Maple City, MI

Myles Kimmerly

Permanent course
3.765(based on 29 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Myles Kimmerly reviews

Filter
16 3
Puckstopper
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.7 years 36 played 36 reviews
3.00 star(s)

I'm TIRED!!! :)

Reviewed: Played on:May 9, 2023 Played the course:once

Pros:

Concrete Tees on every hole

Baskets in decent shape

Abundant elevation is used well to create risk/reward shots.

Adequate trash cans throughout the course

A few benches here and there

Other than 18, the course seems to be in an area exclusively for disc golf.

Cons:

More benches would be nice for us old guys

Lefty/Righty or FH/BH balance is way off. Your lefty or forehand dominant friends will be at full mast throughout this course. This could make for an awkward round, depending on your level of comfort with that sort of thing.

Other Thoughts:

Lefty Paradise:

You'll throw anny all damn night
Throwing in the Lefty's Paradise

Your elbow will need ice
Throwing in the Lefty's Paradise

You'll only hyzer once or twice
Thowing in the Lefty's Paradise...

I'm not saying the course is unbalanced, but it leans further right than the love child that would result after the Proud Boys ran a train on Marjorie Taylor Greene...

Ok, jokes aside, Myles Kimmerly will wear you OUT if you go into the round a little bit tired, out of shape, etc... Ask me how I know. But despite the fact that I was dragging ass by the time I got back to my car, I really did enjoy my round at Kimmerly.

I'm not sure I've ever played another course with so much elevation change. I'm not sure there's a single flat hole on the entire course and it definitely makes for a unique and enjoyable experience. I can't say it's an overly challenging course, as I shot a 58 playing here solo on kind of an off day. I'm a rec level player, and I'm pretty sure I can knock 6 strokes off than number just by rebalancing my bag and knowing where the pins are. So Int and above players are probably going to want more challenge than MK offers.

In addition to the elevation, there are very few wide open holes, but also very few super tight ones. If I lived in the area I'd be out here quite a bit to improve my conditioning, line shaping and anny shots.

So why only a 3 instead of a better rating for a course with so much going for it? At the end of the day it the frustration from many similar, unbalanced holes, combined with the shortness of the course overall makes it a Good course instead of Very Good one. There's the possibility for a 4 star course here, but it would require stretching the overall length out to 7k' and addressing the balance issue.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
cloud
Experience: 69 played 8 reviews
4.00 star(s)

great course, take some under stable discs 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 29, 2019 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Hilly, great tees, challenging (requires most skills, not just strength or just control...) Several birdie opportunities. Woods/Rough not disc-eating.

Cons:

A little hard to find some tees (Tee 4 comes to mind (go wind up the hill to your right)). More anhizer shots needed that most (for RHBH) Keep that in mind when packing your bag).

Other Thoughts:

Control is rewarded over power or distance. I've played there about 10 times, and watched my score go from "don't bother" to 54. It took several times though, to really understand each hole - but, that's part of the challenge that I liked. Feels good getting some birdies in there too. Play it fast and it's great exercise.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
davetherocketguy
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 19.6 years 114 played 105 reviews
3.50 star(s)

The Hills Are Alive With ROLLAWAYS! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 2, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Concrete tees are finished well. If anything they seemed a tad small for some of the longer holes
- As far as the layout is concerned there were oodles and oodles of opportunities for roll-a-way putts. Which of course means your putting game had better be on point or you're screwed. #16 is a great example. With the basket placed on this tall pimple of a hill at a rather reachable distance off the tee it does not make sense at all to attack the green. Everything slopes away - STEEPLY.
- While the tee signs are rather old and showing their age they do the job rather nicely. Distances seemed realistic and the drawings accurate.
- This course really makes use of the existing very hilly topography quite well.
- There are a couple of rather fun ace runs here. #4, #11, #12 and #15 all come to mind as ace runs. However, if you miss #15 and hyzer over the basket with a RHBH throw you can kiss your disc bye bye as it disappears down the steep slope...Do not ask me how I know.
- The Discraft Chainstars here seem like they've been here a while they are in great shape.
- With such a well worn course, the shule off of the fairways is fairly well beaten in and finding discs is usually easy peasy.

Cons:

- The biggest thing holding this course back is length. This is not a terribly long course especially if a noodle arm like myself is referring to 4 of the 18 as ace runs. It would be nice to have the course be a bit more challenging.
- The cobblestone paths are a bit of a nightmare to walk on. Almost too steep. Hopefully someone has the time and ambition in the future to put in either steps or terracing of some sort. I have to imagine taking a header on some of these slopes would be bad.
- Navigation while not terrible could use a little help for the first timer here. Theres a few spots where some "Next Tee" signs would be helpful. So as a word of warning the first time you play here download the map off of DGCR or make use of Udisc. While just following the path from basket to tee usually works there are hiking trails spread throughout that makes things a bit challenging.
- Some benches would be great on this course. There are a few but just not enough IMHO. I did see logs placed in bench like locations but - benches would be nicer cause I'm old.

Other Thoughts:

Myles Kimmerly has been around a good long while and it shows - not that this is a bad thing. It's also pretty obvious there are locals who love and maintain it so dropping a few deneros in the drop box was a no brainer for me. As stated previously this is a hilly course. I mean, REALLY hilly. So this is definitely not cart friendly in the least. If I were to compare MK to another course I've already been to I'd say its on par with Meyer-Broadway South course. So of course good footwear is a must. You huckers and your flip flops are going to hate this place. While I came on a rather cool fall day I have to imagine the bugs could potentially be bad in the warmer months.

This isn't a destination course but certainly worth the drive from Traverse City for me while visiting the area. Be prepared for a workout and a ton of disc golf fun.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 3
jake9429
Experience: 9.7 years 19 played 2 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Great course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 18, 2015 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Concrete tee pads were a nice surprise to find at every hole. I throughly enjoyed playing this course because there are a wide variety of fun and interesting holes to play. I threw every single disc that I bag at Myles. None of the holes feel repetitive or at least they are staggered enough to not notice if they are. The death putts can be a real issue but never the end of the world. Myles Kimmerly is a good challenge too. As other reviewers have said with the different height elevations some holes play longer that you'd think.

Cons:

The one "con" is that the course has a lot of varied terrain. That doesn't make it bad at all and the course would be a lot less fun if it was on level ground. Throwing from the tee on hole 3 was exciting and holes like that are why I play disc golf.

Other Thoughts:

Defiantly one of the must play courses in the Traverse City area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 5
Innovadude
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 25.8 years 235 played 180 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Woodsy 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 20, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Bathrooms, ample parking, fairly easy to navigate (maps at the message board, but hardly needed unless you're not paying attention).
- The woods holes, 2/3 of the holes, are fair and not extremely challenging, but do require a well executed drive to park.
- Hills keep you on your toes.
- Clean, hardly and trash or vandalism compared to some courses.

Cons:

- Rubber tees are tiny on some holes, uneven.
- Some blind holes.

Other Thoughts:

Wanted to go 3.5 due to small, uneven rubber tees but let's go 4.0.
NO Sprint coverage at all.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
BogeyNoMore
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 19.7 years 479 played 183 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Plaid flannel shirt optional 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 25, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Solid course in multi-use county park. Rolling terrain and woods make for an interesting and challenging round.
• Discplay:
+ Very well wooded with a few fairly open holes (at the beginning and end) to provide a some sort of balance between wooded / open holes.
+ Rolling terrain comes into play in one way or another pretty much every hole except for maybe 2 or 3 of them - keeps thing interesting. Several baskets where roll-aways can add strokes... think before you putt or approach.
+ Some holes feel a bit longer than posted because of the woods, the elevation, or both.
+ Most fairways are pretty well defined with many holes forcing a specific line, but some offer a few different routes and you need to make a decision.
+ While most of the fairways are pretty tight, there's enough room to hit all the shots. That said, bad kicks off a tree or a shots that get away from you could leave you with tough recoveries which can pile up strokes.
+ Reasonable (but not great) mix of fairway shapes
+ Some well-guarded and nicely tucked pins.

• Equipment: Baskets in good condition. Tee signs are pretty good too (don't recall if any were missing).
Course and park were nicely groomed and well-maintained. Don't recall seeing much garbage on the course.
• Routing/Nav: Except for getting from 3 to 4, it was pretty easy to follow for the most part. I wouldn't say the map's necessary, but it helped us out a few times. The one crappy part was getting from 3 to 4....
• Aesthetics: Nice enough - starts out on rolling green hills before taking you for a nice stroll up and down through the woods... quite hilly, but not particularly strenuous. I bet this place is bursting with color in the fall (probably also a nightmare finding discs).
• Memorable holes: #18 feels particularly nice after a dozen or so holes worth of playing lumberjack. I also enjoyed throwing an open shot from the elevated tee down to the guarded pin tucked back in the trees on #3.

•Extras:
+ bathrooms on the way to 1st tee
+ scorecard w/map (the online aerial map is much better)
+ Isolation: feels away from it all once you get into the middle holes in the woods

Cons:

•Tees - too short and not in good condition. Fixing these would be the biggest improvement IMO.

• #5 is lousy filler hole - way too easy to card a 3, very difficult to get a 2... results in hardly any scoring separation. Basically requires you to shoot beyond the pin on a hard fade to the right and back toward the tee to run at the basket. Could easily be fixed by moving the pin farther down and tucking it into the woods off the clearing that comprises the fairway.

• Could use a few L & R turns and few less straight
• Walk from 3 to 4 is confusing.

• Chainstars catch great but are very hard to spot in the woods - flags would really help visibility plus tell you what the wind is doing at that end of the fairway.

• The walk from 3 to 4 is longer than it looks on the map (just follow the path leading from 3's basket into the woods until you get to the 4's tee). Somehow, we thought we made a mistake and backtracked a bit.

Other Thoughts:

Myles Kimmerly should appeal to those who favor placement over distance, especially if you prefer a little elevation with your tight & technical. It's fairly well designed and nice place for a quiet round.

Wind is likely come into play, affecting shots on holes 1-3 and 17-18.

On the whole, it's better than most "good" courses I've played, hence the 3.5, but not by ton. Better tees and reworking #5 would certainly be improvements, but even with those, I personally didn't find the discplay interesting enough to rate what I'd call excellent. That would require a few more holes where you could appreciate a full flight and a bit more variety in terms of distances and fairway types.

MK's biggest "problem" may be that Hickory Hills and Carly's Playground are so spectacular that it feels kind of plain in comparison, but it's solid enough to stand as a very good course on it's own merrit, and is certainly a nice addition to the area, even if it doesn't have the wow factor the others do.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
low country kp
Experience: 15.7 years 14 played 1 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Love it 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 5, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Hilly course, even if you don't throw well its an awesome hike. Many different kinds of shots and holes, with hills, trees, turns, and bends incorporated. A very nice challenging course well designed. First three holes and last two keep it from being all woods as they are out in the open which I love. Start and finish out of the woods to keep it as a mix of wooded and open. Several great little spots to stop and rest or just hang out throughout the course. Awesome place to run around and let the dawgs loose. After hole 18, you can throw all of your discs right out onto the soccer field if no one is playing.

Cons:

Some tee pads are rough. Watch your step! Just a little bit of sand on the rubber pads and your ACL is torn or ankle broken. Ha. But seriously they can be very slippery. I can think of at least one tee pad that is far too short.

Other Thoughts:

Love this course regardless of how many holes are tough and seem to turn to the right. Always interesting.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 10
The Miniac
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 47.8 years 383 played 35 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Off by a Myle ! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 29, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This property has some fantastic potential unrealized. Some open rolling fields surrounded by undulating hills, filled with a lush forest with very light underbrush, if any.
Maps and scorecards available on walk to 1st tee. Ample parking & pavilions.
On the walks to the next hole, many of the smaller trees had been bent and braided together to form an archway. So, one of the 'coolest' features on the course had zero effect on how the course plays.

Cons:

Without question, the biggest issue is the tees. The Fly Pads, combined with the sandy dirt are, more often than not, fairly slippery. However, the primary issue with the tee pads is that there are only 3 or so, on the entire course, that are FLAT. Most are lumpy and slope up, down, sideways, or any combination of the 3, though the tee could be moved 15' and be flat... and still provide a similar, if not the same, shot.

Hole #5's tee pad is only HALF of a pad (several of these) and, if you want a run up, you have to back up into a tree, and cross-step while hopping onto the pad, though there is open & level ground 10' away. Hole #6 is sloped upward so steeply that only Evel Kneivel could love it. Stand sideways on it and you might be mistaken for Captain Morgan. It's kinda hard to play solid golf when your concentration is placed solely on your footing, rather than on where the disc should go. I fell on/off the tee TWICE during one round.

What may be the shortest fairway on the course, has what may be the best tee pad of them all.

The compound word "Fair-Way" is only marginally adhered to. Most flight lines are apparent, but several would be a challenge to hit even with excellent tee pads. Several fairways with little "pimper" trees that block an otherwise excellent flight-line.

I just played my 2nd tourney here and this course was nowhere near tourney ready. It definitely needed TLC (Trim Limbs, Cal) Those branches and large trees that had been cut looked to have been left wherever they landed. One hole had a massive downed tree across the fairway that had possibly 50 sharp branches sticking straight out at all angles, that looked like the front-line defenses at Gettysburg. On the fairways or off, I spent a good portion of my round, moving LARGE dead branches and logs out of my way for an unencumbered stance.

Most fairways are straight or flick-friendly. Maybe 2? hyzers off the tee. Several of the tee signs looked to have distances that were off, and many of the longer holes are "tweeners' that only really "move" the score because someone didn't get good footing of the tee. At least 7 of the holes have a mild to steep drop off behind the basket. I didn't see ANY directional signs, but the paths were fairly well worn.

Other Thoughts:

Once again, this is a gorgeous piece of property, but in my not-so-humble opinion, the Myles Kimmerly course falls disappointingly short of its potential, and the biggest challenge of this course (for me) was to my patience.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
apparition
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13 years 47 played 39 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Intimate, scenic, rhythmic. Is it okay to call a course "elegant"? Well, Myles is elegant. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 14, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

+ Heavily wooded, but with defined fairways
+ Every hole has multiple lines to choose from, some with very tempting risk vs. reward
+ Intimate and scenic setting off the beaten path
+ Constantly changing elevation keeps it interesting, even on relatively short holes
+ Old growth, tree canopy, and branch archways
+ Mowed walking path on the open holes
+ Decent tee signs with "Next Tee" directions (pay attention)
+ Good benches, even when they were stumps
+ The course just has astounding flow and rhythm

Cons:

- Hole #5 is short and super curved and just seemed out of place
- No directional signs, but not a big problem once you hit #6, but pay attention to the tee signs which tell you the direction
- A lot of bees in the park, but not once you get passed hole 3

Other Thoughts:

Out of all the up north courses I played with three other intermediate-level throwers in mid-July 90 degree weather, we had the most fun here. None of us knew what to expect as we drove from Traverse City through what seemed like the middle of nowhere. While we drove up and down big rolling hills passing farms, vineyards, and old forests we felt like we were intentionally getting lost. We had to follow our GPS to "Miles" Kimmerly, not Myles, so be forewarned. We descended on the huge field with soccer, baseball, etc. and realized we had the course to ourselves. Didn't see a soul. It was very intimate and extremely fun.

Once you play the first three hilly holes, each with dense woods to your right side, you start to crave going into the forest. Hole #4 was classic and satisfying - right through the woods, and then you walk out into a clearing. In the open for two more holes and then we again felt like we descended into the realm of undisturbed Michigan disc golf awesomeness with ten amazing wooded holes. It is really easy to get into your own disc golf rhythm here. I think some players will say that makes this course easy and rate it lower, but I think it really speaks to the course designers intentions and was deliberate. The fairways are denser with tougher lines to hit than Hickory. The hills are a lot less demanding than Hickory or Carly's, but since the elevation keeps constantly changing so does the variables you have to consider when choosing the line you want to hit. Risk vs reward shot choice keeps the course interesting. The course's rhythm just resonated with me. All four of us were always excited to get to the next tee to see what we were up against. In the end, I felt like Myles was celebrating our round in his forest with two open holes - #17's tough uphill shot and a huge par 4 on #18, both with the woods on your left side, contrasting nicely against the first three holes (with the woods on the right).

As part of "up north Michigan disc golf", like I said before, Myles was the funnest mix. Myles didn't push us to the extreme like Carly (5/5), but he didn't underwhelm me like Hickory (4/5). It is well-designed, balanced and exciting. Just straight up good disc golf. The blend of elevation, woods, and left/right pin placement reminded me of some of the great courses in Michigan (Bluegill, Flip, Red Hawk). This is one course I can't wait to play in the fall. It will be gorgeous. On its own, Myles might only be considered a 4.0 course, especially to advanced/pro players, but when I consider the location, how intimate and scenic the setting is, how it compares to the other courses in the area, the course rhythm, and how much fun we had, I confidently rate it 4.5/5, and the three others I played with agree.

Thanks for reading!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
GatorGolfer
Experience: 20.7 years 8 played 2 reviews
4.50 star(s)

N. Michigan Wooded Gem 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 18, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Secluded 18 hole course in the woods of beautiful Leelanau county. Begins and ends in the open, with plenty of tight wooded holes in between that require accurate and technical shots. Elevation is a factor on nearly every hole, adding to this course's beauty and difficulty.

Cons:

Not the longest course; bombs with the driver are only required on a few of the holes with most of the wooded holes requiring a mid-range. The mats can get slippery when they are sandy.

Other Thoughts:

"Maple City" (as my friends and I call it) is our go-to course to escape the occasional crowds at Hickory Hills during the summer. Although it doesn't quite have the "fun factor" that Hickory has, this course makes up for it in beauty, seclusion, and technical difficulty.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
bygwyllay
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.8 years 93 played 77 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Heh heh, you said "undulating" 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 25, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course is outstanding; a real treat to play. The course plays in mostly woods, with the first three and last two playing along the outskirts on undulating hills.

Scorecard (with course map!) avilable at the billboard leading up to tee 1. Also some history to the course there, as well as the sponsors that made it happen. Apparently it was built by eagle scouts?! Every hole also has a sign with a map and distance, along with the sponsor (if any). Rubber tees were bolted into the ground and very well maintained. Very low vandalism.

Elevation change on EVERY hole. I'd say half the holes are valley shots, with both tee and pin on either hill. A great downhill bomb on 3 was probably my favourite shot. #6 was also great, throwing over a field and then dipping into the woods before your approach shot is uphill and the pin seems impossible to hit.

The woods are deceiving. It was very cool under the canopy despite my playing through at the end of July. Mosquitos were non-existent, and only a few deerflys buzzed about. It was also very spacious underneath the trees, and this course looked pretty worn in (in a good way).

Fairness of play - The fairways are deceptively open, but an errant throw will cost you a stroke or two. The "rough" really isn't even that rough, but the lines you are forced to hit after a bad throw are wickedly hard (great design!). A lot of pin placements are next to big hills or ravines so rollaways will happen. You really have to concentrate with your approach shots (a spotter helps a lot). Overall a very tough course, but also very rewarding when your disc does what you tell it to :)

Cons:

I was surprised that even with all the elevation to play with, a lot of the holes were very similar. Only one uphill shot to be had, and it was less than 200 ft. in length. I think they missed out on some variety here.

I guess I'll mention the rubber tees since we all would love to have concrete, but I thought they were some of the nicest I've seen. The sandy terrain can make them slippy (sic), but they aren't dangerous by any means.

Maybe some "next tee" signs? Once you're in the forest you are IN IT and there were a few trails that can lead you in the wrong direction. The course map on the scorecard was a big help here, so I recommend grabbing one before playing through.

Other Thoughts:

I'm glad this course was as good as it was, since it was the only course within a 50 mile radius of the Sleeping Bear Dunes. Take the time to play if you are on vacation up that way...you will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Jukeshoe
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.5 years 315 played 266 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Slip n' Slidin' But Still FUN!!! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 28, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Myles Kimmerly has a fine balance of hole type/style, a beautiful location, and solid design. The course begins and ends on (more or less) open rolling hills. A few scattered trees and the edge of the woods come into play in places. The meat of the course runs through a thick stand of forest covering the hills. Many of the wooded holes are short and technical, but a few are longer. Tight fairways mean that getting into trouble is inevitable, and the rough areas in the woods can be downright punishing.
- Above average "balance" of hole styles. Open, wooded, up, down, left, right, long, short...Kimmerly wants to test every shot in your bag.
- Great risk/reward. Punishing areas make players think twice about being aggressive, and several holes have excellent rollaway potential with optimal pin placements.
- Great use of the moderate elevation. Every hole has at least some small wrinkle, although many play up, down, or alongside the more major rolling terrain.
- Other than the tees (see below) all the amenities were decent, although the signage on some holes seemed grossly incorrect, even taking into account the elevation. Bathrooms on site by parking lot.

Cons:

- The rubber tee mats are terrible. All were fairly short and non-grippy. Some were uneven or had the back sticking up, presenting a real tripping hazard. With the sandy soil adding to the slipperiness, these tees are fairly dangerous (out of my crew, one person tripped over the lip of a mat that was sticking up while another went down hard after his plant foot slipped out from under him on the sandy pad).
- A few of the shorter wooded holes might get a bit repetitive with repeated play (once one gets the lines "dialed in," so to speak).

Other Thoughts:

- Myles Kimmerly's secluded wooded holes are gorgeous.
- My main knock against this course is the tee pads, which is a shame because other than that, Myles Kimmerly has it "going on." As a player with a short run-up and sure footing, I can usually over-look bad tees, but these had even me nervous.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
notapro
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.6 years 568 played 281 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Intermediate/Expert 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 25, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Course is set in a hilly park, with both open and heavily wooded areas. Looked like disc golf is well separated from everything else here, though it seemed like a lot could be happening elsewhere.
- The opening and ending holes are in more open areas, which still border the forest and have larger trees as hazards on the fairway. These also have good elevation changes, with some elevated teepads, undulating fairways, and an uphill blind RHBH hyzer. With some serious distance, protected baskets, and sloped greens, these holes are tough.
- Remainder of the course is set in a dense forest, with plenty of rough and interesting lines. Vast majority are straight shots of varying length and difficulty, though there are some obvious hyzers and anhyzers too. Always a mix of trees and sloped areas to add challenge, including some nasty rollaway greens and tough basket placements.
- Good variety in hole length, with some over 300' in the woods as well. A lot of shorter shots as well, but they demand accuracy to make up for it. Nasty rough in spots can make some shorter holes a nightmare.
- Great signage, good baskets, navigation is pretty straightforward.

Cons:

- Most of the wooded areas here are very similar, with a lot of dead ahead throws needed. It is not easy by any means, but it can feel a little repetitive after a while. More advanced players may be able to breeze through without much thought.
- Average hole length is around 280', and some very long open holes mean there are some very short wooded holes. With four under 206', and four more under 261', a lot of holes are tough approach shots.
- Teepads are a nuisance, with many being small and others out of shape.

Other Thoughts:

- This is an interesting course in that the open holes might present more of a challenge than the wooded holes. More "open" holes like #2, #3, and #17 were the most memorable, as well as some tougher ones in the forest, but a lot of others were very similar. Still, a challenge for a casual player, and maybe even some experts.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
apdrvya
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.8 years 349 played 293 reviews
3.50 star(s)

oh look, trees.. 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 28, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

-aesthetic- it's a pretty course, built as an eagle scout project about 6 years ago. in a leelanau county park, this course screams northern michigan woods!

-Navigation-not a probem, flow was easy to follow, the walk from 3 to 4 was a bit annoying.

-Tee pads-rubber mats, which is normally a BIG negative on a sandy course, we played on a slightly rainy day so they were adequate. One complaint on these was the short pads on a couple of short holes, but there was adequate room behind to run up.

-baskets- great condition, not innova!

-STRONG FINISH!!!--holes 15-18 saved my round and really saved the rating on this course. There is nothing worse than playing a course that has an epic middle and a crappy finsh, the finish here did not disappoint!

Cons:

-too many aceable holes-too many holes that were under 200 feet, while these ace runs are fun, the risk/reward makes them a little more fun (#15 comes to mind, almost an ace turned into a 3).

-#5- This is a rediculous hole, the hard hard turnover/anhyzer here on a 200 foot hole is a par 5? crazy.

-not as worn as hickory-even discs on the paths were hard to find at times with all the deadfall.

Other Thoughts:

Great course, really, but not a destination course by any stretch. I played the same day I played hickory hills (Before HH) and set me up well to play the epic adventure that is HH...
Go play if you're in TC!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
deBebbler
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 28.8 years 75 played 34 reviews
4.00 star(s)

It's been too long... 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 19, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Beautiful blend of holes. Open field fairways and tight woods holes. Some baskets hidden from view, too.

Undulating grounds give each hole some nice elevation changes, even if the basket and tee are level to one another.

Surprisingly intuitive feel to the flow of the course. I never even looked the wrong way to find the next tee.

The trees in the woods sufficently block out the sun, so that there is very little ground growth. Disc retrieval, even on errant shots, is a breeze.

Pristine informative tee signage, including excellent representations of the hole, and some forgiving par values.

The rest of the park is nice, with bathrooms, course map & scorecards, and large fields to practice drives.

Cons:

Awful tee mats. They really clash with the rest of the course, which is well designed, defined and manicured.

It's kind of in the boonies, which is a not exactly a con. It may be a hike to get to, but very little traffic when you do.

Not much else. I would be very content if this was my local course. I guess a little extra distance would be nice (like 6 more holes!!)

Other Thoughts:

I hadn't played this course since the year it opened, and I didn't want to review it without playing it again. Boy, am I glad I did, as this course has aged like a fine wine.

The fairways have been beaten in within the trees, creating a fully defined course. There is still plenty of vegetation around, but there was no way I was mistaking where the course went.

I always think of Hickory Hills when I think of Traverse City. However, since there always are enough players there to fill a large concert hall, making some rounds last forever, the quiet secluded nature of MK makes it a great alternative.

My favorite hole was #15, which threw across the side of the hill. The line was closed for a LHBH throw and open for a RHBH throw, but the hill gave way so a hard RHBH fade would take you way down the hill. Great design.

Two thumbs up for a course with a lot to offer to both n00bs and experienced players alike.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
BucketBonanza
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 21.7 years 47 played 30 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Where Is Everybody? 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 3, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

Journeyed to the north lands today. Oh man, my brethren and sistren, you guys should go up if you haven't. Myles started off with some shots on hilly ground and into dune grass, but quickly tucked us away into a woods and a clearing and again into the woods before spitting us out once more into open air for the conclusion of a thoroughly enjoyable ride. There is just something about being among those trees reaching high for the light. I love the forest. This course asks you politely to try your shot bag out in its glorious spread. This course had me admiring some really sweet looking holes. Trees and elevation fluctuation kept the excitement coming.

Cons:

This course goes in a flash if you have some semblance of game. A bit short, but just whip. Empty discarded alcohol containers at every tee pad make me both smile and shake my head simultaneously. Needs some discipline and ambitious care takers or hungry hobos.

Other Thoughts:

This place is such a giant sleeper. I am amazed and appalled that nobody was there on such a magnificent day to play but at the same time I am glad that it was our own private paradise. Make the run up north. This trip was the best thing I have done all summer. Myles is the goods. Chill out and love the land.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
Jax11
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.7 years 103 played 35 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Caterpillars! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 23, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

Great variety of holes playing in and out of the woods. Most holes were a test of control and could be reached with a mid-range or a putter. The fairways are tight, but usually offered multiple lines. There were several holes where the basket sat on a sloping hill where a missed putt had the potential to roll away creating high risk/reward decisions. There are pit toilets on site and there is a course map with scorecards right before hole one. The tee signs are solid and are exactly like those found at Hickory Hills.

Cons:

The tee pads were slick rubber and lumpy in spots. They also had blocks for a "fault line" that seemed treacherous yet no one in my group got hurt. There was a lot of garbage on the course. Some people had even stacked some on the baskets. Overall I felt like this course was somewhat neglected.

Other Thoughts:

I played this course during a tent caterpillar infestation. I do not know much about these insects, but they were all over and it made the round rather miserable. The insects and their feces dropped from the trees the whole round making that "light rain" sound. We ran into webs even in the fairways. If you get creeped out by bugs DO NOT play when these caterpillars are around. Though I know the caterpillars will be gone at some point, they do affect the overall atmosphere of the course and therefore drop the overall rating.

Despite the caterpillars I really enjoyed my round at this DG course. I can't wait to return here when the caterpillars are gone and the concrete tee pads are installed. With those improvements it could reach a 4/5 and with a little clean up it could be a 5/5 in my book. Not quite a destination course but could be with a few more improvements. If and when I play this course again (hopefully without the caterpillars) I will be sure to update my review.

Also, as someone else mentioned the soccer fields are a solid place to throw some drives. To add to that thought, if you don't mind gravel, throw from the parking lot out over the soccer fields for some sweet down hill driving practice.

5/16/12 - I have returned and the course was not overrun by caterpillars. It was a wonderful experience the second time around without the creepy insects. The majority of the garbage seen throughout the round was now in the waste baskets instead of out in the fiarway, a definite PLUS! Still no concrete tees, and the rubber pads are lumpier. I have updated the overall course rating to reflect these improvements!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
LangWu99
Experience: 16.8 years 16 played 5 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Still wonderful 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 17, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Some lovely holes and generous pars make this course a wonderful place to get some confidence back.
Clean rubber tees make for good traction.
Not nearly as crowded as Hickory
Pin placement tests different technical aspects of your game

Cons:

Definately a hike with some pretty challenging terrian in a few places.
For first time play throughs it is a challenge to find a few of the tees.
A bit of distance between tees as well.
Rain on rubber tees could present a problem

Other Thoughts:

This year is the first I have ever experienced such an icredible infestation of tent worms. Right now the conditions make it damn near impossible to trek this course without a long stick infront of you twisting all the webbing from the tent worms. We came acrossed two guys who gave up on playing the rest of the course becuz it was so bad.

This is the first time I've ever seen anything like this. Beware of the bugs this year but don't let them stop you from playing one of the nicest courses in northern Michigan.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
sorotan
Experience: 13.8 years 28 played 10 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Nice righty course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 5, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

Constant terrain change. Plenty-o-hills. Easy to follow course/signs. Variations between tight and cavernous areas within the woods. Several sites in the beginning, in the middle, and at the end in open fields. Not heavily played in Early May (60F late afternoon on a Wed).

Cons:

The site definitely needs it's members to change out the trash cans for larger bags, or have them replaced out more frequently.

Other Thoughts:

The course is easy to follow, is not confusing at any point. The hills are more or less rolling in nature, not as steep as say Mt Holiday or Hickory Hills. The general tilt towards the right in the tee design gives more work to side arms and tomahawks than forearm shots, but the site is fun to play!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
jamays
Experience: 14.4 years 18 played 6 reviews
3.50 star(s)

North of average in northern Michigan! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 18, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

If the whole course were as nicely laid out as 1, 2, 3, 17 and 18 and had cement tee pads, this course would easily be a 4.5! Most of the course has interesting and challenging changes in elevation. The fairways through the woods on 4-16 are generally open enough and are playable with a little accuracy. Pin placement is definitely above average and with a good drive, can still be fun to approach.

There are restrooms at the beginning of the course as well as a course map and score cards. Definite plus.

Cons:

The rubber tee mats, while nicer then dirt, are a negative for the course and get very slippery.

Navigation is mostly easy though, could be better marked.

Some fairways are obstructed and moderately difficult to walk through.

There is trash through a lot of the course.

Other Thoughts:

There is a soccer field at the end of 18 that is perfect for practicing drives after a round!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top