Spring, TX

Spring Valley DGC

Permanent course
3.735(based on 39 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Spring Valley DGC reviews

Filter
14 0
kevdiv48
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 17.5 years 263 played 30 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Ball and Disc Golf Together in Harmony

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 24, 2022 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Long, grippy trapezoidal teepads on all but 5 holes. Good rubber mats are used on the remainder. Benches spaced out well across the course.
Practice baskets before hole 1. Pair of nets for warmup throws. You'll want to take advantage of this with hole 1 being a nearly max power downhill rip.
Great hole variety. When playing the entire 27-31 hole complete layout you throw everything from tight 180 foot poke & hopes to sprawling par 4's & 1 par 5 that exceeds 1000 feet.
Standard configurations are the "finesse 21" and the "power 9." With this, the layout allows for some established combined/ safari holes as well as alternate pin positions. Countless different combinations of play.
On site pro shop well stocked with plastic as well as snacks and drinks.
Overall good maintenance. Grassy fairways are kept short & wooded areas are kept in order.

Cons:

What keeps Spring Valley from the 4.5 territory is overall difficulty. The power 9 par 4's and par 5's can be scored well by playing to not go OB as opposed to attacking the hole. The wooded holes, while offering tight lines, are somewhat one dimensional and do have the distance & precision combination that would warrant a higher rating.
Navigation is difficult for those unfamiliar with the course. Power 9 holes not available to disc golfers on Saturdays and Sundays.

Other Thoughts:

Spring Valley Golf & Disc Golf does many things right and is a course invested in the best interest of the numerous players that visit on a day to day basis.
Having a stocked pro shop and practice area before teeing off the iconic downhill hole 1 gives the feel of a facility tailored for disc golf.
The combination of long sprawling golf holes and tighter wooded shots is a clear strength and I recommend playing on a day where both parts of the facility are available.
$5 to play. Well worth the quality of the experience.
Spring Valley is a top 5 Houston area course and worth the drive. Give yourself the time to play both the golf course and wooded holes, as the experience is somewhat limited if you only play one or the other.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 3
Trinitydisc
Experience: 7 played 7 reviews
0.50 star(s)

Color me confused 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 6, 2021 Played the course:once

Pros:

It has good baskets and tee pads.

Cons:

Considering this is by far the worst course I have ever played and I payed for it on top of that? I can't really say anything good about this course. I don't get what all the good reviews are about. Course layout is nothing but confusing. The signage doesn't help much. Some holes are missing. We have a city park in our home town that is completely neglected and is is better condition than this place.

Other Thoughts:

My favorite courses by the way are generally wooded and tight so don't think that that is why I rated this course so low.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
MikeTorre
Experience: 11.9 years 80 played 23 reviews
4.50 star(s)

A saintly place to throw & shop 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 21, 2020 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Pro shop -> the premier disc golf store in the greater Houston area with an impressive complement of brands and stock

Beautiful area -> Spring (30 min up the I-45 from Houston) features lush greenery and rugged, swampy forests of pines and oaks

Great location -> Combines ball and disc golf, both a finesse 18, a technical course, and a legendary power 9 on the ball golf course

Challenging and fun -> Expect 300'-ish technical holes on the 18 and longer distances and water hazards on the power 9

Friendly community -> A vibrant league with all kinds of events (like Texas state championships) on the go

Nice design -> The disc courses have evolved over the years and always features good signage, great pads, and nice baskets

Cons:

Pay-to-play -> Spring Valley charges next to nothing to play ($3.50?), but golfers on a tight budget need to know

Lots of water -> Murky water hazards make the course super fun, but potentially a disc gobbler, so pack a floater or a disc gator/golden retriever

Other Thoughts:

Disc golf beginners and novices who try these courses need to calibrate their expectations to avoid getting smurfed

The pro shop offers some snacks and lots of drinks, including some nice microbrewery beers (yum yum)

There's also a grocery store right across the street with a coffee shop in the back that brews the good stuff


Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
sisyphus
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.6 years 398 played 383 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Swiss Army Knife of the Golf World? 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 23, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

Each time we come down to visit my folks in the Lake Conroe area, I try to stop in at a new course or four in the region, to experience a little Texas style disc golf. My first course in the state was Shawshank, and my most recent (of 9 so far) was Spring Valley. Makes for good bookends if it takes me a while to return. I stopped in at the pro shop and paid the tiny fee they charge for a round on a Saturday morning, and chatted a bit about other DGCR members that have visited. They've got a nice shop, and will help you out with course particulars if it's your first visit.

On Saturday, you can't play the Power Nine (it's a shared space), but that was OK with me, being a lover of Finesse courses, and not monster drives. Nice that they have both (most of the week) for those who want that. I noted a bunch of practice baskets up near the pro shop, and was a little amused to see some of the ball and stick golfers struggling through their fun as I walked to the back of the property for hole one of the disc golf course.

The holes on this part of the course have beautiful and great catching, pink baskets, and the flow is fairly easy to follow (with a couple of exceptions, below). The holes were obviously laid out by a knowledgeable player who understands what will pose a challenge given the limited distances on the "Finesse 18". The tightness was well-scaled to the hole lengths throughout. Neat features and amenities: awesome, curved, trapezoidal concrete tees on almost every hole; benches as well; neat elevated basket on 15; huge log 'guard rail' as you enter the 17th green; net behind the 16th tee has been retained despite some changes in course flow. It felt as if all lines of flight played safely in relation to the other tees and fairways.

In all, this course is well-suited to Intermediate skill levels and above, and it feels good to catch a glimpse of most of the ball and stick golfers not playing quite as well as you 😉

Cons:

It is a bit of a walk to where the fence line on your left opens up for the first hole on the Finesse 18. You need to backtrack part of the 6th hole to tee off and reverse back to the path you just left to get to 7. The back nine (10-16) can run together a bit for first timers. Best to get the map and clarity at the pro shop, or play with an 'old hand'.

During my visit, they'd had some significant water, and one of the holes was literally unplayable to the green. They were also struggling to get maintenance back there, so it was a little shaggy. But the wood holes were cool and refreshing, and pretty well-kept.

Other Thoughts:

The Spring Valley disc golf course and golf complex is obviously a well-loved facility that gets a lot of attention and a lot of well-deserved patronage. It's not going to be perfection, but is definitely worth a visit if you're in the area north of Houston.

Reviewer Background as of this writing: played 312 courses and written 295 reviews, via skills hovering around a 900 rating, with folks ranging from age 7 to 87, so I try to write reviews helpful to all.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 0
blake833
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14 years 160 played 140 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Woah 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 4, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

I am ashamed of how long it took me to visit Spring Valley, given I used to work a few miles north of here, and house sat for a 2nd family just across the street many times. If only I had known the gem of a disc golf facility right here. And a GEM it is.

It doesn't look like much from the road, and the parking lot is pretty small, but as soon as you step inside you know this place is no joke. I don't think there's discs on the market you can't buy in this place. (though it will probably be overpriced)

Now, onto the course. Or, should I say, courses, because there really are two here: The Finesse 18, and the Power 9.

The Power 9 is exactly that- 9 loong bomber holes with minimal obstacles. It lies over the golf course, and you need a big arm to expect to do well here. The holes are pretty various and if you can hit big lines, it's pretty fun! I especially loved holes 1, 8, and 9. You start off with a huge downhill shot, then 8 finishes over the little pond, and 9 goes back up the hill, to finish near the practice area.

The Finesse 18 is a bit of a walk past the first couple Power 9 holes, and plays through the woods around the golf course. The fairways are tight. The baskets are pink. And the ground is sometimes muddy. But the course is fantastic. Some doglegs, some left, some right finishes, PUNISHING rough. But also some places where there aren't punishing roughs. I know that doesn't help much but picture this: a Texas oak/elm forest, with dirt floors, runs along a large river which comes into play a couple times. I found the fairways intriguing. I always wanted to really go for it, but the risk/reward comes into play because if you miss, well just take your medicine.

All 27 holes have great concrete tees, and hot pink mach x's. I've never seen pink baskets before, but I have to admit- I loved em.

All this to say- great course.

Cons:

On the Finesse 18, navigation can get tricky. There are some holes really bunched up around 12-17, and you can skip a few holes without realizing it.

The Power 9 can get a little repetitive. It's not that the holes are really that similar, but they're pretty open, and you're still driving for big distance 9 times in a row with no real risk/reward, just how-far-can-you-get? throws.

Sharing the space with the ball golfers can be difficult, because they probably won't yield to you. There were a couple times I was waiting on some golfers to finish while I was on the disc golf tee, and another golfer would come up and tee ahead of me and I'd just have to wait again.

Other Thoughts:

A couple holes by the river were washed out after some recent flooding, even post-Harvey. A couple others have clear flood damage from the amount of water the course took during the hurricane. It brought my fun outing to a stark reality check, thinking about how this course almost wasn't. There was a dirt tee marked with flags for one or two holes when I played, and I bet a concrete tee will be there soon.

Spring Valley is one of the premier places to play in the Houston area. There are holes here for everybody, at every level of the game. Don't make the same mistake I did and delay playing here. If you're around, get here as fast as you can. Take a damn flying car if you need to. Or ride an ostrich. But don't miss out!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
webulu
Experience: 6.9 years 28 played 4 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Great Experience 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 21, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Some really cool hole design, good use of water hazards and a lot more clever use of elevation than other super-flat Houston courses. A lot of holes present multiple different lines you can go for, good variety of angles.
- The pro shop has a ton of selection and the staff member there provided me with a map and some helpful advice on the course hazards.
- The practical stuff: lots of benches, trash cans, good teepads, clear markings and directions, nice, clean restrooms in the clubhouse, fairways nicely mowed.
- Lots of shade, which is of course great in the Tx heat.
- The raised basket and death putt on #15 is a cool element, also really like the risk-reward between the two lines on #4. The downed tree on #17 seems to collect drives, which makes for really interesting putting challenges, over the tree, leaning against the tree, etc.
- Almost all holes feel very fair, gaps and fairways aren't too small. There may have been two or so holes that I didn't feel like I had any shot at birdie.

Cons:

- Speaking of: how the heck are you supposed to birdie #18?
- I was only able to play the "Finesse 18", as it was a weekend round. I would really like to come out on a weekday and play all 27 holes. I enjoy wooded courses, but was really itching to bust out the high-speed drivers after 18 holes of pinballing through the trees - I think the full 27 would be a much more balanced experience.
- The course had some damage from the hurricane still, but it was mostly aesthetic - some trees down, some piles of dirt and rocks here and there. Overall, they did a great job cleaning up.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 5
C.A McClung
Experience: 5 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Even after the weather 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 26, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The pro shop and the amount of different ways the course can be played.

Cons:

Hot outside. With all the rain that happened at the beginning of summer now the course needs rain.

Other Thoughts:

Can't wait for the food! You have to travel 5 miles just to get bad food now.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 8
rodeo_cwboy
Experience: 12.7 years 76 played 3 reviews
4.00 star(s)

awesome place 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 23, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

I like the difficultly of each hole. no open grip and rip unless you play the power 9.

The club house rocks with a great selection and the owners provide a friendly family atmosphere.

Cons:

to me.. I wish I lived a little closer to play it more often.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 2
c_a_miller
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12 years 299 played 209 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 10, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-First of all this course has the best selection of discs on the north side of town. It is easy to go in and spend $40-$50 on brand new discs.
-The concrete tee pads are great, the baskets are in wonderful shape.
-Most of the holes are shaded which can be a huge pro in the heat of summer.
-There are a few memorable holes. The front 9 of the finesse are all unique and can be exciting.
-All of the finesse holes are relatively short. This would be a good place to bring a new player so that person can see what a high caliber course looks like.
-The power 9 holes are VERY unique to Houston. You will not find too many courses where you have 800'+ holes and if you have the big arm this could add a bit of fun for you.

Cons:

-Really, the only big con I can think of is the long walk from the clubhouse to the first tee and from the 18th tee back up to the clubhouse. It is unavoidable with the golf course being right there but it can be a bit of a walk.
-Holes 13-17 have over lapping fairways on a few holes which can really be problematic for a person who has never been here without a map. All tees have signs and all baskets have numbers on them. Just be aware of where you are and where you are shooting at.

Other Thoughts:

This is a premier course for the North Houston/Spring area. With the high quality pro shop and a small green fee this course gives you a taste of what a high quality course looks like.

This is one of the best courses in the area and if you play Stonebridge Church less then 10 minutes away you can give yourself a fun filled day of disc golfing.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 2
Tiny
Experience: 12.1 years 50 played 10 reviews
2.00 star(s)

High Hopes were Destroyed 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 29, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course has a couple of pros, and cons that can not be overlooked.
The pros would include, well maintained course, mild variety of shots needed, great for beginners, and power 9 are interesting enough to make a return trip from DFW. It's cheap to play, and I couldn't really see my self paying anymore than that, for that course. I liked the scenery a lot as well. A bunch of cool designs around the course.

Also, the area it's in is a nice neighborhood.

Cons:

Where do I start?
Out of the way of most things in that neighborhood, Not easy to spot from the road(to be fair that's just that neighborhood, Great neighborhood though), worker didn't seem to know much about the course.

Onto the course it'self.
It lacks variety of shots. You only need 3-4 throws, (long anhyzer, straight shot, short hyzer, and putts). Not many holes break 300' in distance(Finesse 18). The course only flows well on the first 1-5, after 6 you have to backtrack to get to 7, and 13-17 is a headache even with a map. You're not allowed to fish your discs out, if you put them into the drink(I understand why, but for out of towners it makes it difficult to get em back). A lot of the back nine are the exact same throw, just 20' difference between em. I had a variety of discs in my bags for the hopes of throwing different lines, and ended up using a total of 5 different discs, (Buzzz, Surge, Wizard, Gazelle, and the occasional Monarch tomahawk, just to give me a different throw to use.)

Not really a con, but will be labeled as one because people should know. I'm not sure which hole it's next to, but in the headache of 13-17, there is a standing pool of water that is guaranteed to harbor unwanted mosquitoes. We didn't really have an issue, because we always wear bug spray, but I can see an probable issue.

Other Thoughts:

Favorite hole by far is #4. It was well designed.

I was let down big time, on my trip I saved it for Monday, so we could save the best for last. It let me down. I enjoyed the course, but that's because I love playing regardless of where. There is better courses around that area. If you plan on playing this one, do it first with enough time to play another near there, just so you don't feel as you wasted your day.

The course is around a ball golf course, and the guy that was running the pro shop, was obviously a ball golfer and didn't share my love for the game. I liked their selection, but they were out of the some of my favorite discs, that I planned on purchasing. (Volt, XS in max weight in Z plastic, and Air Saint)

I will play here again, but it'll be after I play the other Houston courses.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 13
skyisblu
Experience: 18.4 years 17 played 4 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Too Much Finesse 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 9, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Nice pro shop stocked full of your typical run of plastics

Power 9 holes

A few of the finesse holes stand out (4,5 & 7), but most you could argue are filler holes, repetitive and have no realistic fairways.

This is a great site, the land is good overall and has tons of potential.

Best Holes - Power 1-9

Cons:

Many of the finesse holes are not legitimate golf lines. There are too many trees in the fairways many times, and trees too close to the teebox making more luck than skill.

Worst Holes - Finesse 3, 8, 11 & 18

Other Thoughts:

This could be a top notch site if it was re-designed as a solid 18 or 21 holes that played in and out of the woods, instead of 18 crammed into the woods and 9 big open shots. I give this course a 1.5 passable rating because it does pass as fun overall but not as good as other courses in the Houston area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
14 2
hefalump
Experience: 23 played 19 reviews
2.50 star(s)

The Disc 'n' Ball Share Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jan 7, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

I was impressed at first with this course. Andi Lehman did a good job laying out this course. The "Power 9" is just what it is supposed to be: Nine long grip and rip holes for the power arm bunch. Not recommended for the short throwers (this includes me). The Finesse 18 is a different story. You are playing through the woods surrounding the ball golf course. With the exception of holes one and two, which are straight throws toward baskets about roughly 300 feet away each, you will be playing around the creek that runs by the course for the next seven holes. Hole 8 is a straight throw across a narrow stretch of fairway before a dogleg to the left and one hundred additional feet to the basket. My favorite on this course. Holes 10 through 18 continue play in the the woods and are variously tricky in and of themselves. Especially hole 11 which has a fairway loaded with trees. A good challenge overall. A good variety of holes and a nice 18 hole course is the finesse 18. I like the supply of a broom at every tee to sweep off any leaves or other debris. Benches are present at every tee as well. All tees in the woods are concrete. Liked that for this course.

Cons:

When you start to mix the power 9 with the finesse 18 you will be utterly confused. Transition hole 14 has no tee that I was aware of. I just found a stake for a tee and threw at a basket I saw in the distance. I could not find the baskets mentioned for half the power 9 holes. And the ultimate con: the rule that you could not try to retrieve your disc if it flew into the ponds or creek. This course gets a half disc knock-off just for that rule!

Other Thoughts:

This course has one of the best stocked pro shops I have seen for a disc golf course. If you spend $25 or more there your play on the course is free. Otherwise it is a $3.50 green fee. All-in-all, it is worth the fee. I still disagree with the non-recovery lost disc rule, whether they recover the discs and call you or not. Sorry Andi, remove that rule and you will get a three-disc review from me. Otherwise, the best you are going to get is a 2.5 from me. Play the course (finesse 18 recommended). It is worth the greens fee and you just might find a disc you are looking for in the pro shop. Also, Andi is pretty nice. She gave me some good disc advice and the benefit of some of her disc golf knowledge. And for a beginner like me, that comes in handy from time to time. For those of you that find my review unhelpful due to my objection to the "no recovery" rule must not have irretrievably lost a disc in a pond or a stream. If you ever play this course, lose a disc, and find it for sale in the bargain bin of the pro shop, then you will probably understand.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 3
Upshawt1979
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.9 years 550 played 429 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Spring Theme 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 24, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Spring Valley DGC is very well worth the $3.25 green fee. The finesse 18 is a run through the woods with plenty of tight lines and punishing rough. Course is mainly flat, excepting boggy fringes eroded around a few of the holes. Fairways are often crowded with trees, and steep angles are necessary to cut the right lines. The tee pads were all concrete, and tees were marked with the distance on each. All baskets were in good condition. The flow was fairly easy to follow, and a course map/scorecard is available in the pro shop. The Power 9 is along the ball golf course. I only played 1 and 9, on my way to and from the Finesse 18, but it seemed fun and well laid out.

Cons:

The mosquitoes were huge, bring bug spray. Maybe concerns about ball golfers interfering with play in the power nine, shouldn't be much of a problem elsewhere. Clearing some more brush and limbs could make the Finesse much less frustrating, but I liked the added challenge on the mostly short holes.

Other Thoughts:

Spring Valley DGC should be your next stop if you are nearby and haven't played there yet. I found it to be a very fun course. Nice facilities, pro shop, and sweet overall disc golfing. Highly recommended to serious disc golfers in the Houston vicinity and otherwise.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 9
shawnsink
Experience: 13.1 years 10 played 4 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Only course ive lost a disc.. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 24, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This course is beast! Power 9 has some brutally long holes...hole 1 is 936 ft...take that as a good or bad...finesse 18 is a super fun technical course in the woods,times ive been out there,i didnt have to wait on anyone or vise versa.

Cons:

The water hazards(when we actually get rain) are pretty brutal...hole 1 of the power 9 has a pond next to it on the left and a retention pond on the right...i was weary since it was my third time ever playing DG but i did ok...untill i got to finesse hole 1...ricked off a tree straight into the creek..alot of walking involved with this course too hah

Other Thoughts:

overall one of my favorite course to play..its well kept..its only 3 bucks to play and the pro shop is nice.a couple hole can be frustrating but thats to keep ya on your toes! haha
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 6
MrNiceFella
Experience: 17 played 15 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Greatness! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 29, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Elevation changes are very hard to find in Houston but this course has them. Course is well designed, clearly marked, well kept, and has tons of holes. Tee pads are top knotch! The pro shop has mountains of discs to choose from too!

Cons:

Golfers are not always very courteous of disc golfers. Make sure and make your presence known and that you have as much of a right to be there as they do.

Other Thoughts:

This is my personal favorite course in the Houston area. It is challenging enough to push my limits without being so challenging that I end up frustrated.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 4
GFWilliams
Experience: 13.6 years 8 played 3 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Relaxing Spring 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 19, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course has a great layout with heavy use of trees to make even the shorter shots challenging.

Cons:

My biggest problem with the course is with the massive amounts of thorned plant life in the area. It seemed like most of the probable trouble spots had either rose bushes or thorny vines hanging from the trees. This made some retrievals more than a little painful while not adding anything to the overall difficulty of the course.

Other Thoughts:

It looked like it may retain water after a heavy rain. The pay to play price is reasonable, but unless your in the area, I wouldn't make a long drive when there are free courses closer. Overall a good course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 4
coyotepower
Experience: 18.6 years 87 played 34 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Has grown on me 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Nov 17, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Deep in the woods. Total seclusion. Perfect serenity of the great outdoors. Rarely have to wait for others. Awesome holes, Lots of challenges, tough course!

Cons:

Long walk to F1, signage is a big confusing on 9-18 of the Finesse course.

Other Thoughts:

First time I played this course I swore I would never return. Not only was it pay to play, but I lost several discs. But that was then, and 3 years later I am a much better player with far greater tools in the bag and a better understanding of the game. Now, I appreciate it for the challenge it provides after becoming complacent at moffit, jester, macgreggor,etc. Played here the other day and it was simply perfect - the terrain is still rough, but it is how DG is meant to be. I would almost call this course Houston's version of the Circle C in Austin.

2/13/18 UPDATE: NEW BASKETS ARE IN! Thank you Spring Valley! It was a joy to play there yesterday. No Spit outs! Great visibility! I believe they are Mach X and they grab beautifully. Now I am looking forward to the TX States!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 6
rbsold
Experience: 14.2 years 55 played 10 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Great, well organized course! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 20, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Pretty fun short course, Only got to play the finesse 18 though. Great tee boxes. Very good mix of holes, elevation, distance and very wooded. I carry around 15 discs, and I used pretty much every single one. Also, can't stress enough how great having an on site pro shop is and they carry all the brands. The pro shop has everything you need. Also, unlike a lot of courses, there is water, which adds a nice touch to the game.

Cons:

Course seems to be sinking away as the San Jacinto claims more holes and greens. I will be interested to see how they end up compensating for this. Also, the walk to the back to reach the finesse 18 is a minor inconvenience.

Other Thoughts:

The owners are really nice. It is 3 dollars to play. Also, there is a practice putting area. Great place to check out when you're in the area, but I believe McDade, Stonebridge, and Northside all are better courses/challenges than this course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
ROCthrower
Experience: 25.6 years 26 played 5 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Great course even though you have to pay $3 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 31, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great course with lots of short/tight wooded shots along with long/open range shots. The course is well groomed and they have done quite a bit to make sure it is easy to walk between the holes. Even after a heavy rain, most of the holes are well drained. This course is not for beginners, but a great intermediate course!

Cons:

If you're playing on a nice weekday or weekend, you'll have to compete with the ball golfers. They don't give a wink that you're out there on the course, so take cover! Its better to stay in the wooded holes anyway!

Other Thoughts:

Make sure you bring money to check out the pro shop! This is one of the best if not the best selection of disc golf discs in Houston! They have everything and its reasonably priced! Plus they have a good assortment of used discs and bags as well!

Also be sure to check out the tournaments they have weekly!

The signage on T14, T15 and T16 are really hard to see...so make sure to ask about those in the clubhouse!

Other than that, have fun! Enjoy! And watch out for flying golf balls!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
22 3
srm_520
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 20 years 156 played 142 reviews
4.00 star(s)

28 Holes, and a Pro shop...Need I Say More? 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Mar 9, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

28 holes...concrete tees...some elevation - in Houston...water, trees, and distance...Pro Shop?!!! Okay bring it on Spring Valley. First, 28 holes divided into three distinct layouts with an extra hole either at Finesse #6 or the Total #14. In addition, each hole is adequately marked with each layout number and hole distance, and plays on concrete boxes. Although concrete is always a plus in my book, the 10' depth for runups is a little short for the longer holes. There is plenty of seating at each holes to take a load off if needed.

Okay, so the elevation changes are only on the Power/Total #1 as well as Power #9/Total#27, but it's always worth a mention in utterly flat Houston. There are plenty of ponds, creeks, and water ditches to lose your disc in - but conservative play should keep you pretty dry. If you do throw one in - don't plan on getting it back in the murky brown water with signs posted to stay out. Finally the Proshop. The one and only proshop on a disc golf in the greater Houston area - they have everything you need. I feel like I'm in Austin when I come here!!!

Out of 28 holes - the bread and butter of this course is surely the Finesse 18 front nine. These fantastically designed holes work right and left, combine tunnels and tight lines, and run along a creek away from everything else. The front nine is basically what a disc golf course should be, and is reason enough to pay to play. Plus, it's nice to know that you have access to the best holes on the course any time you want without having to compete with ball golfers. If you're playing the Total 27/28, I recommend picking up #6 from the Finesse 18 course to make it a full 28 holes. This was probably my favorite hole on course, so it was be a shame to miss it.

BEST HOLE/S: Finesse #6; #8

Cons:

That'll be three dollars and blah blah cents. Okay, this is a minor grip for being the only pay course in the greater Houston area, but it's annoying to have change in my pocket when I'm ready to start playing. Call it nit-picky, but why can't they do like every other pay course I've ever played and round it off to the nearest dollar.

Understand this is only a con if you're playing the Power 9 or Total 27/28 on a weekday, but get ready to compete with ball golfers. Each of the Power 9 holes run along, across, or right down the middle a ball golf fairways. And granted, even though most of these people are nice - many have little to no idea you or your sport exist and usually assume they have the right of way since they have a fancy cart. If you only hit the Finesse 18 - not to worry, there are no golfers in the woods, at least on purpose.

In addition, the Power 9 is simply that - opened up powerful drive after drive holes with little thought or creativity. I'm the type of person who wants to play every hole on a course, so I'll hit the Power 9 on weekdays as part of the Total 27/28, but I just have to keep in mind these are not "wow" holes, simply part of the overall package.

Finally, have that map handy, because the layout becomes more confusing with the more holes you play. The shop didn't have a Total 27/28 map, and of course I forgot to print one - so I was not happy about forgetting the transitions between T13, T14, and T15. Watch the signs!!!

WORST HOLE/S: Power #4; #5

Other Thoughts:

It's hard to rate a single course that plays in three distinct setups. The Finesse 18, which can be played at any time, hovers around a 3.5 with its decent signage, creative lines, concrete pads, and wooded atmosphere. The Power 9, which can only be played on weekdays, by itself is a 2.0 at best with the only challenge being its impressive length. However - that is how it's billed, so take it for what it's worth.

The Total 27/28 is also only available on weekdays, but becomes a strong 4.0 course and one of the best courses in the area. If you are serious about becoming stronger, better, and a smarter disc golf player, I recommend taking this choice if available.

I Admit, Spring Valley has never been high on my favorite Houston course list, but I have to respect that this is the only course in Houston that gives me 28 holes varied golf. Think of The LINKS at Quail Valley, Windwood Presbyterian Church, and River Grove DGC having a lovechild - it would be Spring Valley. This place tests your aim, your ability to choose correct lines and discs for the job, as well as your stamina. Bottom line, this course will fundamentally make you a better golfer.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top