• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Lebanon, TN

Cedars of Lebanon

2.245(based on 25 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Cedars of Lebanon reviews

Filter
6 0
MonkeyShine
Experience: 11.7 years 3 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Deserves kinder ratings drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 15, 2023 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Shorter course, I typically take 5-6 discs with me, and work on my midrange game, Wasp and Buzzz, some approach discs, and a stable and understable fairway driver. A great feature of this course is the alternate baskets on 3 holes, so you can turn this into 21 holes if you're up to it. This is a great place to take beginners to show them the game, as opposed to playing a course with 400+ big open fairways and watch them throw it 10 times just to get to the basket. Also great for practicing accuracy, as these are tight, wooded drives, although one of them is so tight you can't tell if there is an actual fairway :(
Signage is actually pretty good, signs within view of the basket point toward the next pad, and that's necessary because you'd get lost without them. Pads are short, but in all fairness you shouldn't need a run-up on most of them. Benches are in good condition.
Another good feature here is that the first 9 holes bring you right back to the parking lot.
I don't understand the complaints about this course, unless you have big ape arms and wish you could show off how far you can throw a Gator. All but one fairway has a clear shot to the basket, this is birdie city and you should feel good going home with par or below, even for newbs, as long as you can throw 250-300. If you want to complain about how short the drives are, one could easily complain the other courses are too long, its all a matter of preference, different strokes and all that.

Cons:

Because of the tighter layout, you'll never be far from that one group that's playing loud, $hitty music out of small, $hitty speakers. The only other consideration is that there are no fairways longer than 360 ft, so don't plan on practicing your big drives.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
15 0
TRoss886
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.1 years 283 played 32 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Bring your best mid-range sharp shooting game. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 17, 2021 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Technical: The Cedars features 18 holes of short, well defined, tight, challenging fairways. If this is your type of course, it will be hard not to enjoy it. (If you prefer the open bomb, move this section to the cons). Most all of the holes are under 300 feet with the shortest (and essentially most technical) clocking in at 138 feet. A bad ricochet off a tree in the wrong direction can devastate a hole's score. This is going to happen at least once per round since this is a possibility on nearly all 18 holes. The Cedars demands accuracy. If you want to work on technical mid-range precision for the day, this is your spot.
- Shot Shaping: This is tied into the technical comments above. The course features straight shots, dog leg left/right, and even a couple flex lines. I would have liked to see a couple more flex lines for challenge, but there is still plenty of diversity.
- Alternate Options: I noticed alternate tee options on 3 of the 18 holes. There are also alternate baskets on 2 holes. This is a nice feature for locals.
- Benches: I counted a total of 5 benches. These were nice and I'd say this suffices as plenty for this short (and shaded) of a course.
- Signage: While the signage is small and by no means fancy, it does the job well. Shot shaping, hole number, distance, and next tee information are included. Par information could be added in the future, but this is pretty obviously a par 3 course.
- True Turn. This course returns to the parking area after #9 if you need to use the trash can or grab anything from the car.

Cons:

- Flow: The Cedars can get cramped in spots with other players on a busy day. a few of the fairways run tightly along each other. A tree ricochet can quickly have your drive in the wrong fairway. One fairway throws a little close for comfort across the back of one of the greens. I noticed a few spots where a protective fence or net would be a nice addition to the course to help with flow and protect other players from discs gone astray.
- Baskets: The baskets seem to be a mix of Mach 1 and 2 baskets. The mix feels a little hodgepodgey. Some of the baskets are shallow and I personally had a gimme putt hop out after hitting the bottom. Some of the baskets are painted and some are rusty. A couple of them were a bit bent.
- Repetitive: This course does one very specific thing very well and that is mid-range precision. The Cedars is hindered from a higher score due to the lack of diversity. A round can feel repetitive by the end. I'd much rather have technical repetitive rather than wide open repetitive, however it still feels like a one-trick pony.

Other Thoughts:

Not pros or cons:
- Tee Pads: I would normally give huge praise to all 18 holes featuring concrete tee pads. However, the pads at The Cedars are very short. This barely knocks it from a pro to a wash. One could also counter argue that they don't need to be long due to the shortness of the course.
- Staging Area: There is no course map present which would normally be a con. However, navigation is a breeze with tee signage featuring next tee information. Also, there is no practice basket, but there is a picnic table with a trash can.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
15 0
Shadrach3
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 5.7 years 321 played 314 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Aging but Respectable 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 21, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

A technical par-54 in a state park-worthy environment.

-Natural Beauty: Nothing is shocking, but Cedars of Lebanon is a very lovely park. The rocky terrain is covered in scraggly cedars, interspersed with grassy fairways, and includes occasional interesting features like sinkholes.

-New Tee Signs: Many of the previous reviews complain about missing and inadequate signage. On my appearance, there were small tee signs that included hole number, distance, and a map. The map isn't detailed enough to be a guide but gives you an idea of the shape. Also, there were occasional next tee cues.

-Shot Shaping/Gameplay: A perfectly acceptable assemblage of wooded par-3 holes. Straight, left, and right, with a couple of flex-type lines as well. Distances run from 130' to about 380'. Most of the holes seemed quite fair to me, though not necessarily reachable from the tee. Scrambling was fun from the fringes of the fairway, but pretty tough from deep rough.

-Alt Holes: Hole (2) has an alternate basket. Hole (3) has an alternate teepad. (3)-(4) and (12)-(13) are short alternate splits where (3A) and (12A) are entirely separate from the main and (4A) and (13A) have different fairways that play to the same basket as the main. These alt routes might provide a bit of interest for a regular.

-Flow: Again, something a lot of previous reviewers didn't like that I didn't have issues with. Now that the teepads all have numbered signs, it's pretty easy to navigate. Also has the nice 9 & 9 feature where you can take a break if you want.

Cons:

Some very old hardware and a lack of diversity.

-Amenities: Definitely subpar. Baskets are Mach I or II with bent cages that are too shallow for comfort. Tee pads are uneven and too short for more than a step. Tee signs, as noted above, are fine but small.

-Monotony: Cedars of Lebanon only has one theme--thick woods par-3. You won't find any variety. I think it's a perfectly pleasant theme, but it stops the course from scoring anything special.

-Thick Woods: These trees are solid. Even the small branches will stop a throw dead in its tracks--or redirect it forcefully sideways. It's worth noting that a couple of holes on the back nine struck me as too thickly wooded to be tests of skill over luck.

-Safety: Some holes are too close to each other, and a couple of transitions require walking back up the fairway a bit. On a busy day keep your wits about you.

-Disc Eaters: Not something I take points off for, but in between the rocks and the trees your plastic is going to take a beating here.

Other Thoughts:

This fits into the mold of the other 1970s and 80s courses I've played. It's a perfectly pleasant style of golf that doesn't require anything fancy--Typical, you might say. The amenities here at Cedars of Lebanon are, in my opinion, not so bad as to detract substantially from its rating. It's one of the few courses on DGCR that I think is substantially underrated. Perfect for a chill afternoon of golf, but not a destination.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
JHNashville
Experience: 8.9 years 20 played 9 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Good getaway 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Feb 15, 2021 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Almost never any other groups of people.

Relatively scenic for a wooded course; a lot of rocks, trees, and other obstacles make this a challenge of a short to mid tier course.

Multiple pins/pads on certain holes.

Cons:

Not very great upkeep. EXTREMELY muddy when visited last (two days after rain.)

Some of the tee placements are a little confusing.

Forehand dominant course (which is fine, but I prefer some variety.)
A TON of dogleg rights.

A few of the holes offer little to no routes to take. You will be throwing blind into the thicket of trees on a few holes.

Other Thoughts:

A fun & technical wooded course.

Just wish that it offered a little more variety on spacing and hole placement.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
16 0
wellsbranch250
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 10.4 years 662 played 643 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Throwing On a Prayer 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 1, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

(2.367 Rating) A heavily wooded layout with some rock elements and a sinkhole.
- RAW BEAUTY - This is a fully wooded course that's almost completely detached from the built environment. Although in my opinion, none of the shots are calendar worthy, they are almost all very pleasing to stare down. Overall I scored this aspect about 80 percentile. The environment reminded me a bit of Cane Ridge Short and Seven Oaks minus the elevation change.
- TECHNICAL CHALLENGE - This is a short course, but its super technical. Hitting the tight lines out here is very exhilarating, although somewhat luck based on a handful of holes. lots of shot shaping every which way and the magician players will likely love this course. Unfortunately, not much length to air them out.
- QUICK PLAY - It took my twosome an hour and seventeen minutes to complete 18. I figure this is around average. I decided to include it up here, because I was looking for good things to say. Most players will spend 5 to 10 minutes each round looking for discs in the overgrowth. The compactness of the layout and short course length keeps the round time down a bit.

Cons:

Could use an update.
- RUNDOWN - The whole course needs an update amenities wise. The baskets are usable, but very old, banged up and rusting. The tees are on the smallish side and could use a complete re-do. The tee signs have been re-done, but the artistic description is useless. They look like another Prodigy money grab.
- HOLE VARIETY - This course is one-dimensional. Players that like short heavily wooded holes will get a full day's dose here and be healed of long-open-boring syndrome. The holes here cut both ways and there's some mild 10 to 15 feet of elevation change on a couple of holes. Distance variation is minimal with everything shy of the 400 foot barrier. A few holes honestly feel like par 4s due to the extensive tree coverage. I actually prefer this style in general, but felt overall it was a one theme course.
- POKE AND HOPE - IMO, several holes here cross the line between fair and unfair. Several plausible ideal lines are less than 8 feet wide 200 feet down fairway. Any player that prefers to bomb shots will likely have had enough by hole (9) as this basket is by the parking area. Normally I'll point out which holes are the worst offenders, but the holes have already blended together in memory due to the sameness throughout.
- BEGINNER FRIENDLY - Anyone who takes their beginner friend here takes the risk of having there car keyed by said friend by the end of the round.
- TERRAIN - I don't take points off for any of this, but this is not the best course for those with knee and joint pain. I'd label the course as somewhat cart friendly. The layout also has small pockets of poison ivy and likely has periods of heightened tick and mosquito issues. Bring deet.
- SPACING - The course is jammed into a small area within the park, something that I would have not expected driving in. I personally ended up in another fairway a couple times due to pinging a tree and having it careen well off fairway. Be aware of other players on busy days.

Other Thoughts:

A fun little shot shaping course for those that don't mind hitting trees numerous times. I hit 3 or 4 lines during the round and got an adrenaline rush each time. On the flipside, there were several holes where the trees moved into my perfect throw and it really ticked me off. Man they are lucky I didn't pack my chainsaw on this bagger trip. Note, I have never harmed a living tree in frustration. Anyways, overall this is a decent course. I would recommend it to those that prefer short woods courses, but that's about it. The land here could really produce a much better course, but doing so would mean losing a bit of history as the course is now over 40 years old.
- SIGNAGE AND NAVIGATION - So so. As noted under my rundown con, the tee signs were re-done. They have distances on them and next tee direction, which are helpful unlike the fairway line description on them. No course map posted on site, but the one posted on DGCR appears to be accurate as of this review.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
MrFrosty
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 31.2 years 764 played 387 reviews
2.50 star(s)

A Nice Piece Of History 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 15, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

Cedars of Lebanon Disc Golf Course sits at the southwest end when looking at Nashville on a map . The parking lot is suitable for weekend play and is next to the first tee . The tee pads are short and thin and the baskets are old , but I wouldn't have expected otherwise for a course that started here in 1979 . I think it is the 3rd oldest in Tennessee and one of the older still standing in the USA .Yellow Discatcher baskets would be a nicer fit for a woods course so the baskets don't blend in to the backdrop . The signage after #1 are angled logs with paint , with the hole number , distance and kind of a primitive flight path on the top . I have seen some of these in the Tennessee area and like them . This is not a park course and has no open air shots . All of it is in the woods and plays mostly short and tight . The lines are there on these holes , and have a good mix of righty and lefty drives . This course seems to be maintained okay. It was clean , but I wish once a month or so the park personnel or the local club could gather and pick up some of the branches or sticks in a few of the fairways . The course is shaded throughout . This course is scenic for a woods course , especially with the rocks that blend in with the ground on every hole . When walking this course , I want you to take in what disc golf was like in the late 70's and early 80's . I know some of it has probably been altered , but not much . It has a pretty easy flow , so if you are paying attention , you can see the next tee from the previous basket . There is one confusing part , which is 12 + 13 . When finishing 11 , there was a tee pad on your right that you passed that is 12's tee , but down by the basket there is an arrow and sign telling you that #12 is down a path to your left . Both are right . They have separate tees and baskets for 12 & 13 that finish close to #13's tee pad . The one down the path is a little harder , and if you had 10 minutes more time , you could play 20 holes instead of 18 . The course must be popular on the weekends , because I saw a fair amount of people here . Men , women , younger locals , etc , which is great to see . This course is a pretty fast play . I did it in a bit over an hour . The fun factor is definitely here . You will hit some trees , but you won't mind as much . The rough is not too bad here . Disc Risk is below average with not as much rollaways , even though the course has a little bit of elevation . The course sits away from everything else ., so the only people you should see here are disc golfers . Hole number 1 makes a good impression . Not a difficult hole but you have to negotiate a rock ascending wall with the trees in between them . One of the best Looking first holes I have ever seen . #15 is another great hole that is only 275' + but angles you to a basket that has a large sinkhole in front of it . Big risk/reward here . My signature hole would be #11 , 334' that plays a tight fairway that will eventually break your drive left to right on the flat , then will zigzag and descend a little downhill to the basket . It is like having 2 really short fairways sewn together .

Cons:

#1 Aging equipment . I am fine with the new signage , but the tees are small and old and the baskets leave much to be desired . #2 Not necessarily the fault of the course , but since it is woods and has very little grass and sits on a lot of rocks , I couldn't imagine playing here after a rain . There would be sliding all over the place and mud everywhere . There are no real amenities here . I didn't see where the bathrooms were , but they may wanted to have a Port O Let close by , and more benches and trash cans could be added . Carry out what you carry in to keep this place clean looking . I didn't have any trouble with finding my way around , but it seems here that some do . The course might want to add NEXT TEE signs or nail an arrow or 2 in some of the trees for a smoother navigation .

Other Thoughts:

The greater Nashville area has a great amount of courses , and this is by far the oldest . If you were ever curious as to how disc golf was looked at and designed , then this might be worth a look . Frisbees and tin can tops were used in this woods back then . Some very solid holes and fun play . The fun factor is here when you look at the people on this course . Husbands and wives or boyfriend/girlfriends , casuals and hackers like me . This course has some challenge to it . I hate to rate an heirloom to the area a 2.5 , but would gladly move it up to a 3 or more with updated tees and baskets . My Recommendation : not especially suited for pros or good ams . Course baggers should play this course when in the area if time permits .. This course is shaded and a fast play , so from casual to local to traveler to dates , to high schoolers and maybe even families Give this course a good look and Play It !
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
njgrosser
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.1 years 46 played 36 reviews
2.50 star(s)

One Renovation Away from Something Special 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 3, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course had some beautiful scenery. The forest it is located in is beautiful, and the rocks provide a special touch not often seen on disc golf courses. Even though I couldn't always see the basket (see the cons), the course itself was great to look at.

Cedars of Lebanon makes you throw some tight lines through the woods. Not impossible lines, but several technical shots that give you a feeling of satisfaction when hit. The shot variety was better than expected, especially for a course of its age.

Cons:

I genuinely had a good time when I played this course, and I think it is better than the ratings given. However, the potential for this course is so much higher, and with a big renovation (not redesign, renovation), it would get so much more love.

The tee signs were nonexistent. Not bad, not unhelpful, but literally not there on most holes. Thankfully for me, I hopped on with a group who knew the course well; otherwise, I would have been completely lost.

The tee pads are small. Really small. They also appeared to be quite old and often blended in to the rocks on the ground. Additionally, some were really close to the pin of the previous hole, creating a bit of a hazard. If these were re-poured a bit larger with fresh concrete, it would go a long way to helping some of the confusion.

The pins are invisible and, frankly, pretty terrible at catching discs. Between the pins and the lack of tee signs, some holes are impossible to figure out where the pin is if you don't know exactly where to look. Highly visible baskets, preferably those that can catch discs well, would help tremendously.

Other Thoughts:

New tee signs, new tee pads, new pins. If the investment and the work was put in for these (no course redesign necessary, it is fine as it is), I would change my rating to a 3.5 or possibly even a 4, along with making the drive out there more often.

However, without all of that, I still think this course doesn't get quite as much love as it should. Sure, it does not have all the amenities, but as long as you know where the pins are, you can have a blast playing it. So if you are new, pair up with a local and give it a shot -- you'll have fun!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
caveboy
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
2.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 25, 1994 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course is like the Old Course at St Andrews for a ball golf analogy. Not extremely long. Favors those that can control disc flight, but can be trouble if your throw goes awry.

Cons:

The last time I played here in 1994 there had been a half hearted attempt at a new layout. It was very confusing.

Other Thoughts:

I began playing disc golf here in the fall of 1979, back when the signs still said "Frisbee Golf". So I have a biased impression of the course. Back then it was a wondrous place. I was very sad to see the state of the course the last time I played there. I hadn't played regularly since 1979 / 1980 until 2013 when a friend I worked with told me I really needed to try this new game called disc golf. Frisbee golf I replied. He got me started playing again. I play a course here in Michigan (The Jungle in Sanford) that reminds me a lot of Cedars, but a good deal longer with a little thinner undergrowth. It is a blast to go out with my son and 6 year old grandson. It makes me feel 19 again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
JohtoVillage
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 24.2 years 160 played 74 reviews
1.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 28, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

It was kind of cool to play a course that is older than me (by 7 years). Cedars is an all wooded course that had some neat holes. Here are my pros:

1) Some people don't like rocks on a course but it really adds character. The rocks, especially on hole 1, are really neat. You know you aren't playing some course in boring old Illinois (my home state) when you see stuff like this. The rocks were actually the most beautiful thing about the course. It took a nice gash out of one of my discs but oh well. It was visually stunning!

2) Cedars is a short course that didn't take too long to get through. It offers a variety of shot shapes, including straight putter shots, hyzer, anhyzer and flick shots.

3) The area of the park that the course is in is dedicated solely to disc golf. There's no risk of playing through a picnic or anything like that.

4) Even though its a fairly short course, the lines are fairly challenging. They are very fair but don't expect to just come out here and throw putters all day: the lines of the holes force you to throw some challenging shots. If you miss your line you will be punished.

Favorite Hole: Hole 18 was a challenging hole, a 350 foot hole with a tight line. My buddy and I were on the last course of a road trip and I took a 4 on this hole while he took a 2 on the hole, which left us tied. DESPITE my score it was still fun to throw that drive and the hole had a nice green just outside of the forest.

Cons:

While this course did have some fun holes, you could tell the course was put in many years ago. The glory days of this course are gone but its still a nice course. I am giving it a Passable rating based on these factors:

1) The baskets looked original to the course and were very worn.

2) The navigation was not easy and the tee signs (when they were there) didn't offer anything outside of distances and a hole number.

3) The course truly had no signature holes and not a lot of memorable holes. I did like hole 18 and thought the rocks added some nice scenery to the course but the course felt very repetitive. I think that back in the day the course design was probably a solid B but unfortunately the holes were not too memorable.

4) This isn't a huge con for me, but this course is exclusively in the woods. If you don't like throwing through tight tunnels then this is not the course for you.

Other Thoughts:

The Nashville area has some fun course. I wouldn't put this in my top three if you are going to be in the area but if you are in town for more than a few days and want to play all of the courses this one is playable.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
BMWRider
Experience: 10.4 years 28 played 2 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Nostalgia that needs work 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 22, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Classic course, some challenging holes, nice terrain and friendly local players. The back nine is pretty decent, there is plenty of parking and most of the course is well shaded.

Cons:

There is trash everywhere and I did not see cans to put it in. The course is poorly marked and the flow is not intuitive. I spent a lot of time looking for the next tee pad, particularly on the front 9. Most of the baskets are rusty (I did see at least one new one) and need some love. There are no distances or signs to indicate where the basket is.

Other Thoughts:

I played this course while in Lebanon to attend a wedding. I spoke with a group of local players who told me this course was designed in the 1970s and I believe this is probably true. Looking around there is a lot of potential here. Yes the baskets are old and the course is poorly marked. But an active club could probably whip this into shape with a couple of work days. While playing I kept thinking to myself, 18 sets of chains, stencils, a measuring wheel, spray paint, etc. A few signs indicating next hole and this would be much nicer. I would also think 6 trashcans could help make a world of difference if the park could see fit to empty them. I hate that this course looks like a landfill in the making, the natural terrain is very nice and should be a highlight of the course.

In the end the shame of this course is that it is a classic that has been neglected. It is a good technical course that rewards the ability to throw in the "tunnel" and punishes a lack of disc control. While I have not been playing long, I have played a lot of courses in a short time including one other 40+ year old course. This could be gem with a little time and energy. If I were a local I would make this a pet project. When I return next month I will bring a trash bag and at least help out a bit.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Vibramterraius
Experience: 10.5 years 38 played 13 reviews
3.00 star(s)

First Impression / Open mindness 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 11, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

I Originally posted : It is only because I don't like to rate anything in our sport of disc golf as being poor that is why this course is given above a 1.0
New Post:
Course has new signs and some improvement has been made around Tee Pads. Much less trash than a couple years ago. 3.0 Rating now.

Tees are ample for throwing and have been numbered which really helped (see Cons) some are aged and beginning to wear alot.

Course has a good use of woods and terrain to offer some challenges along the way.

Less trash and debri around the couse now.

Cons:

Original Post : Pretty much everything else really. Not well maintained in fact it was trash laying at every tee. Very very few course markers and absolutely no leads to the next tee.

Edited Post:
Definately the lack of signs at the Tees and no signs to lead you to the next tee seriously impacts this course.

The Tees are ample but aging and wearing some are in real need of repair.

Although less trash laying around than the initial visit there was still to much. Even plastic bottles hung on tree limbs here and there.

Other Thoughts:

Original Post: Course needs revamped and some love given to it. Not a bad course layout really just needs a lot of help. Other than to help in a revamp / club project to the help this course I'll not be back to play again.

Edited post: Adding to the origianl post. This course has potential to rank as one of the best courses in the area but it needs disc golfers to step up and give the course and other players some respect. Hanging trash in trees REALLY!!!
So after going back with an open mind my first impression and first review of this course was tainted. So I am going to do what I can to help this course and try to improve our sport this summer. Beggining here now by bumping the rating from 1.5 to a 2 for the uniqueness of the course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
discoe
Experience: 12.8 years 19 played 2 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Diamond in the rough. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 22, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Challenging, heavily wooded holes with narrow fairways.
-No hole feels the same. Every hole presents a new challenge.

Cons:

-Unforgiving rough.
-No open holes.
-Course navigation is difficult and there is no signage.

Other Thoughts:

This course was designed back in the day. There aren't any shots that require a monster drive. However, this course will frustrate anyone with its unforgiving rough and focus on mid-range precision. The course is maintained by a group of loyal disc golfers who do what they can, when they can. The park neglects the course and doesn't even change the trash. Littering is a huge problem out here. This course has the potential to be a "must-play" in the Middle TN area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
nashvilleguy99
Experience: 13.6 years 4 played 3 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Not The Best... 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 20, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

The park is a nice park nice scenery very easy to find and for the course again nice scenery and lots of shade great for summer play nice obstacle course

Cons:

holes are way to short and basket and tees are hard to follow. To much stuff on ground and not upkeeped very well.

Other Thoughts:

Probally will never play there again honestly
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
weeman
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 20.2 years 659 played 61 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Old school and entertaining 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 1, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Cedars shows how a course was designed way back in the day when the farthest flying disc would go about as far as you could throw a Roc or Buzzz these days. This completely wooded layout forces hyzers, anhyzers and a few straight shots off the tees. Most fairways are well defined with several being not so straightforward. A lot of the holes are blind shots with fairly open greens so if you can make it unscathed through the fairway, you should have a good chance at birdie. The rough isn't so thick that you can lose a disc but it will cost a stroke if you go in early off the tee. The baskets appear to be the original ones from when the course was installed. The tee pads are all uniform and are adequately sized for this layout. Most of the tee pads have benches nearby in case you want to rest and enjoy the scenery in between holes. There are several ace runs out there as well as a few longer holes that force you to execute a lengthy controlled drive to stay in the fairway and reach the green.

Cons:

Navigation from hole to hole is troublesome unless you've played here before or are with a local. There are multiple times after a hole where there are several different paths to other tee pads but no indication of which is which. Most of the signs are also missing, leaving no indication of which hole is which, the distances and the basket placement. With a lot of the baskets being not directly in front of you, it leaves a lot of searching to be done to know where you're throwing. This really threw me off but there's a park installed bench in the middle of number 16s fairway.

Other Thoughts:

Cedars is a fun out-of-the-way course that is different than many of the other courses you'll find these days. The old school nature of the course and quiet scenic features of the park make for a great golfing experience. More skilled players might look at this course as good practice on their short game with an array of mid-range shots. Less skilled players might get frustrated at the amount of trees and rough but can find comfort in that none of the holes are monstrously long.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 5
johnnyfoodstamp
Experience: 14.4 years 25 played 22 reviews
4.00 star(s)

I love this course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 30, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This course mixes up a variety of open and wooded holes that are hard enough to be challenging but easy enough for that occasional birdie.

Cons:

Some of the holes can be hard to navigate. Though I keep track of the numbers very closely, we always wind up playing 19 holes.

Other Thoughts:

Every times I go near Lebanon I play this course. And the local rangers have some loner discs if you don't wanna buy one from the gas station but I think a dog chewed on most of them. The course feels like the bastard step child of Seven Oaks and Cedar Hill, which is awesome.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
mashnut
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.3 years 831 played 777 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Needs some work 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 8, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course plays through a wooded area in a state park that is solely dedicated to disc golf, so you probably won't run into any other park users during your round. There isn't much elevation, but there are some rock piles and sinkholes that come into play and add a little bit of the elevation element.

Most of the holes are pretty tight, and are a good balance of right and left turning shots with plenty of straight shots. There are a couple shots with wider fairways, but they still play through the woods and so you'll end up in trouble if you stray from the fairways.

This course really tests your accuracy, and makes you pay for errant shots without a big risk of losing your disc.

Cons:

The course is totally flat, and every shot plays down a wooded corridor. On top of this, most of the holes fell in to the same distance range. This meant that the course felt very repetitive, without much real differentiation between holes. The lack of elevation also makes for poor drainage, and so the course gets very muddy after a rain and seemed to stay that way for a while (and the mud is good thick clay, so you'll take lots of it with you).

The course is very hard to follow in spots, with unused concrete tees scattered through the forest and no next tee markers. If not for seeing some locals, we would have had trouble even finding some holes, let alone playing them in the correct order.

Several of the baskets, tees and signs were in sad shape, and could use lots of work. There were concrete pedestals left behind under many baskets where the soil had eroded away, and it made for odd skips on upshots, and dings to softer plastic discs.

Other Thoughts:

The course was a fun play, though hard to follow and not in the best shape. If you're driving by, this is a nice wooded course, but not a must-play. Newer players might find it a little frustrating to be in the trees the whole time. More experienced players will find some good accuracy and line shaping challenges here, but not enough variety to make it a really interesting course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
2naphish
Experience: 43 years 27 played 3 reviews
3.00 star(s)

definetly improved 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Nov 26, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

nice short course that demands accuracy.a great place in middle tennesse to go when it's cold or windy.also shaded and cool in the hot summer months. short enough to play multiple rounds without wearing out older players like me.

Cons:

equipment is very old . tee pads are small and you will need to rethink run ups to more of an upshot type throw.

Other Thoughts:

a huge amount of work has been done over the summer 2009. this is all volunteer work by a group of local golfers.the state has no funds and a minimum staff for course maintenance. truckloads of mulch have been spread, baskets repaired, retaining walls and logs have been placed to help with erosion control. signage is still a problem as this course has been through several different configurations and there are extra tees that lead to nothing. NOTE: i am updating this as Tennessee Parks now are "pack it in, pack it out" so don't count on trash cans although there is a dumpster placed in the main parking lot. unique tee signs have been added and some landscaping projects/memorials constructed.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
ChronoDisc
Experience: 16.1 years 12 played 10 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Not half bad 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 30, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

this course isnt as bad as people make it out to be. sure it is a little old and it is all par threes. not a single long hole. i found it quite nice to not be chucking it as hard as possible to get it to a pin 500 ft away. if you need some woods pracice this is the place to be. i found it to be a very relaxing course that didnt wear my arm out.

Cons:

you will run right off the end of the tee box and flat onto your face. the baskets are pretty old. the maps of the holes were mostly unreadable or nonexistant but we took it as a challenge.

Other Thoughts:

overall a pretty decent course. can be a little annoying in some spots but i thoroughly enjoyed my visit. i would recommend to anyone worked on their wooded game, beginners, or just anybody looking for an original disc golf course.

planning to go take a day to play and replace all of the signs (if the park will let me) if anybody in the area would like to help me out i would greatly appreciate it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 5
Mando
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 17.6 years 120 played 27 reviews
1.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 14, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

This was the first disc golf course I ever played...way back in the mid-eighties, so it has some nostalgia going for it.

Cons:

I was not bitten by the disc golf bug after my first round here. In fact, another 20 years passed before my next round.

Other Thoughts:

In fairness to the course, I should give it a fresh look on my next trip to Nashville.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
SimonCarr
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 25.1 years 116 played 57 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Not memorable in a good way 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 6, 2008 Played the course:once

Pros:

I enjoy wooded courses, and this one had a few holes that were hidden gems. Other than those few, the rest of the course was not memorable.

Cons:

Directions and signage are dismal. I got completely lost and walked for 30 minutes, and ended up nearly walking up to the doorstep of someone's trailer. Never found all 18 of the holes.. bummer.

Muddy course and teepads are in bad shape.

Other Thoughts:

This is a course that locals can enjoy, but it needs some MAJOR revamping. New teepads and signs are needed. Would be nice if it could be reconfigured to be longer.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top