• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Mesquite, TX

Porter Park DGC

Permanent course
2.895(based on 31 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Porter Park DGC reviews

Filter
13 0
wellsbranch250
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 10.4 years 663 played 643 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Fantastic Grass

Reviewed: Played on:May 20, 2022 Played the course:once

Pros:

(1.859 Rating) A Novice level park style niner with some nice elevation change.
- GRASS - It's not what some of y'all are thinking. The grass lawn here is about as ideal as it gets. Short, thick, green and smooth. I missed 150-feet left on (3) due to the wind and it was still effortless to retrieve my terrible shot.
- NOVICE LEVEL FRIENDLY - I think the target audience for Porter is from 700 to 850 rated players. Great for new players getting started, as they will be able to work on distance and accuracy and also will rarely lose one. Some Rec players may enjoy Porter too, although a few holes here will even be too vanilla for them. Plenty of ace opportunities for those with 250-foot max power.
- BASIC AMENTITIES - 6-foot wide by 12-foot long, level concrete pads. Amen. All of them were in good shape. The baskets are older DISCatchers and they caught just fine.
- QUICK PLAY - Every time conscious bagger coming here from I30 will be back on the highway in under 40 minutes. It flows well enough. Very little time will be spent searching, if at all. I timed myself on the course in at 23 minutes to play it solo first time.
- MAINTENANCE - The maintenance of this place was immaculate. Completely mowed for my visit. Only one far fringe area between holes (6,7 and 9) had overgrowth. I suspect that this course will rarely be in bad playing shape.
- NIGHT GOLF OPPORTUNITY - Perfect for night golf, if it's allowed.

Cons:

A basic blend
- LACK OF CHALLENGE AND VARIETY - As noted in the pros, this is a Novice level course. For players at my skill level, Intermediate, it's a little too mediocre. I played terrible in 30 mph windy conditions and shot 1 down. The wind is likely going to be the most difficult aspect about this place. (3) is going to be a nice hole to practice distance on. Its uphill a bit and over 300 feet long. It'll probably take 350-foot power to leave a good birdie chance. The course is an all par 3 layout with minimal obstacles in play. I liked both (2) and (6) which are both shallow valley plays with live oaks guarding some of the attack angles.
- TEE SIGNAGE AND NAVIGATION - If I recall correctly, I think just one hole had its entire signage intact. Considering there is no posted course map and that multiple tees can be seen after baskets, I could see some first timers heading the wrong way in one or two spots. I, like many, momentarily skipped holes (5) and (6) not realizing I had strolled over to tee (7's) pad. Regardless, it's so open here that even the worst navigators should eventually be able to figure it out.
- TREE LOSS AND NATURAL BEAUTY - From looking at the old pictures, it appears a few holes have lost enough trees to effect the hole. The trees in front of tee (4) are all gone except for one sickly looking straggler. Both (5) and (7) appear to have lost a few trees as well. I think if the live oak coverage were a bit more, I would have rated the course beauty here about average among all the courses I've played. Still a nice park that's well maintained.
- WALKING PATHS - Five of the nine holes have walking paths in play, although only a couple have a moderate risk to traffic. I'm not sure how often there are walkers using these paths, but if they are, expect to wait from time to time.

Other Thoughts:

Porter Park is going to work just fine as a neighborhood course. It's a quick care-free course that will challenge beginning players to improve their skills. An ideal course bagger stop too as it's right off the highway. No reason for the destination course pilgrim to venture here. Overall, I'm going with a low to mid 2.0. I think if new shiny tee signs and baskets were planted it would bump up the rating a bit, but there's really not enough intrigue here for me to ever score it a 2.5. Porter would have to add holes or substantially modify/expand the gameplay to earn that level of recognition from me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 0
aclay
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 39.7 years 327 played 252 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Porter Park 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 28, 2021 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-- Nice elevation (at least for DFW).
-- Nice tee pads, baskets and course flow. Even without a map, you shouldn't have trouble finding your way around.
-- Lightly wooded course that uses the tress fairly well.
-- With only one hole as long as 300 feet and seven holes shorter than 250, ace runs and birdie chance abound if you any kind of arm.
-- Disc loss potential is low.

Cons:

-- It's pretty easy to follow the course, but there are safety concerns because some of the holes are really close to each other. I nearly made a black ace from 1 tee to 9 basket (my understable midrange bounced off the catching basket and rolled away). Tees 2 and 9 are almost on top of each other, and the 8 basket is basically in the fairway for No. 2. The 7 basket is really close to the 8 tee. Nos. 5 and 6 play basically parallel, and an errant drive from one could easily land in the other fairway.
-- Because of all of that, this is not a course that does well with lots of players. It's not normally crowded, but it was crowded on my last visit.
-- No tee signs. Tees are marked by yellow metal poles. At one point, those had hole number and distance, but most of them are now blank.
-- No benches, trash cans, or restrooms, but this is a short course, so it's not much of a problem.

Other Thoughts:

-- Beautiful pond in the park (past basket 3), but it doesn't come into play on the course.
-- Borders an elementary school; I wouldn't attempt to play during school hours.
-- This is a decent (perhaps good) course for beginners and those of us without big arms. Intermediate/advanced players (or anyone with a big arm) isn't likely to enjoy this course.
-- Parking is on the street; No. 1 tees off from near the park sign; however, there is a cul-de-sac on Olympia Drive that puts you right at the No. 2 tee.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
Chukster
Experience: 9.3 years 4 played 3 reviews
3.00 star(s)

This is where I learned to play 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 24, 2019 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

It is a great beginner coarse and also a good place to practice. A beginner could gain some confidence here, plus a real opportunity for an Ace at several holes.

Cons:

Lots of pedestrian traffic on sidewalks running through coarse. Some people like to stop and talk right in front of you as your trying to contemplate your shot.

Other Thoughts:

Monday and Tuesday or the weekend seems to be the best time. The landscapers are usually there on Wednesday and Thursday and can be in the way. All players I've encountered were very respectful of your space.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
Tommy2am
Experience: 11 years 33 played 16 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Surprisingly fun for a 9 hole course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 14, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-quick course to play if you are in a hurry
-great elevation changes
-nice teepads, baskets, and course flow
-lightly wooded course that demands many types of shots
-a lot of ace runs and birdieable holes
-just a well designed all around course that's fun
-great course to learn the nuisances of your favorite putter or midrange. Great for beginners, but fun for all skill levels.
-a lot of other things to do in the area if you are traveling. There is also a nearby park and jogging trail. Also, a LOT of good nearby courses VERY close
-it's a very beautiful course with a nice pond, ducks, and a creek
-it would be extremely difficult to lose a disc here

Cons:

-there are no benches (aside from hole 1), trash cans, or restrooms, but you really don't need them since its such a short course
-9 holes are always less desirable than 18 hole courses, and this one could certainly put more holes in
-it's a shame that they didn't use the pond. It's beautiful, but they just didn't include it for some reason
-it is right by an elementary school. If you play during the day, they may be at recess or doing a field day (I came one time during a field day...and just forget about it...there were kids everywhere). This also means that if you want to enjoy a drink or *ahem* other things...you aren't going to be able to...especially during school hours. It just wouldn't be worth the risk.
-the signage could be better (several have apparently been vandalized), but the flow is so obvious...it really doesn't make a difference

Other Thoughts:

This is the best 9 hole for 30 minutes in every direction (sorry debusk...). Its great for all skill levels to enjoy or those short on time.It's well worth it if you live within 20-25 minutes or if you are looking to play multiple courses in a day (due to it's proximity to several other courses).
Go check it out.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
hotstang
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.1 years 452 played 59 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Porter Parked 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 29, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

Easy and fun little 9 hole.
Good baskets.
Good Teepads.
Great for new and lower level players.
Good for practice of putter and midrange game.
Has a good mixture of shots.
Nice well maintained park overlooking nearby lake.
Great for a quick round of golf.

Cons:

Just not long enough.
No Bathrooms.

Other Thoughts:

Would like to see a full 18 put in around the lake.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
Chained Evil
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.1 years 1116 played 232 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Nice little 9 holer by a school 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 24, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

This is a good beginner's course that has a good variety of shots.
There are low ceiling shots, open holes, and even dog leg L/R holes.
The park is well kept and there are other amenities nearby, there is a park, basketball court, etc.
Flow is logical and rounds should play quickly here.
A couple of holes have Ace Run potential and there are some decent lines here.
Tees are super wide and plenty long.

Cons:

Probably not available(or tough to play) during school hours.
Signage is missing(just like at Debusk) due to apparent vandalism.
Wind might be a factor on the open holes.
No trash cans or benches-however you most likely won't need benches on this short of a course.
Hard pack around baskets can get slick after a solid rain.

Other Thoughts:

This is a pretty fun little 9 hole course that has just enough obstacles and shot variety to keep you interested. It doesn't have the length of other area courses but it is a fun play non the less.
If we had a course like this on our school property you can bet our PE classes would be utilizing it every chance we got.
When you group this course with the other 2 courses in Mesquite I think the city has covered all levels of players IMO.
I would start out here then progress to Debusk and then go play Paschall if I was just starting to learn the game.
Worth the play if you are in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Badstainless
Experience: 9.5 years 8 played 1 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Great for Beginners 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 25, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This course was one of the very first disc golf courses I have ever played. Compared to other courses in the area.
1. This is a really easy to navigate course.
2. Tees are concrete and course is well maintained.
3. Decent variation of holes, Mildy wooded, some open, up hill, downhill etc.
4. Short holes great for beginners.
5. No risk of losing any discs.

Cons:

1. The course is only 9 short holes.
2. Some of the holes can become very muddy after rainfall.

Other Thoughts:

This is truly a great beginner course for those newbies such as me. There is enough variation to learn your discs and learn different elements of the game. Overall good easy course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
Joe6Pack
Experience: 34 played 18 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Enjoyed Playing This Course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 15, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

A few creative holes. Easy to navigate. Easy to find parking lot if you're going there for the first time. Good mix of shot types and some elevation changes and water.

Cons:

Pretty average course. Will be easy for 900+ rated player.

Other Thoughts:

Worth playing if you're already in the area. Not a destination course in and of itself.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
TheHipstick
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 21.1 years 171 played 69 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 2, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Nice concrete teepads. Well kept course and park. Grass is well maintained. Possible ace run on every hole. Would be difficult to shoot over on this course.

Cons:

The only con I would have to say is no real signage for the holes. You can see the basket from every teepad, so no real need for signs.

Other Thoughts:

Will definitely play the course again if in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
dbx820
Experience: 6 played 6 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Good Practice course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 22, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Well Maintained, Easy flow from hole to hole. Multiple elevation changes. Good place to practice.

Cons:

Relatively Short, Straight Holes. Chains are a little rusty. Not a lot of challenge, but again, good for practice.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
matt.j
Experience: 7 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

great little course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 29, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

well kept course. not too difficult. easy to find the tee pads and baskets.

Cons:

course backs up to a school, so during school hours you might not want to play it.

Other Thoughts:

no water or heavy brush on this course so you're not going to lose any discs. never seen this place crowded. a lot of fun if you're still working on your game.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
btroberts011
Experience: 12.1 years 16 played 7 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Hahaha 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 7, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Fun course for any player at any skill level.
Lots of unique holes that you wont see at other courses.
Like the concrete pads
Well kept course for the most part.

Cons:

Too short, Too easy.
Kind of hard to find the course
Course is very hard to navigate from hole to hole. I even played hole 7 out of order on accident.
Bad indicators pointing from hole to hole.

Other Thoughts:

Had a good time but the course just needs more. I would say play it because it is very unique compared to most other courses, but if you really want to play a good course go to one of the others in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 4
Spookyspence
Experience: 15 played 15 reviews
2.00 star(s)

School? 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Feb 15, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

GREAT elevation changes
No way to lose discs at all
Never muddy, great drainage.
Well kept
Good basket locations

Cons:

Course is nearly on school grounds
Super short
No bathroom

Other Thoughts:

Very short and simple course the main thing making is any good is its elevation changes. I would not go out of my way to play it but if you are in the area I would give it a shot. Below is a short description of the holes

1 Straight open shot, basket is behind to tree you have to shoot through or around to get to.

2 Is my favorite hole here, you shoot down a large hill towards a basket behind some tree. You can go 1 of 2 ways shoot shot the hill or through straight over the trees.

3 Another straight forward hole saved by elevation changes. You shoot up a hill while avoiding a couple of trees.

4 To the left and right of the thee are tree you must shoot through into a open field shot for a the basket.

5 Straight shot with basket on the side of a small hill.

6 Down hill shot with some tree to the right.

7 Hardest hole on the course tons of tree to throw through.

8 Down hill around a few trees

9 Straight shot big open hole.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
jenb
Experience: 19 years 90 played 6 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Impressive Beginner Course 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jan 16, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Having never played here, I expected much worse based on the comments of pros I know who are unwilling to play here because it is a beginner course that is too easy for them.

Much to my surprise, this course offers some of the best elevation changes in DFW.

Additionally, while the holes are not long, the foliage and elevation combine to yield lines that, with wind, should provide a fun challenge for almost anyone who can't simply circumvent all obstacles and park every hole with a 250 foot overhead shot.

When nearby Paschall was a sea of mud, Porter proved nice and dry. That's not to say it doesn't need a day or two to dry out after a lot fo rain, but it doesn't keep mud as long as Paschall. But the day after a rain, BB Owen is the only park in the area that will be free of mud, and that's only if the pins all get moved short as they tend to do there after rain.

Teepads, signs, and baskets are good to go.

Not too busy. Clean, safe, and fun.

No water to lose discs in.

Cons:

No water to lose discs in :p

Only 9 pins is OK, but lack of dual tees? Dual tees would really add value to this course, especially if they provide different, and not just longer, looks at the baskets.

No parking lot or bathrooms.

Other Thoughts:

Porter DGC is probably the best beginner course I've ever encountered, and a fun time for all but the most advanced players. If it had dual tees, I'd definitely give it the 3.5 that I want to give it. I plan to play here whenever the other courses in the area are muddy, and maybe play a little safari golf or add my own tee positions to provide what I'm looking for in terms of variety and replay value.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
pfluegel
Experience: 15 played 6 reviews
3.50 star(s)

quick and easy. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 19, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

this course offers great variety when it comes to elevation shifts. It is an easy course and though I would still consider myself new I shot one under par here. Lots of oppertunities for an ace here as well,( my brother hit the top of hole 5 today) over all lots of fun

Cons:

Not the most challenging course. It is hard to feel really good about yourself after doing well on this course.

Other Thoughts:

I have a hard time rating this course. Super fun, no poison ivy, hard to lose a disc and all holes have something interesting going for it. It is hard for me not to give this a 4 or higher...
All that being said it is only a nine hole course and if it were to have an additional 9 in the same manner this would be a very popular course for newbees.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 1
clipnfly
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15 years 60 played 57 reviews
2.50 star(s)

get schooled in DG 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 15, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Good local course if you live in the local neighborhood. See my full review below.

Cons:

Close to school, be wary of proximity to children during school hours.

Other Thoughts:

This is my disc golf course rating system. Each element of the course is worth ½ disc for a total of 10, ½ disc units or 5 full discs of rating.
My 10 categories are:
1. Quality of tee pads.
2. Quality of signage, both individual hole signs as well as a sign board and course layout at the hole one beginning location.
3. Course amenities. Benches at tees, garbage cans on course, disc bag posts/hooks, next tee arrows, etc.
4. Overall park amenities. Things like bathrooms, drinking fountains, playground areas, anything that improves the overall location.
5. Overall use of available terrain features. How well did the designers use what they had to work with?
6. Changes in elevation. Some courses have this occurring naturally. Others have created it. Either way it is vital that a good course is beyond flat... even in Iowa or Nebraska.
7. Variety of hole length. Is it mixed up? Some long, some short. Keep things interesting.
8. Tee and basket options. Are there tee options and/or alternate basket locations? Can the course be played different on different visits?
9. Signature hole? Is there one hole in specific that leaves an impression? Creates a unique memory?
10. Fun Factor - Purely subjective on my part. Did I have fun?

Porter park, Mesquite, TX

1. Yes. Good tee pads.
2. Yes. Good signage on posts. No main map. Next tee indicators on baskets. Easy to navigate course.
3. No. Park amenities are good, but course specific amenities are absent.
4. No. Overall nice clean park, but since it is basically attached to the school, no real park amenities.
5. Yes. Quite well done here. Nice use of the creek like areas. Could have used central tree area more, but this might subject it to much traffic/trampeling and that would be a shame.
6. Yes. Existing elevation and terrain is incorporated well into course layout.
7. No. Mostly all are just longer than short... low end of mid length holes.
8. No. No tee or basket choices are offered.
9. No. No real sig hole here.
10. Yes. I had fun. Good, basic course for one on a school grounds. Use care when playing during the day when school is in session. Fun to play, but there is better golf close by.

Rating = 5 yes, 5 no = 2.5 disc rating
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 3
loki
Experience: 16.1 years 8 played 2 reviews
3.50 star(s)

great starter course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 19, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

good for someone just starting out almost impossible to lose a disc on this course

hole 4 is trickier then it looks by far but a blast to play

Cons:

a little too close to the elementary school

no bathrooms around
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
chalos13
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 17.1 years 35 played 35 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Very nice 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 13, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

I've heard the term pitch and putt a lot in a negative way, but this was a really good example. Many short holes, used a mid range a lot. Great practice or for a quick round. Some very interesting holes though, 2 is a long downhill that is good for a RHFH, 4 is a very intimidating tee box. Hole 7 looked really fun until it whipped my butt. For a 9 hole I had a lot of fun, this one had the right amount of challenge. Has those yellow poles that make navigation easy.

Cons:

Pay attention after hole 4, hole 5 will be off to your left by the school, hole 7 is the one you're seeing and thinking it's hole 5. Can be awkward/difficult to play during school hours.

Other Thoughts:

A local told me that of the parks in Mesquite this one drains the best after a rain. Really good for
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
NDABRUSH
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.5 years 58 played 47 reviews
3.00 star(s)

My 1st Elementary school course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 19, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Rolling hills and a decent amount of trees that were used to the maximum. The course is very well designed IMO. Not much wasted space here. It's like the person that designed it knew what they were trying to achieve. Surely it was designed by someone that plays DG. Mesquite coming through with the bright yellow concrete polls with the red tops next too the nice sized concrete Tee pads which makes them easy to spot. Safe neighborhood. Nice disc catchers. An older gent walking his dog stopped and asked some questions about DG which I was glad to answer... for a price. Just kidding I didn't charge him. Elevation changes and a couple of tight gap shots(3&7) help make this a pretty balanced 9 holer for the amount and type of land given. I am not a pro so they were not ALL ace runs, but I enjoyed the ones that were. Plenty of parking after school and not busy on a Friday at 3:30. ! group of 4 showed up right as I was leaving. Just a very surprising little 9 holer that I will def try to sneak in on a future DFW road trip.

Cons:

Too easy for any seasoned disc golfer with any kind of distance and accuracy, but that is what this site is for so you know this going in. For what this course is supposed to be, it exceeded my expectations. Walking track that was empty today except for the curious old gent, so maybe it is usually not busy. No seclusion factor as you are next to a school in a Neighborhood. Can't play during most of the lighted hours during the week 9 months out of the year. There are no tee signs, but the yellow posts have the distance, hole number and what its par is. This course isn't exactly over flowing with cons IMO.

Other Thoughts:

This course is a fine ambassador for our sport to attract young children and turn them and maybe their parents in addicts. After only playing 2 rounds, I can't think of a whole lot that I would change.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
Pizza God
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 36.2 years 1756 played 601 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Good Neighborhood course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 9, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

Cement tee pads

Tee markers (although the signs have all been stolen)

Pretty good flow of holes and good use of the land.

good elevation

Cons:

2 holes are too close to the school for my taste.

2 or 3 of the holes are just too short.

Other Thoughts:

This is a perfect little neighborhood 9 hole course. In fact there were several people out playing today.

Most of the time 9 hole courses are in boring parks, this one is actually interesting.

The kids were out at recess when I was there, I felt weird with the teachers watching me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top