• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Chester, VA

Goyne Park DGC

2.825(based on 33 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Goyne Park DGC reviews

Filter
9 0
DumfriesLizzie
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 5.7 years 111 played 102 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Interesting, suburban course south of Richmond 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Oct 11, 2021 Played the course:once

Pros:

Quiet and peaceful. Scenic in a simple way. As noted by others, the course has several open fairways and some wooded. Some start open and go into woods, some vice versa, and some all woods. Some all open, barring a few trees or bushes to get around or sideline rough to stay out of.

The forward tee is always present, paved, and mostly in good shape. Hole15's though apparently sits under water and mud a great deal of the time. That might also be true for no. 11; I don't fully remember.

There is a playground near the "disc golf" parking that keeps things from feeling too isolated. The other side of the park is very active. Maybe too active for the small space it takes up. Indeed the disc golf course is much bigger than all of the rest of the park.

I believe (don't know) that the disc golf course used to be a par-3 ball course. The main open areas (1, 16-18; 3, 7-10, 12-13) definitely look like ball-golf fairways.

The course is well-maintained in the dry spots: neat grass and open greens.

Cons:

The main issue (noted by others) is that the several fairways are atop each other, and there is definite conflict when people are on two or more pads in the same section of the course. Yes, 1, 16-18. Also short 2 and short 3 play against each other. The basket of 13 is somewhat in the no. 5 fairway. Also playing against each other are nos. 10 and 12. I came late in the afternoon on a holiday and had 4 other people on the course with me. Three of them got in my way and I theirs. We were all chasing the sun, so perhaps it is best to play this course earlier in the day. So there is no need to be rushing each other around.

Total (or nearly total) woods holes 11, 14, 15 would be a lot more enjoyable if not so wet and muddy. I get the impression they are never dry...

I believe the practice basket is missing. I can see it being easily stolen by being in such an isolated place.

The baskets on the course are all there, though some are battered/bent or a little rusted.

I didn't see many long tees. I saw the framing for some, but the woods seem to have grown over them...

No benches at all, as someone previously mentioned. Would be nice to have a bench every 5-6 holes, at least. Nothing massive. Just a perch now and then to rest one's weak foot.

Other Thoughts:

There are two entrances to the park. The main park is on the west side of the property. The disc golf course is on the east side. Though that split is distinct (with the school campus in between), there may be dog walkers on the disc golf course. Especially around the pond. Drive around to the very last section of the east parking area to reach the beginning of the disc golf course.

The OB near the green of no. 10 is a little confusing. I am not sure if the patch of squishy underbrush is the OB or if the creek bed closer to the no. 11 tees is what is meant by the tiny blob of blue on the course map. I think the latter as the former would be somewhat unfair. There was some running water in some of the creek bed but not all of it.

All in all, it is an interesting course. Not a destination course unto itself though. Pair it with Gillies, Dunncroft, and/or others in greater Richmond for your day trip. Or with some other activity in the Richmond area (Pocahontas State Park or the museums or such). Or maybe if you are driving through and in backed-up 95 traffic and just want to blow off steam for a couple of hours. The drive though is 15-20 minutes off the 95, driving back into a residential area. So not a simple on-off.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 0
lee76007
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 4.8 years 113 played 112 reviews
2.00 star(s)

In need of a Revival 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 8, 2021 Played the course:once

Pros:

-A variety of open, wooded, over the water, tunnel, gap, woods to open, open to wooded, and roller holes. There are down slope, up slope, and side slope holes.

-No.1 long tee hole a narrow tunnel shot, ranks as my most difficult and frightening hole for disc lost, for No. 1 holes on the courses I have played. Knocking out Dorey Park from a month ago.

-Solid three- hole stretch 13-15.

-The course from the short tees is a good teaching course for beginners and recreational players. From the long tees difficult for intermediate and advanced.

-From the tee I threw a variety of putters, fairway drivers, and drivers. Went thru about half of a 24- disc bag including approaches.

-Tee signs have map with next tee, hole number, distance, and par.

-Short tees are concrete in good shape. Some long tee pads were compact dirt and decent shape.

-Good navigation to the next concrete short tee.

-There are C1 and C2 whiskers. Did not notice until Hole 5 and saw them the rest of the way, and only saw a few C2 on the back 9.

-The course is separated by an elementary school from the rest of the park and has its own parking.

-Course map at the entrance gate.



Cons:

-Looked like maybe just once this year the course had been mowed. There was waste high grass on the lower slopes of the course, and some knee-high grass elsewhere in some places. This made the roller greens ineffective.

-Missing tee sign on one-hole, other tee signs had nasty clothing draped over them. A few tee signs had foliage growing over and around them.

-Some long tee pads not possible to find due to no markings, or not playable due to high grass or thick foliage grown over them. No. 10 long pad is gone due to road construction. No. 2 long tee sits in the middle of No. 1 long fairway, but worth it.

-Some fairways cross over and run close together and are blind tee throws. I wonder how often players are hit by a disc.

-No. 12 basket bent at the barrel, and No. 14 leaning over.

-High lost disc potential.

-After a sustained rain, course is likely to be swampy.

-Broken glass and trash on the course.

-A few dog walkers crossing fairways.

-For those passing thru the Richmond area or bagging. The course is 9 miles from I-295, and 6 miles from I-95 with heavy traffic, frequent stop lights, and currently construction, this part of the drive was agonizing. What was supposed to of been an 8am arrival, turned into an 820am from I-295. That much extra time.

Other Thoughts:

IMO with no or little course maintenance, some lost and unplayable long tee pads resulting in losing out on some long holes, and trash on the course. This course is on the back slide, and per my homework prior to playing has been for quite some time. Kudos to member Gottafixit for trying to rally the troops to cleanup the course on a wall post, but it does not look like there was a response?

However, there are those who love the layout including a local Pro I happened to play with in Virginia Beach a few days after playing the course. The course is difficult from the long tees and he had me thinking that perhaps I'll keep my eye on the course, and if there's a time when its cleaned up, I'll return for a rewrite on my review and a possible solid jump on my rating. Per my homework on the course, I did play 1 and 2 from the long tees for 2 extra holes and I already knew about the mess the course was in.

With the variety of the course layout, variety of disc played from my bag, A solid fun factor in the wooded portion of course my overall rating is anchored on a 4.5. It took 70 minutes to play the round, including searching for long tee pad's.

Notable Holes:
No. 5 Par 3 short tee at 245 feet is an up-hill tee throw between a wooded gap. The gap is about 50 feet out and 20 feet wide, the crest of the hill is about 75 feet out and the disc will disappear down slope, with also a right to left down slope across fairway. On the left is a tree line, and the basket is in the right tree line on top of the slope. Basket it about 15 feet in the tree line and protected in the front. If you can make the distance, best putting is side/back door. I found my straight drive in the left wood line.

No. 6 Par 3 short tee at 195 feet is a straight tunnel shot 15 feet wide and need 185 feet for a birdie look. Basket is protected by bushy tree. Would be a difficult ace run.

No. 13 Par 3 short tee at 370 feet is a lazy left at 200 feet, then a lazy right to a roller basket. From tee is a down slope at the 200- foot mark, where there is a waste area of debris. Then fairway drops steeper to the basket, and from the tee disc will disappear. From left to right is a down slope across fairway to basket. Clump of trees right of fairway at 220 feet. It's a scenic hole, but the high grass takes away the roller at the basket, there's also a tree line just 20 feet past the basket.

No. 14 Par 3 short tee at 290 feet is on the lower portion of the course. Straight down, with a slight right to left, fairway slopes down left to right. Heavy woods both sides about 25 feet down. Nasty brush on the right side. At the 240- foot mark sharp left turn to an elevated basket on a hill about 12 feet high, roller up hill and to the right. Levels out past basket. Again, the high grass makes the roller ineffective. Need to make the 240-foot mark or you will be blocked out on the left tree line.

No. 15 Par 3 short tee at 260 feet looks a little like 14 from the tee, but more of a lazy right to left and narrower at 20 feet. From the tee you are aiming to the nasty tree line on the right, and no straight shot to the basket. A slight slope across fairway left to right. Basket is at fairway height, and just 5 feet from the nasty stuff on the right. If grass was cut, could roll into brush.

Signature Hole:

No. 2. Long tee at 297 feet across a deep pond needing at least 247 feet to make it across into a 30- foot gap. A little elevation from tee, you're throwing from a gap, and dirt tee is solid footing. Basket sits in the open about 50 feet past pond and gap. Heavy tree line on both sides of gap. Very Scenic! If you cannot make distance, there is some shorter poke and hopes to the short No. 2 fairway.

Trouble Hole:

No 1. Par 3 long tee at 265 feet into a tunnel gap with heavy trees and canopy all the way down. Your birdie look is at 255 feet. The gap is no more than 20 feet wide all the way down. On your left is the heavy tree line with a roller to the lower short No. 1 fairway. On the right with the heavy tree line is the deep pond and only a few feet below the fairway. Nip a tree and your disc can go either way, and into the pond, you will never see it again. With the extreme lost disc potential, and no bail out. My first thought was "what a frightening" tee shot. I was not feeling charitable, so I threw easy putter all the way down.





Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
morrisey0
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
2.00 star(s)

The Links At Goyne Marsh 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 29, 2020 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Decent variety of wide open and wooded shots, sometimes depending on the tee pad taken.
Will encourage you to play both back and forward hand drives.
Good for practice.

Cons:

Long tee boxes aren't maintained, and some don't seem to exist.
Many holes play in what can only be described as march land.
Little confusing finding tee boxes the first few times you play.

Other Thoughts:

Goyne Park is about 3-4 minutes from my house, but I will drive 20+ minutes to go to other local courses 90% of the time I play. I don't know if this is a new thing because I don't see it mentioned in other reviews, but this course suffers from a severe drainage issue. Even when it hasn't rained in 5+ days, there are many places on the course that you will be in 3"+ of mud. The putting area around 10, the tee box at 11, good portions of 14 & 16, and all 15 are all just standing water.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
LeeloDGVA
Experience: 6 played 3 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Open course; not the most interesting design 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 16, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

Good for practicing big, open throws
Nice concrete tee pads
Has circle marked around basket with white "whiskers"

Cons:

Several overlapping fairways/greens with other holes
No shade makes it very hot in warm weather
Slightly confusing where you were supposed to go to park and to get to the first tee box

Other Thoughts:

This wasn't my favorite course and due to very little shade, will definitely only play if the weather is cooler. There are a few interesting holes, but mostly you're just playing in a big open field with a few trees/wooded patches here and there. As others said, you have to be careful of other folks playing as several holes overlap or come very close to each other. This would be an OK course for beginners or working on distance since you don't have to worry too much about shot shaping/avoiding trees.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
pmay5
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 21.1 years 486 played 248 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Wait! are those Circle 1 Markers?! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 14, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

Great, large concrete tee pads for the Gold (actually White level) tees.
Good tee signs, show both tees.
For the FIRST TIME EVER that I have seen, there are plastic whiskers in the ground to mark Circle 1 and maybe, Circle 2!! I've only seen these used before on softball fields, where there are multiple base locations. A rubber plug is inserted in the unused base location and the attached whiskers make them easy to spot, without affecting play.
Mostly open holes in this DG only area of the park. Most of the baskets were unprotected, but a few were placed just inside treelines.

Cons:

The main negative about this course are the safety issues, too many cases of holes using shared fairways:
#2 &#3 - #2 is a pretty good hole, a gradual left to right hole, along the pond. Then you go uphill a little to #3 tee, and throw around a blind corner, right into #2 fairway. If you don't know someone is playing #2, you could be throwing right into them, on a 50' wide fairway.
#5 & #13 - #5 tee is tucked in the woods, uphill and the tee shot goes through Circle 1 of #14. The fairway is mostly open and you see a basket, that is #13, #5 is tucked in the woods on the right. So both holes are coming from different directions on a 75' wide fairway.
#8, #9, #10, #12 - the shared fairway area is wider than most, about 240', but #8 and #12 baskets are about halfway up the fairways of #9 and #10.
#1,#16,#17,#18 - the last three of these are all over 300' and going in opposite directions, high speed discs going in different directions in that small of space, an average of just 130' wide, delays in throwing looks like the least of your worries.
Looks like the ground holds water a lot around #15 tee and on the final three holes.

Other Thoughts:

Being a Disc Golf only area of this park, it probably helps with the safety issues, because the experienced players know what to look for and when to throw. But if beginners, or first timers, give this course a try, they could become frustrated with multiple baskets in sight and when it is safe to throw.

While most of the holes had baskets out in the open there were a few interesting holes:
#1 - from the Gold tee, along the treeline at the base of the pond dam, the basket is in the trees about halfway up the dam.
#6 - a short, downhill tunnel shot that finishes to the left.
#14 - a somewhat tight tee shot, that turns left to the basket up on a hill, 290' away.
#15 - also a tight tee shot with a creek on the right, sharp hyzer to start, then straightens out to 260'.
#18 - even though it is wide open and sandwiched between #1 and #17, the plateau green area reminds you of a flat, golf green.

I'm thinking experienced players play here often, with the Circle 1 markers and alternate Blue tees, those aren't installed and maintained for the intermediate player. Perhaps this layout works well, but it seems that a 9 hole layout, with 18 baskets, making up 18 unique holes, might work better for this course. There are a lot of heavily wooded courses in this part of the country, having a course with mostly open holes, is a rare treat.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
mshelton
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.2 years 141 played 32 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Good beginner course 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 19, 2018 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Good beginner course
Most shots covered
Well mowed

Cons:

A little jumbled together
Pretty much all open
Can be a bit difficult to navigate the first time

Other Thoughts:

Nothing spectacular but noting really bad about the course. Would be a good place for someone to learn how to play the game or someone new who is starting to get a little distance.

It doesn't seem like there was a whole lot of land allotted for the course but a good job was done with what was available.

Be sure to follow the directions in the course description as it can be hard to find. Also you may want to print out or keep a copy of the map up on your phone to help get from hole to hole.

The restrooms on the other side of the park have sinks where you can fill a water bottle, a good hike from the course or you can drive over there, probably easier.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
jsemales
Experience: 20.1 years 91 played 39 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Play it and move on 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 28, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Well marked and easy to find. It's a convenient course for anyone located at Fort Lee. The course plays fairly quickly, but seems awfully clustered.

Cons:

The first two holes are not good warm up holes, but they have a nice practice basket to warm up putting. The course is a little confusing because all the holes are kind of clustered together.

Other Thoughts:

Give it a run, and then move on to some of the better courses in the area. It'll play pretty quickly, so you can get a couple rounds in if you're not planning on playing anywhere else that day.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
eric_vdberg
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 41 years 1626 played 40 reviews
2.50 star(s)

New Concrete Pads 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 23, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Newly poured concrete short (yellow) tee pads.
Good tee signs and directional arrows.

Cons:

Blue tee pads on 1 & 2 make lost/wet discs likely, not good warmup holes!
Most Blue tee pads are overgrown. Could not find blue tee pads on 13, 14, 16, 17 & 18, and believe that they no longer exist.
Some blue pads add a little extra length without changing the angles much, others make good shots unlikely.

Other Thoughts:

Enjoyed a round here, would just use the yellow pads if I played it again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
nshafer
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Short and Straight forward 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 20, 2016 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Very well maintained
Easy to follow signs
Short tees for a quick 18 holes
Easy par or better
Multiple open fairways to play

Cons:

Tees could be redone or filled in again
Baskets could be repainted
No benches at any tees

Other Thoughts:

Fun course for a lazy afternoon or a way to get a quick 18 holes in.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 1
sloppydisc
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.6 years 201 played 147 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Basic Beginner Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 15, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Full 18 hole course with nice baskets and decent tee signs at each hole. Course is set in its own piece of land so there should be no interference from other park users. Navigation is pretty simple, and there are plenty of next tee signs to make sure you know where to go.

There is a lot of of open holes and grass here, and today it was mowed nicely, and everything was well kept. Fairways are clear and obvious with nothing to complain about.

Hole lengths varied from around 198' to about 380' with most holes being of the deuce or die type. Lots of open holes with plenty of fairway to work with, and a few tighter holes sprinkled in. There is one water carry of almost 300', but there is also an alternate pad that plays to the tune of a nice, dry 246'. That's a nice option on a course that appears designed mostly for beginners and recreational players.

While most holes are pretty open there are a few tighter holes with some thick rough on the back 9. Nothing too brutal, but at least it keeps you from having to throw all wide open holes.

Cons:

Natural pads that were a little lumpy in spots. Some decent sized depressions to work around.

Lots of open holes with straight shots. Not much line shaping or variety. Throw straight, then fade a little left or right. That's the plan here.

Pretty dull little course. Nothing overly exciting or thrilling. Mostly flat, simple golf.

Other Thoughts:

This is a clean, well kept little course, that seems like a great place for families and beginners. Lots of open fairways to keep lost discs to a minimum, and no overly challenging layouts. For the people that have played for a while this course could get old real quick. I wouldn't go out of my way to play here, but if you are looking for a quick, simple round it'll do.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 4
itsbai
Experience: 13.3 years 2 played 2 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Great course, 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 5, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- The course is in the best shape I've seen it!
- very technical, great layout, keeps you thinking
- never lost a disc
- some interesting wildlife you wouldn't see elsewhere

Cons:

Very grassy and bug infested. Bring good deep woods bug spray or long socks.

Other Thoughts:

I love this course when it's maintained. During the fall the course is great! I guess the maintenance takes a break in the summer. I will still go back often, just will come with high socks and more big spray!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
rchendricks
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Simple way to lose discs 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 31, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Bigger shots for those who have a great arm.
Great RHFH shots.
Not a lot of people play this course, tends to be more open then a lot of other courses in Virginia

Cons:

YOU WILL LOSE A DISC i have played this course about 10-15 times and have lost a ton of discs on it. You will spend more time finding discs than actually playing the course.

The lake/pond is just a natural disc eater and if you don't have a great anhyzer throw for 3 you will lose a disc

Course can be unforgiving considering its a par 3 all the way through

Other Thoughts:

While this is not an intricate course at all the fact that hardly anyone plays makes the course play better but you will likely go hiking into the woods to find a disc
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
neilbert20
Experience: 13.3 years 1536 played 2 reviews
2.50 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 26, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

2 sets of tee pads.
No one else there playing to slow us up.
Looks like it is only for disc golf and there was a guy mowing when I was there so the grass was low.
Pretty challenging especially 1 and 6 from the blue tees.
Easy to navigate.

Cons:

The back tees for the most part are not kept able to use and couldn't even find others. 1-8 blue tees were easy to find but many had weeds completely overtaking them. Most of the back 9 blue tees were nonexistent.
Lots of mud from 11-17 and seems like its there from the pond and if there was a better drainage system it wouldn't have been there.

Other Thoughts:

This course has potential to be a very nice course but deinately needs some work maintaining both the yellow and especially the blue tees. Some I the holes were unique and very challenging but many were the same as others and open and straight to the basket.

There are better courses to play in Richmond and I wouldn't go out of your way to come here unless you want to try something different like I did.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
blackmamba5490
Experience: 12.1 years 51 played 9 reviews
4.00 star(s)

One of my got to courses 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 27, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great location (close to me)
A good variety of holes
Some long and spacious holes as well as tight and narrow ones
Nice people, isolated area, well kept
signs that clearly distinguish where to go and what the distance to the baskets are
A challenge

Cons:

No trash cans so can me litter filled (Clean up there constantly with my own trash bag)
Unforgiving lake, wilderness, and thorn bushes
Tee boxes have lost alot of sand and are very easy to turn an ankle in.

Other Thoughts:

I have played this course about 100 times now and it continues to grow on me. I really enjoy the courses variety and the way the grass is always mowed. The tees are my only real issue with the place because so much sand has been removed due to its constant use and it leaves large holes in the tee area. This causes me to have to think about where i am stepping when i tee off which can be a distraction. I have talked to multiple people that play here and alll of them have this same issue. Also, the lake and thorns are unforgiving so don't mess up your throw or your disc will be gone for good (Lost about 15+ disc here). over all, i love the challenge it brings and my determination to go under par here brings me back daily as i am getting closer and closer :)
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 1
jkdisc
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.7 years 117 played 110 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 14, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Goyne was a fun course to play. My group had the course to ourselves. The distances from the short tees are all under 400 feet but there is still a nice challenge here. There are many blind holes and OB to contend with. The disc golf area of the park is "disc golf" only which is nice.

Other Pros:
- practice basket visible at parking lot
- kiosk with a course map (do take a look for tricky spots)
- great tee signs at short tee (arrow pointing to the next tee on those signs)
- clean, well kept
- risk/reward (water, blind shots, OB)

Cons:

The biggest con has to be how cramped the holes are. Like I said, we had the place to ourselves so it was not an issue but, it could be.
Take a look at the course map (Links/files tab), you can see where fairways can overlap.

Other Cons:
- bugs were bad
- navigation can be tricky
- long tees are tough to find sometimes

Other Thoughts:

The course parking lot is located at the back of Ecoff Elementary. I saw a porta-potty towards the actual park if you are in need of that.

When I walked to the first tee, I came to the long tee which is next to the water, if you want the short tee, it's just down the small hill.

I loved the first 3 holes which utilized the pond.
The long tees for these holes are very challenging, risky, and fun.

I had a hard time deciding on the rating, to me it's somewhere in between 2.5 and 3. I gave it a 3 because I had the course to myself which does alleviate many of my cons.

Go play it at non-peak hours!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
nevets4433
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.4 years 62 played 60 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Great Variety 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 17, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course has a great variety of short, shot-placement holes, some ace runs, and some wide open bomb holes.

Nice, well demarcated tee areas (for the yellow tees).

2 sets of tees for varied levels of challenge.

They honestly made an 18 hole course out of the land needed for a 9 holer.

Great signage! The course map is at the start and at hole 9-10. Signs at every tee and directing you to the next tee after each basket. Best signage in the Richmond area!

Nice practice/warmup area and basket - that is always a plus.

Cons:

Navigation is confusing. Way too many baskets can be seen from many tees, making it hard to figure out which one is the intended target.

Holes are clustered together too much - dangerous if multiple groups are on the course at the same time.

Lots of briars and marshland - definite disc loss opportunities.

Blue tees are not nearly as well kept as the yellows. Some we could not find.

The sand/gravel tees are pretty nice, but have also been confused as litter boxes by some local animals.

Technically the course is only open after the elementary school hours. Not sure you would get kicked off, but it says so on the kiosk.

Other Thoughts:

Holes 14-15 looked like they completely ran out of real estate and squeezed them along the property line.

Overall its a really fun course that is a decent change of pace from some of the other courses in the area.

Navigation to the course is a little strange. DO NOT go into the Goyne Park entrance. Instead, go into the Ecoff Elementary school and down the right side of the parking lot - you will find the practice basket at the end of the parking lot and the kiosk for the course.

Keep a look out on the hole signs for yellow/orange arrows. These are Mandos that you might otherwise not know about.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 4
scotty67
Experience: 2 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Scotty67 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 7, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

tee boxes have been filled in again this helps with footing. Some limbs have been trimmed back on 4,7,and 13.# 16 has been moved away from the water & up the hill.

Cons:

love the course. a little wet today, and rough is coming back to life.

Other Thoughts:

usually throw course once a week and i believe par is a very nice score. one of the guys i threw with lost 1 disc today so beware the rough!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 4
slickspin33
Experience: 2 played 2 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Hidden Gem 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 30, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Beautiful course with some nice elevation changes.
Not too woody.
Next tee pad is well marked from the previous basket.

Cons:

The "rough" areas are really rough.
You will lose a disc in the swamp if you aren't careful.
We played the day after a rain storm and the course was really muddy.
Tee pads were not level.

Other Thoughts:

With a little TLC this course could be a 4.5. I'm coming back when it's a little less damp to check it out.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 4
Auto
Experience: 18 played 6 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Oh where oh where 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 18, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Location. It is in a great location in the heart of Chester . History of bEing a former golf course which allows a lot of open fairways and long drives. A nice degree of difficulty for a newer player but difficult to keep up with more experience players in the same round.

Cons:

Mostly open and long fairways that keeps you inthe sun. No trash recepticles anywhere. And no benches to rest. The county seems to forget this park when it comes to mowing and when they do they half arse it! This could be a great park with some tlc.

Other Thoughts:

Hole three will drown your disc or the woods will eat it. Five has a litle elevation and you might want to use a spotter for your disc. The trees will hide them or the leaves will bury it. Six has a nice challenge with a Mando for a rhbh thrower. Finding hole seven is a challenge since the sign is facing backwards. Hole
14 is brutal for a novice or snapper shooter just throw you twenty in the woods instead of your disc. It is a huge hyzer shot.
I will say that with the improvement of my game this course is less lethal for me and my plastic. Hole 2 and 3 does have water come into play so have your retriever isnt a bad idea.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
DiscGolfCraig
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.1 years 605 played 551 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Better than advertised 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Nov 3, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

Fun course just outside of Richmond. I was pleasantly surprised how much I enjoyed this under-rated course.
- Goyne ended up being a much better course than I expected. Reading the reviews, I didn't have high hopes going in. It clearly seems a lot of work has been put into the course over the past year or so.
- Mostly open course with lots of strategically placed holes near/behind trees to create challenge. There are several open, no-obstacle holes, but those are the exception to the rule.
- Good variety in length. From short tees, nothing longer than 400 feet, and only 2 under 200 feet.
- Good descriptive map at kiosk. It's the same one you can print off the site. There are also signs pointing to next hole on virtually every hole. (It may be every hole, I wasn't keeping tally, but noticed one whenever I was looking for one.)
- The land is for disc golf only, which is always a huge plus. It's separated from the rest of the park. You actually park behind the school, and never enter the park itself.
- Very clean looking course with great overall maintenance. I was impressed with the overall upkeep of the course especially seeing/reading that it doesn't seem to be as popular as other Richmond-area courses. I played on a Wednesday afternoon and never saw another person on the park.
- Course has long & short layouts. As I'll list in my below, this is both a good and bad thing.

Cons:

There's one major, potential problem with the course. The holes are too cramped together. In two parts of the course (holes #8 - 13, and #1 & 15-18), you can at least 4 baskets and 4 tees at almost all times. Holes #1, 16 -18 share the same, wide fairway, with #1 & 17 going one direction and 16 &18 the other. If crowded, you'd have to keep an eye on discs flying at you from not one, but two tees.
- Tee signs could have helped a little more on several holes. On hole #13, for example, you see several baskets, but not #13 basket. It's protected by a line of trees. Once I found the hole, it was my favorite.
- On many holes, long tees overlap into other fairways. If the course is empty, not a problem, if it's crowded, another potential problem.
- I also didn't see the long tees on a couple holes. #1 was the major one that comes to mind.
- Basket for #8 is pretty close to barb-wire, OB fence. Just make sure not to throw too far to the right.

Other Thoughts:

There's a simple solution to the problem of having multiple baskets within sight. PRINT A COURSE MAP!!!! It fixes the majority of these potential problems.
- I liked how they had a second course map by #10. Not that you can really start on #10, but it's a nice refresher after the first 9.
- Good use of the water on #2 & 3. If not careful, you might have a bigger risk of losing a disc in the water on #3, than #2.
- As mentioned above, #13 is my favorite hole. Semi-dogleg right hole with a thin line of trees in front of holes and heavy tree coverage to right of basket. It's not a difficult 3, but it'll take a great shot to get in birdie range.
- From #13 to #17, it's a great stretch of tough, real-deal holes. Each presents a good challenge, and requires good shot-making.
- Goyne reminded of a light version of Falling Creek (in Beford, VA) and a 18-hole version of Mint Hill (outside of Charlotte).
- I had a blast playing here. If the course was crowded when I played, I might have had a different opinion. I'll play this again any, and every, time I'm in Richmond. I'm giving this course a 3, but if it's as good in future plays, its rating will get a deserved bump higher.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top