Whitehall, OH

Community Park

2.865(based on 14 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Community Park reviews

Filter
15 0
Switters213
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 21.8 years 77 played 21 reviews
3.00 star(s)

A nice clean 9 or 18 drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 4, 2023 Played the course:once

Pros:

+ Well maintained city park. Fairways regularly mowed.

+ Rubber mat tee pads in good condition.

+ Nice mix of about 80% open park shots, 20% forest tunnels

+ Interesting use of logs and poles as obstacles on several holes.

+trash cans at several holes, picnic pavilion

+cart-friendly paths

Cons:

+ no hole maps at tees

+no benches at tees

+ Front 9 and Back 9 tee off from the same pad, could lead to a very crowded course on a busy day.

+ mixed use park, have to look out for joggers and dog walkers

+ Not a ton of variety from hole to hole. Shots mostly straight out.

+ The park maintainers apparently let the rough grass grow wild all summer. Its almost four feet high in June. Good luck finding a disc in there.

Other Thoughts:

This is a nice little 9 hole course that has been sort of re-expanded into an 18 hole course by calling the "shorts" holes 1-9, and then calling the "longs" for the same holes 10-18.

It kinda works, and at least you get a full round in.

This is a nicely maintained park except for the tall grass in the middle of the lower field. I'm sure they're letting the rough grow wild under the excuse that the wildflowers are good for the wildlife and pollination and stuff. And that's probably true, but when the weeds are four feet deep you're going to have a bad time trying to find any disc that makes its way in there.

From a player's perspective, it would be nice if they kept the rough to six inches or less. Everybody shanks one in once in a while, and I'd rather have me find my disc, than the lawnmower find it in six months.

The wooded holes here are lush and green in June. They play alongside the waters of Big Walnut Creek. Its nice and peaceful during an early morning game for sure. I wish there were more woods holes on this course.

Several of the open-field holes feature an array of large logs placed near the basket. This is a nice touch as it provides a sort of "roll stopper" where you can really drive for the basket and as long as you put it near the logs there's a good chance you're going to stop in putting range and not roll or bounce off into the aforementioned 4-foot deep rough.

I didn't play here when it was busy, but I can imagine that doubling-up the tee pads for each hole makes the playing field pretty congested in the afternoons. But if you can get out here early, this course is a nice experience. Its well worth checking out.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
The Alphabear
Experience: 26 played 4 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Great 9 Hole Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 3, 2020 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Unique shots
Decent drive length for a 9 hole course

Cons:

Rough is rough and hilly
Can be very wet
Right next to a YMCA and they hold many events right around the course

Other Thoughts:

This is one of the nicest 9 hole courses in Central Ohio. I live 5 minutes away and come to play this course often as a warm up. Hole 1 and 2 are right off of the parking lot and hole 3 shoots down a hill. The park opens up a lot when you walk down the stairs to the fields and main park area. Holes 4, 5, and 6 play into the woods and hole 8 shoots back up the same hill you shot down for 3. On Hole 8, the championship tee is at the bottom of the hill and the short tee is right at the top of said hill.

Some recent construction has the ground slightly torn up, but does not interfere with play at all.

Course is right next to a newly built YMCA and they have events down in the lower main part of the park right along the course. Last time we were there they had created a cross country course that crosses the disc golf course into newly purchased land to expand the park. Be mindful, most events happen on the weekends.

Would recommend for those looking to play a course that doesn't take very long to get through and creates interesting shots and nice views.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
Endermike
Experience: 7 played 1 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Lots of variety in 9 holes 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 9, 2020 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-Many different styles of holes (wooded, open, up/down hill)
-2 sets of tee pads (a couple holes radically changes the shot)
-Well maintained
-Pretty empty (was crazy hot)

Cons:

-Missing basket on hole #1 (I just pick a tree down near where the basket would be)
-Missing teepads on #2 (I just tee off near the post which is still present)
-Not super easy to navigate, but the map is clear
-Really buggy near the creek (holes 5&6)

Other Thoughts:

Saw a couple baby raccoons on walk from 5 to 6
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
DiscinOhio
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 10.9 years 203 played 192 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Unexpectedly Good 9-holer with Challenge and Fun! 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 24, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

+ Community Park is a pretty sweet 9 hole course in Whitehall, on the east side of Columbus. The park looks pretty compact at first, but it really opens up into a beautiful space after the hill on #3.

+ Every hole is unique and really stands apart from the others. #3 is an epic downhill shot that can be reached with a putter because of how steep the slope is. Fun to watch the disc soar.

+ Very good variety for a short course. You have a few that play through scattered mature trees, some in the dense woods, and a couple of more open throws. Also, there's very good variety in hole shape and length.

+ Maintained beautifully. Freshly mowed and the woods was very neat and tidy.

+ Two sets of rubber tees that worked very well. In my opinion, rubber is the next best thing to concrete and the tees were in great shape.

+ It's a perfect place for everyone to throw. Casual players will find fun in the short tees, while the longer tees tailor perfectly towards more advanced players.

+ Practice basket right by the first tee. If there's nobody else around, you can easily use the 9th basket as well for a two basket practice area.

Cons:

- There might be some room for a back 9, and I'd love to see this place expand to 18 (as long as the other 9 isn't crammed in or a bunch of filler holes). My rule of thumb is my max score for a 9 holer would be a 4.0.

- The flow in and out of the woods is easy to follow, but kind of awkward. You have to follow 4's fairway reverse to get to #7, and the tees are right next to each other. This looks like a popular spot so it could be an issue.

Other Thoughts:

I don't have much to complain about with this one. It's an awesome 9 hole course and is probably the best one I've played so far. Offers fun and challenge all wrapped up into a manageable 9 hole course. I'd love to have this in my community, so enjoy it Whitehall!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 3
thewishman
Experience: 75 played 6 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 6, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Park is empty in the morning
Nice variety of holes
Good use of space available

Cons:

Sometimes hard to find the next hole
Watch out coming out of the woods after 6 - the path goes right in front of the basket on 4 - and you cannot be seen from the #4 tee.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
Reb3times
Experience: 8.2 years 7 played 6 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Well worth the time 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 3, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Varied shots ranging from fairly open to dense woods and a cool steep downhill thread through the trees.

Course is well maintained. No long grass anywhere to be found except in the wooded holes where it should be.

Close to local food and gas in a fairly busy park.

Practice basket near the 9th fairway.

Cons:

Only 9 holes, but with two tees it could play as 18.

The two wooded shots can be very difficult for newer players due to the dense foliage.


Other Thoughts:

Great course for players of all skill levels. No real long shots here, but each hole offers some skill test. This is a fun course that can be played quickly. #5 runs along a scenic creek that doesn't come into play but is nice to look at.

There are ball fields on the lower half of the course that you could use as a practice area since they are rarely used. Simply set up a portable basket or other target and practice your long game without interfering with others that may be trying to play the course. Generally speaking, the course is one of the better ones in the immediate area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 1
Mulligan
Experience: 26.1 years 68 played 12 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Great little 9 holer 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 5, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

I think this course is pretty much an ideal 9 hole layout, which is why I'm giving it a higher rating than others. Its probably unusual to give a 9er a score above 3, but I think this course earns it. Its technical, fun, and a creative layout. Not overly discouraging for beginners, but also not just a series of gimmes for an advanced player. My wife loves to play this course with me, and I never feel like either of us are at an advantage on the other. The fly pads (short and longs) were very comfortable to launch from and the pins were placed in really interesting locations. It has a nice mix of tree lined semi open shots, an awesomely fun downhill putter pitch, a couple tough upshots, nice dogleg wooded hike, and is just well thought out overall in its design. #5 was surrounded in the middle of a bed of bluebell flowers in the woods today, was super pretty. Turning around after 9 and played another and I wasn't bored at all, cause the mix of shots is a lot of fun and challenging enough to want to play each hole again. This is the kind of course I wish was in my backyard.
Did I mention its often deserted, too!?
best place to catch a quick round without a clusterf@$& in Cbus.

Cons:

There is the tricky walk over 4's fairway from 6s pin, a better path out of the woods would be a good safety improvement.
I can see how it might get pretty swampy in the valley or in the wooded section, and have dealt with some mud back there on 5/6.
As weeds and flowers are growing in the spring, finding your disc on 5 especially can be a total pain.

Other Thoughts:

I'd change the layout of 8 and 9 if I could. 8 has a crazy shot up a very tall steep hill through a narrow gap to a plateau fairway that seems unnecessary for anyone without a killer tomahawk. The short tee is way up there at this gap, requires following a trail to the left of the lower tee to get up there, and from what I've seen, most people just hike up and shoot from the short. I think moving tee pads back towards the ball field and having the pin right at the top of this hill in that gap would be much more exciting and risky. Go for the pin then, and if you hit wood you are stuck with a 45 degree up putt with the worry of a LONG roll back down. Then 9 can tee off back in the corner towards the parking lot and be a longer final hole. Realistically, this is just nitpicking though, and I commend the design of this park. Totally disagree with other reviewers that this course needs to be 18 to earn a higher rating, they did a great job with what they had to work with... also think the flypads are nicely done, and don't see a need for concrete.

This 9er is a diamond in the rough!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Derek B
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 21.9 years 399 played 47 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Community Spark 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 24, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

1) Short and long tees
2) Multiple pin positions
2) Several legit holes for 9 holer (5 long, 6 long, 8 long)
3) Elevation on a few holes (3, 8 long)
4) Rubber tees (vs. dirt tees)
5) Close to freeway

Cons:

1) No concrete tees
2) Several holes way open with no obstacles

Other Thoughts:

This is a pretty good course for a 9 holer. One of the best I've played. My other memorable 9s in Ohio are Mt. Gilead, Mossy Oaks in Upper, and Walsh Park in Fremont.

The course starts out in the open and quickly drops off in elevation down into a valley, starting with hole 3 (after your drive). It goes into mature woods after your drive on hole 4, and comes back out of the woods after hole 6. It winds around in a semicircle around a baseball park and brings you back up top for holes 8 (after drive) and 9.

The wooded holes (5, 6) can be challenging, especially from the long tees and when the pins are in the long position. There is a big creek with running water on the right of 5 that can come into play with an errant drive or upshot.

Hole 3 is a fun little ace run in either target position as you're shooting extreme downhill, have to shoot into mature woods, and have to make the disc emerge into the open on the other side to make the target. Hole 8 long is one of the hardest holes to par on the course as you have an extreme uphill shot and have to shoot into mature woods and have the disc clear the woods up top. Then you have another 200' to the basket once you get up top.

The tees are adequate. They're rubber, and I didn't notice any slippage even though we played there last Saturday and the ground was wet. There are a few that are slightly uneven, but not enough to really affect anything. Concrete tees would be nice, but I would imagine that those wouldn't happen until the course becomes an 18 hole course, which I've heard that this is the long range plan.

Some of the open holes are way open, but some of that couldn't be helped if you wanted to keep the flow of the course going smoothly. Hole 7 comes to mind. In the short, there's just nothing there. At least 7 long has a steep downhill and creek to the immediate left of the basket that can come into play if you're not careful.

This is a good enough course to travel cross-town to play, but I wouldn't travel long distance just to play it (who would for 9 holer though). I want to rate it a 2.75 because I think it's better than decent/typical, but think it's slightly less than "good," but they don't have quarter points, so I'll give it a 3. If it ever becomes 18 holes and gets concrete tees, this could be a 3+ disc/5 course. It's a good addition to the disc golf community and is the first course for Whitehall, so bravo.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
BigAl724
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 11.6 years 178 played 144 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Casual Round with Decent Variety 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 3, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Community Park offers a more casual round with a good variety of hole types given the small amount of land used. The park was in great shape with grass mowed short and very little trash. For being a shorter course, it has some nice amenities with a practice basket, two sets of tees per hole, and multiple pin positions. There is also plenty of parking.

A good variety of shots and hole types are present here. The first two holes are a nice warm up, with a few trees in the fairway that force line shaping. Hole 3 tightens up with a putter shot straight down a very steep fairway through woods. 4 is a nice open drive with a tight approach within another wooded area, and 5 and 6 offer very tight shots within the same woods. 7 is an open shot, while 8 takes you back up the steep hill to 9 which plays in the first part of the park. These holes offer a nice mix of open and tight putter/mid shots.

A surprising aspect of the course given its location in Central Ohio is the elevation on a few holes. Holes 3 and 8 offer extreme elevation, with 3 being a downhill bomb and 8 being a steep uphill shot. There is also a hill in play on 4, which forces a blind approach to the basket.

Cons:

There are some issues with the design, as it is forced to be a little crammed and not able to be spread out:

The course flow is a little awkward and without 'next tee' signs. Not too much walking between holes, but navigation isn't always intuitive as you play in different sections of this park and have to back track.

The biggest navigational issue is after hole 6, which takes you out of the woods and right on 4's fairway. There is a big hill, so players teeing off on 4 will have trouble seeing anyone come out of the woods. Definitely could be dangerous.

The fairways for 5 and 6 run right next to each other and discs can easily land in the opposite fairway.

Holes 4 and 7 play right next to softball fields, which could interfere with fans if the fields are in use.

The longest hole is 375 feet, so the course doesn't offer much for big arms.

A lot of poison ivy in the woods on 5 and 6.

It was a little difficult traversing up and down the steep hill, being slippery after a recent rain.

Other Thoughts:

Community Park is a nice quick 9 among a day of playing some of the longer courses in the Columbus area. It offers a more casual round, with a few technical holes thrown in. It doesn't take too long to play, so I recommend playing here in between rounds at the more popular courses. The holes in themselves are right around a 2.5 (average) for me, but I knocked the score down with some of the design issues. Still worth a stopping here if you are bagging courses in the area. A local said that this isn't the best neighborhood, though I didn't notice anything to show it. Still, something to keep in mind.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
sisyphus
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.6 years 398 played 383 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Good thing in a small package 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 26, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

As an admirer of any course with multiple tees and basket positions, I found this nine holer to have an intriguing amount of variety in a small package. Even though six of the long tees are simply further back, the variety of lines, and new plantings of pines on three of the holes mean that you'll need a little more in your arsenal than just 'more D'. The feature holes (3, with its steep gap putter drop shot, 4, which demands a precise, blind left to right line, and 8, which is an astonishing, blind, steep, gap-defying uphill to get out where you can see the basket!) show off the fact that there's plenty here to challenge the recreational to intermediate disc golfer, and enough of a 'difference' to amuse those with higher skills.

With 17 (only one pad on hole 3) fantastic, level, grippy, flypad tees and a set of nine beautiful DGA baskets (which include a small pad to protect your base line plastic from scuffs on the sleeve/lock assembly at the base of the pin), and clear (if very basic) tee signs at the long tees which list distances to the A and B positions from either tee, the park has evolved well in the year plus it took for me to come back for a second look.

Hole distances range from 153 to 375 feet, and the longest hole is a tight, wooded lane I'd be impressed to see deuced. There is more parking here than can possibly be used by the disc golfers who might play the course, as it is primarily there for the four well-kept ball fields just a terrace below to the west. The drop from the upper terrace to the lower is well-incorporated into the course as a throw (3 down, and 8 long up), or as a tricky green (2 and 9). There is talk if (and room for) more holes to be incorporated on the woods side of the park, along the creek, which could weather into quite a nice course, if it were to happen.

Cons:

There is a little bit of a challenge in the course flow and lack of 'next tee' signage, so I've added a schematic map here for first timers coming from DGCR (looking forward to the Columbus folks doing up a more formal one). If it's wet, you will want to walk left from the third tee to the concrete (and handrailed) stairs. After 3, walk forward to the second tee sign for hole 4. Be careful on the two holes in the woods, because they run parallel, and trees notoriously kick discs in unexpected directions! After 5, walk forward past the huge log, and trek the path left to the short 6th tee.

After 6, there is a steep path to get out to the open, but if it's slippery, folks might be tempted to backtrack to the gap on 4 (which could be very dangerous if folks are throwing there!). Then walk past 4 to the 7th tee. There is a more gently sloping, if circuitous, path to the left of the long 8th tee to get back up topside, and folks throwing long 8 should probably holler up to the top of the hill to make sure no one is in the flight path there.

Other Thoughts:

In all, the Whitehall course is pretty, well-maintained, and a different kind of challenge for the beginning to intermediate level player. There aren't any real grip it and rip it opportunities here, but there are plenty of those on the other courses in town. Finally, not being a native of Columbus, I can't speak to the notion that this may be an 'interesting' part of town, but I've been here twice without concern. My first trip in, the park was hosting a fairly sizeable softball tournament, and the teams and fans had camped out pretty much all over the course, so we weren't able to try all the holes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Puckstopper
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.8 years 36 played 36 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Best that could be done with what was there. 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 21, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Hole 3 is a fun steep downhill shot. I'm coming to recognize this as a Paul Jay signature, as he incorporated a similar, but longer hole on his fantastic Simsbury course.

No one else on the course with me, although I was there a little earlier than I usually play.

Second set of tees provides a little more challenge

Cons:

Very limited in terms of land.

No tee signs, so you'd better have a smartphone to long onto this site, or print out a scorecard in advance.

Rubber tees are already getting lumpy.

Navigation was OK, once I found hole 1, but a sign letting me know where the first tees were, and a direction to the first basket would have saved me ten minutes.

Hole 4 plays over a path and beside a baseball diamond. Not crazy about the proximity.

Kind of a tweener course. It's a little to technical on holes 4-6 to be a good place to bring beginners, but it's not likely to interest a better player.

Hole 8 from the long tee is pretty brutal. If you don't have an overhand shot, you're hurting.

Holes 5 and 6 need serious cleanup. There is no great route to take to the pin from the long tees. Some strategic grooming of trees would solve this pretty easily though.

The neighborhood around here is a bit rough. I was a little uncomfortable leaving my car due to a couple of loiterers. No harm was done though.

Other Thoughts:

First, there is potential here. Add concrete teepads and some signage and this course would get another half point bump. Move the long tee on 8 back a ways so the hill isn't so gimmicky and it would get another half point from me.

Please don't let my laundry list of Cons scare you off. Many of them are nit-picky and YMMV. Also, don't take those Cons as an indictment of the course designer. He did really well with a small piece of land, and incorporated 3 fairly unique holes (3, 4, and 8 from the long tee). However, having to work around the obstacles I mentioned, and probably on a shoestring budget is inherently limiting. Paul is a very good course designer who put together one of my favorite layouts (Simsbury). He just wasn't provided the tools to create a great course here.

I would play this course again if one of my friends wanted to (and was driving). However, I probably won't be back on my own. More because I've got Blendon in my back yard, and Hoover 10 minutes away, than because of anything inherently wrong with this course. It's just a simple case of their being better courses closer, and my favorite Columbus course just being a few minutes further East for me if I'm going to drive.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Miamisms
Experience: 13 years 92 played 2 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Meh... 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 16, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

- holes 1-4 and 7-9 are really well kept with mowed grass.
- great looking and grippy rubber tee pads
- fun shots.
- hole 3: I know is short but here in OH you don't get much elevation change so still fun.
- hole 4: fun, tricky shot into the woods with a smallish opening
- hole 7: long tee is a must play! Haven't seen a shot like that and it was very fun.
- baskets VERY nice and new
- long and short tees
- lots of parking
-practice basket !!! Yes :D

Cons:

- no signs :-/ had to do lots of walking around to figure out which basket to shoot at and which tee to start with.
- longish walk from holes 3 to 4 going into the woods and then from 6 to 7. Not super bad and I see why they did it that way but I still think it would have been more interesting and have better flow if they worked that out better
- holes 5 and 6 I didn't care for at all. 1) because they were unkept wooded holes. Basically place basket here and tee here with a fairway FULL of weeds and no paths. 2) because there was absolutely no indication or even pathway that took you from the end of 5 to 6. ( I know I could have simply looked left at the wooded basket of 4 but there was caution tape so I figured that was off limits.)

Other Thoughts:

Be careful on the slopes of this course most are muddy and very steep. On hole three there are stairs ( my dumbass didn't see them) but on hole 7 (huge incline) there didn't seem to be any.

Also I must add as a note that I am prone to poison ivy which made my disdain for holes 5 and 6 immense. I'm sure if you aren't prone to getting it then you might not mind.

Would be a fun 18 holer if they worked it out nicely. They still need to do lots of work in the wooded area though IMO

An okay course for your mids and putter practice.

I'd drive the extra miles to go to Blendon anyday ( until maybe this becomes 18 holes lol)
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
steven2361
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16 years 286 played 55 reviews
2.50 star(s)

9er 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Oct 6, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

The design is unique in that there are not many RHBH hyzer holes. There are 3 RHBH Hyzers, 4 LHBH Hyzers and 2 straight shots.

There are long and short fly pads on all the holes except 3.

Hole 4 is a cool up and down drive through a gap. Hole 5 is a challenging left turning tight tunnel shot. Hole 6 is a very tough angle to get a birdie on. There is one short par 4 in hole 8 from the long.

There is a practice basket.

There are now 2 pin options on most holes

Cons:

Hole 3 is such cool elevation but such a lame hole in the short pin. It is the easiest hole on the course. It plays less than 100 feet and is just a downhill putt approach. Hole 7 is wide open. Hole 9 is a boring flat, hyzer finish.

The course routing is annoying in the long walks between 3 and 4 and also between 6 and 7.

This course is good for beginners.

There are no signs or distances yet.

Expect a lot of spit outs on these Mach IIIs.

Other Thoughts:

How is there no downhill bomber hole with the elevation here?

I would not recommend playing here if you can get to a local 18 holer that is better,
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
jcf5083
Experience: 14.6 years 49 played 18 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Great Design But Still Rough 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 10, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-I just want to start by saying I fell in love with the course design. Great change of elevation and I can't think of a better way to use this small piece of land.
-The shiny Mach 3s are sexy and are installed perfectly.
-Fly pads are grippy and surrounded by rocks, so no brown teepads that you see on other rubber tees.
-A few good ace race holes, as well as some longer ones that can challenge you.
-Practice basket, always a nice amenity.
-Multiple teepads for holes, some of which create different lines
-Under the radar right now so there is minimal traffic on the course, but in case there is you have about 250 parking spots.

Cons:

-Only nine holes, although another nine *may* be installed in the future.
-Missing tee signs as of now. Like the extra holes, I believe the signs will be coming in as time goes on.
-Missing the nice things that usually +1 your experience: benches, trash cans, restrooms, water.

Other Thoughts:

The next time you think about playing Blendon you should save your money and visit Community Park. This is a good course and I think once it is touched up it has the potential to be one of the best short courses in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top