• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Addison, IL

Foxdale Park

2.35(based on 15 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Foxdale Park reviews

Filter
2 1
DiscGolfer80
Experience: 5 years 57 played 56 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Quick & a bit of challenge 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 8, 2021 Played the course:once

Pros:

Great use of park. #1, #2, #8, & #9 challenges your accuracy and were you want to throw. Quick and easy course. Easy flow of course and nice mixture of distance of holes.

Cons:

#9 is the challenging hole, with soccer fields on left and restroom on right.

Must play before it is busy with soccer games or practices.

Other Thoughts:

Good course for beginners who have mastered "teeing off". Couple of holes challenge what line to take when teeing off.
Overall, worth playing for a quick 9
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
BlackberryGirl
Experience: 15 played 15 reviews
3.00 star(s)

My local course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 3, 2020 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Course is a semi circle from parking lot. First tee along wall near basketball court. For a 9 hole course, this offers good variety, length, and challenging winds. Water comes into play on two holes.
Safe area with plenty of soccer, baseball and walkers.
Parking lot is between hole 1 and 9. You can also park along road and start at 7 or 8.
This course plays well all year

Cons:

Hole 3 tee box is a small pond most of the year.
Hole 3 almost always requires waiting for walkers on the path but people are very friendly and some waive us to throw.

Other Thoughts:

Overall a very nice 9 hole course!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
EspressoPatronum
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 18.9 years 261 played 247 reviews
2.50 star(s)

A Fun Chicago 9 Hole 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 23, 2018 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

- nice tee signs for every hole
- very nice blue baskets
- surprising shot variety for a small multi-use park
- incorporates woods, water, and trees
- a few holes have some mild elevation change
- ample parking
- some challenging lines to hit despite a mostly open course layout

Cons:

- no practice basket
- very noisy
- mostly flat
- natural tees, some of which had some rather unfortunate low spots in them
- most holes are under 300'

Other Thoughts:

This course is around a 2.25 for me but was just nice enough to round up to 2.5. I actually was surprised how much I enjoyed this course. It's a typical Chicago multi-use part 9 hole, but I thought it was pretty well designed. The holes generally avoid the walking paths and other use areas of the park, although there is some risk of throwing into the road or into nearby houses if you lose it.

I will admit the blue baskets everyone describes in their reviews are pretty cool looking. They also are in great repair. Two of the holes play into the woods a bit, and several others have trees placed pretty nicely to force a more specific line. This course certainly isn't going to strain intermediate to advanced players, but I had fun playing it.

I'd say it only takes about a half hour to play this course alone. I think my favorite hole was #5, which is the more open "wooded" shot which still has a lot of trees to avoid. I also enjoyed the shot over the pond on #8 which is pretty easy to clear as long as you don't blow it.

I will say this course is a bit on the short side. I didn't mind it but if you prefer longer holes you may be disappointed. Most holes were under 300' and several were under 250'.

This course is literally against the wall for I-355 and also right under the flight path for O'Hare, so I'm not sure it will ever truly seem peaceful. It was pretty noisy but you do get used to it. I don't think I' go out of my way to play this course, but since it's on my way home from work, it's definitely worthwhile for a quick round.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
The Valkyrie Kid
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 46.1 years 1562 played 1507 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Just Another Chicago 9'er. 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 23, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Foxdale is a small community park nestled between houses and I-355. The park has a smallish pond in the center. One old guy fishing pulled a two pound carp today. The murky pond only comes into play on # 9 and not too much danger for most players.

The tee signs are the old school fiberglass ones. They're a fine fit here. There are no tee pads persee but there are one or two little concrete markers on each hole showing you to tee off from. The star of the show here are the lovely and talented bright blue DGA baskets. They really are pretty!

The course basically plays around the park counterclockwise which is going to result in anhyser throws. I think the first three all require an Annie or a roller. Both holes 1 and 2 tee off right next to the freeway wall. If you somehow throw over this wall, you can kiss your disc goodbye. Hole distances vary from 140' to 350'. There are a couple of technical type wooded holes as well as 9 which requires a short (150') to get across. Mostly, it plays games with your mind. I'm sure a few discs have drowned on # 9.

Cons:

Between the freeway noise and being under O'Hare's flight path, this is perhaps the noisiest course you may ever play. But I think most players quickly adapt and tune all that noise out.

The tee sign was completely missing for hole # 5, I believe it was.

A walking path runs through the park. I sincerely doubt whether there would ever be enough foot traffic to affect your game much.

There is chance someone could fire one over the wall into freeway traffic. I threw rollers on both holes just to eliminate that happening. It would have to a really poor shot.

Other Thoughts:

This is a solid little Chicago 9'er. I enjoyed my round here and would return if I lived anywhere near. I'm hardly concerned with the stated safety issues. I doubt rather this course will ever get so busy that other players will be firing discs off your head. Life is a risk! Playing the extreme sport of disc golf has it's dangers.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Jashwa
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 20.1 years 174 played 88 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Not good. 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 28, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

The main pro of this course is that it has amazing, beautiful, blue DGA baskets that shimmer in the sunset. I wish every course had baskets like these. Also, the park was clean, nice, and didn't seem super busy. There was plenty of parking and the location of the course was well marked.

Cons:

The course as I played it today was not worthy of more than a 1.5 disc rating. But because it is relatively new and I will not be going back there, I gave it the benefit of the doubt and bumped it up to a 2.0. There are so many cons to this course:

*No tee-pads (I didn't dock the rating too hard on this because I've heard that the course might be getting slabs)
*Hole 4 was completely gone. No sign, no basket (I also didn't dock too hard for this... maybe this new course is getting some design kinks worked out?)

But even if the above cons are fixed, I still don't ever plan on returning here.

*Course is right next to the highway... even though there is a wall separating the park from the road, it's super loud and annoying.
*The tee for the first hole is under a tree that hangs down and prevents any kind of run-up.

*The course flirts with, and even crosses a walking path the whole time.

*None of the holes are exciting... they're completely flat and not challenging enough to be exciting, and there's not much of a fun factor.

Other Thoughts:

I gave this course the same rating as nearby Lombard Commons, but I would choose that course over this one any day.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
DonCasper
Experience: 17.2 years 83 played 4 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Great course if you live nearby 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 18, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Beautiful Baskets
-Well Kept
-Mix of Challenges
-Holes are of Reasonable Length

The course has a good mix of challenges. The holes still require shot-shaping to avoid ending up on the highway on holes 2-4, and a few of the holes go through a small forest, which helps with variety.

Cons:

The highway barrier is about 10 feet tall and will really punish anyone who grip-locks it or thows a forehand shot a bit too high.

The pond seems to be filled with runoff from 355 and 290, leaving it oily and disgusting.

No teepads. The course doesn't seem like it gets much traffic, so it shouldn't be a huge problem, but I threw from the worn out areas and ended up backhanding a sign, which have fairly sharp corners. This is a result of my own idiocy, but also results from a lack of tee markers beyond the signs themselves.

Other Thoughts:

You would be hard-pressed to land in the water on any hole if you have and sort of skill at disc golf. On the one throw which requires you to throw over it, you would have to throw the disc about 40 feet to land in the water, it is all of 30 feet wide, MAX.

Course is short and forget-able, however it is well-designed for the space and the baskets are incredible. I gave it a half-disc boost just for the baskets. I would be a very happy golfer if every course used baskets as nice as these.

I would also avoid backhanding the signs.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
harr0140
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 15.5 years 1508 played 480 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Foxdale 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 11, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

1) Rules sign a the first tee.
2) DGA signs with Hole #, Par, Distance, and a Map.
3) Very nice pocket of woods used on #4, and #5.
4) Water carry on one of the holes and water danger on another hole.
5) Distance variation is not bad with a couple in the 100's, some in the 200's and a couple in the 300's also. It's always nice to be able to throw a handful of shots and discs in a round.
6) The course initially feels a little repetitive because it is 5 anhyzers in a row and then finishes with 4 straight to hyzer shots. I would prefer to have those broken up slightly but at least the shots are all out on the course.
7) Nice blue powder coated Mack baskets.

Cons:

1) Grass tees always leave a lot to be desired.
2) Freeway noise comes over the top of the noise barrier along holes #1-3. It isn't too distracting but it is noticeable.
3) Overall this course is pretty flat. Hole #6 goes slightly downhill and #8 goes uphill just slightly. It is always more fun if you have to think about elevation and how your disc needs to land around the basket.
4) The walking path is a distraction and could be a danger issue, so please be aware of everyone around you.

Other Thoughts:

Overall this is a nice diverse course. There are no glorious overwhelming holes, but there also are no absolute duds. It is a solid course overall but is not championship caliber by any means. It is short enough for beginners but has enough challenge to keep better players intrigued. All in all a decent experience.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
mashnut
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.3 years 831 played 777 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Mixed feelings 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 17, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

The course plays through a small multi-use park. A couple holes play in the woods at the back of the park offering some tighter lines and some punishment for errant drives. The rest of the holes play out in the open areas of the park with some scattered trees for obstacles. A pond comes into play at the end of the course, with a short water carry on the last shot. The course is easy to navigate, and the signage is plenty adequate to know where to throw.

Cons:

Overall this layout is pretty short and straightforward. The water only comes into play for newer players or really shanked shots. Most of the holes are open enough that they don't really offer a challenge. Too many holes have left to right turning shots, it feels a little repetitive and doesn't test a wide range of line shaping skills. The grass on the natural tees is already starting to die, if there's much traffic they won't stay flat for long. A walking path and soccer field come into play on a few holes, a potential safety issue on a busy day.

Other Thoughts:

Beginners will enjoy the shorter lengths and limited punishment for errant shots. More experienced players will find a couple interesting shots, but it's not much of a test for better throwers. Despite the water, this course blends into the rest of the mediocre 9 hole courses around the area for me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
axiom
Experience: 3 played 3 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Typical Suburban Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 26, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Decent variety of terrain. Most are fairly open, but 4 and 5 are heavily wooded, and 8 offers a fun shot over a pond. Everything is pretty much brand-spanking new, so the course is in good shape.

Cons:

If, like me, you're still unsure about your shot, holes 1 thru 4 might be troublesome for you. I skipped hole 1 all together. It's bordered on the left by a basketball court (with a game in progress) and on the right by a 10' wall such that a really bad drive will put your disc on interstate 290. Holes 2 and 3 run along the same wall, but with a soccer field to the left. If you wind up in the trees on 4, you'll almost certainly lose your disc, as the foliage is impressively thick.

There is signage, but it's relatively poor quality. The tee signs are white-boards with crappy decals showing obstacles and baskets. The decals don't look like they'll hold up for more than a few months, and the signs are kind of unintelligable (fortunately, the holes are pretty straight forward). The course map is all the way at the entrance to the parking lot (why?), which made finding both the map and hole one a challenge.

There aren't tee-pads, just throw next to the signs.

Other Thoughts:

Like I said, hole one runs along the 10' wall that seperates the park and 290... just in case you have trouble finding it. From there, navigation is easy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
#19325
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 23.1 years 351 played 178 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Not Foxy 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 7, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

This park is very open with only minor rolling terrain in a few areas. There are only a few tree obstacles to contend with. Making on/over the fitness trail being out of bounds adds difficulty. Water could comes into play on a couple of holes.

This course was very easy to navigate. There is a map off the parking lot.

New tee signs on all 9 holes.

Brand new Mach 2 DGA Blue baskets.

This is a great beginner course for the area.

Cons:

My #1 con is the tee pads. Natural grass that will over time turn to dirt.

I'm not sure how much the very nice walking path gets used. It comes into play a lot.

By no means was this course ever going to be awesome but bringing the water more into play could have made several holes very interesting.

Other Thoughts:

I wouldn't travel to far out of the way.It's just minutes off the interstate if you are in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
notapro
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.9 years 570 played 284 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Beginner 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 3, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Course is set in a small neighborhood park that has some woods, trees, and a pond. A couple holes play next to a walking path, but other than that should be free of any interference.
- Some interesting lines here thanks to the various woods. #4 is a short little RHFH flex shot into the woods, and #5 is a low RHFH hyzer or a skinny hyzer thru a small gap. A few other low ceiling shots thanks to some trees, with a few RHBH anny friendly shots.
- A few spots have decent elevation changes, like a downhill shot on #6, and some slight uphill shots on #7 and #8.
- Water is close on a few holes as well. #6 has water on the left, which is primed to snag shots that hyzer out too much (especially with the downhill). #8 plays directly over the water, it isn't very long but it's definitely in play.
- Decent mix of hole lengths, with some shorties, and #3 at 350'. Good for beginners.
- Good baskets and tee signs. Teepads are still in good shape, but it is brand new. Navigation is a breeze.

Cons:

- Course plays very short overall, with 5 of the holes under 250'. Definitely caters to the newer player, or those of us that can't crank them out that far.
- A lot of open shots, with little to no trees to worry about. #3, #6, #7, and #8 don't require much line-shaping, just distance or accuracy. #9 is the opposite, with a very tight line on a very short hole. A little silly.

Other Thoughts:

- A good course for beginners to learn about the game, with some tricky lines, and some open bombers. But, players starting from scratch might have issues staying out of the water. In that way, the course is just right for a beginner who's not TOO new to the game. More experienced players should be able to tear through the course without much trouble.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
Countchunkula
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 18 years 215 played 72 reviews
2.00 star(s)

A Man Among Midgets

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 2, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Foxdale Park is, at first glance, your average Chicago 9er. It is set in a typical suburban park: soccer field, playground, retention pond, walking path. After playing, it is clear that Foxdale possesses some features that set it apart from the rest. There are a decent variety of hole distances and shapes (140ish to 350'). While it is a more open course, the trees determine the optimal line more often than on other area 9ers. The baskets are brand new blue DGA Mach V's. They are easily visible from the tee. The over the water shot on 8 is a nice addition although the challenge added by is strictly mental (only 150' or so to clear it).

Cons:

The natural (grass) tees here will soon become rutted. There is also no specifically defined tee area, leaving it open to the player's interpretation exactly where to tee off from. Additionally, I wouldn't trust all of the sign distances. Hole 2 is listed as 190', but seemed more like 140'. For those with bigger arms this is a putter/mid course (only 2 holes over 300').

Other Thoughts:

Foxdale compares very favorably with area courses such as: Goose Lake, Maryknoll, the Commons, and Clark. With the addition of concrete or even rubber tees, I feel that it would be the pick of the bunch. This course also helps alleviate a course desert in the near western suburbs. Speaking for the shot variety, I used 6 different discs to drive with over the 9 holes. On most similar courses, I would only use Zone/Roc/Cyclone for tee shots. Overall, this course was better than expected. It is a solid addition to the pantheon of crap that is available to residents of the near western suburbs. With the addition of concrete or even rubber tees, I would upgrade this course to a 3.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
jasonc
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 21.2 years 276 played 35 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Nice, New Beginner Course in the Chicago Suburbs 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 2, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course is located in a relatively small, multi-use park directly adjacent to 2 major highways (I-290 and I-355) which makes finding this course very easy.

New Mach V blue baskets and new, yet simple tee signs make navigation easy after finding Hole #1.

Another reviewer mentioned a lack of bathrooms. I noticed a small building with bathrooms in between #1 and #9 by the baseball field although I did not check to see if the doors were unlocked.

The wall between the course and the highway on #1--#3 is a unique feature. Some may consider this to be a con because of the noise coming from the other side of the wall. However, I was able to tune it out easily.

The walking path can and should be used as OB to add some challenge on #1--#3, #5 and #8.

There are young trees on several holes that will certainly add to the difficulty over time.

This is a great course for beginners and will be a challenge for recreational level players.

Cons:

Right now, there is no way to know where Hole #1 is located if you are in the parking lot. I understand this is a brand new course and I hope there are plans to install at least a small sign to remedy this issue.

Natural, undefined teepads are a big con for me.

Ideally, there should not be any problems with players throwing on other park users on the bike/walking path because you can clearly see it from every teepad with the exception of #5. There is certainly some potential for accidents if players are not paying attention before throwing.

This appears to be another short, 9-hole Chicagoland disc golf course that is one of many without a true signature hole.

Intermediate level players and up will probably not find anything that will test their skills here.

Other Thoughts:

Although the pond should only be considered a true "water hazard" on #8, I would not be surprised to hear about people throwing discs in there on #6 and #7.

I would come back for another round if I wanted to teach some newer players. Even in it's current condition, this is a great course for beginners.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
whitechocolate
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.2 years 437 played 23 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Another Chicago suburban 9 holer! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 1, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

-New Mach V Baskets
-Well signed

The course is a beginner friendly courses that wraps around the outskirts of the park, far enough away from other activities to not interfere with each other. The courses features holes ranging from 171 to 350 feet in length. The course is very easy to navigate.

They have installed the DGA 8x11 tees signs and brand new Mach V baskets. Some trees have been planted to add additional challenge. The pond is all used where you could potential turn a disc over into in a couple of places.

Cons:

-Layout needs some safety adjustments
-No amenities
-Natural tee pads
-Sign length did not seem accurate

One of my two pet peeves was here. More or less all baskets were dead straight ahead. There was a little left or right on some of them, however, if you walk up to a tee sign, look forward, there was your basket. Although you have to do a little line shaping, you were not really force to throw any particular shot. The natural tee pads (or lack of any tee pads) made it even easier for it to be a dead straight shot.

There was no water fountain, bathroom, or any other amenities at the course. Not a necessity, but if you have hit the bathroom, you may be stopping in Walmart first. They also need to add some garbage cans around the course.

There are some majors safety concerns on this course. One is it run along a path that wraps around the course. There will some safety issues of people throwing due to it on 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, and 9. Not a biggie, just might have to wait a little to play a round if the park gets busy (which it wasn't when I was here).

Hole 1, the actually best shot may be the big hyzer. A big hyzer would have to be thrown over I-290. I did not do that because it should not be done from a logical standpoint, however, I can easily she people doing it. One car gets hit and I am sure the course would be pulled. I would like to see the tee pad moved slightly south to eliminate the hyzer route altogether. 2 and 3 run along the highway as well, however, hole 1 is the only one I naturally looked over the wall as an option.

The tee for hole 7 needs to be moved another 20-30 feet to the south as well. It is too close to basket 6. If the course gets busy, there is a real risk of some putting on 6 getting hit in the head a full speed on an errant shot.

Other Thoughts:

All and all I feel it is a decent beginner course. There are a couple holes where beginners could learn to stretch their distance, and well a few holes for them to deuce and get excited about playing. I would definitely use this course to show someone how to play. It features a lot of good things about disc golf, without putting too much challenge to be discouraging.

In its current condition, I can only give it a 2.0. With its safety issues, I wouldn't rate it any better. You cannot design a course without taking in consideration of every type of player. If the fixed the two major safety concerns I listed, added cement tees, and found a way to make a couple more baskets more challenging to reach (distance or obstacles), it has the potential of being a solid 3.0-3.5 type course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 1
geognerd
Experience: 13.7 years 11 played 11 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Simple, but pleasing 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 1, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

The course is laid out well, kept separate from the other activities of the park. Plenty of parking. There is no tall rough to eat discs. Only truly errant throws will end up over the expressway noise barrier or in the pond. The trees are just enough of an obstacle to keep things interesting. You have to throw across the pond at #8, and the pond can come into play at the two prior holes. It's nice to have another course in the area where water is a hazard. Hole 4 is narrow and will test your accuracy. Short distance from Basket 9 to Tee 1 if you want to play another round. The grounds are well-maintained.

Cons:

The highway noise does somewhat spoil the ambiance at the first three holes. The disc golf course does follow and cross the walking path in places, so do keep an eye out for folks using the path. This is especially true of Holes 1-3. Hole 9 has more asphalt than I would like, crossing a path and a paved-over tennis court. I think they were trying to fit one more hole in to get an even nine. There are no tee boxes, just grass. I fear the tees will become muddy ruts over time. I'm not sure the decals on the tee signs will stand up over time either.

Other Thoughts:

Overall, this is a pleasant 9-hole course with a layout that is easy to follow. The designers did well to keep disc golfers isolated from other park users, and they did well working in the wooded area at the west end of the park plus the pond at the south end. Hole 3 is pretty wide open, followed by the narrow Hole 4 going into the woods. The 9th basket is visible from the parking lot; the first tee is north of the 9th basket near the expressway wall.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top