• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Edgerton, WI

Edgerton DGC

Permanent course
2.225(based on 9 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Edgerton DGC reviews

Filter
14 0
Hammer_Time_1977
Experience: 6 played 6 reviews
3.00 star(s)

fun but short

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 25, 2024 Played the course:once

Pros:

*7 of 9 holes are quite short (this is a pro or con, depending on your skill level)

*pretty well maintained. I think it would be quite difficult for all but the worst players to spend much time looking for lost discs here. There are really only two, maybe three, holes where you have any realistic chance of ending up in the woods / rough.

*plenty of holes that are easy to birdie, or even ace

Cons:

*7 of 9 holes are quite short (this is a pro or con, depending on your skill level)

*the signage could be better (more on this below)

Other Thoughts:

Overall, this is a very simple, short course (except for two holes). It would be a great choice for bringing a beginner of any age.

When I played this course (Feb of 2024), two of the signs were drastically off on hole lengths, and this was also the case in the UDisc Classic Layout. Hopefully both will get fixed eventually.

Hole 6: the basket is almost straight ahead of the tee, just slightly to the left, and it's 365 feet (measured with my rangefinder), NOT 189 feet like UDisc says (and the sign at the tee had something similar). This is off by such an insane margin that I figure they must have moved the basket at some point and just never got around to updating the sign.

Hole 7: the basket is dead ahead of the tee, and it's 270 feet (measured with my rangefinder), NOT 221 feet like UDisc says (and the sign at the tee had something similar).

It's a fun little course, and I'm glad I played it, but I'm pretty unlikely to ever go out of my way to visit again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
mthammer
Experience: 29 played 12 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Good place to start 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 29, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Good beginner course
Very easy navigation
Tee pads and good signs
Ace runs galore and birdie fest
Good for working on approach and putts

Cons:

Very short
Repetitive
Crowded if more than one group playing

Other Thoughts:

This is the best beginner course in the Janesville area. The others I've played are probably more fun, but first timers could see real success here and become addicted. Holes all are short and while there are trees the gaps are all big. I always hit trees, and I don't think I hit one on this course. I bounced a tee shot off the cage on 3. I birdied 6 of the holes. I'm a pretty average player. Overall, I liked the course and it's great to have one in Edgerton. If I lived there I'd practice approaches and long putts here often.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Stardoggy
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 12.9 years 1010 played 214 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Short and bland. 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 8, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Small 9 hole course set in a city park in Edgerton, WI.

Concrete tee pads, one per hole. A touch short, but you shouldn't be needing any long run ups here anyway. Plenty grippy, even when wet.

Decent DGA baskets, which were all mounted well, were in good repair, and caught just like they should. One pin position per hole.

A couple small hills to deal with, and a couple precarious pin placements that could cause rollaways (But probably only in the worst situations). There is also a good amount of large hardwood trees to contend with. Nothing tight, but you at least have to be aware of them.

Beginner friendly, for sure. Lots of ace runs, and would probably be pretty fun for a glow round. Basic tee signs, with hole number and distance, which is really all you need here. Navigation is pretty simple, with all the tee pads near the last basket.

Cons:

This course is SHORT. Everything pretty much plays in the 200' range. If you like throwing putters, this is your spot.

The course gets very repetitive after the first couple holes. It's basically short hyzer for everything.

Hole 1 kind of plays blind over a hill, and next to a sidewalk. Not ideal.

Other Thoughts:

For the small space they had, they stuck a decent little course in, but that's all it is. Great for small kids and beginners, but outside of that, there just isn't much here.

If you happen to be at the park, bring a putter and toss a round. Outside of that, don't bother.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
sisyphus
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.8 years 400 played 385 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Beginners: Enjoy! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 13, 2015 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This nice, clean park, located in a smallish town south of Madison, WI, boasts a beginner-friendly, nine hole disc golf course that has simple, durable, steel signage, small, level, concrete tee pads, and good DGA Mach2 baskets (even one with a flag for visibility over a slight rise). There are some nice park trees to work lines on the putter / midrange shots ranging mostly from 175 to 220 feet in length. You'll want to control the length of your tee shots on the two with fences behind and the two with woods long and left. The course flow is really pretty intuitive, running clockwise around the space with a double-back for hole 5. Most of the other park activities are separate from the course, provided you're not throwing warp speed, uncontrolled shots. It's a very quick, fun round for casual players.

Cons:

The lack of distance and challenging lines means competitive players (including Recreational and all higher levels), won't find much replay value here. The course isn't targeted toward that group. There are a couple of holes where grip locks or overenthusiastic throws could pose a slight hazard (one has a playground to the right of the fairway, and a couple play somewhat close to the horseshoe court fence). There isn't any real parking: you just have to park along the unpaved driveway.

Other Thoughts:

Just stopped in with my dad (who just turned 80 and is taking up disc golf for exercise) on a road trip, and this was perfect for him. He was comfortable here, and I had fun going for aces and deuces. We even used a best tee shot doubles round so he could rack up some twos.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
ElementZ
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.2 years 212 played 200 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Ace Race! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 25, 2015 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

For being a very short 9-holer in a public park, this course definitely has some pros going for it.

+ Great design given the land. The course flows very, very well and the walk between holes is like 50 feet tops. In terms of layout, the course designer does a great job utilizing the available land to create a fun beginner course. It's fun for beginners because the holes are all reachable and it's fun for more seasoned players because every single hole is an ace run. You won't need a mid!

+ Well taken care of. It's apparent that there's a community here that cares about the course. It's clean, grass is mowed, every hole has a sponsor, the course bulletin board was up-to-date, etc... The tees, baskets, and signs were in wonderful condition as well. I loved the flag on 1's basket!

+ The course is in all year and it's free!

Cons:

- No holes that require a mid or driver. The land doesn't allow for someone to just release all their frustration on a bomb hole.

- Fences to the left on the first two holes. It's clearly a beginner course, but when beginners play their first round they usually do a huge noob hyzer that goes way to far to the left...which is over the fence in this case.

- Fairly plain. Like I wrote earlier, the use of the land was top-notch, but the holes are not that exciting or thrilling or even memorable.

- No parking lot? I ended up just parking on grass. Seemed strange.

Other Thoughts:

Playing here is a very, very quick round. I completed TWO rounds in about 15 minutes. It's nothing special but at the end of the day, disc golf is disc golf.

p.s. Uploaded a rough course map and pictures so you can see for yourself!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
LmidgitD
Experience: 21 played 4 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Decent for what it is 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 12, 2015 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-Concrete pads
-Signs
-All holes are straight shots, although this may change once leaves are on the trees.

Cons:

-Very short holes. Bring a putter, maybe a mid once the leaves fill in. (Played when no leaves were on the trees)

Other Thoughts:

The course was extremely muddy due to snow melt. I'll replay this course once it is later in the season, and I'll review the course once again. Seems like they could have done a bit more with the course, but it is a fun course to throw a putter on.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
wolfhaley
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.2 years 1068 played 643 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Short, ace race type course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 9, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course is set up in a nice little multiuse park. The tees are just natural but they are in good shape and are fine for a course this length. All holes are pretty short and easily aceable for more experienced players. The trees are your main challenge here. There's not too many but enough to keep it interesting in most spots. The baskets are nice Mach 2's that are all in awesome shape and catch very nicely. The park is very clean and well maintained. There are bathrooms right by hole 1 too which is nice. The course is in year round and is free to play. There is a little bit of elevation here. Nothing major but better than nothing. Course stays away from other activities pretty nicely.

Cons:

The length is just too short for more experienced players. Not really anything else stands out about this course, It is just really a decent/typical city park course.

Other Thoughts:

Don't get me wrong, this is a fun little course. However it's not worth a trip out of your way to play by itself. Coupled with a few of the other courses in the area it can add up to a very fun day of disc golf.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
murphy0105
Experience: 14 years 10 played 5 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Great Beginner Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 1, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Good use of trees and terrain wrapping around a couple of parks.
Lots of ace opportunities and clear space to practice new throws and putts.
Clean and clear park with lots to do.
Even without a map or clearly marked signs, the layout is easy to follow and has a good flow.

Cons:

Probably the shortest course I have played, the longest hole being 223 feet, I only used my putter for the 4 rounds that I played.
Some of the fairways and tees are very close which could be a potential hazard once it gets busier.

Other Thoughts:

I brought my 2 year old son who had a blast at the parks located near hole 1 and 3. It's a great park to bring the whole family and get a quick round in.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
XDrew
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 18.1 years 273 played 17 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Like a mini Anna Page 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 5, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

This could have been a typical playground nine, shoehorning in a bunch of baskets without actual golf challenges. Instead it is a fun golf course, but shortened and expertly fit around some other park activities. For what it is (a family course in a small area of a small-town park) it's way above average. It's great.

Like a mini Anna Page, it has grassy fairways among spaced out mature trees. This leads to the biggest pro: many holes have legitimate multiple pathways to the pin. The best is hole 2, where you could go high lefty hyzer, low and straight, or righty hyzer one lane over (as long as nobody's on tee 3). OB fence threatens left and behind.

Stays in all year!

Cons:

Could use concrete tees ASAP. Some tee areas are muddy and pretty slippery with piles of fallen leaves. A course map on the course sign would help. Navigation isn't hard though.

You can pretty much always recover from an errant tee shot for a good look at 3. Some people call this "deuce or die." But with OB zones and shorter throwers, there are some 4s or higher lurking out here.

Just on the borderline of fairways being too close to other tees and other park activities. The course starts with a throw to a blind pin near the sidewalk and street, past a park building. It gets better after that.

No parking lot.

Other Thoughts:

Athletic fields nearby for your practice and warm-up.

Be warned, the OB fence along fairways 1, 2, and 3 does not go all the way to the ground. Your disc can easily slide under it. You have to walk all the way over to pin 3 to get around the fence or climb it (pretty easily done at a couple of gate openings).
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top