Tulsa (Broken Arrow), OK

Haikey Creek Park

Permanent course
3.35(based on 20 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Haikey Creek Park reviews

Filter
6 0
Upshawt1979
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.7 years 545 played 429 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Haikey's H'OK 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 5, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

Haikey Creek in Tulsa is 18 holes, and offers some challenge in the form of mature trees and long holes. There are concrete tees with signs, and the baskets are OK. The layout is pretty good for the land that is there.
Some holes offer long and short tees, some have more than one pin placement, and multiple tees and pins.

Holes 6, 7, and 10 were my favorite holes, because the fairways had the highest density of tree population. A lot of the holes are mostly open, with distance being the main obstacle. 9 was a good shorter hole with a narrow gap direct line, or a low ceiling window to the left or right. I chose the right side for a RHBH hyzer, and skipped my Destroyer very close to the pin. Hole 14 was really long and had a nice pin location that was across a creek with several trees growing on the banks. 15 tees across the same creek going the opposite direction and the basket is behind a large tree at the end of the tree line along the left side of the fairway.

Cons:

Heavy rains doused the area in the days prior to my visit. The result was a lot of standing water on much of the first 4 holes. It was 3 or 4 inches deep in places and covered a lot of grass. It was playable, but if you land in the wrong spot, you're wading into a massive puddle. There was no way to avoid playing the rest of the course with soaking wet socks and shoes.

I would recommend bringing the course map along with you, because the layout is a bit funky. 1-4 are in one corner, then you cross the road for 5-8, and 9-18 snake around the other half of the park.

This is a good course, but I have played others in Tulsa that I like better. Blackhawk and McClure were more fun, but it was a long time ago that I played the latter.

Other Thoughts:

I chose Haikey Creek for this trip because I like to play older courses sometimes, and this one is almost as old as me. In the description, it was called championship caliber, which got my attention. It might have been at that level in 1980, but I should have read the reviews more closely. It is pretty average by todays standards.

It is not bad, but a little bland. Really flat, and a lot of holes are pretty wide open. A little water in play, but nothing serious, unless it is flooded by rain.

I would probably play there occasionally if I lived in the neighborhood, but I will not be likely to visit here again on my next visit to Tulsa. So many more area courses to play, and a few that look to be higher quality.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
Hodzilla
Experience: 12.2 years 13 played 12 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Shady Acres (Full 18) 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 3, 2017 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Summers can be brutal and this place has shade everywhere
-Long shots w/challenging but not unfair fairways
-Fun short tech shots through the woods
-Opportunity for every shot imaginable
-Concrete Pads
-Good baskets
-Well Maintained

Cons:

-Super flat and prone to flood
-Long with large gaps between Tees

Other Thoughts:

Signage could be better. Layout has improved but they seem to consistently leave large walks between baskets and the next pad.

All in all this is a solid course and is fun to play year around. Also they changed a few tee and basket placements that made several holes more obtainable and fun for me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
Trip68
Experience: 7.5 years 31 played 25 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Got nuts? 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jan 8, 2017 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Plenty of parking.
City park setting.
Baskets good shape.
Tee Box in good shape
Concrete tee boxes
Bathrooms (seasonal)
Water (seasonal)
Shade !
Some protection from wind.
Away from the big city.

Cons:

Popular city park, could get crowded and watch for foot traffic.
Very flat, do not go after a torrential rain.
Pecan trees everywhere

Other Thoughts:

Lots of trees come into play.
It's a flat course, but still very playable.
Crossing the road is not a big deal.
In fact, some of my favorite holes play across the road into the "enchanted forest"
Great course that we play again and again.
You could play one side of the road first, then the other...instead in going 1-18

During the summer and on weekends, this place can get packed. Watch for random foot traffic.


Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 4
[email protected]
Experience: 10 years 9 played 2 reviews
1.50 star(s)

It's not he best 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 29, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

You are able to have an open Tee Off, to test out a new disk.

Cons:

The Course Has a poor layout. You have to cross the road. There are no signs that Show you where the Baskets are. It is not a course that I would use on a regular basis.

Other Thoughts:

If you are looking to just go hang out, then this is your course. If you are serious about playing the sport then this is not the course for you.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 3
HOOKER
Experience: 9.7 years 1 played 1 reviews
3.50 star(s)

back 9 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 30, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Grass was cut short..

Cons:

Squirrels droping nuts outta trees, felt like we was their targets...

Other Thoughts:

Hadda enjoyable afternoon,, played front 9 on Monday back 9 yesterday,, I threw my shoulder out on 12 not try'n ta throw hard but told me outta shape I'm in... BioFreeze it last nite & this a.m. & feels like we mite go try the front 9 again taday....
JAKE

BTW,, we're just starting out in this sport, & enjoying it a lot....
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
jayhawker737
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.1 years 52 played 41 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Distance Test in Tulsa 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 21, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Out of the 5 courses I have played in Tulsa, this is where you have your distance tested the most. The great part about that though, is they aren't wide open distance holes, there are trees everywhere to make sure you still have accuracy while bombing it. There are plenty of par 4's and some par 5's on this course, which is great. While having a ton of distance there are also some short holes that offer a good chance of a 2 if you can navigate around the even denser sets of trees. For a first timer, the course flows fairly well.

Cons:

While this course has a big difference in hole lengths, it is not as interesting as other Tulsa courses. it doesn't come off as fun as Hunter or Blackhawk because you don't have beautiful shots, or super technical holes. Some holes with OB would make this more interesting. This is a very flat course. This course often runs along a jogging trail, so be careful of pedestrians.

Other Thoughts:

Despite its flatness, this is a pretty good course. I would say its a 3.30, so I marked it as a 3.5. This course isn't a must play if you're in Tulsa, but its still a quality course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
TylerM
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.4 years 31 played 23 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Not as boring as Dovillio 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 18, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Well, it has all 18 baskets, nice pads (with alternates on many holes, and decent signs.

The old growth trees give you plenty of room to throw, while still challenging your accuracy.

A few really interesting holes keep this course from becoming just a boring throwfest. Holes 6,7,14, and 16 were all fun.

There were several play areas close by for the children.

Cons:

Although I understand limitations are involved in city Parks, some of the walks between holes were really long and some were confusing.

A couple of signs were outdated because of changes to the layout.

The repetition in many of the holes made it seem like you were throwing the same hole multiple times.

Other Thoughts:

Haikey was long. I played in mid July. I ran out of drink before I finished. Don't do that.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
notapro
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.6 years 568 played 281 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Intermediate 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 28, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Course is set in a decent sized city park, with a decent amount of trees here and there. There are some benches and pavilions and such, so there might be some interference here and there on a busy day.
- Good amount of trees present here to force a whole lotta line shaping. Some of the holes are very, very tight, like a skinny wooded hyzer on #6, tight gaps off the tee on #7 and #9, a bunch of trees to get around either way on #12, and a gap directly off of #15. Accuracy very important on these holes. Lots of other holes have more scattered trees, very few holes are open overall. Hyzers, annys, low ceilings, some holes that encourage a dogleg hole shape, plenty of chances to have a drive knocked down.
- Some hazardous areas present as well, like a creek/ditch with trees to go over on #14 and #16. Also some well protected pin positions due to placement near big trees or patches of jail. These are places you don't want to end up.
- Lots of length here, there are two holes over 400', two over 500', and one more at 645'. Bring those drivers!!! Also four shorties under 250', with technical lines. But, luckily, there are long holes that have tighter lines to keep things interesting.
- Nice concrete pads, good baskets. Tee signs are good but some are missing. Definitely want to look at the map ahead of time, if not bring one along somehow.

Cons:

- Land here is pretty much as flat as it gets, start to finish. Maybe a few holes have some sort of slope, but it's negligible.
- Crossing the road after #4, and again after #8, is a little annoying. Layout is kind of jacked up in other places, like #12's pin located right by #10's pad.

Other Thoughts:

- Typical park style course that has a nice bonus of some very long holes, as well as some very technical ones. A nice combination of length and accuracy needed, with some hazardous areas to avoid. Not too shabby!
- Course might be a touch too hard for beginners; potential for frustration is definitely there. Best suited for intermediate/expert players.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
Filipeeno
Experience: 21.8 years 31 played 12 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Evolving course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 13, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

You get to let it rip on most holes. Usually well maintained.

Cons:

Your arm will get tired on this course from big arming shot at after shot. Seems like the course changes every time I play it. Gets boring to play with not much variety.

Other Thoughts:

I don't play this course much because of the distance from my house and the lack of variety to the course overall. But I will say if you're in Tulsa, it's worth playing.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
BigGAC1
Experience: 14.5 years 39 played 29 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Haikey Creek 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 5, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Well groomed challenging course with multiple pin placements on several holes. If you have a big arm it will work to your advantage on this course. But several of the holes are shorter more technical shots in some pretty dense trees. You pretty much can't lose your disc on this course.

Cons:

A couple of the holes have the shorter tee pads - not really a big deal for most people. This course doesn't drain well in some places. No elevation change. No water obstacles. Some of the pars are kind of odd - I just play them as threes anyway.

Other Thoughts:

This is a pretty well designed course. It probably doesn't cater to beginner players as it is a long course for the most part.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
RJDunkman
Experience: 5 played 5 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Fun and reasonably challenging course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 28, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Good variety of holes with some longer holes, including some that aren't wide open and require some precision, a few holes with dense trees that require a decent hyzer shot, and some other shorter ones that require a lot of precision.

This course is playable by people of all skill levels. There are several shots that require enough precision to keep skilled players interested, and enough more open areas for less experienced players.

It's pretty hard to lose a disc out there unless you throw a really errant shot out of bounds.

Not much pedestrian traffic on the course as the rest of the recreation area is a decent distance away.

Cons:

Some of the tee pad signs are missing and it's there are a couple spots where several holes converge or you have to cross a road so it's a little confusing where the next tee box is. I would have had to wander a few times if not for having the aerial map available on my phone.

No elevation change and no water that really comes into play or other obstacles except trees. A creek does wind through the park but does not impact many, if any, shots.

Some of the par rankings are odd. Neither par 5 should be more than a 4, and a couple of the par 4s should be 3, but you can adjust your score as you see fit.

Other Thoughts:

This is a fun course that is playable for anyone and still challenging enough to keep skilled players interested. I will definitely go back again when I'm in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
B_Rad_79
Experience: 12.5 years 6 played 4 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great diversity!!! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 21, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course had a wide range of holes. A couple holes were pretty long (around 600ft) while most were around the 400 ft range. Some of the holes were open with few trees while some of them had many trees on the fairway. A really nice mix of challenging shots. This is a really beautiful park, not a lot of pedestrians to watch out for because the playground equipment is quite a ways from the course.

Cons:

Some of the signs were faded and somewhat difficult to follow. I couldn't find one of the holes but a local showed me where it was. This may have been my own error in reading the sign.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
mike ewladt
Experience: 2 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

good all around course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 1, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

has a good mix of trees,long open shots and birdable holes,not many places to loose a disc since they remade a few holes

Cons:

missing basket at 15,a few holes have pretty long walks to next tee,you doo get a few holes that are close to the treatment plant so the smell can be unpleasant at times
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
KYJohnson88
Experience: 18 years 10 played 1 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Great, Well Maintained 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 20, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Very well maintained park, about half the holes are heavily wooded which is beautiful in the summer and fall

Cons:

No elevation changes at all; signs at the tee pads would be nice, lots of pedestrians walking the park as well

Other Thoughts:

I rated this 3.5 because the abscence of any elevation. This is a great park though as you'll see people walking their dogs or having cookouts so you might encounter some pedestrian interference. I like this course cause it presents a challenge with about half of the holes are heavily wooded.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
Janbobbo
Experience: 22.7 years 18 played 7 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 16, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Located in a nice park with a bunch of big trees. The design of the course is well thought out and gives you a good and fair challenge on each hole. The course was well maintained and the tees were in good shape.

Cons:

The course lacks elevation changes and although the holes are well designed, the park just not exciting enough to offer any signature holes that you will remember for a long time.

Other Thoughts:

I participated in Haikey Creek Classic 2010 and while I'm not sure which 12 holes are part of the original course or if infact there are 18 playable holes during all time we played 24 holes so my review is based on that. This course deserves the 3.5 considering it's so well thought out and designed on a piece of land which is not ideal for a top quality disc golf course. With that in mind I don't see so much potential in improving the course that much.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Hamilton
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.9 years 55 played 48 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Nice, well-kept park 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 15, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

Many concrete tee pads (but not all), plenty of length and in great shape. Mach baskets in pretty good condition. Tee signs are mostly there, but I was told by a local that the course had some holes removed, and now was back up to 18. It was apparent that many of the holes had been recently rearranged. Even so, it was not hard to navigate, other than knowing that after hole 4, you have to cross the street for 5-7, than back across for 8-18.

The grounds appear well-maintained and recently mown, although curiously a large patch of 2's fairway seemed have been just "left" uncut in the most recent mowing. I noticed a couple other spots that were conspicuously un-mowed, looking like they just missed it.

As stated in another review, the pictures made me believe that the course was more heavily treed than it was. There are quite a few big trees (which pose as obstacles on many holes), but overall it is pretty open.

My memorable holes:
8 - Shortest hole on the course, so you'd think it's simple, right? You'd be wrong though, there is a wall of trees standing between you and the basket, with very few holes with which to thread the needle.
9 - Tunnel shot off the tee, then it just keeps going and going, over 500 feet to a basket out in the open. It takes a near perfect shot off the tee just to have an open upshot to the basket!
13 - Sweet, well-defined, right curving fairway lined with tall trees, perfect for a gentle RHBH flex shot. Basket is just shy of some thick shule on the bank of Haikey Creek, so don't overthrow your upshot.
14 - Long carry off the tee over open field toward a stand of trees. What you can't tell from the tee though is that the basket is not actually just "among" the trees, the trees line a small stream and the basket is on the other side. One of the few holes I've see where you can clearly see the basket, but I don't think ANYONE will ever ace it.
17 - Longest hole on the course at over 600 feet. Throw over a lot of open ground before approaching a basket surrounded on all side by a number of large trees with low-hanging branches.

Cons:

Like most of the other courses I've played in Tulsa, Haikey also suffers from a lack of formidable terrain. Pretty much trees and some small streams are all you have to deal with, and it's almost perfectly flat.

The "added" holes across the road appear to be just that, "extra" holes that were just thrown in. Also, on all of the relocated holes, there is just a worn spot where people have been throwing from, just in front of the signs. Those tee boxes are not marked at all, which will work short term, as I assume they will eventually get concrete pads like the other holes.

Tee signs look somewhat thrown together, as I assume just about every basket was moved in the shuffle, and only white duct tape with marker writing denotes the new distance and hole name. At least the distances seem pretty accurate.

Other Thoughts:

My rating of a 3 could be improved to a 3.5 if they tee signs would be re-done and the missing concrete tees installed. This course just didn't have a lot of real estate to deal with, but for the most part uses what obstacles are there to its advantage and creates a real challenge to a clear line on most holes.

I see in another review that the address may be off, but I used the GPS coordinates and they were spot-on. I also could not find any kind of map or hole layout, obviously since many of the holes were rearranged that might not yet have been created. That being said, course navigation was still not a problem.

This course is just minutes off the highway, and is most definitely worth the time to play if you are in the vicinity.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
DGtourist
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 20.8 years 188 played 103 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Memorable Century Mark 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 17, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

Nice and shady. In a well maintained park. The holes have honest length. There is a local route in the back part of the course that add in the missing holes. I did not take the time to learn it, but judging from the crowds I encountered, it should not be hard to recruit somebody who will show it to you. Parking is very close to the first tee. The tee pads are paved and there are signs. The best holes were the southern ones that found the narrow alleys of trees. My experience was pleasant and I found it to be recharging before I headed out to the next course. There are some water and out of bounds hazards that make play more fun. I don't know if this is common but the temperature was slightly cooler than in Tulsa when I played there.

Cons:

From what I understand, the most interesting holes on the original course are now dead. There were some large soaking wide puddles in the grass along a few of the holes in the fairways as a result of poor drainage. Twelve is somewhat of a strange number of holes. You have to be careful driving into the park because the course crosses the street on the parks main drive right at the turn from the main road. The few pictures on this site made me believe that the course has more trees than it really does, the tree density is actually more like that of a normal park course. The description says "championship caliber" I'd say that is a tad bit hyperbole. For example, I don't remember any benches, and most of the holes were wide open.

Other Thoughts:

I had a local guide, so my mostly positive experience should be discounted some because I got the privilege to play with a kid who had played five consecutive rounds before he paired up with me. As a result of that I got to learn some great routs to the basket. I will never forget this course because it was the 100th course I bagged.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
Marshall M
Experience: 15.4 years 185 played 4 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Haikey Creek Park 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 21, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

Well maintained mature park.
Good, pads, signs, layout.
Good mix of short and long holes.

Cons:

Only 12 holes. I talked to some locals and they said after an ice storm hit Tulsa some time back, the city closed off the other holes that go through the trees down by the creek (awesome looking area).

Other Thoughts:

I put the Haikey creek park address in my gps and it took me to a ball field park just north of the course. If you go by the address keep going South and you cant miss the course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
safetyman42
Experience: 15.2 years 15 played 3 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Relaxing challenge 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 18, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

Concrete Tee Pads, Great variety of holes, great shade for the most part, amazing signs

Cons:

Can be muddy, lots of other activities going on around you, the road that runs right along holes 1 through 11

Other Thoughts:

Really fun course and not bad for beginners until the later holes in the course
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 1
gravedigger
Experience: 15.7 years 55 played 40 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Good Challenge 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 22, 2008 Played the course:never

Pros:

Concrete tee pads. Challenging shots required. Great signs.

Cons:

Can be crowded, stays wet for a while. Things get real muddy at one point. Poison ivy is an issue time to time.

Other Thoughts:

Has a mammoth of a creek that I would recommend staying clearly away from.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top