• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Saginaw, TX

Willow Creek Park

Permanent course
1.95(based on 15 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Willow Creek Park reviews

Filter
10 0
WD09
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 19.9 years 679 played 73 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Old, Flat, Dangerous 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 1, 2021 Played the course:once

Pros:

8 DGA baskets

Trees in play on a few holes that add interest.

Navigation makes sense (I found my way around successfully without signage).

Good open spaces to do field work.

Cons:

The baskets are old and not in great shape. The basket for hole one is missing. Two other baskets are surrounded by high weeds and marshy ground around the creek. (I think the parks dept. probably changed their policy on maintaining riparian zones since the course was built, but didn't move the baskets.)

The only tee markings are short wooden posts and some are missing.

Concrete tee pads that appear to have the same amount of concrete as an average pad, but are wider and shorter, so they are almost square. I take only a short run-up and I had to start on the ground behind the pad.

Several of the holes are just throws in an open field. A few others are throws in an open field to a basket that is next to a single tree.

I played on a hot day and there was very little shade to come by. I think I was only ever in the shade near the baskets of holes 6 and 7.

The hyzer line for hole 9 throws directly over a playground and then over a sidewalk. The low, straight line for that hole passes within the 10-meter circle for hole 2 (but is blind to that basket) and then crosses that sidewalk.

There are several creek crossings in the middle of holes (holes 4, 5, and 6) that do not add any danger for your score (they are each around 100' from the tee), but add danger in that you must look for a safe way to cross the creek.

Other Thoughts:

I would categorize this course as a practice or teach new players-only kind of course. The baskets are old, the course is not well-marked, and several holes present danger for either the player or other park-goers.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
aclay
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 39.8 years 327 played 254 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Willow Creek 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 18, 2020 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-- Good variety of distances. Two holes are longer than 300 feet and another two are longer than 290.The other five holes are 220-250.
-- Never busy (at least the disc golf course).
-- Creek adds some challenge.
-- Restrooms on site (although they were locked during our COVID-era visit).

Cons:

-- Playground near holes 1/9 could create safety hazards.
-- Mostly wide open. Wind has been awful every time I've played here. And there are only a few trees.
-- There are no good places to cross the creek, which is required a couple of times.

Other Thoughts:

-- This is a boring layout. Given the land, there's not much else to do.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 3
JVG333
Experience: 10.2 years 11 played 2 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Grest spot to practice if near by 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 26, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great little course to get some throws in if you are in Saginaw or lake counry, lake worth area.. Also a great course to get a few in with the kids... Low traffic... Convenient if In that area. And great for practice or just a fun family time with the better half and kids..

Cons:

Tees and some baskets are not marked well....

Other Thoughts:

Love playing here cause it means I'm with people I love!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 1
Len Averyt
Experience: 10.8 years 45 played 5 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Played once, probably never again 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 12, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Too Simple of a course. Good basic beginner

Cons:

No real obstacles or hazards other than your disc flying into a backyard. Not easy to get across the stream running down the center

Other Thoughts:

Hole 6 or 7 was on the ground. LOL
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
cbrd
Experience: 11.1 years 28 played 5 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Ok for beginners/new disc testing 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 24, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- Unless you shank one into a yard, you will not lose a disc
- This course plays easy and has many birdie opportunities
- Good for beginning players or if you are trying to learn a new disc

Cons:

- #1 has a playground that's not only in play, but is kid-hazardous. If you're a RHBH, beware.
- If you play after it has rained, bring your waders. It gets very muddy.
- There are lots of runners/kids riding bikes/etc.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 2
Discengineer
Experience: 14.5 years 70 played 10 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Not Bad and good layout 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 21, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Well I made an Aerial View of the Course to help you out But it is Marked and has a very good layout. Most of the holes are short Par 2 but still has a good mix up of throws. Very Clean was well mowed when we went and creek is pretty dry

Other Thoughts:

Not bad only hole 8 basket is a little bent up prob from kids. Baskets are pretty good
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
TxDiscGolfBoy
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 18.1 years 34 played 33 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Willow Creek Park Rundown!!! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 26, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

-T-pads for every hole
-Pads are marked with small posts stamped with hole #. (Almost every hole if I remember correctly)
-Easy to navigate
-Spotty trees
-Looks like the course stays well groomed
-Some hazards (fences, streets, and small drainage creek)
-Short and long holes

Cons:

-#1 does sort of shoot over the playground, atleast close to it. Watch for children.
-Pretty bland with regards to obsticle (trees, shrubs, water)
-Heard this one gets pretty boggy after a rain in the low lying small creek.

Other Thoughts:

Nothing out of the ordinary for a simple, average 9-holer.

Good 9-holer to accompany North Park, Arcadia, Saddle Hills, Eagle Ranch, or any of the courses in N-NW Fort Worth.

Great little course to practice your midrange game on, especially the windy midrange game. Wide open. Bring just a midrange and a putter and one could have some fun out here. Every hole ; very ace-able.

Would be a nice course for someone to learn the sport on.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
dreadlock86
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 17.2 years 388 played 318 reviews
2.00 star(s)

ehhh.... 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Mar 15, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

-good variety of distances
-not busy (with discers anyway)
-good for practicing distance drives, a handful of open bombers
-good for practicing playing in the wind
-creek adds some challenge, OB

Cons:

-location ensures poor conditions, wet and marshy
-playground near hole 1, may be people/kids walking around near holes 1, 2, 9
-mostly wide open, only a few trees and some minor elevation changes to spice things up
-no good places to cross the creek on hole 4

Other Thoughts:

A pretty simple, mostly open park course. It works if you live nearby but it's not worth going out of the way. Boring for an experienced player but some of the long holes and the creek are problematic for beginners too. Plus, it will be a swamp if it has rained at all recently. The fairway on hole 5 was literally underwater when I played and it hadn't rained in days.

Probably a much better experience in the dry season but still not much to offer, especially with the first and last holes being so close to the playground.

**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
Cyrus333
Experience: 18.4 years 33 played 4 reviews
0.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 14, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Its less than a mile from my home. Almost never anyone there during the week. I don't have to worry about losing discs. It's about good for a warm up, thats all.

Cons:

Zero challenge. It is located on a flood overflow area, if it rains, no play. No trees to block the wind. Playground in play hole 1

Other Thoughts:

The course over is a victim of its own design. Located on a flood plain area, the slightest bit of precicpitation and prepare to have wet socks. No wind breaks to ease the Texas gusts.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
McLeod
Experience: 22.7 years 86 played 17 reviews
2.00 star(s)

No Challenge, Just Practice 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 16, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Private, the entire course is your to do as you please.
Good place to practice approach shots and ace runs.
Beginner friendly.
Plays quick.

Cons:

Way too short to get excited about.
Lack of trees.
Marsh in play on most holes.
Jogging path in play.

Other Thoughts:

When I played last it was technically too muddy too play, but I wasn't going to let that stop me. I slipped on the knee high rubber boots and turned my nose up at the ponds that had formed under the baskets. For a putt and approach course, this course is fine, but I really only played it because I was working in the area for a few days.

If you lived in the area and wanted a challenge, I would imagine you could play from any tee pad and just shoot to a longer basket. There's not going to be anyone else out there to get in your way, so why not.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
strain
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.1 years 42 played 40 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Lonely Course! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Nov 4, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-Decent concrete tee pads
-Decent DGA baskets
-Plenty of trash cans and benches near most holes
-Red post with hole number on it
-Beginner friendly
-Short and easy
-Plenty of parking
-Good practice course
-Hole numbers on some baskets
-You have the whole course to yourself

Cons:

-Very muddy after a good rain
-Can be hard to navigate
-Picnic bench on hole #1 fairway with people sitting there
-Lots of park users, most don't have a clue that there is a disc golf course there

Other Thoughts:

You might want to wait until it hasn't rained in a while. The ground was so saturated, I couldn't even play a whole round. It is a swamp.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
cc0049
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 21.2 years 168 played 56 reviews
2.00 star(s)

So-so course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 18, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This course is located in a nice little park that is well maintained. Concrete tee pads with good quality baskets to shoot at.

Cons:

There a couple of marshy areas with tall reeds that you could lose a disc in. You will occasionally have to pause your game for pedestrians and kids playing, etc, but not for other players as this is not a very popular course. Only 9 holes and not very scenic or exciting to play. The wind is a factor here as the whole course is wide open and flat.

Other Thoughts:

This is strictly a practice course for locals and not a weekend event course. Do not drive far to play here or you will be disapointed.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Joshua1972
Experience: 16 years 15 played 15 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Fun little Par 3 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 7, 2008 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Nicely maintained park, very clean. Good tee pads, most of the baskets are in good shape. No chance of losing a disk on this course unless you do something silly, like forget to pick up your driver when you throw your 2nd shot...

Cons:

The first tee shot is right along a kids playground. Depending on the time of day/year you may have to be very careful with your drive. A couple holes throw near a semi-busy road, again you need to be careful with your drives. Also a couple holes have a sidewalk that comes into play so be mindful of pedestrians using the park. A creek also comes into play, in most cases its small enough to jump over. But if there has been signifigant recent precip this could be a soggy course to play.

Other Thoughts:

All in all a nice course. I will definately play it again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
14 0
Donovan
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 37.3 years 302 played 188 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Aces Anyone? 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jan 19, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This course is a Par 3, 9 Holer. It has baskets with chains and cement tees marked by little red stakes. Many of these holes can be reached in one, There is one hole with the basket around a tree that makes it fun challenge. It is a very simple layout through a public park. This is a good place to go if you are a beginner or if you want to see how accurate your tee shot really is.

Cons:

If there has been a good rain, some of the course can get flooded. It can make getting from the tee to the basket very tricky. There was lots of standing water and creeks to walk around or jump over. A couple of holes did not have a convienent way of getting to the next hole without some backtracking or creative treking, but most of them were fine. Only part I was truly not happy with is one of the holes makes you throw over a the edge of playground area. I would hate to see a kid get hit with a disc. It is not likely to happen as it is just the edge of it, but if your shot gets too far away from you it could happen.

Other Thoughts:

There is just a fair Fun Factor at this little course. I have to admit; it was fun seeing how close your tee shot could get to the basket. This might be a good place to fine-tune your drive. I will probably play this course again in the future. As I said above, not a big challenge but it was ok for something different.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 4
gravedigger
Experience: 16.1 years 55 played 40 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Not too interesting 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 16, 2008 Played the course:never

Pros:

Lots of ace attempts. Quiet, well kept park.

Cons:

Was pretty wet when I played. You can throw about the same throw everytime. Very little variation in the course.

Other Thoughts:

Just a neighborhood park. Kudos for putting a course in.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top