• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Williamsburg, VA

Waller Mill Park

3.325(based on 17 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Waller Mill Park reviews

Filter
11 0
ButterflightDG
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Home Course for 3 years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 30, 2023 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great elevation changes, two baskets and two tee locations per hole for intermediate to pro skill level players. Mostly defined woods fairways. Scenic. Wide variety of shots on longer layouts. Water in play. Well maintained.

Cons:

Far teepads are low quality. Some fairways to long basket are a bit undefined. Lots of leaves in the fall.

Other Thoughts:

Tons of cute little toads everywhere in spring through summer which keep the place pretty bug free (for the area). My favorite layout is short teepads to long basket. (I'm maybe 880 rated).
Its a tough course but fun. Hole 6 is my nemesis short to short. If you only have time for 9 holes, play 1-6 and then 16-18. That keeps you near the parking lot.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 6
Starrman
Experience: 3 played 3 reviews
0.50 star(s)

eats discs drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 30, 2023 Played the course:once

Pros:

maintained course. Bag holder and carpet tee boxes on all holes.

Cons:

don't play this course solo. There are several blind landing spots where a disc can roll away forever or one bad tree can send a disc into the water.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
15 0
Upshawt1979
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 21.1 years 551 played 429 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Waller Mill for Real 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 16, 2022 Played the course:once

Pros:

I loved Waller Mill. Lots of elevation change and woods will almost always garner a high rating from me. Adding dual tee pads and dual baskets on every hole can't hurt either. Water is in play, but only on a few holes. There are signs at each tee that help when you don't feel like walking the fairway on a blind tee shot. I used different tees and baskets on some holes, but mostly used white tee to blue basket. This is a course I would love to play a few more times. It would factor in as a major benefit if I were to consider moving to the area.

Some of the tees are carpeted. Not ideal, but they were pretty good. Chainstar baskets were doing their part well. The layout is pretty easy to follow, but having the map can be helpful, starting with finding the tees for hole 1. A sign here and there will aid in navigation between holes. There are blind drives on several holes. Usually the line is pretty intuitive and the tee signs offer a general idea of where to aim.

Every hole presents a different look and a challenge. All are good, but hole 7 grabbed my attention. A major downhill drive, over a creek at the bottom with baskets on the opposite side. There are trees that need to be avoided out of the box, but lines are there.

Cons:

Upgrading to concrete tees all the way around would be nice. The existing ones are fine, but if I had a con I guess that's it.

It is a pay to play course, but it is well worth the price of admission. $2 park entry and $2 for disc golf.

I wouldn't bring a beginner here, it is an advanced level course. Even the short tee to short pin layout requires a good skill set to play well.

Other Thoughts:

Awesome course. It's been quite a while since I played New Quarter, but I think Waller Mill is the best the area has to offer now. Not a lot of the classic grassy park vibe here. Intense play through dense woods, with plenty of elevation change, and a little water that could eat some plastic.

I think the combos I played added up to par 64, and I was not close to that. I did manage to make a couple of birdies, but was a dozen shots over at least.

The weather was excellent for mid February, and the course conditions were good. Inevitably some leafy debris lingered toward the end of winter. Recent rains left a bit of mud and a few puddles along the side of the 14th fairway, but everything else was great.

It is worth the drive from Virginia Beach. Traffic was congested due to construction, but I would do it again in a heartbeat.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
LeeloDGVA
Experience: 6 played 3 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Interesting, well maintained course; beware of chiggers and ticks 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 19, 2020 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Interesting and unexpected use of elevation
Very well maintained; nice, secure turf tee pads, signage on all holes, obvious signs pointing to next tee
Two tees and two baskets per hole so you can really change up the course

Cons:

Bugs in summer (serious issues with chiggers, ticks, and ants)
Pay to play AND pay to park
Some holes with very narrow fairways can be frustrating to new or not-so-new-but-still-not-very-good players (not really a con, more an observation for anyone looking for easier courses)

Other Thoughts:

Overall, Waller Mill is a really nice, really interesting course. There are no open holes, so you really have to work on your more technical shots. Several holes are "more" open, but still in the woods. I love the downhill shots and the ones over little dips in the hills - as a not-so-great player, it makes me feel like I'm much better than I am when I see my disc sailing down the hill. Of course, the opposite is also true; the uphill shots provide a good, but not insurmountable, challenge. The combo of the heat and humidity in Williamsburg in the summer is pretty killer; throw in the unexpected hills in this course (who knew W'burg was so hilly??), and you'll have sweat pouring off you. At least it's all in the shade!

I have to address the bugs and I don't say this to be prissy. DO NOT take your dog on this course in the summer. I've never been to another course that has this severe of an issue - my husband and I come home covered in chigger bites that last for over a week; you don't know the full extent until the next day when you start itching. The ants (big fire ants) have gotten much more controlled but still watch out for them and especially watch where you set your bag. We noticed a definite decrease on the number of ticks after pre-treating our bag and shoes with Permethrin spray but we each had several ticks the first time we played without it. Ticks are a serious problem - Lyme disease is not uncommon in this area. Also watch out for snakes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
lee76007
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 4.8 years 113 played 112 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Water Hole's Suprise 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jan 24, 2020 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Tee Box area has excellent hole signs with elevation graph. Its a ravine type course.
-Tee pads are a mixture of field turf and rubber mats. The majority were field turf, and I liked the spongy feel, but not slippery. Felt like I was getting a little extra on my throws. Their were also brooms to sweep off leaves.
-Most fairways are hard pan, which I like for extra distance.
-Majority of the tee pads are elevated, their are target areas on the next hill, or to the next ravine or fairways.
-Looks like several trees have been cut down to widen the fairways, some just recently. Good for beginners and recreational players. This may of been done to also help reduce ticks on the course.
-Baskets looked recently painted blue and white.
-Fairways are clear of debris.
-Water Holes 5 thru 10 are the best 6 hole combination I've seen in difficulty and scenery. They border a 360 acre lake.
-Blue baskets offer the best challenge on all holes, they are very well protected by foliage. UPDATED: The majority are rollers, and 5-6, 8-10 death putts into the lake. White baskets some rollers, and 5-7, 9, 14 death putts into stream or lake.
-Outstanding navigation on hole signs, and big white signs with black arrow pointing to the next tee after leaving each basket.
-UPDATED: Long tees/long basket (blue) present 6 each of par 3's, 4's, and 5's. Enjoy the variety.
-Water hazards marked by white and red stakes with rope. I've only seen that on ball courses.
-UPDATED: Have seen deer on every visit, a snake once, and first time today the American Eagle multiple times.
-UPDATED: Haven't really been bothered by bugs, I like to put a good layer of bug spray on me. Only have found one tick this year, not much of a tick haven.

Cons:

-Trees cut down may of changed the fairways enough where those who have played here in the past, may not recognize them now? UPDATED: But, they still offer a good challenge off of the long tees to the blue baskets.
-White baskets are either to the left or right of the fairway with no or very little protection. But, good for the beginner or recreational player.
-After a good rain, the hard pan I like could turn into muck for a few days.
-Most of the holes are non-water, and some are not memorable. But, they still offer a challenge. UPDATED: After 5 visits and 10 rounds still have difficulty separating a few holes on the back.

Other Thoughts:

UPDATED: Today was the first time playing long tees/long baskets, and it was fun! Its demanding off of the tees where it can be very narrow on most holes, challenging basket placements, and a good physical work out! I STILL Think of holes 1-4 as preparing you for 5-10, and then afterwards a recovery period. 5-10 I give a 5 rating, and that's where my overall rating is anchored on.
UPDATED: Short tees/short basket takes me about an hour, long tees/long baskets took an hour and 50 mins today, that should speed up as I become more familiar. Their seems to be at least an extra mile of walking for long/long? The other two combinations takes about 90 mins. That too should speed up.
The notable holes:
2. ADDED ON: Par 3 Long/blue 420 feet lazy dog leg right on a ridge, a gentle down slope, with a drop into a ravine. At the bottom a stream that flows into the lake. The white basket is on the way and a roller. The journey to the blue basket is narrow on the ridge clutter with trees. Best to stay on left side of fairway, and if your disc flights straight into the heavy trees on left, your at least safe.
5. Par 5 long/blue 740 feet. Gentle down slope dog leg right. Second shot, white basket comes in view which is a roller into lake and that's where the lake begins. Throwing up hill to narrow line, back down to blue basket which is a roller to lake. Trees to the left, water to the right.
6. Par 4 long/blue 445 feet. Lazy dog leg right, across a small ravine clutter with trees, with lake on the right. White basket is a roller into the lake, and on a shelf. From the shelf for your approach is a sharp down hill drop to the blue basket. And a roller into the lake.
7. Par 3 455 feet long tee/blue. Wow! Big drop off of tee to ravine area, short tee/white basket at 280 feet. is most fun on the course. White basket can be seen from tee and a narrow tunnel with trees and brush to the left and right down hill all the way. The stream meanders in front of green, and along right side of fairway, with the hill angling towards the stream. Its a fun throw! and my favorite hole on course. About 260 feet to cross stream, but a solid straight throw will do it. Blue basket is back up another hill. Walk gingerly down the hill, theirs a few steps to help you at the bottom. Very picturesque.
9. Par 3 long/blue 350 feet. Long tee has one line straight down the fairway with trees on both side, but the lake can be reached with a bad throw to the right. The short tee is straight down fairway with trees on left and right, but lake is on the right, fairway is a narrow shelf, over the shelf and your disc is gone. The fairways are hard pan. Both baskets are death putts into lake. The hole looks harmless from the tee area, because the fun is hidden.
No. 10 a par 4, 480 feet long/blue Its a hard pan fairway just like 9. From the tee across a small ravine, up and over to the landing area, with a gentle down slope. The gap is narrow with heavy trees after crossing ravine. Trees and white basket on the left, with the lake still on the right with ravine and trees, don't go down the ravine. The rest of the way to the blue basket is heavy with trees and a few lines to work with it, gentle down slope. The blue basket sits on a crown, depending on your distance to putt or approach can be a roller or a death putt to the lake.
14. Par 3 395 feet long/blue basket. This is a fun hole that has a slow moving creek right in the center of the fairway. Elevated tee box. White basket on left side of creek is a death putt, and can also be reached from right side of creek. Blue basket reached on right side of creek only, is up hill, and a roller. Moderate tree protection. Very scenic.
In my opinion:
Signature Hole is No. 18 par 4 long/blue basket 680 feet. Theirs a holding pen to the left of the tee pad, likely a dog park? There's a cluster of trees about a hundred feet down with a line thru them or stay right avoiding trees on the left. The fairway is actually level. As you get close to the white basket, another cluster of trees in the middle of fairway with a small gap or go either way around. At the white basket the fairway drops down to the blue basket, the white is a roller. The best line to blue, avoid trees throwing left to right, and blue is a roller. Behind the blue basket is picturesque of the lake and boating dock. A postcard moment. A great way to end your round! The lake shouldn't come into play?

Trouble hole is No. 8 Par 5 long/blue 585 feet. Elevated tee box thru a gap of trees, across a ravine, then up a more elevated hill with moderate trees. Aim for the white basket on top of hill, stay left to keep from rolling, and a good path to the blue. Lake is still on the right, but for the most part out of play, unless you throw wild to the right. From the white basket area the fairway becomes a gentle down slope to blue. The putting area is the most dangerous on the course to lose a disc for an approach shot, because the lake is right behind blue. The fairway is safe until about 30 feet from blue. At that point the putting area down slopes or funnels to the basket and lake. Its a death putt. You can place your approach on the shelf about 40 feet from blue to figure it out or just go for it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
16 0
armiller
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 9.2 years 275 played 60 reviews
4.00 star(s)

A Natural and Ever-improving Beauty 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 5, 2019 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

- good baskets in two permanent locations (blue Prodigy long pins, modern Machs short pins)
- two sets of tees (tee surfaces are a mix of dirt, turf, and mats but are all good in terms of size and levelness of surface)
- excellent tee signs (including a depiction of elevation change throughout the hole) and navigation queues
- good wooded golf with tight lines and use of elevation throughout
- relaxing outdoor environment with natural beauty such as greens overlooking water, various wildlife (e.g. birds of prey & deer)

Cons:

- several lines just a bit too tight (particularly the approach to hole 5's long pin)
- the downsides of a natural environment: snakes, ticks, spiders, probably poison ivy, etc.
- few amenities (trash cans, benches)
- cost? ($2 per vehicle entering, $2 per person to play)

Other Thoughts:

This is a beautiful and challenging long 18-hole course in Williamsburg's Waller Mill park. The park itself also has a dog park, playground, hiking trails, and a 360-acre lake with boat/kayak rentals. My family enjoyed the playground and trails, only not long enough to last my entire round. Access is easy (not far from I-64) and parking is close to the disc golf course. A small park office (you pay here) has some discs and water/snacks.

Overall, the course provides challenging, fun disc golf in a serene and picturesque natural setting. The 18 holes, particularly from long tees to long baskets, require golfers to hit diverse lines and will challenge even top pros. As an Intermediate to Advanced player, it challenged me in the best ways, making me want to return to replicate successes and to remediate failures. Hole after hole was unique and memorable, with shot after shot rewarding thought and requiring good execution. Its theme is tight, wooded fairways with elevation used to effect throughout. Well-placed slopes create uphill and downhill shots in addition to sloping greens (often toward the scenic lake) or additional elevation changes within fairways that reward hitting landing zones.

The course isn't totally refined, but course essentials are all there. First of all, the quality of golf is excellent in terms of tees, fairway maintenance/clearing, and quality baskets placed in good locations. Hole 5 was really the only hole that struck me as being too tight in the final 150' or so approaching the green. Even then, there was a line. Second, navigation is easy. Paths between baskets/tees, with frequent arrows/queues, are very helpful. Tee signs are excellent, with standard maps as well as elevation information. Course flow is excellent. One nice touch was a sign after hole 6 suggesting to continue to holes 16-18 for a shorter, less exhausting 9-hole round.

Relative lack of amenities was the only criticism. E.g. there were almost no benches, which is a significant drawback considering how exhausting the round can be. I also don't recall trash cans. Once leaving the parking lot, make sure you have what you need in terms of snacks and water. What it lacks in these frills, however, it more than makes up for with its excellent tee signs and navigation.

Though there were plenty of memorable holes, I'm hard pressed to pick one or two signatures. #5 was one possibility, with a layup zone near water, then that tight gap to a green elevated not-too-precariously above more water. #9 was another memorable one for its tight gaps and a green with rollaway potential. All holes are aesthetically similar, but the varying shots prevent any boredom from setting in.

The combination of long/short tees with two permanent basket placements is a nice addition. It doesn't add to the course's rating, as I tend to grade these courses by their most challenging layouts. Nevertheless, this sort of two tee & two pin layout is relatively common in this part of the country. This arrangement is growing on me, and would be especially nice for anyone living within striking distance. You could play once or twice every week, and the various configurations would keep it fresh while allowing more casual and more demanding rounds. As an aside, this is part of the reason I played Waller Mill more than New Quarter Park during this visit to Williamsburg, as NQP was set up in its shorter layout.

Rating: This easily makes 4.0 "excellent" for me, based on several plays in May/June 2019. It's the first course I'll return to in the Williamsburg area, even with fewer amenities. With a little polishing, this could approach 4.5 "phenomenal."
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 3
dsswee220
Experience: 6.1 years 4 played 4 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Loved It! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 3, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

My son and I love woods golf.....this course certainly did not disappoint! We vacationed to Williamsburgh and this was the only course we made time to play. Good choice! Excellent elevation changes, tight fairways and challenging putts. To those who complain about the bugs and difficult lines.....cowboy up punks! It's woods golf....you should expect bugs and trees. Afterall, we're in there house when we play outdoors! We enjoyed the natural tees and the overall layout of the course. Great exercise as well!

Cons:

No cons to speak of other than make sure you bring lots of water and a few towels with you! You'll be thirsty and you'll get dirty!

Other Thoughts:

Many thanks to all that are involved with maintaining and making this course possible! You all are rock stars!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 3
blazerico
Experience: 19.1 years 321 played 37 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Wow! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 29, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

First off, I didn't encounter any bugs. Sure there are two tees and two pins per hole, but here that actually means something. The long pins and tees aren't just a few feet apart, they are totally different looks in most cases. I love woods golf and WM delivers. I dubbed it Iron Hill(like the one in DE) of VA, except with more elevation changes, water hazards and tighter lines. Spent a Friday afternoon here and had the place to myself.

Cons:

There are some really tight lines, as in hit that 10 foot gap 200ft away...
Not being able to see the long pin on almost every hole and the short one on a few too.

Other Thoughts:

The people complaining about bugs are a bunch of p***sies.
The tees are natural but compact. Yes there are roots in some of the pads and the course is a work in progress, but it is still better than most courses on the east coast
I suppose the water could be used better, with a couple of water carries to make it more hazardous, but I really hate losing discs so I'm not too mad about that
I'd go to Waller Mill over New Quarter any day
The current rating does it zero justice
Pictures! we need pics of this place to point out the awesomeness.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
erocker
Experience: 12.8 years 25 played 4 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Up and Coming Course! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 16, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

First of all I played this course in the winter, so bugs and ticks were not an issue. Without them this course is so much nicer! I love the variety and elevation changes this course has to offer - up, down, left, right, short and long. Water is nearby enough to factor in several times as well. The tee boxes are currently dirt, often hallowed out boxes in the ground when teeing off of hillsides. The course is very easy to follow even without much signage yet and loops back around to the entrance. This course is entirely wooded, but it is uniquely more open than most woods courses, meaning you don't have to get lucky to score well - just make solid throws and decisions.

Cons:

The biggest con currently is the price - a combined $5 to park and play, and this course is not yet complete so definitely a steep fee. There are no bathrooms on the course besides at the entrance point. As other golfers have stated, beware of bugs in the summer! From the sound of it this course is nearly unbearable in the summer months. The baskets are good, but not great. (No upper band or coloring), but they do have flags like New Quarter.

Other Thoughts:

If you want the woods experience on a professional - feeling course, play Waller Mills in the cooler months of the year. This course is still being completed and will only grow better with time. It stands to be an absolute gem someday.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 4
OJTJ
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Rough one 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 22, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Good combination of long and short holes. Lots of obstacles and elevation changes.

Cons:

We were told there were ants on the 9th pin. What we weren't told was that these things are big enough to tote you. Huge 1/4 to 1/2 inch red ants from pin 9 to the 13th pad. There are tunnels in the path you have to dodge. I can deal with ants but these biting things
own that side of the woods. Once past the ants , the ticks start. You can see them crawling all over you. I pulled over 20 off after I left.

Other Thoughts:

Could be a good course with some upkeep. Nice park with boat rentals and fishing. Use the 2$ and spray for critters. Pour some pads. The course is set up right with some really nice shots but as of now it's not worth the battle to play it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
AZDG69298
Experience: 2 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

On the verge of being Awesome! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 28, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

So I met the course designers/builders at New Quarter Park and they raved about they're new course. After having a cold one at the Virginia Beer Co, I went to play Waller Mill. The cost to get in the park is $2.00 and $2.00 to play. As others have said once they install permanent pads and some better navigation signage (not bad now, just could be better), this course will be a 5 Star! I prefer this style of course over New Quarter, shorter holes (there are long tees) but requires much more technical skills! I threw more mid ranges (Wasp & Buzz) rather than drivers and was able to carve the narrow fairways better. I didn't feel there was a huge penalty if you went off the fairways other than dodging additional trees. There was a nice mix off up hill and down hill shots to keep the interest and the variety of shot choices was much appreciated! Great job on the design and layout of this course, I can see this courses becoming a local favorite and one to add to the "must play" when traveling to this area.

Cons:

The natural tee pads aren't terrible, just will be nice when permanent ones are installed. Better navigation signage will be welcomed as well.
I'm from Arizona so we don't have nasty tick issues...I was a little freaked by pulling 5 of them off of me!! Beware!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
rbnorris32
Experience: 21.1 years 129 played 8 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Next Great! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Feb 8, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Very challenging 18 holes - all wooded. Two tees on every hole and multiple pin placements. Very scenic. Many high risk/reward shots. Requires accuracy and stamina. Easily a +4 rated course once completed.

Cons:

Still not finished. Watch out for stumps. There were a lot of trees cut down recently and a lot of small stumps throughout the fairway.

Other Thoughts:

Course costs $2 to play. Once the course is finished with tee pads and permanent baskets this will be one of my favorite courses. It will definitively be one of the best courses in the region. No trash cans so pack it in and pack it out. Two pins on the original 9.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Curspider
Experience: 18 played 2 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Greatness in the works 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Dec 12, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Amazing variety of shots required.
Water used to good effect, not over used.
Long tees and long baskets add a degree of difficulty each.
Elevation used well, some holes are deceiving due to this.
Definitely a long course but not just a bomber course, accuracy is required.
Very much an exercise in 'Risk vs Reward'.

Cons:

Still in the process of building...
All the current Cons relate to the building process
ie. teepads currently natural, some holes currently don't have second basket... Tee signs missing on several holes.

All of these are very understandable, considering the construction process, and the lack of vehicle access to the course

Other Thoughts:

This course will end up (provided a little TLC) being an absolute gem for the local disc golf community. I can see it in the future as being a course that people travel to come and just play here. Very picturesque in the fall, water and elevation provide great views.

As it gets colder, ticks and chiggers are disappearing.

EDIT// Played this course in its first PDGA tournament on Dec 12th, for a new course the course is in amazing shape when you consider how rough the land used to be here.
This is not a course for beginners, I watched as several people lost discs into the water due to not being experienced. I wouldn't advise playing here after heavy rains at the moment just because of the dirt teepads (temporary).
Once concrete gets poured the designers say there will be two tee pads and two baskets on each hole.

Give it a couple of years and this place will be amazing!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 4
discgolfking
Experience: 9.1 years 1 played 1 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Not Ready Yet 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 21, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

Very nice park with lots of activities.
Tremendous potential.
Wide fairways through the woods.





Cons:

Almost every hole is the same - 200 to 220 feet straight up a chute with or without elevation.
Very hard to navigate no clear paths and inconsistent, temporary signs.
Course too short.
All woods holes.

Other Thoughts:

My son and I played this course in the morning on June 21 in stifling (95 even in the woods) heat. We were pulling ticks off our legs constantly (not the course's fault, but beware). My wife and I found three ticks on us when we returned to the hotel as well. We were charged $3 each, not $2 as listed. The course is no-where near ready and should not be open at this time, much less open and charging for rounds. There is no signage from the registration shack to the first tee, which is about three hundreds yards away in the woods. We wondered around for 15 minutes before locating the first tee. The course has temporary signs on about half the holes, the rest are marked by small white flags in the ground and are hard to find. There are no tee boxes. Some holes have two baskets on them, other holes are not completed. We played holes 1-7, 15, 16, 17, and 18. We could not find the other holes or determine whether they had been constructed. All the holes (except the last 30 feet of one basket) are in the woods. There is elevation which leads to a lot of blind tee shots but all the shots are basically down a chute with a slight bend to the right or left. Most are too short at this point. I'm not a long thrower but I used a putter exclusively on almost every hole. On the positive side, the fairways through the woods are wide and "fair". We still hit a lot of trees however, and that gets old fast when it happens hole after hole. There is a ton of work (signage, tee boxes, variety) to be done before this course can be judged fairly. At this time, it's not worth the entry fee but has plenty of potential. If you're in Williamsburg, visit the New Quarter course instead.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
jkdisc
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.7 years 117 played 110 reviews
3.00 star(s)

unfinished 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 20, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

Right now it's a 9 holer while the last 9 are being finished. Holes 1-6 and 16-18 are available right now. There are 2 baskets and 2 tee areas for each hole. The elevation is used nicely. The temporary tees signs and natural tees are adequate while the details get added later.

Other Pros:
- water comes into play
- variety of elevation, turns, distances
- nice views and clean park
- navigation is easy and a scorecard/ map is given at the check in

Cons:

Most of the cons are based on the unfinished aspects. So I will need to redo this review when it's completed.

Many stumps are spray painted but many are not. I tripped several times.

Other Cons:
-$2 parking and $2 to play an unfinished course
-some distances are long for a wooded course, making it unfriendly for new players

Other Thoughts:

You can see where the next 9 fairways are being cut out. I'm excited to see the finished product because so far it's looking pretty good. My favorite hole was #5, a downhill shot with water lining the end of the fairway near the basket.

**The address listed brought me to a dead end road on the wrong side of the park. The entrance is on Airport Rd.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
BMWRider
Experience: 10.4 years 28 played 2 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Still working on it 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 1, 2015 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

There is some waterside play, the course has a lot of elevation changes for the coastal plains, some beautiful views, challenging holes and 2 tee boxes and two baskets per hole.

Cons:

Still a work in progress so the paths are not there, the signs are temporary and it has a lot of problems you would expect for a course under construction.

Other Thoughts:

Obviously I will update this review when it is done, but I am excited to see another course here on the peninsula. I love that this course is very different from New Quarter and Newport News. While it is nowhere near complete I see a lot of potential. Be sure to wear your walking shoes, this one will be longish when it is done. I look forward to its completion.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 1
DiscinMiller
Experience: 13.9 years 4 played 4 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Work In Progress 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jan 11, 2015 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Two pads and two cages for each hole giving you lots of options. There is a good mix of directions, dogleg lefts, right, straight.

Cons:

Very hilly in places, lots of water, delaveaga type rolls, more than a couple "death putts"

Other Thoughts:

This is a new course being designed and built by the local disc golf club.

The course is open to play, however it is nowhere near being done. There will be a full 18 holes at some point, but for now there are around 12 done. Signage is so so, tee pads are natural still and the fairways need to have many more small stumps brush hogged etc.

the design seems to be good, so in a year or two this may be a decent place to play, some of the locals even think it may be a pro level course. We shall see.

In the meantime, be prepared to pay to play an unfisinhed course. Parking is 3 bucks and it's 2 dollars to play


Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top