• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Ogallala, NE

Ogallala Optimist Course

Permanent course
2.065(based on 9 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Ogallala Optimist Course reviews

Filter
3 0
bobmcnelly
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 13.1 years 342 played 193 reviews
1.50 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 23, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

-good quality baskets
- basic tee signs but for this course all you really need
- concrete tees aka sidewalk
- beginner course, holes range from 150' to 300'
- quick play course near I-80

Cons:

- very short course that really only a beginner would enjoy
- since it is a beginner course, that are a few holes that I would imagine could be some safety issues if a player shanks their shot especially with the playground
-fairly little challenge, even for an easy course
- busy little park that could lead to more safety issues

Other Thoughts:

Not a terrible course for the local casual players or for someone to learn on but other than that not really worth playing.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
dreadlock86
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 17.2 years 388 played 318 reviews
2.00 star(s)

fun rec course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 20, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Mach baskets in good condition
-small, concrete tee pads (or uses the walking path
-signs at each tee with hole number, distance, and diagram
-mostly open but with a few well-placed trees on some holes
-a bit of elevation comes into play on most holes
-close to I-80 and an easy stop for a quick round
-nice, clean park with family friendly vibe
-plenty of parking

Cons:

-walking path also winds around the park and it's in play on every hole
-the playground in the middle of the park could come into play on very bad shots on holes 7 & 8
-not very challenging, mostly open with only one or two trees to beat on some holes, wide open on others
-lots of dead grass clumped on the tee pads, i slipped multiple times

Other Thoughts:

The Optimist is a fun rec course in a small park. The park is clean and well-manicured. It sits in a bowl where the edges slope down to lower levels in the center so most holes have an element of elevation. It's a great place for beginners, families and kids, or anyone looking for an easy round with some slightly elevated ace runs.

The concrete pads are small but the holes are short. More inconvenient than their size was that some of them had large clumps of dead, mowed grass around the edges. I slipped a couple times on those pads (though it also lead to a cubby ace on hole 4).

The holes are mostly open and only hole 5 has trees in your flightline in the fairway. An experienced player is definitely hunting for aces and trying to score an 18. The slight elevation changes make up for some of the blandness.

Nothing too exciting here but it's fun trying to throw aces and is really close to the highway. You'll only be off the highway 30 minutes as the course is easily played in 20 minutes or less.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
Mron
Experience: 118 played 3 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Good stop off I-80 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 23, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Concrete pads, sort of (some of the tee pads are part of the sidewalk through the park)
-decent signs at the tees (they have simple illustrations of the hole on them, some of which seem like they are not up to date)
-Baskets
-good variety of shots for a short easy course
-nice park
-close to the interstate and easy to find
-almost no chance of losing a disc
-well maintained park

Cons:

-the bathrooms in the park are not bathrooms right now, the one that was unlocked appears to be a large storage closet now.
-no real challenge for experienced players (short holes)
-if the park had been busy I predict there would have been added delays/obstacles (some of the tee pads are the sidewalk)

Other Thoughts:

On #9 you only have to throw over the fence if you choose to. The other option is to throw an overstable disc around it. I think the course was designed expecting people not to throw their discs at the gardeners.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
The Valkyrie Kid
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 46.1 years 1562 played 1507 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Excellent Pit Stop On Your Drive Across Nebraska! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 11, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

The Opitimist Park in Ogallala is a small city with lush green grass. The course mostly in clockwise direction around the park with a children's play area in the center. There is just enough elevation and trees to keep things interesting. The course can probably be classified as a Pitch n' Putt with hole lengths ranging from 145' to 290'. Most every hole is an ACE run although # 5 with trees protecting the basket and # 9 with it's sharp hyser to basket around and by the community garden, are more challenging.

The course decent concrete tees, old school fiberglass signs giving hole #, par and distance. The DGA baskets have the number on top.

The bathrooms were locked but there two porti potties by the entrance gate.

This is really an ideal course to bring a beginner to. There is no searching for discs in the brush, the park is lovely and there is just a slim chance of losing a disc (there is a possibility of hacking one over a neighbor's fence or into the community garden on # 9. Recreational players and families will enjoy the simplicity of the course and the exclusive ACE is ever present in any players mind.

Cons:

It's a 9 hole rec course.

Very little challenge for many players.

Could be a problem with park users present.

Slight possibility of discs landing in neighbor's yards.

I didn't much care for # 9 and having players attempt to throw over the community garden. Many discs will find a landing space in the garden.

Other Thoughts:

I'm giving this fun little 9 hole recreation the same rating that I dish out to every other enjoyable little 9. This course has it's place is disc golf. I think you will always find golfers on this course. There are about a million disc golfers out there who show up with one disc, have a great time and have never heard of DGCR. This course is made for them!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
washabh
Experience: 9 played 4 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great Midrange Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 20, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Well Maintained
Not Busy
Easy To Navigate
Great Baskets
Nice Tee Pads
Impossible To Lose Discs
Nice Elevation on a Few Holes

Cons:

Lot's of Similar Shots
Short Holes
Very Open

Other Thoughts:

Great beginner course to get your DG fix! The park is well maintained and taken care of.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
mndiscg
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.1 years 483 played 478 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Aces 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 3, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Lots of ace runs.
-Surprising amounts of elevation that come into play on most holes
-Nice baskets
-Concrete tees
-Signs that tell you how short you have to throw
-Good for beginners, kids, families
-Playgrounds and walking paths as well as a porta-potty here. Adequate parking.
-Good break up of I-80. Fairly isolated from any other disc golf courses.

Cons:

-Could throw over the fence on a few holes and have to hop it to get your disc back. Hole 9's best route involves throwing over the fence.
-Other park activities could get in the way a little bit.
-They mounted the signs into the tee and it kind of gets in the way.
-Not many trees on most of the holes. The main obstacle was the little bit of elevation.

Other Thoughts:

This course is a nice simple course in a smaller city park. It has short holes with hills that let you run for the chains most of the time. You can play a round in about 15 minutes with one disc if you want to. If you need a break from I-80 then you can stop here. It's not a must stop by any means but it won't disapoint if you read this review and know what to expect. I would stop and play again to try for some more aces.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
GDisc
Experience: 16.1 years 61 played 34 reviews
1.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 26, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course is a great break up of Interstate I-80..Ogallala has a neat setting just a couple miles North of the Interstate. Great quick course that poses well placed Pin Locations for a short 9 Hole... It's Quick (Can be played in 15 minutes)....The Park is very well groomed and the Course layout is well marked and very easy to find your way around.

Cons:

The course doesn't offer much diffuculty for an experienced player. If there are Town's people out on the course, it can cause for multiple delays in what you'd want to be a quick refresher course.

Other Thoughts:

Overall, Ogallala seemed like a Fun Town with a very unique History ( America's Largest Aquifier). I enjoyed the course, as it was a nice refresher along, the otherwise, somewhat dull, I-80. If you're looking for a challenge this is not the course, but if's it's not out of your way I'd recommend stopping and throwing a couple of quick Rounds...You'll only need a Fairway Driver and Putter Here.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 7
mgcarney
Experience: 15.1 years 94 played 56 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Road Trip 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 16, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course was tiny, but I loved how remote it was. I always appreciate the courses that do the most with the most limited resources. Great stop for long road trips.

Cons:

Obviously small. In the middle of nowhere. Not a major stop for serious disc golf.

Other Thoughts:

I was on a road trip with a friend and we stopped off a few times to play disc golf in Nebraska.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 0
DGtourist
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 21.2 years 188 played 106 reviews
1.50 star(s)

optimist 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Oct 3, 2008 Played the course:once

Pros:

Ogallala Nebraska is a town of about 5000 people just above the north east corner of Colorado. Its sort of the I-80 gateway to the panhandle. Most people find themselves in Ogallala because of Lake McConaughy, of course, disc golf addicts like us will be there for a brief round at Ogallala Optimist Course.

The course is well marked. The park is nicely manicured, and the tee pads are concrete. Let the ace runs fly! If you are traveling through I-80 and you want a break than this is a perfect park in which to break up a trip. A player should have no problem figuring out the flow of this course. There is a restroom and water in the park. Its pretty easy to find the park as long as you are looking for the water tower. Parking is also no problem at all

Cons:

Most of the tees are marked out on the sidewalk. There is some tight spaces and potential for interferences between a couple of neighboring fairways Some fairways are close to the neighborhood yards. There are not many obstacles in the park although most pins are near the few trees that are in the park. There is one or two holes that play near playground equipment. If there were other functions going on at Williams Park, forget about it, the place is too small. There is a sidewalk going through much of the course.

Other Thoughts:

When I played there were a couple of parks and rec guys mowing and laying down fertilizer. They did not look at me like I was playing a game for aliens so I got the feeling that people do play DG in Ogallala NE. Also, it was quite windy (early October) I'm not sure how common the wind presence is. All in all, the course description of a "great learn to play course" seems dead on. For a nine hole small town park course its on the short to typical side. Yet, I have no qualms about stopping in for another round if I am ever near Ogallala again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top