Taylorsville, UT

Valley Regional

2.985(based on 24 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Valley Regional reviews

Filter
8 0
sillybizz
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 22.1 years 399 played 384 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Shared Space

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 6, 2023 Played the course:once

Pros:

Course Infrastructure:

Tee pads are all concrete and built into the existing walking path that the course follows. It's easy to find because there is yellow paint on the ground in the shape of a tee pad and a tee sign very close by. This makes navigating the course very simple and obvious. The tee signs are a bit primitive which is weird for a park course with more than 9 holes. The baskets are older DGA with double chains and hole number, in good shape and catch well. Bathrooms near hole 1 as well.

The course itself is fairly open especially in the back 9 but does make use of the available patches of trees, especially in the front 9. The distances range from about 180-450 feet with most being in the 250-320 range perfect for intermediate players distance.

Cons:

The course isn't very challenging especially once you can throw 300 feet or so you should run through this place at several under par. Not enough woods to really challenge you and the back nine is longer more open than the front which for my taste is the worst kind of holes. Also no elevation at all and no way to really punish bad drives or upshots aside from one basket on a mound with possible roll away or throwing behind the basket wrapped up in a tree.

The walking path is used pretty regularly. I was here in the mid morning during the week and had to wait several times for dog walkers and joggers to clear only to have more show up and be in the way of my tee shot which throws straight through them. They seem to be oblivious to what disc golf is or that it would hurt really bad to be hit by a disc. I had one woman ask me what I was doing and I had to explain the sport to her to have her tell me she's never heard of it before. I told her to keep her head up here if she's planning on using this path for walking.

It seems the course some reviewers played many years ago is now changed and some of the tee signs say distances that are years off. I parked a 350 foot hole with a midrange and there's no way I throw that far since getting old haha.

Other Thoughts:

This place reminds me of a typical 9 hole park course that I've seen a million times it just has 18 instead of 9 holes on it. I was the only one playing disc golf here so possibly it's not busy but yeah that was a weekday so who knows. You can play here and it's not a bad course just not a good course either, well into that meh category. In a few months someone will mention the name of this place and I'll have forgotten it already.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 8
Blagadies
Experience: 9.6 years 218 played 5 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Best course in salt lake 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 22, 2021 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

It's not the other run down grimmie courses in the area. Clean, open and we'll marked! I also hate the review system on this site. Why do I need to write an essay to give a star rating.

Cons:

Very open so bring a hat.

Other Thoughts:

My favorite salt lake course...if you want better drive to ogden and play the fort.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
bobmcnelly
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.8 years 324 played 189 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 5, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Well manicured park
- Good variety of distances, and multiple basket placements
- bathrooms right by hole 1 and 18
- you can park within a few steps of hole 1
- Tee signs with hole number and distance
- fairly technical for how wide open the park looks, the course uses the few trees it has very well
- navigation of this course is pretty easy

Cons:

- tee signs face random directions, making figuring out which direction you are throwing confusing on a couple holes
- I played this course on a early weekday morning, and there were quite a few people walking throughout the course, I could only imagine how packed full of pedestrians this course gets on the weekend or in the evening
- the course is almost completely flat
- even though there are multiple basket placements, there is only one distance on the tee signs

Other Thoughts:

Quick play 18 hole course that is well worth playing if you are in the south SLC area. But maybe skip it if you are playing in the evening or on the weekend.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 4
KC4KAA
Experience: 10.8 years 43 played 11 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Tale of 2 9's 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 12, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

Front nine looks easy but trees come into play, after playing a few times I feel I could make a few birdies and I'm old and don't throw very far. Grass is lush and we'll cut

Cons:

Back nine has very high natural foliage. On hole 11 I looked for disc for about 20 mins. You need a spotter

Other Thoughts:

Salt lake area is so beautiful if you play bad just look up at the mountains!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 0
Barneybboy
Experience: 10.2 years 15 played 14 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Fun Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 27, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This course is good for the following reasons:
-All tee areas are pads or on the concrete walkway. Nice solid throwing areas.
-Well maintained. Front nine are all in the grass area of the park and the back nine are off in the field portion of the park. Back nine may need a spotter but you can't really lose a disc on this course (except hole 6-8 but that's due to water on your left hand side.).
-Wide open. There are a few trees that you need to shoot around, but there is not so many that you can't send your disc flying.
-The course is set up so you can follow from basket to tee very easily without getting lost.
-Good distance variety. Some really long shots for the drivers and some shorter ones to practice that mid range disc.
-It's in a park, something for the whole family to do there.

Cons:

A few things to be aware of:
-This course can get a bit windy, so keep your discs low and heavy on those days or you will watch them go places you didn't want.
-It is in a park. It can get pretty busy at nights and on the weekends making you wait at some holes for people to clear the area especially the walking path that goes throughout the park.
-The water on holes 6-8. If you send your disc to far to the left it will end up in a canal.

Other Thoughts:

Nice park with restrooms, playground, baseball fields, soccer fields, and a recreation center. You can really make a good day out of coming to this park and playing.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
Webslinger
Experience: 2 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

That's More Like It... 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 19, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Several pin layouts have been changed recently. A much more challenging course now.
-Now has multiple pin placements for most holes.
-Great course for beginners/intermediates, plus will now a more pleasing layout for advanced/pros.
-Front nine lots of grass trees. Trees are not too big, but still pose a challenge.
-All holes have teepads; either cement or asphalt path.
-Restroom, drinking fountains, pavilions, playground, baseball diamonds, etc. Great for family fun.

Cons:

-Windy! The wind can get crazy out here. When it's calm, it makes for a great day.
-Back nine is not part of the developed park, so lots of wide open shots. Only so much you can do with that.
-T-ball and soccer games are played in front of teepads for hole 1 and 3. Very annoying!
-Hole 1's position in back of the restroom is a problem. People use the restroom and kids play around it.

Other Thoughts:

Overall the recent changes to this course have been positive. The Salt Lake Valley needs more DG courses. Though a full 18 holes DG course, many of the locals that play Creekside thumb their noses at Valley Regional. With the new pin positions, it's no longer as easy as before.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 3
thenewguy
Experience: 10.8 years 16 played 6 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 1, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Easy on beginners! Easy to map and follow. A great course to learn your lines and new discs on.
Manicured field very hard to lose a disc!

Cons:

Pins are never moved anymore. lots of foot traffic, kids hanging on baskets.

The back nine brings thorns home with you. Be sure to clean your shoes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
notapro
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.6 years 568 played 281 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Beginner/Intermediate 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 30, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Course is set within a busy city park that has a walking path winding all throughout. Lots of pedestrian traffic here; hopefully the worst thing that will happen is a little wait here and there.
- Pretty typical city park style course; there are lots of individual trees here and there that are used to force line shaping. #4 is either a straight shot through a gap or a wide RHBH hyzer around a grouping of trees, #6 is a wide hyzer around trees directly off the teepad, #7 is RHFH friendly over some short stuff, #9 is pretty skinny with a FH friendly line, etc. etc. In general, there are always multiple lanes available, but some holes really want you to go a certain way.
- A few interesting holes stand out, like #2 with a sloping green with a bit of water behind. #12 has more woods to contend with, like a giant bush to get around and forest long of the pin.
- Pretty good mix of hole lengths, the course isn't terribly long with an average of 285', but there are five holes over 320'. Almost any level player will be throwing putters to drivers here. Some long pin positions help stretch the course out even more... which is a good thing.
- Teepads are pretty good, as the majority are painted on the walking path. Good baskets; tee signs are simple with # and distance. Navigation is pretty easy even without a map.

Cons:

- A lot of pretty open holes, and others that are wide open. #10, #14, and #15 have no obstacles whatsoever, pretty brainless.
- Land here is almost dead flat, with only a hole or two having any discernible elevation change. It would have gone a long way to make things a little more interesting.
- Almost every single hole has the walking path in play; so a busy day here might be a headache for all parties involved. Just something to consider when choosing where to play.

Other Thoughts:

- Overall, not a bad course by any means. Plenty of spots to rip some drives while doing some basic line shaping. Some holes have a considerable amount of trees, and some protected baskets, which add character. Best suited for beginner or intermediate players; expert players should tear this place apart.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
TheGrim
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.4 years 75 played 44 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Not too shabby park 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 21, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This is a fun park to play so long as there aren't a lot of people around. The tees are very well marked, as are the cages and the signs are good. You won't see a lot of elevation change in this park, it's really flat, but the trees make most of the holes a challenge.

It also has some long 400+ ft throws that let you unload.

You aren't likely to lose many discs if you avoid the canal on 3 holes, (you have to really be off to land it in there).

Cons:

This is a very busy park with pavilions, baseball diamonds, rec center and lots and lots of people on the path which is all over the front nine.

People can be inconsiderate and plop down right in the fairway to watch baseball games. If you give bonus points for nailing them then maybe this could be considered a pro.

Other Thoughts:

Overall my impression of this course is that it is better than average, but not amazing. The holes don't seem to favor forehand or backhand shots, so it's a nice mix.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
JakeLaPutka
Experience: 17.7 years 15 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Harder than it Looks 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 30, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

--Variety: Trees, Open, Long, Short, Elevation (very slight, 2, 5, 7, 10, 16)
--Great place to practice in the wind. Besides most summer evenings, there is almost always at least a breeze to make you think about
--Avoid the Creekside crowds!! Players in general are nicer at T-Ville than creekside, and there are much less on the weekends.
--Well Maintained. Front 9 always has mowed grass, and (after a few complaints to the city) the tall weeds will get mowed on the back 9
--Currently they are working on getting new pin positions for all the holes with only 1 position. 12 holes have more than 1 position right now. Now that there is a monday singles league, positions get changed a little more often
--Singles and Doubles Leagues. For 2012, there is Singles on Mondays and doubles on Wednesdays in the evening.
--As the trees grow, the course gets harder and harder
--Playable in the Winter (Don't use Light colored discs in the snow!)
--Facilities, or should I say facility. There is a bathroom that is not a long walk to get to after playing holes 1-3, 9, and 16-18. There is a drinking fountain near the bathroom too.
--Free to play is always a pro
--Islands makes this course much harder (see other thoughts)

Cons:

--One thing that variety does not offer is technical shots-- aside from island technical, there aren't many tunnels you need to go through. Most holes can be reached with a high hyzer/anhyzer. Hole 3 (RHBH/LHFH) and Hole 9 are the only "Tunnels" but are barely excuses for one.
--Wind is also a con. Sometimes it is so bad the course is un-playable (Or very very frustrating)
--Less frolfer crowd, more recreation crowd. Walkers, runners, bikers, etc. are ALWAYS in the way. It always seems like once someone is out of the way someone else gets on the fairway right after. Frustrating part is they always have the right of way. Be courteous! Sometimes holes are unplayable due to huge (and I mean HUGE) barbecues that people do, and things like teeball, football, and soccer.
--Multiple Pin positions, but probably not enough. Move all the pins and it is still the same course, unlike other courses where different layout=different course.
--Singles/Dubs are fun, but usually there isn't enough people because they are too afraid to play islands
--Trees are less of a hazard in Winter, Early Spring, and Late Fall which can make for a boring course
--No Practice Basket

Other Thoughts:

--Think the course is too easy? Play Islands --A disc that lands on the side of the path (or on the path) that the hole is not on, it is OB. If your disc does not cross in bounds, you must re-tee for a stroke. If your disc goes in bounds then OB, you take a drop where it was last in bounds for a penalty.

Give it time, and this course will soon be a 5 star course. More use and growth of the sport and this course will get some more love.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
baylor90505
Experience: 10.8 years 31 played 7 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Fun park course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Oct 14, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Usually not very busy. Relatively flat course with great concrete pads and great markers. A little easier than some of the other courses in the area. On par with the difficulty of the U of U course but flatter.

Cons:

Sometimes you have to wait for people strolling across the park before throwing. I wish the back 9 was grassy like the front 9, but still very fun.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
JDee
Experience: 13.7 years 20 played 7 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Windy Tayville 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 8, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Pretty open course. Most holes you are able to bomb your big driver. Course is set in a park the front 9 in a grassy park area, back 9 is more of a field with weeds and bushes and trees.
-This course is fairly easy, and a great park to bring a family or beginners. You can also very easily push a stroller around the whole course.
-Rarely ever crowded. I've played this course probably 15 times and it has never been crowded when I was there.

Cons:

-Just an open course. Not hard to just chuck it and know where your disc is going to go. Not a big challenge however the holes are pretty long.
-WIND! This course is windy 80% of the time I go. I understand cause it is so open. But it can be frustrating.
-Never change basket locations. Someone should move them every few days, but they never get changed. I'm pretty sure there are other hole locations, but they never seem to get moved.
-A con, is also a pro. This is a great course for beginners and families. So you do tend to get caught up behind them once in awhile.

Other Thoughts:

-This is a great alternative if you are looking to avoid the ridiculous crowd at creekside. It is still a fun course, and the people seem to be much more calm and respectable then the "pros" at creekside.
-Play it once in awhile or you will get sick of it. Just don't play it every day.
-Please note that i do like this course. It's just one of my last choices for the other courses we have nearby. Creekside, Solitude, and Art Dye are all above average. You will still enjoy Valley very much. Very convenient, and you shouldn't ever lose a disc.
Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Forrest
Experience: 13.8 years 6 played 6 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Valley Regional 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 17, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This is my home course so I play it 2-3 times a week. The course has got some long shots and the new basket placement incorporates the trees as hazards better than the old setup. The front nine is a grassy park setting and the back nine is more of a field. I prefer the back nine on a cloudy day because my game seems to do better in the field than on the front nine.

Cons:

This course can get pretty crowded on a nice evening. The back nine is a scorcher on a hot, sunny day so bring some water. There is a small creek running along the road where holes 6-8 are and I've seen quite a few discs go in the drink so be careful.

Other Thoughts:

Not a great course, but not a bad one either. As my home course I've learned to love it, but I know a lot of players just don't like it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
killjoy
Experience: 16 played 5 reviews
3.00 star(s)

re done at last 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 14, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

re done all together. Tees are well marked and the course isn't too busy.

Cons:

simple design, good for the beginner. not a lot of shade, although given a few years this will improve.

Other Thoughts:

beware if you have new people with you there is a very deep canal that will eat you disks. I know the canal isn't on the course but sometimes the disk just goes across the street.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
SomeChump
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 33 played 32 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Missing something 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 16, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Good signage
Nice tees
First nine holes are manicured, last nine the "cropfield" is at least cut low so you won't lose discs
Nearly impossible to lose a disc on
Although trees are relatively small, and you're never "canopied", they are in play on nearly every hole. Dismiss them at your own peril.
Relatively easy to save par if you hit a tree, as there aren't THAT many of them, and you usually don't hit them early.
Good variety on hole distances-from the very aceable, slightly downhill Hole 10 (~185 ft) to the long, uphill (with trees to prevent much rightward drift) 372 foot Hole 5 and the downhill 421 foot Hole 14
Very strollerable, nice bathrooms, nice playground for the kiddos
Rarely busy-usually don't even have to wait for walkers to clear
Since there is a walking path along most of the course, you have a nice "cart path" to ride on
Full 18 holes, nice baskets, well-maintained

Cons:

Nearly completely flat
Zero shade-Do not play in mid-afternoon in July and August (but great Winter course)
Beware the batting cages if Hole 17 is in the long position
At least one of the tee signs is actually mounted onto the tee-glad I'm not LHBH.
No water in play
Very safe (as long as you don't throw on a walker or something)

Other Thoughts:

You know, there are tons of pros to the course and not that many cons, but yet, something is missing. It's like the fun-factor isn't there like it is at Creekside. You often have the place to yourself, everything is very nice, but there's no spark. Maybe it's the lack of hills, the lack of water, or the lack fo people. Can't explain it. But this course will only get better as the trees grow bigger. Kudos to the park folks for putting it in. It's a great addition to the park and an important addition to the disc golf scene in SLC.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
ryan ranes
Experience: 15.5 years 48 played 25 reviews
2.50 star(s)

a big arm windy course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 20, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

a very cool course mostly for a big arm thrower there are diffrent pin locations on almost every hole personally i liek the back 9 the best

Cons:

it gets windy there every day so i would paly super early in the morning or way late at night for a night round there are alot of people walkinjg there sogs on the course so u have to watch ouyt and there are alot of soccer league teams who play tyhere on a hole so on saturdays u cant play the course alot and in summer u cant play the back 9 cause there will be alot of weeds that get 2 feet high and it is impossible to find your discs

Other Thoughts:

play creekside or the u of u instead
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 2
Hwy1DG
Experience: 21.9 years 23 played 7 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Still young with potential 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 24, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

= new hole 1 is close to the parking lot
= new large tee signs with distances
= 18 paved and cement tee-pads
= easy to navigate
= locals play paths as OB and use them to mark islands hole rules

Cons:

The back nine needs more grass and trees, or some other obstacles, like the mature front nine. Errant shots could get over fences or onto little league sports fields.

Other Thoughts:

This course has the potential to be very cool due to the very young trees and the vast amount of space in the back nine. I think if the park was able to move a little earth to make some small mounds and other slight elevation features around the baskets. I also think placing some large granite boulders around this course, or some other obstacles, and it could fit in well with area disc golf, ie: Creekside, U of U, Solitude.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 6
NothinButChing
Experience: 14.8 years 51 played 9 reviews
3.50 star(s)

T-Ville Baby 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 6, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Seems to be maintained fairly well, although some holes have been put places where little maintenance can be done.

Little hazards, other than distance, on many holes allows for low scores.

Never very crowded.

Course goes thru old corn/hey field, makes things a little interesting.

Cons:

Since lack of hazards, baskets are placed very close to trees and shrubbery. This could be fixed by just adding more trees in some areas.

Lack of signs and directions.

Lack of course trash cans.

Although never crowded as far as player go, there have been times when a football or rugby game was goin on n had to throw around the game to play a hole or two.

Some of the holes are hard to find, didnt even play all 18 first few times at the course
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 3
tstack10
Experience: 21.5 years 23 played 6 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Improved 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 25, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

They have just recently put some work into the course changing some location of the baskets and putting in new sleeves.
Course is beginner friendly and new locaitons make several birdies possible.
There were very few people playing and this is a good course to play in the wind.
Very happy with upgrades to the course and hope to frequent it more often.

Cons:

Very flat course but makes up for it with distance

++First time playing was confusing cuz lack of signs and some holes are in confusing directions.

Other Thoughts:

After hole two go to path on left and walk back towards parking lot for hole three, hole 10 is to the right and seems to be logical choice.

Also hole 10 plays to the really short basket while hole fifteen is viable longer left...ribbons tied so basket can bee seen.


Thanks to local who put in work at the park making it much improved and fun to play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 6
TalbotTrojan
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.5 years 112 played 104 reviews
1.50 star(s)

The Forgotten 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 1, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

It is located in a great park and has a good variety of distances. Good shots found reward and most bad shots were punished, especially on the longer holes. The tee pads were good.

Cons:

The trees in this park are too young to make too much of a challenge. When I played a few of the holes had been removed for some other function which had happened recently, which shows me that this course is sort of forgotten by the parks department and most local players. There were no signs for any of the holes, only a pole in the ground, one which had been turned the wrong way. Some of the poles even take up space on the tee pad. This course is difficult to navigate in certain places, especially getting from 17 to 18.

Other Thoughts:

While I say that this course is forgotten, there was a few local players that I ran into that did take pride in this course. I think you want to park south of the pool but the directions on here led me to park north of the pool. I was mostly frustrated by the fact that baskets were still missing days later than they needed to be and even though I was told that they would be back to a full 18 holes soon I could not help but think that Disc Golf took a back seat to everything else at this park.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top