Antioch, IL

Tim Osmond Sports Complex

Permanent course
1.715(based on 19 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Tim Osmond Sports Complex reviews

Filter
1 1
DiscGolfer80
Experience: 4.7 years 57 played 56 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Good, bad, & ugly 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 5, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

The only pro that I can say is that it isn't too technical. Fairly open from holes 1 thru 11, and minimal obstacles from 12 thru 18.

Cons:

No signage nor tee pads which is a big pet peeve of mine.

Holes 13 thru 16 has construction (clearing of brush/trees).

Holes 1 & 2 play next to athletic fields, thankfully no one was playing on the fields as I played.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 4
Ryphoria
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Newly cleaned up 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 15, 2017 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Newly cut as of August 13th 2017. Holes 1 through 13 or now much more playable compared to previous years.

Cons:

Holes 13 through 17 are still in playable in my opinion. No tee marker for these 4 and almost impossible to get in 3

Other Thoughts:

I live close to this course, so I know first hand that it was underkept and sub par. With the newly trimmed rough and overall clean up of the course, it is an average course that is fun to play on.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
KptMkKamble
Experience: 25.8 years 11 played 6 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Tick session 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 23, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

First sign is a map. Take a picture
I did enjoy the course
Tee signs include hole map, semi accurate yet a few missing. However this course follows an intuitive layout. 18 Holes start with some open right handed fairways. And finishes with very technical narrow shrub maze.

Cons:

A few missing signs make it look sloppy.
13-17 are tricky in narrow wooded overgrown areas. None of the local regulars tend to play this section as it is narrow winding and blind thick shrubbery. The shrub maze will frustrate players of all skill levels.

Other Thoughts:

Tick repellent and regular Tick checks required. April through late fall.

A decent to good course would become great if the Shrub Maze 14-17 was double wide the current fairways; signage replaced in a few places would keep it classy.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
Stardoggy
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 12.6 years 1002 played 214 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Odd, kinda fun. 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 27, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

18 hole course located around the edges of Tim Osmond Sports Complex in Antioch, IL. The park also has some baseball diamonds, full restrooms and other activities.

Discatcher baskets, all in relatively good shape, and caught well. One position per hole, no real issues here. There are some nice tucked in basket placements, as well as some rollaway opportunities.

Nice tee signs with distance and topography, even if it didn't always seem to completely match up. Hole 13, I'm looking at you, buddy. Navigation is pretty easy, for the most part and the course flow is relatively solid.

Decent use of some of the woods and hills here. Hole 10 has nice water hazard (when the retaining pond is full, at least) that adds some nice pucker factor. Personally, I liked the back 9, even 13-17. They're absolutely brutal, but at least they're challenging. The fairways are crazy tight, and turns what (distance-wise) would be par 3's into holes that you need to hit super precise short landing zones. While this isn't for everyone, on this day, I found it to be at least interesting if nothing else. Beware the hidden pond past and to the right of 18's basket!

Cons:

Natural tee pads. Rutted, not in good shape, and horrible when wet. One tee per hole. Concrete tees would go a LONG way here.

The first 6 holes here are boring. Similar distance, RHBH hyzer shots playing along the edge of the woods. The next few holes after that aren't much better.

While I didn't mind them, the back 9's super tight fairways aren't for everybody.

Other Thoughts:

While this certainly isn't a destination course, it IS a relatively fun and odd course. Definitely a tale of two 9's, as the front is boring as boring can be, and the back is tough. A better mix of the holes would have been great, but the property doesn't really lend itself to better design.

Not worth going out of your way for, but a decent spin if you're nearby.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
Badger45
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.8 years 131 played 22 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Worth overlooking 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 19, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Most holes had decent teesigns for direction.
- Easy navigation for the first 12 holes.
- Holes 1-9 were fine. I'd have given that half of the course 2-2.5 rating.
- The park itself is a nice multiuse park with bathrooms and a permanent bags setup that we played.

Cons:

- Sign distances were not very accurate for most holes.
- Natural teepads are no longer level and mostly not usable. We teed from the side.
- After hole 12, we might as well have quit. Even 10 was completely flooded and barely playable.
- 13 plays around some trees and then back, so you basically have to play it like a u-turn. This was the first indication that something odd was going on.
- 14 - 17 have very little if any fairway and the paths for 14-15 are not playable, other than going over and hoping you find your disc or throwing 30-50' putter shots as far as you can see.
- 17 and 18 had no teesign and we couldn't find the tee areas for them.

Other Thoughts:

What started out as an ok experience just ended up leaving us frustrated that we even bothered to stop and play there, rather than driving a little further for something that was designed well. My advice would be to skip the course entirely. If you have to "bag" it to add it to your played list, take the chew toy disc and run through it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
MalsTheBeast66137
Experience: 21.7 years 136 played 3 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Move along, nothing to see here 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 19, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

Tee signs had direction on where the next hole was.

Cons:

When overgrown, the natural grass tees and elsewhere was thick and not easy to play in.

Most shots were tucked right at the edge of the forest and like others have said, very thick stuff.

After hole 12, the course is just unplayable.. It was so thick you would literally be just pitching down the fairway with a putter and not for a 3 either..

The actual fairways for these holes are almost not even fairways but more like a walking path.

Other Thoughts:

Just trying to add an extra course to my belt.. Really wish we would have played two 9 hole courses or any other course in the area again instead of this one..
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
wolfhaley
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 19.8 years 969 played 542 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Better than most say it is 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 10, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course is set in a pretty nice multiuse park. The baskets are discatchers that catch pretty good, not great. The flow of the course is pretty easy to follow. You have to cross the road after 12 then back across for 18, not a big deal though. There's a little bit of elevation that's used nicely in a few spots. The signs have a basic hole diagram with par, distance and a next hole arrow. The course does a great job of staying away from other activities. The wind is a big factor on the open section of the course. They also do a good job tucking some of the pins into the trees on the otherwise boring, wide open holes. It wouldn't seem to be too busy most of the time. We were the only group there on a warm sunday afternoon. The course is permanent and also free to play. There's a restroom at the parking lot too. The course was pretty clean and taken care of. They have a nice large map of the course before hole 1 which is great if you're playing for the first time.

Cons:

The tees are just natural, and most are pretty rutted and uneven. I'd imagine they'd get muddy in wetter months. Holes 14 through 17 are kind of ridiculous with there being no decent lines to the pin. The rough is also brutal on these holes. If you end up off the fairway you'll be searching for a while. Even the rough on first section is kind of insane. The prairie can gobble up discs too. A few of the tee signs are missing, though it's pretty easy to figure out where you're throwing to.

Other Thoughts:

This course really gets a bad rap. It's not great by any means but I've played way, way worse. Still, I wouldn't recommend going out of your way to play this but if you're in the area it's a decent round. If you have time though go play the grey fox in Silver Lake WI, it's way better.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
Unzbuzzled
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
0.50 star(s)

Just not fun at all 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 15, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Nice if you want to work on only throwing RHBH hyzers.

Cons:

Either you are throwing at boring baskets put out in the middle of a prairie, or you are throwing at baskets shoved into thickets of trees against dense woods.

If you disc even goes remotely off the fairway, you will look for 15 minutes for your disc. It is so stupidly designed that I will never, ever be coming back. What a joke. It's like the course designer just completely phoned it in.

Other Thoughts:

Don't waste your time. Fairfield and Grey Fox are each about 20 minutes from this course, and they are amazing courses by most standards, and they are downright impeccable compared to the Tim Osmond Sports Complex
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 4
Tom Schodtler
Experience: 25.8 years 139 played 1 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Tim Osmond Sports Complex DGC 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 7, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The land that is available to the disc golf course is good. It has woods, rolling terrain, good elevation changes, and some water.

Cons:

The course design is very poor. It's too bad because the land has so much potential for a good disc golf course.

Other Thoughts:

A course redesign and some tee pads could take this course from zero to hero!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
kevinmeves
Experience: 42.8 years 8 played 3 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Poor Design 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 25, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Nice front 9, good length, bathrooms nearby, no wait

Cons:

Back nine is very poorly designed, expect to be torn to pieces by thorn bushes should your disc veer off of the fairway, couple of holes on back nine have multiple (10 yard wide) dog leg fairways.

Other Thoughts:

Could be a nice course with some brush cleaning, doesn't get much traffic in current state
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 4
tmcoyote
Experience: 15.7 years 99 played 3 reviews
3.00 star(s)

TOSCDGC Pretty Good 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 13, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

beautiful park, virtually private, nice new targets, some great golf shots, wind can be challenging yet fun

Cons:

gets thick in the back during summer months, mosquitoes can get vicious

Other Thoughts:

I like this course for a change of pace
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 5
Jim O'Neill
Experience: 14.6 years 3 played 3 reviews
1.50 star(s)

.Very disappointing course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Dec 31, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

ATTENTION THIS COURSE IS BEING REDESINGED SOON, 8/18 Very disappointing course,18 baskets, always better than only 9. Quiet, not a lot of players. Has playground for kids. 15 minutes from my home.

Cons:

Grass tees, Makes for mud and slippery conditions when wet. Few players, gets lonely, but good for praticing. Keep out of the woods easy to loose disc's.

Other Thoughts:

Close to home so it's good for me. If from out of town check out Silver Lake Wi course it's better and only 20 minutes north, and Fairfield course about the same rating for me 20minutes south, all three in one day? sounds great.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
notapro
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.6 years 568 played 281 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Intermediate 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 28, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Course is set in a large multi-use park, with a park, a football field, and such. The disc golf is well separated from everything else, probably even with other events going on.
- Majority of the course is spread out well around a large field, often bordering a dense forest area and unmowed prairie area. These holes have some tucked baskets and some obvious hyzer and anhyzer shots, to get around the forest.
- A few holes have good elevation changes, especially by a sled hill area. A steep downhill shot with a water hazard requires good accuracy, and is set up by a decent uphill shot.
- A couple holes are set within the forest, and force some long RHBH anny lines with lots of trees and other roughage. All of the easy RHBH hyzers disappear in this part of the course; deinitely some tough lines and windows to hit.
- Good variety of hole lengths, with many over 300' and very few much shorter than that. The rolling terrain is noticeable in many spots to mix up the more open shots.
- Good baskets, tees ok, signs are good but possibly inaccurate, seems like there was some tweaked pin placements (just guessing). Navigation easy with the map in front.

Cons:

- A lot of holes out in the open need a simple RHBH hyzer shot, of varying degrees. Not much thought needed in many spots, getting good distance becomes the only concern.
- Some holes in the forest seem to share a fairway, due to the available lines to the baskets.

Other Thoughts:

- This is a pretty well-rounded course, with a lot of different shots throughout. Plenty of holes with tucked baskets, elevation changes, hyzer and anhyzer shots, wide open and in some gnarly forest, with a little water in a few spots. I think the make or break is hole length; some might find this too short to be worth it, or some too rough/tough in spots.
- Basket #14 is indeed missing, along with #16's sign. Hole lengths seem out of date, #18 is definitely not 230'.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
Two_Bearded_Dudes
Experience: 30.8 years 5 played 5 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Ick 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 4, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

Large, fairly easy to navigate... and not too far from Gurnee Mills, the Ren Faire, Great America and other places that might be a better use of your time.

Cons:

Where to begin really? Recently they've undergone a great deal of construction. I believe they're putting a few more baseball diamonds. Much of the front 9 is sectioned off by a double-nylon fence which even goes right through the center of one of the pads. The place is a mess and smells like the landfill it was built on.

Oh hey... if you're rummaging around for a lost disc around #3 and happen to find a horse ranch. The top two tiers of the fence are ELECTRIFIED... DON'T f'in TOUCH IT

Other Thoughts:

Can't say I'm a fan. I'd look for somewhere else as this is a bit of a yawner.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
#19325
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.7 years 351 played 175 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Boring! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 1, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The course plays clockwise around the edge of the park. This is a nice sized park with a football and baseball field in the middle. There is a nice playground near #1's tee pad. There is a course map located near the tee of #1. Knee deep tall grass lines much of the course fairways.

This course has nice tee signs. It's pretty easy to navigate.

Nice new Innova Discatcher Baskets.

There are quite a few holes over 300 feet and you get a chance to throw a driver quite a bit.

Holes #14 thru #18 offer a pretty good challenge and are decent holes.

Cons:

The tee pads are not good and the distances on the signs are not accurate.

The first 13 holes are wide open hyzer shots with woods and rough to the left of the baskets.

There are only a few good holes on this course and it's just plain boring. I play disc golf every day. I live 8 miles from this course and played here 2 times last year.

Other Thoughts:

Experienced players offered advice in course design. The developer/designer did not take suggestions and this is the course you have. This land had a potential to be a 3 to 3.5 rated course.

Just like other Lake County courses bugs can be bad in warmer weather. Bring bug spray.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
harr0140
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 15.2 years 1508 played 475 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Nice course with more potential to improve. 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 2, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

1) Nice signage on each hole but distances listed on main entry sign are different than on the individual holes.

2) Very nice baskets in great shape.

3) Other facilities in the park also make for a nice day trip if you would like.

4) Gravel around the baskets is helpful, but washed out in many places. Some trenching and drain tile would be helpful to prevent the gravel from washing away.

5) Elevation is a big part of this course. Wind will always be a factor in some of these holes because the landfill holes are wide open.

6) Water in brought into play on 1 hole (Fortunately I was able to skip my destroyer throguh the water onto the other side. In the spring it looks like it might be a lot wetter in that area though, the pond might be twice as big early in the year.

7) Course uses a property without a lot of woods pretty well. Even though repetetive baskets being tucked to the woods on the left, they use the woods pretty well creating some interesting shots.

Cons:

1) Dirt tees leave a lot to be desired. Some are clay, some are gravel not consistent and not level.

2) Course could use a few more garbage cans, but at least people throw the garbage by the posts.

3) Main sign has distances that are apparently not the same as the individual signs.

4) Wooded holes have no clear defined lines which is unfortunate because they would be great holes if they were a little more defined.

5) Too many of the holes are simply hyzer holes because the baskets are all tucked against or within 10 feet of the edge of the woods. Becomes a little repetetive, although the angles and distances are different.

6) Not really beginner friendly on about half of the holes. he other holes are fairly open and would be easy enough for beginners, but shorts tees should be installed to make it more accomodating.

7) Some of their doglegs are sort of ridiculous. #2 has a 90 degree turn. #12 has a 60 degree turn around the corner with a basket tucked straight left into the woods. #13 has a 180 degree dogleg that if you dont know the course you will shoot at the wrong basket. Throw it 250-275 to get past the trees on the right and have a 50' putt back to the basket!

Other Thoughts:

BE AWARE OF THE LARGE BEES NEST JUST INTO THE LEFT SHULE ON #1 IN THE HONEYSUCKLE!!!

Most holes are right to left as they wind around the woods edge which gets repetetive, but the trees and scrub brush creat some forced lines. The wind is also a factor on some of this course which is an added bonus to making th eholes more challenging. Elevation is used very well with the landfill and even on the denser wooded holes. I would certainly come back, and I do think this course has potential to be better than it is. Its always nice to see courses that can upgrade.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
markfrolfs
Experience: 6 played 6 reviews
2.50 star(s)

poor maintainenece and bugs 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 2, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

big 18 with different settings. great for doubles. back 9 heavenly wooded, presenting great challenges. nice park where you can bring family as you frolf.

Cons:

to many bugs, could be due to poor maintainence. disc eating rough in many places and lots of trees need to be trimmed. TICKS :( i hate ticks, bring bug spray

Other Thoughts:

the course grows on you
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
mashnut
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22 years 831 played 767 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Watch the rough! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 14, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course wraps around the outside of a medium sized park. There is a little bit of elevation, and lots of tall grass along the fairways. Many of the holes have dense trees and brush along one side of the fairway, and are more open on the other. The elevation that was available was used well, with a hole up the hill, a couple across it, and one back down over a small pond.

There was a good mix of different lengths of holes, from shorter more technical holes to longer open bomb shots. There were only a few holes where inaccurate tee shots were not punished with dense rough, forcing accuracy over distance off the tee. On the couple more wooded holes, there were multiple clearly defined lines to the hole that offered different levels of risk/reward.

At the beginning of the course, there was a nice course map showing the layout of the full course. Each hole had a nice tee sign with distance and direction to the hole, along with a pointer to the next tee. Though the tees were natural, the majority were level and well packed dirt that made a fine throwing surface on a dry day.

Cons:

There were a few too many holes that all felt the same, especially in the beginning of the course. More than half the holes on the course were 240' to 300' RHBH hyzer shots, with woods on the left, and this got a little old.

The tees weren't a huge issue, but many had clumps of grass growing up through them, and these occasionally caused some footing issues. If the course were wet at all, the tees would be very muddy and slick. On some of the holes, there was not a clearly defined teeing area, just a general dirt patch surrounding the tee sign, it would have been nice to have defined tee boxes even with the natural tees.

This is a minor issue for me, but if you have an issue with bugs, especially mosquitoes, this isn't the course for you. On all the holes along the woods, the bugs were very thick, and didn't seem to be at all fazed by our bug spray.

Other Thoughts:

This course offered some different challenges than other area courses, and I enjoyed playing here. It would not be a great course for beginners, as accuracy is very important if you want to stay out of deep rough where it's easy to lose a disc. More advanced players will enjoy the accuracy challenge, but will find the holes a bit repetitive.

This course is worth playing if you're in the area, but don't drive way out of your way just to play this one. If you do play, bring bug spray, and consider long pants with all the tall grasses and plants you'll be wading through to find errant throws.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 9
Dave242
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 29.8 years 393 played 271 reviews
0.50 star(s)

D+ = Doesn't have much happenin' 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 13, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution -- D (Very open course. The 3 wooded holes have no fair fairway.)
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max -- C- (Half are either too long to reach or too short to be a challenge. The others are wide open or in the woods with no route to the basket.)
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- D (Almost the entire course is laid out clockwise around the edge of a big open area with woods/underbrush on the side. So most holes are simple RHBH hyzer shots. Very repetitive and boring.)
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- C- (The only redeeming value is that you are way out of sight of the other park activities on some of the holes.)
5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- N/A

Other Thoughts:

It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me....that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top