Buffalo Grove, IL

Willow Stream Park

Permanent course
2.235(based on 41 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Willow Stream Park reviews

Filter
4 0
smyith
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.4 years 210 played 68 reviews
2.00 star(s)

A few minor changes would make a big difference 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 4, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

- Great! cement teepads.
- Good tee signs
- Hole 1 and 9 are good holes.
- Well manicured
- Play when windy if you want it to be somewhat challenging
- Descent attempt to put in a course.
- Good for beginners

Cons:

- SOCCER!!!!!!
- Too easy!
- I would say par is more realistically 48-50
- Needs better pin placement and a couple moves of the tee pads - see below
- There is way too much going on in this park. My guess would be morning to early afternoon weekdays would be best for playing
- The woods in the center of the course were not used at all
- Not a repeatable course, i will only play this once a year when the doubles tournament is held.

Other Thoughts:

The designer of the course tried to put in a nice course, he really did (i think). There is alot of limitations to what could be put in, from walkers and bike riders on the path to the hordes of soccer families clueless as can be.
A intermediate player should easily shot a -4 to -8 first time through. Play it through twice and forget about it. Even when the wind is super strong its not much of a challenge.
Here is what i think could be done to make it a much better course:
-Move hole #2's basket to the other side of the ravine to the right just inside the treeline (obviously clear a green area.
- With #2's basket move you can bring #3's tee further back and to the left. Or leave #3's tee and make #4's basket the pin for #3.
- Take out #4
- move #6 tee pad much further back by the intersection of the bike path.
- With #4 gone now you add a wooded hole through those wonderful woods. Very easy to find discs
- #7 move the pin about 50-100' to the right and longer into the woods.
- **not necessary** Move #8's basket a little further closer to the pine trees
- **not necessary** #9 would be really sweet if the tee pad was about 50ft further back

Favorite hole #1 - Hole 1 is a bit deceiving. When you look at this 390ft uphill drive into a light patch of trees, you think your about to play a sweet course. Especially when you consider looking at hole #9 behind you. The basket on 1 is at the crest of the hill protected by 2 trees. There is a tree directly behind and to the right that acts as a backstop. The pine trees short and to the left will also catch shots, leaving a descent putt.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
donnie
Experience: 20.4 years 14 played 12 reviews
1.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 10, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

A very fun course to play with friends, as you can play closest to the pin on nearly all the holes, while a few holes offer some difficult shots. The first 2 holes are well designed, but tricked me into believeing that this course would be worth playing. One or two holes you can air it out on, and this does add to the fun factor

Cons:

Extremely easy, and many short holes. Confusing to find the first tee if you don't know where you are going. Not much diversity between holes. There are a lot of short holes
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 3
chestdisc
Experience: 10 played 5 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Good practice 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 9, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Huge concrete tee pads
- Good signage
- Course is very easy to navigate
- Good distance variety
- Some decent elevation on holes 1-2.
- Baskets are numbered on top and are in good shape.
- Some mature trees as obstacles.

Cons:

- Repetitive
- Younger players to the game seem to lack proper disc golf etiquette.
- Large groups crowd the area.

Other Thoughts:

Park at the parking lot by hole 1 and 9 for less walking.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
notapro
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.6 years 568 played 281 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Beginner/Intermediate Course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 17, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- Some elevation change on first 3 holes. 1st hole is 400'+ up a hill, which makes it tough to get a 2, or a 3 for some people (including me). Second hole slightly downhill, with a blind basket, and a depression to punish shots that go too far right. Third shot a short downhill shot.
- Two holes over 400' to satisfy the bigger arms
- Shorter holes still require some thought, only one has straight line to basket. Requires minor line shaping, nothing crazy.
- Excellent tee pads, signs, and baskets are OK too.
- Almost always windy, which helps add to the difficulty.

Cons:

- Packed packed packed. Groups of 8 almost guaranteed. People are always on the walking path, at all times. Soccer spilloff, occasional cross country meet, there is always something to ruin an afternoon.
- People on the walking path probably know more about the game than most people with discs on this course.
- Watch your back on almost all teepads, even a good shot can seem to head towards the next tee. Especially true on Tees 2, 3, 5, 7, 8.
- Kids used to steal discs, but I think the recent removal of a big chunk of the forest has cut this down a bit.

Other Thoughts:

This course is very Jekyll and Hyde. You can go on a windy day, and fight your way to make par. You can go on a calm day, and get 2's on all seven holes under 400'. Sometimes there is nobody there, sometimes there are 20 people waiting to tee off.

I want to rate this course higher, but the cons just pile up too quickly. If it was in the middle of nowhere, I think it would be better received. Whenever I am off of work at odd times, I always try to fit a round in when nobody is around.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Jax11
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.7 years 103 played 35 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Wide Open 9 Holer 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 2, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Huge concrete tee pads
- Good signage
- Course is very easy to navigate
- Good distance variety
- Some decent elevation on holes 1-2.
- Baskets are numbered on top and are in good shape.
- Some mature trees as obstacles.
- Strong winds (may be a con for some)

Cons:

- Not very difficult.
- Some holes are repetitive (4,6,7)
- Multi -use park. Crowded with walkers, park district sports etc.
- Many younger players to the game seem to lack proper disc golf etiquette.
- Large groups (I have seen 8 before) back up the course.
- Strong winds (may be a pro for some)

Other Thoughts:

Overall a nice 9 hole course. I consider this my home course and have played it many times. Often times the biggest challenge is the wind. It gets very frustrating to see your disc get up and "walk" in the wind for 20+ feet. If you come on a weeknight expect to wait on other golfers and other park users. Some park users seem to have no idea that it is a disc golf course. Also good to note on hole #7 that local league play has a mando to the left of the big tree over the path. League play also utilizes two sets of alternates that make the course a little more interesting. A local league guy can likely help you around the alternates.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
steven2361
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.8 years 286 played 53 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Nice Beginner Cource 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 15, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Great big Concrete Tee Pads

Very Nice Signs

A few holes to break out the drivers (1,8)

Good distance variety 195'-420'

Very nice park

Some good elevation:
1: Big Uphill drive
2: Rolling hills with blind basket because land ultimately slopes down and steep trecherous green
3: Nice little downhill putter shot with many plants around basket

Easy to navigate

Great family course

Cons:

Gets very crowded and backed up

Too many duece or die holes in between 190 and 300. Overall the course is not very chalenging at all for expirienced players.

4-9 are pretty much flat

Boring holes: 4,6,7

Some baskets and tees are too close together. 2tee is too near 1 basket, 2 basket way too near 3 tee (and its a blind shot over the hill so you cant even tell where they are), and so on...


Other Thoughts:

A very nice 9 holer if you're in the area
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Papa T
Experience: 16.9 years 8 played 4 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Great for Beginners 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 20, 2008 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Like i said in the title, this course is great for beginners. The holes are relatively short, making it ideal for practicing short/approach style shots.

Tee Pads and Baskets are in great shape. And the landscaping is very well kept.

Cons:

Only nine holes, and quite short. The course encircles a small "forest". This makes just about every hole look the same. Right forehanders or left backhanders would have a very easy time.

There are little to no real obstacles, other than the "forest" if control is lossed on the throw.

Other Thoughts:

I would recommend this course to all players who are looking to improve their short game. The course is set in a beautiful park right in the heart of the town.

The problem with this area is that there just aren't all that many quality courses. I have played this more than a few times because, when I lived in the area, it was the best course around, atleast to my knowledge.

Its not challenging, but its great for whats available.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
rosh
Experience: 4 played 4 reviews
2.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 4, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Easy going course, few hazards, easy to navigate with the worlds largest tee pads. Decent mix of hole lengths, but only a couple that are even remotely long.

Cons:

Not challenging, can be slow going on Friday and Saturday evenings when there is tendency for large groups to play together who are relatively clueless

Other Thoughts:

The course has gone through some significant changes. Spring 2015 they re-worked the course and some things are better, some worse. Holes 1 to 3 are the same, but 4 and 5 are totally new, and probably adds a little length over the previous 4 and 5. The path than ran near 6 to 8 has been moved, and is no longer a concern. 8 has changed twice in the last few weeks, but the last change was to give it back most of the length it originally had. 9 is a new hole, which is too bad, since the old 9 was one of the few challenging holes as far as trees, but now that area is a parking lot. 9 has also changed twice in the last few weeks, since the first time they seemed to set it up backwards, and have now flipped tee pad and basket.


This is my 'home course' and I play it quite frequently since it is just a mile from my house. You can play two rounds of 9 in about 45 minutes, so works well for a quick round after work. The paths others have talked about are rarely a big issue, most rounds I rarely have to stop play to wait for pedestrians to get walk by. Bigger issue is large slow moving groups, but you typically only see those in the very late afternoon. Often the are oblivious and won't give you an opportunity to pass (so, if playing in afternoons, plan to play multiple discs on each hole). Mornings on weekends and during most days the course is quite empty. A couple of times a year on weekends they close off part of the course due to soccer tournaments.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
harr0140
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 15.2 years 1508 played 475 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Average 9 holer 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 16, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

1) Nice concrete tee pads (ridiculous how big they are!!!!) I played with Doktor John and I agree with his assessment "There must have been a sale on concrete!!!!!"

2) Nice park with lots of other activities and plenty of room. A pool and athletic fields, basketball and other activities including a lot of walkable sidewalks.

3) Nice changes in distance. Ranges from 195' to 420'. It is nice to see a course vary their distances so much allowing for different discs to be thrown.

4) Course is very beginner friendly because it is open with almost no place to lose a disc.

5) Gravel around the baskets help mark your target and also keeps the dirt down from compaction.

6) Although there isn;t a lot of elevation changes it does use the hills as well as it can. #1 goes up the hill, #2 goes up and over the crest of a hill. #3 goes back downhill slightly to a protected basket.

7) Nice tee signs with maps and distances.

Cons:

1) Course doesn;t incorporate the wooded area that the course runs completely around. I would like to have seen a hole or two through the woods maybe instead of all 9 out in the open (for the most part)

2) Walk path comes into play too often, there seems to be enough room in the park to have altered the course to avoid the paths or vice versa. If it is crowded with other people doing other things I can imagine it taking a long time to play a round. I was there early so we didn;t have to wait more than 1-2 times and only briefly.

3) Fairly simple boring holes. Not enough obstacles used and no other course features like wooded holes, water, elevation, etc. etc. etc.

4) Missing the one great hole to make it a course to keep people coming back. #9 is the best hole with the large trees on the left and the woods on the right. Skip one off the path for a birdie opportunity, but it just isn't a hole or course that says come back and play me again. I would play it again but only because I am hooked but I wouldnt go out of my way for this course alone.

Other Thoughts:

Not a bad 9 holer, but the park seems like it could have been better used for disc golf to incorporate the wooded area and avoid the walk paths on some of the other holes. It is beginner friendly which is always a positive. There isn;t a lot of elevation chainge and no water in play (except maybe in spring on the right of #1 and #2) Not sure if that low area holds water or simply is a low area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
Michler
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 31.7 years 247 played 35 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Good for casual/new players, not for those who love the sport. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 20, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

A couple long holes on 1 and 8 (400+). Decent shots required on 2,5 and 9 to make birdies. Cement tees are HUGE! Baskets are decent.

Cons:

Very boring course. Wide open. Really short simple holes on 3,4,6,7 which are barely worth playing. This course will not work your game if you love the sport and are looking to improve. Course gets a ton of play from casual players which makes for alot of back-ups. Park also gets a ton of usage with its many other facilities, so watch out for pedestrians!

Other Thoughts:

Park is so heavily used that there isn't alot that can realistically be done to make this a fun course. It is what it is, a boring 9 holer. If you need a place to play in Buffalo Grove, there aren't any better options available.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
fifteen
Experience: 14.7 years 41 played 11 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Flowing Practice Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 30, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

A nice flowing 9-hole course that serves either as a practice course for experienced player or good introductory course for beginners. It runs along a park and is really well maintained. Concrete tees and great baskets that are easily spotted. Really easy to navigate around the course.

Hole 1 and 8 are the longest holes and great for the strong drivers. The rest are easily approached. Hole 9 is probably the most "difficult" hole on the course with it being behind some trees. Hole 3 is also a great ACE opportunity since it is short and downhill.

Cons:

No real sense of DG etiquette here. People will just hang around a basket after they're done totally oblivious to the fact there are other people playing. Hole 9 is usually used as a practice basket by people waiting for Hole 1. I've ran into groups of 8 people which is just too much.

Other park-goers will usually be around and sometime they don't realize what you will be doing until you yell FORE. Don't expect a true challenge with the trees serving as the "obstacles," it is easy to beat it.

Other Thoughts:

Be sure to get here early or you'll end up waiting on this course behind people with no sense of the game. This is a great course to bring somebody who is still new but improving on their game. If you're in the area and got some time to kill, check this course out.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
clipnfly
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.7 years 60 played 57 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Timing is everything 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 29, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Good medium distance holes. Well maintained. Flows well. Tee signs. Elevation changes on 1, 2, 3. Runs along woods on 4, 5, 6, 7. Nice long challenge on 8. Tree challenges on 1, 3, 9. This is a busy park with a lot to do. The course does not overlap or cross ball fields, soccer pitches, etc. Nice. 8 is getting shorter as my arm is getting bigger... same can be said for 5. Update. I have now aced 3... so it is a bit special for me. have come close a few more times as well. With more experience this course now feels quite a bit shorter. Park is generally clean with little trash. A few garbage cans on a few holes are good to have and well used by locals.

Cons:

At times too crowded with teens just goofing off. I might just be jealous that I am beyond being a teen and being able to just goof off, but it makes for less fun at times. 7 can be a bit buggy in summer 'cuz nearer the woods. *8could be better if the basket were moved over by the pines. 5 could be nice with an alt basket placement more annie to the right.

Other Thoughts:

The basket for 9 and the tee for 1 are on top of each other as are the basket for 2 and the tee for 3. Eyes open and aware and courteous helps. I got hit by a strong drive to basket 9 while waiting to tee off on 1. Overall a good longer course than over at twin Creeks... but both are good. Recent pool improvements has had trees removed and landscaping improved on 9. 1 less big tree and 9 is an even better hole as it has a clear tree tunnel if you can fling one SUPER straight.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
mashnut
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22 years 831 played 767 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Decent little course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 11, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The course is in one part of a large park with some hills, and a central wooded area that provides a nice rough along 6 of the holes. Most of the holes have some scattered trees on the fairway or protecting the pin. There is some nice elevation on the first three holes for the Chicago area, adding a different dimension than many other area courses.

The holes are a nice mix of lengths, from under 200' to over 400'. The trees in play define some differently shaped fairways, that encourage a variety of different shots to score well. The holes range from ace runs to longer or more technical holes, and offer more challenge than any other of the mediocre 9 holers around.

The amenities of the course are very nice. There are excellent large concrete pads on all holes that are in perfect shape. There are nice tee signs on all holes with accurate hole maps and distances that make the course very easy to navigate.

Cons:

The course tends to be crowded on weekends and in the evening. In the summer if you play at a busy time, expect to wait on nearly every hole, and wait a while at the beginning of each round.

A significant number of the players are young and/or inexperienced, and so there is a serious lack of education on proper course etiquette, and no real desire to learn it. Along with this, a walking path is in play on 7 of the 9 holes, and only about half of the other park users seem to have any idea that they are also on a disc golf course. This slows play down even more, as you'll end up waiting for walkers and joggers to clear the fairway.

Right now, basket 7 is missing the basket, though the pole and chains are still there. You can still tell when a putt would have probably gone in, so it's not a huge deal.

Update: The basket is back, now all 9 are in good shape and playable.

Other Thoughts:

This is one of the better 9 hole courses in the area, and is slightly more interesting and challenging than the rest. For me, this is overshadowed by how long a round takes with so many new players, and so much overlap with other park users.

If you can play this park during the day on a weekday, it's a fun little course. Otherwise it's not worth driving out of your way to spend a lot of time waiting.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
Nigel
Experience: 7 played 7 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Trip to the Grove 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 27, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Easygoing, nice spread of holes, if you're good you can impress the newbies, their oos and ahs will make you feel like a pro

Cons:

Way too crowded, and it's not uncommon to run into big groups (5-8 ppl)

Other Thoughts:

You might as well bring a lawn chair if you arrive in the afternoon, it's gonna be a long wait
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 4
beardown4life
Experience: 17 years 22 played 12 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Same old same old 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 2, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Nice 9 hole course to work on wide open shots. pretty short course but gets the job done. very slight elevation change.

Cons:

can get very crowded simply because there is not many courses close by. wraps around a very small wooded patch and your done.

Other Thoughts:

wind can make things a little interesting on windy days but thats goes without saying.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 13
Dave242
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 29.8 years 393 played 271 reviews
1.50 star(s)

C = As average as the come for 9 holers 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 18, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 9 hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == C-
(If you play the sidewalk and beyond as OB on 7 & 9 there is a little punishment on this course. Other than that, a horrible shot is not punished any worse than an OK shot. For this reason this course is below average - a grade of C- is generous in my mind.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I'm a Blue level player who throws 300' accurately, 360' max. == C+
(1 & 8 are too long where I have no realistic chance at a 2 and tap-in 3's are routine. 5 & 9 (and 2 somewhat) are rewarding. The rest are too short to be anything but gimme 2's. 2.5 holes out of 9 that are rewarding score-wise does not make for a high fun factor in my book.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == C
(Hole 9 is the only hole that really forces you to shape your shot one way or another with any challenge factor at all. There are other holes that you have to bend your shot, but with no specificity.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == C
(The park is clean and well maintained. Nice mowed grass and litter free. Seclusion is zilch as you are in sight and earshot of houses the entire round with the exception of hole 3.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A

Other Thoughts:

It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (149 18-hole, 91 9-hole as of late 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me....that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
krc1130
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.7 years 25 played 25 reviews
2.00 star(s)

A simple course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 18, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Very well maintained, easy to follow course. Concrete tees and decent baskets on all holes. Slight elevation changes on the opening holes is nice. Good course for a beginner or an easy round.

Cons:

Very simple course, as there is very little by way of obstacles. Any trees on the course don't really serve as obstacles. There's a stretch of holes, I think 5, 6, and 7, that were just ridiculously short and easy. More holes were flat and boring than were elevated or somewhat interesting. The course is in the middle of a busy park, so it's easy to hit pedestrians or to have play interrupted by wandering park-goers. First hole is awful close to the parking lot, definitely dangerous for anyone parked there.

Other Thoughts:

This was not an awful course, but there is very little you will find to be memorable. I had an okay time playing there, but by the time it was close to the end of our second round, I'd definitely had enough. I would say it's a good course if you're in the area or want a quick, stress-free round. There's just nothing remarkable or particularly interesting about this course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 3
theseus414
Experience: 16.7 years 30 played 5 reviews
3.00 star(s)

My home course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 16, 2008 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

It's close to my house.

Cons:

Rush hour traffic makes getting there just 2 clicks from impossible, and once you do it is entirely to crowded. Going anytime in the afternoon results in an even split of playing and waiting to play while making fun of the tools who bring a bag full of discs to play this simple course. Also they have rent-a-cops driving around just so they can tell us not to smoke cigarettes, now that is outrageous.

Other Thoughts:

It's close, and the players here are way nicer than the spoiled punks who play at Adler. I hate Libertyville people.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
heywillard90
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.7 years 31 played 28 reviews
2.50 star(s)

I was hoping for better 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 1, 2008 Played the course:never

Pros:

A large hill on the first three holes makes it interesting. No hazards. A couple distance shots (1 and 8). Very easy to navigate. Good signs for each hole.

Cons:

EXTREMELY CROWDED. Most holes are very short (under '240) and open, and thus boring. You might lose your disc in the big woods the course plays around.

Other Thoughts:

Maybe I would have given it a better score if it wasn's SO CROWDED. I played at about 5:00 PM on a monday. There were only a few holes that interested me, including hole 9 which is a cool one to look forward to when you go play there. I stand by my 2.5 rating because it is definitely somewhere between ok and good, but probably closer to ok. Within 10 miles there are 3 courses I would much rater play, Keller, Fink, and Adler park.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 4
NIBSTOOLS
Experience: 35 played 34 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Nice practice course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 23, 2008 Played the course:never

Pros:

Nice use of available land. Well maintained and groomed park.

Cons:

Short on most holes, poses little challenge for an experienced player

Other Thoughts:

This course is a perfect course for practicing your short game, or taking a newbie to and a quick lunch round.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top