• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Greenville, NC

West Meadowbrook Park

Permanent course
3.745(based on 33 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

West Meadowbrook Park reviews

Filter
10 0
lee76007
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 4.8 years 113 played 112 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Navigating the Meadows 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 21, 2021 Played the course:once

Pros:

-A park style course meandering thru open meadows and trees. Some gaps off the tees across open fairways to baskets placed in the woods. With some open tees and basket placements. Some sloping fairways, and one slightly elevated tee.

-Co-Host of the Down East Players Cup with Farmville DGC. Featuring Nathan Queen who on the previous weekend in 2021 won the DGPT Championship. The event seems to be very popular.

-Some holes have two baskets that catch well, a few baskets raised in height. Holes have at least two tee pads, and some have a third called "The All-Star Challenge". The course sometime in the past few years has been realigned to accommodate its current layout. Long and short tees are concrete.

-The "All-Star Challenge" is the most difficult tee when placed as a third tee box or an alternative basket, those tees are a mix of rubber, and one paver tee. The rest share the long tee box. Majority of tee's are shooting out of gaps, and most baskets have tree protection. Solid assortment of par 3's and 4's with a par 5. Distances range from 260 feet to 868 feet.

-Tee signs are recent from the past few years, showing hole number, distance, 1 or 2 baskets, and map. When theirs an "All-Star" tee its in bright orange with distance. But par is not listed. On some holes need to take a good look at the map to remember basket location.

-Very enjoyable walking experience from 1st tee to 18th basket and very scenic.

-Navigation is counter-clockwise and good for the most part but can be iffy in a few spots for a first-time visit.

-Beginners and Recreational should find the short tees very playable. Intermediate and Advanced I recommend the "All-Star Challenge".


Cons:

-Lacks course variety, you're playing strictly meadows golf. However, each hole has its own unique features. Hole 2 has an open fairway and basket placement, but it's boring after you shoot the gap off the tee and hole 3 is just a little better on a blind basket placement. The rest of the way buckle up.

-Access to hole 6 and 7. On hole 6 long tee you're teeing across a road and parking, on a busy day you're going to have to move it to the short tee. #7 All-Star tee the fairway is between a ball field and parking, you may have to move it all the way up to the short tee, and if really busy you may need to skip the hole.

-Ghost fairways. Take a good look at that hole map with the longer holes. Most baskets will be hidden, as you're walking down fairways there are large gaps between large bushy trees to make you think the possibility that's the direction of the fairway. Had to walk up fairway a few times on longer holes.

-It's a beautiful park and on a nice day people could be wandering across fairways. With the possibility of ballgames, I personally would not play here on the weekend.

-Lost disc potential can be high, there is heavy brush and trees in some rough areas.

-Like all other courses in the Greenville area flooding. After heavy rain you may want to wait a few or several days if planning a course bagging trip.



Other Thoughts:

I played the All-Star Challenge, and it was very challenging, but also very doable. My favorite holes were those shooting out of the gap to the fairway or lining myself for approaches to wooded basket placements. I found meadows type golf very scenic and enjoyable! I took a good look at the short tee pad placements and short baskets, and I think any type of player will find the course enjoyable and within reach of a good round.

With the "All-Star Challenge", the scenic walk thru the course, and a very satisfying round of golf my overall rating is anchored on a 5.0. West Meadowbrook is now 1 of 2 courses I give an overall disc rating of 4.0 without favoring it, the other course is Bayville in Virginia Beach. It's just my personal preferences weren't all met and having now played 5 of the 6 courses in the Greenville area, West Meadowbrook would likely be my home course if I lived there. But the unique feature's of each hole gives my overall rating a boost. The time to play also snapping tee sign pictures took 75 minutes.

Notable Holes: All from the All-Star Challenge

No. 4 Par 3 at 349 feet is a straight away hole to basket. From the tee a straight gap of 15-20 feet with heavy trees until open fairway at 55 feet. Need to stay center left, the basket is tucked into the right of the woods at 70 feet remaining distance. The course shifts into gear.

No. 10 Par 4 at 514 feet another straight away hole to basket. Throwing from an open tee to about the 230-foot mark are tree gaps in the fairway, some as small as 20 feet and heavy trees and brush both sides of fairway all along the way until about 70 feet from basket which sits in the open. I would hit two trees along my way to the basket.

No. 11 Par 4 at 558 feet is a tunnel tee shot about 20 feet until about 50 feet out into the open. The fairway meanders right at halfway point and then back left. At the halfway point is ghost fairway to the left, you're looking at the No. 12 fairway coming toward you. At 150 feet from basket back into the woods. You're going to see a new wooden fence, behind it is a mound of dirt about C1 in circumference. The basket sits on top about 7 feet up from fairway, protected by guardian trees, buried in dirt and a tough reach to negotiated. I found the best way to reach basket is a left to right around trees. At first thought it seem the fences may have had a garbage bin behind it, before seeing the elevated basket.

No. 17 Par 3 at 304 feet is an upslope fairway that downslopes a little more than halfway out. At the downslope the fairway doglegs right. At about 120 feet a clump of trees in the middle, you can reach the basket going left around them or going to the right. There is another collection of guardian trees just outside C1 making a difficult basket reach. The basket is on a downslope and just outside C1 a creek. A very difficult basket to reach and blind from the tee. As a lefty I went left and found two trees on my way to the basket.

Signature Hole:

No. 12 Par 5 at 868 feet the all-star tee was in the process of being built when I played it one month before the tournament. Natural when I played it, watching tournament coverage paver stones. The tee has elevation of about 12 feet and is straight away until about 270 feet turning into a dogleg right. Before the dogleg some protruding trees from the left into the fairway at about 150 feet out and narrow of about 70 feet all the way to the dogleg. Very bushy with trees and possible lost disc potential. Straight away for about 380 feet before another dogleg right hooking into the woods towards the basket. This portion of the fairway more open and can hug the wood line on the right to cut down distance. The last two hundred feet on the second dogleg narrows with several guardian trees in the fairway all the way to the basket, the basket is elevated on a knoll. Very scenic hole represents the course very well and intimidating from the tee.

Trouble Hole:
No. 8 Par 4 at 557 feet from the tee is a very narrow tunnel gap about 30 feet wide with several trees to navigate thru. The tunnel is 240 feet and meanders left as you exit to an open fairway. There can be trouble here with tree hits and racking up strokes. In the open fairway it narrows about 200 feet out from basket passing between trees and bushes, and again about 70 feet out. Basket sits within the woods with spacing. From the tee because of the long distance to get out of the tunnel and passing trees the most eye-opening look from the tee on the course. I don't mind saying I got lucky.


Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
takman
Experience: 22.7 years 122 played 25 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Since the start! 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 14, 2017 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Multiple tees on most holes for variety
-Pastoral park that is mostly shady except for the middle back nine
-Great practice area on the front nine for pre-round warm up
-Great coursework by a caring club

Cons:

-Rough can be very rough
-Course can flood with a good deluge
-Tee pads are small but flush
-Tournament has 20 hole layout

Other Thoughts:

Not my favorite course but my favorite event to play. The local club has made the Down East Players Cup one of the best, friendly events to play in NC. They have made good use of the park space and have been challenged with hole changes and landscape needs. They have always stepped up to the plate.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
Bennf
Experience: 19.1 years 2 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Classic semi-wooded park 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 7, 2017 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Blues for almost every hole
-Great diversity of shots for a course with no real elevation element
-Well-kept grass with very little interference on greens from other park goers
-Course isn't hard but isn't a gimmie-train unless you're one of those guys who can shoot 15 down with only a whippet. Great balance for everybody under pro
-Concrete teepads throughout including blues.

Cons:

-Teepads do feel a touch short on some holes
-Overall lack of elevation makes it feel a bit simple occasionally
-I got Lyme disease from a tick here a few years back--bug spray is HIGHLY recommended if playing any warm months into fall. Seriously, Lyme sucks don't get it.

Other Thoughts:

The park itself is on the tar river and has a nice blend of trees and plants. Definitely prettier than most similar-caliber courses. I like that benches are on most holes. Holes also have nice signage for pin position and distance.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
pmay5
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 21.1 years 486 played 248 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Good course, but not the best in town! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 4, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Tee signs on each hole, two concrete tees on almost every hole, baskets are in good shape, but the yellow bands are starting to fade.
Most baskets have a large green around them, very few buried in the trees.
The few truly wooded holes, have the brush beaten down, so no problem finding your disc.
Most holes are in the open, so good chances to let it fly. Seemed to be a good mix of right and left shaped holes.
Moves around two ballfields with very little interaction.

Cons:

All the tee pads are too short, I had to start from behind them.
Lots of trash on the course, mostly due to the adjacent neighborhood, but still detracts from the course.
#8 was underwater and unplayable the day I was there, seems to be common for that hole. #9 tee was also very wet but playable. If #8 was bypassed, would make an even longer walk from 7 to the next tee.
There is a triple mando wooden frame in front of #10 basket, the same #10 that is an elevated basket. So how do you throw 130' under the triple mando then get it to rise to the elevated basket for an possible ace? Can anyone throw an air bounce at 130'? I get the fact they don't want players throwing a big spike hyzer on that hole, but it looks like a double mando would be sufficient.
Most of the holes have clear, open fairways, but if you stray off of those, the rough gets real thick.
Not sure why 13 and 14 have two baskets each. One on each is marked as ALT, and it looks like they are there all the time. Could be confusing, guess you have to decide which one you are playing to when on the tee.

Other Thoughts:

I can tell this course gets a lot of play. There is plenty of room to throw your drives on most holes, with shot shaping trees there for a challenge.
The blue tees provide a real challenge, mostly from the added distance, but also some different looks.
It was a good idea to add two extra holes, 7A and 18A. 7A is not playable if a ball game is on (which it was on the day I played) and 18A may not be playable due to the playground, but 18A served as a good substitute for the underwater #8.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
reposado
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13 years 278 played 276 reviews
2.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 3, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Fun course that should satisfy disc golf cravings on a daily basis. I'd categorize the course as park style and is mostly open with pockets of woods and brush that define that fairways and force almost every teeshot to be on a specific line for the basket to be reached. The actual fairway typically gives a lot of room to move the disc and flex it through open space. The course is flat but you will still have to throw pretty much everything in your arsenal as no two holes really use the same line.
For the most part easy to navigate and easy to play, West Meadowbrook aims for the intermediate player and really nailed the correct difficulty level.

Cons:

Totally flat and without real holes of interest, this isn't a course that should be sought out as a destination. Everyday course sure, but not the best course in town that needs to be experienced by travelling players. A few days post playing I'm struggling to think of what I really liked about. Don't get me wrong, it is a solid course, but the things that stand out are the negatives.
The course holds water. Hole 8 was completely underwater. I guess they found a replacement hole, but how to play the extra hole was not clear out there. Not a huge deal, just a single hole loss, but 8 looked like a fun one and the replacement hole seemed bleh. Other courses had wet fairways where other courses intown seemed dry at the time.
It also needs some pruning, especially in the tee areas. This isn't brush that is forcing your line. This is brush that is hanging over your head while standing on the tee or creeping on the back of the tee cancelling any run up. Not great.

Other Thoughts:

Great example of a 2.75. Probably a 3.0 in better conditions and 2.5 in worse conditions. A little work, especially trimming around the tee areas, could make it a 3.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
anhyzer09
Experience: 7 played 7 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Worthy of Multiple Plays 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 16, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Multiple tee pads on every hole, some having up to four. 20 holes is fun. Course is much more difficult from blues than reds. It's a great course to go work on your different throws. There is a little bit of everything as far as backhand, forehand, overhand and even a roller or two. It's a fun, quick round from whites and requires some really nice shots from blues.

Well maintained and never really gets out of hand with bushes or weeds.

Cons:

Tee pads could be longer. Other than that, I think they did a great job with the space and maximizing it's potential. Only one hole feels out of place, which isn't really bad considering some courses can feel like 5 or more were just thrown in there.

Other Thoughts:

Very excited about 8 & 9 being moved. Love the current layout, but with the move, they should be more playable in all weather conditions and new holes are always great!

Down East Players Cup is a must play B tier on this course every year!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
Balzac
Experience: 22.2 years 94 played 13 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Mixed Bag 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 15, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Nice mixed of wooded holes and open shots
- Two tee pads for each hole
- Plenty of benches
- Neat mando on hole 10

Cons:

- Holes 8 and 9 (8 especially) tend to stay very muddy for along time after rain - can be bad enough that 8 is unplayable
- Small tee pads
- Could use a little better signage to help newcomers navigate the course, such as from hole 7 to 8
-A few holes are relatively close to playground and baseball fields, so need to use caution when playing on weekends especially
- No water hazards but there is some thick brush in which you could easily lose a disc

Other Thoughts:

Overall this is a nice but not spectacular course through mature woods. It feels very different than the ECU course, and I waiver back and forth which I like better. They are pretty close to each other as well so if you are visiting Greenville and have the time you should check out both.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 2
KenanFlagler01
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.2 years 198 played 192 reviews
2.50 star(s)

A different view 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 3, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

I'm not usually that out of whack with the rest of the crowd, but on this course, I am. It's a decent enough course, but no way would I say it's a high 3's, almost 4.0 course. There have not been many reviews in the last 2 years, so I'm wondering if the course has fallen on hard times. Regardless, as I played the course on March 3, 2016, I thought it was average, a 2.5 level course, and here's why:

PROS

1. Most of the course is very open. If you like this style of course, and being able to watch the flight of the disc on every hole, you will like West Meadowbrook.

2. Navigation was very simple with good signage and short walks from basket to the next tee.

3. The white and blue tees plus alt basket placements make for numerous approaches to each hole.

4. The man-made tunnel mando, where you have to throw through a square made of 2'x4's on your approach to a raised basket, is very unique.

5. No risk of disc loss here. It's very open and the rough didn't appear to be that bad.

Cons:

1. I played the white tees and they were way too small. No way to do your approach on the pad only. You have to start several feet back and finish on the pad, which I hate. The blue tees didn't appear to be any better.

2. Again, I played the white tees. In my opinion, these should be red tees. I shot under par and it was my first and only time playing the course. That NEVER happens for me on a white-level course. It's kind of a nitpick, but I think a more accurate assessment of this course would be to change the white tees to red and change the blue tees to white. If you're looking for an exceptionally challenging course, West Meadowbrook isn't that. It's a fun course, don't get me wrong, but not one that's going to really test the limits of your ability.

3. Hole 8 was completely under standing water: the tee, the fairway, and the basket. Totally unplayable. And the #9 tee was also under water.

4. I do enjoy open courses, so I thought I would like this one more, but there isn't a signature hole that really stood out to me. It's pretty repetitive.

5. The course and the area were not aesthetically pleasing. One of the things I like most about open style courses, at least the good ones, is that the grass is manicured, the scenery is nice, and it feels like you're on a ball golf course. West Meadowbrook is well maintained, but it's not much to look at.

Other Thoughts:

I don't mean to be overly critical of this course. I'm probably coming across that way because I'm saying it's average while others have rated it "very good" to "excellent." It's not that, but it's definitely worth playing if you're in Greenville. It's convenient to downtown and ECU, it's well-maintained, it's easy to navigate, even if you've never played it before. But is it a "destination course" worthy of a 3.9 rating? Not in my book.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
Upshawt1979
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 21.1 years 551 played 429 reviews
3.50 star(s)

More Meadow than Brook 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 2, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

West Meadowbrook Park was a solid course, and a good chance to regain some form and confidence after getting beaten down by some heavily wooded and often hilly North Carolina terrain earlier in the weekend. This course is flat but not entirely wide open. If you nail the drives, you should get birdie opportunities. If you miss slightly, you will probably still have a decent shot to at least save par. The layout is generally pretty logical, but I consulted the map I printed once or twice. Dual tees were all concrete, signage was posted at the red tees, and the baskets were all in nice shape. One extra hole thrown in between the baseball diamonds next to hole 7 and 8. I liked the placement of the holes around the clusters of trees and brush. You can get hung up in some heavy rough if you shank one, and there are a variety of lefts and rights, and some high and low lines. Given the landscape, the course designers did a great job.

Cons:

There is a lot of open, grassy fairway, sunscreen may be advisable if you're prone to burn. Kind of a lot of litter on the ground. It looked like a few spots get pretty muddy after rainfall.

Other Thoughts:

I thought West Meadowbrook Park was enjoyable, and would say it's worth playing if you're in the area. Not a 5 star, knock-out, must play, but fun and well equipped. My first and only round from the blue tees resulted in a 59, and I chumped out a couple of easy putts. I would say par would be 55 with a 611' hole 15, although the scorecard I printed called it a straight par 54. Anyway par is no dream here, even on the first visit. Sort of similar to Zebulon, but flatter, not quite as woodsy, and not nearly as clean and pristine.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 6
bigmikegervasi
Experience: 17.8 years 41 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Meadowbrook 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 18, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great technical shots.
Not to many long holes.
Great for forearm and back hand.

Cons:

Lots of trash on the course!
Restroom hard to find.
Wish hole 9 was close to holes 1.

Other Thoughts:

Over all a great course. My favorite in Greenville.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 6
Rmldchi
Experience: 6 played 6 reviews
4.00 star(s)

ecudg 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 7, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Very good flow. You always know its a great course when all the hippies show up. White and blue tee boxes are set up for two different experiences.

Cons:

Holes 2, 3 and 4 can't be played if a group is playing soccer. Summer time the wooded areas are filled with thorns and poison ivy. But noting negative with the course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 1
New013
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.9 years 179 played 120 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Mixed Feelings 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 31, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Layout: This is one of those courses that has a lot going for it but then has all these little issues that kinda drag it down.

Overall it's a well balanced course that'll make you work the disc over varying lengths. There's an okay mixture of hole types. Most of the course is wider fairway to open although there are some pretty technical defined fairway shots.

There's two sets of tees (I only played the longs) and some holes have an alternate pin.

There's one true par 4 which is a great hole and some of the long pad to long pin holes pretty much play out as par 4's for most people.

The course does a good job of setting up solid tee and basket locations to give the more open holes some variety and difficulty. You often have to work the disc to hit a gap early or late.

I like the layout of the course overall given what is there. It flows pretty well and is reasonably intuitive.

Equipment - Older tee signs with basic hole layouts and distance shown. Benches on most holes. Baskets are aging but seemed to catch well.

Atmosphere - The park looks like it could be gorgeous and in some ways it still is. There's a few really nice looking holes. You do get a pretty secluded feeling in the back part of the course.

Cons:

Layout - I don't have any huge problems with the layout. There's some uninspiring holes mixed in. Some holes that seem a bit overbearing mixed in with some that are to easy. The blues don't seem to be designed with one skill level in mind; although the alternate pins may have something to do with that.

A huge problem I see with this course is that where there are trees/woodlines it's complete jail full of briar, vines and little skinny trees. I can see a huge lost disc potential out there. In some cases this stuff is within the circle, certainly not something I'm a fan of.

Some of the holes seemed to be in a real tweener distance for most people, creating par 4's for those who don't have the length and skill to hit shots over 350'.

The course is flat, always a con in my book.

Equipment - The pads are mostly concrete (some are rubber) but small and often sandy. I think the signs need an updating.

Atmosphere - The course is not in the best part of town, I'm not saying to be scared but to be cautious and observant. We think we also ran in to an undercover who may or may not have had a fake beard.

It's one of those parks that you think man if they just put some love in it would be so beautiful. Like I said the wooded areas are being overgrown with vines and briars plus there is trash and glass everywhere.

This rundown element to the park is bad enough that I'm taking off points for it; and I haven't even gotten to the bugs yet. The bugs aren't part of the score but they're bad.

Other Thoughts:

I was kind of let down by this course considering it's rating. It was my 100th course played and wish I would of hit 100 somewhere else.

Beyond that though I think the layout is well done and is still a good course that you should play at least once to see for yourself.

For me it's a 3.25 and I'm rounding down due to the cons I mentioned.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
DaileyL10
Experience: 6 played 1 reviews
4.50 star(s)

One of my favorites 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 10, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The course has a great variety of shots, tees, and pin locations that keeps you interested even after many rounds. The shot distances from hole to hole are well balanced, back 9 has a little bit more distance. The course is fairly close to downtown, great place to play a casual round with friends or a quick solo playthrough. Nice practice basket at the beginning as well.

Cons:

Course has hardly any elevation change, only holes with change are 16 and 17, both are downhill. In the summer months vegetation can get ridiculous, especially on 11/12 and 15. Lost a few discs on separate occasions so try to throw highly visible colors.

Other Thoughts:

The course is on the edge of the ghetto, but there's not too much action so it's not a big deal. The course is beautiful Spring-Fall.

There are actually 20 holes, 15 Alt tees are hard left after finishing 14, basket between two trees in the direction of hole 6 basket. Hole 19 tees are by the playground right of Hole 18 fairway. Turn around after 18 and you should see a pad at the front left corner of the playground, Blue tee is on far side.

Much prefer to the new ECU course because the distance at WMP is much more manageable to a developing player like me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
Roc'n that Wolf
Experience: 24.5 years 2 played 2 reviews
3.50 star(s)

My home away from home 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 13, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-multiple tee pads on every hole.
-20 permanent holes.
-multiple line options on a lot of holes.
-three permanent tee pads on hole 8.
-four, yes 4!, permanent tee pads on hole 10
-tee signs on ever hole.
-two permanent baskets on hole 13.
-plenty of trash cans.
-good use of the land with holes varying in length and difficulty.

Cons:

-pretty much assume the bathroom is never going to be unlocked.
-holes 2 and 3 become a soccer field in the afternoons.
-other than a large ditch behind the far pin placement on 17, no water comes in to play.

Other Thoughts:

I love this course. It has something for every skill-level. The local club seems to always be on the course trying to make it look better. It is a great course to play if you are in North Carolina.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 3
siknastyinstalr
Experience: 12.2 years 35 played 3 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Gem to Play 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 23, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Excellent course to play...plays well for any type of player...multiple tee pads and pin locations to keep the course new every time.

Cons:

This is a sports complex so soccer games can be in play while teeing off on hole #2. Baseball field can be a factor of distraction while on holes #5, 7, 9, 11, 12.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Dr. Bret Wickstrom
Experience: 11.6 years 3 played 3 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Dimond in the rough 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 20, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Wonderful place to play. Very well kept holes. Challenging but not ridiculous. Gives you a great balance for left or right handed. Many of the holes will even have a cleared path for both right or left handed players. Very difficult to lose a disc. There are some good holes to really grip and rip but a also a few that have some fun tights shots through some trees. Great overall variety that makes the course fun every time we come here.

Cons:

The location is a bit ghetto but everyone at the park thus far has been super nice. It has been a touch crowded (although I hesitate to use that word because it wasn't bad) on a Saturday. The only problem we had was there was a group playing soccer in the field where the first few wholes are. They were very nice and we just skipped one whole. Not at all a major problem.

Other Thoughts:

There are doing some construction right now so you do have a few more "hazards" in the form of bulldozers and erosion fences. But they are easy to avoid or step over (the fences not the bulldozers, you can't step over them). I'm not sure what they are building but I think it is a bike path. Hopefully and likely I believe this will add to and cause any decrease in the quality of the park. We'll see. Hopefully they'll be done by spring when it warms up.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
11abush11
Experience: 14.3 years 82 played 12 reviews
4.00 star(s)

East bound and down! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 21, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-Two sets of concrete with signs.
-Multiple basket locations
-Variety of left and right; tight and open
-Very clean
-More parks near by
-The club puts on a great tournament...very accommodating.
-Risk reward

Cons:

-Could use a little more distance on some of the whites and blues (more in the 300' ft-400ft range)
-Couldn't find a restroom.

Other Thoughts:

-Loved the clown's mouth, sweet little hole.
-A & B holes during tournaments give it a 20 hole layout.
If your East bound and down check this gem out!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
gvdg jake
Experience: 14.5 years 73 played 12 reviews
4.50 star(s)

course update 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 24, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

tons of lines on all holes, multiple pin locations and different tee pads. some holes have up to 4 pin locations and 3 tee pads

Cons:

we need more players to help keep course clean and the sad thing is almost every hole has a trash can at it!?!?!

some afternoons they have 2-3 baseball teams practicing so it can get destracting

Other Thoughts:

as of 7-24-12 they have a new pad installed on #8 which is between the whites and blues. this pad is painted purple. also #17 is currently in the process of being cleaned out and having a 2nd location for the cage which is soon to be in the woods behind the old location.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
MatthewPoole
Experience: 13.8 years 6 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

West Meadowbrook Park 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 7, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Challenging course. Variety of hole difficulties. Challenging tee shots and multiple doglegs to get around. This course will test your skills.

Cons:

Crowded most of the times I have played. Sometimes the baseball games on Saturday mornings can be distracting.

Other Thoughts:

Challenging course. Even if you have played for multiple years like a friend of mine, there are some parts of this course that will get you.. I have only been playing for about 8 months now, but this has slowly become my favorite course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 4
MulliganMike
Experience: 19.1 years 6 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

West Meadowbrook Park 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 29, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Wide variety of challenging holes. Multiple pin and tee locations. Two practice pins.

Cons:

Trash everywhere. Lately there's been construction right in the middle of hole 10. Some holes partial to flooding when there's heavy rain.

Other Thoughts:

I've been playing this course since I moved to Greenville almost a year ago and it's been improving. Even with multiple trash bins, there is still alot of trash around which is ridiculous. Some efforts have been made to clean it up, and many of the holes are sponsored by local businesses. Overall, a challenging course that is both fun and enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top