• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Wylie, TX

Oncor/Lavon Park

Permanent course
2.775(based on 13 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Oncor/Lavon Park reviews

Filter
19 0
dgaficionado
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 34.1 years 278 played 37 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Peaceful Course Inspires Whimsical Artwork

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 2, 2023 Played the course:once

Pros:

Inviting space nicely accommodates course.
+ layout flows well out and back in partially secluded parkland
+ abundant greenery creates pleasant atmosphere for disc golf
+ mostly open fairways favor beginner to intermediate players
+ well maintained with good signs, including warnings of potential hazards in the area
+ park features attractive disc golf sculpture

Cons:

Humdrum layout is mostly meh.
- lacks enough excitement and significant obstacles for more advanced players
- tee signs all describe odd OB designations such as "25 ft. left of route" which would seem to lead to arbitrary enforcement
- slight possibility of losing discs to bad throws over the brick wall on early holes
- rough outside of fairways quickly turns into thick underbrush
- wall of trees obstacle on final hole may encourage dangerous throws toward roadway

Other Thoughts:

INFO
This 9-hole course plays across undulating meadows surrounded by tall trees on boomerang-shaped parkland dedicated to disc golf. It is bordered on one side by a utility switching station's long, white, brick wall and on the other side by a tree-covered creek and then nearer to the start/end of the course by E. Brown St. A small parking lot (8 spaces, 2 designated as handicapped) and a large public art display are the only other amenities.

EVAL
Visceral reactions to the playful sculpture at the start of this course adds a bit of enthusiasm to rounds at this modest 9-holer tucked back into tree-lined and grassy meadows that gently slope down to a hidden creek. Quiet ambience accompanies players on a layout that repeatedly demands little more than simple throws across open fields except for a few bends and doglegs that require shot-shaping and the final hole which takes inspiration from the course's featured artwork to require drives "liftoff" high into the air over the wall of trees guarding the fairway. Otherwise, play mainly consists of routine 1-2-3 (drive, approach and putt) throws on each hole. My favorite hole is #4 where the fairway tightens as it enters the woods for a focused challenge to reach the green in just one throw.

NOTE
Disc golf inspired art prominently welcomes visitors and draws attention to this disc golf park. The large, kinetic sculpture Liftoff by John Davis features a disc in flight soaring through the air and "uses the vocabulary of circle and spiral in forming a colorful and gestural celebration of the essence of the disc golf park". The inclusion of a weather vane atop the sculpture acts as a nice touch to show players how the wind is blowing as they start their rounds.

LAYOUT
The first four holes follow along the white-walled perimeter of adjacent Oncor utility property to the right. Hole #1 leads away from the parking lot with a straight drive across an open fairway, the first of many similar shots on this course, to a basket near a wall of trees. Baskets are hidden from view off the tee for the next two holes as hole #2 doglegs to the right around the wall and past trees while hole #3 hides its basket behind trees jutting into the fairway. Hole #4 crosses a bridge halfway down the fairway and enters into woodlands, headed towards a shaded green.

At turnaround hole #5 a curved fairway hides the green from view. The back half of the course plays in the opposite direction to the first four holes with more trees as obstacles on the grassy fairways. A creek set off to the right in the woods borders hole #6 but stays mostly out of play. Short hole #7 leads down towards an opening in the tree line where on the other side hole #8 plays uphill beside the street. Then, imposing hole #9 places a wall of trees in the middle of the fairway to overcome en route to the final basket sitting in the open near the start of the course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
aclay
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 39.7 years 327 played 251 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Oncor 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 25, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

-- Disc golf only land.
-- Good use of minor elevation and trees.
-- Good baskets.
-- Excellent course flow and navigation. No long walks between holes. Never needed to consult a map, even through there is a nice course map at the parking lot. And No. 9 ends near the parking lot.
-- Well maintained.
-- Tee signs with distances.
-- Concrete tee pads, although 1 and 2 are short.
-- While not long for big-armed players, six holes are 300 or longer, and the average hole length is longer than 300 feet. Most players will struggle to reach the basket.

Cons:

-- Parking lot is small (8 total spots; two are marked handicapped).
-- No amenities (restrooms, water, benches, etc.).
-- 9 holes.

Other Thoughts:

-- No. 2 has you throwing through a narrow gap or over the edge of a fence to your right. Beware of losing a disc.
-- No. 9 is a ~400 uphill throw over a line of trees 50-60 feet in front of you. You can go really wide right, but that brings the road into play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
travismhughes
Experience: 7 years 67 played 4 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Awesome Nine-hole Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 27, 2019 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Great baskets
Excellent course flow, no map needed
Well-maintained
New tee signs with distances
Nice mix of shots
Not crowded, no pedestrians

Cons:

Very short tee pads, only about six feet long
OB on holes 1 and 2 is over a tall fence
Rough can be nasty
Parking lot is small
Can get swampy on holes 2, 7, and 8

Other Thoughts:

This course is a great place to play a quick round. It's a nice park that has been recently updated with signs, and a few trash cans are available throughout the course. Hole #1 lets you air it out right off the bat. Several of the holes make you throw an accurate shot, or you'll find yourself hitting a tree/buried in the rough. The rough can be pretty brutal if you go more than a couple feet in, so watch your disc. It's easy to play this course twice for a full 18 in about an hour. Definitely worth the trip to play if you live within 10-15 miles.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
DonJuanDeLaNooch
Experience: 22.8 years 37 played 9 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Kinda Like a Private Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 26, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

Great mix of open and technical shots
No one there besides me
Well maintained
Land was used well

Cons:

lack of signs
needs trash cans
a bench or two would be nice
strange little teepads very short
no bathrooms

Other Thoughts:

The day I was there it was soupy due to heavy local rain events. This was a detraction from play, but no fault of the course. The course is in a safe area and one of the best 9 hole courses I have played in this area. If its close to you should be worth a try. If it's a long drive, skip it.
All in all it was fun and not crowded, I was the only one there.
Almost like a private course. Good flow and hole mix. Happy discing!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
TheHipstick
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 21.1 years 171 played 69 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Wish they had more like this one. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 27, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

Great use of the land
Concrete teepads(fairly small, wish they were longer)
Quality baskets
Good flow, nice layout, and maintained fairly well.
Requires you to pick your lines/throws and execute them
Able to grip it and rip on a few holes, but also throw the accurate shots as well
Nice parking lot
Really liked the art displayed (Looks like a big disc)

Cons:

Hole #1 is missing it's sign
The other holes, look to have signs, but they are more or less only have the hole # on them. No hole layout what so ever on the signs
If they could actually get legit signs for each hole, but make this course alot better.
More trashcans, found a small amount of trash on the course

Other Thoughts:

This is a great Disc golf only park. I was very surprised by this course. Nothing out of this world, but it was great 9 hole course. Would be great if they could add additional 9 holes to make it a great 18 hole course. But overall a great course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
hotstang
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.1 years 452 played 59 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Shocking Surprise 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 23, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Disc golf only park.
Good concrete tees.
Baskets in good shape.
Easy flow and well maintained.
Good mixture of shots.
Offers big arm airing out shots.
Also accurate tight wooded shots.
Paved parking lot for the course.

Cons:

Hole 4 could use some trimming.
Hole 1 sign is missing.
Remaining signs need distances added.
Course map could help but not a priority.
Baskets have a lot of decoration added.
Trash cans would be nice.

Other Thoughts:

Nice 9 hole course. Not the normal open 9 holes.
No bathrooms or playground.
Places to get under the first fence if you happen to go over.
This is a disc golf course nothing else going on.
I wasn't expecting much but really surprise.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
Gunz_atx
Experience: 2 played 2 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Meh 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 2, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Has potential if wooded areas are kept clear
- Quick 9 hole course that can be played in about 30
- Decent place for beginners (again if wooded areas are kept clear/clean and not overgrown)

Cons:

- little shade
- wooded areas very overgrown
- poor signage (no par or ft marked on tee pad signage)
- rough consists of sticker burs and thorns
-

Other Thoughts:

This is the first course I played in DFW, mainly because family lives nearby, and I wasn't impressed. It could be a fun little 9 hole but it seems like the city doesn't maintain it well. If that changes then my rating will increase.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Pizza God
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 36.2 years 1756 played 600 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Better than expected 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 16, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

tee signs marking cement tee pads on all but 1 hole

After the boring hole 1, you get 6 good holes before having to throw to rather open holes to get back to the parking lot.

Very good flow to the course, very easy to follow.

Cons:

no distances on the tee signs

Several of the holes have very muddy spots that can be difficult to navigate without getting your shoes muddy.

As with a lot of Texas courses, stay on the fairway or you are going to have trouble in the rough.

Other Thoughts:

I was expecting a boring pitch and putt course and found a good little 9 hole course I would consider playing again.

While hole 1 is a boring shot, it gets you to the better part of the park where you have several trees to navigate around.

Hole 4 is a tough rough hole. If you don't land in the fairway (what little of a fairway this hole has) you are in the briers.

Holes 8 and 9 are throwing back up the hill to the parking lot and are nothing special.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
Quinum
Experience: 15.1 years 30 played 2 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Bring Band-Aids 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jan 31, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

1. This course has a solid variety of hole designs. For a pretty simple 9-hole course, you do face decent challenges requiring you to master different shots.

For example, holes 1,2,3,8,9 are fairly wide open that focus on distance while avoiding one or two major obstacles (such as a huge cement wall & chain link fence near 1 &2. Holes 4,5,6,7 are heavily-wooded and really force you to place your shots perfectly or you will find yourself in jail.

Most of the simple 9-holes in this area are completely wide-open (see the UT Dallas course as an example), so it is nice to play one with some natural obstacles.

2. Length & layout. For me, the length is just about right. I feel most players will finish the course in about 30 minutes or so, which is just about right for a quick 9-hole course. They have done a good job designing the course layout. Very intuitive and easy to navigate.

3. Maintenance. This course is pretty well-maintained. They recently cut down a lot of extra brush and small trees around holes 2,3 & 5. This really cleaned up the look of the course without detracting from the design or challenge of those holes.

4. Teeboxes. This course has great cement teeboxes, which is pretty unusual for such a small 9-hole course.

5. Parking. There is a small parking lot that is located very close to the hole 9 basket and the hole 1 teebox. Makes it super-easy to get on and off the course.

Cons:

1. The rough is REALLY rough. If you have an errant throw, especially on holes 4-7, you are going to be in the thick of it. I am no botanist, but I am pretty sure some of the trees out there are native to the depths of Hell. You will find thorns that are about 3-4 inches long, so be sure to watch your face/eyes if you go walking through the brush after your disc.

Also, keep an eye out for thorn "arches" near your feet. I have caught a few of these around my ankle during the summer when I'm wearing shorts and it isn't fun.

2. The wooded holes can get pretty nasty after it has rained. There are some low-lying areas that become mud pits, so make sure you bring a towel or two to clean off your discs if it is a bit wet out there.

3. As I already mentioned, there is a huge wall and chain link fence along the east side of the course. It is pretty easy to accidently throw your disc on the other side, especially on holes 1 & 2. You can crawl under the wall to retrieve your disc, but it always feels a little sketchy.

Other Thoughts:

Overall, this is a great course for me - mostly because it is about 10 minutes away from my house. Folks who live in the Wylie/Sachse/Murphy area should definitely check this course out. I find it is an excellent course to practice on, and it has a lot of potential to get even better over time.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
jds040582
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
2.00 star(s)

A Quickie 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 28, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

1. This is a simple course, with a mix of wide open and tree covered holes.

2. Concrete tee boxes. I few reviews have said that they are too small, but I do not need much space and the fact that they are concrete is good enough for me.

3. Not a lot of traffic. Hole 1 allows you to warm your arm up, by enabling you to throw as far as you can with hardly any obstacles. Because you do not see many people on the course right now, you are able to practice all times of throwing motion with no worry of losing your disc.

4. Still changing. This course is still getting a face lift, so it has the potential to rise in score.

Cons:

1. Thorn Bushes. They are working on this, but the entire course seems like it is made up of thorn trees, bushes and brush. If you throw off the fairway, get ready to bleed.

2. Wet and Wild. When it rains, the course is flooded for several days. The first couple of holes are on high ground and do not stay wet long, but the holes 5,6,7 are all low-lying. I have actually created a few alternate holes to stay away from a few of the baskets.

3. It's over already? It is only nine hole and they play very quickly. I did not dock it points for being only 9 holes, but they are very short. When I play by myself, I can usually play in between 15-25 minutes. It ends where it begins, so you can plat the course over again if you would like.

4. Is this illegal? On holes one and two, there is a large brick wall that plays as an obstacle for the course. You can climb over or under that wall, but there is a power grid and cattle on the other side. Not sure who owns the land, but on hole two, there is a good chance you will find yourself on the other side of the wall.

Other Thoughts:

The fact that is so close to my house is nice and I play it a few times a week.

On a side note, I lost a green see through disc on hole 2 last week and am willing to pay 10 bucks to anyone that can return it to me. It has not marks on the disc, except for black letters on the front that say KCCO. You can email me at [email protected]. CHIVE ON!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
billdo11b
Experience: 11.9 years 64 played 3 reviews
3.00 star(s)

new fun course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 18, 2015 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

nice easy 9 holes great for dogs running with ya. both long and tight shots.

Cons:

some penalty points if shots missed get ready to possible get dirty or pricked

Other Thoughts:

great local course or quick stop on road trip ..news falsh...someone posted signs on all holes....thanks....helped my son play today
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
dreadlock86
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 17.1 years 388 played 318 reviews
2.50 star(s)

great start 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 1, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

-good variety of distances
-open and wooded holes
-concrete tees
-tee signs, hole number only
-relatively beginner friendly, except holes 4-6, but can still be a challenge for experienced players

Cons:

-tee 1 is a bit shorter than the others, and it's a long hole
-signs have no distance, map, par
-hole 4 needs more clearing in the fairway, lots of brush and the approach is VERY tight
-hole 5 has a narrow fairway lined with tall but thin brush, it's not so dense that you can't find your disc but it would be nice if the brush were cut half as high to make it easier to spot discs

Other Thoughts:

Oncor/Lavon Park nicely fills the gap of courses in the far NE area of the Metroplex. The park is nice and clean and the course design makes use of the large fields for some almost links-style holes as well the wooded areas in the back of the park which makes for a nice balance of open and wooded holes. Holes 1-3 are longer and open, 4 & 6 are tight and wooded, 5 & 7 are wooded but not as tight, and 8-9 finish in the open.

The concrete tees are adequate, perhaps slightly on the shorter side, but the first tee is noticeably shorter than the others. The signs are new but only show the hole number. Pars are all 3 but distances and a map would be great, especially on holes 4-6 which have blind baskets. Hole one only has a small wooden sign.

For a small town 9 hole course, I was pleasantly surprised to find that it is not a pitch and putt. The open holes have some good distance and the shorter holes are not gimmes. Hole 4 is a very challenging tunnel that curves twice and is longer than you might expect; it is a borderline par 4 as it is but I'd like to see the second half of the fairway cleared and slightly widened. Hole 6 is also pretty tight but fair; it doesn't need anymore cutting but it could use some clearing of brush that is still in the fairway (hole 4 also).

Overall, this is a solid course that locals should definitely enjoy. It is probably not worth the drive for most if you're not already on the east side, especially since it's only 9 holes and there aren't other courses nearby worth playing. I look forward to seeing how the course develops.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
94prelude
Experience: 10.1 years 20 played 1 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Needs Work 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 21, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Concrete tees. Grass is cut (most of the time)
Baskets are maintained. Good for beginners. Its literally less than a minute from my house. Someone added pars, distances(unsure of accuracy), and drew out the hole layout on the signs. They cut out most of the brush/over growth on hole 6(but left it there in piles -.-).

Cons:

There is no map, so the first time we went we had to map it out. Hole 4 and 6 have you go through horrible rough consisting of bur bushes, tall grass, and thorny vines. There are trees that have 3"+ thorns all over the rough, so be careful of that. Hole 2 has a easy possibility of over the fence that surrounds the high voltage area. I'd wait a couple of days after it rains to play here, it gets pretty muddy in certain areas.

Other Thoughts:

I would like this course a lot more if there were decent signage, and if they could do what they did to hole 6 to hole 4. I live the fact someone drew out the hole layouts and put the hole info on the signs, but I would still like some official signage.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top