North Richland Hills, TX

Tommy and Sue Brown Park

Permanent course
2.485(based on 26 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Tommy and Sue Brown Park reviews

Filter
3 0
aclay
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 39.4 years 301 played 227 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Not as much fun as I remember 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 24, 2018 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

--The course is easy to navigate once you find No. 1 (the tee is behind the park sign at the corner of Shadywood and Vine Wood).
-- There are concrete circle tees with the hole number etched into the pad. The concrete tee pads are not the biggest, but they work for how short some of the holes are. However, I came up short every time on No. 5, and the tee pad (circle) is higher than the surrounding ground, so a run-up is not feasible.
-- The course is a very quick play and not just because it's only 6 holes. There is almost no walk between holes, so you could play 18 holes (3 6-hole rounds) in 45 minutes.
-- Hole 5 is really challenging, particularly as the trees and bushes grow and close the gap you must hit from the tee.

Cons:

-- A backstop for baseball/softball/kickball means that field can interfere with Nos. 3 and 4. If people are using that part of the park/field, you can't safely play two holes (1/3 of the course).
--There is no designated parking lot. You will have to park on the street next to the park.
-- The walking path that surround the park can come into play on Nos. 1, 2 and 6.

Other Thoughts:

-- I remember this as a fun, quick play from nearly a decade ago. As a more experienced (and better) player now (and playing in very windy conditions), I didn't have much fun. I expected to birdie every hole, but I was disappointed about 80 percent of the time.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
c_a_miller
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 11.8 years 299 played 207 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Good Short Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 1, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

-The course is easy to navigate. There are concrete circle tees with the hole number etched into the pad. The concrete tee pads are not the biggest, but they work for how short the course is.

-It is in the middle of a nice neighborhood. It could act as a good introduction to the sport to the folks who live in the neighborhood.

-The course is a very quick play. It is no surprise that it was originally used for the Most Disc Golf Holes Played in 24 Hours way back in 2008.

-Hole 5 and hole 6 both were challenging holes. You would think that a short course like this, there would be little challenge on the holes, but those two you have to work to get you "2"

Cons:

-The playground was a little close to the holes. Not too severe, but something to be cautious of. There seem to be people who visit the park that are unaware of what disc golf is and will not notice you playing through.

-There is no designated parking lot. You will have to park on the street next to the park.

-Only being six holes was kind of a bummer. There is not much more room to expand, but it is hard to justify going out of your way to play only 6 holes.

Other Thoughts:

Being a former world record holder for the most disc golf holes https://www.dgcoursereview.co....php?id=6442,I felt I needed to visit a course that someone before me broke the record at. DGCR user Donovan provided a lot of assistance when I was breaking mine, so it was neat playing at a place that the record was broken at.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 3
NRussell85
Experience: 7.5 years 8 played 2 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Great Beginner Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 1, 2016 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Well kept and easy to find all baskets.
Some trees to add some technicalities.
Great for beginner drives imo

Cons:

Very Short Course

Other Thoughts:

The course goes around a playground. Great beginner course as it is impossible to lose a disc in tall grass or a creek.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
BuckeyeMark
Experience: 2 played 2 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Great course for fun and for beginners 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 3, 2015 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Really nice and very well maintained course. Tee pads have a big number inlaid in them so there's never any doubt where to play, what hole we're on, etc. Baskets are in good shape. Park is mowed regularly and so there's no tall grass to lose a disc in. No water or ponds.

It's an easy and short course.

Cons:

The cons are ... that's it's an easy and short course. Just six baskets. For a pro nearly every hole is an ace attempt.

Other Thoughts:

This course doesn't get a lot of love but it is what it is: a fun, short, and easy course. That makes it an excellent place to introduce someone to disc golf or bring out the kiddos for a morning of disc golf. It's set in a very nice neighborhood and is in a very nice park. The holes are not long. You can play through three times for 18 holes quickly and without a lot of difficulty. Most holes are very open. You don't have to worry about throwing through the trees or losing discs.

That just adds up to a fun day on the course. And what's wrong with that?! if you're looking to get ready to win a world championship this prolly isn't your course. If you just want to throw some discs and have a nice time at a nice course where you won't have to hunt for the next basket or endure a lot of trash and graffiti or trees and water ... this is a fine course to play at.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 3
Slimrn
Experience: 10.1 years 18 played 14 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Beginners Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 20, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-This place is made to take your family when they are in town. Playground for little ones, all hole par 2-3. Very straightforward shots, few trees. I have hit the baskets/chained out a few times.

-Every hole is an ace run waiting to happen.

-Low DG traffic.

-Nice Tees.

-Fast play.

Cons:

-Very short- only play to learn or to throw putters.

-Lots of non-DG use (it is a playground!) My mom got hit in the neck by a Cheetah when I took family over Easter.

-Only 6 holes.

-Very windy.

Other Thoughts:

Not worth the trip unless you are new to the sport.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
Wood Chuk
Experience: 43.8 years 372 played 34 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Do you want to play a little disc golf? 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 31, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

- fun
- clean
- fast play
- friendly

Cons:

- risk free
- fire ants at fifth tee could be a problem

Other Thoughts:

We happened to be staying nearby - nice surprise! The course is well laid out on a tiny piece of ground shared with a playground, sport fields, and a walking path. The design works. Even on a Saturday morning with baseball practice, walkers, and kids on the playground, we never felt crowded.
This is not a difficult course. If you want a great challenge you will be disappointed. If you just want to play a little disc golf and have fun, this is a fine and pleasant place to do so.
Leave the big bag of discs at home, all you need is a putter and maybe an approach disc
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 2
TheHipstick
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 20.8 years 169 played 69 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 9, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Very nice and well maintained park. Nice round teepads and nice DISCatcher baskets. Like the other reviews a perfect place to scratch the itch of playing, plus a great place to practice your mids and putter game. Also includes a nice park to bring the family along.

Cons:

The only big con was the parking. You have to park on the street, there is no parking spaces or parking lot. Also trying to figure out where hole #1 started, it's the first round teepad next to the big Tommy and Sue Brown Park sign.

Other Thoughts:

Like I said earlier perfect place to scratch the itch of playing 9 or 18 if you can't get away.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
jrrttmrgn
Experience: 19.8 years 128 played 13 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Quality Beginner Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 25, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

The Browns disc golf course to me is quite good because it adequately fulfills the purpose that it was designed for. The course is for beginners / kids and for people locally who may not have time to play the larger & longer courses in the area. The course has DISCatcher baskets and adequate concrete tee pads. At first i was miffed by the circular tee pads but then I realized that no one should be doing a run up on a 200' hole. The beauty of this course is that it challenges players of all skill levels to use putters and mids and practice precision approaches. There are hyzer and anhyzer lines and every hole is a chance to demonstrate going for the ace without giving up the bird. Also, the course is a great place to master putting.

Cons:

Parking is awkward because of parking being next to peoples house due to lack of a proper lot.

Very little opportunity to use drivers on designated holes.

Other Thoughts:

Immaculately maintained in nice neighborhood.

The course circles a playground and is ideal for golfers who bring the kids. The family could be within earshot the entire round.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 2
Schlangewurst
Experience: 11.5 years 20 played 5 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Don't know how to throw a disc? 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 10, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

- This is the place to learn.
- Wide open course to learn how to throw a disc or bring kids.
- Well maintained
- Good baskets.

Cons:

- Too few baskets
- Tees are too small
- Hole distances are 100 ft. tops
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
Highball
Experience: 13.7 years 13 played 11 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Getting warmed up 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 14, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course was VERY EASY to follow. (If you get lost I can't help you) The baskets are new and the tee pads a great with brass numbers in the concrete. Very easy walking and a few trees to try to make this a small challenge.

Cons:

6 holes all par 2 is well...... just putting around.
There is a playground in the middle and a walking path all around the course. They are both used so kids and wakers are all over. There is not much more to say on the Con side.

Other Thoughts:

If I were going to take someone to a course and teach them DG THIS IS IT! Simple but yet far enough to make them work. Great for kids!!! Working on putting and mid-range is the name of this course. You can make it fun by making your own course! Like go form the #3 tee and play the #6 basket..... and so on. It is 6 holes so if you play each basket 3 times (TA-DA!) 18! It is good enough to scratch an itch to play but most of you who are reading this are a lot more serious about playing so..... you might look else where to launch big discs.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
tkmcdougal
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16 years 196 played 96 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Tommy and Sue Brown 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 22, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

- concrete teepads
-DISCatcher baskets
- easy to navigate
-you can play this course in about 10 minutes so it is a quick round if you need that
- this course is great if you need to practice short approaches
- great neighborhood that gives the residents easy access for putting practice

Cons:

-only 6 holes but there isnt to much they could do with that little of space
- the only other negative is that there is no parking, you have to park on the street

Other Thoughts:

The course is fun that lets you work on some flick approach shots mainly. The course is well maintained and great for a quick round of golf
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
dreadlock86
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.9 years 360 played 296 reviews
1.50 star(s)

it is what it is 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 18, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-concrete tees, baskets in good shape
-easy to navigate, baskets mostly in sight
-clean park, well maintained, nice neighborhood
-quick round, 6 holes in 10 minutes
-great for practice or safari golf
-great place to bring the family, also a playground

Cons:

-short and open
-way too easy for most players, this one is for the families and the neighbors
-playground in the middle of the course/park could be dangerous on a windy day or if you are playing safari
-walking path in play, watch for pedestrians

Other Thoughts:

This small neighborhood course is a great place to practice if you live nearby. Being only 6 easy holes limits its appeal but it does serve its purpose to the neighborhood and introduces kids and neighbors to the sport.

Try playing from one hole's tee to the next hole's basket. Or do the same playing the course backwards.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 1
Paulie
Experience: 12.8 years 8 played 8 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Good Practice 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 16, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Flat and open. Easy to see baskets. Short shots for practice with enough room to do some mid range throwing. Well maintained. In a nice neighborhood.

Cons:

Only 6 baskets. Kids playground smack in the middle. Would be crowded with more than two sets of players.

Other Thoughts:

This is a small neighborhood family park. Seems like it's main purpose is to be a nice open space with a place for children to play. Being new to the sport, I like having it to practice on. I played twice and was the only one there.

Update 12-17-11
No mud after recent rains.
Great for a driving range. Throw from #2 basket or from the path towards the black metal fence. Wide open with lots of room. You can go for distance, watch disc flight and try out new throws. Get between basket #3 and the path along the wildflower area and throw towards the trees on the course to test your evasive maneuver throws.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 1
TxDiscGolfBoy
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 17.8 years 34 played 31 reviews
1.50 star(s)

T.& S. Brown Rundown!!! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Nov 16, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-Concrete pads
-Numbers imbeded in t-pads show direction to basket
-Disc Catcher baskets
-Some obstacles and shot variety, so it's not completely bland (wind and trees -- bout it. OB sidewalk can be played)
-Very clean
-Low disc-golfer traffic
-Very nice neighborhood
-One side of course is flanked by a nice wildflower area with woods and creek -- scenic in a sense (I saw a coyote run through it!!!)

Cons:

-Short play, being only 6 holes
-Lacks elevation changes, hole distance, and wide range of shot variety
-Plays around walking path and playground, so park traffic could be a slight issue
- Looks as though it gets pretty squicky after a rain.

Other Thoughts:

Decent little course. For what little land they had to work with, 6 holes is about all you can fit without them being way to short. Good use of the land and trees given.

For youngsters or even new players getting in to the sport, this is a great course to learn the fundamentals on. Midrange and putting especially.

Seasoned disc golfers, well, it's pretty much an Ace-Race / Battle-of-the-Birdies out here. Mids and putters are all you'll need.

Easily and quickly played as an 18 hole course ( 6 holes x 3 rounds = 18 holes)
If that doesn't suit your fancy, try playing to the next hole's basket -- shoot from box 1 to 2's pin, 2's box to 3's pin, 3's box to 4's pin.....you get the idea. It works pretty well out here if the playground is empty.

All-in-all it's a decent little course to play. Makes for a nice casual, quick round. Good midrange and putting practice course.

There's really nothing else you could have done with the small plot of land, so why not put up a few baskets!!! Soooo 2 thumbs up from me to whomever brought that idea to light!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 3
joyfulunwisdom
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great for what it is... 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 26, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Quick-play optional if you want to warm-up, practice, or play a relaxing game. Also excellent for bringing beginners along to teach--losing a disc is nearly impossible and mistakes don't cost much in any other aspect, either.

Some holes are a little more challenging if played creatively, with options to create your own dog-legs, or route an entirely different fairway around a line of trees.

Very quiet, peaceful, friendly, well-kept park and neighborhood.

Cons:

Soccer practice/games. I've played here for a couple of years now and only this year did I see these things crop up. If you see one, go ahead and leave (unless you're just putt-practicing) because they take up 3-4 out of 6 holes on this 6 hole course.

Other Thoughts:

The low-ratings seem odd to me because comparing a course like this to a course like Bear Creek et al isn't comparing the same kind of course: Bear Creek is built to be an 18 hole, challenging, long-ish course; Tommy and Sue Brown is not. T&SB was built to be a small, clean, quick, moderately fun, friendly place to play and with that scope in mind it surpasses expectations, which is why I gave it the high rating that I did.

I've played other small 6 hole courses and they were dirty and trashy and confusing and just really weird: this one is perfect for what it set out to be. If you're actually looking for a course like this, then it doesn't get much better.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
chingy414
Experience: 21.9 years 61 played 7 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Leave your drivers at home 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 14, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This is a great course to work on your short game. Every hole here is an ace run hole. Good course to play at night. You can make this course alot more fun by making your own teeboxes or stretching out the existing ones. Not many people play here, so it is a good place to take somebody who is just starting.

Cons:

Not a challanging course at all. No holes you can throw maximum distance drives. The course does border a playground, so pedestrian traffic can be a problem.

Other Thoughts:

Overall, I consider this course to be nothing but a practice course. It's a good place to brush up on your skills to prepare for a tougher course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
Chain_Bang
Experience: 18 years 45 played 5 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Practice course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Nov 30, 2008 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Ah the practice course as we call it. I got my first 2 aces here, not that it is a great achievement. All the holes are under 200 feet and I most often go here to try out new discs or just to let a few fly when I'm short on time.Short, easy, open shots great for beginners. It can make for a fun course to play at night.

Cons:

If you aren't a beginner this place isn't worth your time. Small, round tees don't offer much approach but these aren't long shots anyway.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
turnerco
Experience: 15.5 years 4 played 4 reviews
3.00 star(s)

More Challenging Than Expected 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 28, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

Certainly this is a beginners course. Now one thing that may help buld technique is the fact that there are more dog legs and obstacles than you might first think due to the trees and where the goals are. Also, the course follows the rim of the park in a clockwise (to the right) direction. So if you have a tendency to throw to the left or disks that go to the left you will have to adjust. I know I did (although keep in mind I am a beginner).

Course is short and clean. Nice safe neighborhood.

Good for beginners I owuld say since you do have some holes with some slight technical challenges.

Cons:

Not for advanced players. However due to the short holes it might be harder than you think to adjust to that.

Other Thoughts:

First tee is by the park sign. No parking lot, Just park on the street.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 2
Roc1Time
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.7 years 131 played 115 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Fun 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 4, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

Fun for beginners and if you live near by. You can play super fast. SHORT course so its good for trying the "off" arm or throwing ace runs. Good baskets. Good place to meet locals and spread the word about the sport as there are alot ofthem out there. I would play the alt course if I go back.

Cons:

TOO short of a course and a long drive just for this. The tees seem to be a waist. No tee signs but they arent needed since everything is right there. Can be windy but not to bad.

Other Thoughts:

Lots of people that dont really get that they may be in the way. Could see how that might be a problem with players that might be in a hurry or just dont care.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 2
FWgrant
Experience: 16 years 92 played 5 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Alternate Format Map Posted 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Feb 1, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This course is good for ace runs, approach practice, and a change of scenery. It does require shots to go right, so you need an anhyzer or sidearm shot. This park is clean and rarely busy, I've never seen another group there.

Cons:

Really short holes (see my other thoughts). This is not a park I would come to often because it is not challenging.

The shot put ring tees are non sensical but the grass is flat anyways so you can still run-up if need be.

Other Thoughts:

I have posted an alternate map to mix it up. Essentially, you shoot to the next holes basket to get longer, more interesting shots. If you are on hole 1, shoot to hole 2's basket, if you are on hole 2, shoot to hole 3's basket and so on.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top