• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Longmont, CO

Clark Centennial Park

Permanent course
35(based on 24 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Clark Centennial Park reviews

Filter
10 0
JuanA
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 24 years 119 played 29 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Second half of Longmont's 18 holes 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 2, 2020 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- Practice basket.
- Concrete tees or sidewalk tees on all holes.
- Large mature trees throughout the park give a lot of shade.
- Tee signs on all tees.
- Multiple basket placement keeps things interesting.
- Active club presence keeps course well kept
- Creek comes into play on holes 1,2 and 4.
- Soccer field by parking lot to warm-up arm on.
- Plenty of parking
- Food trucks occasionally park by practice basket.
- Longmont does a great job with park upkeep.

Cons:

- No course map on site. Bring your own.
- Creek can flow very high and fast at times.
- Distance is really the only challenge here.
- Leaves in the Fall can be an issue.
- No restrooms or water on site.
- Navigation can be an issue.

Other Thoughts:

Full disclosure...this (along with Loomiller) is my home course.

Clark Centennial is a medium (14 acres) sized course in a mature neighborhood with very large trees. As far as parks go, this is one of the nicer places in town.

Clark Centennial and Loomiller are both 9 holes, but many play them together as 18. If you come to play in Longmont, you should really hit both courses since they are so close to each other.

The creek is a great score separator. It can run high and muddy, or low and clear. It's also cold enough to give your feet ice-cream headaches in the spring. Carry a Golden Retriever of other type of retriever when playing here. You'll thank me later.

I listed navigation as a con, but if you bring a map you should have no problems. However, I've lost count of how many times people have asked where the #2 tee is. (north side of creek, east of hole 1).

The big trees drop a LOT of leaves in the fall. If you play here in the fall, bring brightly colored drivers (hot pink), and keep an eye on where you land. It will save you some headaches.

There are multiple bike paths that run through the course, but people mostly use them for transportation instead of recreation, so they move along quickly.

The most vulgar, foul-mouthed kids I've ever heard, play at the small school behind #8's tee pad.

Longs Peak Disc Golf club is very active here, and they do a really good job keeping the course kept up, as well as interesting.

Is this a destination course? Sadly, no. It's a beautiful park, well kept by the City of Longmont, and well cared after by the local club, but it just doesn't have much more than distance for a challenge. But if you are already playing along the Front Range, you should plan a stop in Longmont, and play these two courses.




Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
enragedmullet
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 12.6 years 116 played 80 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Fun round, despite foot traffic. 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 21, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

- practice basket

- decent baskets (i'm not a connoisseur of baskets, but they're in good shape)

- multiple pins

- decent signage showing hole diagram, distance, pin placements

- trash bins every few holes

- fair variety of FH/BH's, and a decent use of the area's features - creek/trees/buildings

Cons:

- no next tee signs (bring a map)

- some fairways play almost on top of each other

- some baskets are so close together it can get confusing as to which you're aiming for

- not much in the way of amenities (restrooms or benches) that I saw

Other Thoughts:

- concrete tees, and where there isn't one, it's marked on the sidewalk w/ spray paint

- no real elevation, course is not QUITE a loop

- a lot of the holes are straightforward Bomb-Layup-Putt's - not a ton of finesse needed straight off the tee. That said, "Bomb" may not be appropriate as some of the holes only need a midrange off the tee.

- I played on a Monday morning around 9 AM - I had the course to myself in terms of players but there were plenty of people walking around w/ each other, walking their pets, etc. Plenty of kids running around too - I had to wait on a couple holes before teeing just to be on the safe side. As such, I can see the place being very busy quite often, especially weekends. If there are several DG groups I can see how cross play would be an issue as well as it being crowded on the tees.

- The local club here seems to be doing a good job of keeping the two courses I played this day in decent shape as far as DG goes, and the one local I encountered was indirect, but they were kind enough to call me when they found a disc I had forgotten. Not a destination course but if you're in the area it's certainly worth a stop.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
bkelso
Experience: 2 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Lucky to have close by 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 25, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- Lots of long, difficult holes
- Well maintained, clean, attractive
- Local players are usually friendly and helpful
- Soccer/Football field right next to the first tee is a great place to warm up and measure how far your throws are going.
- Good use of terrain, well-marked holes, all concrete tees (some on sidewalk)
- Practice tee

Cons:

- Lots of long, difficult holes ;-D
- four different holes right next to a strong flowing creek. VERY easy to throw discs in the drink. And there is a lot of tall foliage on the banks, so finding lost discs can be a time-consuming, frustrating experience. Plus you have to get wet, obviously.
- A few shorter holes, or more obvious white tees, would be nice, as would a couple of non-straight holes.
- Lots of other activities going on in the park sometimes. You need to make sure you don't hit unsuspecting people.
- A couple of holes where it is not at all obvious where the next hole is (holes 2 and 7 come to mind). Plus the baskets for holes I think 5, 7, and 8 are very close to each other, to the point where it's easy to play the wrong hole.
- Can get pretty busy on a Saturday afternoon. Discs are flying everywhere.
- LOTS of trees on some holes, to the point where throwing a driver is almost pointless

Other Thoughts:

I'm giving this a 4.0 because of the well-maintained holes and tees, good signage, and supportive local club. It is also highly challenging. For the recreational player, getting a par is a real accomplishment. But I like a challenge. Also, if you show up early in the morning on weekends (like before 9:30) you will have the place to yourself.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Bomber311
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 32.2 years 149 played 30 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great 9 hole course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 10, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

As far as 9 hole park courses go, this is one of the best in the state! Green manicured grass, tall shady trees, nice hole signs, and concrete tees throughout. The level of difficulty is fairly high when the pins are in certain positions, there are long bombs, straight shots, turnovers, tunnels, and an ever present creek to contend with all while avoid the large tree canopy. There are some bathrooms at the ballfields and in the youth center if they are open. It is always nice to have a practice basket to warm up on as well.

Cons:

Be careful of the creek when it runs high because it will swallow your discs.

Other Thoughts:

The local club has put some serious effort into keeping things maintained and they seem to move the baskets around frequently to keep things fresh. There are lots of walking paths here so, as always, keep an eye out for pedestrians. There is a Play It Again Sports store in town if you need some new plastic, I hear they have a lost and found as well.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
bcos4life
Experience: 12.1 years 77 played 23 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Real gem 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 4, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

1. Very clean. Considering this course doesn't have a playground and gazebo's all over the place, no one that isn't playing golf or jogging seems to use it in the golf area.

2. Well designed. This course seems to be the course of choice for the better players in town. I saw a bunch of good players, and you can see why. The no holes are easy, and they use the layout they have and the trees EXTREMELY well. I commonly see people just throw a pin location into a bunch of trees. The designer of this course actually cares about line options.

2. The creek usage is perfect. Doesn't dominate the round, but makes it fun. Also, it isn't too deep, so you can get your disc in case of a mishap.

3. I mentioned it earlier, but considering this part of the park is almost exclusively for dg'ers and runners, you don't have to avoid high volume areas.

Cons:

1. I see potential for at least 3 more holes, if not a full 18... and on top of that, the second half of the holes are a little smashed together.

2. Neither course in town is really beginner friendly in terms of hole length. Either Loomiller or Clark Centennial needs to shorten up the pins for our friends that can't hit 300+ every drive. I understand the big arms (and key holders) like to throw deep, and 300 is short for them, but I saw almost every hole at its long location.

Other Thoughts:

Hidden gem. The low reviews of this course is surprising, but it might keep them low key.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
mndiscg
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.1 years 483 played 478 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Longmont Combo Pack 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 8, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Nice orange baskets are easy to see and catch well.
-Concrete pads (or sections of sidewalk) are long and have a good surface.
-Some nice large trees to play around and to provide shade.
-Multiple pin positions on every hole.
-Creek provides obstacle without eating discs. It is fairly clear and shallow, you just might get your feet a little wet.
-A few ace runs without being too easy.
-Like Loomiller, this park is clean, safe and well maintained. Longmont's parks dept deserves a high five.
-Good local club- Long's Peak Disc Golf Club
-This is a course that beginners can approach while being long enough to entertain most better golfers.
-Good length for a park course.

Cons:

-The flow was pretty bad. Bring the map for sure so that you know where you are going. After one, you walk between the stream and the fence to #2 and after 3 you walk around the same fence and then over the creek to find both 4 and 6's tee box.
-Not a lot of elevation here.
-Lots of paths that are near baskets or next to fairways. You may have to wait for other park users.

Other Thoughts:

-This course provided me with a moderate challenge and moderate fun level. It wasn't anything special but living in Longmont and playing this course and Loomiller wouldn't be too bad. They are both alright and worth the trip here at least once.
-This course is also near a school, it might get crowded after school and lunch.
-This is one of those courses that is alright and there isn't much to say about it as far as good or bad. It is in a park and is similar to hundreds or thousands of others throughout the country.
-I have read that there is supposed to be an 18 hole course in Longmont, hopefully this year. I hope that it is a different style than Longmont's current courses to provide a good variety.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
TalbotTrojan
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.8 years 112 played 104 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Length Is Important 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 16, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

The park this course sits in is very nice with many other amenities, more specifically geared towards the sports enthusiast. Baskets were in good shape. Cement tee pads were nice. There was a good deal of nice long holes and some short ones mixed in well, better than most courses of this number of baskets. There are a few unique shots that cannot be repeated elsewhere on the course. There is a good amount of risk and reward on the holes with water. I did rather enjoy the challenge of this course and had a good time playing it. If the park is not being used by anyone else, there are an additional 9 temporary holes that can be set up for an even more interesting round, unfortunately this will almost never be the case as it really monopolizes the park space. A good local club that really cares about this course.

Cons:

The layout is not perfect as it appears the designer was more focused on good holes over functionality. There were several walking paths that came into play and on a busy day would provide for a lot of pedestrian traffic. There are some good walks from one hole to the next and from the last basket back to the parking lot. Several tee boxes are near each other making navigation difficult between holes. A lack of bathroom facilities unless the one bathroom near the softball fields happens to be open, which is not always the case.

Other Thoughts:

I did rather enjoy my round here and the park is a very nice park. Going for glory on course design really sets this course back as navigation becomes tough. You will really want to have a map with you when you play here to make things easier. I was really impressed with the length of the baskets on this course which makes it stand out above and beyond most 9 basket courses. I really hope that the local club puts in the effort to keep this course as there a number of pitfalls to the current design. The entirety of the space used for the course is not ideal for disc golf though there are spots and a few baskets that really make you think there is something special here. It really is one of those things that makes you want to rate the course higher, but the navigation does not allow that to happen. The course is on the South end of the main parking lot and the practice basket should be very easy to find and help in bringing you to the right spot.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
jon_boi
Experience: 26.1 years 2 played 2 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Solid 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 25, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Good use of trees.
Regularly rotated pin placement.
Good mix of short and long holes.
Nicely manicured park.
Good teepads.

Cons:

Can be issues with sharing the space with the public.

Other Thoughts:

I'm glad this place exists. Really nice, the river is a challenge but usually allows you to recover a lost disc.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
Shmacka
Experience: 11.6 years 31 played 15 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Classy municipal park course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 23, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Mature trees in an established neighborhood. Good shade, and diverse hole selction for a municipal 9 holer.

Makes a good partner for Loomiller Park- close, different feel.

There is a fenced in utility shed on the course, if you catch the lawnmower at the right time, and in a good mood, he may flip you a disc that has landed inside :)

Fairly easy to navigate without help.

Cons:

Multi use park- you do need to be aware and on good behavior.

I wish there were more to throw on!

Other Thoughts:

Around the park courses are generally circular. Centen (as the locals call it) varies this pattern to good effect. I can't wait to get back there.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
Wise Fool
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.3 years 125 played 118 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Where's Lewis... 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 2, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Nice good sized concrete tee-pads
-Lots of length for a nine hole course, most of the holes have pin positions of over 350 (and three or four of the holes have pin positions ranging from 400 to just over 500 ft)
-Creek/stream comes into play on holes 1, 2, 4, and 6
-Baskets are new, in good shape and painted bright orange. They are really easy to see and it is easy to know which basket you are shooting for.
-Good use of the available trees in the park, aa several of the baskets are guarded by the mature trees in the park.
-Practice basket and map of the course at the beginning of the course.
-Nice tee-signs that are in good shape, that show the layout of the hole, the pin positions, the distance and point you toward the next tee-pad.
-Each hole has multiple pin-positions.
-Well taken care of park
-They made pretty good use of the available obstacles they had available for the course.
-The course flow is easy to follow and except for one spot, it is easy to find the next tee-pad (see cons below).

Cons:

-Lots of holes have sidewalks that cut right through them, meaning there are a lot of times where you have to wait for non disc golf park users to pass by before teeing off or throwing.
-Several of the holes use the sidewalk as a tee-pad, which adds to some more of the conflict with non disc golf park users.
-The stream/creek was moving pretty well, if it had enough water in it you could potentially lose a disc.
-The first time playing it can be really confusing to find hole 2. Hole 2 is on the opposite side of the fenced off pond near Hole 1.
-The course gets quite crowded at times.
-Long walk back to the parking lot after hole 9 and the quickest way back crosses the fairways of several other holes.
-I wish the course had a little more variety, maybe a short hole or two, because at times it feels like the course is just a longer shot to a basket guarded by a tree or a few trees.

Other Thoughts:

While I wish this course had a little more variety, this is a great example of how to do a nine hole course right. Instead of trying to force 18 holes into the space they had, they created nine solid fun holes that have more distance than usual in a 9 hole course. If you are in the area this is a fun course that is worth a stop at.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
b_rosso
Experience: 12.3 years 21 played 5 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Nice neighboorhood park course with challenge 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 5, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

There is all types of challenges in this neighborhood park course. You might even need to throw a roller or two on a few of the tree guarded and longer holes. It is by far the better of the two longmont courses. Lots of hyzer and anhyzer shots for R backhanders.

Cons:

There is a creek running through the first couple holes which may come into play. It is pretty dry in the winter months but haven't seen it in the summer yet. You might want to check out the map before you play as it might get confusing where to go next.

Other Thoughts:

Just an update for Longmont Disc Golf players, most are well aware but there is a new course being installed at Dry Creek Park and should be ready to play in fall 2013 or spring 2014. The signs are up but nothing else. (I know this because I work for the city)
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
TBabb
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 18.9 years 65 played 56 reviews
3.50 star(s)

The better of Longmont's two 9-ers 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 17, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

BRIGHT NEON ORANGE BASKETS are visible from lightyears away! Practice basket at the start of the course. Quieter and more spacious than Loomiller. Concrete tee pads in great condition. Signs at each tee pad. Trash bins at several tees. Grass is kept short. Creek and mature trees add to the challenge here. Especially challenging if you play the walking paths as O.B. There is also a lot of variety in hole distance. Beautiful bench by the tee for 7. Ample parking.

Cons:

While the trees require some finesse in finding your line, most of the baskets are straight shots. It would be nicer to see more curves. Several Tee Pads are part of the walking paths. The creek is murky and if your disc goes in the drink you can kiss it goodbye. Navigation is tricky the first time around and the tee signs and map could be a little more accurate. Next Tee signs at the basket would be more helpful than directions on the Tee Sign. Layout is a little unconventional and the course ends far from the start.

Other Thoughts:

This course is definitely more demanding than Loomiller. It also has a much nicer feel and is a little more isolated. Nonetheless, the two courses complement each other well and Longs Peak Disc Golf Club hosts a tournament between the two courses. Warm up a Loomiller then test your chops here and you'll have a great 18-hole day as long as you stay out of the drink! *RIP Opto Vision and Champion Roadrunner :(
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
The Valkyrie Kid
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 46.1 years 1562 played 1507 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Clark Centennial Creek Course! 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 18, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

I'm officially proposing a name change for this course. As I see it, the creek is such a major factor in the early holes here, I propose adding it the official title. This is your typical green grassy, scattered mature trees, lovely city park course. The creek seemed to be a little wider and deeper and definitely comes into play on 3 of the first holes. The threesome ahead of us spent about 20 minutes wading the creek looking for their discs. CCCC has these neat orange baskets. I thought I remember the pads as being natural and they seemed to be very serviceable for this course. I have been informed the pads are concrete which is even better. The creek, however, is still water. I found rollers to work well on many of the holes. Also they took the creek out of play for me.

I liked # 7 as the signature hole on the course. It's probably 350' to a basket tucked in a grouping of mature trees. There are two smaller park buildings (electrical/ultility type) lying about 175' down the fairway. There is just enough gap between them to try to drive through. It's a really pretty hole with a challengingly quality to it.

Cons:

I'm sure some would say the creek is a Con. At certain times of the year, it might be kinda ugly.
There's only nine holes here. That's too bad.

Other Thoughts:

The local course rat, a teen by the name of Chris, kinda adopted me as I walked up to the # 1 tee. I quickly acertained that he was a creek diver and would be great insurance in the likely event that one of my discs should somehow find it way into the shadowy waters of Clark Creek. I deftly managed to avoid the creek and Chris served as my personal guide and historian through CCCC's nine holes. Although ear plugs might be recommended. But thanks anyway Chris!

Disc players living around here are fortunate having both Clark Creek and Loomiller in such close proximity. These are two enjoyable little nine-holers.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
jdw80550
Experience: 21.2 years 90 played 15 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Nice Course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 7, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This is a very nic 9 hole course that is easy to play an navigate. Nice variety for the terrian. It is a fast play, but not an easy play.

Cons:

9 holes only, easy to lose a disc in the creek that runs along side the coure, lots of pedestrians.

Other Thoughts:

Nice to have a course in Longmont, not as busy a Loomiller.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
Chiefstang
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.1 years 101 played 21 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Great practice 9-holer 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 24, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Concrete tee-pads or sidewalk tees at every hole.
-Multiple basket locations on each hole. They change the positions very frequently, and it really changes the challenge of the course. One day is birdie golf, and the next round beats you up.
-Very well maintained course, with new baskets, signs, and trashcans at every tee.
-A creek on holes 1, 2, and 4 add a touch of risk to the course. It's knee deep and clear, so getting your disc back just means wet feet.
-Very beginner friendly with most holes being open and around 300' in length.
-Good use of mature trees as fairway obstacles.
-Course is lit at night, allowing for late rounds!
-Ample parking and a practice basket near hole 1.
-A decent mix of anhyzer and hyzer holes.

Cons:

-Shared park, so non-discers are an issue, especially between 3-5pm when school lets out.
-Hole three often has to be skipped, due to it playing over a practice field. The local fix is to throw from the tee-pad of 8, to the basket on 6, giving you a complete 9 hole round, and leading you back to the parking lot.
-It's not the most inspiring course, visually. It's mostly open, with a scattering of large trees to work with. That said, it plays well.

Other Thoughts:

Clark Centennial and it's neighbor, Lomiller are both fun courses in a close area. It's worth the stop to play both. They're beginner friendly and the multiple basket locations change the course enough to make it worth coming back.

This course is within walking distance of me, and I've been playing it quite a bit. It doesn't get stale, and it's a great practice course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 5
cpaquette
Experience: 16.8 years 42 played 41 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Nice but small 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 9, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Creek comes into play on 3 or 4 of the 9 holes. This course has mature trees that come into play on a few holes making it a challenge to get an ace run opportunity on a few holes.

Cons:

Most of the holes are way too short for my liking.

Other Thoughts:

For as new as this course is, there will only be a potential to have 9 holes due to the restricted space it's built upon. While you can create your own additional holes to make it into 12 or 13 total holes, this will never be capable of being an 18 hole course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
14erDisc
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.3 years 40 played 40 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Mediocre City Park 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 20, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

This is a small park course that is very well kept by the city of Longmont. For such a small city course, Clark Centennial requires a fair amount of shot variety. Holes 1-4 and 6 all have a creek which comes into play which is very small, but placed well enough that it is fairly hard to avoid without accuracy. There are a fair amount of trees, and holes 5,6, and 9 I would consider challenging in the sense of trees/obstacles blocking the basket.

Cons:

Course is a fairly crowded park with many foot paths crossing through. There are often little children running around the park, unaware of the disc golf course. Between holes 1 and 2 (and again on 3 and 4) there is a fairly large fenced in pond which players must walk around in order to reach the next hole. To me this is a large inconvenience. It is pretty much a large obstacle which discers must walk around but cannot play around or enter. Course is very small and is played very quickly (unless you are held up by non-discing park-goers).

Other Thoughts:

Clark Centennial is a well manicured park and a short, fairly non-challenging course. It is a great course to get out there, throw the disc, try out some shots, and avoid trees/water, but it is not very challenging and does not have a very creative or fun layout.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
GDisc
Experience: 16.1 years 61 played 34 reviews
2.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 9, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

The course was very well groomed with Nice Pads & and had a good Flow. A Quick Round that poses some difficutly if you play the Sidewalks as Boundaries (as you should). There is a very small Water-Way that can pose some Risk.

Cons:

A bit crowded at times. Everything is relatively short so there is No Real Distance shots for Big Arms.

Other Thoughts:

This course will work out your Mid-Range game, for sure, and is well located if you are passing through Longmont, CO. (Not far off HWY 287). Clark Centennial Park offers a nice Break from the, much busier and more Technical Couse, Loomiller Park. If in Longmont, CO....Loomiller & Clark Centennial Park are worth checking out...
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
ryyedogg
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 47 played 34 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Decent course worth a round or two 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 8, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This is a great alternative to the other 9 hole course in town, Loomiller park. Top notch baskets, concrete tee pads, and signage at each hole provides a high quality feel. The holes range from medium to long (250-500) and all provide a challenge for most players. A few holes play by a creek, which I have seen countless discs fly into(including mine). For example, hole #4, one of the tightest holes on the course, plays between a row of trees and a creek, making an accurate toss necessary. Several holes are well guarded by thick trees, making birdies tough. This course will provide a challenge for all skill levels.

Cons:

The course is by a YMCA center and school, making for busy days when the weather is nice. Be cautious of pedestrians passing by on the holes teed off from the sidewalk. Although the signage is useful, the baskets aren't numbered, which can be confusing because some of the baskets are close to one another. Finding hole #2 was tricky the first time since you have to walk around a fence to get to it.

Other Thoughts:

This course is now a better reason for me to come to Longmont because it does compliment Loomiller well and since these courses are close to each other, one can easily squeeze in a few rounds at each course in an afternoon. It's easily one of the best 9 hole courses in the area. Kudos to the local disc golf club for making this happen!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
srm_520
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 20.2 years 156 played 142 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Another Great Longmont Nine Holer 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 8, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

Clark Centennial Park is the newer and slightly more demanding brother to Loomiller Park down the road. Like Loomiller Park, there are large concrete tees (or walking path tees), multiple pin placements, tee makers indicating the length of each pin position.

The layout, though mildly confusing, is good and incorporates the drainage ditch on three of the nine holes. The ditch is a disc eater when the water is high, and makes for some challenging shots for even good players. The course is also well maintained with parks and rec. people out on their golf carts spraying trees, laying mulch, and mowing, which made the place feel very safe.

BEST HOLE/S: #4

Cons:

Unlike Loomiller's easy to spot and read DisCatcher pins, Clark Centennial has Kingpin baskets. I love the orange and blue Broncos colors, but their quality seems much lower. However, these are brand new, so most won't notice a thing.

Make sure you print a map, because the Kingpin baskets also don't have the number posted on top of them so it can get confusing. Note the transition between #1 and #2 and stay left of the ditch, and then you'll come back over the bridge after playing #3. Even though one plays the water it almost looked like they ran out of space, so they just put two holes on the other side of everything else. Note there is only one bridge, so don't screw up and throw your disc over to the other side or you're in for a long walk.

Holes #6 and #7 play by the youth center, so get ready to have a bunch of kids in that area. They were mildly annoying in typical teenager fashion. Besides the occasional comment, they kept to themselves, but keep an eye on your discs.

WORST HOLE/S: #3

Other Thoughts:

Although not quite as polished as Loomiller Park, I can see most people enjoying this course more because of the more interesting layout, water play, and incorporation foliage on many holes. I would imagine after a few years, the course will get a little more broken in it will come into its own.

Granted its only nine holes, but the equally good Loomiller Park is right down the road - making it the best one two combo north of Denver. In my opinion, Edora Park in Fort Collins, and Oxbow DGC in Windsor are better individual front range courses, but I would be happy to have Longmont and Clark Centennial Park or Loomiller be my home course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top