Oswego, IL

Eagle Ridge/Civic Center

3.775(based on 50 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Eagle Ridge/Civic Center reviews

Filter
1 4
Au Gratin O'Brien
Experience: 21.7 years 5 played 5 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Awesome! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 12, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Challenging shots that don't favor one type of throwing style. Every hole you get something different. Tee boxes are set up really nice, and course is just over all well taken care of. Plus the course is never over crowded (use to be wonderful a few years ago when it was always empty, but I guess you can't keep a good course like this hidden forever).

Cons:

BUGS!!!!!!! Bring bug spray!!!

Other Thoughts:

Besides the bugs it's a great course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 1
Jukeshoe
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.5 years 315 played 266 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Quality Chicagoland DG 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 19, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Eagle Ridge is located in a spacious community park. The disc golf section has walking trails nearby but otherwise is well-separated from the playground equipment and most other general-use park areas. Modest elevation changes, though not epic in scale are found throughout the course and are put to good use. Rollaways can become a factor on a few holes due to pin placement, but generally the terrain is more "rolling" than hilly. The course starts off in a grassy field, works its way through a well-worn wooded area, and then back out to the field.
- The wooded holes provide the majority of the excitement. Schule is minimal and the fairways defined. A decent variety of hole styles force hitting various lines.
- The pro tees (which unfortunately I did not get the opportunity to play) seem to add not only distance but often a very different, more difficult angle of approach.
-Very good trapezoidal, brushed concrete pads comprise the am tees, while the pro tees consist of crushed gravel.
- A couple of well-placed mandatories help rectify possible safety issues and increase the difficulty of two holes.

Cons:

-Signage could be improved. Signs are only up on the am tees, and only provide the hole number, distance, and a photograph of the hole from the tee, which doesn't help much in the case of several blind holes, even with yellow arrows pointing out the general vicinity of the pin.
-Navigation can be slightly tricky in one or two places, as worn trails heading to a nearby tee seem the logical path, but will take you to the wrong tee. In general though, the flow is straight forward and easily managed.

Other Thoughts:

-Some fairways seem too close to adjoining fairways. With the amount of traffic this course gets, the need to be aware of errant discs exists. My group was almost hit by a wayward drive from another hole, without a "fore" for warning. The crowded nature of this course along with some of the blind fairways exacerbates this issue. I do not consider this a "con," because the course is crowded due to it's quality and variety of design.
-Easily amongst the best Chicagoland has to offer.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 0
tamahawk
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 17.5 years 50 played 50 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Oct 9, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

Course Essentials:
-Baskets: Single position MachIII baskets are all in good shape.
-Tee Pads: Pro (Crushed gravel); Am (Concrete)
-Tee signs: Signs on all 18 holes located at Am tees only. Show hole number/distance. An actual photo of the hole (from the Am tee) is located on each post with an arrow pointing to the basket or direction of the basket if not visible in the photo. Direction to Pro tee is noted on the photo, along with distance to the hole from the Pro tee.

General Course Design & Layout
-Par: 54
-Distance: Pro Tees: 5870ft/326avg; Am Tees: 4925ft/274avg.
-Overall Layout: Semi-Technical
-Fairway Variety: Straight (9), Left to Right (5), Right to Left (4).
-Elevation: Mostly flat with minimal elevation changes.
-Elevation Variety: Flat (15), Uphill (1), Downhill (2)

Eagle Ridge/Civic Center provides a fun, semi-technical layout with a pretty solid design. The course provides a single 18-hole loop over relatively flat terrain that is moderately wooded. The baskets and tees are in good shape and navigation is a breeze. The layout is easy to follow, and there is a bar (painted yellow) on the bottom of each basket which indicates the direction to the next tee. The course is clean and well-maintained with trash cans on each hole located at the Am tees. Brooms are located on some tees to clean off the pad on necessary holes.

The fairways are mowed lower than the rough in the open areas which helps to define the fairways on the open holes and separate the fairways on nearby holes. This is a nice feature and helps add visual appeal considering the relatively flat terrain. The wooded holes have a lot of thick brush and foliage, but the fairways are clean and well-defined. The few elevations on the course are minimal at best but used as effectively as possible in the design. There are a few wide open holes, and a couple of decent technical holes, but the course in general is comprised of shorter semi-technical holes where there are some obstacles to work around, but nothing drastic.

Length really offers no advantage on this course, with the Pro tees averaging under 330/hole, and the Am tees around 274/hole. A good controlled tee shot will yield a low score. The Pro tees offer a different look/feel on some holes and are located directly back from the Am tees on others offering more length but a similar feel as the Am tees. The course provides a nice visual appeal, and seemed to be pretty popular, there were several groups out playing the course during my visit.

Cons:

-No signs on Pro tees: For a first timer to the course playing the Pro tees, you will spend some time walking to the Am tee to look at the sign/photo of the layout, then back to the Pro tee to throw. Signs at the Pro tee would be a big help.

-Walking/Biking Trails: There is a walking/biking trail near many of the fairways, be aware of others in the park who may not be watching for stray shots.

-Thick Brush/Bugs/Snakes: The wooded holes have a lot of thick brush around them, and some poison ivy as well. Come prepared for ticks/mosquitoes. With the nearby Fox River, snakes are definitely present, I saw 3 during my only round at this course.

-Drop-offs: Some fairways/greens have steeper drop-offs that could make retrieving stray drives/approaches more difficult. A small retaining wall is built behind the basket on 5 to help prevent drives from skipping through the green and down the slope. The slope is also present to the right of the fairway on 6, 12, and 13.

Other Thoughts:

All in all a fun course to play. There are many courses near the Oswego area, I only got to play this one during my visit with family, but was not disappointed. The first tee is a short hike from the parking area, but there is a posted sign to point you in the right direction. If you are in the area, it is worth stopping by to play, a solid 3.5 disc course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
ArcheType
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.8 years 38 played 25 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Well Rounded Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 28, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This course offers a ton of variety in its holes. There are holes for every shot in your bag. This is also a very wooded course, which will certainly test your ability to place your shots cleanly. A lot of the holes have guardian trees, which really push good shot placement. Some holes also have the baskets up on small hills, which make for punishing roll aways from missed putts. The hills in the area are used well, and make for fun elevation changes. The fairways are maintained very well. The short tees are cemented very well, and the long tees are in pretty good shape as well. The brooms on every tee are great additions, aside from the fact that jerks always have to break them. The course uses the land it has very well. The course also has a good amount of trash/recycling cans.

Cons:

I hope I'm not the only one who feels this way, but the signs here SUCK! Its simply a picture from the tee, that you're already standing on, and a yellow arrow pointing to the general area of the basket. I would definitely prefer some aerial views similar to Highland Park's.

The course could also use a few more benches, they're very few and far between.

My most outstanding gripe with this course though is the rough. Its filled with thorns, and bugs, and all kinds of general unpleasantness. Its just too much, to the point where even on open holes, if you stray a foot off the fairway, it becomes a production to find your disc amongst all the tall grass.

Other Thoughts:

This course is an all around fun experience. It's challenging, and pretty with the scenery. There are more challenging courses, like Highland Park, and prettier ones, like Community Park, but this one allows you to have your cake and eat it too. I recommend it to anyone who's in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 0
Three Putt
Staff member
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 29.2 years 152 played 127 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Unanticipated Gem 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 13, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

I played Eagle Ridge years ago, and I could have sworn it was a 9-hole pitch & putt. With that in mind I really was not expecting much at all from it, but I was pleasantly surprised. It has to be right up there with the best courses in the Chicagoland area. The course is wooded with well defined fairways. Get out of the fairway and there is a nice underbrush to deal with. You need to manage the course as most of the baskets have guardian trees and you need to be in the right spot for a good birdie putt. There are a few openish shots (#3, #11, #15) added in to the design, giving it some variety. The course has very good elevation changes for the area and has a few pin placements with nice drop-offs to add some challenge. The course has good tee signs with a photo of the hole and short tee distances, and the baskets have yellow marks leading you to the next basket. They also have brooms on the tee signs so you can clean off your tee if needed. I didn't really keep track, but there were a few tees with benches. There are two tees on each hole (the short tees are concrete and the longs are crushed gravel) and in most cases the long tee added a different look to the hole. For me the course played very differently (and harder) from the longs, which is supposed to be the point of long tees. All in all it is a very well put together course.

Cons:

Like a lot of wooded courses, it's on the short side. It seemed like I had a Roc in my hand off the tee a lot. A lot of the holes are a similar distance with a similar layout and feel, so after a while it got a bit repetitive. There are a lot of Roc shots out there. There are a few open holes, but they really are not bomb's away length. The one hole that has really good distance (#16) has a HUGE tree right in the middle of the fairway, so you really can't let 'er rip on that hole. That's just nit picking though. On hole # 14 the basket is too close to the tee on # 12. Otherwise, it's a solid design.

Other Thoughts:

I've said many times that if you are in Chicago you should just play the course closest to you since none of them are really worth going out of your way to play. I might have to change my tune as Eagle Ridge is a very good course. I'll go out on a limb and say it is worth a special trip to play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
lordofchance
Experience: 15.7 years 13 played 5 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Short and Sweet 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 10, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Course is very well maintained
- Nice mix of Open and wooded shots
- Course takes advantage of hills to create some challenging shots
- Brooms are by the cement tees
- Nice photos are used to map the location of the basket
- Most baskets have a yellow bar to indicate the location of the next hole
- Some nice user of bushes and trees for line shaping shots
- Variety of holes which require the use of both forehand and backhand shots.

Cons:

- Course could use more garbage cans and benches
- Heavy bushes and brush can eat up your disc
- There is little variety in hole lengths
- 1/2 the course feels as if it is lacking variety

Other Thoughts:

I played this course for the first time today and it is a beautiful park. The only damper on my day was not having a machete to whack my way through some of the thick underbrush to retrieve my Teebird which arched off path.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 4
flashniggs3000
Experience: 24.8 years 132 played 6 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Oswego - Disc Golf Heven 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 7, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This is one of the best courses in the western suburbs.

Great elevation changes for an Illinois course

Good open holes and wooded holes

Sweeping faiways, well groomed

Cons:

The civic centre plays music to loud yet If you are a to 20 person you wont mind

can be a little crowded

BUGS!

Other Thoughts:

Next to Joliet's West Park, this is one of the best courses in the Chicagoland area. Wish they had 24 holes!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Disc Golf Greg
Experience: 16 years 21 played 16 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 18, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Nice baskets in perfect condition with hole number on top.
-Putting basket
-Cement Amateur tees and natural pros for now, until they install the cement ones. The tees are all in great shape too.
-Tee signs were some of the best I've ever seen, very unique and quality built. They include Distance and hole number are accurate and easy to understand. None of the signs are damaged.
-Brooms at every tee
-Loops back to start
-Camping nearby
-Restrooms and water fountain by the pool
-Nice shot variety does not favor lefties or righties
-Good mix of tight and technical, yet still fair
-Challenging course which is fun
-Parking was not an issue
-Scenic park which is secluded and tucked away from any other park activities
-Not too crowded
-Friendly locals
-Tournaments held here
-Clean park without much litter and it provides a decent amount of trash cans

Cons:

-Could use a little more variety in the distance of the holes
-Few more benches would of been nice
-Couple of the holes are pretty similar to each other

Other Thoughts:

Buggy in the evening, bring the spray!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
manglin
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.4 years 40 played 33 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Visiting Theresa 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 8, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Good signs
-Multiple tees
-Concrete pads for ams
-Nice baskets
-Benches
-Trash cans
-Nice restrooms (near the pool)
-Brooms near most of the concrete pads for sweeping
-Good shot type variety
-Good mix of open and wooded

Cons:

-Distance variety is lacking; seemed like most holes were the same distance.
-Gravel pads for pros
-Thick bushes on some holes can eat your discs
-Yellow rocks marking the pro pads didn't have numbers
-The flow of the course seemed to overlap, and some hole may have played across each other. This could be an issue during heavy tourney play.
-After finishing some holes, it was confusing to find the next tee. Some signage between the basket and tee would have help some areas.

Other Thoughts:

I am from Mississippi and got a quick opportunity to play while visiting the Chicago area. Lisa, Macy, and Theresa came to play with me also.

The course is nice overall. I enjoyed the weather up that way too. I lost one disc while up there, so that put a damper on things. Glad I got a chance to play though.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
notapro
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.6 years 568 played 281 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Intermediate/Expert 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 4, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Course is set in wooded area away from any other park activities. Good sense of seclusion inside the forest.
- Almost every type of shot needed throughout the course. Definitely rewards good line shaping through wooded fairways and around larger trees.
- Some decent elevation changes on a few holes help to keep every drive a bit different than the last.
- Alternate tees turn this tough course into a brutal one. There are lots more obstacles and lots more length on almost all of the pros.
- Good baskets, great tee pads, great signage, and even brooms to clear the box. Alternate tees are in good shape and clearly marked as well.

Cons:

- Not many... terrain is pretty much flat in general, no water, nothing that can be helped. Some of the holes are kind of similar to each other, but that is bound to happen with the land in use.

Other Thoughts:

- Nice wooded course that rewards good shots and punishes bad. Wooded fairways are mostly clear, no random skinny trees to avoid. Holes out of the woods also have good obstacles.
- The first time through, I stuck to the short tees, and was grateful for it. Some of the pro tees seemed downright nasty, in a good way of course. Hole 2's pro tee is directly over a nasty patch of forest/rough that would feast on short shots.
- Course made excellent use of the available land. Very well designed and enjoyable. One of my favorite Chicagoland courses thus far.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 3
Tyler V
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 16.7 years 146 played 95 reviews
4.00 star(s)

A course that has everything. 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 17, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Great Variety of hole types
-Uses land well
-Good combo of Woods and Fields
-Challenging Pars

Cons:

-Pro tees are natural, using yellow rocks instead of concrete tees like the amateur ones.

Other Thoughts:

This is one of those courses that show how a disc golf course should be designed. This course has a great combination of holes, from woods and fields, hyzers and anhyzers, and long and short shots. This course really tests your ability to place your shots and ability to throw with accuracy. Plenty of risk/reward with this course. Played a tournament here a year ago. Definitely a favorite of mine. Worth a trip out there to play it. Also next to Jericho Lake, which I hear is another great course. Play Eagle Ridge and you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 9
815RocSolid
Experience: 4 played 4 reviews
4.00 star(s)

sooo fun. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 14, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

- nice baskets
- nice flow
- possibilty of low score
- ace runs
- nice signs

Cons:

- some holes a lil too easy from am tees

Other Thoughts:

every hole had me wanting to unload the bag. any course that makes me feel like that is good in my book. i wish i didnt live 45 mins from here, i would play this course everyday if possible.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
smyith
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.4 years 210 played 68 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 14, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Great use of the land
- Fun technical course
- Open holes incorporate the hills, trees, and bushes.
- Wooded holes have great tunnel shot and great use of the steep hill side.
- Level cement teepads
- Tee Signs have an actual picture of the hole from the tee
- Pro tees look like the up the challenge significantly
- Easy to follow
- Great mix of shots

Cons:

- Pro pads are limestone and no marked distance
- Lack of trash cans and benches
- Chuckers are plentiful

Other Thoughts:

This is a fun technical course not far from the Fox River. I wish this course was closer so I could play it far more often. We played from the Am pads cause the teepads for the pro was loose limestone. I wish we had more time to play 2 or 3 rounds. If your in the area definitely go play. Jericho Lake is not far away either which is another fun course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
#19325
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.7 years 351 played 175 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Oswego has come a long ways. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 10, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This course started out as a super short below average 9 hole course. Over the last few years 9 new holes have been added and ther are now 2 sets of tees.

The park itself has some nice open areas with some heavy woods. In the woods there are some nice elevation changes and unique areas.

Tee #1 can be difficult to find. You have to walk down the path across the tracks to find it.

Oswego is now the best course in the western suburbs.

It has a wide variety with 2 sets of tees. The old 9 are more open while the new 9 have added heavy woods and difficulty. There is some minor elevation in the woods.

The short tees now have concrete. They are in the process of adding concrete long tees this year.

The tee signs are very cool. A picture was taken of each hole. They were framed on a post. The distance is also on the sign.

Cons:

Long tees are currently natural.

This course is still on the short side even with the addition of long tees. There are really no holes where you can open up and rip.


Other Thoughts:

The local club is very active. Post on the forum to find a playing partner.
http://foxvalleymetrodiscgolfclub.com/new/

Here are a couple of videos taken a few years ago. It's early spring so there are no leaves on the trees. You can get a feel of the course.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?...ature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?...ature=related

Make a day out of it and go play Aurora.

My Illinois Top 10.
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
El Mexicano
Experience: 20.7 years 49 played 1 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Eagle Ridge is worth the trip. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 8, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

Good use of the available property. Nice Good distance holes along with some challenging wooded holes. I played this in the fall, so it was easier to see the holes. I imagine the course plays much tougher in the Summer when the foliage grown out.There are plenty of risk reward shots. Cement tee pads are very nice. Once the long cement tee pads are added, this will be a good tourney course.

Cons:

None come to mind.

Other Thoughts:

Fox Valley has done a great job getting this course to where it is. I expect the cousrse to become even better as it ages.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
simplepmart
Experience: 15.7 years 135 played 3 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Best in the west 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 16, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

THE best course that I've played in the western subs of Chicago. Plenty of challenge as you wind up, down, through, and around the beautiful scenery. Plenty of risk/reward as you have to make frequent decisions to either lay up for the par or go for the chains and get your birdie. Good signs and flow to the course. A must play if you are anywhere close to Montgomery/Aurora/Oswego/Naperville.

Cons:

Couldn't give this course a 5 because it only has 1 hole out of the 18 that you can unleash a bomb on. I always leave this course wanting to have been able to air it out just a few more times. Mosquitoes are pretty thick in the summer during the late evening, so bring the spray.

Other Thoughts:

All in all, this is 1 of my top 5 Chicagoland courses. You won't be disappointed!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
Jusssstin
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Amazing Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 30, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Mostly everything about this course is a pro. it has short technical holes and longer holes wher you can just bomb them. I live right down the street and this is my home course.

Cons:

if you have a strat throw you are probably looking for a little while. other than that this course really has nothing wrong other than a few bugs after it rains

Other Thoughts:

bring everything you got to master this course. does not favor lefties or righties.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 1
mashnut
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22 years 831 played 767 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Nice course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 4, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course plays through a park with rolling hills, and a mix of open space with scattered trees and brush, and wooded areas. The elevation is used well to force uphill and downhill control, and add some difficulty to the wooded holes. The open holes are pretty flat, but have brushy areas to punish errant drives, and well placed trees to take away some easy lines. The wooded holes force accuracy, and will punish shots that stray off line. The greens in the woods are nice and challenging, and add some fun challenges to putts.

There is a good mix of lengths on the course, from some open bombs, to short technical shots. There are definitely some ace runs, but not a whole lot of real gimmes on the course. There are two sets of tees per hole, and though I didn't have time to play the longs they looked like they changed the course quite a bit and added some fun challenge to the easier holes. There is a nice putting area by the first tee, along with a signboard with a course map and local information.

Each short tee had a signpost with a hole picture showing the hole location and long tee location along with distances for both tees. They were easy to read, and easy to see from a distance, making course navigation pretty easy overall. The short tees are currently a mix of crushed stone tees that were in nice shape, and brand new concrete tees (locals told me that the rest of the short tees will be concrete shortly, and they are working on the longs). The long tees were natural, but were well marked with bright yellow stones, and were level and not rutted.

The locals were out working on the course, and protecting the newly poured concrete tees. All were very friendly and helpful. Seems like a great group of people take care of the course, and their hard work really shows.

Cons:

The course was pretty buggy when I played, so make sure you bring spray. There was also some poison ivy off some of the fairways, not a huge deal just make sure you keep an eye out for it. Some of the natural tees weren't in the best shape, though the club seems to be working hard on the tees and this should be resolved soon. I would like to see some signage on the long tees, otherwise players have to walk to the short tee to see the hole information, and they aren't always right together.

A couple holes play near or over a walking path, there were some times we had to wait for pedestrians to clear the holes. Otherwise, the area is just for disc golf though so it wasn't a big deal. This course is nice, and clearly well taken care of, it just didn't have holes with a lot of wow factor, or any that really stuck out as memorable.

Other Thoughts:

This course is beginner friendly in terms of signage and navigation, but there are some places where thick brush might frustrate newer players without accurate drives. More experienced players will enjoy the challenge on some holes, especially from the tougher long tees.

This is a fun course, and definitely worth playing if you're anywhere near. All the people on the course were friendly, and the course had a nice atmosphere overall. Pair this course with nearby Jericho Lake for a good day of discing!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
skinner21
Experience: 22.7 years 22 played 15 reviews
4.00 star(s)

home town course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 2, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

There is a lot to like about this course. There are two set of tees, with cement tee boxes on the shorts and limestone on the longs with a long term plan of those being concrete as well. Each tee pad has a broom from sweeping debris off. This course is maintained very well by the local club. They put a lot of work into it and it shows. There are garbage cans on almost every hole and very little litter. If you are coming to this course, please keep it that way! The course is in a decently populated area, but has a secluded feel to it. A nice putting green and bulletin board off the first tee. The practice pin also makes for a nice 19th hole if the course isn't busy.

Eagle Ridge requires a variety of shots to do well as it has a good mix of open and wooded holes as you weave in and out of the woods. It is somewhat near the river so there is as much elevation as the area can provide, though there isn't much. Par is very attainable from the short tees, but you will have to work hard to get it.

Cons:

There are not many places for big drives, from the short tee at least. I'm not a big of the tee signs. They are pictures of the holes with an arrow pointing toward the pin and they're not very clear. A simple drawn map would work better in my opinion, especially with the blind holes, which there are a decent number of (blind holes are not a con). Some of the wooded holes have trees guarding the basket, which I am not a fan of. There is deep shule in the summer that can eat discs. Be carefully of poison ivy. Navigating the long tees is very tough unless you are there with a guide. Some of the long tees come at the pin from an entirely different direction than the shorts.

I don't mind it, but there are no bathrooms on site.

Other Thoughts:

I play this course often as I grew up in the area and recently bought a house less than a mile away. Some of the fairways have no defined path to the target, but that is been changed somewhat with the removal of some dead trees. It is the best and most challenging courses in the area and a must for discers in the Fox Valley area.

If you are going here for the first time, there is a parking area along the road that has a walking path into the park. Just follow this path over the tracks to the first hole.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
4_Of_Spades
Experience: 15.7 years 36 played 28 reviews
3.50 star(s)

A Solid Course in the Area 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 4, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Good practice and course baskets, nice signs with real pictures of hole you are playing, hole location, yardage, and par marked.

Dual tee pads, all should be cement now.

Good mix of throws: hyzer, anhyzer, straight.

Mix of heavily wooded and moderately wooded holes.

Layout is nice and basket marks direction of next tee pad.

Was not that crowded when I played.

Nice park just for disc golf.

Cons:

Hard to find a poor throw in the wooded holes. Thick rough and trees border many of the holes.

Other Thoughts:

This is a nice and well thought out course. One of the more challenging courses around here and I will keep coming back when I can.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top