• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Fort Worth, TX

TCC Northwest Campus

2.955(based on 11 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

TCC Northwest Campus reviews

Filter
2 2
russellmh
Experience: 11.3 years 8 played 1 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Great course for Learning a new trick 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 6, 2018 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The Layout of this course if very open and the main obstacle is the wind that is constant off the lake. This Course will let you learn new techniques that would be hard to master on a more closed down fairway, also is a nice relaxing course that allows for some fishing after you play a round

Cons:

Every fair way is wide open with almost no obstacles.

Other Thoughts:

Great place to teach a beginner or so re-acclimate yourself after some time away.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
aclay
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 39.7 years 326 played 244 reviews
2.50 star(s)

TCC Northwest 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 9, 2018 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-- Course makes good use of the land. The rolling hills have you throwing up and down (and sometimes putting on the side) hills. The few trees are well used.
-- Detailed course map near hole 1.
-- Cement tee pads on all the holes.
-- Tee signs with map and distance on all the holes.
-- Variation of hole length. 5 holes 250 or less and 3 are 390 or longer, if the map and signs are correct.

Cons:

-- Holes are too close together. I threw to basket 7 from hole 1. 9 and 10 are also very close together. If the course were busy (unlikely), you will have to watch out for throws from other players.
-- Two campus police cars were parked in the shade of the trees near the No. 2 basket.
-- The baskets are high, almost universally 4-6 inches too high.
-- There are two long walks (12-13 and 17-18) because holes 13-17 are far away from the rest of the course. There are signs to direct you.
-- A busy walking/biking/running path works its way through the land and is particularly in play on holes 13-17. There are also exercise stations located nearby.

Other Thoughts:

-- Navigation is a mixed bag. The holes are so close together that you can almost always find the next hole with little difficulty. However, the holes are so close together that several times you have to spend some time making sure you are shooting at the correct basket.
-- Parking is at the north end of the parking lot, near the building. Hole 1 plays south (toward the interstate).
-- If parking in an issue, you can park in the overflow lot to the south (closer to the boat ramp) and start with hole 4.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
Can't get right
Experience: 9 years 25 played 16 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Gone with the Wind 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 25, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

*Concrete tees are always nice
*Signs were good
*Plenty of Parking! LOL
*Clean & well kept course.
*Uneven terrain was nice, however could add to difficulty if the water was used more.

Cons:

*Wind!
*Very easy course. pretty much a toss & putt course.
*Wind!
*Heavy pedestrian and bike traffic
*And of course wind. Nothing really blocking a strong south breeze. Straight line view all the way to downtown Ft Worth.

Other Thoughts:

I like this course as a good training course. It's simple and straight forward. No need for fancy tee shots or awkward putts. This course is simply a tee up and putt course. I did like the flow of the course in general, though I think some repositioning of baskets to use the lake as a backdrop would add a bit of needed difficulty.

My one run on this course was fighting the absurdly strong south winds on the day I chose to run the course. I would wager they were sustained between 25 and 35 MPH. That and my little less than average skills had me way down after 5. (+13 or so).

I'm not sure if wind is a common problem for this course so I'll probably come back again soon on a calmer day.

Thank you TCC for putting out a nice course. Keep working on it though! It could be better.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
TheHipstick
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 21 years 171 played 69 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Made good use of what they have. 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 20, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Nice concrete tee pads.
-Each hole has map with a nickname for each hole.
-Quality baskets
-Clean course set on community college campus next to a lake.
-Makes for nice scenery
-Nice and open for big grip and rips

Cons:

-Could stand to have more trees. Can be hot out during summer time.
-Some walking paths can be in the way.
-Couple long walks from basket of 12 to tee pad for 13
-Kinda annoying that you have to backtrack a little for hole 15.

Other Thoughts:

Overall they did a good job with what they had. Would be a good home course if you live near by. Surprised that it was more of a workout going up and down the hills in play, but made for fun course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 5
RayRay
Experience: 20 years 156 played 35 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Elevation, short, repetitive 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 26, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Scenic, Clean, Begginer-friendly

Cons:

I found the course to be very basic. Very few holes had an obstacle. There was a lot of uphill shots and slightly down hill shots but it got very repetitive and boring real quick. There wasn't much length either.

Other Thoughts:

I'm not sure what world you live in if you rate this course higher than a 2. Could be worth playing with beginners or if you want to work on landing downhill hyzers, but overall, this course missed out on using obstacles or OB. Easily the lamest course in the FW area (Greenbrier is similar but much more dynamic in comparison).
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Pizza God
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 36.2 years 1745 played 589 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Nice school course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 23, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

course map near hole one.
Cement tee pads on all the holes
Small tee signs with map and distance on all the holes.
Course makes good use of the few trees out there
Rolling hills you play up and down

Cons:

#1 problem with this course is that the tee signs are located right next to the tee box, right where I start my 5 step throw.
One of the tees was located on the end of the box so that if you follow through, your are going to smack your hand on the sign. Oh, good thing that hole was short, the bush behind the tee leaves you no run up.
Several holes are wide open, not even a single tree.

Other Thoughts:

It is good to see disc golf on a school campus, I have played dozens and this is the 2nd best one I have played.
For the most part, the less tree's on the hole, the longer the hole was. Several holes are up and down the hill the campus is built on. The walking path is played OB on most of the holes. The Yeti Island hole is really the only hole next to the lake. (hole 15)
When you finish #16, you realize you are the furthest point away from where you parked as you can be. However, after a short walk, the long hole #17, then a short walk around the building to #18 leaves you with a short walk to your vehicle.

It was very very windy today, the wind comes off the lake pretty hard. It made putting fun.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
strain
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16 years 42 played 40 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 6, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Let me start out by saying, what a beautiful college campus course! This course is very scenic! There is a perfect view of Marine Creek lake throughout the whole course.The course mostly plays open, with some trees scattered on a few holes. Wind seemed to be a big factor when I played here. There is a nice variety of up uphill and downhill elevation shots.There is also a good mix of short and long shots throughout the course, which makes it fun and, some good chances to score well here. This is a beginner friendly course, with most holes not to difficult to play. There are nice concrete tee pads and signs on every hole, that show all hole information. The lake does come into play on hole #15, which is very easy to lose a disc, if thrown too much to the left. The park is very clean and has trash cans throughout the course.

Cons:

The navigation of the course is easy, you might catch yourself looking for the tee pads from hole #13 through #17. I noticed there are no restrooms on this course, which is the only downfall that I seen.

Other Thoughts:

Overall, I had a lot of fun playing this course. We defiantly needed a good, solid college course around here in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
Tmcalist
Experience: 20.5 years 177 played 5 reviews
4.00 star(s)

My opinion 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 26, 2015 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Hard to lose a disc at this course.
Open holes.
Difficulty is pretty easy. Wide open and not too many trees.
Can't beat the view. Awesome location, right by the lake.
The course just got brand new signs that show the par and distances. Some distances seem to be off, but oh well. The OB's arae cleary defined. They should have played hole 11 as an island hole, but it is not defined that way on the sign. Hole 12 finally got a basket. Before, it just had the concrete footing for one. Overall, if you want to play a great course, that is rarely crowded and don't want to lose a disc, play this one. I rated this high because of the view and ease of the course. Just fun overall and boost the confidence when you shoot under par. I normally don't shoot under. I highly recommend this course. It's like a hidden gem.

Cons:

When we last played, the grass was super long and not well kept.
The course is pretty easy, so in terms of difficulty, this is not a challenge. I usually shoot around 4-10 over at courses like North Park, Turner, Porter Greenbelt etc.

Other Thoughts:

Great course. It it hilly. Failry any flat holes. So don't come tired.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
FunkytownDG
Experience: 11.3 years 10 played 2 reviews
2.50 star(s)

First Impressions 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 18, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

Open course next to Marine Creek really tests your disc selection. Almost no foot traffic on a Sunday when another local courses were packed.

Cons:

From my first visit I would say trying to figure out the course layout would be the most difficult with no signs or maps. Also missing basket 12 would make others feel the course is broken and unable to figure out the layout. Naturally a open feild on a lake brings out the mightiest of winds so definitely not a beginner friendly course with holes between 220-380 ft
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
turnerco
Experience: 15.8 years 4 played 4 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Like Haslet 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 6, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This course is good for beginners and is like Haslet with open, short holes with few obstacles. The course simply winds along the west side of the campus by the lake (Marine Creek Lake) but yet has no real water hazards.

Cons:

The wind is a big factor and many experienced, good players will find it boring or frustrating.

Other Thoughts:

The TCC Police are around so if you into illegal combustible inhalants head to Gateway and the trees.

If you like Haslet you should like this course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
dreadlock86
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 17.1 years 388 played 318 reviews
2.50 star(s)

not a bad campus course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 6, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

-rolling hills are used to create uphill, downhill, and across hill shots
-nice concrete teepads
-brand new discatchers
-layout is slightly odd but i made it without a map

Cons:

-for a course right next to a large body of water it really doesn't utilize it much, only in play on 1 hole maybe another.
-the wind is just always going to be a factor here. i normally don't consider this a con but for a course that is primarily going to be played by casual student players it will be a major drawback.
-almost no trees with which to work, few obstacles other than elevation and wind.

temporary cons:
-basket 9 not installed yet
-signage not in yet
-baskets not numbered
-several baskets visible from many pads, confusing for the time being without signs

Other Thoughts:

This is pretty decent for a college campus course. Most seem to have convoluted layouts, safety hazards, and/or too easy or unrealistic golf shots. This course has none of those things, except maybe some easy filler holes.

The elevation really does a lot to keep things interesting. Several holes have moderate elevation changes and most holes at least have rolling hills. There are few obstacles so most of the pin locations are more about nearby elevation changes than being tucked away somehow.

The wind is a huge factor coming off the water right next to the course. The first several and last few holes are most susceptible to the wind. Most of the middle isn't too bad but it is still a factor.

Hole 12 is probably the signature hole, with the water just off to the left, a small creek to cross, and a big tree in the perfect spot to block the safe flick shot. I liked the uphill drives on 5 and 9 and the downhill toss on 8 (great ace run!). Hole 17 has a really cool green area and I actually thought that was hole 18 and that 18 was hole 1. I think it would actually be a better finish that way.

A decent course for the target audience but they'll be waiting for calm weather! Worth a visit for locals but nothing for which to drive out of the way. Could be a real nice course if they plant some strategic trees and plan some obstacles for the future.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top