• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Frisco, CO

Peak One DGC

3.75(based on 38 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Peak One DGC reviews

Filter
3 5
bobmcnelly
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 13.2 years 342 played 193 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 23, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Great course layout. Lots of bench and garbage cans. Good tee pads and good baskets. A variety of shots. Technical ones and huge long distance ones.

Cons:

Wish there were some more technical holes. Can get crowded.

Other Thoughts:

Wish I got play it before they did the logging.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
markjfun
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 18.2 years 108 played 27 reviews
4.00 star(s)

A High Altitude DG Adventure! 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 25, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Although not the absolute pinnacle of Colorado mountain-style disc golf courses, Peak One DGC still earns recognition as a spectacular offering to the sport. The lakeside path to hole #1 starts from the parking lot of Peninsula Recreation Area, a very generous public "play space" where skaters, cyclocross riders, fisherman, boaters, hikers and their friends are all out pursuing their facorite hobbies just minutes from downtown Frisco. After many of the region's pine trees were recently clear-cut in the aftermath of the beetle kill, the fairways have widened up and the course plays more openly. For beginners and newcomers, this is assumably a good thing, but old school discers will surely miss the tight and technical nature of its original design.

Like you'll find at most highly-rated mountain courses, the benches are made of unique recycled materials - in this case, old 2-seater ski lift chairs that compliment Frisco's "ski town" theme. Short wooden sign posts displaying the hole length and par numbers (for both amateurs and pros), are easy to spot at each of the spacious cement tees. Three holes play near enough to the south leg of Dillon Reservoir to offer sweeping vistas of the gorgeous Frisco valley. Although you're near the water on a couple tees, you'll never be throwing toward or alongside the shore, so losing plastic here would require some serious blundering. Although there are not dual tees, the holes are mostly challenging enough for advanced players, and now that the fairways are wider, beginners can have a good time too. Most of the tees start from the edge of the forest or a small clearing and play to a pin tucked around a dogleg or behind some manicured trees.

Cons:

Most players will inevitably have to jog ahead from more than half of the tees to get a visual on the basket. If you don't like switching up the direction of your shots to get around trees, this isn't your type of place. A little more elevation change would add some excitement and spice things up a bit.

Other Thoughts:

A portable restroom is usually in the parking lot near hole #1 during the summer months. There are a couple waste receptacles along the way, but count on packing out your trash if it has been busy because they fill up often. Somewhere around hole 8, a smoker's hut made of various materials provides shade and seating. Free overnight tent and car camping is available about 5 miles up Miners Creek Road #1000 (see US Forest Service web site for more info). General course maintenance is excellent. If you're passing through on I-70 or spending time in Frisco, make the worthwhile stop here for rewarding round of 18 at Peak One DGC.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
TalbotTrojan
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.8 years 112 played 104 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Becoming A Gem Again 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 21, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This course sits on a beautiful mountain lake. There is still a fair amount of trees despite being hit hard by beetle kill. There is a very good variety of hole length and type. The course makes knowing different shots a huge advantage. There is good use of elevation. There are some unique holes. The fun factor on this course was much higher than I expected. There are some really nice facilities in the Frisco Peninsula recreation area. There is a nice big sign by the baseball field with information about the course. Navigation is fairly straight forward. There are some awesome benches, my favorite of which are the old chair lift benches.

Cons:

The trees are not quite what they should be to be a true mountain course but it is working on getting back to be that way. There is also a lack of elevation change in comparison to typical mountain courses. Signs and distances do not always seem that accurate. There is the occasional traffic from either bikers or hikers. The only indication that there is a course in the area from a road or parking lot are a few signs and the practice basket, but it really is back there.

Other Thoughts:

I went up to play this course for the first time at the tournament that was held for the first time in about five years. I really would have loved to see this course back then before the beetle kill. It was apparently even tighter and thick before. As it is right now it is fairly easy to score well on this course. I really enjoyed the holes that played by the lake and wish, to a certain extent that they would have made more use of the lake. There are no real shots to have any risk of going in the water so you can leave the water discs at home. It appears as though the entrance to the recreation area has been redone when they also built the day lodge. More people should stop to play this course, it is well worth the visit and will only get better as the trees continue to grow back.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
jblough
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.2 years 85 played 85 reviews
4.00 star(s)

True Rocky Mountain Disc Golf! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 13, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

I first want to start off and say that this course is the most picturesque and breathtaking that I have ever played. The pictures do no justice on here! With that being said, let's talk about the actual course design and amenities:

- The amenities are quite excellent here. You can tell the locals really care about this course. Nice concrete teepads, wood stump tee markers/signs, benches (and I love the ski-lift chairs), and trashcans/recycling bins. I love how the baskets and signs are adorned with rock climbing and craft brew stickers!

- Right off I-70

The course design:

- The terrain is what you'd expect in the high Colorado mountains: rocky, full of evergreens, great mountain vistas, and some elevation changes. I couldn't get over how easy it is to NOT lose a disc here. Maybe it's due to the beetle damage; who knows. Either way, I didn't even come close to losing a disc here despite some blind shots.
- Course navigation is extremely intuitive and it's easy to get around the course without a map.
- Nice array of doglegs (both hyzer and anhyzer), as well as some blind shots. Not to mention some holes that require a good overhand game to get over the tall pines.
- Front nine are more open, while the back nine utilize the pines more and provide some slightly more technical throws.
- I also like hoe a lot of the holes play near the lake but don't pose an immediate hazard.
- I think the views of the mountains should go without saying; but even in July, it's nice to play amid snow-capped peaks!

Cons:

- Can get very soggy, especially after thunderstorms, as I experienced the night before
- Shots can be very blind. Even though the possibility of losing a disc is kind of low, bring a spotter.
- If you're not used to the altitude, you may get winded. I usually play about 1,000 feet above sea level, so playing here was a little more tiring than normal.
- With the exception of hole #15, there are no real challenges in terms of distance. Most holes are in the 250-320 range.
- Wish there was another water hazard playing near the reservoir.

Other Thoughts:

Bring a friend, a camera, and even a picnic basket. This a great hike a well as a DG experience. This a true gem in the Rockies, and it may just be one of the most fun courses I've ever played. There are plenty of camping and other recreation opportunities on the peninsula; take advantage of them all!

Notable holes:
#9: plays over a small section of the Dillon Reservoir into a grove of pines. A slight water hazard! Awesome.
#12: Excellent view of the mountains. You have to throw down a fairway that is lined with trees/rocks on either side.
#17 - Great uphill shot that requires a strong arm to par.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
GDisc
Experience: 16.2 years 61 played 34 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 15, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

Beautiful Course nestled deep into the Rockies!.....This course will tranquilize you with it's Setting and Atmosphere.....Great Tee Pads and Baskets w/Good Signage.......Poses Technical, Bomber and Hazard shots.....

Cons:

As any Mountain course, it is a bit hard to navigate due to it being in the Mountains! Not too much bad to say about this one!

Other Thoughts:

The surrounding area is fantastic and if you are within a 200 miles of this Course it is worth the stop......BackCountry Brewery is in the area and is a Must Stop (Best Ale I've had in America!)....Make sure to check out the surrounding area because everything about this part of the Rocky Mountains is a Must do!!! Great Times on a Great Course in a Great Area!!!..
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Tricky
Experience: 4 played 4 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Moutain Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 3, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Hard to find a lot to complain about when you're playing disc golf right next to the beautiful Lake Dillon and surrounded by 14,000ft mountains.

The course had yellow baskets, which is great for people who are new to the course. They are easy to spot once you know where to look.

Requires a good amount of shots, though it does favor the forehand, which seems backwards from most courses. This course prefers the lefty or RHFH.

Distances on every tee pad and the pads are concrete! I always love to play on concrete tee pads.

Cons:

There are no signs pointing you to the next tee pad, but luckily (though at times un-luckily) enough the course is busy so following the group in front to the basket position isn't to bad.

Distances were off.

Beetle kill has forced the park to remove a TON of trees, thus making some of the holes wide open, when they were in the woods.

Course is super busy late in the day and weekends with younger kids who aren't fully caught up on golf etiquette, and the language can be quite vulgar at times, which could pose problems for families with young children.

Other Thoughts:

I would of loved to played this course when the trees were all there and the course wasn't super busy. It does provide you with some birdie chances, but then requires you to keep the pace on the next few holes.

I wasn't blown away by the course as much as I was by the view.

I am going to go back during the weekdays in the morning to see if it's as busy, and will update if I find some times where there aren't quite as many people!

With all that being said, I think a few additions to the course and some of the trees growing back in, this will be and is a nice course. If it is kept clean and treated well, it can only improve if they start to plant some more trees.

I would also like to see some older vets of the game out playing to help teach the younger crowd (like myself, I'm 26) the rules of the game and some etiquette.

3/5 stars from me only because of the difficulty to locate some baskets and a few other small details.

But it is a mountain course and that makes up for a lot!!!!

Happy 4th!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Wise Fool
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.3 years 125 played 118 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Fun Mountainous Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 12, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-Great mix of distances on the holes with distances ranging from about 200 feet all the way up to a 600+ foot hole.
-Good mix of shots with lots of trees, some uphills and downhills, some more wide open holes and even one hole that throws over an inlet of the Dillion Resevoir. Many of the holes are well designed and challenging (though quite a few of the holes like to dogleg right)
-Pretty easy course flow to follow
-Signs at each teepads give you the distance of the hole and the pro and am par.
-The baskets are in good shape
-The course is well maintained and there is not a lot of really rough rough to lose a disc in.
-Concrete teepads
-Unlike many of the ski area courses in the surrounding area, this course is free to play.

Cons:

-This course gets extremely crowded with lots of large groups of people with many not willing to let smaller groups play through
-The beatle kill epidemic has taken a lot of trees off of this course, which I feel has made it a little easier
-Parts of the course can hold water during spring melt off
-The teesigns don't show a layout of the current hole. On some courses this would not be a problem but on many of the holes the basket is not visible from the teepad so it can be very hard to know where you are throwing at on some of the holes the first few times you play the course
-One of the holes I believe it was hole 11 was missing a basket and instead just had a stick in place of the basket

Other Thoughts:

This is a very fun course with quite a few well designed holes that provide a good variety of different shots. The crowds and a few flaws are keeping it from a four disc rating, but it is definitely worth a trip up to play if your enjoy playing mountainous courses.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
14erDisc
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.3 years 40 played 40 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Awesome Highcounty Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 13, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This is a Colorado Mountain course requiring a wide variety of shots. It is one of the better maintained mountain courses, providing trash cans and benches in many places as well as spectacular views of the Rockies and lake Dillon. There is minimal sign placement, but the course is very easy to figure out as a first-timer. Frisco has many holes which give the appearance that large stands of trees were removed to create perfect and beautiful fairways. This course requires a large amount of long bombs with a great deal of accuracy. If you go for the bomb without accuracy, losing a disc amongst the trees here can take hours. However, don't think this will get you away from those finesse shots... you still need those on a few holes. This is a long course with a great vibe. Expect to take about two hours, and a desire to play again at the end.

Cons:

This course has the ability to get very crowded very quick. You have to pick and choose the time of day which you arrive.

Other Thoughts:

Awesome course with a wide variety of longer shots. A few blind shots, and one par 5. A well maintained course (with a bit of trash here and there) that is worth playing.

I also want to note that since I have reviewed it, the course has changed quite a bit. I have a few buddies that went up and played... and they claimed the holes were longer and not as creative, as well as a massive large loss of trees. I cannot testify to this, but what I heard is that the course went from a 4.0 rated course to around a 3.0 rating.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
Oklahoma Outlaw
Experience: 45.1 years 123 played 7 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 19, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

Fantastic views!!! There are great views from just about every spot on this course! Just what you would expect from a course in the mountains.

It is set up well. A good shot can take advantage of some of the hole locations. An occasional bad throw won't kill the round.

Cons:

It is obvious this course used to be a little tougher. The pine beetles have taken many trees out and have opened up several holes.

The distances listed on the tee signs did not seem to be that accurate.

Other Thoughts:

This is a fun course that I would like to play every time I am in the Breckenridge area. To really enjoy the course, play it more than once to ensure you know the hole locations on the tee.

First timers will probably want to hook-up with some local(s) to be able to follow the layout easily.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
kevinmzane
Experience: 16.1 years 120 played 10 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 11, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

The scenery here definitely made a lasting impression on me. The mountains in the background and the beautiful views of Lake Dillon were incredible. There were also a couple of ski lift benches that added a really nice touch.
There is plenty of parking available here and although I was here on a weekend, it is far from what I would consider crowded. (this could also be due to the fact that I was there in kind of an off season). The course is very easy to find. Before the start of hole 1, there is a practice basket and some open space with enough room to practice some short drives and approaches.
The course was very well maintained and easy to navigate with well groomed fairways, nice cement tee pads, and nice DISCatcher baskets that were all in great shape.
Well laid out and good mix of holes with some short and technical, some straight shots, some hidden baskets a couple long holes and one almost 700' WIDE open bomb. Challenging enough for a well rounded player without being too difficult or overwhelming even for beginners.


Cons:

There wasn't as much elevation change as I had hoped for, but there were a few holes where it played really nicely without being extreme so I didn't really feel let down.
Although they did have nice tee signs with hole# and distance, it would have been nice to either have signs with hole maps or at least some indication of where to find some of the baskets without having to walk the hole first.
Although I didn't let the aftermath of the beetles affect my rating (because this is now the permanent condition of the course), I feel it is worth mentioning that it is clear when looking down the fairways at all the stumps from cleared trees that you are likely throwing on a line that would not have existed previously.

Other Thoughts:

I had a lot of fun playing this course and look forward to returning in the future. Everyone we encountered on the course and in town was very friendly. I was originally going to pass this course up even though I was staying right up the road in Dillon, but was urged by one of the locals to give it a shot and definitely do not regret it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 5
flyraven
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 28, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The course is in really nice shape, with wide fairways and a few very tricky shots. It's definitely a great beginner/family course.

The scenery surrounding the course is fantastic and the whole Frisco Rec area is just a pleasant place to be on a nice summer day.

Cons:

The course can get busy.

Fairway maps would be handy as a few holes are hidden and impossible to see from the tee box

Was this review helpful? Yes No
13 1
volklgirl
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.8 years 110 played 56 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Just Plain Fun 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 8, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

The biggest Pro about this course is the stunning scenery surrounding it!! The views are to-die-for.

New tee markers have been added to the course - while the information on the markers hasn't changed, the new ones really blend in well with the feel of the course.

Concrete tee pads on all holes are generously sized and well textured. The ski chairlift benches at a couple of places on the course are a nice touch. The park and course fixtures are all in good repair.

In general, this course is just plain fun to play! There's not a lot of thick rough so getting off the fairway isn't ever a real disaster. Most of the fairways are well-defined and of generous width. Distances ranging from just shy of 200' to over 600' add challenge and variety as do lots of guarded and blind baskets. Navigation was pretty simple once we finally found the first tee.

The stand-out holes here are #1 with its bench-cut fairway and side-hill basket; #8 for its amazing views; #9 for its drive over the Lake Dillon inlet; and #15 for its huge distance and wide open drive followed by a narrow fairway and hidden, guarded basket.

Cons:

The very things that make this course really fun are the things that keep if from being a really great course.

Most holes are basically straight, wide, tree-lined fairways which don't really require any true skill beyond decent drive distances and basic disc control. There are a few creative options on some holes with little risk involved.

The many blind baskets that keep the interest level reasonably high are also a pain as there's no indication of direction on the tee signs and not all baskets are placed where you'd expect given the design of the fairway. Basket spotting flags of some type would go a long way to making this more manageable for first-timers (although printing the map may have helped as well).

Other Thoughts:

This is a great course for recreational players, families, and tourists to get their fix while enjoying the view. It's really easy going, fun and interesting without being truly challenging or frustrating.

We searched and searched in local stores for discs with some type of Colorado/local type stamp to no avail. Then we headed here and there was a guy in the parking lot pedaling both new and used discs from the back of his van - it appears he may be a pretty regular fixture. He had several local tournament/club stamped discs at really good prices! He's even willing to trade for something you may have in your bag.

The terrain here is an interesting combination of hard dirt, wood chips, and very sharp, very hard rocks, so be prepared for some rough footing and scraped discs.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
souljacker
Experience: 22.9 years 46 played 8 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Long and Challenging 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 14, 2001 Played the course:once

Pros:

Really Great Scenery. Wooded, Mountainous, Very Well Marked for easy navigation.

Good variety of shots... some tough long and narrow fairways, and some shorter shorts that require skill and creativity

Cons:

A fairly difficult course with lots of opportunity to lose your discs. Not the best choice for beginners, but fun non the less

Other Thoughts:

This course is a bit of monster. It is alot of fun, but can be frustrating when a disc goes astray. A challenging course, but in a great environment and worth playing
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 1
ruzz311
Experience: 15.1 years 14 played 2 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Beatles 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 17, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

I took my wife and in-laws for their first round of golf. This is the only time the beetles were actually helpful as it has opened up a lot of the fairways, and theres a couple wide open ones(even the monster 646 ft. hole)

Cons:

Beetles... They've made this course about a 2 of 5 in difficulty. Also I was hoping for more of a hike, but got a hilly course at best. Not a lot of shot variety, most are straight with very little dog-legs. The course description says 4 holes with water, but theres only one hole that you drive over, and you only have to drive 30 feet.

Other Thoughts:

The surroundings are beautiful, lake Dillon right there with all the sail boats, everyone I ran into on the course was absolutely friendly.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 2
waynewf
Experience: 24 years 31 played 7 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Pretty Sweet course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 21, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This is a very nice course! The scenery is beautiful up in the Mountains and right on the lake.
The nice thing about this course is that it has a little bit of length but you don't have to be too powerful to enjoy it.
Very easy to follow as all the holes pretty much follow the path that's laid out in front of you.

Cons:

It was a little crowded on the weekend. Waiting normally doesn't bother me, but there were these really annoying kids who asked to play through on everyhole, even though everyone was waiting and eventually they skipped a hole and we waited for them on every hole. Very rude but it was better than having them driving too early on every tee.
Also, all the people who had played this course prio to the beattle infestation couldn't stop talking about how much better it used to be and how many more trees there were. I'm sure it was, but get over it already:)
Overall, these were just individual gripes from a particular round, I can't say much bad about this course.

Other Thoughts:

Overall this is a very nice course that was worth the drive from Denver.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
mwgheaton
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 23.2 years 66 played 25 reviews
3.50 star(s)

A shadow of its former self... 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 29, 2008 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This course has a great set-up. It sits in a bowl next to Lake Dillon surrounded by mountains. There is water, trees, technical drives and great views. The tee pads, signs and baskets are good quality. It also has character with various regional "art" placed throughout the park such as an old chairlift near hole #5. The course sits at the hub of outdoor adventure in Summit County between Breckenridge, Dillon, Frisco, Keystone and other great mountain resort towns.

Cons:

The pine beetle had its way with the trees on this course and as a result hundreds of trees have been cut down. What used to one of the better courses in Colorado has been downgraded quite a bit. The tight winding fairways have been replaced by mounds of wood chips.

Other Thoughts:

Even with the beetle kill, the course still has charm and can be challenging. The first half of the course was still pretty well in tact when I played, but you could see trees mark for removal. It is a shadow of it former self, but it is still one of the better courses in Colorado and a must play for any disc golfer vacationing in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 5
amcnutt
Experience: 8 played 8 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Pine beetle kills the course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 8, 2008 Played the course:never

Pros:

Scenery. Close to Frisco and I-70.

Cons:

Two years ago this course was a 4.5 out of 5! Pine beetle killed the trees. They have been harvested leaving most holes bare. Not the same course it used to be.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 4
volleyballnick
Experience: 29.3 years 12 played 12 reviews
4.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 3, 2006 Played the course:never

Pros:

Amazing course in a great park. Shots over water, and through woods are beautiful. Holes are well marked and the course is very well taken care of

Cons:

The course may be too challenging for the beginning or average player

Other Thoughts:

Very challenging course, but it is well worth your while to play.Great views and great disc golf make this course special, and it is not hard to get to at all being only a couple minutes off the highway
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top