• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Broomfield, CO

North Midway Park

Permanent course
1.765(based on 29 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

North Midway Park reviews

Filter
12 0
Shadrach3
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 5.7 years 323 played 314 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Blah 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 25, 2021 Played the course:once

Pros:

A wide open strip with little more than baskets.

I don't have a lot of good things to say about East Midway. The baskets are solid DGAs, and the tees (on the sidewalk) are well-marked. Furthermore, there is a fair bit of length, with plenty of holes over 300' and even 400' out here. Whoever installed the course also did a good job painting what are essentially alternate tees, marked 10-18 in a different color than the original 1-9.

There is some level of shot shaping, as well. Several holes navigate around one or two trees. Overall, it's a bomber course, and those players may well enjoy sending the disc.

Cons:

The course lacks any kind of comfort item. The baskets and tees are functional, but there are no tee signs and no course kiosk. At times, multiple baskets are visible and it's unclear which is for the current hole.

The variety is almost negligible. As noted previously, it's a one-dimensional challenge. Also, the front and back "halves" of the course are basically just alternate tees, which don't affect things a lot.

Beyond this, there are some other cons. A drainage ditch runs through parts of the course and is thoroughly disgusting. There's no shelter from the already-strong mile-high sun or any wind. The course also plays up and down the same narrow strip of land, which creates safety issues with multiple players and overlapping fairways.

Other Thoughts:

Probably the least enjoyable course I played in two months of Colorado disc golf. The length put most of the holes out of my reach, so it became a slog through sun and grass on uninteresting holes. I am fully confident in rating this course Poor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
hankditton
Experience: 3 played 2 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Awkward Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 26, 2021 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Course is along a nice greenway. Clear, well kept-grass to play on

Cons:

- Awkward course along a busy walking path. You're constantly weaving along the sidewalk and throwing very close to the sidewalk/parking lots.- Sidewalk is very busy with pedestrian traffic (near Sunset on a Monday night). Pedestrians have no idea there's disc golf there.- Two holes had people just sitting and talking on the phone or smoking directly in the middle of the course. But it's hard to ask them to move since they're just sitting on a fence or in the park (not obvious at all it's the middle of a course)- The area isn't the 'nicest' (for Broomfield). A few characters hanging around towards sundown.- Missing a basket (6). Some baskets developing a decent tilt to them. - No real tee-pads, maps, or markers. There are spray-painted numbers on the sidewalk for the tees, and the baskets have numbers (though some are peeling).- course plays back and forth, so if it's busy you'll be throwing into other groups constantly.

Other Thoughts:

Overall I didn't have very much fun. I was too worried about hitting people, cars, etc. to really feel like I could throw a disc or get some good practice in. Update - I bumped this up from a 1 to a 1.5 after playing this course in the early morning when the park is empty a few times. If it's empty, without pedestrians and other players, this is a nice course for beginners and intermediate players. It's got some long holes for bigger arms (400+), and for beginners it's in a nice park without much OB, so it isn't very punishing of bad shots. However, I still really don't like playing this course if it's busy at all.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
sjroesinger
Experience: 8.1 years 37 played 37 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Good, quick 9 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 7, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

Good course along green belt/drainage ditch
Good baskets (a few numbers had fallen off)
Well mowed park, not crowded

Cons:

Tee boxes spray painted on path, a bit hard to follow without a map
Fairly wide open, some trees in play
Some trash/homeless possessions in the parking lot

Other Thoughts:

I had a fun, quick round here. Great place to practice if you live in the area. Otherwise, not a destination course
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
AtomicCEO
Experience: 9 played 4 reviews
1.50 star(s)

A Quiet Practice Round 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Mar 2, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

Uncrowded, nice area, mowed grass, nice baskets, a few trees and drainage/creek for obstacles

Cons:

Every tee is from the same sidewalk, and if there were more people playing, there definitely would have been cross-traffic. Few interesting shots, narrow fairway, no elevation changes, very little variety hole to hole.

Other Thoughts:

Practice only. Not really a course worth playing.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 3
tygr22
Experience: 12.1 years 2 played 1 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Midway 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 18, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Fairly open, but tee placement puts trees in flight path to add difficulty. Not ever really busy. Once you understand the layout, the course has a good mixture of long and short holes that are great for learning as well as practice.
Businesses on the south and houses on the north along the whole course require accuracy on a few holes.
Good baskets.

Cons:

Can be really confusing if you've never played before. Tee pads are marked with a spray painted number on side walk--unless you know that, the course appears to have no tee locations.
No elevation change.
Holes 1-4 go one direction and holes 5-9 come back the direction you just came, so you at times have to watch out for other players....not a huge deal tho.

Other Thoughts:

This is the course I play the most (20+ x's) because its 5 min. from work. Once I figured out the layout and tee pads, I've never had any issues. Go with someone who's played before and its a decent course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 2
xskatx
Experience: 14.3 years 22 played 16 reviews
0.50 star(s)

Horrible 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 7, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The only real pro here would be that it is on park grass and it might be good for beginners

Cons:

The layout of this is just terrible, it is a walk straight down a narrow park then it comes right back to where you are shooting into anyone who is on the first 5 holes. It is way too short and uninteresting.

Other Thoughts:

I played here more than 5 times because I was learning, but I will never go back now that I can play. This is the most boring course i've ever played
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
mndiscg
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.1 years 483 played 478 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Thin Strip of Land 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 8, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

+Decent DGA Baskets
+Not a lot going on in this park so you can practice all you want. I don't think this park is busy as a DGC either.
+Playground and small parking lot, a few places to sit. If you want to bring your family here to get a quick round in, you can.
+Park is pretty nice and the grass is green. No garbage to be seen.
+Some (or all) of the holes are ace-able

Cons:

-I did see a few tees, maybe 2, spraypainted on the sidewalk. It is an awkward walk from the basket, over the little creek thing to a faded spray painted tee. The rest of the tees were natural (non existant)
-Baskets are not numbered in the right order or not even numbered at all.
-No signage at all.
-You can see multiple baskets from every "tee"
-Virtually no obstacles at all. I think one of the tees from the sidewalk placed a single tree in the flight path.
-Very possible to throw into one of the many fenced in backyards on the second half of this course.

Other Thoughts:

-Colorado is infamous for placing disc golf courses on marginal land that isn't good for much else. This is one of those courses. It also seemed like an afterthought with no markings. It was just baskets in a long, thin field.
-I can't recommend playing here but if you are a course bagger, it is a quick and easy play. You can get in and out and check it off the list.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
bobmcnelly
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 13.2 years 344 played 195 reviews
2.00 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 18, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

-cement tees
-beginner course with most holes being around 300' and almost not obstacles.
-free to play and easy to get to

Cons:

-no signage what so ever except numbers on the sidewalk for tees boxes
-the tees are all just the sidewalk
-pedestrians so watch out!

Other Thoughts:

Simple, basic course. Decent warm up course but not worth going out of your way to play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
c_a_miller
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.2 years 299 played 209 reviews
1.50 star(s)

3 Hole 3's 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 19, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course is very easy to find off of the road as it is the entire park, and if you play pin-to-pin the course is very easy to navigate with very few obstacles to deal with.

The baskets are in good condition. This could be attributed to the fact that this course is very rarely played so that could be a pro as well.

For a course like this it is surprising to see holes with this type of length. Getting 2s would need a rocket arm and a good long putt. This could be a good course to practice your long approach shots if you do not have a consistent 400 foot shot.

Cons:

The course page says that there are tees that were spray painted on the concrete instead of playing pin-to-pin. These marks either do not exist or I am a terrible searcher; I will probably say the former is true.

There are no obstacles to speak of. There is a small drainage ditch that runs at the beginning and end of the course but it seems unlikely that a shot will land here.

The baskets are all numbered funny. The course flows fine but it can be confusing since three of the nine holes have #3 on their hole plate on top of the basket. This definitely adds confusion especially since the baskets are so close to one another. The baskets being so close to one another adds danger to the literally dozen or so players so may make it out here a year.

Other Thoughts:

All in all this course was very forgetful and nothing I would ever think about going to again. This course is just one to put under your belt sort of like I did.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
Peer
Experience: 11.2 years 13 played 6 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Good Park, Bad Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 9, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

- Well Maintained Park with Green Grass and small creek running through it.
- A few good distance holes up to 400+ feet.
- Not too difficult to lose a disc (unless it lands in someone's backyard)

Cons:

- Very simple and straight.
- Tee boxes are spray painted on the walkway very poorly and can be difficult to read.
- Not a lot of open space at this park making it a very simple course that runs along a small creek
- 1st Tee is by a playground and is too close to where the children play.
- Park backs up to houses and it can be fairly easy to throw a disc into someone's back yard.

Other Thoughts:

This course is Okay at bets. There are plenty of better courses in the area that offer better challenges. This course id very close to where I live but I still chose to travel further for more of a challenge. If it is your first time on this course be sure to bring a map!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 3
Rook17
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Nice Little Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 12, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Simple course and perfect for a Mother's Day outing. I had not played in while and we were up in the area. Perfect for my Mom and daughter to try. The park nice and green and after we learned from a local player how the course was laid out, we had fun. He even showed the marked spots on the sidewalk for the tee boxes area and how it can be played for 18 holes.

Cons:

The diagram in the Link area was ok, but the far end on the turn did not match. Not much more was a Con for us.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 3
ttuff
Experience: 17.2 years 12 played 6 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Park course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 14, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Originally reviewed this course when I thought it was a different course.

Cons:

Originally reviewed this course when I thought it was a different course.

Other Thoughts:

Originally reviewed this course when I thought it was a different course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
markjfun
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 18.2 years 108 played 27 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Middle-of-the-road Midway Park 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Nov 17, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

The disc golf course at North Midway Park is nothing special, but it's certainly not terrible either. Each hole plays in a very linear fashion along a drainage ditch. As unappealing as this may sound, the park is nice and clean, the grass is well manicured, and overall, the course is pretty handy for a quick round of 9.

What it has going for it:
- Pleasant park atmosphere
- Quality baskets
- Some of the tees are on sidewalks with plenty of room to throw
- Not used much, so you don't have to worry about the pace of your game
- Good range of distances (240 ft - 450 ft)

Cons:

Where it falls short:
- Dull layout (basket placements could be much more creative, even with the limited space)
- Tee pads not officially designated. Although at least half of the tees are numbered with spray paint on the walking path, the other half are not marked whatsoever (just throw from somewhere near the last basket you just played?)
- Worn out numbers on the baskets makes it hard to always know you're throwing at the correct target
- Watching out for bikers, runners and kids on playgrounds (they were there, Valkyrie Kid!) does take away from the game a bit

Other Thoughts:

The map from the Links/Files section was definitely helpful to me as a newcomer. At first it may seem obvious where to go since all the baskets are along the creek, but on several occasions, the map reassured me that I was playing the basket on the correct side of the ditch.

Before going to North Midway Park, you should know what to expect - it's not going to blow your disc golf socks off, but if you take it for what it is, you just might have fun here. Don't worry about finding the exact tee pads for the ones that aren't marked on the sidewalk. Just consider this a place to play casual disc golf. If you're looking for more structured and challenging courses, head over to nearby Interlocken Park or Westminster DGC.

Parting muse: My girlfriend, who has played about 10 total rounds of disc golf in her life and who comes along with me from time to time (bless her heart), said as we were walking to the car, "...and I got a hole-in-two!!"
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 2
The Valkyrie Kid
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 46.1 years 1562 played 1507 reviews
2.00 star(s)

There's A Playground At Each End! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 18, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

I was doomed from the start when I started from the wrong playground. The information I had didn't say that there was a playground at both ends. I threw a few discs this way and then I fired a couple the opposite direction. Like someone said, I couldn't really decipher the markings on the sidewalk or maybe I just wasn't so inclined to do so. Maybe I was just wondering why there no kids on any playground. The park looks wide enough that the neither the houses nor the business's should come into play.

Cons:

I'm never a fan of courses with not clearly marked tee-boxes. I want to know where to throw from? and what the par is? and when to eat? and where were the kids on the playground?.

Other Thoughts:

This would be a good place to practice. I'd love to see someone actually put in some pads. And why are the baskets all sitting in the middle of the grassy lawn? Why didn't they hide a couple behind a tree or something? And finally, where were those kids?
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
tacsmurf
Experience: 35 played 7 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Midway Park 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 21, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The park is normally quiet with few people in the line of most throws.

Cons:

No specific tee pads. The course is on a green belt leaving little room for shot variation.

Other Thoughts:

This is a great place to practice throwing putters and mid range discs.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 4
myaccounts420
Experience: 18.1 years 8 played 3 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Fun small local course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 15, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Very well manicured course, it's in the back of a very quiet park, not a lot of people at all.

This is a great practice course, the so called Tee-boxes are all on the sidewalk, there are red numbers painted with arrows pointing towards a basket and also silver number painted in slightly different spots to sort of create an 18 hole course.

I like this course a lot actually, I can ride my bike to it play a quick round and head home, and since the baskets are just up and back its fun to create different shots by making your own tee-boxes and really just work on your game.

Cons:

I wouldn't hold a tournament here that's for sure, its a very simple course. Start at one end of the park and play to the other end then come back.

No real challenges, big arms can leave the drivers at home.

A little tough to navigate the first time, if you have really good eyes like my buddy and I you can actually see the numbers on top of the baskets that are facing you from the Tee so you at least know which one to play to.

We created a couple of our own Tee-boxes to makes some of the hole more challenging.

Other Thoughts:

Not much to say, very well kept up, a couple baskets had stickers ripped but other then that its just always good to get out and play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
Wise Fool
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.3 years 125 played 118 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Waste of Metal 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 28, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Nice manicured grass field, with good baskets
-The course was empty
-There was a random orange traffic cone in the middle of the course
-Good opportunity for some safari rounds

Cons:

Ummmm....lets see where to start...
-No tee pads...though I assume that cryptic writing on the sidewalk with all of the random numbers was suppose to be some kind of tee pads but you would have to be that guy from the Davinci Code to figure the actual intended tee pads for the baskets, I suggest just choosing your own tee pads it is more fun that way.
-Well if the moons aligned and the huge coincidence of two groups of people playing the course at the same time ever happened they might end up hitting each because of crossing fairways.
-Hole 1 throws very close to a playground so use caution because the children are our future
-Very wide open holes that get boring after 6 or 7 holes that feel exactly the same as the last hole

Other Thoughts:

If you enjoy safari disc golf or enjoy good puzzles at figuring at where the tee pads are then this is the course for you if not don't waste time. Unless you are really desperate to play..I suggest this is one course you skip.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
14erDisc
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.3 years 40 played 40 reviews
0.50 star(s)

Fast, Empty, Terrible 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 26, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course provides nice baskets as well as a properly manicured grass field. There was not a single person at the park. There are also a fair amount of long shots.

Cons:

This course has no real design. It looks like it used to be a park, and they threw some baskets in the middle of a field. Despite being a small up-and-back course, it is extremely frustrating to navigate. There are no signs, no directionals, and every single tee box is on a single pathway that spans the entire park. These are not tee boxes either, they are tiny numbers spray-painted on the sidewalk and can sometimes be impossible to find. Once you're at the box it is always hard to tell which basket you are throwing to. We found ourselves throwing in the general direction of two baskets, and finding out which one was the true goal once we got closer. Finally, if more than one group played this course at a time there would be massive collisions and a lot a waiting required.

Other Thoughts:

This park is a gigantic open field with poorly placed tee boxes and no design thought. If you want to get out and throw, you can do it here - but dont expect much.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 3
GDisc
Experience: 16.2 years 61 played 34 reviews
1.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 7, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course offers a nice distraction from it's Fast Pace Surroundings. Nice Baskets

Cons:

There is no real Difficulty & It's hard to Navigate even though you can locate All Baskets (Tee Pads are not marked). It plays Up & Down a Wide Greenbelt with little obstacle, outside the very small waterway (2 feet wide) than runs along the South Side of the GreenBelt.

Other Thoughts:

It does it's best with what it has (but it has little to offer) The baskets are nice but you basically have to make up you're own TeePads. If you can stay out of the Tiny WaterWay, you can easily shoot Under Par here.

It's in a bad location. Reminds me of another GreenBelt Course, "Pioneer Park" , in Greeley, CO - If you live in the area it's not a bad option, BUT, if you don't it's not worth a trip on it's own!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 3
Leroy
Experience: 14.2 years 203 played 21 reviews
1.00 star(s)

A waste of 7 baskets 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 27, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Nice quality baskets. Located in a park with nicely mowed grass. The park is usually dead empty.

Cons:

Pretty much all 9 holes are the same exact layout. You go East down the one side of the park trying not to hit any cars and then loop around and go West up the other side of the park trying not to leave a disc in some one's back yard. Otherwise this is wide open disc golf. Two baskets could have done the same job. One to the East, and one to the West, repeat.

Other Thoughts:

I read on here that some new tee boxes had been painted on and a couple of the baskets moved so I went back and gave it another chance. Still awful. Holes 1 and 9 have some new trees sort of in the way if you don't hit anyone on the playground. I looked for ways you could make it more challenging and the only thing I could think of was teeing off from inbetween some of the office buildings which doesn't seem like it would be appreciated by those companies. It makes me sad to see these expensive baskets used in such a lackluster way. More of a frustrating experience than fun. Hopefully the parks and rec dept will find a more challenging spot in town to relocate these to.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top