looking and eventually given up, if I had not had the fortuity to run into a long time local player just as I was about to start. He showed me around the course, and told me that the grounds crew have removed tees that interfered with their mowing,
Take the map and if you can't find a marker within a minute then just make up your own hole (deduct one from each hole number on map).
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
Baysinger
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.1 years 93 played 55 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Good Luck! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 4, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Best part about the course is holes #4 and #2. Reason I say this is because of the obsticles in place. On hole #2 there are some kind of concrete structures (columns) to the right side of your drive. Just kind of neat to throw along outside of the norm obsticles I think. On hole #4 there is a tunnel/bridge that you can choose to throw either through or over the top. Of course the funnest way to do it is to throw through! Check it out in the pictures its actually pretty neat! Besides that the only other pro I can think of is that it would be a fun way for college students to get some outdoors activity after class. And it is also great to put courses on college courses to get people who have never heard of disc golf to gain interest! The more courses on college grounds the more people will hear about it and more interest means more courses! So you gotta commend this course for that at the least!

Cons:

No tee pads and no signs! Markers are VERY hard to find... even with the "course map" located on here. They are basically just a brick with a mailbox number. My suggestion is to print the map out so you can at least have a basic idea where to throw from. Definitely could be a saftey hazard of a course as the holes weave their ways in and out of the different buildings on campus.

Other Thoughts:

When we played this course, we had the map and ended up pulling out a sharpee and marking on it with the propper driving paths that lined up with the markers/baskets in case we ever played this course again. It is about 25 minutes from my house and I haven't went back... it has been close to a year. Hope this gives you an idea of my desire to play this course again. Although I am sure I will evently give it another try it's not a desire. We spent most of our time looking for the tee markers than we did playing disc golf. We looked for the marker for hole #10 for about 15 minutes and never found it so we left and didn't finish the course. I had put pictures of holes 1-9 from down on the ground where the tee markers were looking up towards the baskets to try and help better chances of people finding the markers but DGCR took them off. The addition of above ground level markers would be a huge plus. Tee pads and signs are not 100% necessary on a course but you gotta know where to tee of or there is no use in even trying it out. Until they make some changes to make the markers easier to find I wouldnt waste your time on this course. I'm sure it's fun for college students who frequent it and know exactly where each tee position is but its a nightmare for first time players. Oh and it's been close to a year since I have played it so i'm not 100% sure but I think the whole #2 marker is in a completely different position than what the map shows.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
JRick
Experience: 10.8 years 5 played 1 reviews
1.00 star(s)

To hard to find tees 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 21, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

The only pro i found is that it would be hard to loose a disc.

Cons:

Tees are hard to find i had a map that i found online and it did not help at all. Even when i did finally find a tee spot i walked over it because its one little brick in the ground with a number on it. Could not finsh just got tired of walking around aimlessly.

Other Thoughts:

Maybe find a student that might help. They could just out a pole in the ground with a number that would help alot.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
DiscGolfFreak
Experience: 18.1 years 25 played 8 reviews
2.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 21, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Nice course with some fun and unique shots, such as throwing through a tunnel, which I believe to be the signature hole. Dual tees increases it from 9 to 18. Many obstacles such as trees and buildings making some holes a little more technical.

Cons:

Very difficult to find markers in the ground as the tee stations. Could use signs to identify holes. Had it not been for joining up with some locals I would never have found my way through the course. Several holes throwing over walkways, must be very careful as not to hit anyone. Buildings also come into play on several holes. No long holes to air it out.

Other Thoughts:

They have done a good job with what they had to work with. Not too many options as far as course layout on such a small campus.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
GRHE
Experience: 13.1 years 4 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Play during the summer 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 3, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

A quaint course that was a lot of fun if just for the atmosphere of a small college campus. Granted I did play during the summer so foot and car traffic was all but absent. A fun course with a variety of holes.

Cons:

As so many have mentioned, the hole markers were difficult to find but if you don't mind winging it on a couple of holes the map posted on the site can be a great aid in finding the others.

Other Thoughts:

I've heard rumors that the students are attempting to develop the course further. The map is currently out of date and a few of the hole markers are not in the space indicated or were switched. A fun course to play overall as long as you're not too tied to formalities and having well indicated tees. Just remember that the whole sport used to be improvised object golf :)
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
swatso
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.9 years 760 played 414 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Wish I Hadn't Hit THAT 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 22, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Throwing through a tunnel created by a pedestrian overpass was kinda unique.

Cons:

Many obstacles man-made, or mankind itself

Other Thoughts:

Course plays throughout the sparsely tree-populated green spaces separating red-brick buildings of a small college campus. While the trees vary greatly in size (large, majestic hardwoods, small flowering trees), all the buildings are huge. The corner or length of a building will potentially come into play on many holes. Pedestrian walkways will be thrown over on practically every hole - and a couple holes are blind from the tee. Streets, benches, lampposts also nearby on a few holes.

Despite the mis-numbering, the on-line map was quite useful in navigating the two-tee/single-basket course. Managed to find about half the actual in-ground tee markers, and was able to roughly determine the other tee locations.

There was actually a decent amount of variety in distance, up/down/cross slope or flat, and turn-types needed from the tee locations. Definite glow/safari possibilties. Don't plan on playing when any students are milling about the open spaces.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
pascal
Experience: 27.1 years 19 played 6 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Course Designer's Insights 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 8, 2008 Played the course:5+ times

Other Thoughts:

I originally designed the course. Though it has been two years since I have been able to play it, I hope my insights still have some value since some have had trouble locating the tees, and the course has not changed since then.

For those of you who would like a map, I uploaded one to the files on this page. This map is correct except that the hole numbers are all off by one. The hole in front of the library is actually #1 instead of #2 as the map says, and so forth. But it should still be helpful when looking for the tees.

Two official course rules you might not otherwise know:

1. Roads are out of bounds.

2. On tees 4 and 13 there is a mandatory fairway. One is required to throw the disc under the walkway that leads into the Dougherty building at street level. Failure to use the fairway is a one-stroke penalty.

I installed the tees myself. Though I wish they were easier to find, the ability of the course to be invisible during homecoming (the baskets can be removed) was essential to getting original approval. I hope the map helps for those of you who were frustrated.

Enjoy.

btw, the Course's actual name as approved by the student government association is "Mossy Links DGC"
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
jacu2003
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 23, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great for beginners and intermediate players. I have been playing for a year and am still consistently challenged.
A good blend of short and longer holes.
Opportunity for aces (but not too easy)
A blend of technical and more open holes that demand both accuracy and distance.
Elevation changes and foliage make unique holes.

Cons:

Probably pretty short for more experienced players.
At times the course has a lot of traffic. (evenings are usually have minimal traffic.
If you overshoot or shank really hard on a couple of holes there is a potential for dominating cars.

Other Thoughts:

Excellent for students.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
cncsax11
Experience: 15 years 6 played 1 reviews
3.50 star(s)

none 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 25, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Good mix of Technical shots and open shots, Campus is well taken care of and the baskets are in good condition, Very hard to lose a disc

Cons:

Tee Boxes can be hard to find, especially hole 4, people tend to get in the way a lot, some buildings are in risk of being damaged by discs, back 9 is too similar to front. (9 holes double teed to make 18)

Other Thoughts:

This course was designed and is mostly used by the students of Carson-Newman College but has the potential to hold its own as a solid 9 hole course. There are quite a few things in the works to make the course flow better and make the tee boxes (which are marked by bricks in the ground) more noticable to those who don't play the course regularly. Sometimes variables are thrown into the holes such a people or even vehicles. Some people may see this is a pro, some people may see this as a con. Overall it can be a fun course. Just don't expect many of the students to know that a disc Golf course exists here...or even know what disc Golf is for that matter.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
TCXJWAGONEER
Experience: 8 played 2 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Good Course with a bad wrap 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 23, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Good Tech. shots abound on this course
The designer made great use of space
Great 9 holes. the back 9 tee's are very similar so 18 is only worth doing if nothing else is available.

Cons:

Tee box's can be difficult to locate...Maps will be available soon to help with the confusion..

Students/ People can be abundant making some shots difficult

Other Thoughts:

The Tee box issue is currently being addressed. Each will be marked better. Signs are not possible due to college policies, but the bricks will be easier to find. Directional bricks will be also installed at baskets to help direct players to the next tee box. The College just recently supported a Disc Golf Club and they have started these projects...Watch for this course to get better and better over the winter.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
odimus prime
Experience: 15.1 years 14 played 3 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Overall, a fun course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 12, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

As a student, my friends and I have mapped out the course and know where the tees are, so that eliminates the confusion of searching for the bricks. There are maps of the course, but they are not readily accessible...yet.

There is a good mix of open and technical shots on the course, as the trees, buildings, and conditional objects (cars, people, etc.) offer some good obstacles to the shot. A couple of holes (1, 4, 8, 9, and their sister holes on the back 9 tees) provide for very technical experiences, there are a couple of wide open holes (like 3, 5, and 7). My favorite hole is hole 2 because it offers a chance to shoot from the top of the center hill of campus, between two buildings, to a basket near the street at the bottom.

Cons:

The tee markers can be hard to find, and the majority of students are oblivious to the presence of the course. If you are lucky enough to find myself or one of the members of my group of disc golfers, however, you will have a good time with the course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 3
Dave242
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 30.1 years 394 played 276 reviews
1.00 star(s)

C- = needs more development 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 22, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 9 hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == C-
(There is really not too much punishment anywhere for bad shots that will add an extra stroke to you score for a bad throw.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == B-
(Actually, this course with the lengths and obstacles is actually pretty good for my skill level. Deuces are rewarding on this course when throwing DG discs. I think it is designed for students throwing frisbees, so most holes turn into legitimately good Par-4's for that.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == B-
(Given the space available, the designer did a good job of creating holes with a good variety of shot shapes, low ceilings and good use of terrain.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == C
(The campus is picturesque, but it falls short in its ability to recharge my batteries by getting away from it all.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A

Cons:

It is marked very poorly. I found most of the tees (but not many of the alt tees) but spent a lot of time doing so. Keep in mind this course is for people who live there, so once they figure out the course, this drawback becomes MUCH smaller. But, for first timers, it is a royal pain.

Transitions from basket to next tee are not intuitive and many require a pretty long walk.

Other Thoughts:

It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (149 18-hole, 91 9-hole as of late 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me....that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 1
bjreagh
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 27.8 years 350 played 321 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Invisible Tees 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 16, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course is set on the main block of Carson-Newman's campus. The campus is nice and well-kept. The grass is well-maintained with isolated, mature trees as obstacles as well as campus buildings, light posts, etc. There are 9 nice Innova Discatchers, I physically saw them all.

Cons:

There are no tee/hole signs. The tees are brick markers and there are supposedly 2 sets of them per hole, but the problem is you can't find them. The bricks are flush with the ground, but even with freshly mowed grass, the thick grass still covers them up. Unless you knew exactly where the tee markers were it is like looking for a needle in a haystack. You end up just making up tees. It is essentially 9 baskets spread around campus.

#4 and #9 baskets were hard to find because they were outside the main block of where all the other baskets are (see below), and we did not actually find them until we were leaving and then we happened to spy them from the car.

There was no course map available, and the courteous worker at the main building knew the disc golf course existed, but did not know of any maps of the course.

Other Thoughts:

If you do decide to play, be prepared to make up your own tees, or somehow find somebody who knows where they are to guide you (and good luck with that!)

Most of the baskets are visible.
#1 and #8 are by the admissions building and library.
#2 plays between two buildings down to the street corner to the right of #1, walk around the building until you see it.
#3,5,6,7 are all behind this large building in the middle of the block
#4 is across the road past #3, you can't see it as it is hidden behind the hill, almost in a hole.
#9 is across the road in front of the admissions building.

Unless you like making up your own course, this is one you should skip. If someone could make a map of the tees this could be a pretty enjoyable, leisurely college course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 3
jettaria
Experience: 37 played 3 reviews
1.50 star(s)

If it's your only option 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 16, 2008 Played the course:once

Pros:

nice baskets

Cons:

no tee pads
no signs

Other Thoughts:

I played this out of curiosity. It flows through Carson Newman College campus, which is a decent campus, but no one knew anything about the course we asked everyone that we saw about the layout and everyone was oblivious to the fact that they even had a course. Anyway we trodded off on our own determined to play. the tee pads are natural grass marked by a brick in the ground. we found 2 bricks the whole time, so we basically made our own tee pads. Because this is on campus, you have to watch for people...and cars...and buildings. I almost hit all three. Did i mention street signs? I did hit one of those. Now maybe that is indicative of my skills, but I'm not exactly a beginner. Those of you who are adventurous and just want a change of scenery, have at it. Otherwise I would venture elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top