• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Clarksville, OH

Gulley Park

3.495(based on 35 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Gulley Park reviews

Filter
9 0
mrclc
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 10.8 years 740 played 47 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Gulley By Golly 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 23, 2018 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

There's a little something for everyone at Gulley Park, a secluded rec/int layout that shows its teeth if you stray from the fairway. Most holes place a premium on hitting your lines cleanly and avoiding the thick, brushy rough. A significant minority are open, offering a chance to air it out after being hemmed in by the aforementioned brush. There's nothing too revolutionary design-wise, but the fun factor is high, and there aren't any holes that seem unfair or outside the intended skill level of the rest of the course. Highlights include Hole 5, a funky RHBH blind hyzer that places the course's largest premium on accuracy, as the fairway narrows significantly as you approach the pin. Hole 13 requires a downhill drive either through a gap in an undergrowth-ridden grove of trees or a bomb over the top before a gentle uphill approach to an open green.

Holes 16 & 17 come as a pleasant surprise at the end of the round as traditional woods holes with thin rough, and provide welcome relief from the predominant underbrush found elsewhere on the course.

The course's relatively rural location means it gets little traffic, and even on gorgeous days there's typically only two to three groups out at any given time.

The compact tee signs provide distance, recreational par, and a simple hole diagram.

Cons:

Most of the rough here is pretty thick, especially in summer, and there's poison ivy everywhere.

This is one of the buggier courses in the area, with flying insects abounding in the woods. I've also picked up ticks here, so make sure to check yourself and any furry companions.

Gulley unsurprisingly holds quite a bit of water, and mud often lasts days after rain. Waterproof shoes and boots are a big asset, especially on the wooded holes.

The old carpet tees have been replaced with turf tees - a major improvement - but the tee boxes are still a little small. Some are currently set above ground level by 2 x 4's, which makes it difficult to start a run up from off the pad.

Other Thoughts:

Gulley Park has that intangible fun factor and the ability to be challenging without punishing, and I think that's why it resonates with rec and int level golfers. If you live closer to either Dayton or Cincinnati, this one is best played in a tour of the area courses, possibly in conjunction with Osage Grove or the niners in Lebanon and Mason.

PROTIP: If you're playing without a map, make sure to turn to the left after putting out on Hole 5 or you might inadvertently skip Holes 6 & 7.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 2
gcoghill
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 24.1 years 77 played 68 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 25, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

Good course. Easy to find, not too far from the highway but still secluded. Exclusive land for the course. Challenging but not insanely difficult holes. Well maintained. Clean. Secluded area. Nice mix of holes.

Cons:

Tees are a bit dilapidated. Nothing particularly exceptional about the course or any of the holes.

Other Thoughts:

A solid 3.0 ("Good") course. Maybe even 3.5. Clean and well-maintained. Holes are fun, but serious players might find it lacking in distance and challenge. Great for us casual players.

While there is nothing notable about this course, it's a well-thought-out and enjoyable course. Extra points for cleanliness and exclusive, secluded land that's also easy to reach from the highway.

The last few holes are a bit bland, but the early holes all have enough character to make the overall course a good one.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
Grippenripp
Experience: 9 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 11, 2018 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Nicely maintained course. Even mix of moderately wooded, open and heavily wooded holes. Course is challenging but not frustratingly so. Decent parking, even when the lot's full you can wiggle in somewhere. Moderate, low elevation changes.

Cons:

The only facilities are a port a john. Some places are a little swampy sometimes.

Other Thoughts:

All in all this course is beautiful in my opinion. I have a lot of fun here always and feel that this course is helping me become a better golfer in general.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
ad166809
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 10.3 years 55 played 24 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Hidden Gem 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 5, 2017 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Great basket placements. Elevation Changes, Dog Legs, Woods Holes.

Tee Pads are okay, not great but playable.

Maps are pretty generic, but give yardages and have decent illustrations to the baskets.

This course holds true to its namesake. Lots of Gulley's and Elevation Changes through the first 12-13 Holes, then starts to straighten out towards the last holes.

The course foliage is pretty well kept. Park is clean and usually not busy at all.

Cons:

No real benches out in the park. A couple holes have man made benches.

This course is out in the middle of nowhere.

Other Thoughts:

Good variety of hole distances. Some long open holes like #11 & #13. Some shorter woods holes like #16-#17.

No running water, only a porta-potty, no water fountains.

This course is usually never very crowded, however the trade off is usually a long trip out there.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
Adownard
Experience: 10 years 56 played 7 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 28, 2017 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Beatiful park/course
-Really fun holes with many gulley type holes
-Challenging but can still shoot well there on any given day
-Variety of open and wooded holes

Cons:

-Nothing too bad to say about this course
-Plays a little bit easy
-Can get pretty muddy on the wooded holes

Other Thoughts:

This is a regular course for me and i love playing it. The park is in really nice shape and you do not have to worry about other park attendees being in the way.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
Xelto
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 42 played 37 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Gully Park 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 22, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

* Nice mix of open and technical shots, good variety of distances and throw styles, and a bit of elevation
* Rarely crowded
* Nicely maintained, ample parking, and maintained port-a-potties on site

Cons:

* Out of the way
* Poison ivy has been a problem at times, though I haven't noticed it recently. Others have complained about ticks, but I've never had any issues here.
* Marshy after rains

Other Thoughts:

They finally got real tees in! The course sees a decent amount of disc golf traffic (though usually not so much you would call it crowded), and combined with the swampiness of the park in general, that put a lot of wear on the tee areas. And it looks like they have done some things to combat the marsh effect, especially on hole 1, although I would still be cautious about going after a soaking-type rain.

They mix the shots up nicely, with a nice selection of wide-open, lighly wooded, moderately wooded, and full-on forest, plus varying distances, and almost half the holes have some sort of elevation effect, though none have steep hills.

My ultimate judgement for any course is "How far is it worth driving to get to it?" And for Gully Park... it's worth going out of your way to play, but not worth making a special trip for, by itself (although combining it with the nearby Osage Orange course might be worth a special trip.) Definitely one for nearby players to add to their 'good course' rotation.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
Glorch
Experience: 7 played 1 reviews
4.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 20, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Gulley has a great variety of holes ranging from heavily wooded that require control, to wide open holes that are good for beginners. Theres has a nice map that clearly shows the layout of the course. The crew does a nice job keeping the place in good shape. It's also never very busy, usually only 2-4 groups on any giving day. Gulley is all around really fun if you're looking for almost every type of holes in one course.

Cons:

The tee pads are kind of a joke. They used to be carpet. None are intact anymore. Could really use concrete.

Other Thoughts:

It would be nice if there was some way they would let people sponsor holes to have new tee pads put in. I would certainly be willing to sponsor a couple.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
JDS3105
Experience: 14 played 14 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great course! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 1, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Very little traffic. Nice drive through country. Nice tee signs and easy to navigate. Nice variety of holes.

Cons:

Tee pads could use some work. Looks like at one time they were carpet like. A lot appear to now just be gravel. Some holes require you to have a very straight shot or you will be in the woods.

Other Thoughts:

We were very pleased with this course. It's about a 25 minute drive for us from Bellbrook. It's a really nice drive through the country and easy to find. We took a Friday off and there was only one other group on the course. They were starting hole 9 when we started so it felt like we had the course to ourselves. I've heard it doesn't get a lot of traffic so there's a good chance you won't feel rushed. If they updated the tee pads, I would have no problems giving this place 5 stars. I'm anxious to play it in the fall with the leaves changing colors. We will definitely play again! If you go through Waynesville on your way home, stop by and eat at Village Family Restaurant- great food!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 4
jeremiah h
Experience: 12.3 years 13 played 1 reviews
5.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 13, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Clearly posted map, excellent, custom-made metal hole signs on every hole. Most holes have "Next Hole" signs as well. The short, semi-wooded holes are well-designed. the more open holes feature the flowing elevation changes you like to see in these shots. The course was immaculately tended - I picked up one aluminium can in the entire course, very clean too. Beware of missing the fairway, as shanked shots may be in some seriously nasty, overgrown you-name-it. Perfectly tended fairways justify this in my opinion. Bring your game and your DEET, you'll need 'em.

Cons:

Not a good choice for a first-timer, unless they're looking to throw away discs. Plenty of nasty off-fairway shots, during the mid-summer anyway. Probably a friendlier course for people new to DG in the fall. Bugs are bad, just bring repellent. EDIT The tees are carpet, if you're lucky (a couple are dirt). take that as you will. Taking a single step as I generally do didn't matter much. But slabs would make this a seriously event-class course.

Other Thoughts:

We played disc golf here 7/5/14, and it was great. First time there with my buddies and we were all impressed with the care to detail that went into this amazing park. To whomever's in charge: well done! We will be back!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
remraf
Experience: 12.1 years 45 played 17 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Fun Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 31, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Real nice variety of holes.
Not much traffic other than disc golf.
Nice, big, open area just past hole 1 where you can throw some warm up throws.
FRIGGIN' TEES HAVE BEEN INSTALLED! They are turf, and they're short, and they're narrow, but they are SOMETHING. And they even elevated the tees on holes 5 and 12 - probably previously the worst 2 tees. Now when I'm standing on the tee at 12, I can actually see the tippy top of the basket (I am 6'), and the hole doesn't seem so up hill anymore.

Cons:

Location - off the beaten path. However, Osage Grove is only a 20 minute drive from here, or vice versa, and the 2 together are nicely contrasting, and make for great back to back discin'.

Other Thoughts:

Nice, fun course with good variety. In my original review, I stated that Gulley is similar to Turtlecreek, and in some respects it is - mainly that there are a good mix of open and wooded holes. But I've played the course a few more times, and it does have it's own charm as well. Typically not as much dg traffic as Turtlecreek, which is nearly always crowded.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 3
preludedrew
Experience: 17 years 82 played 44 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Gulley 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 25, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Decent 18 hole course, with some challenging holes over and around trees mostly and mostly open fields.

Cons:

A water hazard, and some woods deep enough to make it hard to find a disc.

Other Thoughts:

really quiet, not too busy course, but extremely well done with enough variety.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
sisyphus
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.8 years 400 played 385 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Last chance northbound on I-71 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 7, 2017 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Though a bit off the beaten path, the Gulley disc golf course is a worthy trip for Cincinnatians to visit the Fort Ancient Valley area and get in a fun, relatively challenging round for the recreational to intermediate player. Its location is a bit removed from larger population centers, but it also represents the only course up this way for some of the folks who live here toward the Wilmington area.
Slightly rolling hills and a mix of woods and fields make for a variety of lines and shots. The course starts with a 200 footer to a raised pin, then has three holes angling across a big back field, returning into the woods for a long blind hyzer (rhbh) on #5, and a short anny, after which you're near the parking lot for the first time. 7 & 8 require precise left bends, and 9 comes back through a tight gap to an open basket by the lot for the second time. You get to air out the open #s 10 & 11, and hit an elevated basket on 12 before one of the four long-ish holes (in the neighborhood of 400'). 13 requires you to hit a gap halfway to the pin (or I suppose an advanced arm could go over?), while 14 uses the road as a mando to limit your choice of lines to the otherwise open basket. I love hitting 15 through the narrow gap (at 150' or so) with a flex shot to set up an approach round the small grove of trees to the 450' basket. Wish I could execute that shot all the time. 16 and 17 are traditional woods holes requiring control, while 18 finishes back near the lot with just enough trees out in the open to make it a challenge.
There is a very good course map, and the flow is not really confusing. Adequate (but not terribly fancy) tee signs accompany each hole, there are next tee signs when needed, and the baskets work just fine. Park maintenance is excellent.
It feels like the park was put in just for the DG course, but there are also a small shelter, ball fields and a play area onsite. These are deeper in the park than the DG course, so conflicting activities, rarely do. While there isn't a water fountain, there's a couple of well-kept port-o-lets next to the parking lot.

Cons:

Tee pads are unfortunately just a carpet material at present. They are getting worn, rutted, and muddy, and need to be replaced soon. The last time I was there, the #7 tee pad had just been thrown in the trash. #18 has been missing for a while. This course would rise in the ratings quickly with the addition of concrete pads, and would really pop if multiple tees were done at that time.
Several areas get very marshy after a rain (the end of the fairway on 1, and the woods lanes on 16 & 17, in particular), and need better drainage/ water management devised.
I don't recall seeing trash barrels out on the course, but I also haven't seen much litter here (except folks use the timbered box raising the #12 basket as a trash bin. There aren't any benches, but the course plays fairly quickly, so I haven't felt much like resting, either. I mention these as missing amenities that would increase the appeal for some players.

Other Thoughts:

With some local sponsorship, tee pad upgrades would make this course an interesting combination with the Mason Sports Park and the Lebanon 9 hole DG courses! Disc golfers would have a fun day hitting those three for a casual event or a tournament.
The course is nearby (but unfortunately not within view of) Fort Ancient Valley, which boasts beautiful vistas, especially in the fall.

Edit June 2017: This past year, new tees were installed throughout the course using boxed, compacted gravel (almost concrete consistency), covered by AstroTurf. They did a fantastic job and easily raised my rating a half point all by this one upgrade. Kudos!!]
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
culinarywiz
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 35.8 years 310 played 67 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Good for the family 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 14, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Awesome hole #1. I love starting out with a nice sig hole. You will shoot up to an elevated pin with a sharp design here.

Pretty solid balance. Diverse distances from touch mid's off the tee to nice drives. I'd have to say the course is a bit on the open side, but not too much so. These open holes are complimented with a host of well designed technical beauties.

Solid signage and easy navigation.

High fun factor. Low beat down factor.

The park was gorgeous and very well taken care of.

Cons:

May not provide enough challenge for the advanced golfer. Ultimately, it's a gentle course.

Some of the pads were quite worn, torn and uneven. I can't recall playing on pads like these. They were basically wool-like rugs. I kind of liked the ones in good shape. They provided nice traction.

There were a few bland holes

Other Thoughts:

I very much liked this course. It was simple and direct. The design never reached too far, while still utilizing the natural hazards well.

There are a few shots that aren't tunnel holes, yet you need to at least hit one gap to land safely. These are nice holes for rec players because they force you to release with accuracy but you don't have to hold long lines.

Cool course. I would play it often if it were local.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
AceWraith
Experience: 19 years 133 played 9 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 22, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

good course flow
good layout
decent faiways on every hole
good mix up of shots
400'0+ holes
tee signs
ace runs
smooth terrain

Cons:

dirt tee pads
the rough is rough
16&17 get swampy (if its been rainy alot wear boots)

Other Thoughts:

played this course alot and never got tired of it, great course to work on your rip and some finess shots. the only real thing i would change is put in some solid tee pads. if your in the area this is a great course to play a few rounds. also has a huge soccer field right next to the parking lot so you really stretch out your arm. also has baseball fields and a jungle gym for the kids.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
gaerith2
Experience: 14.7 years 79 played 6 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Pleasant surprise 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 17, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Mostly isolated.
- Great mix of long holes, open holes, wooded holes, and elevation changes.
- Elevated basket on a hole.
- Decent amount of ace runs.

Cons:

- Scary drive through the "mountains" of south/central Ohio.
- No "signature" hole to speak of.

Other Thoughts:

I got to play this course on the way to Columbus for a weekend. It was quite a bit off the interstate but I like courses out in the middle of nowhere. There is a lot of room on this course for expansion and plenty of chances to change the layout and add extra holes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 1
LightsOut
Experience: 39.1 years 43 played 6 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Country drive tight and open play drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Oct 11, 2023 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Today was my first time to play this course and I'll add it to my rotation of playable area courses! The fall day was sunny, dry and had winds gusting to 15 MPH at least when I started. Holes 2, 3, & 4 go west and they open into the prevailing WSW wind for this part of the country. It didn't look good for me today (starting bogey, bogey, bogey). Once I got over it and into the woods on the front nine things improved once I was protected from too much breeze.
More than half of the tee drives on the course require going through either tree line openings or through tunnels. A couple you can go over and a few suggested to me that I should be using controlled approach disc play off the tee. The effect of which is elation once you get a chance to let a couple discs fly when the opportunity for open play arrives.
The elevation changes are effective through the woods and out in the open. I liked open #12, as you check it out as you play up to it. There is a blind tee uphill drive 220 ft to an elevated basket (check out the photo). Hole 13 is a controlled window shot par 5 challenge over a ravine. The last 5 holes give you a chance to rip both drivers in the open, over, and around trees and controlled approach discs in the woods.
The wind was still gusting but after #4 the rest of the course was fairly well protected from the WSW winds on this day.
Course navigation was fairly straightforward. There is a course layout sign and an instructional sign off the lot on the way to the first tee. There are nice tee area signs for each hole with par and distance listed. The front begins and ends at the parking area and #10 begins there also. Basket #18 is a short distance from the lot. The park is in good shape and maintained well from what I can see from this visit. The tight front nine helps makes this a quick play course.

Cons:

October 2018 update: The concrete pads have arrived, thanks to whoever is responsible! So not really a con anymore. Other than the one disc course sign there isn't an office or general store at this Warren County Park that I noticed for scorecards, discs, or munchies. There is a Port-o-let onsite, but no running water that I saw.

Other Thoughts:

Overall I had a great time playing Gulley Park as I finished strong today. The parking was ample and neat as was the picnic awning with tables and grills. There are soccer fields to the east of the course/picnic awning and I didn't go any further into the park to check out what else might be available.

I found and drove to Gulley Park using the DGCR website no problem. It's about a winding mile south, off of OH 350 between Ft Ancient and Clarksville. The next closest courses would be in Lebanon, Mason, Springboro, and Monroe. Not a spectacular course but offers play worth looking into if you want a light traffic course and a nice out of the way country drive.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Foofoohead
Experience: 21 played 21 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Gulley Park 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 8, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Great flow, well designed course.
Great mix of trees and open fairways.
Great use of varying lengths.
Both technical and wide open.
Great use of the terrain and elevation changes.
Good use of directional signs.
Nice park setting with plenty of parking.
No very crowded the time I was there.

Cons:

The only con would be the tees, they need some work. If they were concrete I would have rated this course .5 higher!

Other Thoughts:

Very impressed with the layout of this course. Excellent design and use of the terrain. Enjoyed playing a course with more than just par 3's. This course had par 3's, 4's, and 5's. Warning this park is out in the middle of nowhere which may be why it is not so busy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
DrewMillerRH
Premium Member
Experience: 15.2 years 190 played 10 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 17, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great mix of holes, good mix on distance, excellent flow, good use of what little elevation is available, well designed course.

Cons:

Natural Tee Pads, that's the only thing I can say negative about the course.

Other Thoughts:

Worth stoping and playing if you're out that way
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
vetonoshake
Experience: 22.3 years 17 played 7 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Gulley Park 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 28, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Beautiful course in a beautiful park. I've been four times so far, and it has never been crowded at all. Good variety of long/short, left/right, open/wood shots. I like going to this course because I know I can get a round in quickly (played two rounds 3 of the 4 times), and it is a quiet and peaceful park. Port o John's are nice to have around (just in case).

Cons:

Can lose discs with errant throws in the woods, over fenced areas, or in tall grass.

Other Thoughts:

Most holes are on the short side, but all in all this park offers a nice variety of shots.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
hooked312
Experience: 16.1 years 34 played 17 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Wet Round 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 30, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

- A fun little layout that uses the space well.
- Good use of the creeks running through the course.
- Signage at holes was great, but lacking in directions from basket to the next tee.
- No one was out there and the course was very clean and well maintained.
- Even though the course had distance it was a pretty quick round.

Cons:

- The carpet tee pads were pretty nasty after the snow had melted and the mud forced me to tee off from the grass.
- A few times I had to jump over flooded fairways or little creeks in order to get to the basket.
- After some of the holes it took some searching for the next tee pad due to lack of signage, yet some holes had nice signs pointing you in the right direction.

Other Thoughts:

Overall a nice course in the greater Cincy area if you want to get away from crowds and the tougher courses. The signs on the tee pads were great, but the tee pads themselves were pretty rough.
I would recommend playing this course on a dry day due to the lack of tee pads and the amount of muddy terrain on the course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top