• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Daphne, AL

Daphne Central Park

3.285(based on 9 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Daphne Central Park reviews

Filter
9 0
Par Hunter
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 3 years 24 played 15 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Elevation is the key 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 8, 2021 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Elevation changes are interesting and make you think about your shots (or second guess them).
It is easy to restock or switch out items after hole 9 due to the parking being in the middle of the course.
Lots of chances to use a driver, if that is fun for you.
There are enough trees that you need to consider angle of approach, or you will find yourself with a higher score than you had expected.
Trash is emptied faithfully, which is appreciated.
Finding your way around is pretty easy, except for hole 14. I have skipped It a couple of times by accident. It starts on the cart path and goes backwards from the bench and teepad for 15. Then you walk up a steep (sometimes marshy) hill to get back up.
Hole 16 is the most challenging on the course and provides a change of pace through heavily forested wetland terrain.
The wind is a non-factor on some days.

Cons:

GPS is needed to find the course, as there are multiple turns off of US 98. It chooses various routes too making it harder to remember directions for the next time.
Snakes are plentiful, making it hazardous to retrieve from either the culvert or the bridge area on 10 and 18. It also gives one pause in reaching into the brush on any hole. Our preferred option was to take a stick and either scare away any would-be ambush or drag the disc out just a bit. We arent going pro anytime soon, so safety was the greater concern.
The ground was marshy, even on the sides of hills, after recent rains. Expect shoes to be soaked if played at those times.
No restrooms on site, though Daphne businesses are only a few minutes away.

Other Thoughts:

The grass wasn't mowed this time and it changed play in these ways:
Made us fearless with approach shots since nothing would roll.
Had me using faster discs because no distance gained by a roll when desired.
My slow Aviar worked poorly for the most part. I should have left it in the car and used only the Dart, because i kept missing short after being tired by walking through the tall grass and extreme humidity.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
15 0
wellsbranch250
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 10.4 years 662 played 642 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Best Elevation In Mobile 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 12, 2021 Played the course:once

Pros:

(3.017 Rating) An open bombers course with one wooded hole.
- ELEVATION - Normally I would not start a review by talking about elevation, but for a course only a mile from Mobile Bay along the Golf coast, this course has a surprising amount of grade change. Several shots clear 30 feet in grade change. Holes (10) and (15) might even drop close to 40-feet (source Google Earth Pro). The course is truly blessed to have this element to work with.
- AMENITIES - There's solid equipment present on this course. The front nine course map is posted on the community board by tee (1). Tees are concrete and large. There are a few benches spaced through-out and a couple serve two tees. The baskets are Prodigy's with heavy chains. There's a shelter with picnic tables just north of tee (10). No multi-tees or multiple basket placements however.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - Although this course is going to be most ideal for Recreational and Intermediate level players, players above and below those levels may very well enjoy this course. Higher skilled players will enjoy the length, while lower skilled players will enjoy the mostly forgiving landscape. This doesn't mean however that everyone is going to love this course.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - IMO this is an above average looking course. Hole (10) looked awesome with the sun rising on the horizon the morning I played. I also really liked hole (16) which is the one and only heavily wooded hole.
- TIME PLAY - Average. This one took me 65 minutes solo on an empty course early in the morning.
- MAINTENANCE - The grass was shaggy in a few spots on my play, but not too bad. The course appears to be in a wealthy neighborhood, so I would guess it rarely gets horrible out here. There were a couple poor drainage areas that weren't mowed, which wasn't surprising.

Cons:

A major tree deficiency.
- LACK OF TECHNICAL CHALLENGE - 17 of the 18 holes here are either lightly wooded or open. Several holes don't even have a tree in play. I hit two trees the entire round. Players that like playing in the woods may not like this course.
- MULTI USE HAZARDS - There's a walking path in play on numerous holes. however, with the course being as open as it is, only the most oblivious players run the risk of pegging a walker. Thus this is more of a waiting annoyance than anything else.
- MISC MINOR THINGS - A couple pads had substantial cracks. A couple signs were beat up or lying on the ground. I didn't like the double back transition between (14) and (15). Playing here early in the morning will mean very wet shoes. Hole (18) to finish the layout was my least favorite hole on the course. It has a horrible line play with a row of tall trees and a tiny tree gap over a muddy wash. Plus the hole finishes well short of the parking lot.
- THE FRINGES - I thankfully did not grip-lock one well off fairway. The overgrowth along the park edges is brutal. On (15) and (16) the north edge also has swamp water lurking. Losing a disc here is possible on very bad throws that go into the wrong area.
- NO SHADE - Bring sunblock or get sunburn.
- WIND - I would imagine that this place is no fun on the blustery days. Zero wind in the morning for me. Woot.

Other Thoughts:

I have a hard time grasping how a site along Mobile Bay has this much elevation change. It's pretty neat that the locals have a course to play with this rare dynamic for the region. As for the course, I liked it somewhat, mostly for the elevation views and the opportunity to bomb shots. But after these aspects there's not much to gloat about. Bombers are obviously going to like this place, but a 250-foot arm could get bored and have little birdie potential. The course could benefit by adding front tees on a few holes. Hole (12) is a perfect example with its 438 ft par 3 designation. Anyways, among Mobile courses, this is a well above average course. I've played all the courses in the metro as of this review and would slot it 4th out of 24 courses. Behind The Admiral, USA and Cottage Hill. I have it about neck and neck with Langan Gold on the other side of the bay, which is a rather similar course. On the east side of the bay I have it just nudging out Fairways of Fairhope on the ledger.
- NAVIGATION - It's ok I guess. Kind of odd to only have a course map of the front nine, which obviously cues to the fact that this started as a niner. The tee signs are adequate for this style of course, but I do wish they had a next tee direction on them. Transitioning between holes might be tricky a few times on a first-time play.
- HOLE VARIETY - For an open course, I suppose one could argue that there's decent variety. A few par 4s and decent hole distance variation. As noted in the pros, there's a fair amount of elevation on site and it's used well. Personally, I think the course is one dimensional, being all length off the tee to score well.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
aclay
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 39.7 years 326 played 244 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Daphne Central Park 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 16, 2021 Played the course:once

Pros:

-- Elevation. Every hole throws either uphill or downhill. That is good because there are few trees and only one water feature (a very small creek/ditch on the back nine). Some holes have elevation changes in the 30-foot range.
-- Big concrete tee pads, decent signs and Prodigy baskets (1-9 green, 10-18 blue).
-- Benches. While not at every tee, there are plenty of places to catch your breath.
-- Course flow is good.
-- Front and back nine are separated by a road/parking lot, making it easy to play 9 holes or stop at the car mid round for supplies.

Cons:

-- Course is soggy in spots. The elevation plays a role in that as it appears water runs downhill, so the lower holes are worse. No. 4 tee was mostly covered in water.
-- Course map at kiosk near parking lot is out of date. It only shows a 9-hole layout even though the course has been 18 holes for five years.
-- No restrooms or water.
-- Walking path that circles much of the park provides OB definition, but it also brings lots of walkers into proximity, so beware.
-- Tee signs are showing wear. Hole 1 has no tee sign, and No. 6 is laying on the ground.

Other Thoughts:

-- Houses and apartments border most of the course.
-- Other reviewers talk about a repetitive feeling, but the variation in distances (less than 200 to longer than 500) and the change of throwing uphill and downhill kept it from feeling repetitive to me.
-- Don't use the address listed on this site. It takes you to more like a park office a few miles from the course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 3
HumDyn
Experience: 5 years 12 played 12 reviews
4.00 star(s)

65 degrees 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 20, 2018 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

1. Concrete tee pads
2. Hilly
3. Well landscaped
4. Great basket placement
5. Layout signs at front and back nine

Cons:

1. No restrooms (therefore not female friendly)
2. No water coolers (Igloo or other portable)

Other Thoughts:

shifting winds made disc selection critical. Course was recently mowed. Overall, an excellent day of disc golf.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 1
MikeK
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 29.1 years 330 played 128 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Bombs Away 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jan 24, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

+Prodigy baskets
+nice concrete tees, flush to the ground
+good tee signs that were useful
+hills! lots of hiking, a great workout for the legs and arm
+easy to navigate
+very close to I-10. Can see the interstate from hole 7's tee in fact
+two 9-hole loops so you can take a break at your car mid-round
+benches on a lot of holes

Cons:

-only one set of tees
-hole 18 is a dud. Would be so much better if the basket was way up the hill. Perhaps the neighbors disallowed the basket being placed up the hill on the low low chance a stray shot could hit the corner house?
-not much shade. This course has got to be a scorcher in the summer.

Other Thoughts:

Daphne Central Park is a pleasant surprise and might just be the second best course around Mobile, after the Admiral. I thought to myself, usually you have to pay to play on a course as nice as this, which looks like a ball golf course. Just about every hole has a lot of elevation change, and the baskets are well-placed so that placement on the green requires some thought and skill.

Sure, there's not a whole lot of trees, but the elevation changes more than make up for that by forcing accuracy in a different way---got to land your disc correctly to score well here. Big arms will have an advantage on this course, no doubt, but if you can't throw too far, the downhill holes will give you a distance boost.

Really tempted to rate this 4.5, but I'll go with 4.0 for now due to only one set of tees, and one set of pin placements. This course could really benefit from extra pin placements that would boost the variety and fun factor even more.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 1
Mr. Butlertron
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 21.3 years 675 played 131 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Green Acres Is The Place For D 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 15, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

- free to play, plenty of parking
- concrete tees
- numbered tee signs with distances and fairway images
- forgiving fairways, beginner friendly course
- plenty of accenting and descending fairways
- a good mix of distances
- intuitive layout
- 9 and 18 end at the starting point
- quality baskets, numbered
- information kiosk at the start of the course

Cons:

- construction on the course, temp I assume
- hole 3 uses a house as a backstop
- the course lacks obstacles
- fairways lack definition, not very punitive
- course soggy in spots

Other Thoughts:

Daphne looks to be the remnant of a neighborhood golf course. The fairways are humongously gargantuan in their vastness. It's more green and lush than I am accustomed to seeing in this region. Many of the courses around these parts feature plain pitch and putts or longer technical fairways. Not Daphne Central Park. This was literally and figuratively a breath fresh air. The overall beauty of the Daphne course cannot be denied either. The course use variations in elevation to create a majority of its difficulty. Seriously, who doesn't watching slow glide filling downhill drives?

I think it's worth pointing out a few of the course flaws, even though I thoroughly enjoyed my visit. The course fairways lack definition and obstacles to shoot around. Overshooting a fairway could mean interfering with play in other fairways that run near each other. For example, a guy cutting through the course teed off on 8 and landed his disc right next to me on pad 9. The lack of "fairway identity" can also make 18 holes feel a little repetitive. Some homes come in close proximity to the course, as well. Walking a big open course like this in the summer can be taxing with the lack of shade. Bring plenty of water and sunscreen, even if it means leaving them in the car and restocking halfway through your round.


Normally, well maintained courses pair well with carts, however, I'm unsure whether or not carts work well with all the changes in elevation. I'm also uncertain how often the grass is cut and how well water normally drains on the course. My visit was a little soggy and the grass was starting to look long in spots. I could easily see wet overgrown grass bogging down your experience here.

It's easy to see the appeal of Daphne DGC. I liken it to eating just desserts for dinner. The drop shots and openness are deliciously satisfying at first, but after a while I wanted something more well rounded with substance. My experience lands this course somewhere between 2.5 and 3. Course beauty and the fact that they've got all the appropriate hardware (concrete tees, signs, nice baskets) helped push my rating up to a 3. I feel that it would be an outright 3 if there were multiple tees and pins
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 3
magictenor1
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 24 years 361 played 91 reviews
3.50 star(s)

now 18 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 28, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

Great new baskets. Lots of elevation. Nice tee pads. Course flows well and is very easy to navigate. Nice mix of distances.

Cons:

Not a lot of cons. Course does not have many trees so elevation is the only variety. no real amenities onsite.

Other Thoughts:

Mainly reviewed this because the other reviews say there are only 9 holes. Course is now 18 with a road dividing the course into 2 9's. Definitely a course I would play again. Good design for the land there
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
enragedmullet
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 12.6 years 115 played 79 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Fresh air on top of the hill! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 10, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- Elevation and location!

Cons:

- no restrooms/amenities on-site
- on the short/small side
- proximity to residential areas
- enclosed by walking/jogging trail - potential for disc-to-bystander encounters

Other Thoughts:

Daphne has up 'n' raised the average for DG in the AL bi-county/gulf coast arena. As mentioned before, there are brand-spankin' new baskets, concrete tees, great views and ELEVATION. Those familiar with the AL gulf coast know that for the most part we are FLAT. The Hobbit in Midtown has some elevation but compared to here it's 2-D. On these 9 short holes elevation plays in such a contrary way to the rest of the area that on that virtue alone it is catapulted to the upper echelon of courses in the area, despite it being 9 holes. Sick of the norm in Mobile? Jam on over to Daphne, go 25 mph in the neighborhood, and enjoy (currently) 9 holes of up/down fun. Plus, just down the road is Fairhope's course, and from there, Foley's just a hop skip and jump. Makes for a long fun day of DG.

To update one thing from the previous review, there is now total signage- distances, layouts, par, etc. Also, there are garbage cans everywhere. Only a jerk would litter here; it's obvious the community cares about their park and I hope golfers stopping-by treat it the same way because I can see it easily becoming a stopping-point and possibly even a signature course due to the elevation/scenic views. Also, there's the occasional bench. As for obstacles, while it certainly isn't as cramped as Cottage Hill or Fairhope or Chickasabogue, (aka, typical for the area), the trees nearby are used very effectively, coupled with the elevation, it's a fun toss.

From the small parking lot it is easy to navigate the course via signage. It's not a simple loop, but rather makes full usage of the acreage/elevation available. Hole 3 in particular stands out because, while it's not very long, it's downhill, so locals may find it easy to actually overshoot the basket and wind up OB. As a result, the course requires finesse on more than one hole in a way other courses in the area don't.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 1
The Drake
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 21 years 126 played 61 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Holy Elevation Batman (My 100th Course Played) 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 28, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Easy to locate right basically right off the interstate.
-There are concrete tee pads on every hole which aren't the largest in the world but they are nice and flush to the ground making them easy to work with.
-The baskets are brand new Prodigy baskets which seem to catch pretty well.
-Despite lack of signage the course is very easy to navigate for the first timer.
-Great overall use of the land available to create a solid 9 holes of golf.
-Very nice view of downtown Daphne from the pins of holes 5 and 6
-Elevation, Elevation, Elevation. Something much needed in this city.

Cons:

-There is absolutely no signage. The pins are easy enough to see so this isn't a total deal breaker but there's no indication to hole distances which on an open course can make it difficult to judge.
-A few of the pins are precariously close to houses or yards.
-No bathrooms
-Only 9 holes
-With the exception of hole 7 there isn't really a hole you get to bomb a shot on for such an open course
-Wide open with little in the way of hazards or obstacles (though I'll speak more to this below)

Other Thoughts:

I don't know all the details of this course but saw it pop up on our local facebook page with people raving about it so even though its across the bay from where I live I decided to pop over and try it for officially my 100th course ever played. I was not disappointed. Reportedly there is another 18 holes scheduled to go in the ground in the not too distant future and I can't wait to see what they come up with.

The nicest thing about this course is its elevation change. Most courses here in Mobile are very flat and even for the few courses with any elevation change it's minimal at best. This is a completely different ball game and reminds me more of courses I've played in my previous home towns of Birmingham and Nashville.

Most of the knocks on this course I'm sure will be fixed with time. It would be nice to have tee signs with some distances and I'm sure they're on the way. Likewise there's only 9 holes now but I know for a fact they already have looked at designs just across the street for an additional full 18.

I would point out that one of the more unique qualities of this course is that it looks like it was designed on an old par 3 ball golf course and is set right in the middle of a neighborhood with houses flanking the fairways. The only concern I would have in this regards is stray discs going into yards but given the relatively short distances of most of the holes I don't see this being a major issue.

Finally in regards to the openness of the course there really isn't much in the way of obstacles but the few trees present have made for some nice fairway routes and pin placements forcing certain shot shapes. There is a walking trail around the outside you could play as OB but its relatively out of the way of most of the fairways. Still, it adds a nice challenge.

All and all this is a the beginning of what looks like will ultimately be a very nice course and I can't wait to see what they do with the rest of the land. In the meantime I think its a 9 holes worth stopping by and playing if that's all you have time for or if you want to play more than just the 20 holes at Foley down the street.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top