• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

College Station, TX

Oaks Park

Permanent course
2.475(based on 17 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Oaks Park reviews

Filter
1 0
Trinitydisc
Experience: 7 played 7 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Awesome short little 9 hole course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 15, 2021 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Short course that is both easy for beginners and offers some challenges for experienced players. If you don't have much time to play this a great course to get in some time on the course. You even have water come into play on some holes. This is a great course for beginners.

Cons:

It could use better tee pads and signage.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
blake833
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.1 years 160 played 140 reviews
3.00 star(s)

An old friend 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 17, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

I have probably played this course 100 times. It was the course I lived 3 minutes from and go play a quick 9 and be back home in half an hour. Or if I had time, I could play it twice! What this course is great for, and how I often used it, is taking two discs you aren't super comfortable with, or two new discs, and playing the whole course with just them.

That works well because this course has an incredible variety of throws, at some great distances, for such a small space. Whoever designed this course did a great job of making a beginner friendly course that you can play with any discs, but with specific throws.

This isn't the greatest course you'll play, especially in College Station, (not the worst either) but it is fun.

The tee signs are surprisingly great for such a beat in course.

Cons:

Being in a park that gets a fair amount of use, you have to be careful of pedestrians and that means waiting a long time sometimes.

Some of the holes are fairly short, some don't have apparent paths, despite what the tee signs suggest.

The natural tee pads are worrrrrrn down, and can be muddy.

Hole 1 is in the middle of the park. I think it's better to park on the street and start at hole 3, on the side, a little closer to the Harvey end of the park.

The creek in the middle is deceptively deep. Avoid the tree on hole 2.

Other Thoughts:

I know I am overrating this course in the context of the rest of the reviewers, but here's my rationale: when choosing a rating for a course, the two main factors, beyond all of the aesthetics, all of the amenities, are two things: Was this course fun? Would I come back and play again? And my experience in this course has been a huge yes to both of those. Like I said, this isn't the prettiest, most challenging, most anything course you will ever play. But it serves its purpose as a great neighborhood 9 hole course. It is fun, it is addictive, and even when it's the worse for wear, it will still deliver a good time.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
The Valkyrie Kid
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 46.1 years 1562 played 1507 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Course Has Taken A Licking But Keeps On Ticking! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 25, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

Oak Oark is a small neighborhood park that sits down in a creek bottom area with large apartment buildings on both sides. The bones to this course are good. It's actually a fun little recreation/beginner course but has been mistreated over the years. The park had a picnic shelter, BB courts, older horseshoe pits and a small creek cutting through the center.

When new, the course had nice colored signs and Discatchers with the yellow rims. Unfortunately, seven of the signs have been torn off and several of the baskets are leaning. The leaning baskets are easy targets for vandals as they appear to have been set in the ground with a minimal amount of concrete base making them easy to push over.

The actual design is good except I don't care for starting in the center of the park. Previous reviewers have suggested parking on the stretch and starting on hole # 8 or # 3. I agree with them.

So # 1 starts to the left of the pavilliln down near the creek and then plays around the park in a counter clockwise direction. Although short, with all holes under about 230', there are some tricky lines to hit to score those birdies and possible Aces.

The small creek comes into play on several holes. It's easy to avoid, not deep so retrieving discs is no problem and the OB factor adds a little challenge to your round.

Cons:

Signs are missing.

Poorly installed baskets have been abused.

Natural pads
.
If busy, safety issues on a couple holes.

Pitch and putt distances.

Other Thoughts:

Considering the abuse this course takes and the fact that it's just a little neighborhood pitch and putt, it seems to be a viable option for golfers in College Station. It's fun, easy and a quick round. Nice choice for Ace Runs, teens, beginners, families, etc. Also, a quick 20 minute round for course baggers.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 3
34blast
Experience: 27.1 years 50 played 31 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Nice small technical 9 hole 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 3, 2017 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Technical
Variety of shots required
Close to A&M campus

Cons:

Nothing long
only 9 holes
Odd suspect parking places

Other Thoughts:

NIce little small course with short but challenging holes. Nice and shaded and fun. I like to play it 2 or 3 rounds. You are never very far from your car or a decent bathroom
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 3
Pizza God
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 36.2 years 1745 played 591 reviews
3.00 star(s)

GREAT course for Beginners 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 26, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Tee signs for every hole
no holes that will discourage beginners

Cons:

Not exactly a course a seasoned player will enjoy, unless you want to work on your upshots

Other Thoughts:

This is a very small park with 9 holes squeezed in. But being near A&M in the apartment area and near my son's Dorm, this is a great course to get players started.

I also drove by at night and the course has enough lights you could play at night.

Not much else to say about the course other than it has a wide variety of shots, but none over 250 ft. Great course to just play with your mid-range/putter and play a quick round. I would say this is a par 2 course for pro's.

I loved the fact that as I was playing, I saw a group of beginners with regular Frisbee's playing.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
papabearvas79
Experience: 12 years 15 played 5 reviews
3.50 star(s)

own thoughts on previous reviews 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 20, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Nice short beginner course that Allows players to use multiple lines and a bit of imagination to navigate. I agree with all previous reviews of this course. They do explain the course well.

Cons:

Unfortunately there are a few issues with this course but the flaws are not in its design. It's very well laid out giving the small size of the land it's on. With every park there can be a small degree of vandalism and for this one I found one small piece of the course missing. #7 tee sign has been gone for awhile. But that's not really the big problem.
The one problem I have with this course is the lack of respect the park goes have for this property. I been more then 10 times and not once have I seen anyone (besides myself)pick up after their dog. The smell on some days can be pretty offensive especially when you find your disc has landed in a pile of dog mess.
That being said I hope folks start doing something about this. The apartments running along the backside of the course are undergoing an exterior remodel but it honestly shouldn't get in the way as long as you can control your shots across that part of the course. Be aware though if you go with your girl, even if your standing right next to your girl, the Hispanics still may disrespect you and begin hitting on her. Lol only happened once to us, just something to keep in mind til construction is complete.

Other Thoughts:

Other then the missing tee sign on #7, and all the dog poo everywhere,iit's a nice course and I will continue to play my usual twice a week. Good day folks.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
c_a_miller
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.1 years 299 played 209 reviews
2.00 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 6, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This short 9 hole course sits in a nice scenic neighborhood park with a bit of elevation throughout the course.
The fun factor at this course was very high as all of the holes needed some sort of shot shaping off the tee for a good shot. Most of the baskets are guarded by trees (and in some cases lamp posts) This is not your typical pitch and putt course.
This is a very good beginner course as the longest hole barely sits at 200 ft. Being in a neighborhood it could be a good place for kids to come and start playing.
There is a small creek that plays in the middle of the course. It adds a bit of danger but it defintely is shallow enough to recover discs out of.
There are nice colorful tee signs at each hole plus the baskets are in good shape.
The course is less than a mile from Wolf Pen Creek. Both being 9 hole courses, a full 18 can be enjoyed with a WIDE variety of shots.

Cons:

Hole 1 starts in the middle of the park and the rest of the holes kind of place in a spiral around it. If you are one of those people that likes to start from the beginning of courses, it may seem like a silly starting point.
There are walking trails throughout the park that could create a safety hazard to the nearby apartments. Luckily, when I played a mom and her son knew what I was doing and stood and watched instead of walking in the line of fire. Be cautious of kids and walkers at the playgrounds and on the paths.
The length is obviously also a con but not much else can be done on a piece of land this small.

Other Thoughts:

There is only street parking here. Park on the street and start at Hole 3 and finish at Hole 2 which is right next to where you parked.

This course has a lot of value to beginners and young people alike. Even to a more experienced player the course still has a lot of fun to offer
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 5
aggiegreg
Experience: 13.2 years 33 played 9 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Great For Beginners 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 1, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Great course for beginners
-has bathrooms and water fountains
-tee pads and signs
-drainage ditch comes into play
-almost every hole is an ace run

Cons:

-9 holes
-very easy
-couple par 4s need to be changed

Other Thoughts:

Great course for beginner or if you want to get in a quick round. Not really that busy ever. Good for playing twice so you can get a full 18 holes in.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
Turner512
Experience: 13.8 years 44 played 15 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Fun little course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 22, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Definitely a fun little course. Considering there are only 7 courses in Bryan/College Station this is a good course to play if you're in the area. A very small park but that doesn't matter when it comes to Houck Design. Very short holes but still require shot variety. You will need a good hyzer, anhyzer, and tomahawk to play some of these holes which definitely makes it a nine hole worth playing. For a lot of the holes there multiple opportunities to approach the basket but still requires caution, a few trees and creek make sure of that. If you are close to Harvey or visiting College Station for a week try this course out.

Cons:

Short holes and and short play time. If you are looking for an 18 hole course go play Research. Some sidewalks in the way of fairways so you might have to wait for some pedestrians.

Other Thoughts:

Overall fun course but definitely not the best in College Station. Great design, maintenance, and Tee-signs/course map from Houck Design.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
13 0
ERicJ
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.5 years 287 played 154 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Just not very memorable 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 22, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Oaks Park is a nice little beginner course (only two holes over 200' and even then just barely) featuring excellent Houck signs and quality DISCatcher baskets. There's an overview map, but the course flows so well you probably won't need it. As with most Houck-designed courses the lefty/righty balance is pretty fair. Minor elevation in play here. Played in its simple straightforward configuration the course presents a couple challenges with a creek crossing that probably only really comes into play on #8, and some trees to navigate on #5, 7, and 9. Locals have a set of ground rules that up the challenge of the course and make it more applicable to more Advanced players; e.g. sidewalk and beyond is OB, etc..

The park is a multi-use area with basketball, volleyball, a playground, horseshoes, water fountains, and restrooms.

Cons:

Oaks Park just isn't very memorable. The holes are all really short and INT and above players won't need a driver for any of them. Pros would play this course with a putter on every hole.

No parking lot, it's all street parking.

Other Thoughts:

After some minor park construction the tee sign for #1 was installed in the wrong spot, the actual tee box is located back about 20-30' and just to the right down the embankment a bit.

Hole #6 was originally a much longer shot, however with the construction of the adjacent apartment complex the tee box was moved up to prevent errant hyzer shots from hitting the buildings.

Hole #7 had a light pole installed in the middle of the fairway that unfortunately sits in a rather ideal throwing line.

Not a destination course, but another one that is quick and easy to check off your "Played" list if you're in the area doing a "9-hole crawl"
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 6
intimadator
Experience: 25.1 years 8 played 6 reviews
2.00 star(s)

too easy 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 18, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

thiis is a nice short course, easy to navagate, good one to bring ur girl along. there is only a few 4pars the rest are par 3s nice little river shooting thru the center on it giving u at least some type of challange if u wanna call it that, brand new signs, only a few trees, lots of picnic tables-cant loose a disc even it u tryed!

Cons:

the parking sux, there is not much challange, but it is good for pratice, watch out for prople and dogs since it is a park.

Other Thoughts:

it only took me 45min with my girl to get 2 over par fun times!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
dreadlock86
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 17.1 years 388 played 318 reviews
2.50 star(s)

short and sweet 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Oct 8, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

-quick, fun layout
-mostly short, tight, technical shots
-great terrain features for a small park: creek, trees, elevation
-good mix of left and right shots
-new signs, baskets and natural tees in good condition
-restrooms & water fountain at pavilion, along with a course map

Cons:

-no longer holes
-park can be crowded; watch for pedestrians, people having picnics, walking dogs, etc
-alternate tees would be great here
-limited parking on street

Other Thoughts:

This is a cool little neighborhood park that is short and technical without being "doinky". The holes are lots of fun and make for a great round for a small or large group. This would be a great place to have a weekly mini with ace pots and CTP's since the shots are short.

With a creek running through the middle (in play on 1,2,3,8) and lots of fully grown trees, the holes here offer plenty of obstacles to contend with but shouldn't be too much trouble for an experienced player. Definitely a duece or die course, again, great for group play. Nice variety of tee shots also.

While this is not the course to really challenge your game, it is a lot of fun to play and you can get in a round very quickly, under 30 mins easy if you are solo. It would be awesome to have some long tees on at least a couple of the holes here.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
Upshawt1979
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 21.1 years 550 played 429 reviews
2.00 star(s)

A little bit of fun 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 2, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

A short course that offers a different look on every hole. Located in a very nice park with facilities. There was a sign for every hole when I visited. Plays quickly when no one else is using the park. Lots of opportunity for birdies. Good beginner course.

Cons:

I don't think any hole was over 250', and there were two par 4's? Come on! Natural tees left me slipping in the mud once or twice. The layout is sort of unconventional. Begins in the middle and spirals out.

Other Thoughts:

Used to live in College Station, and still have family there. Oaks is one of three new 9 holes courses installed since my last visit. After playing, I wished I had chosen another, since I only had time for one between thunderstorms.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
13 0
srm_520
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 20.2 years 156 played 142 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Short and Easy, but Very Fun to Play. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jan 4, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Short, fun, and semi-technical. Oaks Park is set within a nice public park with good bathroom facilities, as well as other activities to keep the family busy. This is a Houck course, complete with new high quality signs. However, don't expect to be wowed by this very short pitch and putt, but expect to be pleasantly surprised at the overall enjoyment factor this course has. There are three holes that have water in play, but even if you throw it in - you should have no problems retrieving it.

BEST HOLE/S: #3; #9

Cons:

Oaks Park has glaring issues that prevent it from ever rating higher than a couple of discs, so take the cons with a grain of salt. First, given the small usable area, this course will never be anything more than a pitch and putt. Hole distances range from 163' to 228' according the tee signs, and it even lists holes #6 and #8 as par 4, which is a joke to most players. If you're past beginner level, you can almost guarantee at least birdie on both holes.

The course has no parking, which may have been the reason for the weird conical design where the course starts in the middle of the park and works its way out around itself to the edge. We just parked at the street and started on hole #8. In addition, the overall design has some real line issues. Hole #4 and #7 force to get more lucky than good because there is no real throwing lane, so just be prepared to work your way around the trees at odd angles.

There also looks to be a horseshoe pit that can come into play on hole #8, so watch out. Plus, we chose to play in the morning on a cold day, but the locals say this course can get extremely packed on a good day. If it gets packed, watch the interchange on holes #3 to #4. If you play from the left side of the #3 tee sign, you shouldn't have an issue, but the right side is a much cooler shot and the one most would prefer to play. However, if your disc even flies slightly right, you will run the risk of nailing someone on the #4 tee box, which felt like it sat right in the middle of #3's fairway.

WORST HOLE/S: #1; #7

Other Thoughts:

Oaks Park isn't the best course in the College Station/Bryan area, however - besides Southern Oaks Park, it was the only course in the area I wanted to play again right away. Maybe it was the ease or speed of play, or the short lines that made for an interesting casual round of golf where one can shoot low - I don't know, but I think the enjoyment factor of this course speaks volumes. It seems to have a lot of technical issues, and again - it's not a high caliber course, but it's the perfect place to bring a newbie learning to play or relax for a quick easy round of golf. Plus, being under a mile from Wolf Pen Creek, it's a no brainer that, if you're in the area and should you have time, try to hit this place and enjoy.

Having finally played all of the current courses the Bryan/College Station area has to offer, I have made two separate lists for you to consider when making your next visit to Aggieland. I have ranked them first by overall course quality and then my personal enjoyment rating which varies a bit from the first list. Please note however, I enjoyed all of these courses, and none of them stood out as the clear favorite.

Course Rating and Quality:
1. Research Park 3.5 discs;
2. Southern Oaks Park 3;
3. Wolf Pen Creek 3;
4. Austin's Colony 2.5;
5. Oaks Park 2;
6. Bonham Park 1.5;
7. First Baptist Bryan DGC 1;
8. Tiffany Park 1.

Personal Enjoyment: (1 is best & 5 is worst)
1. Southern Oaks Park
2. Wolf Pen Creek;
3. Research Park;
4. Oaks Park;
5. Bonham Park;
6. Austin's Colony
7. First Baptist Bryan DGC
8. Tiffany Park
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 1
Clark
Experience: 14.6 years 26 played 6 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Play it with One Disc! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Nov 12, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This is a very short, quick course. A typical game lasts about 25 minutes with a small group.

The baskets are in excellent shape. The signs are helpful for some of the more tricky holes.

The course is moderately wooded, and trees obscure the basket on a few holes. Be prepared to pull out a variety of mid-range shots, but leave the drivers at home. The longest hole is a mere 228ft, but it is a par 4! So be looking for some very low scores even among beginners.

You will use almost every shot on this course. The holes offer hyzer, anhyzer, blind, tunnel, and ace-potential shots. This course would make a great warm up for the mid-range and putts on the way to a longer game somewhere like Research Park. One could play this course easily with a single disc. I shot three under par with a Discraft Buzzz, and I am a fairly new player.

There is a public restroom at the pavilion, which is near the 1st tee as well as the 9th hole.

A small creek comes into play on a few of the holes, but it is shallow enough to retrieve sinking discs. The next tee is always pretty easy to find as well.

Cons:

Dirt tee pads.

Just one tee placement. This course could really benefit from a set of longer tees. There is certainly space on most of the holes.

A few holes have poor drainage after a rain: The third hole floods considerably in the approach / basket area; hole four had a large puddle; and the ninth hole also had a sizable fairway puddle. Caution: the rain drives the fire ants out into the open.

The small park is loaded with features to attract non-golfers: a basketball court, a covered pavilion, and a concrete cookout pad. Be prepared to skip hole 2 due to children near the basket.

Other Thoughts:

This is the perfect neighborhood course. The holes are short, and the play is quick but varied. Apartments line the back of the park, and the sorority houses are nearby. A few restaurants are just across the large street on the south end of the park. It would be possible to catch a quick round while waiting to be seated at Johnny Carino's or Ozona.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
sidewinding
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.4 years 81 played 68 reviews
2.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 6, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course is set in a small neighborhood park that takes up about one city block. There is a small but always wet creek that runs right down the middle of the park and comes into play on a few holes.

There is a restroom in the covered pavillion right in the middle of the park.

The flow of the course is excellent. If you want the quickest round in College Station this is it.

This course requires just about every shot in your arsenal. #1 is a hyzer over the creek. #2 is across the footbridge to a tree guarded basket. #3 is back across the creek with an anhyzer route. #4 is a short blind hyzer with blind ace potential. #5 is a short tunnel. #6 has you throwing between the corner of a covered basketball court and some cedar trees to a basket in the open. #7 is another anhyzer through some large shade trees. #8 is probably the longest hole and has some elevation drop to the pin located just over the creek. #9 is a little pinballish but there is a way through if you can find it.

Cons:

Dirt teepads.

All of the teesigns are missing. You can see where they were originally located from the concrete in the ground with a broken pipe sticking out.

Some might say this course is too short and easy. I think it's just right.

Other Thoughts:

I played all 6 courses in the BCS area and this was the busiest. That says alot about a course. It has a high fun factor, it's a fast play, and it's shady. What more could you ask for?
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 4
ryandr
Experience: 16.3 years 8 played 8 reviews
1.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 10, 2008 Played the course:never

Pros:

Small course that is good for practicing short technical shots through tree hazards. Good for beginners wanting practice without structured fairways.

Cons:

All wooded holes with no tees to start at. Only one hole had a tee. No signage to designate the order of the holes or the beginning or end.

Other Thoughts:

Essentially, you show up and spot a basket and go from there. There was a small creek dividing the park. Lots of trees and other obstacles (covered basketball court, playground equipment, etc.) to avoid. This is basically a good course to make up your own paths and start-points. You set the difficulty level and go.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top