• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Creve Coeur, IL

Creve Coeur DGC

Permanent course
3.175(based on 9 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Creve Coeur DGC reviews

Filter
11 0
aclay
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 39.7 years 327 played 254 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Creve Coeur

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 12, 2022 Played the course:once

Pros:

-- Excellent use of land. There is no water and the elevation isn't huge, but it's well used as are the trees.
-- Port-o-potty.
-- Distance variation isn't great (187-319, not counting the long tee on 8), but the longer holes (4 and 6) tend to throw uphill and the shorter holes (7) tend to throw downhill.
-- No. 5 is probably the signature hole: 291 feet downhill; it's mostly open for the first 240 feet before you need to a hit a 15-20 foot wide gap in the bushes to reach the basket. No. 7 (214 feet) can play as an island hole. Hole 8 is tucked into the woods with an elevated pin with a drop-off behind the basket.
-- Excellent concrete tee pads; they are a little narrow but plenty long.
-- Excellent baskets.
-- Tee signs are adequate with hole number, distance and a basic map.
-- No filler holes.
-- Water (spigot).

Cons:

-- No map on site.
-- Limited shade.
-- No. 1 plays alongside a street (residential, so not a lot of traffic), so throwing into the road is a definite possibility.
-- No seating at tee pads. Not a big problem at a 9-hole course.

Other Thoughts:

-- Not a lot of cons for this 3-disc course. It's good (not great), but it lacks distance, water and amenities that could make it a 4-disc course.
-- Course flow is mostly good, but finding 2 can be a challenge: You can see the 4 basket and 5 tee pad and sign. You have to walk past the 5 pad, and 2 is tucked into the tree line on the left. Also, on 9, the basket you see in front of you is No. 5. It would be a great hole (about 390 feet slightly uphill with a low ceiling. Instead, you are playing to a basket on the right, in the trees.
-- The community center does not appear to have regular hours. It appears to be more of a "reserve for special occasions" building.
-- There are other recreational activities on site (a half basketball court and a horseshoe pit), but those don't really interfere with the disc golf.
-- A nice covered pavilion with numerous picnic tables is near the parking lot.
-- The alternate tee on 8 (417 feet) offers the only hole longer than 320 feet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
wolfhaley
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.2 years 1068 played 634 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 16, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course is located on a nice little chunk of land for disc golf. No other activities should interfere here which is a plus. This is a really fun little 9 hole course. The flow of the course is pretty intuitive to follow for the most part. There are concrete tees on every hole. One tee per hole. These pads are a little on the narrow side but you're not going to need a huge run up anyway. These were all level and gripped nicely. The tee signs here have all the basic info on them. Hole number, distance and basic map of the hole. Plenty serviceable. The baskets are DISCatchers that are in pretty solid shape still and they catch great. The design here uses the land perfectly to fit 9 fun and unique holes in. Hole 2 throws from a small tunnel back out into the open. Hole 3 is a fun little slight downhill right to left that you need to hit the opening or it can get dicey for a two. Hole 6 is an elevated basket, hole 7 is an "island" hole if you want it to be, Hole 8 is tucked into the woods again with another elevated pin with a pretty good drop off behind. Just really well designed all around.

Cons:

I will say without a map finding hole 2 is a bit confusing. You can see 4's basket and 5's tee pad and sign which is confusing. You have to walk past 5's pad and it's tucked into the tree line on the left 30 or so feet away. A few of the holes run pretty close to each other as well. Could be a little sketchy on a busier day, mostly on the earlier section.

Other Thoughts:

This is definitely worth a visit if you're nearby. A round can be played in under an hour depending on your pace of play. The course is free to play and permanent. One of the better designed 9 hole courses I've played in awhile.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
FlipinPankakz
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

I Found It 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 11, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

Four beginners, a varied course, and not one lost disc. Some variety to the holes with some woods and open spaces.

Cons:

Shorter holes, seconds tee worries me (loose an ankle)

Other Thoughts:

To find the second tee walk along the church street till you get to the fire hydrant, street side of the bushes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
Goober22
Experience: 6.9 years 4 played 3 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Great, Simple Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 26, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course was easy to follow and well laid out. The variety of shots was great with both longer drives and some shorter technical shots. The elevated basket was a nice plus!

Cons:

The course is very simple and doesn't have any "iconic" holes. Pretty simple, city park style course.

Other Thoughts:

Although this course is small and not very "memorable," the great signage, scenery, and elevation changes make this hole a fun one!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
sisyphus
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.8 years 400 played 385 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Unusually Good Nine, but how do you pronounce Coeur? 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 20, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Creve Couer is a really good nine hole course design where you'd least expect it. Boasting large, level, landscaped concrete tee pads, a bench on every hole, next tee signs where needed, informative tee signage and new DisCatcher baskets, this course has distances ranging from about 200 feet (on the 'Stonehenge' ace run 7th) to nearly 400 feet (playing the longer tee on 8).

Did I mention that hole 8 plays to an elevated basket position with a steep drop to the creekbed ravine just beyond? Fortunately, first timers knew that going in because they've already been down there to play the gap-running dogleg left on hole 3 (which seems to play a bit longer than 256').

The course packs in a great deal of variety in a few short holes, and is a fun challenge for casual through intermediate skill levels.

Cons:

They only had room for nine holes, but made the best of them. Big arms who like to show 'em off won't get much chance to do that here. The course slightly favors RHBH throwers (OK with me, but it's obvious to mention it). Finally, the finishing hole is a little bit of a letdown after the really well done 8th.

Other Thoughts:

There was a large group of friendly locals we chatted with (Hi!), so the vibe feels right here. Finally, no Tracy, we're not stalking you: just happened to be the closest course to our hotel and we had an afternoon tourney round to get loose for!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
The Valkyrie Kid
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 46.1 years 1562 played 1507 reviews
3.00 star(s)

I Agree With ElementZ ! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 12, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

I'm sold on this little course. How I would love to have Creve Coeur as my home course. I think it has three and maybe four really, outstanding holes. The park is not big. It looks like maybe three city blocks around. The course starts right by the parking lot and a picnic shelter. The course has nice concrete tee pads. The tee signs have the usual info on one side (hole #, par and distance) along with a hole sponsor. The other side of the signs have the hole # in big readable letters which helped with navigation. Not that it was hard to navigate here. The baskets are yellow Discatchers with the yellow bands and numbers on them. On the ground beneath the baskets are patio blocks set that point to the next tee pad. There are benches at each hole.

I think # 3 is the signature hole on this course. It's 256', slightly downhill to a thick grove of trees and bushes sitting a small gully. There is a tiny window, maybe 6 foot wide, in the grove. The basket sits on the far side of the grove. I doubt that many players ever hit that window but it's there and everyone will be going for it.

Holes # 2 and # 5 are both similar to # 3. They both are downhill throws where you have to hit the window in order to have a chance at the birdie.

# 9 is another hole I really liked. It's just a simple little anhyser toss through the woods but I liked it.

# 7 should be called Stonehenge. The short 214' downhill throw is to a basket surrounding by landscaping rocks. Hence the name Stonehenge. This hole could really be improved if they would add one taller stone, like a pillar maybe 6-8' tall. Put it right in the line of a RHBH. A tall well placed rock could add about a 1/2 stroke to this hole.


Cons:

I wish # 6, the raised basket, was utilized instead for # 9.

Only 9 holes.

Not much I can come up with.

Other Thoughts:

Reviewer ElementZ, who loves this course, puts it in the top 5-10 courses in Illinois. Heck, I would place it in the top 5-10 nine hole courses I've played anywhere! Creve Coeur is truly a great play. I highly recommend a trip here.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
MikeK
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 29.1 years 330 played 128 reviews
2.50 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 21, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

+concrete tee pads
+challenging, tough to score under par
+doesn't seem to have bugs

Cons:

-not that memorable, just an ordinary 9-holer if you ask me

Other Thoughts:

Couple of fun downhill holes and many baskets placed in the woods make this one interesting, but really nothing to get all that excited about.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 1
ElementZ
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.1 years 212 played 200 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Great Course! 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Oct 2, 2015 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Holy moly! I love this course! This was my 125th course, so I've developed a pretty good idea of good and bad and this is definitely on the good side!

For a 9 hole course, this is fantastic. Truly fantastic.

The layout is perfect. Here's why. The designers utilized the land amazingly. Each of the 9 holes is unique and offers it's own challenge. It is a memorable course with #5 being the signature "field goal" hole. However, through the use of elevated baskets and island greens and small little idiosyncrasies, each hole is memorable and fun. The layout is extremely intuitive and flows very well. I was a bit confused on hole 8, but that's because there are apparently two tees on this hole.

The equipment is very new and great. Cement tee pads, new DisCatchers, signs with adequate information. Grass is mowed. Garbage is a non-issue. I'm impressed. There are definitely people here that care about the course and continue to nurture it like their baby.

Cons:

The biggest (and maybe only) con, is that it's nine holes (which automatically takes a point off the rating). There are no massive elevation changes and no water, but it makes use of the land perfectly. Because each hole is so unique, you could easily play two rounds here and not be bored. The designers really tried to make each hole unique in their own way so there is no true "filler hole".

An idea, I think having a big course map at the beginning of the course would add some value, though the layout is extremely intuitive.

Other Thoughts:

Wow. Truly. Come check out this 9-holer. I would definitely put it in the top 10 9-holers in the state. Probably even top 5. It's definitely comparable to Skare Woods in Rochelle, IL (#1 rated 9-holer in the US). I had an absolute blast playing here on a fresh October morning. I don't think you'll regret coming here. Peoria's courses, especially the recent ones, have really impressed me. Peoria is becoming a fantastic destination for disc golf and it may now be the best in the state. My hats off on this course!

Edit: Pictures are now uploaded!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 4
horseman2
Experience: 18.8 years 89 played 1 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Creve Coeur 9 holes 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 3, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

Used what little land available very well, rolling hills, baskets mostly well protected. Fairways mowed nicely a good mix of open and tree protected baskets

Cons:

Not enough trees in the fairways,

Other Thoughts:

A real nice 9 hole course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top