• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Port Aransas, TX

Port Aransas DGC

2.715(based on 7 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Port Aransas DGC reviews

Filter
10 0
aclay
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 39.8 years 327 played 254 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Port Aransas 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 23, 2022 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-- All holes are marked with sign posts; red and blue for holes 1-9; 10-12 just have blue.
-- Good course flow; no navigation issues once you find No. 1 (between ball field and skatepark on the northwest corner of the property).
-- Restrooms on site.

Cons:

-- No course map on site; the one here is the original 9-hole layout; 10-12 have been added between 9 and 1.
-- No tee pads.
-- Holes are mostly short (less than 250 feet) and void of obstacles except for lost disc and safety concerns. No. 3 basket is very close to the 4 and 5 tees. After playing 4 (water immediately right could mean high lost disc potential, but the water was low with more mud than water in June 2022), you have to backtrack up the fairway to get to the 5 tee. No. 5 tees between the water and an outfield fence. Your direct line to the basket is over the outfield, so this is another lost disc waiting to happen. Nos. 6 and 7 baskets are near a small depression/ditch that seems to collect a lot of water. No. 9 has you throwing across a road and between a practice ballfield and a basketball court from the red tee; from the blue tee, you are throwing directly over the basketball court. Nos. 10 and 11 play back and forth along the road into the park; All but a few feet of the "fairway" is the road. No. 11 is particularly tight (18 feet wide) between the road to the right and fence line/restricted nature area to the left. No. 12 tees from the 10-foot-wide median in the road; the vast majority of any legitimate flight path to the basket is over the road.
-- With no map and no tee signs, you have no distance to aid you. You can always see the basket from the tee, but distance would be nice.
-- Mosquitos. I seldom mention or worry about things like this, but these bugs were ridiculous on my first visit, in May 2021. I had blood smears on my hands, arms, legs and discs from swatting them. And that was after slathering on the bug spray. The mosquitos were not nearly as bad in July 2021 and were no problem at all in June 2022.

Other Thoughts:

-- Some baskets are pretty rusted, but they still catch OK.
-- It's about a mile from the beach, so it's a nice diversion if you are there, but I wouldn't drive very far just to play this course.
-- Fly It! Port A on Avenue G (the road from the course to the beach) has a decent selection of Innova discs.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
Forehand Shiver
Experience: 12.4 years 60 played 11 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Very good, short course -- bring Mosquito repellant 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 25, 2020 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Well-maintained beginner course that is centrally located and makes good use of very limited space. Once you find the first basket, good flow -- very hard to get lost. Considering how few DG options there are in the area, Port A residents are lucky to have this course.

Cons:

Very short course. Swampy area and the mosquitos attacked in swarms. Florida swamp courses (like Gordy in Fort Pierce) have nothing on this place. This course is next level, as far as mosquitoes are concerned.

Other Thoughts:

Deet or Thermacell required.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
xJediDadx
Experience: 8.7 years 6 played 5 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Nice Short Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Oct 25, 2020 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

All holes are marked with sign posts.
Nothing to technical about the course.
12 hole course with Red and Blue tees on all but the last 3 holes. Could easily play this as a 24 hole course if you want. Playing Reds one round and Blues another.

Cons:

No tee boxes, most of them are in sand.
Water near 4/5
Need to be careful on 6 for tee-off. Could lose a disc in someone's backyard with a bad throw(like I did but went and asked for it after after I was done)

Other Thoughts:

Nice little course that's played around the aquatic center and baseball fields. Hole 1 Blue tee is next to the skatepark at the far end of the parking lot, again no tee box, just launch off the sidewalk. same with Hole 2 tee behind a park sign. Need to watch for traffic on 9-12 as they're played around at the entrance to the park.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 5
dylandance
Experience: 2 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

good 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 8, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

Nice and short course to hit before you go down to the beach. Wind and natural obstacles make it challenging even though the holes are short. All the grass was cut nice and short all the tees and baskets were in place

Cons:

By 10:30 AM it was extremely windy, I couldn't play it after that but I'm a newbiePretty bad mosquitoes

Other Thoughts:

Hole 1 is by the batting cages / skatepark
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Ballas
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Eaten Alive 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 8, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

Ok, the main "pro" is the law of real estate: location, location, location. Having a course to play, blocks from the beach is awesome. The surroundings are beautiful. You play half the course in and through a salt marsh adjacent to a coastal nature preserve. As for the course, even though it's short, it has enough obstacles to be technically challenging. Play it with the local rules and it will be really tough. They have a hole that they play as an "island". Don't hit the green, and you take strokes for missing the island. There are two holes that have a narrow fairway. On 2, you are playing between the marsh tundra on one side and the outfield fence to a ball field in the other. On 7,there's another outfield fence and a row of back yards. Even though I chucked it over the fence on both holes, I enjoyed the challenge.

Cons:

Cons? One word: mosquitos. Swarms of the most tenacious, voracious and apparently wind-proof mosquitos I ever saw. We forgot bug spray, but figured, what the hell, the winds blowing a steady 15 kts. They'll be hunkered down in that wind. Nope. When I say "swarms", I'm not exaggerating. I beat myself silly with my putter and every time I looked down, there were twenty or thirty more feasting on my legs. They were biting straight through my clothes. One landed on my eyeball. I couldn't kill them fast enough. Now, two days later, I got more red bumps than a fifteen year old boy on prom night. Seriously, do not go out there with anything less than 100% DEET slathered all over you. Maybe wear a bee keepers outfit and carry a smudge pot around. These are not normal skeeters. Skin so soft and citronella will just make them laugh.

Other Thoughts:

Seriously, getting eaten alive WAS horrible, but it's a funny story and so, it was worth it. I'll go back next time I'm on the island but I'll be prepared next time. The course was fun, it's great having a course to play when I go down to Port A. The two missing holes are still out, but I believe they are working on getting them replaced. I'm no good driving from dirt tees, but that's on me. It's part of the game. It really was a pretty setting for a round, so all in all it's worth the time. Just bring DEET!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 2
Pizza God
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 36.3 years 1756 played 610 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Not worth the time 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 27, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

Has 7 baskets right now?
Has Blue and Red posts on most of the holes
Nice view of the nature area

Cons:

No tree's
flat
Dirt tees
Under construction at the moment with 2 baskets missing
Tee signs only show the hole number.

Other Thoughts:

This course is not much, you have 9 holes that go around the baseball fields. They are upgrading them at the moment so holes 3 and 5 are missing.
No tee signs to show distance or next hole. You pretty much need a map, but the course is not that hard to follow if you pay attention.

Hole 4 is interesting in that you have sort of an island hole. However after throwing the hole, you have to walk back to 5 tee pad that is near 4 tee pad.

Then you have some longer wide open holes, 6 and 7 that throw between the homes and the ball fields. Right now that area has a lot of construction equipment, the giant culverts did add a little to hole 6.

Holes 8 and 9 are also pretty open and hole 9 has you throwing across a court.

The holes should be shorter, if you want disc golf in this park, the course should be a pitch and putt course for families. There is nothing out here to make it interesting for a seasoned player.

Would I play here again.

Well, it was fun coming across the Ferry to get from Ingleside, however I would never play here again. Only playing each hole as a island hole would make any of the holes sort of interesting. It was windy, but the wind is to your back on the holes you would worry about getting way off in the rough. The holes against the wind, you risk turning over into the ball fields or the disc carrying over into the backyards. (I did hit the fence on hole 7)
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 1
reezyF
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.7 years 283 played 40 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Port Aransas DGC 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 8, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

My three pros:

-ITS RIGHT NEAR DA BEACH!

-The back side of the course is very pretty with views into the nature refuge behind the park, a couple of pretty ponds, a large grassland and very nice mowing of the fairways. Although the course is routed around a baseball field and existig park stuff the outer fringes of the park were surprisingly pretty and made for the closest environment to playing at the beach that I've encountered yet.

-Two Tee signs at each hole with blue signs at the longer tee and red signs at the shorter tee. The tee signs are visible from each previous basket making navigation pretty easy once you find the first tee located near the skate park area. The blue tee shots mostly required a mid-range with 6-9 requiring longer shots into a pretty constant headwind, the red tees however were pretty fun playing with just putters. While the two tees werent super spread apart, they were different enough to make 2 rounds thru exciting.

Cons:

My three cons:

-No tee pads, just grass/sidewalk. The course is still so new the grass isnt worn in yet near the signs so its unclear where the intended tee pad is. The first tee sign is a few feet from a covered shelter near the skate park which is a nice idea but the space felt a little cramped for throwing. Most other holes had a little more room to throw but the teepads were a bit of an oversight or a work in progress.

- Several holes throw along the walking path around the park which is a universal DG no-no. Lucky for me there was no-one at the park so no-one to look out for. Also there arent many blind areas so theres not much hazard of hitting someone you dont see, rather maybe having to wait for people to walk by. I have to imagine theres rarley anyone walking the paths here though.

-No shade. I played on a hot day and it was hot. Like super hot.

Other Thoughts:

I really enjoyed this course for several reasons. Being located in Port A is nice because in my case I was only there for the day and the course is in a convenient spot considering the Port A traffic. Also the bird viewing area down the road was pretty sweet and theres a nice hiking trail behind the park. Theres a skate park and swimming pool at the park itself also. The course was really well maintained with no trash, nice mowing and some pretty views.

One area for change is that the course is possibly too short on some of the blue tees considering the space available. It also looks like theres plenty of room near the entrance of the park for more holes so maybe they could expand in the future.

Something to consider before bringing beginners out here is the wind was a pretty strong and constant 20mph+ blowing inland from the coast and unfortunately the last three holes play strait into the wind. Add to that the fenceline that runs along the last few holes and theres a good mix for a disc getting blown right over the fence. Similarly #5 throws perpidicular to the wind with a pond on the left waiting to eat a uncomitted toss.

This course is a fun rec. course that could be fun and a little challenging for beginners. I will definitely play again when back in the area!

FIRST REVIEW!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top