St. Paul (White Bear Lake), MN

Lakewood Hills

Permanent course
3.895(based on 46 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Lakewood Hills reviews

Filter
14 0
Surge5
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 9.6 years 165 played 163 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Wow 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 8, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

There is no real "low point" of this course. It could be hole 11, but even that is a semi-tough tee shot. You've got thick woods, you've got elevation change, you've got right-to-left, left-to-right, ace runs, very legit two-shot holes... just amazing.

Navigation is excellent! The ones that are harder to find have "next tee" signs behind the basket. and where the paths to 6 and 9 cross the signs note which one is which way.

2-8 and 17-18 are amazing with their elevation (17 and 18 are absolutely iconic holes you'll never forget playing).

9-10 and 12-16 are incredible wooded holes. Not a ton of chance at losing a disc but still tend toward the tough side.

Most holes have multiple tees, opening up this course to more players.

Cons:

The distance variance isn't very much... except for the three 600'+ holes. It is good to have those holes, and the green on 10 is superb. However, when everything else is under 400' these monster two-shot holes feel out of place. I know you could play the short pads on these holes but... come on, really?

Hole 1 is a water bomber that you have to nail or finish left on, otherwise your disc is with the fish. I was lucky to finish left but if your disc flips up and you don't have the power to hit 275' yet, say goodbye. But apart from 1 the water is inoffensive.

Hole 18 does have a walking path behind the basket, and it's close enough that you could wipe someone out with a gliding mid-range shot.

Other Thoughts:

Lakewood Hills had my number on my visit, but on a good day par isn't out of the question. There are several birdie opportunities, and some tough pars (8, 10, 16). The wooded holes present some holes with choices and some where you've got to nail your line. Combine this with some iconic open holes and you have one of the best free-to-play courses in the twin cities!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 0
primedisc
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 11.8 years 33 played 20 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Park Disc Golf at its Best 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 27, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

- This course has everything: Forehand/backhand mix, true wooded technical holes, open holes, elevation changes, water hazards, shorter holes, longer holes, mandos... it's pretty much got it all.
- Approachable for all levels but definitely will challenge you. There's a few true par 4s on this course and the birdies won't come easy but it will be fun.
- Nice concrete teepads and mulched circles at every basket which I really like.
- Navigation was flawless, signage pointing you to the next hole
- Teesigns were good, show basket locations and distance.
- Multiple teepads at every hole helps appeal to all levels, especially if you don't want to risk a disc on hole 1 for example, or can't quite bomb it 550 ft through the woods like on hole 10.
- The layout/use of space is phenomenal - you'll think this is a disc only park for the fist 16 holes or so, but it isn't. That's how little it interferes with the rest of the park.
- It's free

Cons:

The cons are comparatively minor but:
- I noticed some trash on the course despite there being a decent amount of trashcans on the course.
- Graffiti on the teesigns and benches
- A few nasty spots to lose a disc - the water hazards are really more nasty swamp water that I would not wade into over a disc. This is mitigated by the short teepads which usually allow you to avoid the risk if you wish.
- Can be buggy on the woods holes in the summer but hard to fault the course for that.
- Can be crowded and may include instances of white dudes blaring Post Malone on a portable speaker :p

Other Thoughts:

Someone who's played many courses throughout the country told me prior to my playing this course that it was, in his opinion, one of the best mixed use public park disc golf courses in the country. In my more limited experience, it's hard to disagree with that assessment. It's kind of insane that this is a free course and honestly I would be willing to pay to ensure it stays maintained and clean up the few (minor) cons listed above. It would be a real shame if this course was ever allowed to slip into disrepair. It truly had a mix of everything you would want on a disc golf course. Hole 1 starts out with a bang and it never slows down. Some absolutely gorgeous holes mixed in, but none that felt gimmicky. I listed several cons, but honestly they are pretty minor. I pondered a 4.0 grade based on the number of cons I listed, but honestly the fun factor made me stay at 4.5. Basically anything better and you're looking at destination courses and dedicated disc golf complexes. The fact that this is a free, mixed use public park is pretty amazing. I will absolutely be back.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
Breh
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.8 years 191 played 189 reviews
4.50 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 25, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

Amazing free course that offers a lot of cool shots. Hole 1 is a 300 foot around 275 iconic shot over the water with a nice bridge taking you through the water fairway. Long and short tee pads on almost every hole. Great tee signs showing you distance and the basket placement. Nice baskets and bark chip greens wish every course had nice landing areas by basket. Good mix of forehand/backhand shots. Good elevation change hole 18 is a great downhill shot after playing uphill on 17. Overall fun course for all with begginers using the short pads they can still have a good time

Cons:

Bugs our pretty bad but I feel that's almost any course you play in the summertime in Minnesota. Chance at losing disc in the lake or woods is a high possibility if not paying close attention

Other Thoughts:

I actually really enjoyed this course and found it better than most pay to plays in Minnesota. It's pretty well upkept and worth the play
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 8
mmcfly101
Experience: 17 played 16 reviews
5.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 24, 2018 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Beautiful course located in the woods around a park. Cement tees, well kept, landscaped.
The course layout is excellent with a wide variety of shots.

Cons:

I really can't think of anything I didn't like about this course. It was very busy one of the times I played, probably because the course rocks!

Other Thoughts:

My new favorite course in the Twin cities area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 4
Flanakookn
Experience: 7.7 years 17 played 11 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Why do you vex me so? 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 16, 2017 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Multi-tee per hole (most). Tee boxes and pins in good condition.

Some very fun shots

Technical holes plus some grip and rip holes.

Cons:

Deep woods on half the course.

If you're off the fairway you're going to spend some time looking for your disc in the long grass and big trees.

I personally have lost more discs here that any other course.

Watch out for the unlabeled bog/pond at the bottom of the hill of to the left on hole #12

Other Thoughts:

Definitely not a course for newbies, some holes are a bit long. I personally have never "pared" this course...not that I'm a great player, it's just a more difficult course (at least for me)
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 3
dohmenator
Experience: 13.9 years 23 played 7 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Incredible for a Free-18 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 20, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Free 18 holes, need I say more?
- TONS of variety shots (Luxury of having 18)
- Very well kept
- Concrete tee pads
- Quite a bit of elevation play

Cons:

- Quite busy
- Pretty buggy

Other Thoughts:

Really nothing that bad about this course. Super well done. I will absolutely be coming back regularly.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 3
Bitter Mouse
Experience: 28.8 years 92 played 14 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Fun free course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 19, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

One of the best free courses I have played. A good variety of holes, elevation and a bit of water, combined with long, short and medium holes.

Some challenging holes and a few ace opportunities.

Cons:

The course is not super compact and doesn't flow quite as well as great courses do, with a couple holes requiring a fair walk to go from basket to the next pad.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
C.M.L.J.
Experience: 5 played 3 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Very Fun Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 21, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-This Course has a great design and it's very fun to play at.
-Great Wooded area and Open field tees it also has a uphill tee that are at 17 and 18.
- Benchs and garbage cans around almost every tee.
- 3 Par fours
- well maintained course

Cons:

- Can get crowded in the summer.
- High school track team run on the course some times.
- Can get very muddy.
- hole 1 can be a pretty bad water hazard after rainfall.

Other Thoughts:

It's a great free course I would put it on the top 10 in Minnesota.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
mjz22
Experience: 18.8 years 9 played 9 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Championship Course!! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 6, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

FUN!! Challenging with great variety of different approaches, distances, obstacles, and elevations. Excellent course design!!

Cons:

crowded (what else can you expect from an awesome course that's FREE), quite a few golfers on this course could learn some golfing etiquette (taking 3 mulligans at the tee when you have two groups standing right behind you waiting)

Other Thoughts:

I would sure love to try this course again - hopefully it won't be as crowded.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Hazard
Experience: 10.9 years 37 played 12 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 15, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

1. The course area is quite large with a wide variety of holes, from open field holes, to holes in the woods along with different levels of elevation.
2. Long concrete tee pads. Long and short available on most holes.
3. Baskets are in good shape.
4. Relatively easy to find your way from hole to hole.
5. Course is maintained well.
6. Lots of parking.
7. Tee signs that show you the lay out of the hole are pretty accurate.
8. Trash cans and benches at most holes.
9. Close to the Twin Cities.

Cons:

1. Course is usually busy on nice days.
2. During the summer they have lots of baseball games there, so parking on those days might be difficult.
3. During the summer and fall there is a lot of foliage off the fair way, so it may be hard to find your disks if you have a bad throw.

Other Thoughts:

Overall this is a great course for Intermediary players. The mixture of open fairways, the woods and changes in elevation makes you have to think about the throws you make. If you are in the twin cities and are looking for a course to play, this wouldn't be a bad one to hit. Hole #18 has you throwing from atop a large hill to a basket down below, which is a great way to end such a great course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
Stardoggy
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 12.6 years 1002 played 214 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Extremely fun and challenging course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 12, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

18 hole course in a multi use park in St. Paul.

Discraft Chainstar baskets, all in good repair, and caught well. No issues here. One pin position per hole.

Concrete tee pads on every hole. Two tees per hole (on most holes). Some were showing some wear, but they were generally long and grippy, and played well.

Lots of up and down here. Not severe elevation, but enough to make you change up shots. Ends with a really nice ski hill type Top Of The World shot.

Lots of nice signage, and tons of "Next Tee" type signs made navigation here extremely easy.

Wonderful diversity of shots here. I don't often use the phrase in reviews, but you definitely have the opportunity to "use every disc in your bag" here. From short, technical 200' holes, up to long 500' legit par 4's...and everything in between. Even the open holes tended to have some sort of challenge. An excellent job was done to avoid repetitive holes, as well.

Free to play! With so many great P2P courses in the area, it's a bit surprising this is free, at least for now. Plenty of parking, as well...and brick and mortar bathrooms to boot.

Cons:

No water. Not a biggie, IMO, but worth mentioning.

Only one pin position per hole isn't great, and there seemed to be options, for at least a large amount of the holes.

As mentioned above, some of the tee pads could use some cleanup.

Other Thoughts:

Based on some of the standalone features, this course would usually rate a 4.0 by my standards...but sometimes you walk away from a course with a giant smile on your face, and it just feels good. Lakewood was that sort of place for me. As an Int player that throws around 350-370', I had an absolute blast here. From what we were told, they've done a ton of work here (see: long wooden bridge on hole 1), and it shows.

This was definitely the biggest surprise of our weekend in the Twin Cities, and if I get back, I'm definitely playing it again. Don't let the current rating fool you...this is a gem.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
Rotala
Experience: 12.8 years 33 played 5 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Excellent course. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 27, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

Consistent teepads. My first time playing the course was met with excellent signage for hole information and where the next tee box is located.

The difference from the front 9 to the back 9 is amazing. Open shots on the front and tree punishment on the back 9.

Elevation changes were nice to see compared to flat courses.

Cons:

Trash in some areas, but typical of a free to play course.

Other Thoughts:

A lot of people playing today, which is nice to see.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
joelwpg
Experience: 14.9 years 92 played 21 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Winter Review 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 17, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-This review was based on 2 winter rounds so the first pro i will list is shoveled tees! I play a lot in the winter and have huge respect for those who shovel tees at their local courses!
-Very easy to find with just a quick read of the directions on this site.
-Great course map, both on site and online.
-Long and short tees on every hole.
-Nice tee pads, great baskets.
-Beautiful course design! One of the best "balanced" courses i have ever played. *It does not favor Lefty's or Righty's. I found myself using forehand and backhand equally. .*Great pin placements meant even most approaches seem to have both options. *About half the holes were more open and half more technical through the woods.*A good mix of longer and shorter holes, and excellent use of elevation.
-Even under a layer of snow it was easy to see the level of landscaping that had gone into this course. Very impressive for a non pay-to-play.

Cons:

-Not much in the con department from what i saw.
-I had come map in hand due to previous reviews mentioning this course could be hard to follow. I can say that those reviews must be a little old or i was just lucky to come play after they had installed a great network of "Next Tee" signs. Navigation was easy.
-Hole 17 could be a challenge in the winter, it being a nicely polished toboggan hill. Besides potential tobogganing traffic...just hope your drive or approach shots don't flip upside down and slowly slide ALL the way down the hill. (like mine did :p)

Other Thoughts:

This course was very challenging yet still very inviting. It will challenge even the best of players, and with the short tee option, shouldn't intimidate newer or intermediate ones. It was such a beautiful course that i would happily spend entire days here if i lived in the area. Maybe the best non p-t-p course i have played but will reserve that judgement until i come back in the summer. :)
**For now i would say the locals here are lucky, and this is a great place to get your fix or keep up your skills during the winter!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
Blaaaake77
Experience: 12.9 years 47 played 15 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 18, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

- A free 18 hole course what more can ya really ask for?
- This course is well maintained, grass in the rough is about knee high which made it a pain to find a few discs off some bad drives. (My fault obviously)
- Lots of elevation changes, some great landscaping all along the course was great to see.
- Wasn't very crowded today, a good amount of groups were both in front and behind me but I didn't have to wait very long to tee off when I caught up to the group in front of me, which was nice to get a quick 18 in after work.
- Some of the best tee pads I have seen for a free course, extra padding around the pads for your follow through.
- Some very challenging holes, at least for me on this course which made it fun to play on!
- Front 9 were on rolling hills and nice and open to soak up the sun before you head to the back 9 that run through the woods.
- A few nice ace runs throughout the back 9, came close to nailing 2 of them, but took a birdie instead!
- Huge skatepark at this park as well, for those of you who skate, it looked pretty flooded today, so I am not sure if they really manage the skatepark as much!
- Very easy to find right off 694 and White Bear Ave.

Cons:

- If your going to play this course, make sure you bring bug spray, once I hit hole 3 it started to get buggy and didn't let up whatsoever, once I got to the back 9 it was miserable, bugs all over the place, hard to focus on your shot when your ankles are getting bit up left and right
- Very confusing layout if it's your first time out, I got lost after hole 3 and couldn't find hole 4 till I ran into someone coming to play hole 2, needed to ask where the hell is hole 4?
- Was a little flooded on some holes that don't always have water, but we have had a good amount of rain the past few weeks.
- A lot of walking paths cut right through the fairways, which was a pain had a ton of walkers that I needed to wait on to get through so I could throw.

Other Thoughts:

- Some signage directing you to the next hole would be nice besides just on the tee pads of previous holes, quite confusing layout.
- Fairways were nicely cut at normal grass length, but edges were rough, maybe spend a little extra time and cut those down a bit, can be a pain looking for a disc in that, with all the blind holes!
- Other than that I couldn't complain to much, hopefully I will get back out there for the league they have every Sunday!
- I will defiantly play this course again and again, just a little bit of a drive for me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
krupicmd
Experience: 5 played 5 reviews
4.00 star(s)

A great city course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 20, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

I started playing this course when it was a 12 hole course. More holes were put in to make this a full 18 hole course and improvements are still continuing to be made on this course- very nice to see.

The course itself has a good mix of long, challenging holes, some shorter technical holes, and a couple ace runs- still tough to get- #12 and #14 (other holes can be aced, but these two are the easiest to). The course is mixed with about half of the holes tighter and in the woods, and the other half more open. There are 3 legit par 4s (#7, #8, #10)- even pros can't get in putting range from the 1st shot. Water comes into play on holes #1 and #12 and (pending the amount of recent precipitation) #10.

The course does not favor a forehand thrower or backhand thrower- if you have both shots, you will use them equally. A few holes have varying relief- mainly #18 and #17.

There are a couple bomber holes on this course- 400+ ft holes that are fairly open, but placement is still important for your approach shot. The course is unique, and there are still holes I haven't figured out after playing the course 20+ times.

Signature Hole- #18 -big downhill shot from atop a mound- 325 ft- perfect finishing hole

Tee pads- nice big tee pads, with padding off the tee pad for your follow through- I haven't seen this on any other course. It's nice.

Great maintenance and work put into the course- I wish all courses were similar in this regard. And this isn't even a pay-to-play course.

Landscaping- Rock landscaping around some of the pins and tee pads- woodchips on most greens with a 10 m circle cut around the pins on the holes- also a huge plus.

Cons:

Views aren't the best- looking onto baseball diamonds and parking lots- what do you expect from a city course though?

Crowds- The course can get crowded- its biggest Con.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
ajkuck
Experience: 16.8 years 55 played 31 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Up and Coming Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 6, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This is one of my new favorite courses. Many of the tee pads are brand new and they are starting to put in erosion control and wood chips around the greens, which is nice to see. The front 9 offers a variety of relatively open holes, while the back 9 consists of mainly open holes in the woods. The back 9 is definitely more technical and requires some accurate drives. There is also water on several holes and constant elevation changes throughout the whole course, which add even more technicality to the course. There are plenty of birdie opportunities on this course as well.

Cons:

The course is quite busy and some of the holes are a little tight together, especially on the first several holes, which can lead to a log jam as people have to wait for others to throw on separate holes.

Other Thoughts:

I couldn't believe when I went back and played this course this summer. Considering that it is not pay to play, the course is in awesome condition and appears to be continually improving. I can't imagine how awesome this course would be if it was pay to play, it would also hopefully keep some of the crowd off of the course. Lakewood Hills is an awesome course with some cool features and a lot of variety when it comes to hole selection and layout. Overall, this makes for a very interesting, fun round and it's really not all that difficult, so you can definitely have some low scores while playing here.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
notapro
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.6 years 568 played 281 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Beginner/Intermediate 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 24, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Course is set in a pretty crowded city park, there is a pavilion at the start, a walking path by a few holes, some baseball fields, so there might be some spilloff onto the DG course. Shouldn't be major interference, but it's possible.
- Back half of the course is set in a wooded section of the park, which have some of the more interesting holes. The highlight is #10, a tight multi-shot hole with two hyzer routes off the tee, around trees on the left. It is important to finish left here, as the next shot has lots of trees on the right side to get around. Some water on the right halfway as well. Tough hole. A bunch of other holes need good accuracy, like a RHBH anny on #9, a RHFH flex line on #13, a hyzer around some water on #12, and some very straight shots on #14 and #15. #16 is another tougher hole, a valley shot through a gap that ends out of the woods.
- Most other holes are out in the open, with trees here and there to make things tough. The tricky holes also use dense rough to force lines, like a dogleg right on #6, and a much longer and tougher 557' dogleg right on #7. #8 is another bomber, a slight uphill hyzer off the tee, with a downhill valley finish around a huge tree. Some other cool shots like a blind hyzer on #2 and a blind anny on #4.
- Some healthy elevation changes on a few holes, like a downhill shot on #11 with a blocked RHBH hyzer line, a steep shot up a hill on #17, and the corresponding downhill bomber on #18. Good stuff. Some gentler ones are present in many other spots; like valley shots on #1, #5, #10 and #16. Downhill slopes on #2, #11, #12, #15, and uphill on #3, #6, #9, #13, and #14. A constant feature of the course, which definitely keeps it interesting.
- Decent amount of hazards here, with water present on #1, #10, and #12, that are all in play and definitely dangerous. Thick rough out in the open and some jail in the woods to get into, and also a few tricky basket placements like the pin on top of the hill on #17.
- Nice signs, good teepads, good baskets. Everything in good shape overall. Navigation can be a little tricky in spots, like #3 to #4, and #8 to #9. Nothing too bad, but the map helps out.

Cons:

- One of the biggest cons is a crammed layout by some holes. #2 and #3 almost share a fairway; since #2 is downhill it is very easy to shank shots right, directly in the business of anyone on #3. #5 also feels a little busy, between #2 and #8.
- Half of the holes here are pretty wide open, with maybe one or two trees to worry about. The elevation changes help out a lot to keep things interesting, but they're still just grip and rip shots.

Other Thoughts:

- All in all, a pretty fun course that has a nice balance of wooded and open shots. Constant elevation changes in and out of the woods, and both long and short holes in each as well. A pretty good variety of lines, righty and lefty, with some tough doglegs and multi-shot holes. Definitely plays on the easier side, even with some tougher holes mixed in, very well suited to beginners or intermediate players. Worth checking out at least once, for any skill level.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
bigbeano
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 17.8 years 34 played 28 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Very impressive! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 14, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Very nice mix of open and wooded with a natural progression from open to wooded as the round goes on
-Nice, long concrete tee pads
-Garbage cans & benches at nearly every hole
-Dual tees on most holes
-Good signage that includes the shot shaping required, par, distance, and direction to next hole
-Fairly good erosion control throughout with wood chipping (some holes in the woods could probably use more though)

Cons:

-No convenient bathrooms on the course
-Because it's good (and free) the course can be quite busy
-There are ponds on two holes, but it requires a pretty lousy shot for them to come into play, this is a little bit of a missed opportunity
-It's not too hard to find your way, but there is a little bit of a walk in between several of the holes

Other Thoughts:

First off, I was quite impressed with this course as a whole. It is a very well taken care of course. These are some of the best tee pads I've ever played on, Blue Ribbon Pines included. There is a decent amount of wood chipping for erosion control throughout. The course was surprisingly clean, as busy free courses tend to have a lot of riff-raff at them and consequently more litter... that was not the case here. There are garbage cans & benches at nearly every hole which I would assume help greatly with littering.

The course flows from mostly open field holes with a few obstacles to some rather tight wooded holes starting around hole 9. The course also ends with two more open holes. There is a nice variety of shot shaping required as well as a lot of elevation changes throughout. There are no extreme elevation changes here, but plenty of variety. There is also a decent mix of distance throughout the course as the shortest is somewhere around 165' and the longest is darn close to 600'.

The City of White Bear Lake has put a good amount of effort into this course and it shows. It is easily one of the best, if not the best, free course I have been to in the Metro area. I don't have a lot of courses left to visit in the area, so I'm comfortable in saying that this is one of my favorites in the area. This course is worth a visit and is a good destination course during a day of disc golfing. I didn't need a map the first time, but it may be beneficial to print one off if you don't have the chance to follow a group playing in front of you as I did. I will definitely come back to this course even though it is 30 miles away for me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
joshyjosh00
Experience: 2 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Really nice course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 30, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

I havent played in about 15 years and I found this course quite challenging and really fun. I only played at acorn which totally changed for the bad but thats a different review. This placed was packed today people lining up at the first tee but then that was also the problem. Really good selection of holes and different shot selections. i was really impressed on how nice the people i ran into where.

Cons:

I mentioned the long wait at the first tee. I am a avid ball golfer and one nice thing about the more expensive courses are the players and their care towards the course. I ran into a lot of teens just hanging out being more in the way than anything else They were also just combing the lakes for free disc. I had a really hard time finding hole 10 and finding myself out near the apt building. Hole 17 is a weird and difficult shot but leads you up to a great view with 18. MAPS MAPS MAPS I wish there were maps. I realize that cost money but donations could be awesome or a concession stand. Watch your step when your in the woods. I stumbled on about 20 sawed off stumps. Could be some nasty falls.

Other Thoughts:

If nothing maybe put a kiosk out there so we can donate money to the upkeep and improvement on these courses. Or even donate material to the sign making or we can keep spray painting hole numbers. Overall...I would definitely come back. The tees are really beautiful with gravel and raised concrete. Great job white bear lake
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
mashnut
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22 years 831 played 767 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Good holes, hard to follow 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 3, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course plays through a large park with some park style areas and some wooded areas. The wooded holes offer some tight technical lines to hit, and enough trees and underbrush to make you work to recover from an errant shot. The park style holes offer wider grassy fairways with enough mature trees to make you think about shot placement, and occasional bushes or thick rough to contend with. There is some elevation, and it's used well to add some fun and challenge. The final hole down the hill is a lot of fun, and it's always nice to end the round on an empty your bag type hole.

There is good length variety, with some reachable shots and a few par 4 holes along with some other nice long par 3s that let you air it out a little more. Though there isn't a ton of hole shape variety, at least this course is unbalanced toward right turning holes unlike many courses. The concrete tees are nice and big, and the erosion control around the pads is an excellent solution for high traffic courses.

Cons:

The signage is nonexistent, and the flow of the course isn't obvious at all. That makes it frustrating for first time players who will have to wander a bit to find all the holes, especially with a recent addition of 4 holes. It also means that on the handful of blind holes you'll have to scout ahead to figure out the length and shape of the fairway. There are a lot of right turning shots, and not a whole lot of left turning ones to balance it out and test a variety of line shaping skills. I'm not a fan of long grass rough that adds frustration and not challenge, and there are some areas of the course where the fairways are lined with it.

Other Thoughts:

Beginners will find this course pretty challenging, with some legitimate par 4s and several other longer holes as well as some tight wooded shots that could be frustrating for less accurate throwers. More experienced players will find some really nice tests here, but the layout and navigation combined with some nasty disc eating long grass and rough could provide frustration at times for that set of players as well.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top