Three Rivers, MI

Meyer Broadway Park - Original

Permanent course
3.895(based on 27 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Meyer Broadway Park - Original reviews

Filter
1 4
Christopherj
Experience: 4 played 4 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Hills for thrills 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 7, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

Nice course, well maintained
Clean fairways
Played the short tees. I thought it was moderate hard with a few easy holes
Very picturesque course

Cons:

Very hilly, could be hard to navigate after rain
Some baskets bent

Other Thoughts:

I recommend this course
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 1
The Valkyrie Kid
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 45.8 years 1563 played 1507 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Whatever Sisyphus Said! 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 19, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

Pros: I really would like to copy the Sisyphus review word for word. His review really says it all and in a very eloquent style. I'd present him a second "thumbs up" if Tim would allow me. And after playing a round with him, I know him to be a slightly better player than myself but still a nice guy. And do you think I've poured on the ....manure deep enough for him to bestow a thumber on my review?

But I'll add just a bit. The North course is the one that starts near the park entrance. There is a $4 charge to enter the park. The course starts right next to the parking lot. There is a great colored course map here. The tees are concrete, grippy and nicely long. The tee signs are nice, technicolor models complete with distances for both Longs and Shorts. The longs and short really play as two different holes, sometimes a 150 foot difference, often one needs a hyser while the other require might require an annie. They're never just lined up behind each other courses are sometime designed.

As I started to play # 1, I thought this to be a nice easy rec course with # 1 measuring at 235' from the longs and 204' from the shorts. I also thought the entire course had these same slightly, faded Discatchers. I was mistaken in both counts. This is no rec course (from the longs) and the rest of the baskets looked to be newer and less faded Discatchers. I was pleased with the nicer baskets and not sure about the following 17 holes being somewhat more challenging. I'm good with easy recreational courses. I did appreciate the next tee signs pointing to both the long tee and the short tee pad. I played this course from the longs and only the longs have the tee signs.

North had some very pretty holes, classic in a golf course sense. I mean beautiful, natural fairways with just the right amount of elevation. # 2 was one of these classically, beautiful fairways as was 6,12, 13, 17 and 18. The course has a wonderful variety of holes, mixing longer holes with cool little Ace Runs and a couple of great up and over the gully holes. # 5 is one of the great little Ace Runs, it's 181 with just one tee pad and needed a closely threaded throw to get through the many small trees. 6 is another excellent hole. It plays 345' from the longs and 287' from the shorts. It plays over a fairly steep little gully. Steep enough that stairs have been cut into the slope and a rope is hung on the uphill side to help you reach the top. Kinda reminds me of my time spent on Everest (not!). The basket then sits up higher on the slope. Then 7 and 8 both throw over gullies. Neither are quite as dramatic as # 6 though. I felt # 10 was probably the most unique hole on either of the courses. It's just 171' from both tees but the basket isn't visible. As you walk up the fairway, you finally see the flag but as you walk further, you realize you're seeing the flag extension on top of another extension. The hole is set partways down a steep bank requiring a nice little soft touch shot.

I played # 15 from the short position. I might have been fatigued by this point. Anyway, 15 from the short is 276' and just the top of a flag is showing. Cool!

Cons:

The # 11 sign is currently AWOL.

The course is tight at times. The rough is somewhat thick but I always felt the holes were playable and with fair Iines. I played today by myself and was just dandy with both courses.

Losing a disc is a possibility.

Other Thoughts:

Other Thoughts: This is just a lovely course. It has a great variety of challenges, from tight fairways to big hysers, up hills and downhills, Ace Runs, some decently longer holes and roughs that can lead to added strokes. It probably plays from intermediate to a slightly challenging advanced level from the Longs while the Shorts are a fun, recreational course.

It's a very nicely designed course on a wonderful piece of real estate. Put the two together and we disc golfers are as happy as a pig in .....manure! Not exactly the term my dear old Dad would use but this a G rated family review.

Now I have to make a confession, father. I'm totally confused on which course is which? Is the South course and the Original course one and the same? And then the North course is the one that starts out across the field beyond the picnic shelter? Or is that Flip City? If I'm wrong, I'm sure someone might point it out to me.

Have something to add or change? Update your review!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
sisyphus
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.5 years 397 played 383 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Beastie 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 24, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

A recent redesign and upgrade in time for the 2015 Amateur World Championships has made what was once a fairly tricky course into a real beastie from the long tees. There is a course map at the start, which is worth a pic, even if we benefited from excellent Worlds signage. The new holes 5, 6 & 7 play down or across a steep, wooded ravine, adding (more) shade and challenge to the pair of championship courses on-site. With two sets of concrete tees per hole, DisCatcher baskets (older single chains were upgraded with heavy, looping inner chains), and occasionally grueling elevation, there's lots of variety in distances and angles of attack.

There are a number of memorable holes here on the south course. I'll try to forget screwing up on the roadside hole 4, with its gap (alt sky hyzer) and mounded green, and certainly won't forget the puzzling lines needed on the brutal hole 6. They added ropes there to traverse the pits and to make safer your climb up into Mordor. One guy on our card actually 3'd it, and my jaw dropped. I managed to drop a lucky, blind, putter 'drive' to within 18 inches of the pin on the terraced hole 10. And we'll never forget the length of the holes, and their summer rough challenges up on holes 12 through 17. Finally, yea, though I walked through the Valley of Death on 16, I shall fear no evil shot, just get back to the fairway (new to the course? Do NOT go to the right on that tee shot!!!)

In all, they've created a really tournament worthy course out of the 'Original', and it looked like the short tees might be fun for Rec and protected divisions. The course looks like it might be a bit much for casual players. The maintenance guys were fantastic, and clearly take pride in these two courses.

Cons:

The park does charge $5 to get in, and even were the only park to be double checking credentials for Worlds. So if you don't like to pay for the great maintenance on courses like this, you might want to play elsewhere.

Now, there are obviously tall grasses here bordering the longer, more open holes, and you WILL need a spotter. We were lucky to have a Liam (thanks, young man!) to help us out, but I would not recommend a solo round out here. And you will need seasonal bug spray: tall grasses hide ticks in early summer, and there are damp places on the new woods holes that will harbor mosquitoes and such late in the summer. Speaking of which, the muddy slopes on holes 5, 6 (!) and 7 will be treacherous during and after rain. I'd hate not to play those holes, but can't visualize dragging my big ol' butt up and down those hillsides if they were really wet. The bottom of the ravine on hole 6 is clearly a muddy pond area.

Otherwise, there weren't a whole lot of rally bad marks for the course. Might've just been me, but I was wishing for more benches by the end of the day out here (we played North, then South).

Other Thoughts:

The Meyer Broadway Complex did itself proud in 2015. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
davetherocketguy
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 19.6 years 114 played 105 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Great course but...oh the navigation. 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 9, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

- An excellent mix of long and short holes but overall a very long course.
- Elevation. Very rarely - even in Michigan - do you see elevation put to such fantastic use.
- Tightly wooded to wide open holes. All sorts of options for line shaping either right or left.
- Rediculously challenging with a very high risk/reward factor. Errant shots are sometimes brutally punished with the rough.
- Some truly unique holes. 10 comes to mind as a insane downhill short hole that will punish throws that go too far.
- Pin placements are well done and difficult. The roll aways and slopes surrounding the baskets means you better bring your "A" putting game.
- Fantastic concrete tee pads. FInished nicely, level and in good shape.
- Nicely mowed fairways.
- Bring your freaking A game.

Cons:

- Navigation is a disaster and will hopefully be fixed soon. This is the single biggest issue for me. It is extremely easy to become totally lost between holes. Occationally, there are rocks with arrows pointing to the next hole. But even then, there just isn't enough of them. I cannot stress enough how important it is to bring either a map or play with someone who is familiar with the course.
- Not a beginner friendly course - AT ALL. Not sure if this is a con or not but there it is.
- The rough is ROUGH. The vegitation is almost too thick to be reasonable. Some places like #2 is praire grass disc golf HELL. Come prepared for this by not playing alone. I can't even imagine playing the majority of these holes without at least one spotter. In fact, I would even recommend playing in a foursome so getting 2 or 3 spotters down the fairway is practicle.
- #17's fairway is just plain unfair. Yeah I managed to get to the fairway but come on. Someone needs to get themselves jazzed up on some Red Bull and go nuts with a chainsaw on this hole.
- Tee signs. Where are they? There are cool little indentations in the concrete tees indicating distance but a regular tee sign would be a big improvement especially with navigation to the long tees and shorts.
- Flow is not terrible but not great either. Some of the walks between holes are fairly long. Not the longest I've ever seen (that designation belongs to Andrews University) but it was a little surprising.

Other Thoughts:

I am torn with this course. I really really want to give this a 4.5 but the navigation issues are really holding my score back. This to me could easily be a 4.5 with some signs and tee signs installed. Throw in alternate basket locations, make some of the fairways more reasonable, put in concrete tee pads we have a five-er on our hands...seriously - it's that good.

As stated previously, the rough is really rough so that means your typical assortment of Michigan irritants not the least of which being the poison ivy. There's a binch of it. The bugs are really bad during the warmer months including ticks, mosquitoes, bees, etc. So just be prepared.

I am not going to list this as a con but a lot of people don't seem to like the single layer of chains. Like the rating I am not sure how I feel about those baskets. I think they catch fine so long as your putting is good.

This course is a long and hilly course so be prepared for that too. Good footware is more important here that your average hucker-friendly course. Huckers with their single warp speed driver and cooler filled with beer are not going to make it past hole 10 with their flip flops.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
Indiana574
Experience: 7 played 6 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 17, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Very beautifull park. Clean very clean. Nice mowed fairways with what almost looks like crop circles don't throw to far In the ruff u will be all In the sticker bushes mwahhahaha. Hole 1 is kool you can go for the safe straight shot or throw a huge hyzer bomb. Hole 13 was probaly my favorite hole u can real bomb it use a nice understable disc to float it to the right an watch it comes back left. Hole 10 I will warn you walk down an look at the basket first it's literally straight down the middle of the hill a bad throw an most likely you won't find you disc. Luckily I was warned about it first. Just pull out a putter an barely I mean barely toss it. Hole 11 is a very nicely wooded hole.

Cons:

Not to many cons sept maybe ticks. Some ppl hate on the ruff but I like it it punishes bad shots. Single chained baskets no biggie to me. Print a map before you come out.

Other Thoughts:

Begginers will become very frustrate not beginner friendly. It's a great course but I liked the north course just a tad more. All around great course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 3
nickrockey
Experience: 18 played 18 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Hole 10 is cool 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 11, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

+Some really awesome holes!
+ The vegetation is great! Some really tight mail-slot type shots that are just plain killer!!!
+The front is great for placement shots and the end is for the big arms, but don't be shy you can really throw some rockets out there!
+nicely mowed paths
+tee pads were pretty good
+Nice course layout, not easy by any means
+Pretty easy to find your way from one hole to the next
+Some pretty long holes and uphill holes are humbling for sure!
+Great wooded holes for sure!

Cons:

-BUGS!
-Almost need to play doubles so you can have a spotter,
I forget which hole, but you throw blind downhill, but not to far, if you overshoot by just alittle you are going to be in trouble! They should clear all of that area and put the basket a couple hundred feet farther down the hill, or even up the other hill, that would be AWESOME!

Other Thoughts:

^BUG SPRAY!
^Good hiking shoes
^The greens and fairways were mowed pretty nice, but outside of that the grass was pretty tall so really watch your disc!
^Pretty nice course, I will play it again
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 2
apdrvya
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.8 years 349 played 293 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Much like Mashy, I'm not sure on this one... 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 9, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Aesthetic- this course plays through the rolling hills of this course. Around several tubing hills and across the road several times. this area dedicated to half disc golf and half hiking trails. I like this park. we played in January and the trails seemed well traveled.

Baskets--Although I rue Innova's baskets, these seemed to be in good repair and are WAY easier to see than the mach V's on the north course.

Teepads- Although they were covered with snow when we were there, they were all concrete on the longs (not sure on the shorts)

Originality- There are som VERY tough looks here. There are some very long very challenging holes here

Cons:

Teesigns- The teesigns, where there are teesigns, are HIT. most of them are either missing or TRASHED which makes it VERY hard to navigate this course. a map is a necessity for sure! It would be far easier if all of the teepads at least had a post where the sign used to be, but that's not even there.

Navigation- as I said above, it's rough. without a map this course would be impossible. Next tee signs would be EXTREMELY helpful (like on the north)

Uncontrollables- the rough, even in the winter, in the snow is ROUGH!! Punishing errant shots with either gnarly thorns or rolling into a huge sink hole!

Other Thoughts:

I had a decent time playing this course but a three hour round on an 18 hole course is insane. this course needs some serious polishing before I'll be back.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 1
mashnut
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22 years 831 played 767 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Mixed feelings 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 9, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course plays through a mix of open rolling hills and some forested areas. Both areas of the course feature some nice elevation changes with some tough uphills and a couple fun downhills and valley shots. The open half of the course has a few scattered trees on most holes, and tall grass rough lining the mowed fairways. The wooded holes have tight technical lines with dense trees and brush to punish errant shots.

You'll need some different shots to be successful, the wooded holes call for a variety of lines with a balance of left and right turns. There is a good mix of lengths, with a few bombers and some ace runs. One hole plays steeply downhill and short, offering a definite chance for chains, but there are dense briers waiting to eat shots that go long, left or right. There are nice concrete tees and good baskets in decent shape.

Cons:

I'm not a fan of long grass. I don't think it provides an obstacle that changes your next shot, it just makes for lost discs and lost time. I really liked the thick rough on the wooded holes where you had to be really creative if you missed the fairway, but the open grassy holes just aren't any fun.

A lot of the signs are damaged, making it unclear how long the holes are or where to throw. This also makes it really difficult to find some of the natural short tees that don't have their own signs. With rutted out pads and no signage, I can't imagine the shorts get any play.

Other Thoughts:

Beginners will hate this course, even if they take the time to find and play the shorts. The rough is punishing, and errant shots are easy to lose and difficult to recover from. There are several long holes that would add to the frustration. More experienced players will find some really nice challenges, but also some pretty straightforward open holes with only long grass to contend with. I wouldn't play here in the late summer when the rough is at its thickest.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 0
BogeyNoMore
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 19.7 years 478 played 183 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Not for the Faint of Heart 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 2, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Plays in a section of the park that's pretty much dedicated to disc golf, featuring moderate to major elevation changes on virtually every hole. This makes many holes feel and play longer or shorter than the posted distances. Fairways have good mix of long and short, left, right, and straight shots.

The first several holes play relatively open, with fairways lined with tall grass and/or thick (often treacherous) rough, allowing you to choose a number of different lines to get to the basket. But beware, these first few holes can punish you severely for straying from the fairway. Bring your "Get Out of Jail Free" disc, you're gonna need it.

Things get tricky starting with hole 8, as you head into the woods with a well treed fairway that takes a sharp turn to the left after having you drive over a scenic valley. Another wooded hole follows before you hit the deceptive 171' hole 10. How hard can it be? Overdrive it and you'll find out. The shule behind that basket is thick and nasty, and oh yeah, it's a downhill shot, so you might wanna take it easy from the tee box. Rest of the course pretty much plays somewhat open around the fringe of the woods, occasionally bringing you back into them. Course is demanding, requiring discipline and control.

• Risk vs. Reward shots all over the place, and unless you're shooting pretty well that day, you might do well to scale back your ambitions and do your best to stay on the fairway if finishing with a low score (or keeping all your discs) is a priority.
• Concrete pads for longs, and imbedded toe boards for shorts usually offer significantly different lines and challenges. Even so, I wouldn't say the shorts are all that beginner friendly.
• Course flows fairly well from basket to next tee, but first timers would be well served to print the course map off this site, I found it to be a time saver.

Cons:

The rough here is downright treacherous in many spots. Not the place for a friendly round. Shanking one into the grass seems more innocent, but you could certainly lose discs in this stuff. Not the best place for fly-dyed drivers.

Tee signs are present, but many are starting to look pretty shabby, and a few are broken.

Chance of disc loss is significant.

Other Thoughts:

Rolling terrain adds a scenic quality to much of the course. Standout holes for me were:
• Hole 14 - has you driving up a steep hill to a nicely mowed landing area, before taking a left turn and continuing uphill to the basket for a two tiered effect that can be humbling as you cover 620' from the long, going uphill pretty much the whole way. Felt the weight of each and every disc in my bag climbing the hill for my 2nd shot.
• Hole 10 - a short blind downhill that's an Ace run for the lion hearted. Take it easy if you're not a brave soul, as briar patch behind the basket is downright brutal. Go long and kiss your putter goodbye.
• 3, 4, 5, 13 are also noteworthy IMO.

Drop a buck or two in the donation box if you play here. Course is well maintained, although it feels intentionally cruel. Seems like they could thin out some of the nasty stuff, but I get the impression they simply don't want to. I think they're simply trying to reward staying in the fairway, and punish (perhaps harshly) failing to do so.


Pairs nicely with the North course for a nice day's outing. Located quite close to civilization and a variety of restaurants.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
Zigzaggler
Experience: 42 played 14 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Bring your walking shoes !! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 7, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Elevation is the name of the game...this park has some really great layouts with blind tees and tight fairways. With the tall grass for rough and mowed flyways keeping your drive on the short grass gets to be TOUGH!!..Hills are everywhere you walk so bring plenty of water and be prepared to hike it out..lol..The park is well maintained with plenty of shade on those hot days..This park is definitely player friendly !!!!

Cons:

There is a water waste center or something right next to the park that keeps the smell of poop in the air for some of the holes.....played it on a very warm day and the smell was so rancid we almost decided to leave.

Other Thoughts:

A very fun course despite the smell of poo....a return trip is a strong possibility.....in the fall.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 1
notapro
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.6 years 568 played 281 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Intermediate/Expert 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 23, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Course is set in a large section of the park property, which is chock full of hills and trees. First seven holes are close to the entrance road, not sure if any stray foot traffic ends up that way.
- Good amount of the holes are set in pretty dense forest (with thick rough), or have major tree action off the tee, providing a lot of different lines. #1 is a short RHBH anny under some low trees, and #3 is a long hyzer through (or over) a thick cluster of mature trees. Great mix of lines overall, and the varying difficulty of each really helps to make each hole feel different. Mando on #5 tests both length and accuracy of a bomber anny; a great mando to prevent another wide open hole.
- Elevation changes are present on nearly every hole, and are definitely noticable. Good mix here as well, with some short downhills, long sloping uphills, and a gut check drop shot that demands serious accuracy. #10's basket is out of sight down a steep hill, surrounded by a sea of thorns. Going short, left, or right is no good, and going long can be disastrous. It is also one of a few sloped greens.
- Good mix of hole lengths, with different looks. Some short ones are pretty easy, others are very tricky. Same with some of the long ones, so there is a large variation in the length/accuracy ratio. Having both, usually at the same time, is key to score well here. The back half are definitely longer, for the big arms to enjoy.
- Good teepads, good baskets, kind of tricky to navigate. There is a little loop in the front six, but it helps the quality of the holes. Mowed paths help to get around, double check the distances that were molded in the pads. (You walk past the 'wrong' teepad at least three times).

Cons:

- A lot of the course is pretty straightforward, especially in the front. Fairly open lines to the basket, and some downhills to help get it there. Definitely a must to pick up strokes before the woods and the bomber holes.
- Not much in variety of hazards here; it is going to be thick rough or lots of trees. The land doesn't have any water, and the hills are pretty gentle overall (except on #10). In general, the terrain is pretty similar throughout, so the scenery stays the same. Playing by the road is never fun either.

Other Thoughts:

- This course is extremely well rounded, which I definitely like. There is an even mix of holes that are beginner friendly and those that make even pros work. The crazy range of length, toughness, and line shaping variety was well done. A more experienced player might be a little bored by some of the holes, and a beginner would be frustrated by others, but there is something for everyone.
- Be sure to throw some money in the box, everything looks well-maintained.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 1
Jukeshoe
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.5 years 315 played 266 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Double Your Pleasure 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 23, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

- Rolling hills comprise the majority of the Original Meyers Broadway course. About half the course is lightly to moderately wooded, while the other half plays through thick tall prairie grasses. A good mix of short and long holes, with plenty of ups and downs throughout. Most holes seem to play longer than advertised due to the elevation. Several bomb 'em type holes mixed nicely with some more technical layouts. Interesting design in a few places: #1's green has thick pines about two feet behind the pin, while #10 seems determined to inflict pain and suffering upon anyone who ends up long.
- Great elevation. Rolling hills, gently sloping fairways throughout, and plenty of risk/reward due to sloped pin positions. Unfortunately, nothing "epic" in terms of sheer scale, but plenty of yummy moderate elevation throughout.
- Plenty of risk/reward, often in crazy proportions (such as the hillside of solid brambles below a downhill ace run). A few holes force weaker arms to hit defined areas necessary for having any semblance of an up-shot, while providing decent risk for those who choose to try for the longer bombs.
- Good concrete tees, distances inset into the pads with metal bars, for the pro tees. Scattered trashcans throughout. Sufficient signage, although occasionally the flow becomes a bit tricky if you're not familiar with the course. Mandatories force certain shots on one or two holes.

Cons:

- Briars, sticker bushes, thorns, etc. are well-represented on this course throughout. While some thorns are probably inevitable on a course as thickly vegetated as Meyers-Broadway, the designers seem to take a bit of a sadistic approach in incorporating them into the holes. Hole #10, for example, tees off a steep slope to a blind pin perched about 170' down the hillside. Behind the tiny, semi-flat green, the slope continues down into the largest briar patch I've ever encountered. Anything past the pin is brutally punished here, to the point where losing a limb, let alone a disc becomes a real threat. I'm fine with this design for experienced players, but it seems a bit extreme for beginners or casual players, especially when wind factors in.
- Ticks become a danger in warmer weather, especially in the tall grasses. Bug spray recommended.
- On the thick prairie holes, losing a disc in the grasses becomes a threat.

Other Thoughts:

- Donation box at entry gate. Be sure to pay the small fee!!!
- Meyers Broadway Original is a minute away from Meyers Broadway North. With two great courses on site, this park provides solid discing throughout. Definitely hit up both Meyers Broadway courses if you're in the area, you won't be disappointed.
- Super friendly locals will help you out if you get turned around or if you're having trouble locating the North course.

*****UPDATE 6/2015**** A dog park has replaced the old holes 4 & 5. Old 6 is now hole 2. The course no longer crosses the road. New holes are wooded and pick up after old 4 (now #3).

Wooded new holes are awesome!

Fairways are wider and fairer than ever!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
Emoney
Experience: 27.8 years 90 played 16 reviews
4.00 star(s)

GREAT COURSE WOW!! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Mar 14, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Wow, if your in southern michigan or northern indiana and havnt played this course ,you are missing out. This course has a great mix of long and short/ tight and open holes. It has big concrete teepads which are level and grippy. The distance for each hole is molded into the teepad(pro tees). Most holes also have distance markers in the fairway for approach shots. They also have natural am tees (but they are hard to find). This course shines from the pro tees and will challenge anyone. The fairways with grass are usually cut on a regular basis. Nice shaped landing areas surrounded by 3 foot high grass. It looks beautiful and the rough doesnt really hurt your throw physically but makes you think "im in the rough" and it affects your shot. If u manage to throw past the fairway and tall grass(rough), u are likely in sticker bush heaven. Very fair course ,yet if ur off your in trouble. Great course design and a super fun challenge. Nice bathrooms on site. Baskets are in good shape but they are single chain which adds to challenge.Hole 5 is my favorite , mando left side of the pole, dogleg right with uphill approach. Hole 14 is a monster dogleg left,uphill teeshot,then gets flat and a long uphill approach shot, a 4 is a good score for even a pro. Hole 18 can ruin your round( guilty) but it makes you birdie everything you can cause u know its commin.Also the course is never busy, makes for a very peaceful and enjoyable time.

Also , there is another 4+ rated course on site!

PEOPLE, IF YOU GO PLAY THIS COURSE PLEASE! PLEASE! PLEASE! PUT A DONATION IN THE BOX NEAR THE FRONT PARKING LOT. THESE COURSES ARE BAD A$$

Cons:

The am tees are almost non existent,they have no signs and can be found (maybe) by little rock piles with flags in them.
The tee signs are very rough and some holes have none.
There are a few missing tee signs for the pros and if u never been here navigation can get a little tricky.
The tall grass (rough) can make it very hard to find ur disc if ur off the fairway.
A few holes bother me a little
10- short ,almost straight downhill shot ,doesnt really fit the course. Very easy to slip getting down to the basket.
15- its a somewhat long hole but it really doesnt have a fairway/landing zone
ticks in the summer, this is not a con because its nature and thats where we play disc golf,but watch for them.

Other Thoughts:

This course is a great course that will offer you lots of fun and also a great challenge. These courses are definitely " DESTINATION" courses. These courses take disc golf from a "game" to a full blown sport.Ams beware, this is the "sport " of disc golf, not the "game". If u dont want a challenge , dont come.

GO TO THREE RIVERS MICHIGAN AND GET YOU SOME MEYER BROADWAY!!

PLEASE DONATE SOME DOLLARS TO KEEP THESE COURSES ALIVE
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 7
xxdestroyerxx
Experience: 13 played 3 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Meyer broadway 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 30, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

Long and challenging course with good tee signs and nice tees .
the park was clean and fairways mowed in spots .

Cons:

rough is thick in spots ,many chances to lose a disc .
navigation is hard at times without map
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 7
m1morri1
Experience: 17.9 years 75 played 10 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 27, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great course, lots of variety. Good amount of elevation and length.

Cons:

The rough is thick. Pretty easy to loose track of your disc.

Other Thoughts:

Watch out for ticks. If this course was closer to home, I would be there all the time.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
BucketBonanza
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 21.7 years 47 played 30 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 20, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course is country miles. I really enjoyed the look of this course. The front selection of holes is carved out of dune grass and has a great roll to it because of the hilly landscape. There are a few holes that take you back into the woods which mixes up the scenery nicely. You are able to use a few different methods of approach to these pin placements with right hand forehand and backhand coming into play, but there are no extreme situations save for the elevation variations. The hilly aspect of this course is what separates it from being mundane and elevates it to excellence. This course is also fair in layout and design in most places and doesn't leave a player feeling like he had no options apart from luck. That goes a long way as the perimeter of most holes is treacherous. Many of the holes allow you to give the disc a good ride before playing a precise approach. Even the shorter length holes here seemed to play much longer than they were due to the layout. This course gives you a few solid birdie chances that should be taken where available. In most instances it throws you holes that make you feel happy that you got away unscathed and hit par.

Cons:

I am going to make it a point to visit this course next spring before the wild rough grows in. This course punishes shots that stray from the small fairways. Prickers and things I have never been stung by before grabbed a hold me and tore me open. Keep your shots on course or at least in the mowed areas. Approximately holes 1 through 14 were fun, but 15 through to the end ripped me apart. Also, this course and its brother to the north were the worst courses I have ever played from a navigational standpoint. Seriously. I was walking out of my way in several different areas and having to double back to happen upon the right way. I was racing rain as well which made me feel frustrated as I drove for two hours to reach this place only to find myself wasting time being lost between holes with rain threatening. The flow is far from intuition friendly.

Other Thoughts:

This course is one of the more lovely courses I have ever played and it is also well designed from a play standpoint. It has a great country feel to it and the way it is mowed with such wild surroundings gives it a great look. The mixture keeps it interesting and holds stagnation at bay. While it is well laid out and quite taking, subjectively for myself, it does lack the awe inspiring x factor that would allow it entry into the elusive 4+ disc category. Nonetheless, this park is a great play. This course is well worth a visit. It is a solid disc golf arena.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 4
Red Wings Fan
Experience: 18.8 years 15 played 10 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Must play 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 24, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Huge course that can get very technical, Lots a variety and good elevation changes. hole 10 is one of my favorite holes. wild life (I've seen a deer every time I've been there). can really max out your drive, good makings and most hole have a picture at the tee to give you an idea of where your throwing if you don't know. very spread out course. EMPTY very small amount of player out there so no rush, just relaxing. Clean and nice upkeep.

Cons:

lots of tall grass, no water holes
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
Mark R
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 21.7 years 114 played 87 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 25, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

A first-rate, long and challenging southwest Michigan course.

Many front-nine holes feature mowed and detailed fairways in the 300-foot range with small, steeply sloped hills ideal for RHBH throws (Holes 2, 4, 6, 7). These holes are similar to the back nine at Robert Morris in Kalamazoo, but with slightly steeper hills and a higher fun factor.

Holes 3 and 5 add challenge on the front nine, with Hole 3 having a tight fairway with a small opening for righty backhand hyzers. Hole 5 is nearly 600 feet, usually into the wind.

Holes 8 and 11 are wooded holes unlike the others, and are fairly long compared to similar holes elsewhere.

The back nine moves the level of challenge up to nearly Idlewild levels, with nearly no deuce holes but plenty of mowed, long uphill fairways in secluded wooded areas (saw a half dozen deer in one round). Highlights include a long downhill shot made for 400-foot Destroyer drives (Hole 13), a 450-foot right turn with a racetrack-like banked curve (Hole 16), and a very long grassy ravine hole with just enough room to drive in (Hole 17).

Also has a punishing, 620-foot uphill hole that is basically a par-four (Hole 14). Has an old practice basket that makes a decent 'Hole 19'.

Grounds maintenance that is better than Hickory Hills, Oshtemo and Leviathan.

Cons:

Baskets are single-chain Discatchers that appear to be fairly old, and are inferior to the North course baskets.

Hole 10 is a short-downhill misfire that should be fixed or eliminated. As with Idlewild, the 'uphill-to downhill' ratio is off, with Hole 10 being a waste of a downhill hole opportunity.

Many long walks between some holes. Navigation may be tough for first timers, but is better than a couple of years ago with some spray-painted rocks indicating where teepads are.

Short tees are dirt, sharing a vice with Flip City. A long walk to the parking lot after Hole 18, made better by playing 'Hole 19'.

Deep, tall grass can make play difficult in mid-summer. Many holes have very thick, disc-swallowing rough (have lost a couple of discs here).

Not crazy about the Mando on the otherwise wide-open Hole 5.

Other Thoughts:

The overall combination of qualities on this course (challenge, fun, scenery, amenities) combined with many fewer players than the recently-overcrowded Oshtemo course lift this course to what may be the best in southwest Michigan.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
mtuboarder
Experience: 3 played 3 reviews
4.00 star(s)

challenging variety 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 14, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

It starts out very easy to get your confidence up with short and open unobstructed holes. The back 9 are more challenging with long tight fairways thru the forest. This is a great place to get away from annoying crowds and enjoy nature. I saw 5 deer in one round of 18 holes.

Cons:

This is rugged! be careful not to lose your disc if its off the fairway. The grass is long and the bushes are untrimmed.

Other Thoughts:

If it were closer to me, I'd both the three rivers courses all the time! They are awesome for more skilled players.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
dwebb
Experience: 9 played 7 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Gotta love it 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 1, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This course has an absolutely wonderful layout since being redesigned a few years back. There is a large amount of variety in the holes and there are many challenging skill shots and short cuts.

Nothing is flat here, and almost nothing is straight. You will see a variety of up and down holes, bend shots, elevated tees, and long winding curves. Long open pastures with great views and open shots land into tightly tucked catchers that in many cases cannot be seen from the tee.

The fairways are usually short and once you have played here it is easy to find your way around a second time.

Due to its location the course is usually not very busy and you really never have to wait. If there is waiting, you could go play the other 18 holes which is right next door.

Cons:

The tall grass here is killer, and is a disc eater, as are many thorn covered hills which surround a few holes. You may want to pick up your discs if you are unsure if you can take the shot rather than risk losing them.

When it rains here, things get messy, with many holes under the trees and winding down and up out of valleys, you'll find yourself in puddles many a times. But the good news is they usually dry out quickly.

A couple of holes here require a spotter to see where the discs go, and you will more than likely lose a disc in the tall grass.

Bring the bug spray when its that season and avoid the middle of the day here, under the trees is hot, and most of the holes are blocked from the wind.

Other Thoughts:

This course is a great course to play. If you are a beginner, I would be weary, and bring someone with who has played the course. While the first few holes seem very inviting, you will quickly realize the true difficulty of the course.

Also, although many other reviews mention this course is free, it is not. There is a donation box at the entrance which helps keep the park running. The cost is one dollar per person each time. Please help support the park by NOT playing for free.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top