Kirkland, IL

Pioneer Park

Permanent course
2.935(based on 21 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Pioneer Park reviews

Filter
5 0
greatfaults
Experience: 5 played 5 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Surprisingly Good Course in the Middle of Nowhere 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 18, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Layout is relatively easy to get
- Course has at least some challenges
- Overall look is quite good
- Fairways, greens, roughs are kept up as of last time I played (except 8 and 9)
- It's an 18-holer in a region where there're mostly 9-holers
- Enough variety to keep things interesting, but not too hard for beginners and intermediate players

Cons:

- The dirt teepads are often very rutted; they're basically big gashes in the ground; make sure to play next to the rut
- Holes 8 is strange because it's piled up with a bunch of big trash and dead wood. It's cool if you're into a hole with terrain, but it was kind of annoying for me
- Hole 9 does not exist as of the last time I played. It was washed away by a recent flood
- no restrooms or water fountains, and the nearest gas station is still in walking distance, but not a fun walk in the middle of or after a round.

Other Thoughts:

I think this is a unexpectedly good course for where it is. The back 9 is almost a 4/5 by itself, and even though the front 9 (technically 8) is quite a bit easier, you can consider it as a kind of warm up before the more difficult holes.

I'm very glad this course is here so that DeKalb/Ogle county players can have a 18-holer nearby. Although it's not excellent, it's well maintained and interesting enough to keep coming back and focus on something new each time.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
MidwestZest
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 23.7 years 103 played 72 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Solid Rec Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 16, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Nice, perfectly sized park to put 18 recreational holes in. Nice sized 3-4 acre pond in the middle that the course plays around, and a swift moving river on the north end of the course.
- Good amount of trees in the park to create throwing lanes, and they're used pretty well. Especially for a park course.
- #5 - Nice hole design, even though it's short, forcing you to make a good choice to get to a guarded basket.
- #11 - Wow. This hole is down a lane next to the river on top of a levy - maybe formerly a road. Now it's home to the coolest looking and hardest hole on the course. Fairway about 30 feet wide nearly all the way down to the pin, with a steep-ish drop off to the right down into the swift moving river.
- #13 - Really the only other hole that brings water into play. Nice hole though, with water skirting the right side of the fairway.

Cons:

- Natural tee pads that have seen a lot of traffic. All wallowed out, although generally smooth surface. Very muddy if any recent rain. Players have obviously started playing to one side of these ruts to avoid them.
- No great indication of where the course start is, or a map or kiosk anywhere on the course.
- Pretty short course. Only three holes at or above 300 feet. Eight holes 250 ft or shorter.
- Mosquitos, goose droppings, and poison ivy were among the unfortunate, natural obstacles on this course while I was there.
- For the nice water features in the park, they really weren't implemented in the design. Whether that was to keep the course at a recreational player level, or to keep fishing and disc golf separate, who knows. There could have been some really nice pond carries or skirts here, though.
- Pretty well no elevation here to work with.
- Hole #9 no longer exists, as the basket and tee post have both been removed.

Other Thoughts:

- Signage is sufficient, and actually done pretty effectively for as small as they are. Number, a small map, distance, and par. All you need.
- Layout is fine but not great - with the same to be said for navigation.
- Fun course, and a really nice attraction for a small community. I enjoyed my time here.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Pactime
Experience: 8.8 years 25 played 9 reviews
2.50 star(s)

April (2016) update 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 2, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

It's neat to have a proper 18 hole course near DeKalb!
Kirkland is quiet and I'm guessing this place doesn't get too crowded.
If you have uDisc, there's a good map available for your phone (that's more a plug for uDisc than pro for the course, but still...)
The tees are marked fine, but this was my first time and without my app I would've struggled to figure it out. I'm used to concrete tees that are easier to spot. But that said, now that I know/understand, I'd say it's marked well.
I enjoyed playing the back stretch heading up to the river, and liked flirting with the pond too.
I didn't check out any of the facilities, but there's garbage cans, picnic tables. And benches scattered all around, and a good party/picnic spot there too.

Cons:

It's very flat and overall not very technical. Fairly open, even with the trees around. There are quite a few new trees and as these mature, it should help the challenges. For now, it was pretty easy...too easy. And, although marked well as far as flow goes, don't believe the suggestions. It's all par 3. Great for beginners for sure.
Some of the baskets are kinda haggard, but none were broken and they mostly catch well. And if crowded, I can definitely see problems with interference and crossover.

Other Thoughts:

I'm visiting family so was thrilled to find 18 holes. I played at Skare yesterday and enjoyed that a bunch. I like Pioneer too and would play again...will play again...when I'm back in DeKalb. Not sure I'd drive far if I lived more towards the city, but it's a wonderful spot for locals. It was crazy windy today, and started snowing as I arrived. That's not the parks fault, but I found it less fun than I otherwise might. On a nice day, I'm sure I'd want to play 36. Applause to Kirkland for setting up and maintaining.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
booradly
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 11.8 years 164 played 24 reviews
3.00 star(s)

random course in the middle of nowhere 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 28, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

-is a nice park and super quiet
- there was not any other disc golfers on the course made it so we could take our time throw a few shots and really just have a nice relaxing game
- i know this is going to sound silly but its nice to have a course with water on the right side of the fairway as a left back hand player most courses that use water as an obstacle do nothing to make those holes more of a challenge.
-hole 8 is awesome lots of woods and cover that make for a tough shot up to the basket that is surrounded by trees.
-most holes have at least some sort of obstacle to make you line up a good shot

Cons:

-no pads, and some of the dirt pad areas had random stuff half buried like one hole had a pipe sticking out of it that took up a lot of the pad and hole 8 had some cement ticking out
- some of the baskets on the back side were really old and in poor condition(you gotta hit the chains because the baskets are loose, i missed a few puts because of this)
-lots of water i know some people hate water so i thought i would put this here even though i think it makes a course a lot more fun.
- tons of geese i actually hit one with my boss.
-not a great location there is not much around it.

Other Thoughts:

-if you live in the dekalb area it is worth the trip. and really east to get to from niu.
- i live in the west burbs and unless i was going to hit up the courses in like rockford i don't know if i wouldmake the trip out to play this course
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
CzTeacherMan
Experience: 23.6 years 10 played 3 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Sweet little flinger... 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 12, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Easily marked (just be sure to park off of North Rd. by the awning and port-a-potties).
-Great flow to the course
-Beautiful park
-very quiet little town
-shorter holes, nothing over 330 feet (see also: Cons)
-a few tricky shots with obstacles, but many open shots as well

Cons:

-shorter holes. Par 4s were no longer than 260 feet.
-dirt tees
-goose poop. Lots of goose poop. Oh, and geese. They only got in the way on hole 13, but they were very angry that I disturbed them... Scary goose!

Other Thoughts:

Overall, a fun little place to flick some discs for an hour. A quick little course that can challenge a beginner, be great practice for an intermediate player, and be quick fun for a more advanced player. I'll definitely be back on a regular basis!

Quick note, earlier reviews mentioned broken baskets... All have been fixed. Only broken anything was tee post #9, but the post is there and the basket is clearly visible.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
gabe007
Experience: 2 played 1 reviews
3.50 star(s)

kirkland course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 3, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

i really like this course because its in a nice park if alot of trees and it has a pond in the middle. also there isnt to many people there and if there are they are all playing disc golf if there are other people using the park they are fishing and they wont get in your way. im fairly new to the sport and thought this course was fun and Challenging. not to hard to get par in fact really easy to. also for new players the hols arent that long( may be bad for better players. i dont know all the technical terms but according to other reviews there are alot of different looks. over all park is clean and the all the baskets are kept in good order. i fixed basket 8 the day but it doesnt have a bottom

Cons:

alot of geese poo. there is a stupid river right by one hole and i lost a disk in it. the tee boxes get flooded sometimes but other then that its a pretty nice.

Other Thoughts:

Its maybe the best thing kirkland has to offer in fact it is the best thing in kirkland. i have only been to two courses and this one is by far the best.
ALSO DONT FORGET HOLE 8 IS FIXED KINDA im working on the tee for hole 9
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
notapro
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.6 years 568 played 281 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Beginner/Intermediate 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 25, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Course is set in a flat city park that has a good amount of water present. Looks like people fish here, as well as meander around, so there might be some slight DG interference.
- Also present here are a good amount of trees, from little bitty ones to some very mature ones. Many holes have a clear, straight path to the basket, but also have plenty of trees to snag any shots that aren't lazer beams. Other holes seem to have an obvious hyzer or anhyzer to the basket, based on the location of the trees, there are very few holes that are wide, wide open. Low shots highly recommended.
- More than a couple holes play close to, or immediately next to some deep water. One is a small hyzer, with water on the right, and another is a wider corridor shot with water on the right (down a steep bank). It's definitely reachable with an inaccurate tee shot.
- Some other holes are set in a small, small forested area, which add some more difficulty. These also have water in play in a few spots, don't go long on 8.
- Decent variety in hole length
- Good signage, dirt teepads in ok shape, baskets ok, with a few exceptions. Navigation not tough.

Cons:

- Biggest con at the this course is the shorter hole lengths; there just isn't much more room for anything else. The course already has 3 holes (2-4) on the other side of the road as is, and still have to jam a few in. The design is pretty solid, though, each hole has some trick to it. If you can throw 300', leave the drivers in the bag.
- With all the water here, it's a shame only a few holes are next to it. But, it is a normal city park, and it needs to be shared by everyone, i.e. fishermen.

Other Thoughts:

- Overall, it's not that bad a course. You will need to execute some tight, accurate lines to reach some of the baskets, due to the scattered trees. Throwing dead straight is a definite plus. A few shots with some water help to keep things interesting. But, that said, it really is better suited to beginners. Shorter hole lengths and avoidable trees aren't super exciting to a more experienced player.
- As of 6/27, basket 8 was obliterated and tee 9 was nowhere to be found.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
mikeb23
Experience: 13.8 years 16 played 6 reviews
2.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 28, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

Lots of different shots short to mid right turn to left turn and the straight on shots always had a tree right in the way making for some fun challenging holes. Fun layout with some water hazards. It would take some seriously bad throws to end up in the water but I did see it happen while I was there. The park itself is maintained pretty well, the grass was freshly mowed and it was reasonably clean.

Cons:

The course is pretty short. The longest hole is only about 325 so be prepared for that. I wasn't sure what to expect today so I brought 3 mids and 5 drivers I think i threw 1 driver all day. Dirt tee pads were definitely a con. It hasn't rained in a while so they were ok today, but when it rains they would obviously get muddy and rutted. I was also told by a local that holes 7 and 8 flood when it rains. Lastly, some of the baskets are a little beat up and don't catch very well.

Other Thoughts:

All in all I would say its a pretty fun course. But don't get too excited that its going to be exceedingly difficult or long. Its perfect for a mid level player who has a 300 foot drive and needs to hone thier skills a little bit.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
Big_Man
Experience: 17.7 years 49 played 10 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Pioneer Park 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 29, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

When I arrived at this course I was pleasantly surprised at how nice this parked looked. Large trees, ponds, and well groomed grass. The course has 18 holes that makes its way around the large city park. The holes, though not entirely difficult, can create some challenge for beginning to intermediate disc golfers. The pond and Kishwaukee river do come into play on some holes, but only a really bad throw would your disc end up going into either of the two.

Cons:

This park has a lot of things going for it, but there are certainly needs for improvement. The first thing I noticed when I arrived at hole 1 was the tee box (or lack there of). Dirt tee boxes are the worst, especially after rain, which happened the night before. I played every hole to the side of the tee box. Another down side is the flooding. Two of the holes ( I believe 7 and 8) were completely flooded and I had to skip them because they were surrounded by water. The other downside to this course is the inconsistency of baskets. Some baskets are really nice, others are older and a little more beat up.

Other Thoughts:

Overall, I would play this course again. It is a pretty 18 hole course with a few kinks that need to be fixed. If this course ever has rubber or concrete tee boxes I would automatically give it a higher rating. There isn't much they can do about the flooding and I can live with the different baskets. I would suggest it if you are in DeKalb or Belvidere and are looking for something new.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 6
danscimeca
Experience: 2 played 2 reviews
4.50 star(s)

one of the best. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 9, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

Great 18 hole course. some akward tree placement makes it a fun challenge. almost no mosquitoes. wasnt busy at all plus the locals seemed friendly. has a good range of distances for the holes. and even the shortest of holes have a neat pin placement so it makes it still fun. honestly the best course i have played out of dekalb, jericho lake, oswego, and campton hills, and yorkville.

Cons:

only one i can say is that the par system if you follow it is too easy compared to other courses par systems. anything over 300 ft is a par five.

Other Thoughts:

once again a great course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
mashnut
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22 years 831 played 767 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Meh 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 8, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

The course plays through a large flat park with scattered mature trees. There are two ponds and a river that can come into play with errant shots on a couple holes, I like seeing some risk like that on a course. Though there aren't really any tightly wooded shots, there are trees in play on every hole so it isn't just a bunch of wide open shots. There are several holes that call for a left or right turning shot but most holes have a variety of lines available.

There are lots of fun ace runs here, and every hole is reachable from the tee making it a fun course to go for deuces and a good course for newer players without much distance. The long tees add some distance and challenge for a little tougher round.

The tee signs on the main tees are good, with hole length and map. Some friendly locals pointed out the bricks set into the ground for the long tees which made for some more variety and some tougher shots. The park was nicely mowed and well kept with no trash or vandalism.

Cons:

Both the short and long tees are natural, and could easily be muddy and rutted after the rain. Several were not level and didn't provide very good footing. The long tees were difficult to find on several holes, as they are just grass spots with numbered bricks set flush into the ground. Some had survey flags marking them when I played, if those were on every hole it would help a lot.

The navigation was a little funky in spots, none of the fairways crossed but you did have to walk by other tees to get to the next hole at times. The baskets weren't in great shape, they're definitely showing their age and they didn't catch all that well.

The design of this course is just mediocre. There are too many short easy holes that are reachable on lots of different lines so the course doesn't really make you use many different shots. The long tees are a little tougher, but every hole is still easily reachable off the tee. There are some great water hazards that really only came into play on shanked shots, I would have loved to see the water used better to make some cool risk/reward type holes. There were a few places where the course played too close to picnic areas and roads for some safety hazards.

Other Thoughts:

This is an ok course that's worth a quick round if you're in the area, but not worth much of a trip. If you're going to play here, the long tees are more fun, but can be difficult to find. Beginners will find the course very approachable, with reasonable distances, multiple lines, and limited places to lose discs. More experienced players won't find a ton of challenge here, but will enjoy some fun ace runs. This course has a ton of safari potential, including some great over the water shots.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
#19325
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.7 years 351 played 175 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Good Recreational Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 14, 2008 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This is a medium sized park with scattered trees. There is a river and small pond on the property. There are very few places with heavy rough.

There are very nice tees signs.

Nice Discraft Chainstar baskets.

This is a super friendly beginner course.

Cons:

The natural tee pads can be muddy and uneven. After heavy rain this course can be muddy with the River running next to it.

It can be difficult to navigate in a few areas.

Many shots are repetive and there is very little variety.

At 4,700 feet this is a super short course. Any semi experienced players are going to be throwing a mid range and putter all day. I felt the park land had potential to be a soild course but the designer did not maximize this potential.

There is a river and pond on this property. Neither are utilized and come into play. Some sweet pin placements and shots over the pond could have made this course interesting.

Other Thoughts:

I make several trips a year to Rockford to play. I do not stop by this course to play since it's pretty boring and not challenging. If you are a student at NIU i'd consider the drive but I wouldn't go too far out of the way to play this course.

Here are some nice photos of the course.
http://discontinuum.org/index...itemId=244755

Check out my Illinois Top 10
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
Three Putt
Staff member
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 29.2 years 152 played 127 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Something to do when you’re not shearing sheep 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 27, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Pioneer Park is an OK recreational course. Nothing really stood out as great, but most things were OK. The land is mostly flat, so elevation is really no issue. There are no real "heavily wooded" shots, but there are no real "wide open" shots either. There are enough trees to keep things interesting. There is a river and a couple of ponds near some holes, but the water does not really come into play unless you badly mess up your shot. Most of the holes are very deuceable as there are really only two or three 300'+ shots. The tee signs are easy to find and have a nice map of the hole on them. It's a nice spot for a casual round.

Cons:

None of the shots really stood out as anything special. The course really does not force you to use a variety of shots and the distances are all very similar, so it gets repetitive after a few holes.
I'd have to rate the layout as poor. There are several places where a first-time visitor will have to wander around looking for the next hole. The classic example is the tee for # 5. Holes #2-#4 are across a street, and when you finish #4 the tee closest to you is the tee for # 1. There are several visible baskets in both directions and no directional signs, so you really just have to guess which way to go to find the next tee. The tee for # 5 is right there, but it is hidden behind an evergreen tree. A directional sign there would be really nice. There should also be a directional sign along the long walk from #9 to #10. That walk is odd since the first tee you come to is the tee for #12, so a sign pointing you on to # 10 would be a good addition.. The layout on the back nine criss-crosses back and forth. None of the fairways intersect, but it is hard to follow the layout the first time out. Several of the tees are very close to pin placements, so if the course was crowded that could cause some problems.
The tees are rutted dirt holes that fill with water when it rains.
Some of the baskets are Mach I's with the shallow basket attachment and the old added inside chains. Those baskets don't catch well.

Other Thoughts:

This course is in a very under-funded park district, so there are no rest rooms and no parking lot. The park is actually maintained fairly well, especially considering how little money they have to work with. There are a lot of park districts with a lot more money that have worse looking disc golf courses. All-in-all given the limitations of the park itself and the lack of resources that the park district has to devote to the park it's a pretty nice course, just nothing special.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
hognosesucker
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 24.8 years 443 played 85 reviews
2.00 star(s)

fun little ace run course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 26, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

-course plays over medium sized well maintained city park
-good, well maintained baskets
-some hole variety, some wooded shots, but mostly open, straight shots
-a couple of the baskets are guarded by trees
-almost all tee shots are aceable
-some water in play on a few holes, a nice river runs on the back side of the course.

Cons:

-no amenities, no bathrooms, I didn't see any water fountains, no parking lots, just pull off parking on the side of North St.
-sloppy natural tees-it was raining when I played so some of the tee pads were flooded, and there was no clear edge of the tee pads, I just played either behind or even with the tee post.
-Not much variety, most of the holes were straight ahead and not much in the way of being guarded, there were a lot of trees, but they lined the fairways mostly. There were only a could rhbh annie shots, most of the holes were slight rhbh hyzers.
-I had some minor issues with navigation, the walk from 4-5 was elusive for a bit, but 5's tee is behind the hole 1 tee and for hole ten you have to walk behind the lake on the road, pass 12 and get to 10.

Other Thoughts:

This course was deserted. It was quite a fun little course, but left me itching for more. I kind of wish they had put the pins nearer the water and utilized guard trees a bit more. But all in all, I had fun and would go back if I were in the area again. Also I didn't notice any problems with goose poo, but I didn't see many fowl on the pond.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
bigmanbailye
Experience: 15 years 9 played 1 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Nice short course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 31, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

Lots of variety. 2 Tunnel shots, 1 must go straight shot, slight to heavy hyzers, slight anhyzers for backhanded players. Open, no crowds. Good basket locations given the layout. Great beginner course with baskets within driving range. Intermediate to pro's only bring your mid ranges and maybe a roller, HOWEVER, I still found the course very fun for being short. Lots of birdie opportunities, however water and other hazards could give you a couple of 4's due to penalties.

Cons:

Short course. Only 1 hole above 300' so no big drive opportunities at all. Natural "all dirt" tee-pads, but I never slipped despite it being a bit muddy. Some long walks between tee's but I never got lost. Have to throw across some roads, but park is so empty it doesn't matter.

Other Thoughts:

Awesome park to practice at because it gives you all kinds of looks. Granted these are all around 250'. Everything is doable and a 2 on every hole is not so crazy, however poor execution will cost you do to most holes are narrow with lots of trees or water or something to screw with you.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
tntbuffallo
Experience: 7 played 6 reviews
3.00 star(s)

still looking 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 18, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

The layout flowed pretty good. Nice placements of baskets. No crowds. Large mature trees and shrubs. All set along a pretty river.

Cons:

The worst part would be the natural tee boxes, I guess it isn't the end of the world but it is a problem when it's wet like it has been this year. The length of the holes were on the shorter side, but in developing a coarse you have to work wiht what you have. The water is a plus but with water usually we have to deal with goose skat. Which there was plenty.
One hole was fairly good closed by landscaping with river flowing beyond the basket. But the hole also looked like the city used it for a dump .

Other Thoughts:

Overall not a bad coarse compared to the other coarses we have here in Illinios. We played during a little wind, and we lost one disk in the brink. We could see it in the water but it was alittle to deep for us. So I'm still looking for that above average coarse withing 30 miles of St Charles.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 8
Dave242
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 29.8 years 393 played 271 reviews
3.00 star(s)

B = Better Than Average 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 20, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution -- C
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max -- B+
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- B-
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- B
5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- N/A

Other Thoughts:

It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage...if what I can add anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me....that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
leathercash
Experience: 15.8 years 8 played 7 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Good fun here 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 27, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

There is a good variety of challenge in this particular course. Some holes you will find are easily "Birdiable?" especially is the fron nine. As you make your way to the back nine the fairways get a get longer all the while shots are becoming a bit more difficult. And you do get to play alongside some water hazards,which makes for a good variety as well. Pin placements are in great spots and MOST baskets are in good shap. It's pretty easy to learn where to go after each hole. They are not right on top of each other but they are pretty close to it.Navagation is not a problem here.

Cons:

First...natural tee pads....BLAH! I know I'm not the only one who hates them. Most of these tees are uneven and small. Hole SIX HAS NO BASKET!!! This isn't a case of us not being able to find it. It's gone. When it was there,it was so twisted and bent from the river flooding it was not playable. Get a new basket for hole 6!

Other Thoughts:

Good course,nuff said.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
Nosh
Experience: 15.8 years 13 played 5 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Planning on Playing There Again 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 18, 2008 Played the course:once

Pros:

18 holes of challenge plenty of obstacles. Tees and pins well placed to make you work for it.

Cons:

Water hazards come into play if you are not careful (good challenge but no one likes to lose a disc).

Other Thoughts:

I've only played two rounds in one trip to the park but had so much fun I'd really like to get back there again. I'm sure my review will change when I get back from my next outing. Course path was a little confusing at the beginning but I figured it out.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 2
andy8755
Experience: 17 years 2 played 2 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Kirkland 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Oct 25, 2008 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Pretty open course with trees influencing your approach to some holes.
-River and Pond come into play on several holes, makes you play more cautiously
-Rarely more than one other golfer or group, which I like.

Cons:

-Basket on 8 has been damaged by some hooligans.
-Water holes can lead to many lost discs if you're inexperienced on the course.
-8-9 get flooded during spring thaw.

Other Thoughts:

-On March 14th I aced hole number 14 with my Destroyer, which on the second round was lost in the pond on the very same hole.
-Goose feces everywhere most of the year, but hasn't ever kept me from playing here.
-Personal best score of -9 (playing all par 3's)
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top