Council Bluffs, IA

Treasure Cove DGC

3.915(based on 33 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Treasure Cove DGC reviews

Filter
11 0
knobby325
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 8.7 years 323 played 248 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Gem in western Iowa

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 29, 2022 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Concrete Tee pads for most (a few with turf added (#1, #2 long, #13, #14 short)
-Decent Baskets
-Multiple tees, some with 3 selections
-Good mix of open, more technical, elevation
-Cool hanging basket (#12)
-A few permanent "Gold" baskets
-Good signage, directions to next tee

Cons:

-A few of the "red" tees are just a dirt rectangle
-Road in play on #10, #13, #14, #18
-Couple of unfinished concrete pads (#9 long, #17 short)

Other Thoughts:

Iowa Western Community College is home to Treasure Cove DGC in the eastern part of Council Bluffs, IA. The course plays around the north end of campus, although you have to follow Circle Drive all the way around to the first tee. There is an ask for a $1 donation in the box, well deserved for a well kept course. Most tees are concrete with a handful that have turf added. Turf was in good shape. There were a few misses on tee pads, mostly for the shorts. #3, #4, #6 (mid), #15 were all just rectangles of dirt (although I missed the #15 short pad altogether). A couple of tees were partially finished with new concrete (#9 long, #17 short), but I assume these will be fixed soon. There are some nice elements of campus to come into play, a nice ravine that #2 plays in, #3 long shoots over and #12 has a hanging basket in the middle of (under a nice pedestrian bridge). Elevation plays in #5, #7 #10, #17. Another ravine plays in #7, #8 and #9. Most holes had at least 2 pin positions with several having a permanent "gold" basket, marked with a yellow flag. These gold positions added some tricky elements with a tight finish on #2, A longer tucked in the trees basket for #6 and a long up hill to behind the campus sign on #7. The #12 gold, however, takes away the hanging basket for one up the hill at the edge of the ravine to the left. Overall, the mix is good between open, technical and elevation. A few tight lines on holes #7, #9, #12, #15, #16 and #17 keep you honest. The rest are more open. With up to 3 tees to choose from and up to 4 baskets locations (including the few gold baskets), this is really available to most skill levels. Signage is top notch, with some additional guidance between holes. It did take me a moment to figure out which #3 tee was which, but after that the signage was wonderful. The elevation can be a bit much for the out of shape old guy (*raises hand*), but I really enjoyed my round here. Fix those few tee pads for a possible bump in rating. I would definitely play again, if in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 9
wlbkr
Experience: 2 played 1 reviews
5.00 star(s)

New large cement tee pads with rounded front. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Nov 23, 2021 Played the course:once

Pros:

New cement tee pads, 7 ft wide at back and 5 ft wide at rounded front and 13 ft long. Hole 2 tee pad covered with football turf. And hole 7 circle tee pad you must see. New tee pads compliment a well designed course with 2 signature holes. (Hole 9 throw off levee and Hole 12 - the hanging basket hole.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 7
Dizcer
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Lincoln Discer 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 16, 2021 Played the course:once

Pros:

Great course! Newly poured cement tee pads. Extra long and wide for all skill levels. Long and short pads on all holes with permanent gold length baskets on 6 holes. We'll maintained with groomed fairways. Very clean!

Cons:

Maybe one more bridge needed on hole 12.

Other Thoughts:

Signature hanging basket on hole 12. Love it!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 5
Sushi
Experience: 10.6 years 34 played 1 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Concrete T-Pads 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 16, 2021 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Course just received new concrete t-pads and not just 1 per hole but 2! Some holes have 2 baskets to add more challenge. Great upgrade from the rubber mats and the course is very well maintained. Course is challenging playing amongst the trees, elevation, and playing in the Midwest, some wind at times.

Other Thoughts:

This course ranks amongst the tops in the area and definitely one of the cleanest and safest courses. Hardly ever a backup on the course so if you looking to get a round in on a course that's not congested, this is it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 4
shai
Experience: 24.8 years 15 played 15 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Surprise in Iowa 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 8, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

Excellent signage and design. Even without a map, the signs at each tee clearly indicate correct distances and the direction to the next tee. The course is on the grounds of a large community college, with plenty of shot variety, and no interference with walkers. It is almost impossible to lose a disc. There are almost always two routes on each fairway. The rough is not death but a reasonable penalty.

Cons:

Some of the holes have artificial mandos which I do not like. And a few holes are so long that the drive is a blind shot. Tough for a first timer.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 6
MDfly
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Well designed, lots of challenge 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 22, 2020 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Course from the long tees is awesome! Not many birdie opportunities, plenty of challenges. Most of the fairways are well kept, with some great shapes through wooded holes. Plenty of elevation changes. Usually not busy.

Cons:

Can get windy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 2
PumaPaws
Experience: 17.8 years 28 played 23 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Getting Educated 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 10, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

Very enjoyable course to play.
Nice scenery
Baskets enjoyably placed.
Requires different throws.
Saw some deer watching us while playing.

Cons:

We had issues finding #18 from the #17 basket.
Not crazy about #18 as the right side is heavily wooded and you can easily lose a disc in there.

Other Thoughts:

We had fun playing the course. Would play it again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 1
aphilso1
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 6.4 years 52 played 49 reviews
4.00 star(s)

A gem just east of Omaha 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 1, 2018 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Excellent course with no two holes alike. It has wooded tunnel shots, downhill bomber holes, a couple ace runs, a hanging basket, and holes that require you to be able to work the disc both right and left. Typically not very busy, even in good weather and on weekends.

Cons:

I really don't like the rubber teepads; many are uneven and they can get slick. Navigating is a little challenging. $1 donation to play (honor sytem), which is fine by me but can be a turn off to some. The least fun hole just happens to be 18, so it's not a great way to finish.

Other Thoughts:

My personal favorite course in the Omaha metro. Hummel is also great, and it seems common opinion is that it's the best in town. But for me personally I love the variety of holes that Treasure Cove offers.
Updated 5/27/2019: Downgraded a 1/2 star now that I've had a chance to play more courses for comparison. While the course design itself is still one of my favorites, the teepads really are a major detriment and Hole 18 is truly a poorly designed hole. With permanent teepads, regularly rotated baskets, and a redesign of Hole 18, this could be a 4.5* or even a 5* course. As is, it's still a lot of fun but more fitting of a 4* rating.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
hammerhead300
Experience: 12 played 7 reviews
4.00 star(s)

One of the Best in the Omaha Area 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 11, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

Lots of variety. Decent elevation change and a good mix of challenging holes with easier ones. Multiple tee pad/basket locations with different line choices depending on which tee pad you play from. If you make accurate shots you'll be rewarded with well-maintained fairways. The tee pads are well-marked, with good signage showing the general direction of the next tee from the baskets as well.

Cons:

Flow could be better; there are some holes where there's a long walk from the basket of one hole to the tee pad of the next. Concrete tee pads would be preferable, but the pads they have are about the next best thing. There are some holes that will punish you for a bad shot, though not to the degree that some other courses in the area (one in particular) will. Holes 5 and 6 have a cornfield along the left side, so it'd be easy to lose a disc in there later in the summer.

Other Thoughts:

Definitely worth playing if you're in the Omaha area and haven't been there yet. Difficult enough that it won't be too easy for experienced players, but not too difficult for beginners.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
Upshawt1979
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.8 years 545 played 429 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Big Arm U 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 2, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

Treasure Cove DGC has nearly everything you could ask for on a disc golf course. There are massive drives on long fairways, woods, great elevation change, a bit of water in play, and versatility of multiple tee pads and pin locations. It is pretty long, even from the short tee pads. Skill and consistent shot making will be a must if you want to score well here.

The campus is pretty and well taken care of. Most of the holes are an grass, and there are mature trees on many of the holes. Even the more open holes have interesting terrain that can make things tough if you are off line and land in the wrong zone.

Hole 2 is the first wooded hole and gives a nice test early on. Wish I would have played 3 from the long tee, but didn't notice it until after finishing 12. I really liked throwing across the Moon Crater on hole 5. The Amen Corner stretch on holes 7-9 are all great holes. My top hole is probably the Hanging Basket hole on 12. Have to love the downhill bomber at 13. The Forrest area has some fun drives on holes 15-17, with an amusing short downhill putter run giving you a birdie opportunity on 17. Climbing up Adrenaline Hill on 18 takes a strong finish.

Cons:

I wouldn't change the rating, but it would be nice if the tees had better marking, and I prefer concrete to rubber mats. A few signs to navigate transitions could also be helpful. There are a few long walks between holes, and figuring out which tee is which can be tough.

Pay to play, but is one dollar more than you're willing to pay for a chance to find treasure? The layout crosses parking lots, roads, and loops around in kind of a figure eight. Printing a map may be useful.

Other Thoughts:

I tried to play the middle tee on every hole, but I may have been out of place on a couple of holes. There are signs, but not for every tee, and I may have overlooked one or two somewhere.

The DGCR app listed this at par 56, and I was at 65 by the time I sank the last putt at the top of Adrenaline Hill. My only birdie came with a nice putt to make 3 on the Moon Crater. I had chances for birdies on 4, 12, and 17 but the putter was not finding the chains. The wind was fairly stiff on the afternoon I was in town, and my driving also left something to be desired. I would very much like to take another crack at this one.

This course is pretty interesting, and offers very nice variety. I would definitely recommend giving it a try. There is a bit of room for improvement, but it is still great as is.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
Bilisent
Experience: 23.8 years 90 played 10 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Good Campus Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 27, 2018 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Nicely maintained course with good layout. A sign on many but not every hole, generally next to the middle tee pad, shows hole layout and multiple tee pad and basket positions. Variety of shots required from very open to tight wooded.

Cons:

Multiple tee pads on every hole but generally only the center pad has distances to basket positions. While multiple basket positions are shown and poles are visible, there was only one basket per hole, usually on the "B" or Gold position. No idea what distances are from other Tee pads. Some of the Tee pads are very slick, have gaps between sections or have become very unlevel.

Other Thoughts:

College maintenance staff do a good job with the grass cutting and debris removal but don't know/understand DG equipment needs. Could still use some TLC on tee boxes and signage.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
KingDonko
Experience: 8.8 years 18 played 3 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Favorite Course drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Oct 17, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Beautiful scenery
-Lots of variety in the holes
-Well maintained
-Pretty accurate signs at each hole
-Challenging holes

Cons:

-No concrete tees (UPDATE: They now have concrete tees)
-Parking
-Lots of walking. Unless you are into that sort of thing like me. then this is a pro.

Other Thoughts:

I love this course. The scenery is amazing. The tees have various positions to choose from. The parking is an issue though. You can't technically park next to hole #1 without a permit. You can usually get away with it, but it is best to park next to hole #10 where there is long term guest parking. Start your round there and end at #9 right behind where you parked.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 6
Zedrijan
Experience: 11 played 3 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Didn't work out so well. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 15, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

A lot of potential. Lightly wooded, idyllic park on a small college campus.

Cons:

Broken and missing signs at the tee posts. Course map faded, less than accurate. Unmarked tee pads everywhere. Makes for an excellent game of "where's the next hole?" Spent more time wandering around than playing. Some considerable wash out around the cement culvert on hole 3, enough to be a bit of a safety concern, you could loose a small vehicle in there, let a lone a disc. Foot paths crisscross the course, rendering them useless for helping you navigate.

Other Thoughts:

With the guidance of a local, this is probably a great place to play. I found it frustrating being on my own and unfamiliar. For a pay to play course, I expect better maintenance of the signs at least, if not the course on the whole. If they're going to charge, they should charge enough to pay for repairs. Perhaps I should be more forgiving because I attempted (yet not completed) this course in the off season.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
ZMesenbrink
Experience: 22.8 years 13 played 9 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Let's take a walk 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 20, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Well maintained college campus. You probably aren't going to spend too much time looking for lost discs. The baskets are usually in plain sight with obstacles allowing for a good challenge. They really try to make three different places to tee from for different levels of player.

Cons:

They kind of went "mat happy" as there are throwing mats all over the place.
Also, I think the course could have been designed a little better. A friend told me the guy that designed the course lost weight playing frisbee golf so he purposely made it quite a walk for no reason other than to walk. After hole 11 you basically walk back to the tee pad for 11 and 10 feet to the right is the tee for 12. Other than that it's not too bad.

Other Thoughts:

They say the hanging basket on 12 is the funnest and really, I say that's just dumb. Novelty at best.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 5
Nathan Stahl
Experience: 11.6 years 18 played 12 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Great fun 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Nov 7, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

If you read all the previous reviews I have nothing new to add. It is laid out great, long holes with terrain and woods, many available tee positions, and three tee boxes at most holes. Some holes have a walk from the basket to the next tee box, but nothing hard and the signs point you in the right direction.

Cons:

The Par distances are long. I am by no means a seasoned player, but they seem to be really long Par 3's through out the course.

Other Thoughts:

The only thing I would like to see is trash picked up off the course. Every hole has a 55 gal trash can, but the trash makes it through out the course. It may be because it is on the college campus. I paid my dollar donation, but would think they could have the college grounds keepers do a trash walk.

Update: Played last week and the college had grounds keepers cleaning up broken tree limbs that have fallen. The trash is still littering the course. Don't get me wrong it is a GREAT course but people need to use the trash can or "Carry in, Carry out".
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 2
mashnut
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22 years 831 played 767 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Nice campus course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 17, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

I would have loved to have a course like this on my college campus. It's a great exposure for the sport, and a nice activity to have available for the students. The course plays mostly through a park style area with grassy fairways and mature trees. A few holes play a little more technical with woods and brush in play to add some punishment for errant shots.

Elevation is a major factor here on most of the shots. There are a few tough uphill shots, and plenty of interesting rolling terrain that adds challenge and variety. The creek area creates a couple valley shots and a great pin position hanging from underneath a bridge with lurking ob water.

Cons:

The signage and navigation are mediocre here, there are some long transitions that aren't obvious and some places where you walk back the length of the hole to get to the next tee. A little work on tee signs to make it a little clearer where to throw and a few next tee signs would go a long way.

Overall the course is a little open for my tastes, lots of places where there just isn't much punishment for throwing a bad shot off the tee nor are there a whole lot of tight gaps you have to hit. I prefer more technical challenges where specific lines are required.

Other Thoughts:

Beginners will find this course approachable if a bit long. There is lots of fun elevation and plenty of room for error. More experienced players won't find this to be too much of a test, but it has some fun places to rip some drives and some very cool and unique shots. If you're in the area, this course is definitely worth a stop.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 5
T-Manz420
Experience: 11.6 years 7 played 4 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 21, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Well marked. Not too hard to find next tee. Love the elevation changes. Trash can on every tee is nice, the course is clean. Low pressure,no body else was playing on a nice Fri. afternoon. Multiple tee's,and Baskets. This course will challenge all takers.

Cons:

Keep thinking..... None yet. Oh yeah, if these are all par 3 I'll kiss your a**!

Other Thoughts:

get your group together,set your own par, Have a good round! Don't forget to donate your $, money well spent.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
Wheelz
Experience: 14.1 years 28 played 22 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 1, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Design - The course flows very nicely and has a variety of shots. Some short, some long, some right, left, wooded, open, uphill, downhill. There are only a few hikes between holes, mainly #12-#13, and #18-#1, but they aren't all that long. The course is pretty easy to navigate. Gotta love the signature hole #12 with the hanging basket over the creek. The red tees are pretty manageable for the experienced golfer, but still offer a challenge. The blue tees, however, step up the difficulty level quite a bit, and the gold tees even more. Any skill level can be challenged here. It appeared that there are multiple pin placements for each hole.

Location - One of the best things about this course is the location. It is located on the campus of Iowa Western Community College, which is an exceptionally nice school. The campus is filled with new buildings, and takes up a lot of space. Since it is a college, the grounds are in very good shape. You don't have to deal with much undergrowth and the grass is mowed often. While many holes are wooded, the course is nicely manicured and landscaped. A very small creek runs through the campus and comes into play on a handful of holes. Restrooms and water/snacks are available in most of the buildings on campus, several which left open during the day. The college is located right off of the interstate, so it is easy to get to and from. IWCC is also only 5 min. or so away from Council Bluffs, and 10-15 min. away from downtown Omaha, so there are plenty of restaurants and lodging close by. Even though it is located on a college campus, there is plenty of space available and it doesn't really feel like your cramped by buildings/people. Every time I've played here it has been pretty quiet, and I have been able to enjoy a nice round without waiting or feeling rushed by others.

Infrastructure - The course features rubber tee pads, most of which are pieced together from a couple smaller tee pads combined to create a larger one. There are nice, large trash barrels at every tee that have the hole number in large white numbers on the side, very visible. The tee signs are very nice and are updated regularly. There are three tees for each hole; red, blue and gold. Each tee is easy to find and are marked with a flag to let you know which is which. Some tees share one tee pad, but they are marked with the flags so it's easy to figure out. There are several signs posted that help you navigate the course.

Cons:

Land - I suppose there could be more elevation, but the course design takes advantage the elevation that is already there pretty well. The course is lacking a real water feature, as the little creek doesn't really count.
Not much to complain about.

College Atmosphere - I haven't had any real issues, but do remember this is a college campus. In between classes there can be a lot students moving around outside, but it isn't too big a deal as most of the course plays away from the busiest areas. There is always the possibility of a stupid college kid yelling/honking at you while your playing to put on a show for their friends, but for the most part everyone here as been respectful.

Other Thoughts:

Wow, this is a fun course. It is very challenging and will test just about every shot you have. The course is beautiful and I'm jealous I didn't go to school here! Playing a round here and then hitting up Hummel Park in Omaha would make for a fabulous day of golf. Interstate 80 is an extremely busy route and passes right by the school, so if you are driving through please stop and play a round, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
notapro
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.6 years 568 played 281 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Fun for everyone 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 28, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Course is set on the large grounds of a community college, that gives a ton of land up for some disc golf. A few holes play by a gazebo, and a couple are by a road, but overall the disc golf is pretty well separated.
- A couple different patches of forest help to add good variety here. A more open forest with large, tall, mature trees offer some fun line shaping, like the over-the-OB-valley shot on #3, and the wooded holes #7-#9. A different patch is much tighter, holes #15 and #16 need a much more accurate tee shot to get a good look at the pin.
- More open holes still try to provide some challenge with mature trees or twisting fairways. #4's pin is located within some short pine trees, #6 is bordered on the right by the sloping woods, #11 is a long uphill holes with a few trees, but a blind 90 degree turn (mando) to deal with. A few others have more trees by the pin, and #18 has OB on both sides thanks to a road and a roped area. Line shaping is not as important, but shot placement is.
- Constant factor throughout the entire course is elevation changes. Almost every hole has some sort of elevation to content with. Some decent uphill shots like #7, #10, #11, #14, and #18, and downhills like #2, #5, #8, #13, and #17, definitely noticable on all of these with some more dramatic ones. A few blind baskets due to the hills, like on #2, #5, #11, #14, and #17. Lots of fun.
- Great mix of hole lengths, with some real bombers (both wooded and open), at 740', 520', 469', and more! Short ones as well, with four holes under 300' that offer fair deuce opportunities.
- Good amount of hazards here, with the OB valley on #3, a roped area, and a small road providing some artificial areas to avoid. A small creek is also present - on holes #2 and #12. #12's basket is hanging under a bridge, almost above the creek. Very cool basket placement.
- Signs were ok... but a lot were missing. Rubber mats are nice and big, when dry at least. Good baskets. Navigation is fairly easy, especially with the map.

Cons:

- A few of the holes are wide, wide open, or just slightly tricky. #6 only has trees on one side, #5 only has a hill to deal with, and #10 is fairly easy to reach. Still fun, but just gripping and ripping.
- A few spots of the course were extremely muddy, even without wet conditions. Getting around by hole #2 was nasty, I would hate to imagine what it would be like with some rain.
- Almost no seclusion to be found here, playing by school buildings, a busy road, and parking lots. Just distracting, not a conflict at all.

Other Thoughts:

- Very good variety at this course, with some tight wooded holes, open bombers, and a lot of stuff in between. Even mix of line shaping, and shot placement, with holes through and around the woods. Constant elevation changes, and some tricky basket placements. Nothing super-extraordinary, but a solid course throughout. The hazards here aren't too bad to destroy beginners, but at the same time, expert players will definitely find something to enjoy here. Really a good course for almost any skill level.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
BalataGrande
Experience: 12.7 years 10 played 4 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Best in Omaha metro 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 12, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Where to begin. This course is LONG and has multiple holes that require right and left turning drives. There are many tight/technical drives as well. Hole 9 is a monster at 750+ feet through a highly treed ravine. Hole 12 is a "signature" hole with the basket hanging from a bridge and you throw through a creek bed to the basket. From an asthetic standpoint, it winds through the Iowa Western CC campus which is very beautiful (I was surprised).

Cons:

The only downside I could say is the distance between some holes is excessive and I'd like to see a more "legitimate" par on this course. It's course par and there's quite a few holes that even the "pros" would struggle with IMO

Other Thoughts:

Other than me whining about a par 54 setup, I love this course, and will be back many times. This was my second trip here in the last couple of months and the course had been manicured recently making this experience even better than the first. The most challenging course in the Metro!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top