• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Waterloo, WI

Firemen's Park

2.855(based on 23 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Firemen's Park reviews

Filter
1 0
Johnsondere
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 1 years 136 played 83 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Pretty Solid 9 Holer drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 13, 2022 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

- Variety of shot selections needed
- Surprisingly challenging for a 9 hole course
- Great use of the elevation of the park.
- Tee signs are helpful.

Cons:

- Not a whole lot of parking. Need to park on the road or in a lot away from the course.
- A lot of the holes play close to walking paths.
- The design is sort of awkward.
- Rubber mats for tee pads...gross.

Other Thoughts:

Overall this is a pretty fun and solid 9 hole course. It's challenging enough to test the bigger arms but not too crazy to take the interest away from a beginner. Overall the designer did a good job with the space they had to create this course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
WisconsinDG Traveler
Experience: 105 played 7 reviews
3.50 star(s)

A nice surprise 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 22, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

+ Beautiful park with many shot-shaping trees to navigate
+ Great use of the elevation and features within the park
+ Groundskeepers keep the course well manicured and in great shape
+ No two holes are alike
+ Rubber tee pads in decent shape and play fairly consistent (aside from hole 1, where a bike path doubles as a tee pad - not a bad thing)
+ Some surprisingly long and challenging holes for a 9-hole course. Deuces are not easy to come by
+ Well made and fairly descriptive tee signs
+ Although not disc golf related, there is an incredibly unique baseball stadium next to the course. Evidently they play on Sunday afternoons and Thursday evenings in the summer

Cons:

- Walking/biking paths cross or are in play on many holes. WATCH FOR PEDESTRIANS!!
- Although somewhat unique, hole 2 seemed a bit awkward to me. The primary obstacle of the hole is first, the bridge and second the creek
- As other reviews have noted, the parking lot is nowhere close to hole 1 or at the end of hole 9. However, I would never trade a great course layout for convenient parking, so to me it is a non-issue

Other Thoughts:

This course far exceeded my expectations. In my humble estimation, this course should have a much higher rating than it currently does.
The day prior to playing Firemen's Park I played Evansville DGC, which has a higher rating at the time of this review. Although a nice course, Evansville was not nearly as fun and challenging as Firemen's Park.
This course was a pleasant surprise for me, and was worth the trip.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
ElementZ
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.2 years 212 played 200 reviews
3.00 star(s)

I wanted to give it 3.5... 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 27, 2018 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

+ When I pulled into this park, I was expecting a pretty standard public park 9-holer where I'd have a chance at a 2 with almost every hole. I was so wrong! The biggest pro this course has is how challenging it is. In fact, I think there are only 3 or so holes that are a reasonable shot at a 2. Very challenging, but in a very fun way.
+ Diversity. For a 9-holer, this place is diverse. There's a downhill bomb (that definitely needs some tree-trimming) #8, and two uphill shots (#6 & #9). There's an ace run at #1 and a water hazard at #2.
+ Tee signs are very descriptive, baskets are in good condition, the grass is mowed and the park is clean.

Cons:

I wanted to give this course a 3.5, but these drag it down a little to a 3.

- #1 starts on one side of the park and #9 ends on the other. Not ideal.
- A couple of the holes throw across pedestrian paths.
- There's quite a walk in between holes compared to a typical disc golf course.

A redesign here would go a long way. This could really be a top 9 or 12-holer, making it a fantastic complement to Bird's Ruin just a 10 minute drive away.

Other Thoughts:

This course kicked my butt, but I had a great time getting beaten up. I wouldn't recommend it for a new/beginning player as it clearly is geared more towards advanced players.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 7
ZombieAssaultTeam
Experience: 54.1 years 9 played 3 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Ok course for new players 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 7, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

its free...

Cons:

Almost everything.

So many low laying trees its nearly impossible to get an ace on any of the holes. so unless you can throw 500+ at waist level, you don't have a chance in hell of aces these holes. Not to mention the 1st hole doesn't even have a tee off spot, just a post. Then its total confusion as you try and navigate your way around the 9 holes trying to figure out where the next tee is.

Other Thoughts:

Its an ok course to go and toss a disc if you leave in the city, but i live 5 miles away and i wouldn't bother making another trip if that says anything. the park itself is very nice, running river/creek along it. nicely maintained but all the low laying tree limbs and branches get in the way of almost every tee. If they did something about that, would bump the rating up higher. Also there are no signs as to where the 1st tee is or which direction to go to find the next tee.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
tangerinewarehouse
Experience: 9.9 years 98 played 34 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Beauty - Challenge - Fun 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 23, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

nice park
challenging lines
good baskets
lots of elevation
lots of hazards, water, roll away's, thick brush,
easy to navigate once you realize there is no tee-pad for hole 1
its all about hitting your lines with finesse

Cons:

rubber tee pads are uneven in some spots
no tee pad for hole 1
have to throw over walking paths and sometime have to watch out for cars.
not too many places to air it out
some poor little trees will get chopped down by some disc

Other Thoughts:

i really enjoyed playing this park. I read the reviews and didn't think it was as hard as some reviews make it out to be. courses should be hard, i thought this one was a good utilization of the park but i feel like it could have almost been an 18 hole course if more of the holes were shorter technical shots like hole 1, 4,5.
next time i go i will try out the alt pins and maybe i will be satisfied with that. Other than evergreen campus in olympia, this would have to be the coolest 9 hole course i have played thus far. how anyone could rate this park lower than a 3 just because it was too hard for them is not doing this site justice
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 3
Spike Hyzer 23
Experience: 30.9 years 92 played 88 reviews
1.00 star(s)

The Hardest 9 Hole Course in the World? 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 5, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The course is exceptionally challenging, there is great elevation change, a lot of well spaced mature trees (including a willow tree) and the park is quite beautiful.
The 1st hole is an incredibly easy deuce and the 2nd hole is a beautifully designed hole that makes you earn a tough par. The 3rd hole is a really nice hole that can yield a deuce, but can also leave you on the side of a difficult slope either approaching or putting for deuce. The 4th hole is another nicely designed hole that rewards great shots with deuce, good shots with par, and mediocre shots with 4 (or worse). The 5th hole is perhaps the most challenging hole under 200' that I've ever played (the few birdies I've had felt amazing, and it's a lefty hyzer that plays to my strengths, the guarded green making it incredibly difficult).

It all goes downhill (and uphill) from there.

Cons:

It's an incredibly long, backtracking (over the fairway you just played) walk to get from the 2nd to the 3rd tee.

The 6th hole is nightmarishly long, extremely uphill, and sloping through a very wooded aspect of the park. I've played the course well over 10 times and had a single 3 on that hole. Listed at 375 and plays like 550. This is not what you want for a city park that should be for beginners (great guarded green though).

The 7th is a pretty cool slightly downhill hole that is listed at 417, but it still plays every bit like 350. It's again not the type of hole that is conducive to a short city park.

The 8th hole is a 375 foot hole that drops immediately off a plateau and gives you no advantage of an elevated tee. The main reason is that there are enormous mature trees blocking any sort of reasonable path to the fairway (there is no lefty route, and the single time I got close was a lucky accidental roller).

The 9th hole is a reachable distance, but the uphill slope makes this 299 play more like 360 and it's just not much fun.

So, I would rate the first 5 holes 3.0 and the last 4 holes 1.0, which gives my cumulative rating at just over 2.0, but I'm docking it a full point for lacking flow and other design elements AND the fact that it could be a great 18 hole course and not a punishment.

Other Thoughts:

There is an enormous amount of land in this area for a city park. Hole #2 is the only one on the right side, the only one that utilizes the water that runs through, and there would be room there for many holes.

A redesign is in order. Hole 5 should be the starting hole, as it is the most visible from the street where many park (most don't park in the lot in the park, which is far from the #1 tee). Hole 6 should be dramatically shortened and angled way to the right (there isn't that much technical shot making, and it would be a great 240 foot hole that plays like 320 and is now #2). Utilizing the original protected green for #6, we would then create a new #3 by putting a tee to the right and behind our new #2 pin. #7 would be turned into two holes then and would be #4 and #5. #8 would be turned into two holes as well, the first pin being short and to the far left, and then have a short open tee to the original green (now #s 6 and 7). #9 remains the same and is now #8.

Then we get really creative with our redesign. Play hole #3 backwards and call it #9. Hole #4 remains the same and we call it hole #10. Hole #1 is played backward and is now #11. The biggest advantage to this part of the redesign is that the overall design of the course flows better, it's obvious where to go next, and there are no long confusing walks between holes (as from 2 to 3 and 5 to 6 are currently). It actually plays like a track now.


Hole #2 remains the same and is now the finishing hole #12 IF we want to stop there (and this is absolutely the risk/reward type of finishing hole that you'd want).

The truth is, however, that there is plenty of room on that side of the road AND a very nice wide creek to work with that has bridges and other obstacles that could be worked into the design. We might not have to stop at 12 and could easily create 6 holes that finish with an 18th that has a basket on the shore by the bridge (which brings us back to the start).
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 13
Trapper311
Experience: 23 years 66 played 1 reviews
0.00 star(s)

A disappointment with so much potential. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 14, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

Beautiful Park. Has potential for 18 holes.

Cons:

Most of the holes have no good fairway, especially for the length. You can't have a 380ft hole with a 10ft. tunnel fairway(Hole 3). It's not fun. And disc golf is supposed to be challenging, but fun! The designer was a masochist and made most of the holes impossible and defeating. But what is really disappointing is the missed opportunity for this to be a fantastic course. There are great lanes for holes all over this park and the designer never took them into account.

Other Thoughts:

I have played this course 10 times or so since it was created. Every time I am done with a round, I wonder why I decided to play it. They got tees, signs, and pins. they forgot the fairway...
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
Stardoggy
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 12.9 years 1010 played 214 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Great little park course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 16, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Nice course in a scenic park full of mature trees and nice elevation. Don't be fooled by the fact that you can see almost all the baskets from the road...this isn't a pitch n' putt, for the most part.

For 9 holes, there's a LOT of elevation here. Several holes (4, 8, 9) play very uphill/downhill, and a couple of the other holes play at smaller grades. Nearly every hole has you weaving through large deciduous trees, but with several lines at most baskets.

Hole 2 plays over the river, with taller trees lining it...a fun little shot.

Hole 3 offers a big chance for a rolloaway down the right side.

Solid catching baskets, in good repair.

Hole distances provide a nice mix. Some short, some long.

Cons:

Mostly rubber tee pads here, which can be slick when wet. They were level, for the most part, so they weren't the worst thing in the world.

It would be nice if hole 9 could end somewhere closer to hole 1. You'll need to either park in the middle on the street, or hoof it back to the car. This could also be used as an excuse to play some safari on the way back.

Holes 2 and 3 play somewhat close to the baseball diamond, so playing here during sporting events could prove difficult.

Other Thoughts:

Parking on the street is advised, as hole 1 starts right next to the road, on the pathway leading towards the baseball diamond.

Don't mistake this for a pitch n putt...we didn't bother to look at distances beforehand, and decided (based on so many baskets visible from the road) to play this as a 2 disc challenge. While many of the holes are reachable with a putter/mid, several were not.

Overall, a super solid 9 hole course in a small town. We played Birds, hit this, then on to Rock River. There's also a whole corridor of 9 holers from here to Hartford, if you're so inclined.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
JeremyAD
Experience: 13.2 years 77 played 11 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Fantastic 9-hole Course! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 19, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

+ Beautiful park with many shot-shaping trees to navigate
+ Great use of the elevation and features within the park
+ Groundskeepers keep the course well manicured and in great shape
+ No two holes are alike
+ Rubber tee pads in decent shape and play fairly consistent (aside from hole 1, where a bike path doubles as a tee pad - not a bad thing)
+ Some surprisingly long and challenging holes for a 9-hole course. Deuces are not easy to come by
+ Well made and fairly descriptive tee signs
+ Although not disc golf related, there is an incredibly unique baseball stadium next to the course. Evidently they play on Sunday afternoons and Thursday evenings in the summer

Cons:

- Walking/biking paths cross or are in play on many holes. WATCH FOR PEDESTRIANS!!
- Although somewhat unique, hole 2 seemed a bit awkward to me. The primary obstacle of the hole is first, the bridge and second the creek
- As other reviews have noted, the parking lot is nowhere close to hole 1 or at the end of hole 9. However, I would never trade a great course layout for convenient parking, so to me it is a non-issue

Other Thoughts:

This course far exceeded my expectations. In my humble estimation, this course should have a much higher rating than it currently does.
The day prior to playing Firemen's Park I played Evansville DGC, which has a higher rating at the time of this review. Although a nice course, Evansville was not nearly as fun and challenging as Firemen's Park.
This course was a pleasant surprise for me, and was worth the trip.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
Grinder12000
Experience: 11.1 years 6 played 3 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Excellant Park course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 8, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Really pretty park course. Lots of large Oak trunks to negotiate but not . . . pin ballish. A thinking mans style course. Good balance between sidearm and back hand shots. Some long holes but not crazy long . . .just long for me I suppose. Not complaining.

Cons:

WELL - it's almost like they design 9 holes and then blindly tossed the holes out like a cup of dice. MAKE SURE you look where the next tee is so you have a clue where to look.

Other Thoughts:

First tee is on the cement path at the corner of the park.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
dehaas
Experience: 22.7 years 92 played 10 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Wish there was room for another 9... 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 20, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Excellent use of land; park is very well kept and lots of shot variety...long, short, righty, lefty, uphill, downhill.

Quite a few holes over 350 feet, uncommon for a lot of 9 holers.

Rubber mats instead of natural tees.

Tee signs with distances and pretty solid pictures of hole layout.

Cons:

I couldn't find a designated parking lot for the disc golf course and had to ask a baseball player where the course started. Hole 9's basket is about halfway across the park from hole 1's tee. I ended up parking on a residential street and walking to the hole 1 tee.

Not many garbage cans around given the many paths that work through the course.

Some of the holes seem to zig zag a bit, finding the next tee wasn't always obvious...luckily I ran into the guy who maintains the course and he told me about the walks that might confuse me.

Other Thoughts:

Many people do not give 9 holers any love unless you live right next to one. This course plays just like a legit 18 hole course, but there are just 9 holes. Don't come here expecting 200 foot pitch and putt holes. Lots of holes that make you throw relatively long but also display accuracy. I'd love to see this park have enough space for another 9 holes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
wolfhaley
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.2 years 1068 played 643 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Just okay 9 hole. 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 4, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Its always nice to see a small town like this have a course. Older style disccatchers here, but they were in decent shape. Rubber mats on all tees except 1. They were in good shape when i went since it was dry, but these tend to get slick so be cautious. All par 3s, and some have some good distance and/or tight, tricky lanes to the pin. Theres a small creek along hole 2s fairway to keep you honest. Theres very good elevation changes for a nine hole. Very clean park and there did't seem to be much if any vandalism and the flow is pretty easy to figure out as long as you find hole 1. Very nice tee signs with hole #, basic hole layout and distance on every hole. I've played plenty worse 9's than this one.

Cons:

Hole 1 is literally on the extreme southwest corner of the park which is a hike from the parking lot in the park. It'd be best to park on Park Ave. where you'll see the sign for hole 1. (look at the map location on the main page before you go, it'll save you time and a headache) Hole 9 ends nowhere near hole 1. Paths and roads wind thru course so you need to watch out where and when you throw. Kind of disjointed on the first 3 holes.

Other Thoughts:

Worth a play if you are nearby (it is right between Bird's Ruins and Rock River) but not worth a trip just for this one. But i'd be happy to have this if I lived in Waterloo.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
ShibbyDots
Experience: 14.2 years 1 played 1 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Long Awaited Change 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 10, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

The set up of all the holes was a little funky at start, but they really utilized how much space they had and it was a really fun course to play. Most the holes had certain lays to make you play to a forearm or backhand toss.

Cons:

I would have liked to see some of the trees cut down because there are a lot and maybe some better markers on where the holes actually start. I got lost after hole 1 and couldn't find hole 2.

Other Thoughts:

Also on hole 1 they had a tube to hold maps, but it was empty so that didn't help. -_-

I'm always playing Rock River DGC where you can lose you disc quite easily, so this was a nice change for once.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
Bushmaster
Experience: 19.2 years 9 played 9 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Check it Out 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 16, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Nice use of elevation changes. An ace chance. The course is not heavily played, I have never seen anybody else there while playing. The Maunesha River runs alongs hole 2 making it a little tougher.

Cons:

Road goes through the course and comes into play on a hole 4.

Other Thoughts:

If your in the area definetly check it out. One of the best 9 hole courses I have played. Used to have dirt tee boxes but now has rubber tee pads. Hole 3 is a tough par but can be done.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 6
Tradisc
Experience: 16.1 years 37 played 4 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Could be better 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 20, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Hole 2

Cons:

No direction or flow.
Horrible tee pads.
No set lines to basket on most holes.

Other Thoughts:

This could be a nice course if they updated the tee pads and installed signs. There is also a need for some trimming.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
19 0
koogs
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.8 years 133 played 20 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Lucky to have this course 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 22, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

I feel very lucky to have this course 5 minutes from my house. It's a beautiful course, very challenging for a
city park course due to the distances combined with the trees on every hole, as well as the water on hole 2 (see my pics). I've played this course 25+ times, so despite being a "noob", I feel qualified to review it.

Hole 1 is a nice warmup hole, 233 feet slightly downhill. You can come in from the right with a backhand, from the left with a forehand, or try to shoot the gap for an ace.

Hole 2 is 325 feet level, with the Maunesha River running right next to the fairway. In Native American, I think "Maunesha" means "Disc-eater". You can play it safe and sacrifice a little distance, or be aggressive and risk throwing a disc in the water. I have a throw-away disc in my bag just for this hole.

Hole 3 is 400 feet level, filled with trees, and all along the right side there's a brushy hillside that is also a disc magnet. When you finally get to the basket, if you overthrow your putt, there's a good chance it will roll to the bottom of the hill. I've only parred this hole twice, some of the locals play it as a par 4.

Hole 4 is 430 feet level, with a big tree right in front of the tee, forcing you to throw over the roadway. You may occasionally have to wait for a car to pass. The basket is also guarded by 4 trees.

Hole 5 is 200 feet level, a narrow fairway, and a wall of trees to get through to the right. Despite the short distance, I don't see it birdied very often; I've only done it once or twice.

Hole 6 is 315 feet uphill, with a fairly low ceiling, and a well guarded basket. This is the only hole I've never parred. Some also play this one as a par 4.

Hole 7 is 365 feet downhill, full of trees, with a low ceiling right in front of the tee. This is my favorite hole because it makes me feel like I can throw longer than I really can.

Hole 8 is 345 feet downhill, with the basket out of sight to the far left. Again, you have to keep it kind of low and straight until you clear the trees and make it break left. There is a road straight ahead that the long throwers might have to be careful of.
Hole 9 is 295 feet uphill. The fairway is wide open about halfway, then you run into a wall of trees, and again, a guarded basket. Hole 7 tee is just a few feet away, so I usually play that hole again, which gets me halfway back to where I parked. If you follow the directions on this page under the "Map Location" tab, you can park 20 feet from hole 1 tee.

Despite the distances, I don't feel the big arms have an advantage, except maybe on #6 and #8. On this course it's all about accuracy---getting through the trees. The more shots you have in your arsenal, the better. This course is never busy, I have personally never had to wait to play a hole. Rubber tee pads have now been put down and will be worked on over the next few weeks and eventually will be permanently fastened down.

Cons:

Walkways and roads through the park are in play on a few holes. You may have to occasionally wait a few seconds for a car to pass, or a minute for a pedestrian, but compared to the waiting I do at some courses, I don't feel these are issues at all. There are currently no trash cans on the course, I'm going to see if I can fix that. No benches either, but for 9 holes, not a big deal.


Other Thoughts:

Before you play this course for the first time, look at the map location so you will know how to park right next to hole 1. Also , bring a throwaway disc for hole 2. If you throw a marked disc in the water, and I find it, I will do anything I can (within reason) to get it back to you. I've even delivered a couple. And if you'd like a guide, feel free to contact me. UPDATE: Tee signs are now up. Remember to check each sign for direction to the next tee.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 4
wishingtan
Experience: 16 played 5 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Sadly No 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 16, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

It's a beautiful park. I used to play baseball here when I was a kid, and I have some great memories. There is a very nice stream running through, and some great views.

Cons:

You are constantly throwing at other players, walking paths, biking paths, over a walking bridge, at parked cars, and moving cars. Finding hole 1 is impossible, and is 200 yards from where you park. The 9 holes do not go in a circle, if you want to play a second 9, you have to walk 200 yards back to hole 1, crossing several holes in the process. Otherwise if you finish at 9, you have to walk 100 yards in the opposite direction back to the parking area.

Other Thoughts:

It's worth playing once, and maybe throwing together a picnic.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 2
Dave242
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 30.1 years 394 played 276 reviews
3.50 star(s)

B+ = You Be Feelin' Positive After Playing This 9-holer 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 22, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 9 hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == B (Tight lines for their fairway length on several holes and terrain on #3 add to the risk/reward. Impossible deuce length on several make it dumb to go for it and that subtracts from risk/reward. Still, overall it is quite good for the 65+ 9 holers I have played.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == C (As stated before, most of the holes are too long and/or do not have the lines to make a deuce realistically possible. The 2 short holes are too short to be rewarding. This is my biggest knock on this course which I hate to do since I love the concept of the design. I believe the long holes are legit par 4's for beginners.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == B+ (Good variety of shape and up/down design given that variety has only 9 holes to play out.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == A- (I normally would not give a city park such a high score, but the combination of the trees, the grass, the maintenacne and the stone walls make it very pleasant. You do not get much seclusion, but the course is in an area of the park that is not overly busy so it is quite.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A

Other Thoughts:

It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me....that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
pvilleDiscgolfer
Experience: 17.2 years 24 played 8 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Maunesha River 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 20, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Beautiful park
-Well maintained
-Many different ways to get to the pin
-Long up and down hill bombs
-Mature trees
-Several well placed bushes as obsticles
Challenges players to keep control of their disc to avoid a river on #2, a road on #5, and a steep hill covered in thick brush on #3

Cons:

Keep in mind the roads winding in an out of the park to avoid any collisions, also the holes really have no indication of where the next pin is so it can be a little difficult to navigate but like other reviewers have stated I have played the wrong pin before without even realizing it.

Other Thoughts:

This nine is set in my home towns beautiful Firemans park next to the Maunesha River a short tributary of the Crawfish river. Built by members of the Trek bike plant in town they were looking for something to do on their lunch breaks. If only this were around when I lived in town. I also think they could add several if not nine more holes. The park is large enough.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
tallpaul
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 36.1 years 934 played 137 reviews
3.00 star(s)

very nice nine 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 12, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

Rare that I would give a nine hole course a 3 rating. As mentioned in other reviews, this one is a gem. Except for hole #1, I consider all holes a tough deuce. #1, #4 and #5 are possible twos. However, my companion and I both were in the road next to #4, and considered this out of bounds. Other reviews stated river is not in play on water hole. I disagree, as to get close to bucket requires going over river the entire way. I was in both times, with one lost disc. We were mopping up small courses we had not played in Wisconsin as well as a number of courses a little west of Chicago. We knew there were not many great courses along our route. With that said, Fireman's Park, Waterloo, beat out a number of Illinois 18's and was our favorite course of trip. We played 18 total courses. In other words, this one is pretty darn good....

Cons:

To get to hole #1 from 9 requires a walk. We played #7 a second time each round to return to beginning. #7 is a nice hole, and so, was no big deal.

Other Thoughts:

Am interested in trying alt. 9 next time I get out there; which I plan to do. Combine this course with the course at Watertown; which has recently added a very good back nine and I think you will have added a couple of hidden gems to your list..
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top