• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Lynchburg, VA

Peaks View Park

Permanent course
3.145(based on 32 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Peaks View Park reviews

Filter
8 0
DiscGolfCraig
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.1 years 610 played 554 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Peak's Valleys

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 8, 2023 Played the course:once

Pros:

Playing here, I was reminded of a very simple lesson. Regardless of quality, play the original layout when a secondary layout is added much later. When the second layout is added after the fact, be prepared for squares peg / round hole layouts time and again.
- I should have played the original layout. I played the longer layout instead. Bad choice. Lesson learned.
- That said, when you've got peaks in your name, you're either a hilly park or a strip club. In this case, the rolling hills were the defining trait of the course.
- I enjoyed the opening six holes that played in the fields. Baskets were strategically placed near trees to create the challenges. Plus, you're getting nice views throughout a nice city park.
- Of those, #3 (downhiller to a basket surrounded by trees) and #6 basket playing across a small creek were the two most enjoyable.
- Once you enter the woods on #7, you're in the woods until the final two holes. From here, the key word is TIGHT. Hit your lines or hit trees and watch your disc sail off into the woods. You could play two rounds here. In the first round, you could birdie a lot of holes and bogey a lot too. Second round you could just as easily flip the birdie and bogey holes simply by which ones you smacked trees.
- #10 is memorable because there's a small pond below to the right. It (key word) shouldn't come into play. Again, smacking a tree and/or getting a bad roll downhill and it comes into play.
- Accuracy with the putter and mids is going to determine your score. This is a (seemingly) three true outcome course (sorry MLB). I felt I had very few putts in the 20 - 40-foot length. Every hole was either a 10-foot birdie putt, a simple up and down par 3 (after hitting a tree and having my disc fall straight down), or a scramble for par (after hitting a tree and getting a bad bounce).
- #8 and 11 were two of the better wooded holes. Elevation factors on both.
- #16 was the best wooded hole, especially from the longs. Downhill, sharp dogleg right, 255-foot hole playing over a creek. I think for the fourth or fifth time this round, I had a throw that felt good leaving my hand only to barely clip a branch or hit a hidden branch. Compared to some of the other wooded holes, this one requires more skill to get a good flick to the basket.
- Tremendous risk/reward factor here. You can make ace runs. You can try to force throws around trees. Make it and you'll be well under par. Miss those throws and it's a questionable day.
- Overall, a very impressive, expansive park. Lots of amenities including ball fields, playgrounds, and lots of walking/biking trails. You could spend hours here without touching the disc golf course.

Cons:

The long layout is an afterthought. The (somewhat lacking) attention that goes to the course only goes to the primary layout. For example, on #7, there's not a discernible fairway leading to the basket. After hitting another tree, I scouted the best route to the basket and quickly realized there wasn't one. A simple poke and hope layout.
- Lots of trash throughout the wooded portion of the course. Cans are overflowing. Litter on the ground. Parks department is doing a great job maintaining the main portions of the park. Everything visible looks good. What happens in the woods with the 'disc golfers' can be ignored. A stark contrast from the open and wooded holes.
- Lots of erosion in the woods. Lots of exposed roots. Potential tripping hazards.
- When you get off the fairway (not a question of if), be careful retrieving discs. Thorns, branches, slopes, whatever is hidden under the leaves, wildlife, etc. can make it tricky getting to a disc.
- Not a lot of variety with the wooded holes. By the time I was admiring the pond on the right of #10, I felt I'd been in the woods a long time. It was my fourth wooded hole. Not a good sign. It took me an hour-ish to play my round. Somehow it felt much longer than that.
- #14 plays right behind townhouses. Based on the extra abundance of trash on this hole and the makeshift trail leading to the townhouses, it's clear the trash on the course is coming from outside the disc golf community. My senses were a little higher here because of the rundown vibe this small area had.

Other Thoughts:

My opinion of Peaks View would be different if I played the intended layout. Alternate layouts are only good if they're done right. If you're just plopping baskets off to the side without much effort, don't add them.
- This course is going to play much different at different times of year. Once the leaves are in full bloom, fairways are going to be a little tighter. However, based on looking at other pictures, the wooded holes are more attractive.
- I wouldn't want to play here in Fall when the leaves are coming down. Good luck finding discs in the woods with an extra two feet of leaves on the ground.
- #18 was a bit of a letdown due to its forced vibe. You tee off right next to the parking lot. You throw downhill to the basket. The hole is fine. But, then, you finish your round and walk right back up the hill to get to the fairway you just played. Maybe make this the first hole instead?
- I couldn't help but notice all the land in this park. It made me think this course would be a lot better with just a little more space.
- From the short tees, no hole is longer than 260 feet. From the longs, the longest two holes are #1 & 2. Make sure you've got quality putters and mids. If you're not a good shot shaper, this course will force you to become one.
- There's going to be a huge scoring variance for many players between their good and bad days. When you're clicking, you're going to be hitting your lines and seeing a ton of birdie putts. On a bad day, you're hitting one tree after another, seeing a lot of 3s and 4s on the scorecard instead of 2s.
- Between playing safe on my first visit here and having just played New London Tech, I was slightly off my game. A whole lot of par 3s due to hitting lots of trees. I don't think I hit a putt from more than 15 feet mainly because I wasn't putting from more than 15 feet. Lots of simple ups and downs around trees from 50-80 feet throughout my round. A good day and its majority birdies here. A bad day and I would have seen a few more 4s on my scorecard.
- I'd like to play here again another time from the short tees. From my Charlotte perspective, it was a more eroded version of Elon Eager Beaver. It was nice catching my breath after just completing a 12,000-foot layout. Next time, I want to be able to score much better.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
jacobselden
Experience: 12 years 11 played 2 reviews
3.50 star(s)

New Pins/Baskets 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 6, 2017 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

New pin placements (most are extensions of the originals) which add more rigor to an already good course.
New baskets: The new 18 have Prodigy Baskets

Cons:

Old baskets can be a hazard when playing the new extended tees
Everything is a Par 3

Other Thoughts:

Peaks View needed a renovation and it got it. This course can now be a legitimate tournament course with 36 pins. I believe that they are hosting a tournament there in April. The Prodigy baskets are phenominal and standout in the woods unlike the chainstars which can be impossible to see at some points. There are still some holes that are pitch and putt, but overall the course is much more technical than it once was.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
DarkBiCin
Experience: 13.1 years 27 played 3 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Peaks View Alum 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Mar 5, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great Course for All Skill Levels
Good Wooded Section (holes 7-16)
All Par 3
Great Upkeep
Benches on Some Holes
Great Bridge on Hole 5
Concrete Pads
Well Marked
Solo Play takes roughly 30-40 minutes

Cons:

Pond on 10 with high chance of throwing into if throwing a roller or bouncing of a tree (especially if shooting forehand to B Pin)

Other Thoughts:

A Pins: All in All a Great Course for the Beginner and Advanced Players Mid/Putter Practice.
B Pins: Great for a little more challenge for those willing to accept the challenge.

Personally Love the B pins!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
bigdisc
Experience: 8.8 years 14 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Very fun and laid back course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 31, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course has some of the best woods holes I've played anywhere. Many of them feature wood-outlined mulch "fairways", which I found to be a neat touch. Also, the style of the woods has minimal overgrowth, making disc-finding very easy. You won't often find yourself bushwhacking in search of a drive.

Cons:

The holes in the open are, for the most part, a little generic and straightforward. Nearly all of the par 4s are very generous and can easily be birdied by even a moderate player.

Other Thoughts:

Beautiful park and great experience. Get out and play this course if you want a nice, laid back round where you aren't often challenged (depending on your skill level) but are still having plenty of fun.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
splatbaseball51
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.3 years 182 played 59 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Still fun despite lower rating 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 26, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course is certainly fun to play despite being a pitch and putt course for all but probably 5 holes.

The first 5-6 holes were actually pretty cool. They're more of your typical disc golf shots, with mostly open fields and sparse trees protecting the basket. They're still mid-to-fairway distance, but you'd actually be proud of an ace on those holes. Same can't be said on the remaining.

Ok, so I mentioned aces. Yea, you'll have a lot of opportunities for an ace out here. Realistically every hole could be aced, with hole 17 being the only one where it wouldn't be easy. BUT, it's hard to be proud of a jump-putt ace...unless you like the novelty of it.

The tee pads were concrete and plenty big enough. Heck, they could've been toe boards and they'd have been big enough for most holes!

The signage was also great. No navigation signs that I recall but you probably won't need them. I played with a local, however your only stumbling blocks might be finding holes 1 and 7.

Cons:

The biggest drawback of this course is the hole variety, or lack there of. Once you hit hole 7, you'll be throwing short (Very short) putter shots until you get to hole 17. When I say short, I mean I jump putted from the tee pad on 2-3 holes...

With the above being said, you certainly won't be able to hone all aspects of your game at Peaks View. I've been told Liberty's disc golf team practices here with a putter and mid restriction, which makes total sense. Don't expect to come here and pull out drivers.

Several of the baskets are in pretty rough shape. The course is old and has been played quite a bit. Several baskets are leaning pretty bad/chains are starting to rust/ basket welds are broken. It wouldn't hurt (during a redesign?) to get some new catchers!

I'm not going to go into a big rant about additional con's that this course has (no water-shots, etc...) because it doesn't warrant the nit-picking. The glaring flaw is the length of the holes/variety of shots. I'd rather this be a longer 9-hole course that could tailor to a well-rounded game.

Other Thoughts:

The other park amenities looked great upon pulling in, but you might find it difficult to find the first tee, which is down the hill from the lot and to the left of the picnic area.

I caught myself thinking, man I wish all of the holes were like the first 5. I mean, I love to change things up as much as the next guy with a short putter hole, but 10+ in a row is too much.

If you read too much into my con's you might misunderstand my overall consensus of Peaks View. Yea I ragged on it, but it's actually pretty fun to play. I'll definitely stop by and play it again whenever I'm in town. I just don't expect to get any real "practice" out of it other than up-shots.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
JMcCon
Experience: 22.9 years 15 played 9 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Local Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 12, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Good beginner course and also fun for practice/lesure play for more advanced players.
Nice park with use of differnt types of shots and holes.
Over all fun and good.
Mostly easy to navigate, hole 7 starts in the woods.

Cons:

Dont really need a long distance driver for this course.
Like a few reviews before the back 9 is alot of short holes through the woods.
Few of the course par 4s should be 3s, but not a big deal.

Other Thoughts:

Good and fun course and you should play it if you never have and are in town.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 3
crazyeyes1052
Experience: 3 played 3 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Almost not worth it 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 5, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Set in a nice park.
-Clean and well kept course.
-Other disc golfers were helpful

Cons:

-My biggest gripe is that that the back half of this course is comprised of 120'-160' straight shots. Very unimaginative. The front 9 wasn't exactly exciting either.
-Signage was not helpful, I had to ask on occasion as to where I was going next and would have likely never found the first hole, otherwise.

Other Thoughts:

I was in town on business and wanted to try out the local courses. I was excited when I got here as it did not appear to be a terrible course, but I was quickly underwhelmed. This course felt like it was unnecessarily crammed into a small space and squeezed out 18 holes for the sake of having 18 holes. I think if they were to re-design the course, it could be a really nice 12-15 hole course and make each hole a little more challenging.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
jordanferg92
Experience: 12.9 years 47 played 29 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Great Short Game Course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 18, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

0. Great maps with distance and par
1. Short
2. Concrete Tees
3. Navigation is simple
4. Elevation changes
5. Mixture of open and wooded holes
6. Bathrooms, trashcans, playground, tennis courts, shade, baseball field, and a water fountain

Cons:

1. Some holes are too short
2. Pars are too high (Should be all 3's)
3. Walking path near the first 5 holes

Other Thoughts:

Overall I really enjoyed this course. This was a great, short, very fun, enjoyable course to test and tone your short game. While being a very easy course, the elevation in the wooded holes still leaves you enough of a challenge to feel accomplished. Leave the driver in the car because you won't be needing it. With the average length of a hole at probably 175 feet this is the course to get your first ace on. This course will challenge your accuracy so be careful. Baskets aren't the best, but hey they do the job. A couple of the wooded holes were unique. Can't wait to play this course again. BTW course starts just past the tennis courts.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
DSCJNKY
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.9 years 709 played 132 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Fun Little Putter, Mid Course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 18, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Short, but FUN. With holes ranging from 100-250', Peaks View is a shorter course that would be an ideal place for beginners to learn the game and for advanced players to work on their putter/mid drives and "upshot" game. Even though some of the holes were extremely short, the shots were pretty fun and required you to hit a gap, or curve the disc around trees, or used the elevation (or threat of elevation) well.
- Cubby Aces All Day. Some of the holes on this course are extremely short putter shots. I had an ace (the non-Cubby variety) bounce out of the bottom of the basket during my single round at Peaks View. If this were my home course, I would easily have 10,000 aces by now.
- The Front 6. The first 6 holes at Peaks View were pretty decent holes... short, but decent. Open city park grassy fairways type shots that utilized the trees, vegetation and elevation wisely. They were also some of the longer and more demanding holes on the course.

Cons:

- Some of the Holes are Ridiculously Short. Once the course made it into the woods, it shortened up considerably. I don't remember having to throw anything longer than a putter from about Hole 7-17.
- Where's the Course? I pulled into 3 different parking lots, each of which had their own neighborhood maze of roads to follow to get into the park, before I was able to locate the course's parking lot. This is probably my fault for having not written down the directions and for following my GPS, but I eventually got there.

Other Thoughts:

- Overall. I had a blast at Peaks View... after all, who can't have fun shooting a 12 under, with 5 of the 6 missed holes hitting metal for birdie. The only hole I didn't hit metal in 2 on was Hole 17. The course was perfect for beginners due to the length, but suitable for advanced players to practice their putter drives / upshot game. I like aces, and I especially like aces in other states than my home state, so I would definitely play / practice here again if in the region for work... I would however, probably not make a special trip to Peaks View from I-81 if traveling by on a road trip.
- Saigon Palace. I like to eat somewhat adventurous foods and decided to eat at Saigon Palace, a Vietnamese restaurant in Lynchburg. The reviews on Yelp claimed that it was better than the Vietnamese restaurant in Roanoke, which I enjoyed. IT WAS NOT. I would not go back there. (just in case you were thinking about doing so)
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 4
MarlinRoth
Experience: 12.3 years 6 played 5 reviews
3.00 star(s)

fun course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 21, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Good for beginners, or midrange, short drives practice

In a well-maintained park.

Bathrooms are available

Cons:

No long tee shots

relatively crowded

Other Thoughts:

I learned on this course with a friend while i was at college so I know its a great course to learn the game
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
pdiddy71
Experience: 18.3 years 30 played 3 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Oldie but a Goodie 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 15, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Concrete teepads, easy to follow, low lost disc chances, good for quick evening rounds

Cons:

needs better erosion and ground maintenance on some bases of baskets. overcrowding during nice days and summer, parking lot parallels hole 18 - problem for beginners, softball game players and watchers are possible obstacles on hole 6.

Other Thoughts:

For those that don't know, this course was built in 1998. This was before most of the high speed drivers that are out now. Very fun course for introducing people to the game and improving mid-range, & putt and approach skills. This course is friendly for all levels of ability and ages. My Dad has played here several times, and he is 68. Hopefully the City will able to build another course to help alleviate the overcrowding at times.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
frabs
Experience: 13.1 years 8 played 3 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Great First Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 2, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Concrete tees
Good signs
Good variety of shots
Great Flow
Wooded holes value control and accuracy over distance

Cons:

Tees are kind of small
Erosion
No really long holes to bomb a drive
Little Leauge baseball spectators sit on the fairways of holes 5 and 6 on weekends during the season

Other Thoughts:

This is my home course and where I learned the game. The tight wooded fairways taught me the value of learning to throw a putter on tee shots, which I feel has made my game much better. I can play this course in 40 minutes to an hour, so it is great for getting in a quick round. I would say that it is a perfect course for learning the game on, but it will begin to feel easy after a while.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
turbosteve
Experience: 13.2 years 86 played 9 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Good course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 19, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Tee pads are concrete. Good mix of open and wooded holes. Great use of elevation especially at #8 and #16.

Cons:

Can be crowded on weekends. The baskets are not in the best shape. The course also has a problem with gnats.

Other Thoughts:

Bathrooms are on sight at the parking lot. The park also is used for other things like baseball near the course so watch out for people watching baseball games.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
dgsouthpaw
Experience: 14 years 3 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great Starter 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 17, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This course is one of the most beautiful in the area. Holes 1, 2, 6, and 18 have a great view, especially at sunset/sunrise.
There are very few holes where you can just put everything behind it unless you're playing with a midrange disc (which a lot of people choose to do) It was my first course and I have played it many many times, even though I have been trying to expand my horizons I keep coming back because it's a great way to unwind. The thing that stands out most to me about this course can be summed up in one word, peaceful. It's very serene, and while the woods are somewhat open, they still provide a bit of solace.
Possibly one of the best courses to work on improving putting as the trees provide slight interference and there is enough elevation change to make the short throws interesting. On several holes the trees are thick but never too thick. Very fun course

Cons:

After it rains the course get very muddy, especially hole 4 which can remain muddy for days. Not much to not like about this course, although the second time I played it ate my disc I can hardly blame the course for that.

Other Thoughts:

With the exception of hole 4, the course is very well kept and very pretty, it provides a good bit of a challenge, especially to beginners. I can guarantee any first time player will want more after playing this course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 3
Jeremy Reynolds
Experience: 14 years 12 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Peaks View 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jan 24, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Peaks view is a great way to learn the game. It was the first course i ever played and since then I have scored my first ace on hole three. The holes are not super long and you do not need to have a beast arm to play the course. Holes 1-6 are mostly open with a few trees which add some cool obstacles. The course is pretty technical at times because holes 7-16 are in the woods and you need to be accurate to keep a good score. Being accurate is how this course will help you become a better player.

Cons:

The upkeep around the park is good, but it could be a little better. More grass would be a plus especially on holes 3-6 because of all the mud that gets everywhere if you play when its wet. The park is really nice though so its not really a big deal.

Other Thoughts:

Peaks view is alot of fun to go out and play a few quick games at because the course can be played through quickly if you hustle.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
Olorin
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 45.2 years 983 played 118 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Doesn’t pique my interest 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jan 20, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

* Terrain variety- there's a well balanced mix of woods holes and more open holes with scattered trees. (9 Woods/ 9 Mixed.) The beginning holes, 1-6, have a nice mix of hills, grassy fairways, and scattered trees. Then holes 7-16 are woods holes that test your accuracy. The woods have nice natural beauty.
*There's elevation variety on every hole (8 Up/ 10 Down) even if the elevation changes are moderate.

<span class="italic">~Amenities-</span>
there's a decent restroom, hole maps on the tee signs, and a basic message board.

Cons:

-Especially in the woods, many holes don't take full advantage of the hills by having fairways on the side of the hills with little elevation change instead of up or down hill shots.
-There can be some mud on fairways and a few greens after a rain or during snow melt.
-Limited fairway shape variety- there are too many straight fairways, with only 2 that curve right. 10 Straight/ 6 Left/ 2 Right.
-Length variety is low with all holes being rather short. 11 holes of 120-180/ 7 of 200-290.
-Tee pads are concrete, but kind of short and narrow.
-An apartment complex too close to holes 14 and 15 detracted a little bit from the natural beauty

Other Thoughts:

Course Level = Red (most suited for Juniors and Intermediate players rated 825-875)

My rating is kind of low, but remember that it reflects my own personal enjoyment of the course. For me, the course is just too short, and with the disappointment over the lost opportunity on the side hill shots, it doesn't have that much to draw me back. Since it's a Red level course it's more suitable for newer players, Juniors, and those who don't throw very far. That demographic might want to take a peek at the course, but others might find it less enjoyable.

<span class="underline">A note about my rating:</span> My rating is a subjective measure of my enjoyment of the course, on the day I played it, and it is NOT intended to be a measure of the quality of the course. My ratings are given "on the curve" in relation to all other courses I've played.

Look in the "Links/Files" section for my files with Hole-by-hole evaluations, and a more detailed Overall review. You can also read more of my review philosophy and rating notes at Disc Golf Course Reviews
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
Bamm
Experience: 14.2 years 113 played 14 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Peaks View 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 16, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Good course layout with some uphill shots and some challenging wooded shots. Very good signage. There is actually a trash can here and there (but I guess that;s because they are around a softball field). Very short course, you can play it pretty quick without rushing.

Cons:

A lot of the basket areas have erosion problems. Large ruts all around the baskets and some tee box areas. You might have to play around people if there is a softball game going on. We had to get about 5-6 people to move once before when we got to #5 I think it was. Oh well, HEAD'S UP!!! =-)

Other Thoughts:

Great for the beginner and still pleasant to play for better dg'ers (from what I hear as I am not one of the better ones) =-)
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
wkelly42
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.1 years 38 played 25 reviews
3.50 star(s)

My First Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 28, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This is a great course for a beginner (which is DEFINITELY me). I got my Starter Set for Father's Day the week before my first round at this course, and learned a lot from playing here.

While this isn't a long course by any stretch of the imagination, it requires some good course management and some accurate throwing. There are a few holes that I would consider wide open, but most of the course is certainly designed with risk-reward in mind. This is the place to go if you want to work on accuracy and your short game. Leave the driver at home -- even as a beginner, I I threw my Leopard driver past a couple of the holes the second time I played here.

#13 is certainly a birdie hole for a newb (I've done it every time I played here, including my first round ever playing disc golf), and I'm sure that a more experienced player could throw an ace with no problem.

#5 is a tough hole if you're a backhand thrower. As has been mentioned by other reviewers, you need a forehand to score well here -- which means I don't score well on #5. Practice, practice, practice!!

Cons:

Lots of non-golfing traffic on the first six holes, especially on the weekends. You've got pavilions and baseball fields to contend with until you get to the woods on #7. I even had a kid pick up my disc and bring it over to me while I was playing up #5 -- thankfully I remembered where it had landed.

Other Thoughts:

This is a great place for beginners to learn the game without feeling the pressure to bomb a drive. You'll learn accuracy and strategy, and have some fun without getting overly frustrated. Great place to bring some beginners, too!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
jkdisc
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.8 years 117 played 110 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Quick Round 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 24, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

This is a nice beginner course.
-easy navigation without a map
-concrete tees
-mix of open/wooded
-some elevation changes
-informative tee signs
-clean/well kept course and facilities

Cons:

It's hard to find many cons that are a major issues but most holes are very short with limited challenges for advanced players.
Becareful teeing off many pads have a drop-off at the end of the tee. (you don't need a long run up anyhow.)
-some baskets in rough shape (bent, leaning)

Other Thoughts:

Overall it's a fun short course and it's worth playing if you're nearby. Water hazards aren't a huge worry unless you have a really bad throw. My favorite hole was #17 because it's longer with more obstacles. Park near the bathrooms where you will see the sign pointing you towards the 1st tee down the path.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
Han_Tzu
Experience: 14.2 years 8 played 3 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great, Short, Ace!!! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 6, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This a great confidence booster course. For any beginner grab your disc and start throwing it. Every hole is a chance to learn something new. The elevation changes and the wooded area (from 7-16) are not terrible challenges. You can learn throw many shots with this course. As I have gotten better I have left my drivers in the bag and played the whole course with my Mid-Range Buzzz. It is short so you can play through a round or two in a day or just squeeze in a game. Many Ace opportunity's, also a good drive and good putt may land you well under par for the day.

Cons:

Only real con would be the baskets have seen their share of abuse from weather or a individual that decide the inanimate object needed a thrashing because he sucks at putting. Basket 11 the top is being held on by rocks balancing it to the pole. I called the park and left a message to no avail!  Some of the other baskets look like the will be joining 11 soon.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top