Three Rivers, MI

Meyer Broadway Park - North

Permanent course
3.795(based on 19 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Meyer Broadway Park - North reviews

Filter
10 0
1-UP
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 56 played 20 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great Course Complex - Well Worth the Drive 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 23, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

I'm going to apologize in advance if I mix up the North and South courses. They hit a lot of the same notes and the differences really come down to specific holes which, after playing longs on both, kind of merge together in this tired but satisfied body.

Meyer Broadway is a multi-purpose park that is absolutely expansive. I believe the kiosk mentioned it clocking in somewhere around 160ish acres. There is a playground, dog park, bathrooms, and miles and miles of hiking and biking trails. Apparently there is also a tubing hill, though we were quite out of season for snow when we visited. It's a nice park and it's clearly both well maintained and popular. I would say there's ample parking as it was very comfortable to find a spot even with the weekend park traffic.

The North course is a bit deeper into the park than the South and signs make it clear how to get there. Signage is excellent for both the park and the course. Colorful, accurate signs with distance, landmarks, basket locations, and next tee directions are present for every hole. Wooden signs near the baskets do a nice job directing you to the next tee, including arrow directions for long and shorts when appropriate. This was nice as there were sometimes multiple trails running through an area.

Terrain is varied. The course runs through meadow and forest along undulating terrain. I wouldn't say there were any mountains present, but you'll get your fill of throwing up and down and across. The designers did a nice job with mixing and pacing. Most of the holes are aesthetically appealing and there is never a feeling of "been there, done that" even if you elect to play both courses.

Longs and shorts are both cement tees in nice condition. I suppose there *could* be some missing cement from some of the shorts but I never saw any dirt or rubber - just never looked for all the shorts either. It looked like the shorts play differently from the longs with lines and views instead of simply distance.

Longs are challenging, but Udisc pars are fairly generous with most holes that are 400'+ being marked a par 4. Right, wrong, or indifferent, I like when the ethereal disc golf powers that be tell me "It's ok buddy, we know you're going to need the extra throw." You can certainly get 3's on them with decent throwing but 2's were quite beyond my capability for the longer holes. Some of the shorts and longs were identical however and a handful of holes were short enough to make even an ace quite viable.

Course mostly plays like a nature preserve, though occasionally (rarely) you'll play near a road or house. Makes for a nice walk/hike through the woods.

I really enjoyed my round here!

Cons:

Not many, to be honest. A lot of smart design decisions went into the course and a lot of effort was expended to manifest them into reality.

There's a small but dubious looking water hazard on...#7? It's clearly marked on the sign, but it definitely has a bit of a feel of being designed specifically to eat discs. The erosion control beams, slope, and guardian trees really give the impression of WANTING to slap your disc into the water. Is it retrievable? I have no idea. Lots of logs and branches in the water would imply it's not terribly deep, but the skim of duckweed across the entire surface meant the pond was going to keep its secrets. There were no rakes present I could see. It's certainly fair and there's lots of courses with water dead putts, but a border of logs or something around it to stop the slide downs would have been...kind. Should have poked around more to satisfy my curiosity about how "lost" a disc would actually be if it went in, but I just laid up for a 4 instead of running the chains. Not really a con, more of just a thought. I'm curious how it's fed - must be a spring of some sort?

Some benches were present but would have liked to see more during during the 2nd round.

The bike trail was more of a problem than I would have anticipated. We went on a beautiful Sunday and the park was quite busy with bikers. Given that the trail intertwines with the course, we frequently saw them cruising about - looked like a lot of fun to be honest. We also saw another group darn near take out a biker that came around a blind spot with a fairly reasonable throw - poor dude had to do some fancy dipping and diving to dodge it and not dump the bike. Patches O'Houlihan would have been proud. Flip side though, one of our group darn near got taken out searching for a disc near the bike path - turns out those things are pretty quiet. May not be as bad on a weekday, but there were a surprisingly...present...factor during the course of play.

Rough can get fairly rough. Not impassible, but lots of high grass which is a nuisance to search for discs in. We also left a disc behind after getting stung and chased off by Yellow Jackets. Not much of a con, I mean, what are you going to do? It's nature.

Believe me, quibbles are minor. The bike path was probably the most significant, but I'm sure their presence helps justify what's been put into the park.

If you're not a county resident, it's $4 to park or $20 for a season pass. I don't have any problem with this as it's obvious money is being put into the park, but I always appreciate a heads up when researching a course.

Other Thoughts:

I enjoyed my time here quite a bit and would encourage you to take a trip to visit. Both courses are excellent examples of Michigan disc golf and will entertain players with a range of abilities.

Doing both sets of longs was a bit much for me personally and my scores certainly showed it as the day progressed. I think I enjoyed the North course a bit more than the South/Original, but that could very well be because it was the first course we played and I was fresh for it. The North course did seem to flow better than the original, which has several significant walks between holes. The North course was possibly easier, but again, fatigue was taking its toll.

If you can only pick one I don't think you'll make a bad decision any which way. In retrospect I would have played one set of longs and one set of shorts though, but that's just a personal opinion that's based on a life of too many poor decisions regarding chips and beer.

Makes for a good day of disc golfing to hit both courses. I'd figure 2 hours per round if in a group playing from the longs.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
The Valkyrie Kid
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 45.8 years 1563 played 1507 reviews
3.50 star(s)

I Liked the Orginal Just A Bit More. 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 19, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

If I have the correct course, this is called the North Course. It's the one that begins at the back of the park past the picnic shelter. It features most of the same, great amenities that the other course has, great course sign, awesome concrete, grippy tee pads and the same great tee signs in color showing both the Long and Short distances as well as a hole map with the tee placements on it. These signs also don't give a Par. I miss not knowing but then one has to just play everything as a three. And as this was my third course of the day, I took the easy way out and played from the Shorts. One difference is these baskets (whatever brand they are) are old school grey colored and harder to spot in the wooded areas.
And like the Original course, these signs proudly state, "Site of 2008 World Championships." There are garbage cans on each hole but benches are more rare. I would have liked a few more or maybe some comfy couches to nap on.

The Shorts play sometimes more than 200' shorter than the Longs. That makes this a rec course from the Shorts. From those Longs, probably a challenging intermediate level.

Like the Original, this course has an excellent variety of holes, uphills, downhill Ace Runs, technical throws through trees, holes to air it out on, and 18 playing up a tubing hill. I always get childlike excited playing any course with a tubing/sled hill. There was no such hills in my childhood. I'm probably scarred because of that one important missing piece of my early on developmental years.

# 7, although fairly short, did have a basket perched just behind a small but nasty pond with green pond scum water. Probably two headed fish in there, as well. Rakes are available to fish out your wayward throws. Playing my usually, conservative stay out of water game, I overshot the basket by 30 feet, leaving myself with a scary putt with the scummy pond just behind. And I bricked it.

Then 8 is a fun, uphill, hyser throw just 171' with only one tee. A great little safety fence appears to have been recently added. Not only does to protects players from drives coming down the hill from # 7, it also provides a small bench and a couple of bag holders. What no ice water dispenser? My congrats to the carpenter on this project!

Like the Original, plenty of navigational help. Easy to spot next tee signs although even while playing from the Shorts, I always walked first to the Longs. First to check the distances and secondly just to get a look from the Longs.

Cons:

This course, while lovely, couldn't match the beauty of the Original. There is some thick rough to contend with. I spent about 30 minutes searching for my disc on one of shorter holes. I finally found my well buried disc after finding someone else's poor tee shot. The plain grey baskets are difficult to spot at times.

Other Thoughts:

Two excellent courses on the same site, both with two tees, both well marked, both sitting on this wonderful piece of property. Both are green and lovely, even here in mid-August. Both show that thet were well designed orriginally and very well maintained. Do you hear that? Dr. Loveless DGC? And a sledding hill, too! $4 is not bad to play two such, fine courses. Transport these two courses back to Washington state, please.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
sisyphus
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.5 years 397 played 383 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Huge Tracts of Land 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 24, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

Playing here for the first time at the 2015 Am Worlds, the main thing that struck me (while hiking out to begin on hole 10) was that the course designers were given an impressively huge parcel of land on which to build a course, and they must've done a great deal of hiking to find the cool shots and variety they built! The course plays amongst rolling, prairie grass fields for half of its holes, and in amongst the woods for half. Distances from the long tees included two under 200', five under 300', three reaching toward 400', five more in the mid-400's and three more over 500'. There's plenty of distance to challenge all levels of amateur arms. With short tees averaging more than 100' shorter, I sometimes envied the fun Recreational players might have here.

Brand new, large, level concrete tees aim toward top quality DGA Mach 5 baskets, and are accompanied by excellent, detailed signage. For the most part, the flow is logical, and there's next tee signage where needed. An excellent course map awaits at the first tee, near the shelter, playground, and bathrooms. The final hole (a glorious, rolling valley shot) leads you back to the paved path and your return to where you parked.

The constantly changing variety of holes is a major plus for me. Beginning with a bang on hole 1, which requires a strong drive, but retains a few trees to force a line, and finishes with a cool basket position tucked just into the woods. A true par four hole. 2 is a finesse woods deuce opportunity, then 3 emerges like a sunbeam back out into the open. Into the woods at the end of 4, followed by the ace run 5, another deuce chance on 6, then 7 & 8 make a dastardly pair, with a left to right shot and a murky pond barely past the blind pin position, then a right to left to a blind position at the top of the hill. Shorties, but difficult. 9 is woody and has a rollaway 'green'. 11 is a pretty sweeping shot into the woods after the more open 10. 12 plays around and long to the left with two places where your fairway constricts. 13 has a 'window' from the long tee, but really plays down an S-shaped fairway to the pin. 14 presents another ace-deuce run, then 15 & 16 give you open, sunny fields again, with elevations to challenge your shot (especially the slope down beyond 15). 17 is a wooded lane with choices of lines, then you wrap up on the aforementioned valley shot on 18.

In all, an excellent competition level course that should keep players motivated to try new options from the longs and the shorts, and keep coming back for more. When combined with the pride the crew out here displayed during Worlds (I was astonished to see them hustling out before our round to use a leafblower on all the tees), it's clear the Three Rivers disc golf community has a winner in the pair of Meyer Broadway courses.

Cons:

The design of the course is so spread out, it wasn't possible to create a good 'nine-and-nine' loop, so folks going out for a scramble start in tournament play do have to hike a bit. And you will need spotters for the tall grass, as well as bug spray.

I noted (only once or twice, though) that a tee here and there sloped a little with the terrain, rather than having been terraced in. Just my personal preference, but up-sloping tees get in my head too much. Like I said, I only noted it once or twice. Can't recall which ones.

My usual caveat about pay to play: it's $5, and OK by me, but you should know that going in, if you prefer 'free'.

Finally, the signage at the long tee on 13 suggested a straight fairway. It ain't.

Other Thoughts:

Even though I screwed up a batch of shots as I finished my round on 8 & 9, I still enjoyed this course. There were a bunch of holes that were too long for me, but the course balanced those out very nicely with a bunch of deuce opportunities. I'm sure regular players can learn the lines, eliminate bogies on the longer holes, and really score well on a course like this.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
davetherocketguy
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 19.6 years 114 played 105 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Welcome to prairie disc golf hell... 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 9, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Nice baskets. 2 layers of chains is a nice plus.
- Good use of the available terrain. Much like the Original course this one puts to very good use the existing elevation changes. It works the hills to great effect.
- The mix of left and right holes is nicely dispersed throughout the 18 holes.
- The length of holes here vary dramatically with some of the shorter wooded holes very duecable and definitely aceable. After getting beat up on the long open holes this is a nice change.
- Fairways are well defined mowed areas of grass.
- The course is very clean for the most part.

Cons:

- Again, as with the original course navigation is almost nonexistent. Maps and/or playing with someone who is very familiar with the course is critical. There are no tee signs either so trying to figure out where to tee of can be...interesting.
- The tee pads are a freaking disaster. The are uneven ankle twisting pads of dirt sometimes bordered with a piece of lumber.
- Much like the Original course do not play alone so there can be spotters or plan on losing discs - a lot of them. The rough is just brutal and thick here. More of the holes here are in the prairie grass than the Original course.
- There are benches but it just did not seem like enough. Nor did there seem to be much in the line of trash cans.. Then again, as already stated it was pretty clean here so maybe cans aren't needed. .

Other Thoughts:

As with Original, I am completely conflicted with this course. On the one hand there are so many beautiful things with this course but there are so many things wrong with it. I want to rate this as a 4.0 or 4.5 which is what it could easily be with some signage and concrete tees.

There did not seem to be much poison ivy here and until you play in the woods, the bugs are a little more manageable than some Michigan courses but still quite thick.

Long pants and good footware are important here. There are hills a plenty and the rough is tall grass that like to slice up humanoid legs.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Indiana574
Experience: 7 played 6 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 17, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

This park was beautifull when I went there no other people around very clean. It will test every shot you have straight s curve an hyzer hyzer you name it. Nicely mowed fairways. Can really open up on some holes. Very tall long grass for the ruff errant throws will be punished. Hole 7 has a nasty lil green pond right behind the basket be carefull cuz I Dout your gonna go wade it out lol. Also be carefull to not overthrow 7 thinkin the baskets on the hill that's basket 8. Hole 6 is aceable but you only have a small window. Hole 18 is the signature hole you throw from a hill up to another hill deffinetly can bomb one here :)

Cons:

I really don't have to many cons some would say the ruff is to much but I like how each hole looks like it was cut out an placed there. Navigation could be ruff if you don't print out a map like I did.

Other Thoughts:

Great park deffinetly Awsome. I would say if you are just a begginers or can't throw to far it's gonna be a real tuff course for you. An it's best to play with 1 or 2 buddy's an have a spotter on some holes
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 1
apdrvya
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.8 years 349 played 293 reviews
3.00 star(s)

into the great wide open... with some woods sprinkled in for fun. 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 9, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Aesthetic-- Much like the original course this course plays through the rolling hills of this park. it's about half hiking trails and half disc golf. We saw one person our entire time out on this one, granted it was january...

Baskets-- Mach V but NO ORANGE TAPE!! the baskets are in great repair but they are virtually invisible in most places due to the fact that there are no reflective tapes on the baskets.

Originality-- many unique looks here. Long holes with very unique looks. Distinct landing zones that, even in the snow are HUGE on the fairways. Even the short holes are decent with the exception of a couple of throw away holes.

Routing-- isn't so bad on this course as it is on the original course. the addition of "next tee" signs is a nice touch.

Cons:

Teepads- Muddy and ruddy dirt pads are hard to find and slippery when wet.

Signage- the first tee has a great sign but the rest of the course is much like the original where a lot of the signs are either missing or TRASHED. Thank god the routing is markedly easier on this end of the park.

Uncontrollables-- this course is wide freakin' open in a lot of areas. this makes for a super windy round. I would liked to have seen some water on this end. The rough on this end while somewhat better than the original (in the winter) I'm sure is BRUTAL in the summer...

Other Thoughts:

this was used in worlds at some point? It's not that I was disappointed with Meyer Broadway as a whole. Just not what it was hyped to be. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 3
mashnut
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22 years 831 played 767 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Meh 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 9, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course plays mostly through open rolling fields with a handful of holes through the woods. The field holes are mowed fairways through tall grass rough with some decent elevation changes and a few holes where you can really air it out. The forested holes offer shorter and more technical lines to hit, with some flat holes and a couple with nice elevation. There are some different lines to shape through the trees, with a good mix of left and right turning shots and pretty thick rough to punish errant drives. There are some basic signs on many of the holes, and the baskets are in great shape.

Cons:

I'm not a fan of tall grass as a course obstacle, especially as its used here. When it's the main challenge on most of the holes, it doesn't provide any extra difficulty on your recovery shot, it just wastes your time and potentially your plastic. Several of the longer holes had very narrow strips mowed for the first 200-250' before widening out into a landing zone, which makes the holes pretty unplayable for newer players without much distance or accuracy (we watched two groups hit the first of those holes, throw one shot, spend 15 minutes looking for discs, then give up and go home).

The signage is inconsistent, with many missing or faded so you don't know where to throw or how long the hole is. A few spots could really use more next tee signs with long walks between holes. The tees are uneven and many are sloped, making for poor footing on drives.

Other Thoughts:

Beginners will find the wooded holes pretty reasonable, with shorter lengths and enough of a fairway to have a chance. The open holes would be really frustrating for someone with less accuracy though. More experienced players will find fewer interesting challenges and less variety on this course than the original course in the park. There are a few nice holes but overall it gets a bit repetitive.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 1
BogeyNoMore
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 19.7 years 479 played 183 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Myer Broadway’s friendlier course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 2, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Features some significant terrain changes to keep things interesting, but the North course has a few holes that play flat or close to it. Decent mix of shorter, wooded holes that limit you to relatively few lines and long open fairways (lined with tall, thick grass) which let you air it out and allow for many different routes. Offers some nice shot variety requiring hyzer, annie and straight shots off the tee, and mixes it up enough to keep things interesting over the entire 18 holes. Fairly scenic with decent eye appeal.
• Open holes have some well-placed trees and/or elevation changes to keep them interesting.
• Relatively beginner friendly while offering enough challenges for experienced players.
• Makes you pay for going off the fairway, but not as severely as the Original.
• Most of the course is pretty well segregated from other park activities.
• Finishes strong with a long 18th over a large valley. Long arms should be able to clear the huge dip, but shorter throwers will be taking a 2nd shot from a steep uphill lie. Real bombers could be looking for deuces.
• Good baskets, but I'm not sure whether tees and signs will be improved - they could use it.
• Decent amenities near the first/last hole: Clean bathroom, and a large pavilion with picnic tables to beat the heat/rain, soda/pop machine, as well as a playground for small children.

Cons:

Not always obvious where next hole is. Flows OK from hole to hole, but, course map was a big help as a first timer. The walk from 5 to 6 seems considerably longer than the others, and had me wondering if I was going the right way.
• Course info has tee type as rubber, but all I saw was grass/dirt. Played OK, but probably just a matter of time before they just become depressions for collecting water.
• Tall grass makes finding discs that don't hold the fairway tough going. Found myself searching longer than I though was reasonable for drives that were just a bit wide of the fairway.
• The water behind hole 7 is pretty much blind, reachable from the tee, and not something I'm willing to wade into to retrieve a disc.

Other Thoughts:

All in all, MB North is fun to play, and can stand on its own as a solid course, with enough challenge and variety to keep most players engaged. Makes a nice 36 hole day-trip combined with the more challenging Original located near the park entrance. With all the open holes and elevation changes, playing both can be exhausting on a hot day, and would be much more enjoyable when things start cool off towards the fall.

I'd have to say 18 is the signature hole, bit there are some other memorable holes on the course, including: 4, 8, 10, and 17.

Drop box for donations near the park entrance is on the honor system, so please pay your fair share to keep these courses in nice shape.

Located quite close to civilization and a variety of restaurants.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 0
Jukeshoe
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.5 years 315 played 266 reviews
3.50 star(s)

North 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 23, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

- The north course provides a layout with similar feel to the original, although generally shorter and easier. Rolling grassy terrain interspersed with clumps of trees comprises the majority of the course, although some more wooded areas come into play. On the best holes, players can choose the safe lay up route for a sure par or try for longer shots. The sprawling elevation and mature trees that protect the longer lines provide plenty of risk for those trying for birdies. Water comes into play behind the pin on #7. #18 is an epic finisher across a broad grassy valley to a pin that is situated at a higher point than the tee.
- The course flows with the land. Nothing seems out of place.
- Above average earthen tees where the rubber pads had recently been removed (according to locals). Level and totally sufficient. At no point did the tees seem awkward or a hinderance.

Cons:

- Tall grasses in the rough can make finding discs a pain, although punishment is for the most part very fair. Windy days can make it staying on the fairway more of a challenge.
- Navigation isn't always completely clear, but isn't terrible either. Ask one of the many friendly locals if you get turned around.

Other Thoughts:

- The North layout is a wonderful compliment to the Original course. With two fine courses on site, and several other good courses nearby, Meyer Broadway is well worth a day trip.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
notapro
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.6 years 568 played 281 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Intermediate 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 23, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Course is set in a large section of the park property, with lots of rolling hills and a good amount of forest. Walking path is much more common on this course, but nothing else is going to get in the way.
- Good use of the forest to force some different lines; for the most part a straight shot is the key, but there are also some slight hyzers and annys. These hole definitely test the short game, as many can easily be reached (4 in a row under 253'). But, with thick rough and jail, saving a par can become very difficult. A few holes stand out like #7, with a murky pool of water behind the basket, and #8, which sits protected atop a small hill.
- Holes out the open have plenty of character as well, as lots have serious elevation changes. #18 is a big valley shot, with the basket sitting higher than the tee pad. Mowed fairways add a little more challenge, as well as some sloped greens here and there. There are definitely some more bomber shots out here; especially with the constant inclines.
- Some holes out in the open have some additional trees and forest to force some more line shaping. Most spots let you choose which line to take, but there are definitely places where a bad line can lead to major trouble. The holes have length to spare, but also need some semblance of accuracy.
- Good baskets. Teepads are a work in progress, but the dirt ones are in good shape. Signage is lacking in some spots, and the natural teepads can be a little tricky to spot, but the flow makes sense. Might want to check the map beforehand.

Cons:

- A large amount of the course is set in the great wide open, so little thought is needed. Long hole lengths make it a grip and rip driving range. The elevation changes definitely help to mix things up, but otherwise there is no thought required.
- In general, the longer holes were wide open, and the shorter holes were tighter. Definitely testing accuracy and distance at different times; which made the longer holes seem blander. There were definitely some memorable ones, but others were nothing special at all.

Other Thoughts:

- Definitely a solid course, with a good amount of variety to be found. Some of the bomber holes were very enjoyable, including the valley shot and the two-hill uphill hole with an elevated, sloping green. Holes in the forest ranged from pretty easy to pretty tough, with a few around 175' and a few over 300'. Constant elevation changes on top of that, and it's a little bit of everything.
- Much more beginner-friendly than the original course, but still challenging. A true new player is going to find some tough shots and punishment. A more advanced player will probably find some shots a little too easy, and some of the open holes too bland. Still, a solid stand-alone course with plenty of challenge.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
Emoney
Experience: 27.8 years 90 played 16 reviews
4.00 star(s)

GREAT COURSE WOW!! again lol 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 14, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The second of 2 great courses meyer broadway north compliments the original. Great course design with all shots required, long/short and wide open/tight and uphill/downhill holes really push your game. Grass mowed consistently on fairways. Baskets are in good shape. Great long walk through nature, half in the woods and half in the open. Beautiful course that will challenge anyone. The fairways offer fair landing zones with tall grass rough if you miss and if your really off you get sticker bushes.. This course is great fun and a great challenge. my favorite holes are 1(wow big hole right off the back,long throw and a blind approach) and 3(simply beautiful open straight forward hole, you walk out of the woods into a field of rolling hills and nature, breathtaking). Just as good as the original course. Clean bathrooms before hole 1 and a pop machine! Good finishing hole that lets you throw out of your shoes,then throw a difficult blind approach.

PEOPLE PLEASE! PLEASE! PLEASE! PUT A DONATION IN THE BOX NEAR THE FRONT PARKING LOT. THESE COURSES ARE BAD A$$

Cons:

There a few things that make me rate this course a half a disc lower.
*teepads are rubber and uneven and some missing
*very few tee signs at all
*harder to navigate than original course(if its ur first time). after hole 5 walk down the path left to get to next hole.

Other Thoughts:

From what i heard this was a temp course originally and thats why it has rubber pads and poor signage. However, this course is amazingly beautiful and challenging. Rec players will have a hard time with these 2 courses. If u wanna play a game ,stay at home and play monopoly. If ur ready for a challenging sport,come out to these DESTINATION courses.

PLEASE DONATE SOME DOLLARS TO THESE BEAUTIFUL COURSES.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
Anheuser
Experience: 13.6 years 27 played 9 reviews
4.00 star(s)

All Day Wilderness Adventure 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 12, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Thought I'd review the North course as reviewing both seemed a little redundant. Both courses offer beautiful scenery and a lot of unique holes. Both score a solid 4 in my book. Huge arms are required for the long tees, and the shorts are still challenging. Every shot in your arsenal will be used at both courses. The course is clean, well maintained and has very little traffic. Both courses are a HIKE and provide a great workout. Classic Michigan disc golf. And with 36 holes it's a one stop destination course. Hands down the best 18+ hole park in all of southwest MI. Vending machines offer pop (that's what we call it here) and water. Outhouse style bathrooms on site. Practice basket just to the left of hole #1 on the South course. The park is not far from civilization either, with a variety of restaurants, gas stations and convenience stores right up the road. It costs a dollar to play (per person I think), on the honor system with a drop box. Please give more.

Cons:

No short tee markers for the North course (the south course has wooden markers), except for rock piles which are absent on a couple of holes. The North course also has rubber tees as opposed to the concrete ones on the South course, which I didn't like as much. Somewhere in the back nine you run up against "civilization" i.e. a fence and houses, but it doesn't detract too much from the experience and you're soon back in the woods. Both courses can be difficult to navigate at times, even with a course map handy. No water. Lake views, concrete tees on every hole and short tee markers on the North course would give both courses a 4.5 to 5 rating in my opinion. Beginners will have a difficult time with this course, even from the shorts. Don't get frustrated, just enjoy the ride.

Other Thoughts:

I would give a slight edge to the South course as far as rating. The North course I would give a 3.75, but having to choose I'd round up to 4. The "front" 18 is a solid 4 in my book.
I recently played both courses back to back with a short break in between. It was pretty grueling, especially since it was unseasonably hot. I pretty much lost my steam around hole 30 or so, but we pressed on and finished up.
No alcohol is allowed on the course, and the local league team there enforces that according to what I've read on the billboard there. Not that I'd even consider drinking while trudging around on this marathon hike.
A couple of course maps are pretty much a necessity here for your first time (or if you have a sense of direction like mine- your first 10 times).
This park is DEFINETLY a disc golf destination spot, and worth a good amount of driving to play. It's a hidden gem.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 1
BucketBonanza
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 21.7 years 47 played 30 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Is There Anybody Out Here? 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 21, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

There was absolutely nobody out here playing on a beautiful summer day. Hard to believe, but it allowed me to meditate without distraction and I loved that. Not one bit of litter on the whole course either. The first hole started off with a shot toward some trees through a well manicured and large wide open fairway. Two moves through the woods. The sound of a handgun popping off round after round could be heard close enough to make me nervous. I kept listening to make sure the rounds weren't whizzing by in my direction. Three takes you out the back door to an expansive field for another couple holes with circular landing areas that do indeed evoke the thought of crop circles. These holes simply demand a shot within the mowed areas, as like the original park, the roughs are tall grass and blooming weeds. There are no obstacles to negotiate other than a tucked in basket on five, but it can be a real nightmare trying to find your shot in this tangle. Hole six started my navigational woes as I walked the right way, became convinced it was the wrong way and doubled back, and finally made it back the right way again thinking all the while that the next hole couldn't possibly be this far from the last. It was. Back to the woods for a couple. One short but memorable shot to a tall mound sticks out as well as the water hazard that made me laugh. The hazard was a small basin of scummy green water right behind the basket on hole seven. You should have seen all of the frogs go leaping when I chained out. The rest of the holes were fairly unmemorable after this point apart from eighteen on the sledding hill. I think I saw a badger hole on number twelve. There are some nice uphill shots on the back nine and things do have a nice flow after the trek from five to six is accomplished. I liked being able to open up and at the same time be forced to control my shots.

Cons:

The signage is poor, don't even remember if I saw any, and navigation is questionable in a few places. At times, the crop circles dictate how you will play a hole. There are instances where a longer drive would be inevitably lost in the tall grass and you are forced to lay up to a shorter spot simply because it is clear and would be the smart play. I can't figure out if I like that or not. I guess I respect it. The shooting all around was a bit nerve wracking. I am talking about guns here! It sounded like I was in a hot zone at times. The back nine is not all that memorable. It is hard for me to remember anything striking about it other than shooting up to a basket I could see peeking at me from atop a hill lined with crop circles and the bomb hole at eighteen.

Other Thoughts:

I kept thinking of the song Into The Great Wide Open as I walked this. I did enjoy this walk thoroughly. It is a very good course, but I cannot justify rating it the same as original because it really lacks the variety that original has. 3.5 doesn't really do this place justice but I am at a loss here. As a pair, these two make Meyer Broadway something special. Overall, this is a great park and I am excited to get back out there and play these two again. I am thinking that a round here when the air is still crisp and a hoodie and long pants are the perfect attire would be dreamy. This place was well worth the drive.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 4
Red Wings Fan
Experience: 18.8 years 15 played 10 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Crop circles 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 17, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Huge course, Lots a variety and good elevation changes. wild life (I've seen a deer every time I've been there). can really max out your drive, good makings and most hole have a picture at the tee to give you an idea of where your throwing if you don't know. very spread out course. EMPTY very small amount of player out there so no rush, just relaxing. Some of the fairways look like crop circles.

Cons:

not cement tees (I think this will be updated) Lots of tall grass

Other Thoughts:

watch for ticks
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 4
CRDV-3400
Experience: 46.8 years 68 played 3 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Meyer Broadway North 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 10, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Good variety of topography and hole design. Uphill, downhill, moderatly wooded to corridor. Many holes require placement as well as distance. Flows well. Requires one to have control of a number of shots to score well. Never crowded. This course makes you play golf!

Cons:

Concrete tees would be nice. Certain holes have extreme rough- keep it on the fairway. Too many tweener holes - most pros will par, few will duece, few will bogey.

Other Thoughts:

Enjoyable course close to home!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
landon77
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 24.4 years 78 played 43 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Scenic Holes---Intermediate 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 6, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

--Very challenging, very fun, big throwers delight.
--The holes are memorable and exciting.
--Each hole presents a challenge whether it is wooded or wide open. Hilly or flat, windy or not windy.
--This course has a great amount of variety on the holes! And even one water hole!
--The holes are in general very long and well groomed.
--The holes have signs. (albiet old and needing replacement)
--Excellent baskets!
--Well marked and layed out.
--Well groomed (crop cirlces) that clearly define the fairways.
--Very long wooded hole (longest in the surrounding area)
--Hole 18 is awesome and scenic!
--Not busy and secluded!

Cons:

--Immature players destroying signs and not respecting the course.
--Springtime between May15th and June 15th ish has many many many ticks!!!!
--Grass and fields can get long and easy to lose a disk!!!!
--Rubber tee pads are old and worn, easy to lose footing and possibly sustaining an injury.
--Not enough benches or places to sit, you will get tired.
--The rough is really rough and EASY to lose a disc.



Other Thoughts:

I am waivering on the score. This course has potential to be a 4.5 star course with improvements and a few changes on some of the holes. Cement tee pads and better signs with more benches. I could make it a 4.5 but felt improvements should be implemented. Out of the 2 courses between original and North, I like original better because of the challenge and slightly better holes. Both these courses are fun and excellent, and both have some epic holes.
Course has been improved and new signs installed. New tee pads on shorts. Plays much better.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Mark R
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 21.7 years 114 played 87 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Nov 3, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This course is mainly a combination of right-sized holes (300'-450') in hilly, grassy meadows, and shorter-to-average length forest holes. Some of the meadow holes feature steep hills (up and down), all with neatly mowed fairways that are fun to place drives onto. Forest holes are flatter and very tightly wooded, and are similar to some of the forest holes at Branstrom Park in Fremont. Holes 3, 4, 12 and 18 (a sledding hill) are signature meadow holes, with terrific tee shots that are mostly wide open but have a few obstacles to keep it interesting. Good navigation for the most part, though Hole 6 is a long walk from Hole 5. Signs at most tees, though a couple are missing. Decent baskets throughout that are better than some of the baskets on the Original course. Newer tee signs and concrete tee pads added circa 2014. In addition, Hole 17 has been moved and improved slightly. Best on low-wind days early in the season or after first frost.

Cons:

The forest holes are challenging but not necessarily fun, with lots of bugs at some times of year and some rough areas. Tall grass bordering fairways of the meadow holes is easy to lose discs in, but as mentioned by Mashnut, do not increase challenge appropriately. Almost twisted an ankle looking for a disc by stepping in a mole hole in the right side rough of Hole 1.

Other Thoughts:

Secluded with few golfers (a relief from Oshtemo), but no alcohol allowed in park. Course retains its appeal after repeated rounds, with some epic holes. With two great parks next to each other that are better than any course near bigger/busier areas like Lansing or Grand Rapids, make the time to check out Three Rivers disc golf.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
mmyersdisc
Experience: 15.6 years 14 played 14 reviews
4.50 star(s)

3 rivers 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 21, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

Very nice chainstar baskets, nice signage although the second hole was confusing to find...we actually played hole 15 instead (wasn't paying attention to the sign) walked around entire course and finally found 3 and 2....nice wooded shots and open bomb shots, becareful of the rough!!!

Cons:

The rough would be rough in the spring/greener seasons...thorns are horrible on the back 9 so keep it on the fairway or else!!!

Other Thoughts:

All-in-all the 2 courses offered here at broadway are well worth the trip, my friends and I traveled about a hour and it was very fun!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 3
TimSyl
Experience: 17 years 172 played 35 reviews
4.50 star(s)

better than ever 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 20, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Full disclosure: I helped design and build this course for 2008 Worlds. Nine wooded/technical holes, nine open longer holes-good variety.
-5x12 cement pads longs and shorts.
-ample fairways on the open holes.
-have to shape shots, not simply throw bombs.
-new tee signs.
-new "next" tee signs for those with navigation issues.

Cons:

Ticks and mosquitos bad at certain times of the year.
Rough thick it spots, but continues to be reduced.

Other Thoughts:

With 36 holes, Three Rivers is a disc destination!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top