• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Dallas, TX

Founders Park DGC

3.215(based on 19 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Founders Park DGC reviews

Filter
8 0
sillybizz
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 22.4 years 437 played 434 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Very fun !

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 19, 2024 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Easy Navigation and good course flow
- Excellent use of elevation as an obstacle
- Lots of trees to be hit if you don't hit your lines
- Baskets still look and catch well
- Concrete pads, a few holes share the same pad
- Good mix of left to right, right to left
- Low ceiling throws and elevated baskets
- Nice view of the Dallas skyline
- 11 Holes is the perfect number, glad they didn't try to cram too many in here or leave some out

Cons:

- Some fairways are close to busy streets
- Not many holes require more than a putter or midrange
- Trash and some graffiti present

Other Thoughts:

This is a really fun one near downtown Dallas. Elevation on courses in the area isn't exactly commonplace and you get a few really fun downhill throws here which was nice. Good for bagging as you can get it in pretty quickly. I really love that it's 11 holes. I've always said it's better to put in the number of safe, good holes that the property tells you it should have rather than deciding ahead of time how many holes it will have. Too many times courses have filler holes to get you to 18 or some multiple of 3. This is called the "magic number" problem. I'd rather 11 good holes than 6 good holes and 12 bad holes. Well done. Fun factor is very high here!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 4
Lladamj7
Experience: 5 played 4 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Fun quick play 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 26, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

Great use of varying elevation. No super long tees, which sets up for some birdie attempts for us average players.

Cons:

Course isn't super well kept...expect to see plenty of garbage along the way. Only half of the holes are marked, so might want to look for a map online. I accidentally played number 6 instead of number 2 which threw me off.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 0
c_a_miller
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.2 years 299 played 209 reviews
3.50 star(s)

A little bit of everything 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 10, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

Roger Lytle DGC has a little bit of everything that you would want at a solid disc golf course. It has low ceilings, tight fairways left to right shots, right to left shots, considerable amount of elevation, concrete tee pads, nice Discatcher baskets and easy navigation. The distances are on the shorter side, but with the combination of everything mentioned, this is a solid course that puts a premium on accuracy to get a low score.

I really enjoyed the back half of this course from hole 7 to hole 11. Hole 7 has probably a 20' elevation drop and is really short. So it needs a good mixture of finesse and accuracy. The next few holes weaved through a more wooded part of the park with a small creek running down the middle.

The course loops perfectly to the parking lot, which is nice. There is also a course sign at the beginning plus tee signs at each hole.

Cons:

Broken glass (and apparently needles) litter the fairway on hole 6. Hole 5 and hole 6 play very close to an apartment community, so there is a slight risk to throw over the fence, more so on hole 5 than 6.

There are a considerable number of walking trails that meander through the park. Just be cautious when playing.

11 is a weird number of holes, but let's be real, that is not even a real con.

Other Thoughts:

I enjoyed my time here a lot more than I thought I would. It is right next to downtown Dallas and easily accessible from any part of the City. There is a DART line that stops right in front of the course, but I am not familiar enough with Dallas public transportation to know how beneficial it is.

I could see myself playing here again if I am in the Dallas area again.It is a quick and easy enough play. Plus it is a bunch of fun!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 4
RedbirdinTX
Experience: 18 played 9 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Don't drive more than 10 minutes to play 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 15, 2019 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

1. Course is short, can be played on a lunch break, which is what I do.
2. Lots of shade.
3. Baskets are in good shape.

Cons:

1. The layout is wacky. Hole 2 is completely out of sequence and I have played this course 6 times and still have not found hole 6. There is no map of the course that I could find, which exacerbates this issue. They also have you throwing directly at 2's tee box from 5. I understand it is a small course, but maybe the solution is make it a 9 hole course instead of a weird 11.
2. Poor maintenance. The trash cans are often full, there is glass from broken bottles throughout the park and it is not often mowed.
3. Comically short tee pads. I cannot actually go through my fairly compact drive on these pads. They are narrow and short. Plus, they put the signs directly behind some of these holes, 4 and 9 come to mind, so you can't even step off the pad to start your driving motion.
4. The area can be bit sketchy. There are homeless and drug users in and around this park.
5. Speaking of throwing at people, if it is busy in the park, the course is essentially unplayable. This prevents me from going more often than I would like. I work 2 minutes from this course and have an hour lunch break. If the course was better, I would go play 3-5 times a week.
6. This course isn't all that challenging. There are 2 200' par 4s, which would be understandable if there was no line to the basket, but if you have a good aim, you eagle twice.
7. The paths to 2 and down 7 need help. They are dangerous when slightly wet, there is no sort of built pathway.

Other Thoughts:

If you added a course map, fixed the tee pads, re-worked this course into a longer 9 hole course, this would be a pretty good little gem. As it stands, I give it a 1.5 because it is playable, the baskets are good and that's really it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
Hix007
Experience: 22.3 years 122 played 10 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Perfect mid-range/putter practice course. 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 24, 2018 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This is an excellent little course with significant elevation changes, low ceilings, lines to throw, OB and one small creek. Easy to navigate with plenty of ace runs. Quick to play, 2 people in under 45 minutes. Good tee signage and concrete pads. A second set of grass long tees are available to play as well.

Cons:

Sometimes there are kids, so watch out for them when you tee off. If it rains, some of the uphill/downhill terrain can be slippery. Only two holes with significant distance, so bombers will want to play elsewhere.

Other Thoughts:

If you're staying in Downtown Dallas, you can catch the Dallas Streetcar from Union Station and it literally drops you off on #1 at the park. If your're further out, use the light rail (DART - Dallas Area Rapid Transit) to ride the Red or Blue line to Union Station (Orange & Green line transfer at West Station to pick up the Red or Blue).
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
aclay
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 39.8 years 327 played 254 reviews
3.00 star(s)

11 better than 18 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 23, 2022 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-- The fun factor is incredibly high. I played six rounds (66 holes) on a one visit and loved every minute. The holes are mostly short (225 feet or less), so good shots lead to birdie chances. However, a bad shot can lead to bogey, or at least scrambling for par.
-- Baskets are in good shape, except No. 11 and No. 4, both of which look as if a car or mower hit them, and No. 1 (which has part of a chain missing.
-- Concrete tees, even through most are on the short side. Nos. 2 and 6 share a tee pad, so that one is longer than the other tee pads.
-- Tee signs were recently updated (metal/plastic replaced laminated cardboard) and give you a direction for the next tee.
-- For a smallish city park, this course offers great elevation changes, both uphill and downhills throws on multiple holes.
-- DART (train) access.

Cons:

-- Tee pads are short.
-- No course map. There is a place for a map at the parking lot. This can lead to navigation issues, but the tee signs address most of that. You just have to remember to look before you leave the tee. The first tee is across the street from the DART stop and at the east end of the parking lot.
-- A walking path wanders through the course, so you have to be aware of other park users. Those paths also bring a lot of out of bounds into play.
-- No bathrooms and no water.

Other Thoughts:

-- The apartments that border Nos. 5 and 6 look a little sketchy, but I have never had any trouble.
-- The available space was used very well, but there is a lake/fountain and more room across the street from the No. 7 tee. I would love to see some of that land made available to make this an 18-hole course.
-- I was tempted to rate this a 4-disc course in my initial review several years ago, but I knew that would lead to some outrage from people who automatically discount courses with fewer than 18 holes. However, abuse/neglect have forced me to re-evaluate and drop it from 3.5 to 3.0. I still drive 40 miles (and pass probably a dozen courses) to get to this course because of the fun factor.
-- There are at least four baskets across Marsalis from #4, but they are inside a locked fence. However, there is one basket accessible in non-fenced areas nearby: The basket is near the corner of Lancaster and Addison.
-- Distances listed on the tee signs appears to be off in several instances. Some are longer and some shorter, but the difference appears to be less than 20 feet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
TheHipstick
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 21.1 years 171 played 69 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Fun park course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 9, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

Nice clean parking lot.
Nice big concrete teepads.
Very nice tee signs. (1 or 2 missing)
Clean park, that is well maintained.
Nice quality baskets.
Course plays pretty smooth and easy to follow. Little bit of a walk between Hole 6 and 7.

Cons:

No real cons, other than it's a public park and could come across other people using the park. Only other con would be on the day I played it was a little bit muddy and didn't drain well from rain the night before.

Other Thoughts:

Great little 11 hole course. Great for beginners and ace runs for more established golfers.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
txdiscer
Experience: 7.4 years 14 played 2 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 1, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

Course has a big parking lot, concrete tee pads, lots of trees and an easy to follow flow. Fun for beginners and some challenges for advanced players too. Lengths of the holes aren't crazy either.

Cons:

Some busy streets and an apartment complex can come into play on a couple of holes if you have bad throws. Walking trail means other people can be in the park so you have to be aware of them.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
KDinIN
Experience: 20.2 years 24 played 11 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Visiting and got a round in 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 15, 2016 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

- Baskets were great
- Concrete teepads (2 and 6 share a teepad which was a bit confusing at the start, and 10 uses a section of sidewalk) are in nice shape, even if they are a tad short.
- I could see the tee signs not lasting long, but they were still in great shape when I played, plenty big enough and filled with all the information I needed.
- Great use of elevation, mature trees, and other elements available in a very small space.
- Required a lot of line shaping to achieve success.
- Great location (was visiting from out of town and staying in downtown Dallas and I could see the park from my hotel).
- DART access.

Cons:

- Course navigation. Mostly because I forgot to look for the next tee indicator on the tee sign, but I checked and its there. I had some trouble finding the tee pad for 2 and 11, but they just took some standing and searching around for a minute. 7 required me to walk along the path a lot farther than I expected, but I eventually made it.
- 11 holes isn't 18, but given its location, and its proximity to downtown, bishop arts, and the DART, I don't think it is that big of a deal.
- Much more of a pitch and putt than I wanted, but again, given its location, anything is better than nothing.
- Had to cross a few cart paths
- No bathrooms (but this isn't a requirement, just worth noting.)
- Tons of broken glass and even found a needle packet on one of the benches.

Other Thoughts:

The course at Founder's Park has used the available space and the available topography really really well. As others said, yes, it is only 11 holes, but given its location and proximity to downtown, 11 holes seems like a dream! In fact, the park and the first teepad is right across from a new DART train that is free to ride from downtown. It isn't a terrible walk, but having the DART free to use is a pretty amazing bonus.

I wasn't sure what to expect given the area and some of the things others had said about it, but overall, it was a nice park. On 5 and 6, the holes run right next to a fence around an apartment complex. This was where we found the vast majority of the broken glass and the needles. Outside of those two holes, I thought the park as a whole was clean and well maintained.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
tkmcdougal
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.3 years 196 played 96 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Roger W. Lytle DGC 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 5, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Roger W. Lytle is a really fun course in a small park that flows nicely. The course has new DISCatcher baskets and solid teepads. Eventhough, this course is short it requires you to find your lines and throw an accurate shot. The designer makes great use of the land he has by creating uphill and downhill shots. There is a line to work on all your different shots. I found myself using my forehand a lot which is nice to practice an area I don't typically work on as most course are for RHBH.

Cons:

Holes 5 and 6 play right along an apartment complex as you have to throw the fence line. The only other con I can think of is that there is a walking trail throughout the park so be careful and check before you throw for pedestrians.

Other Thoughts:

Holes 2 and 6 share a teepad so be aware of that but it is very easy to navigate. Hole 7 is around the corner right by the road throwing down the hill.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 4
Scho
Experience: 24.1 years 74 played 2 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Excellent pitch and putt!! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 25, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Easy to navigate, well laid out course, with tons of elevation. Took my girlfriend who is learning and we had a blast. Short holes for the most part but great for working on your short game if you are advanced. GREAT BEGINNER COURSE!!! Gets 4.5 easy!

Cons:

None really.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
schaalio
Experience: 9.9 years 10 played 2 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Nice little course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 23, 2016 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Most holes are less than 250 feet, with many between 180 and 230. There are a few up and downhill shots which are fun. A few chances at aces if you can work around some trees. Also, good signage on each hole and overall, pretty easy to navigate. The only tricky ones to find were hole #2 which is at the top of the hill behind the #1 basket, and #7, which is up behind a hill, and to the right after #6 basket.

Cons:

Being in a park, there were a few shots where I had to wait for people to walk by. I went around 5:30 on a weekday though and wasn't too bad really. Most every hole has trees to navigate, but the short length helps to be able to get at least a 3 or less on every hole.

Other Thoughts:

Overall a fun course and good for those of us who can't throw it 300+ feet. Even if you can though, there are a lot of touchy shots around trees, which keeps it fun for anyone. I ended up plyaing 3 rounds in a row as I am from Buffalo, NY and enjoyed the course. Only took me about 30 minutes per round.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
JeremyKShort
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.5 years 80 played 33 reviews
3.50 star(s)

I don't care if it's only 11 holes 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 24, 2016 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

A very well thought out course. It uses the park extremely well. There is a lot of elevation change in this park. Throwing up, throwing down, throwing to a slope, it's all there. Lots of trees, and they are used well. It's a clean nice looking park. It's lit very well. We played it after crazy rains, and it seems to drain well. There are tee signs (corogated plastic, not sure if these are supposed to be permenant or not).

This really is a very good course. It's amazing to see old growth trees and elevation change in the middle of urban Dallas. Yes it's a pitch and putt, but you got to really shape the lines your discs takes to get birdies.

Cons:

Walking paths are everywhere, you cross them a lot. The park is moderately busy.

Other Thoughts:

It's really a very nice course. Shorter holes, but nice holes. We played it right at sundown, and it got dark while we were there. Oak Cliff is actually much less creepy at night than I imagined.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
Itstchalk
Experience: 4 played 4 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Nice after work course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 29, 2016 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Great use of the small park
Room for expansion to the south across the street
Great use of trees hills and surroundings
Good lighting for night golf!

Cons:

Lots of walking paths come into play
No signs(not really need because it's pretty easy to follow)

Other Thoughts:

This is a great little course to play if you work somewhat close and want to get a round in after work. It may be 11 holes and could be played with only a putter but it's still fun! I would recommend this to somebody just getting into the sport due to most holes being pretty short. All in all fun course of almost nothing but ace runs! Hopefully it will expand across the street in the future. Also I second the other review about Roc's that and a putter will get you by just fine!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Pizza God
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 36.2 years 1756 played 608 reviews
3.50 star(s)

A fun walk in the park 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 16, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

A fun little 11 hole course. I like pitch and put courses and this is one of the better ones I have played.

New baskets, tee boxes coming soon (they are dug out, but not finished yet)

Pretty easy to follow even though there are no tee signs yet.

Cons:

There are a few holes that will have issues. One or two that you may throw into the street. 2 that you might throw over an apartment complex fence. And more than one hole that you will eventually see a broken lamp fixture.

Other Thoughts:

I found myself throwing only Roc's on every hole. Classic for the short and regular Roc for the longer holes. So I did not really need to carry my bag.

However, I really enjoyed playing the course. The holes were interesting and fun to throw. That is all you can ask for in a short course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
dreadlock86
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 17.2 years 388 played 318 reviews
2.50 star(s)

fun pitch & putt course 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Feb 4, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-brand new discatchers
-good elevation changes, especially for such a small course
-trees are used well to require an accurate shot on most holes
-fun variety of shots, especially for only 11 short holes
-very close to downtown & bishop arts district
-DART blue line stops right next to the course, 100ft from tee 1
-new concrete tees, flush with the ground and textured, on the shorter side
-new tee signs, with distances for the new tee pads on 4 and 9, also show apparent mandos on holes 1 & 3 and a par 4 designation on holes 7-10

Cons:

-very small area for this course and all but 1 or 2 holes are very short
-pedestrian paths are in play on pretty much every hole. you throw over them on 4 holes
-muddy area on the fairway of hole 10; not sure if it is seasonal or not
-supposedly a sketchy area but that's the goal of putting the course in: more eyes in the park, less undesirable activity
-some of the fairways have very uneven ground; beware of your footing, especially on the downhill fairway of hole 7 and the 'ravine' on hole 8

Other Thoughts:

Founders Park is a fun pitch & putt course with some elevated shots, lots of uneven ground, and a fair amount of trees. Only 2 holes are over 225' and only one is over 300'.

The main strengths of this course are the elevation changes and the trees that require hitting your line. There are two downhill tee shots (2, 7) and two uphill tee shots (4, 10) as well as a few more with lots of uneven ground in the fairway (5, 6, 8). I wouldn't call it a wooded course but there are just enough trees that you have to throw an accurate line.

I was initially skeptical about a course fitting in this park but the design seems to work. There are obvious safety issues with so many pedestrian paths that wind throughout the park. They come into play on pretty much every hole, except maybe hole 5. With the course being so small, an errant shot can end up nearly anywhere. That said, the holes that throw over paths have pretty clear lines of sight from the tee, you ought to be able to see pedestrians coming long beforehand. It shouldn't be a problem so long as people use basic sense and stay alert & aware of their surroundings. That doesn't mean it won't be a problem.

Concrete tees were just recently added and a few tees were moved slightly. Hole 4 is about 100 longer, holes 2 and 6 share one pad, tee 7 is back to its original position closer to the sidewalk, and tee 9 is further back and slightly more left. Hole 9 is much harder now as the hyzer line on the right is partially obstructed. The tees are flush with the ground and textured. They are somewhat short but at least the shots are short so a big run up is not necessary.

New tees signs at each tee show par, distance, next tee, and a pretty decent hole layout map. Apparently there are double mandos on both hole 1 and hole 3. Didn't really see those coming, neither are there as a safety thing. I liked that hole 3 had a left, straight, and right routes. Also, for some reason, holes 7-10 are listed as par 4. I can see it on hole 9 for a rec par but not the others.

Overall, it's a fun course with a good variety of shots for such a short course. Great for beginners, putter practice for experienced players. It would be great to see some community events out here.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
texhop58
Experience: 22.2 years 104 played 19 reviews
3.00 star(s)

simple urban golf 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 14, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

*nice baskets
*nice looking park
*great use of terrain/elevation
*many benches throughout park
*beginner friendly
*mutlipe parking lots- found at hole 1 and 7
*nicely wooded, should be nice during hot summer months
*may be only course reachable by mass transit in DFW (looks like DART-blue line stops right in front of park)

Cons:

*short
*throwing over multiple walkways
* hole 5/6 same shot with same fence running along side..just turned 90 degrees
*hole 2/6 share teepad area
*hotel/apartment by 5/6 seem really sketchy
*(i find this as a pro, some may find it a con) course terrain may be hard to navigate for people with bad knees/backs. pretty steep hills

Other Thoughts:

This course sits it what looks to be an old city part in a partially revitalized neighborhood. That being said, it looks like it still may have some sketchy parts. Overall the course is really nice. It is what it is. A short urban course, that will never be a tourney course, but may be great to introduce new players to the game. It has a great skyline view of dallas, The park is being cleaned up, so it will probably be better. This also would make for a good come get a disc and learn how to play event. Nothing is long but there is enough trees and elevation to make new players and lower end players have a good time. I enjoyed it. But i could see where pro style players would not like the shortness. LIke i mentioned in PROs, it has a light rail stop, so any traveling golfers without a car, this may be your course stop.
I get nervous with courses that throw over walkways this often, but you should be able to see most walkers except maybe hole 7. That being said, I only saw 2 walkers while i was out there, so it may not be a busy park, but it feels like it should be with the condo's around. So i may of been there on a not so busy morning
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
Jimbotten
Experience: 4.1 years 21 played 12 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Pretty park, the most unique course i've played in DFW! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 5, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Very hilly, lots of uniquely steep shots. Relaxing course to play, a stroll through the park kind of course.
Love the style of baskets. Seems like it will be a nice course even in the summer time and mosquito months.
Love the location with the skyline.

Cons:

11 holes...but, i see room for a full 18 eventually. O think this is just a start.
Natural tees
There was a odd smell throughout the park, like burnt plastic. Not sure what it was.
No long shots, kinda a bummer since i am a sidearm power thrower.

Other Thoughts:

I see room for expansion and concrete tees eventually.
The second park on south side with the lake could also be included in a possible expansion.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
ericb45696
Experience: 35.1 years 42 played 4 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Great new course with a view 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 31, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

At the moment 11 holes, which is a pro for me because it is easily playable twice for 22.
Good up and downs and easily birdie-able shots.
" Confidence builder" course.

great views of downtown Dallas.

Cons:

None really since it is so new, tee pads will be nice but very playable.

Other Thoughts:

Short course but a lot of fun, especially if you play it at least 2 times in one outing. better dial in those short shots because if you can't hit those birdies ... your still gonna have fun :)
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top