• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Fort Worth, TX

Gateway Park - West

3.635(based on 8 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Gateway Park - West reviews

Filter
0 6
Joe Pollito Willman
Experience: 70 played 5 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Lovely! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 9, 2022 Played the course:once

Pros:

TechnicalNice varietyMountain bike and hiking/walking trails alongside/within/around

Cons:

Lack of signage. Flow is decent but needs some direction in a few places. One hole you have to walk from the fairway midpoint down to the tee box.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
13 0
c_a_miller
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.1 years 299 played 209 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Short Pitch and Putt in the Woods 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 8, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

Gateway Park is a fun, shorter course where nearly every hole is a chance at an ace and low scores. Though the short distances that this course has are paired with mostly wooded holes, minus one or two open holes. The trees obviously add a little bit of a challenge on a fairly straight forward course.

Because of the trees, every sort of shot is needed to play well. This course does not prefer one style of play over another.

Once you get to the course, the navigation is fairly straight forward. The first three holes all play on the grassy median of the place you would park, the course then navigates into the trees and back out towards the center and then moves to the other side of the park. I really enjoyed hole 4, as there is a large amount of risk/reward as the baskets sits very close to a steep drop off. It also features some of the only elevation on the course.

Cons:

As a first time player here, I originally saw the old course map of the course that was here prior to this one being installed. I was a tad confused since I did not know there was a redesign, so it took me a bit to find where the course was located in the park. Some of the tees still have the old numbers on them from the old course. Hole 4 being the old hole 13 comes to mind.

Because of the easy play, this course gets a ton of use. I waited behind a 7! card on my round here during the week, so I cannot imagine what it is like on a nice weathered weekend. The course also has a lot of mud and standing water. There is also a fair amount of erosion from the constant play.

A walking path comes in play only on a few holes, but it really comes into play on hole 18. Bikers can come zooming through without you knowing. Be aware of your surroundings.

Other Thoughts:

For you Texas folks, this course really reminds me a lot of Agnes Moffit in Houston and Searight Park in Austin. Shorter courses that see a lot of use. Not terrible courses, but not really all that exciting and challenging.

Still, I enjoyed my round here in the hopes to shoot many shots under par (I didn't though). I could see the want of shooting well here be a huge draw to keep coming back,
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
tkmcdougal
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.3 years 196 played 96 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Gateway 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 23, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

This is a challenging course that will definitely test you to piece together multiple shots to have a good score. On a few holes the rough is punishing which is a pro and a con. Before heading out to the course you should definitely screenshot the course map to help with some of the navigation. They course is pretty easy to follow. The hardest part was find the first hole since 1-3 are on the same island so you see 3 tees and 3 baskets. Those holes are well defined once you get to the teepad of which basket corresponds which each hole. There is a little bit of a walk to hole 7 but there is a "7" on the bike trails sign with an arrow pointing you in the right direction. Gateway forces you to use all shots in your bag which I really liked. As I mentioned above, the rough is really rough which is nice as you have to have shot placement on the longer holes.

Cons:

The only hole that I had trouble finding, that took a few minutes was from 10 to 11. You cross the bridge and immediately go back into the woods. Don't go out to the field as it is tucked away in the woods. There were blue poles marking each hole but see a teesign for distance would be a nice added feature. A few of the holes have bike trails that you throw across so make sure you check before you throw. In particular, hole 13 you throw out over the field and I saw bikers there. Also 18, if you throw the RHBH hyzer route the bike trail bends around the corner right there.

Other Thoughts:

I played this course twice, 5 and 7 years ago. This is a vast improvement over what the course was. I remember how bad the navigation was previously and how thick the rough was. There are definitely still burrs and some poison ivy but the club has done a great job cleaning the course up.

I would definitely recommend this course if you are in the area. This is a challenging course that forces you to put multiple shots together to shoot well. There aren't really any easy holes but every hole brings a different challenge.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
aclay
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 39.7 years 327 played 252 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Gateway (redesigned, again)

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 21, 2023 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The risk/reward factor is high. Probably more than half of the holes can be birdied by an intermediate player, but many of those holes can also bite you with a bogey (or worse) if you make a bad shot.
There is a lot of shade. The trees can be a con, but in the heat of a Texas summer, when starting and ending a round before 9 a.m. can still leave you soaked in sweat, shade is appreciated.
Navigation used to be tricky, but wooden signs pointing you to the next tee have been added for every hole. And new tee signs are excellent.
Many holes offer options for paths to the basket.
Water is in play on two holes. Although you are unlikely to actually reach the water, the chance of going down the steep hills on Nos. 4 and 6 toward the water offers a serious challenge.
A lot of work has been done to clear underbrush. The trees/bushes are still there to retain the challenge, but the risk of losing a disc is now lower.
A recent redesign eliminated No. 7 (which was perpetually under water), and significantly changed the No. 11 (now 10) tee.

Cons:

As mentioned above, there are a lot of trees. Some trees have been removed to create flight paths, but there are still plenty of trees left. Unfortunately, there are also a lot of toe-breaking stumps left.
There are no restrooms and no drinking water.
After No. 9, you've got a long walk to reach No. 10. Go right over a walking bridge. Previously, you would have turned left into the woods for the tee. Now, you continue straight toward the soccer field before turning left and following the walking path for a long walk.
A few of the newer holes have dirt tee pads, but concrete (or paver stones) tee pads have been added to some holes. The natural tees are in decent shape, but I'm not sure how long that will last.
Baskets are showing wear, and a few are completely covered in rust.

Other Thoughts:

This is a much-different course from the previous versions of Gateway. The holes were mostly shorter than the previous versions. In two cases, long holes had been divided to create two holes where one existed. One of those long holes is back with the 2023 redesign.
Trash used to be a huge problem here, but the park is pretty clean now. There is still some unsavory activity in this park, and one time we came upon what appeared to be a homeless couple camped out on the tee for the now-defunct No. 7 tee.
Two new holes have been added after No. 12 (across the street).
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
Notorious21
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.8 years 105 played 48 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Technical, fun 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 2, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Tight, challenging lines from start to finish
- Requires a variety of shot-shaping and precision
- Clean park, big improvement over the old layout
- Decent signs and teepads

Cons:

- Not much in the way of big distance or elevation changes
- Could be frustrating if you don't like hitting trees
- Some fairway overlap and confusing navigation
- Chiggers! Wear bug spray

Other Thoughts:

I vowed never to play this course again, but I was pleasantly surprised to learn that they moved the entire thing to a totally different part of the park and made it worth playing again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
Chained Evil
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.1 years 1116 played 232 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Short but it will test your shot shaping abilities 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 18, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course has good lines that will challenge even an experienced player. Both short and moderate length holes as well as both left and right playing holes too.
The tee pads are ample.
Some ace runs are a real possibility here. Holes 1-3 use a nice grouping of trees in the center of a roundabout that had a unique feel to it before were off to the other parts of the course.
Hole 4 had a threat of your shot going long down the steep river bank so that added to the pucker factor.
The locals are very friendly and were very helpful in guiding us in the correct direction.
All shots are needed on this course from BH to FH to Hyzer to Anhyzer to skip shots etc.

Cons:

The hard pack is super sloppy after a good rain and this will carry over to the tee pads.
Some holes have pads and some don't. This shouldn't be a huge issue unless it has rained a lot prior to your round.
This course could use some signage to help those from out of town navigate their way around the first time.
Hole 13 had some standing water right before the basket so you could get wet retrieving your disc.

Other Thoughts:

This is a fun playing course that has some very good lines that need to be shaped in order to score well. Most of the holes are moderate in length but they aren't wide open and pitch and putt. I enjoyed my round here and the course itself is pretty cart friendly.
It appears as though this course went through a redesign at one point as you can see a Kiosk upon entering the park before you get to the course. However it appears that some of those holes are underwater so maybe they decided to use land that drains a bit better. Whatever the case this course is a good play if you are in the area and it will challenge but not frustrate.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
TheHipstick
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 21.1 years 171 played 69 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Technical Pitch and Putt with trees 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 16, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

Great setting for a course
Nice baskets
Some holes have nice concrete teepads
Decent flow thru the park
Course and holes aren't repetitive, requires many different shots
A lot opportunities for putter shots,mid ranges and drivers

Cons:

Course doesn't drain very well after rain
Not all holes have concrete teepads
Layout can be a little difficult for first time players
Course could you additional trash cans

Other Thoughts:

Overall a great course, excited to see the additional 18 hole course that is being added on the property.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 0
Pizza God
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 36.2 years 1756 played 602 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Pitch and putt in the woods 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 1, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

Innova baskets are still in good shape
Map on here will help you find your way
pretty easy to follow, many of the holes are marked with direction signs
Most of the holes are heavy wooded

Cons:

Most holes are dirt tee pads. Only the original tee are available on some of the holes.
You are sharing the park with mountain bikers. They can come out of no where on a few of the holes.
Park as a certain reputation, if I guy comes up to you without a disc golf bag, he may be interested in something else.

Other Thoughts:

The original Gateway was probably the hardest course in the DFW area. Several par 4's and a few par 5's made it a championship level course when it was installed.

However, due to construction, the course is current in a "pitch and putt" configuration that is actually quite fun to play.

You start off with 3 holes inside of the circle driveway, all shots though the trees

then over to one of the original holes, turned into 2 holes with the Trinity River off to the right. (BTW, if there has been heavy rains, do not try to get into the river, it floods pretty bad)

Hole 7 that is an original course hole, nice very low fairway with the basket up on the side of a small hill. Very fun hole to throw.

Hole 8 is another shortened hole for this layout.

Hole 9 and 10 are both nice ace runs

Hole 11 can be hard to find, walk back down across the bridge and into the woods. This is one of the original holes.

Hole 12 has an original tee but a shorter basket. Nice big hyzer shot.

13 runs along to the road to the original long basket for hole 12.

Then you cross over the road to play 14, an original hole that just might be the hardest hole on the course in the long position.

Back across the street to play hole 15 and 16, (another old hole turned into two shorts)

Hole 17 is a nice little birdie shot, hard to the left in the woods.

Nice ace run back to the pavilion for 18.

Would I play here again?

Oh yea, I can't wait to play this course again and attempt to keep score. Lots of finesse shots though the woods. I am pretty sure I shot about 5 down including my 5 on hole 14 (yea, it was rough on me)
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top