Streamwood, IL

Sunny Hill Park

Permanent course
2.275(based on 22 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Sunny Hill Park reviews

Filter
6 0
EspressoPatronum
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 18.6 years 224 played 215 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Come for the Elevation 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 7, 2021 Played the course:once

Pros:

- pretty good elevation change for Chicago area
- clean, well maintained park
- tee signs have decent maps, though they're a bit rough
- some simple water hazards incorporated
- limited obstacles, but some trees incorporated into holes
- tee signs have next tee indicators

Cons:

- dirt tees which are fairly rutted out from use
- DGA baskets area pretty basic and definitely don't catch as well as others
- multiple tee signs missing
- basket 8 is mounted extremely low
- no real amenities - no garbage cans, benches, practice basket, etc.

Other Thoughts:

This is a decent course and lives up to the "Sunny Hill" name, with elevation change that's quite good for this area and limited shade. I enjoyed this course, although it is fairly basic. The #1 improvement would be some level concrete tees, as on some holes throwing from the damaged dirt tees was a challenge.

The "wooded" holes on this course are pretty minorly wooded, but it's better than an open field. Holes 2 and 3 have some marshy areas that are incorporated but they're pretty easy to avoid. Unfortunately, tees 3 and 7 were missing their signs, and the basket for 8 was seriously about 18 inches off the ground for some reason.

If I was in the area, I'd probably stop by for a quick round. There's at least a little bit of challenge for intermediate players but it's a good course for beginners to try out as well. Nothing about it particularly stands out, outside the elevation change.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 4
DiscGolfer80
Experience: 4.7 years 57 played 56 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Good for warm up / beginners 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 18, 2021 Played the course:once

Pros:

Great flow / layout of course. Great course to warm up prior going one of the near by 18 hole courses or practice your drives with very little obstacles. Love the elevation changes throughout the course.

Cons:

No designated tee box; deep ruts near sign, easily can twist an ankle or knee if not careful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
Icky
Experience: 10.9 years 12 played 7 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Great place to learn disc golf 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 15, 2018 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great elevation changes

Forehand & backhand friendly

Mostly open

Cons:

Terrible teepads

Public park

Older baskets

Standing water after rain

Other Thoughts:

I recommend teeing off from the path on holes 4 and 8. It doesn't alter the line too much, and allows for a better run up.

If you're trying to warm up before hitting up one of the many 18 hole courses near by this is the place. At sunny hilll you won't be smashing your distance drivers much, but you will test your skills trying to birdie out on all the holes. The teepads are terrible gouged out gravel pits unfortunately making it a little difficult to get a good run up. Hole 5 is a very fun downhill bomb that most players will love throwing. You can use a forehand or backhand on almost every hole. During the summer weekends the fairways are usually littered with people enjoying the weather so it's typically best to avoid it then. Sunny hill is a perfect place to learn disc golf!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
DiscGolfShopping
Experience: 19.8 years 9 played 7 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Needs overhaul 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 12, 2017 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Decent hill shots
challenging for beginners

Cons:

Older baskets
Graffiti on a few holes
Tee pads need an overhaul

Other Thoughts:

This course needs some new tee pads or just throw some gravel on them! They should relocate some of the starting points on the holes to make it more challenging or potentially just add two separate tees.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
The Valkyrie Kid
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 45.8 years 1563 played 1507 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Snazzy Chicago 9'er! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 7, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Sunny Hill Park has just enough elevation and roll to give it's disc golf course a little personality. Most holes feature a little up/down and the baskets are usually placed so that to add some complexity to the hole.

The equipment here is not impressive. The baskets are old DGA models. The course could really a directional aid to help you find # 1. The tee signs are inconsistent and the tee natural tee pads are just terrible.
The elevation makes for some pretty holes and keeps the course interesting. # 2's 320' throw over a nice grassy area to a basket set down in the trees is a pretty hole. # 5 is 367' downhill with a lone tree in your line. Can you manage to avoid it?

Cons:

Terrible tee pads. They need a front board installed.
Some graffiti.
# 8 basket sits maybe 4" too low.
Recreational challenge and distance.
Older baskets.
Could use better tee signs.
Needs signs pointing you to # 1.

Other Thoughts:

In spite of it's sub-par amenities, the basic play of this course is most enjoyable. It won't challenge intermediate to advanced players but beginners and the average recreational level player who throws 275' will probably leave here with a smile on their face.

Now, how about somebody take on the job of installing some decent tee pads?
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
RDHan
Experience: 10.8 years 155 played 7 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Great Short Community Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 6, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Being from the area this is one of my favorite short courses. Its biggest advantage is that it is close to me. Some may complain it is too easy but that is actually one of the reasons I like it. It is well designed in the sense that it is not just baskets sitting out in an open field. There is good use of elevation with some uphill and some downhill shots here. I have gotten to the point (after playing 1 year) where I could, with a good first shot, get a 2 on every hole except number 4 (which is still a little long for me though I see more experienced players making the distance). The holes are not so short or direct that it is simply a gimmie. You do have to make a good first shot. But if you do, you can be rewarded with a birdie (playing par 3). So that makes the course fun for me.
This is a great course for beginners or average players like me. You most likely will not lose a disc here. It is not simply baskets in a field so newbies get a sense that some different shots and challenges will be needed. Some holes have some moderate distance so you need to learn to increase the length of your drive to get a birdie. You can get through this course relatively quickly. All that adds up to why this is the course I play the most even if it is not my favorite.

Cons:

The tee-offs are just dirt and they do have ruts. But you can usually tee off next to them (and begin the process of making new ruts!). Of course it would improve the course greatly to get concrete tee pads. You will on some holes have to wait for pedestrians to cross over, but I have never found that to be a big deal or obstruction.

Other Thoughts:

Bathrooms in park.
Water Fountain in park.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 6
Stankyjahnke
Experience: 18.9 years 16 played 7 reviews
0.50 star(s)

Awful 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 25, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

There's a couple nice holes. I liked 2,3 and, 5. Nice elevation on some holes.

Cons:

There's alot of them first I would like to say this course may have been alot better when it first opened. I went there on Thursday and was really dissatisfied n whoever runs it has just let it goto crap. There was not a single tee sign,hole 8 didn't even have a basket, no signs or anything to help u figure out where it starts. Idk if the kids at the skatepark or something demolished this course and it's a shame

Other Thoughts:

I wouldn't waste your time there's 2 really nice course within 5 minutes away. This course is a disaster but the skatepark, basketball court, and tennis court are super nice. ill never go back
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
gregwil2
Experience: 12.8 years 61 played 9 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Has potential 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 25, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Decent layout flow once you find the first hole. Good use of what there is of water, trees, and hills. It also has some longer holes where you can let loose and throw. There isn't many places to lose your disc unless you get into the middle of the small water hazards. All baskets were in pretty good condition and had numbers on top for each hole.

Cons:

It was a little difficult finding hole 1 (park just as you get in the parking lot off Rt 19 and follow the sidewalk behind skate park and basketball court), mostly because there are almost no signs on any holes. Out of the 9 holes, there were posts on 6 of the course but only 3 signs to identify hole number and one was on its last leg. All tee pads were dirt except for number 8 which I couldn't find but I think the walkway was being used because I found two painted lines that would make sense. All the tee pads were really worn down and had no release point (were worn down anywhere from 10-25' in front of post). Many were worn down a few inches so a miss step could result in a twisted ankle. When I was there is was too wet to even try to throw from that area. The only reason why I could find the starting point for 2 holes without posts was because of the warn out path for throwing. There's lots of trash in the grass around hole 2 and hole 3 pad. There was tons of geese poop on holes 5 and 6 and almost guaranteed to get it on your disc/shoes.

Other Thoughts:

If this course had a full set of signs and some sort of tee pad (even boxed in with wood and have wood chips) this course would be so much better. It was probably a pretty good course at one time, but its been neglected for a while. I'm surprised because the rest of the park is really nice, new and kept up.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
Whicho
Experience: 12.8 years 84 played 7 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Good 9 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 14, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Course isn't very crowded even on good weather days
-good beginner course with very open drives.
-Most hole positions are nice surrounded by some trees.
-Quick play, ~30 minutes per round
-Good mix of uphill and downhill shots.

Cons:

-No skill shots required.
-Par usually higher then it probably should be.

Other Thoughts:

If you're short on time and want a quick fun course to play then this is it. It's not a challenging course, but will give you plenty of practice gripping and ripping it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
Andy in Lisle
Experience: 4 played 4 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 17, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-The course isn't very busy (but the park is)
-Some trees and elevations changes and variety of distances to keep things interesting

Cons:

-Hole 8 throws on the concrete path but all other tee are dirt and uneven (I usually throw off the grass next to the tee
-A walking path runs through the course that is regularly used

Other Thoughts:

-A good variety here, just watch out for other park users as they are usually oblivious that there is a disc golf course.
-The length isn't much of a challenge so if that what you're looking for steer clear of this one. Holes 1, 3, 6, 7, 8, 9 are all reachable by even lass than average players. Could help with your ace count.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
geognerd
Experience: 13.4 years 11 played 11 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Good course for a beginner 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Oct 30, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Little in the way of water or rough to cause you to lose discs. Enough trees and terrain to keep things interesting. A variety of slightly wooded, open, uphill, and downhill basket placements to challenge a beginner and demonstrate the different settings where a basket may be placed. Signage posted at each hole. Had the course to myself. Plenty of parking.

Cons:

Most of the tee areas are just lumpy uneven bare ground. Probably muddy or slippery if they're wet. A lot of geese and their droppings are in the vicinity of Holes 5-6. A really errant shot or putt at Hole 8 may go into the neighbor's yard.

Other Thoughts:

This the first time I had played disc golf in about 15 years. This course is close to home and matches my abilities, so I see Sunny Hill being my course of choice for a while. Challenging enough that it will help me improve my game, but not so difficult that I get turned off. Signage for Hole 3 was missing. The photo by Nosh for Hole #8 shows the tee being in the grass to the right of the path. The tee is now on the walking path.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
notapro
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.6 years 568 played 281 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Beginner/Intermediate 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 9, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

- Course is set in a multi-use park, but the disc golf is well separated from everything else.
- Best feature of the course is the large, sloping hill that contains most of the holes. A good downhill shot at 367' and an ok uphill basket at 328', as well as some more gently sloping shots. Even the flatter holes have a slight up or down angle which makes some lines just a touch tougher or easier.
- Good use of what little trees there are, especially by the baskets. Some small rows of trees and other small clusters add some difficulty to otherwise open holes.
- There are some marshy/swampy areas in a few of the fairways, depending on the recent weather. Not a real challenge; the field is wide open, and most players can throw right over it with no issue.
- A few holes require some line shaping due to medium sized trees or protected baskets. But, a typical RHBH hyzer can be serviceable.
- Great signs, good baskets, tees were dirt and getting pretty rutted.

Cons:

- A couple of holes on the longer side, but overall the course is short. The downhill slopes make the holes more fun as opposed to difficult, and makes the course play smaller.
- Very few obstacles in the fairways, almost any line can be used to get to the basket. There are some trees and rough by some of the baskets, sure, getting there is a no-brainer.

Other Thoughts:

- Fun course with some decent elevation here and there. A few challenges are present with wet areas and protected baskets, but overall it is wide open. Rewards both accurate shorter drives, and some longer uphill and downhill drives.
- Great for beginners and even some intermediate players, too easy for a seasoned player with decent length.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
#19325
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.7 years 351 played 175 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Chi Town 9 Bagger 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 4, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

The course is located in a very nice small multiuse park. There is a building with restroom facilities.

When you arrive at the park you will see #9's basket tucked in the trees to your left. The 1st tee is located to the southeast of the basketball court. #1's basket is located near the building.

This course is mostly open with a variety of distances. It's a pretty short course. Many holes have some type of obstacle protecting the pin. This is a very beginner friendly course with no rough to lose discs.

The course does have some minor elevation changes. #5 is a nice long downhill toss.

Tee signs are adequate. Not bad for homemade. Has #, distance, and brief hole description.

Good Mach 3 baskets with number plate on them.

Course is easy to navigate.

Cons:

Dirt tees. They will definitely be muddy after rain. Some are rutted and uneven.

After heavy rains/wet times of year there are many places that hold water.

This course is not a challenge to more adv/pro level players.

Other Thoughts:

Shady Oaks Park in Streamwood is just down the road. It's much more difficult and offers more challenge it that is what you are looking for.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
Countchunkula
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 17.7 years 208 played 65 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Good Beginner Course

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 10, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This is a decent little nine hole course in a suburban park. The course is mostly open but has enough elevation change to make the holes interesting. This would make a great beginner course as it has very little rough to lose a disc in and the holes are long enough to require some distance with out being frustrating for those who can't throw far. There are 3 fun downhill ace runs and an uphill shot with the basket placed near the top of a fairly steep slope. The baskets are older mach 3's and although they don't look that nice, they still catch just fine. There are long tees, but you would need to play with a local since they are grass and are not marked in any way. Tee signs are pretty good for such a simple straightforward course.

Cons:

The course is pretty easy, and only a couple of the holes require you to shape lines. The rest of the holes are pretty much wide open. The tees are dirt and a couple of them are very uneven. The worst tees are on shorter holes so this shouldn't be too much of a problem. The only navigational problems are between hole 1 and 2 (walk to your right around the building and you will find 2) and between 5 and 6 (walk toward your left and towards the road).

Other Thoughts:

While not a bad course, its really nothing special. Don't go out of your way to play this one, but it's a nice quick round if you happen to be out in the area. Nearby Shady Oaks is a challenging, varied 18 hole course that is well worth a stop.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
chiefcastor
Experience: 14.8 years 13 played 8 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Fun and Short 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 18, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Course makes very good use of the space available in this small park which is impressive as there is also a basketball court, a skate park, and a water park there. It is beginner friendly, but with enough variety and fun to keep an experienced player interested.

It also makes good use of existing elevation. Hole 5 is a long shot off the top of a hill over some brush.

The course has a few baskets that are very well placed guarded by trees or water. Hole 2 shoots over a small pond to a basket in a small grove of trees.

The signs make navigation easy. They clearly show land marks and the location of the basket as well as list distance.

Cons:

The park can be crowded due to other park activities and picnicers.

Some of the dirt tees are rutted and could use some work.

A few holes shoot across walking paths. Hole 1 shoots across a path and by a gazeebo.

Other Thoughts:

It can be wet if there has been a decent rain recently.

It is a nice little course. Nothing amazing, but I love to stop there on my way home from work for a quick nine.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
mashnut
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22 years 831 played 767 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Fun quick round 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Mar 19, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

The course is in a small neighborhood park with scattered trees and some good elevation. The elevation was used very well to create some fun little holes that make the course pretty interesting. The trees are also used well to protect many of the pins, and make some of the shorter holes a little more difficult.

There are tee signs on the holes that clearly show the hole layout, and make the course easy to follow. The course has a decent flow, and you can see all the tee markers from the previous basket so there is never a question of where to go next.

Cons:

The course is a short little 9 holer, so there isn't a whole lot of difficulty here. The tees were dirt, and were in pretty bad shape with ruts and roots on many of the pads. There were also a number of muddy and wet areas in the lower parts of the course.

A few of the holes played pretty close to one another, so if there were other players here there could be an issue with throwing on top of other people. The course also plays pretty close to other park facilities, so there was some interference from other park users. Hole 1 seems to be a popular picnic spot, especially with the gazebo located there, so on a nice summer day it can be completely unplayable. My last round there, someone had their hammock strung between a tree and the first basket...

Other Thoughts:

This course is a nice little course that is beginner friendly, but also has some fun holes for more experienced players. It's not terribly challenging, but it's a quick and enjoyable place to get a quick round in, or bring new players out. Don't drive out of your way to get here, but it's an ok stop in if you're in the area, and a good warm up for nearby Shady Oaks.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Daffron24
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 18.4 years 156 played 25 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Home Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 15, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Located in a small park, this course offers the most it possibly could. Water elevation, wind are all factors. Now before you jump to the conclusion that this course is a high caliber course know that this is my home course so I think I like it a lot more than everyone else. This is a very open course where trees barely play a factor. Wind and elevation play a factor on holes 4-7 which help make the course a little more challenging. Easy to navigate with good signage.

Cons:

RAIN RAIN RAIN. If it rains half of the course will be flooded which can be really annoying. Can get crowded with all the external activities going in the park. Watch out of people walking their dog through the course. No concrete tees. (Just my preference)

Other Thoughts:

Overall this is a very fun course that basically comes down to being a pitch and putt. Beginner friendly, so bring out your friends who have never played because it will give them the confidence to play more. Don't drive out of your way to play, but if you are in the area this course is a lot more enjoyable than Streamwoods Shady Oaks course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
Nosh
Experience: 15.8 years 13 played 5 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Fun Little 9 Hole 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 11, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Tees are well marked and have basket locations marked on the signs. Elevation changes are what make this course fun.

Cons:

A few tee boxes are rutted with sapling stumps and roots - watch your footing. With a fair amount of rain, a couple holes are unplayable or at least will get your shoes mucky.

Other Thoughts:

Tee #2 tucked around the corner of a building (check course map in file section). Several walking paths in play so be aware of pedestrians in the area. Tee #8 is close to nice homes. Bad shots can land in backyards. Course should be played as all par 3 as course par is too easy. Fun little course if you happen to be in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
lko102
Experience: 17.7 years 20 played 14 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Good for what it is 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 10, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Each hole is clearly marked with a sign showing pin location. Course is well laid out, with each hole relatively easy to locate. Elevation changes make what would otherwise be a boring pitch and putt into something with some interest.

Cons:

Located in a park with skateboarding, basketball, and play equipment, it can be a little busy on a nice afternoon. Dirt tee boxes can get rutted. If it has been raining, the bottom of the course will be under water making hole 5 unplayable.

Other Thoughts:

Fun little course for what it is. Elevation changes and interesting course layout will make for some challenge. Worth 30 minutes if you're in the area, but don't plan a trip around coming to the course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 10
Dave242
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 29.8 years 393 played 271 reviews
2.00 star(s)

C = As average as the come for 9 holers 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 18, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- C-
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- C+
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- C
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- C-
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA

Other Thoughts:

I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor...more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage...if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top