• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Dallas Center, IA

Eagle DGC - Memorial Park

Permanent course
2.555(based on 10 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Eagle DGC - Memorial Park reviews

Filter
10 0
knobby325
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 9 years 332 played 250 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Good course in a small town 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 16, 2022 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-Good size concrete tee pads
-Baskets OK
-Nice use of the terrain
-A couple of finesse shots needed (#1 large rock to work around, #4 large evergreen to work around)
-Good for beginners, but not just a pitch 'n putt
-Nicely kept park

Cons:

-Walking path in play on #2, #3, #5, #6, and #8
-Playground could be in play long on #9, way left of #1
-No signage (but hole # and distance stamped in concrete tees)
-Many wide open shots will bore the higher level payers

Other Thoughts:

Eagle DGC is located in Memorial Park on the east side of Dallas Canter, IA. A good city park course with large tee pads and a course that stays away from some of the other park activities. There is a walking path that is in play on several holes, but I've only had a few people to contend with on my rounds, so easy to work around. There is not much for elevation, and the trees are sparse, but these both come into some play. A slight elevation works in on #7 and #8. The trees will come into play on #3, definitely #4, #6, and #7. There is also a large rock with some trees to work around unless you have a absolute straight shot on #1.This course would be a great place to teach the game without "giving it away" with pitch 'n putt lengths. Adding some signage would be nice. Overall, I've enjoyed my rounds here and I would play again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
Shortcake27
Experience: 6.1 years 3 played 1 reviews
3.50 star(s)

good course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 22, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

I think that this is a great course overall. It is well taken care of and a great course to play.
-Great fairways for the most part
-good distance
-good variety
-well designed
-good grounds crew
-is a fun relaxing course to play
-nice tees and baskets

Cons:

-hole 4 has a giant tree 15 feet away from the tee box
-hole 6 is very close to a fence, my friend hooked one over

Other Thoughts:

the first tee is hard to find, but it is an overall great course with well thought out hole placement and good use of trees to create a great course, I would make the drive out to play in Dallas Center.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
seadog19
Experience: 16.2 years 10 played 5 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Good Course But Easy 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 3, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Open terrain to support long drives. Grounds are well maintained.Great course to learn on (I learned here)

Cons:

Very limited obstacles and easy pars

Other Thoughts:

I have played this course many many times and I enjoy playing it. It is the type of course that you play when you are bored and just want to get out there and golf.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
prerube
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 17.1 years 275 played 236 reviews
1.50 star(s)

NEEDS TEE MARKERS!!!! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 3, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

9 holes with concrete pads (distance engraved into pad)

Open holes to throw drivers

nice bathroom and park on site.

Even with the unmarked pads, I was able to find my way around without issue until hole 8. Hole 8 took 5 times as long to find the pad than to play the hole.

Cons:

two major cons kill this course.

1. Tees need tee stakes, not tee signs, just stakes so you can see them over the grass. Tee signs would be a bonus. Just the addition of a single tee marker on each pad would raise my review of this course.

2. Hole 9. I thought nearby Evan's park had one of the worst finishing holes in disc golf, but this was far worse. The basket was literally less than 30 feet from the swing sets and it is centered in a very crowded and active area. Hole is almost unplayable.

Other than that, the course is simply flat and mostly open. Not much special about the course worth driving a significant distance for.

Other Thoughts:

This is a typical par 3. It is a very quick play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
Dsjoats
Experience: 10.1 years 316 played 15 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Hidden Gem 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 30, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Brilliant course layout on a flat, wide-open public park.
Great use of trees to guard the baskets.
Once you find the 1st pad (behind the bathrooms) this course was very easy to navigate. The pads for the "next" hole are always easy to find.
Good variety of hole lengths. Some drives are "blind" from the pad.
The grass in the park is beautiful. No need for hiking boots, you could probably play this course barefooted.

Cons:

#9 basket is very close to the playground and could easily be moved to a more interesting location (by the big boulders..hint hint)

There are no signs by the tee pads, but the hole # and distance is "written" on the concrete pad, so I really didn't miss them.

Other Thoughts:

I loved playing this quiet little course. This would be a perfect place to learn to play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 4
Hyzerbomb
Experience: 12.1 years 58 played 2 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 15, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The best thing about this course is the baskets, it has a good flow to it and can be play relatively quick

Cons:

This course is fairly open with few trees, and the city keeps cutting the trees that are there down, WTF dallas center

Other Thoughts:

will play agian
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
mndiscg
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.1 years 483 played 478 reviews
2.00 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 16, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Nice baskets
-Good for beginners or a quick round. You are unlikely to lose a disc unless you toss it over the barbed wire fence so just be careful on that hole. The lack of traffic and great flow make you able to blow through a round. There is never any looking for the next tee pad or scouting for a basket.
-Many ace opportunities
-A few interesting tee shots, number 4 was a blind one around some conifers and 8 was blind down a hill and 9 was long.
-Good parking and nice bathrooms, this course is mowed often and I didn't see any trash.

Cons:

-It is pretty open, may be pretty windy.
-Could lose a disc over the barbed wire fence.
-Not a lot of elevation, a pretty flat park
-There are some big rocks in the middle of the park. I wish they would have incorporated them into the course somehow, like putting a basket right in the middle. That would have made for a signature hole.
-There is a walking path near some holes that you may have to watch out for and hole 9 shoots back towards the main park area.
-There just isn't much to challenge you on this course. Even if your drive is horrible you should be able to recover and get a 3 on any hole, unless your drive goes backwards. There aren't many obstacles and the course is overall pretty short.

Other Thoughts:

-This is one of those city parks that they didn't have much to work with but they did alright. I doubt that there is a better place for the city to build a disc golf course. This is a small town. I wouldn't go out of my way to play this course but if you are in town you might as well breeze through a round. If you are traveling to get here, play Adel or any of the big courses in Des Moines.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
Airfishey
Experience: 19.1 years 129 played 9 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Too Easy 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 13, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Always clean and mowed
-Barely any walking distance between pins and tees
-A lot of aceable holes
-Restrooms on site
-Drinking fountain and shelter in park
-Rarely crowded

Cons:

-Not really a hole to really unleash your drivers
-Not much for obstacles to throw around
-Not much variety
-There's a fence with barbed wire at the top on the side of 2 holes that you have to avoid. If you throw over it, you have to take an annoying path all the way around it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
jdggna
Experience: 18.3 years 23 played 13 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Very blah... 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 14, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

Well maintained grass.
Very low chance of loosing discs.
Several "ace-able" holes for intermediate players, even a few for novice players.
There are restrooms on site.

Cons:

Very simplistic course with no elevation.
Most shots are fairly open with the pin sitting near a couple trees.
There is barbed wire on the top of a fence that runs along two of the longest holes on the course, making disc retrieval very annoying if you go over. This potentially affects LHBH and RHFH throwers more than others, but it is still not difficult to do.

Other Thoughts:

This would probably be a great course for beginners if not for the barbed wire fence. If you live in Dallas Center, it might be worth stopping by occasionally, but this is definitely not a course to travel to. Adel's course is closer to the interstate and much more fun to play, though if you're traveling any distance it would be better to stick some higher ranking courses closer to Des Moines.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 2
garublador
Experience: 20.2 years 7 played 7 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Pleasant 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 25, 2008 Played the course:never

Pros:

Well groomed, a few different shots required, not very busy, good use of existing land.

Cons:

A couple short, easy holes, borders a business with a barbed wire fence and some houses, limited parking.

Other Thoughts:

Not a bad course if you're in the area, but not worth traveling for.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top