Bainbridge, OH

Pike Lake State Park

Permanent course
3.855(based on 26 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Pike Lake State Park reviews

Filter
16 0
discerfred
Experience: 12 played 1 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Like a classic car slowing wasting away.

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 11, 2024 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This course has some beautiful and challenging holes. Some of the holes play next to the creek and present a good risk / reward challenge. The next tees are fairly easy to find. Low traffic course so mostly will have this course to yourself. You mostly have the course to yourself. Some long holes and some challenging ones. A fair amount of putter shots and some longer ones.

Cons:

Steps are starting to come apart on some of the holes. Hole 2 had a tree fall on the pin so the pin was repaired and moved. A few places there was no bridge so just had to wade through the water in the small creek. A few places you need to back track on the fairway.

Other Thoughts:

This course is like a classic 1960s muscle car. At first glance it looks rather shabby and a bit worn like nobody has taken care of it. You get in and turn the key, the engine sounds good. You drive down the road and realize this car with the manual transmission is such a joy to drive. That's how this course is. It looks a little run down but the baskets are in good shape and when you get done you realize, That was a great experience! But as with old cars this course will need some upkeep soon to keep playable and relevant.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
gcoghill
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 23.8 years 74 played 68 reviews
3.50 star(s)

5-star 12-hole course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 19, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

- excellent minimalist routed tee signs.
- excellent use of the hilly terrain
- excellent mix of challenges and throws
- multiple signature holes, #12 epic hole
- when done right, easy to navigate (see cons)
- clean, secluded and scenic park
- mostly exclusive land for the course

Cons:

- some seriously lame filler holes (8, 9, 16-18)
- some very confusing hole to tee transitions
- backtracking along fairways
- trash on course (first few holes near multi-use areas and parking lot mostly)
- neglected stairs and tee pads
- short tees were mostly impossible to find

Other Thoughts:

Pike Lake has a 5-star course nestled within this 18-hole course. There are multiple memorable and "dude factor" holes on this course (holes that make you say "dude!" when you approach), usually those that really take advantage of the hilly terrain. They all made me wish I could play them again. Even the approach to the tees for these holes seemed planned out as a presentation.

Unfortunately, a third of the holes on this course are little more than something to do while you walk to the next set of cool holes (or back to your car). Unsurprisingly, they are those that hug the asphalt.

But the standout holes (3-7, 11-15) really make up for it. They are my favorite kind of disc golf holes -- wooded, hilly, scenic and planned with the terrain, and fun mixed with challenge.

Hole 12 in particular was a standout hole for me. The way one approached the tee pad, the setting and presentation of it, it all just felt very dramatic. It used the terrain perfectly to set off the tee. It was one of the few holes among the hundreds I've played that will stick with me. The course designer had the approach, setting, and overall experience in mind.

And there were other holes on this course with similar care put into them, each with their own personality.

If the entire course maintained the caliber of the best holes, this would easily be a 5-star course. But the filler holes of 8-9 ruin the momentum after a super 3-7 hole set, and holes 16-18 end the course on a bland and forgettable note.

The other big disappointment was the amount of trash on the course in this otherwise immaculate park. The trash was mostly in multi-use areas of the course (hiking trails) and near the parking lot holes. In other words, easily cleaned up. The holes deeper in the woods had little or no trash. And most of the trash was in excessively overflowing trash bins (again, very easily accessed from the road, and mostly in two areas).

For the amount of employees milling about this park, the ease of access to clean up these trash bins, and the cleanliness of the rest of the park, it was a shame.

But the neglected stairs and steps for the hilly holes on this course revealed that the park administration has obviously abandoned what was once a course designed and built with great effort and care.

I would definitely come back here to play, just for those holes that were good -- they were that good and make up for the others.

Definitely worth a visit, worth going out of your way to play. Not necessarily a destination course, but you'll be glad you played this one if its at all convenient. Or even slightly inconvenient as it was for me. I'll definitely be back.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
goosefraba1
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.2 years 80 played 39 reviews
3.50 star(s)

I'm gonna make a right turn! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 13, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

In the middle of rural BFE, Ohio, you will find this beautiful 18 hole course.

First and foremost, you have to marvel at the amount of work that has been put into making this course. Infrastructure everywhere! Beautiful bridges and stairways. I am truly amazed and grateful at the effort it had to take to haul the materials around.

Secondly, the elevation change makes this a very FUN course. Who doesnt like throwing downhill? Good balance in uphill, downhill, sidehill.

Finally, nature man... it is everywhere! I love, love the rock streams on this course. Just truly beautiful.

Cons:

This is where I have to make some complaints.

This course is unique. Never have I ever heard of a course without a left finishing hole. If you throw rhfh dominant or lhbh, you should expect to beat your rhbh/lhfh dominant friends by 10 strokes. Dont feel good about that. It is a design flaw not to have balance on a course. This could have been avoided by a howdy do point or figure 8 anywhere on the course. Instead, it is just a giant loop of forehand shots. I complain of this... and i am rhfh dominant. Boring design aspect. "Im gonna make a right turn!" If you dont know where the basket is from the pad... throw a rhfh. Basket is right of the pad or straight ahead.

Everything else I can look passed... the bugs, the nettles and other high weeds, a little bit of trash on the course (not much), the few boring holes to close out.

Other Thoughts:

Anyway, fun course... worth the drive off the interstate if in the area. I wouldnt drive farther than say 1 hour just to play it, though. Would recommend playing in spring or fall. Avoid summer unless wearing pants or very high socks. Nettles are stinging bastards.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 3
RodneyHavens
Experience: 10.5 years 145 played 6 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Wildcat Hollow 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 1, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Quite, Shady and out of the wind. This course is has many obstacles

Cons:

Course has gone downhill, not many tournament rounds played here anymore

Other Thoughts:

The one major problem is between #10 and #11 -- If your not careful you can skip 12-13 because paths are not clearly marked
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 5
Xelto
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 42 played 37 reviews
4.50 star(s)

One of Ohio's best 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 11, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Lots of variety, very good use of elevation and woods, beautiful scenery. Has my favorite hole in all of disc golf anywhere.

If you're doing the camping thing, there are inexpensive cabins at the park, as well, some of them pet-friendly.

Cons:

Way off the beaten path. But worth it. At times it seems like they were trying too hard to make the course interesting.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
Armus Patheticus
Experience: 16 played 4 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Pike Lake 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 17, 2015 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Peaceful, picturesque (in spots), and lots of fun, this is a wooded course that gives a fair chance of success. The combination of woods and short holes means that a new player (myself) can enjoy himself while a control expert can (I would imagine) clean up without feeling bored. The course plays up and down, dramatically so on five holes (2,3,7,12,14), without being gratuitously strenuous. Holes 3-7 and 10-14 are quite attractive, climbing the hillside and following the creek.

A nice camp store sells a surprising variety of Innova products.

Cons:

Perhaps because of its location in a secluded state park, course maintenance seems to be somewhat neglected. The decrepit steps up and down some hills are not currently an issue, but the overflowing trash bins (which are located at several tees, a pro in itself) and widespread litter were an unpleasant distraction. A large tree across fairway 11 has been there for a long time now, and severely interferes with the intended line of play. A narrow path has finally been cut through the pile of trees down across fairway 13, but many throws will still end up in the remaining mass of branches. These aren't serious complaints, but they do have an impact on the playing experience.
Many other reviews have mentioned the insect problem. It is real. I spend a huge amount of time outdoors, in the woods, and rarely experience the concentration of mosquitos and gnats that I did when playing Pike Lake this spring. This is unfortunate, and no one's fault, but it can really make enjoying yourself a struggle to be bitten half to death while trying to pick bugs out of both eyes. There were very few insects when I played yesterday, so maybe it would be best to think of this as a "seasonally excellent" course.

The navigation issues are well documented in other reviews. The only truly confusing bit is 10 to 11. After you play 10, you will see tee 13. Walk right of that, then right of basket 12, then up the trail to find 11. There are really two "trails" leading back there, one of them being fairway 12.

Other Thoughts:

Tee signs. I don't care much about posted par, but these are somewhat curious. The signs are nice, but the par designations are hard to figure. 8 & 12 are listed as 5s, and are both easily threeable, even for pitiful player like myself. The most difficult hole on the course (#4) is called a 4, which it probably should be. No other holes would typically be thought of as anything more than a 3, but five of them are called 4s, including the straightforward 219' #16 (where there are multiple tees, I'm speaking about play from the long ones). This isn't a con, I make my own standards for performance on a given hole, and many courses have inflated par designations... but not usually courses this nice. Just an oddity

You'll probably pass Williams Corner, a convenience store a few miles away, on your way to and from. If you're hungry, the chicken breasts are good. The potato wedges aren't.

If you're a player like me; weak arm, decent control, and strong legs (for the trails), I think you'll really enjoy yourself AND have a good chance of feeling good about your performance. If you're a long thrower with poor control who hates hills and trees... I think you might enjoy yourself anyway, it's a pretty course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 3
ichatter
Experience: 16 played 1 reviews
3.50 star(s)

pike lake 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 9, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

Interesting layout very shady good for a warm day. Concrete pads on long tees. Good workout lots of elevation changes. Pit toilet after number 9.

Cons:

Some pads are short and oddley shaped. Short tees are hard to find and dirt or gravel. Tees two and eleven are hard to find with 11 being very hard to find. Lots of stairs to help with elevation changes but some are in poor shape and hazardous.

Other Thoughts:

No cell service so could not use online maps.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
mrclc
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 10.5 years 727 played 46 reviews
4.00 star(s)

A Rustic Gem That's Worth The Drive 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 13, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Pike Lake is a largely technical course that maximizes its beautiful surroundings for a hike and a round that the player will remember for a long time. The surroundings are top-notch, as the course is nestled into a rocky, rustic hillside with a stream that runs alongside. Of the 70+ courses I've played, Pike Lake is the most aesthetically pleasing location I've had the good fortune to enjoy. With the mature trees overhead and the sound of the water rushing past, it's easy to forget that you're playing a round of disc golf, which integrates unobtrusively into the landscape.

And that golf is pretty good too, really shining when playing up, down, and alongside a steep hillside on Holes 3-7. The significant elevation changes are exciting, as is Hole 4's high-risk putt to the hill's steep edge. Other course favorites include Hole 12, a long, sweeping beauty that allows big arms to air it out downhill in the forest on an otherwise tightly wooded configuration, and Hole 15, which plays straight ahead and over the gently curving OB stream, feeling almost like an Idlewild 16 in miniature. The elevation and obstacles provide enough to keep the player having fun throughout, even if the general hole design is roughly the same, adjusted for length (more on that under cons).

The course has been quiet and low traffic each time I've visited here, amplifying the rustic atmosphere and natural beauty. I get the sense that because of its remote location, this 18 rarely sees a large number of people.

Each hole features a long concrete teepad and usually a short natural teepad as well, a simple but detailed tee sign with hole diagram, and a Chainstar in good repair.

A permanent outhouse stands near the parking lot.

Cons:

While the design is interesting and fun due to the elevation, OB, and trees, most holes play either straight ahead or finish to the right at varying lengths, heavily favoring RHFH and LHBH players. Although there's a lot of variety from tee to pin, a RHBH player may get tired of frequent anhyzer approaches. Also, the course ends with a whimper instead of a bang, as the campground style Holes 16-18 are a bit of a letdown from the earlier elevation and creekside juiced winners (but still fun in their own right).

The walk between Hole 10 and 11 is confusing, even with a map. Basically, backtrack along Hole 10 on the basket side of the stream and follow the next tee sign on the hiking trail board. From there, follow the natural trail some distance to the Hole 11 teepad.

The concrete tees vary in size, ranging from extra large on the road level to pretty small in the hills. This could make for some uncomfortable or abbreviated runups.

Although Pike Lake has short and long tees, the natural red tees can be considerably difficult to find and are likely not worth trying to play.

Other Thoughts:

UPDATE 9/20/16 -- I've lowered my rating somewhat after realizing that I overvalued Pike Lake slightly as a noob. After playing other 4.5 disc courses, this one doesn't quite hold that weight. I've adjusted down to a 4.0.

Pike Lake is my favorite course in Ohio, as it blends everything that initially attracted me to disc golf in one fantastic package: hiking, natural beauty, and enjoyable play. Aesthetics give the course a big boost here, but the golf is better than most, and even the less exciting holes (like the campground style finishers) are high fun factor. Take the time to drive to rural Ohio for this one.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
sisyphus
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.5 years 397 played 383 reviews
4.00 star(s)

A Land of Mossy Stones 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 28, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Situated in a remote, rustic park in south central Ohio, it amazes me the quality of infrastructure that has gone into making the Pike Lake disc golf course, making it an enjoyable one to play. Kudos to the club / organization that is promoting disc golf in the Hillsboro - Chillicothe region!

For example, because this course runs up and down wooded hills for about 2/3rds of the holes, bridges across creeks and wooden staircases (with shingles for the treads adding traction in moist or, ahem, icy conditions - thanks!) have been added where needed. The tees that are in level areas are huge trapezoids of concrete, and the baskets are quality 24 chain types with reflectorized bands visible over the distances required. Up on the hillsides, the long tees are concrete pads bordered in landscaping timbers, and are as good as should be expected, considering the haulage required to get those materials up those hills. This course has some of my favorite tee signs: the etched pvc style that include tee, fairway, and basket positions, plus some of the key obstacles. There are benches and trash cans where needed, and the course sits relatively separate from the other activities (nature trail, playgrounds, shelters, etc.) for the rest of the family. There are even year-round bathrooms (well, OK, it's just an outhouse, but that's better than some parks that lock up the bathrooms for the winter).

The course itself will challenge the Recreational to Intermediate disc golfer with holes ranging from 168 to 540 feet in length, though 11 are between 200 and 261 feet. There are not many opportunities for big arms to show off here, but technical skills, and especially the ability to carefully fade a medium length tee shot to the right, are a must. I kept saying to myself, "a lot of these baskets are just to the right, and just out of sight" from the tees. That's not to say that there aren't some beautiful downhill shots to be loved by noodlearms like myself. There's an ace run downhill on #7, a longer downhiller to the right on #14, and the #12 signature long tee is visible as you go up the #11 fairway (look to your left). When we played our Fall traveling league here in September, I felt like just watching the whole group ahead of us tee off down the beautiful 540' ravine!

The course flows nicely to the west for nine holes and to the east for the back nine, and there are creek-crossers, ridge runners, and the aforementioned downhillers. An enjoyable course!

Cons:

The course does have a preponderance of mossy stones, and places you want to watch your step.

But the biggest challenge is that Pike Lake needs a really nice map done up, and more next tee signs added (for new players: I nearly got lost a couple of times on my second visit, despite it being winter and visibility was great). There are about three signs indicating the location of the short tees, but there are theoretically 11 short tees. The ones you can find are somewhat dilapidated landscape-timbered boxes. And, on your first visit, you will need a sherpa to help you get from the 10th basket to the 11th tee.

The teepads up on the hills are actually too small (but I can't blame them much: I wouldn't relish the idea of getting the materials in place here!)

Other Thoughts:

There is a practice basket and a course sign which includes technique and disc tips, but no course map!

This is really a beautiful place to play disc golf when there is water rippling through the rocky streambeds. It is really serene in the winter. I'm sure it's a nice cool spot to play in the heat of the summer because of the solid canopy of trees overhead.

This park is really pretty remote, and you'll traverse a lot of small, winding roads to get here, but it's worth a visit!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
catchermccord
Experience: 13.2 years 24 played 10 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Fun and Challenging 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 4, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-A long course with a mixture of short, medium, long holes.
-Concrete tee pads are always a plus
-Good hole information at the tee box
-Short and long tee pads
-Well kept

Cons:

-Potential to lose a disc on some risk/reward holes
-Can be crowded at times, but expected being such a nice course

Other Thoughts:

This a fun, scenic course with many different types of holes that will challenge any player. Lots of elevation changes that will test your tee shots and your putts. A creek runs throughout the course that can get dry in the summer, fun to play around. Camp store located near by with a few beginner discs on sale. If you're looking to throw from the short tee pads, they are not concrete. If they were, the course would easily be a "5" for me. All in all, a must play course if you are in the area or passing through.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
culinarywiz
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 35.5 years 305 played 66 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Solid wooded course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 24, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Absolutely no doubt the strength of this course is elevation. You will shoot up, down, up and down the entire 18. Sometimes the degree is dramatic, sometimes it's subtle, but it is relevant on most holes. If you hold elevation in high esteem like I do, you will dig this course.

This course forces tight and diverse lines. The lines are well balanced in angles...be it hyzers, darts or annys. There is no such thing as gun and run here. If you miss your line, you will likely ricochet into jail. Take your time and line your shots. Recovery will not be gentle.

The challenge is money. You will need a controlled game. This course is all about accuracy. This is the course you need to ask your buddy that has been chewing you up with his big "D" to come and play. Distance takes a back seat here. The better player with mid's and putters will win at Pike Lake.

Plenty of work has gone into the multiple staircases that line this terrain. The pads are primarily concrete. The signage is detailed. All amenities are solid.

The rustic beauty kicks ass. This course is aesthetically sweet as it is fun. The foliage is lively and diverse.

Cons:

This course is not as balanced as some top level courses. It is almost entirely wooded. Also, it is relatively short. These imbalances keep it from being "excellent". Nothing wrong with short courses, but balance is key.

It seems as if course flow trumped individual hole design. A smooth flow is important but IMO it should not squash potentially fantastic holes. There are multiple holes by the roadside that were clearly laid out to keep you moving back toward the parking lot. What a waste. The land and terrain is so damn sexy. I would guess the average golfer would have rather ventured farther and played deeper into this land than save a few paces.

Be carefull in the spring and early summer. The insects run rampant.

Other Thoughts:

I was torn on how to rate this course. If I were to rate it on fun factor alone, it would be a 4.0. I just wish I could air it out a little. There is one hole that is over 500ft. This is hole #12. It is fantastic. Besides that there are only a few holes over 300ft. The entire 18 holes are only 4625ft. and that is from the long tee's. These holes are very technical though.

I very much enjoy this course. It is worth a road trip. It's all about shaping shots.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
LightsOut
Experience: 38.9 years 43 played 6 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Nice course off US 50 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Oct 10, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

One notable thing about the course is its protection from the elements. Nestled among mature woods in an Ohio State Park, Pike Lake plays to either side of the park road in a valley and also into the protective hills that line both sides. There are creeks, ravines, and elevation variations tee to basket that can be slick when wet but are generally protected from all but strong winds. I've played the course about 5-6 times and would say it's a favorite of mine.

Play is generally below the mature canopy growth and is just a good ole trek though the woods. The shade cuts down on the thickness of the undergrowth so you can generally find your discs. It's also a hike with a couple huff and puff elevation changes to get your aerobics in, but nothing too demanding. There are a few well-placed anchored steps and bridges that may be slick when wet but are a vast improvement to having to trek the same as dirt paths and down into creeks when wet.

There is ample parking, and a park store that has food, refreshments, discs and scorecards. Navigation is fairly straightforward but it's nice to have the scorecard to get from #10 basket to #11 tee. The tee pads are concrete and might be short for some. All the holes have nice placards but information may vary from the scorecard's listing on distances and par. The front and back nines both begin and end near the parking.

Cons:

Footing in many places can be deceptive as play goes across many dry (usually dry) creek beds. There seem to be brick to loaf of bread size rocks well out of the creek beds popping out across the course at every turn, so pay attention where you're stepping. I've also played Pike Lake with the creeks raging with the real chance of loosing discs and going down stream personally 200-300ft while trying to get your footing if you fell in.

Other Thoughts:

This review comes after playing on a beautiful dry fall afternoon in the low 70's.
There is a picnic awning with playground and primitive toilets all near the begin/end parking area. Pike Lake itself is small but they have boat rental and a beach as well as camping nearby.
Bainbridge is in beautiful Paint Valley that is the western edge of Appalachia and 70 miles or so east of Cincinnati, 20 miles west of Chillicothe on US 50. Pike Lake is about 6 south of Bainbridge. You might want to also take in Rocky Fork South Beach Course about 20 west of Pike. Paint Creek State Park is expanding their disc course (from 21 to 24 holes in 2015) near the campground. Paint Creek is roughly between Pike Lake and Rocky Fork also not far off US 50. Paint Creek has matured and now makes this region worth making a day of it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
wkelly42
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.8 years 38 played 25 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Carolina-style Disc Golf in the North 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 10, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Plenty of elevation change, plenty of different shots to throw. Nothing really wide open -- if you're going to throw a big drive, you'd better be able to control it. Pike Lake is a course that makes you control where the disc is going -- or be able to get out of trouble when you find it (which you will). Easy to navigate with a couple of exceptions (noted below).

Absolutely beautiful park with plenty to do if you're camping here. The general store has an impressive selection of discs available, including Vibram and Lat 64 (if I'd had the money, I'd have left there with a River at the very least), plus minis, bags, and Golden Retrievers. Prices are a bit higher than you'll find online, but that's to be expected.

Editing because I forgot to mention -- the front nine ends back at the parking lot, so you can either play 9 or 18, and you can start on either the front or back nine. MAJOR plus in my book.

Cons:

If it's rained recently (as in, in the last three or four days), the course will be muddy. When wet, the tee pads can be a bit slick, and the wooden stairs that have been VERY thoughtfully provided can be a little slick, too. There are shingles nailed down to help you out, but the ONE HOLE (#7) that didn't have shingles on the wood is the one I slipped and fell on -- just be advised on this, this doesn't take away from the course at all; the course can't help it that I was a klutz.

Had a problem between #10 and #11 -- somehow I ended up playing #13 and skipping 11 and 12 entirely. I realized it when I got to the 14th tee, and went back and corrected this error, but a next tee sign would have been helpful (if there is one, I didn't see it). Had I not seen the 13th tee, I would have checked my map and probably have been ok -- just make sure you're on the right hole after you play 10 and you'll be ok.

The short tees are not concrete, and are often hard to find (even though they're labeled on the tee signs). I had already decided to try the blue tees, but for someone wanting to play the shorter tees this could be an issue.

I thought that #8 was a dangerous hole. It plays along a park road, which in itself isn't really an issue; I've played courses with holes along park roads before. If you look at the tee sign and the hole layout, though, the road runs through the fairway, pretty much all the way to the basket. I hate to complain about the hole (especially since I birdied it), but there's got to be a better way.

Other Thoughts:

After over a year of playing disc golf, I FINALLY play a course in my home state. I'm glad I chose Pike Lake -- the layout, the use of elevation, and the number of trees really reminded me of Reedy Creek at times (though Reedy Creek has better-defined fairways than Pike Lake). The course is a LOT of fun, and can be pretty challenging - especially to beginners. This course may be enough to actually get me to camp.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 5
Johnny Conservative
Experience: 13.7 years 21 played 5 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Nice course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 11, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

The course is set in a beautiful setting in Pike Lake State Park. There are great elevation changes in the course also. I feel that it is just difficult enough for experienced players but not too tough that a novice would not enjoy the course. The day I played it was VERY hot. But the shade of the mature trees kept some of the heat off of me.

Cons:

The tee pads are not as good as some that I have seen at other courses. The shorter tee (on the holes that you can actually find them) are too drastic a change from the long tees in my opinion. The baskets can be difficult to spot. There is some orange reflective tape on the pole but it is still sometimes hard to find. The baskets are not numbered either. Lastly, this course design is geared more toward lefties. I counted 8 of the 18 baskets more suited for LHBH or RHFH players.

Other Thoughts:

Everything considered, I think that this course, with a few improvements to the baskets, would be a great course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
Kent18
Experience: 14.9 years 193 played 17 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Pike Lake 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 8, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

1) Pike Lake is a beautiful Ohio state park course. The layout takes advantage of the many hills, streams and scenery of the area. The park itself was well kept and clean.
2) Holes have great use of elevation. I was worried when I did my research that this course's short length may leave me disappointed in having too many easy birdie holes but I have never had to fight so hard to get par on so many of the holes here.
3) Great signature hole 12. Plays off a platform midway up the mountain to a huge downhill "gully" dogleg right, over 500 feet. Hole 15 is pretty good too.
4) Tee signs are basic and durable (some tee signs are just a mess these days) and present on every hole.
5) Benches are placed throughout the course.
6) I can't imagine this course gets backed up at all except in tournaments?
7) ALL the LONG TEES have concrete (they look freshly poured?) Others have said only some were present but I counted 18 concrete tee pads.
8) Restrooms were clean.

Cons:

1) Tee Pads from the SHORT locations are either A) in bad condition and mostly made of gravel B) a simple log that says short tee C) non-existent D )when they are placed; their locations make each hole significantly easier. The designer probably had in mind the very causal family player here for just a weekend?
2) The concrete tees from the LONG PADS were short in actual size and sometimes "trapezoid" shaped versus a true rectangle. (I guess minimal environment footprint was the idea here?) I didn't need the extra step on my drives but my friends did. I was just happy a State park had concrete tees.
3) Of any course I have ever played this is the most Lefty or LHBT friendly course ever. With at least 7, I believe 9 holes that have tough dogleg rights and maybe 2 that were dogleg lefts it kind of felt unbalanced. It was great to throw tons of forehand throws but a LHBT would have higher percentage on some of those holes for birdies that would just take a killer forehand to mimic.
4) There is no posted OB that on at least 3 of the holes (2 with roads, 1 with a creek) I believe would make those holes so much more interesting if there was OB posted beyond those markers.
5) I know some people like the long country Amish drives but this place is another one of those courses that is like 35 minutes from any reputable highway and at least 20 minutes from your local convenience store.
6) Trash cans were sparse on the course.
7) Hole 10 to hole 11 is tricky to find

Other Thoughts:

Pike Lake is a great course. I would recommend this course and venture to say its in the top ten of all of Ohio. Each hole has a great fun factor and feels different then the other state park wooded courses I have played. It is a hike to get there but definitely has the grounds to be a great disc golf camping destination.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 3
Ben17
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 23.8 years 119 played 31 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great And Fun Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 7, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course is just great but fun at the same time. It is located in a nice state park that gets alot of people. So far all of the courses that i have played in state parks are nothing but pure fun. This course was amazing, starting with the first hole and ending with the last. I have no idea where to begin, this course just has too many good things. Well might as well start with the sign at the tee. The sign shows exactly where the pins location is. Some courses that i have played dont show the location so you have to look all over for it. That is definately not the case here. Then they show the par like most courses. Then they give the distance. Also on there thay have the red tee placement. This is good so that if your playing from the red tee you know exactly where to throw from. Well that brings me to the multiple tees that they have. The red tee is nice so that if you are less expierenced you can just throw from there. If you are more expierenced you may throw from the blue tee. The one main thing i liked was how they had an orange sticker on the inside part of the pin. That made it easier to see when you got into very wooded areas. This is not a too challenging course. Some holes are a little bit harder while others are easier. This is the case at most courses. The one thing that i like most is the concrete launch pad. Not every hole has a concrete launch pad, but for the most part they do have them. Even when they dont have one they will have rocks down so that it is easy to throw on. It is very easy to navigate your way through this course. As i always do when i go to a new course. But that really is not needed here. The vegitation is nice here. They have got alot of it. Many courses dont but this one really does. The elevation changes are great. Not every course has them, but this one really does. The parking lot is right by the first hole and the last, so that at the end when your tired you can just go straight to your car. The shelter and the water fountain in between the first and the last hole is nice. This course is well taken care of. There are no big tree limbs hanging out in the middle of the fairway. It is very clean throughout the course. Also on the holes with grass as the fairway, the grass is cut neatly and very often. Not two holes are the same. By this i mean every hole is different. There are no two holes that are exactly alike. They all challenge you in a new and different way. Wow well it made me tired thinking of all the pros for this course, so it must be easy for the little amount of cons that we will have.

Cons:

Well where better to start than the launch pads. Not every hole has a concrete launch pad, so it can be different. This really didn't effect me, but others it might. On the sides of the holes that are deeply wooded there are just long leaves. This makes it somewhat hard to get through there to find your disc. None of the pins have a number on them representing what hole the pin goes to. There is water in play on many holes. Good thing that when i went there had not been rain in a while. So if you go right after it rains you better be very careful. Well i really cant think of anything else bad to say about this course, it is just a great and fun course.

Other Thoughts:

Well what a course this is. I live a couple hours away from this course. I will be back within a few months. Hey while i was there i lost a couple of discs. I lost an innova orange champion beast and an innova pink dx eagle. I lost both of them on the seventh hole here. I was just throwing all of my discs trying to ace it and it was getting dark so i just left them. So if you find them could you just contact me. Well now lets get back to the actual course. Hole #7 was my favorite. You drop about seventy-five feet. It really is an amazing hole. I bet it has been aced many times. So i hope you enjoy this course as much as i did. Like i had said earlier i will be back soon and i hope to see all of you there too.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
15 0
optidiscic
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 21.8 years 156 played 147 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Pike is a Short Nature Hike 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 3, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

Primarily wooded course in a clean State Park far away from civilization. The course plays short but makes up for that in technical challenges that include woods, streams and elevation. The woods play fair and if you get a high score its most likely thrower error. The shallow streams come into play off the tee and around baskets on 7 holes, most notably #15 where the entire fairway is basically a drive over the water. Not deep water but wider than a creek and healthy so disc loss is not an issue but challenge and beauty apparent. (might dry up in a drought) The elevation holes were the most enjoyable with #3 being a straight up drive over the stream and #7 being a drop in floater back down steeply for a fun ace run over the stream. #14 was also special, a right turning downhill to a basket nestled away with a huge bank rising to the right of the hole to gobble up my too tight anny. The first 2 holes are quality drives through trees with only grass below, no schule, and incorporate the stream to the right. There are a couple longer holes in the woods that will test your ability to keep it straight. Seems a safe park and definetely has a lot of natural beauty. Concrete tees on the base holes were nice.Course opens with 2 non woods holes and finishes with 3 non woods holes so you get a break from the schule. Course loops back to lot and bathrooms well. Water available.

Cons:

I don't think this is quite destination disc golf for a few reasons. It doesn't have much length so weaker armed or beginners may enjoy the course moreso than those seeking a longer test of skills. While half of the holes are either challenging or aesthetically pleasing...the others seem to be just ordinary holes. Not bad holes but not truly special. I was expecting a bit more based on the 4+ rating. #8 simply plays down the street...challenging oob yes but with all this nature, water and hills I end up driving down an access road..pffft. The course ends very weakly with 16-18 being very short holes you could find in 9/10 of the parks in America. Don't get me wrong it's a fun little course but think of it as 8-10 good holes linked by a bunch of average holes. I also got mauled by insects. I was actually amazed by how much life was in this environment.

Other Thoughts:

I love a course thats fun and has some cool shots. This course provided that for me. I also enjoy ace runs and there are those here as well. Rumor is 9 more holes will be added. If these are good holes I would imagine it would be worth the long trip out here for a round.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 2
Chainchaser
Experience: 15.5 years 41 played 14 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Love the woods!!! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 15, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

This is a wooded course!!!!but with defined fairways and accuracy is needed here more than distance.
Very challenging with some good elevation changes and water hazards. This is a very scenic course in the middle of no where. Leave your cell phones in the car because they won't work!!
This course has some cement tees. Probably 70% of the course.
It has some long and short tees.
Great baskets that all were in great shape.
Not very busy. We only saw a few other people there for the three days we were there.
You can stay in a cottage for 60$ a night for an economy or 80$ a night for a preferred. The course is within walking distance from a few cottages and the camp ground.

Cons:

If you don't like wooded courses don't go here. It is not for you. Some dirt tees that could be slippery in the rain.
Could lose some disc when the foliage comes in.
These really are not cons but more just things to be aware of

Other Thoughts:

I really liked this course. It was maybe just a bit more challenging than my experience level but that takes nothing away from this course. Although some holes where short the trees made it very challenging. If you need to beat in a disc this is the place to go. This a disc golfers dream if you like a wooded course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
Bikinimower
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 21.5 years 174 played 66 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Love this course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 9, 2008 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Great Variety of shots
Beautiful
Good for Beginners and Experienced players
Nice Park
Well Maintained Course
Not overcrowded

Cons:

I don't consider this a Con although some people might . The course is almost entirely wooded

At certain times of the year you can be overrun by insects

Easy to lose discs

Other Thoughts:

This course is just about neck and neck with Brett Hambric as my favorite Ohio Course. Almost Entirely wooded, it can be dangerous navigating some of the terrain especially after it rains. It has a great mix of shots and is challengeing but not frustrating. If you are within driving distance of this course then it's a definite must play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
Dunksmooth
Experience: 15.9 years 12 played 4 reviews
4.00 star(s)

One of my favorites! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 3, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

The park itself seems to be well maintained and clean. There are one or two restrooms and several trash containers.
The course is very well laid out: Open fairways, rolling hills, light to heavily wooded holes, challenging elevation changes, majestic downhill drives, water hazards, etc. Name it, this course has it. Every hole seems unique and well thought out. No wasted space or "filler" holes.
The parks department has installed lots of footbridges and stairways to make the course safe and direction signs are conveniently placed to make the course easily navigatable.

Cons:

Lots of work needs to be done to improve the tee pads. Most, if not all, are either gravel or dirt and can make for unstable footing.
Several amateur tees are either unmarked or non-existant.
May want to skip if it has recently rained - standing water and mud not uncommon.

Other Thoughts:

A very active and safe park. Rangers patrol the area regularly and there is a campgrounds and park nearby...neither of which interfere in any way with the course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top