New London, WI 
Hatten Stadium Park Share
Uploaded By: sunshay Hole #6 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 220ft.   3 / 220ft.   3 / 220ft.   3 / 220ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
1 2 Next >
 old school; improvements coming

5+    5/24/2010   11/24/2010
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 887  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 29.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/26/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well kept park.
Cement tees roughed nicely.
Stays open all winter.
Great beginner course.
Disc Headz club has taken this course on as a project in the last couple of years. They are running at least two tourneys a year now; and all proceeds go to the course (this does mean that payouts are small at the present if you come for a tourney).
I have heard there are plans for some new longer tees and longer pin placements as well. (O.k. so this is an update I'm putting in since my original review....Deeper pins have been added to holes #1 and #15. New tees in place for #2, #11 and a new one that #12 and #16 share.)
Lengthening #1 works out pretty nice; as that was somewhat of a tough deuce anyway, and now plays more like a par 3.
Pathway/park road o.b. possible on a couple of holes, should you decide to play it that way. Tennis court o.b. also present on #3.
Tournament level horseshoe tossing area adjacent to course (@middle of course).
Nice, old school rock walls add nice ambiance to various areas. Not really in play; just a nice visual.
General wooded feel throughout.
Cons: Some of the tees are quite short in length. Don't really need a big run up on these holes; but they are less than stellar.
Course overall length is quite short.
This is a deuce or die course.
You only need your driver on one hole, perhaps a fairway driver or long mid on a couple of the wooded tunnel shots.
One hole, around #13 or so, has a standing water pond part of the year; especially in the spring. This is deep enough, and cold enough, at that time, that I've seen discs left behind.
More additional comments related to new "upgrades"....#2 new tee will simply pi$$ off lefties; makes their line near impossible, without really making the hole any tougher for rhbh.
#12 and #16 sharing a tee didn't really add any toughness to those holes and may create traffic jams.
The new #11 new pin simply moved what was already the longest hole at 385 ft. to nearly 450 ft. Makes it more of a par three for everyone; whereas used to be a bit of scoring spread on this one if you had a fairly big arm.
So much for cheering for improvements. Evidently still a deuce or die course that had none of those holes addressed. #1 appears to be the only one improved.
Other Thoughts: This was one of the earliest designs in the Wisconsin. Steve Trogger, primarily of late 1980s guts fame; should be given credit. Originally an object course. 2003 is evidently the date baskets went in (though I could have sworn it was earlier; maybe because I played it as an object course for many years.) The original design was for lids; and this is still the design present. A number of persons, with design, or club credentials, over the years, have contacted the parks dept. here and been unsuccessful in convincing them of the need to lengthen the layout some. I was hoping to see this happen...
This IS a relaxing course; if you're able to forget that you need to be bird everything. Setting is different than other courses in the area.
I have made a trip a year here, or more, for many years. I rather look forward to a Hatten visit.
There are enough obstacles and shop shaping, that you don't get a completely boring pitch and putt feel. It's a true course; just one that you play with a putter or roc/buzz primarily.
If you're hitting your putts, you have the opportunity to put one of your "best rounds ever" up on the board.
With it said that I like coming here as a change of pace; I find myself having to downgrade this one .5, to perhaps the lowest grade I've given an 18 hole layout; due to the improvements not helping out much....oh well....

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Park

2-4    4/13/2010   4/13/2010
Review By: Gambl3r
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.5 Years
Pros: Easy to navigate around this well kept course. Good mix of obstacle baskets and open baskets. Utilizes park space very nicely.
Cons: Some holes seemed too short. The holes in the woods were muddy. Could see underbrush being a problem when it's grown over.
Other Thoughts: All in all a good experience. Recommend it for any disc golfer that happens to be in the area.

  Great things coming up!

1    3/28/2010   3/28/2010
Review By: Disc Headz
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 26.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Disc Headz Club is taking over the course! If you have played this course before, come back and give it another shot! we are improving the course, and working on adding holes. Give us your thoughts on what the course needs. We plan on making this a 5 disc rated course, so give us your input.
Cons: The Park and Rec. has provided us with a great course. We plan on making it an awesome course!
Other Thoughts: Any tournaments (July 24th, 2010 - October 16th, 2010) we hold at Hatten the proceeds go back to the park for improvement, so the more people we can have show up at tournaments the more we can improve this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good for beginners

2-4    7/11/2009   8/15/2009
Review By: wheelz25
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/6/2009
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short holes good for beginners, mostly open except for 5-9. These holes are easy to lose discs. Hole 3 runs next to a tennis court, making the fairway very narrow as you get closer to the hole. Hole 11 is the longest hole and is virtually treeless. A long drive can make for a easy approach almost anywhere.
Cons: Park is usually busy and cars can make for hazards. Nothing too special. Just a course. Trees in the open always seem to pose a problem and can get frustrating
Other Thoughts: I take everyone I know to this place to play for there first time. ANYone can play here and enjoy it. Each time I played there were RVs blocking the 17th basket on all sides. I had to skip the hole but it wasn't that hard at all. If you are new to disc golf, this is a great place for you

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good to play once, if you're in the area

1    10/30/2008   10/30/2008
Review By: Geoffro
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 11.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of left and right turns, with some wooded holes offering a challenge. Signage was good, except for the fact that while the signs mapped the holes, the maps/signs did not match the direction of the holes (the sign map would make it look like you were shooting due east, when the direction of the fairway was due south). Quiet park, and nice atmosphere. Concrete tee-pads were available, though not particularly maintained with regard to erosion.
Cons: This course struggles with many others in that it was developed within an already existing public park. Some of the fairways contend with other activities, though not directly; on some holes it would be possible to shank a drive into a playground (admittedly it would have to be a pretty bad shank). The course is not the priority of the park; you definitely get the feeling that the county put in the course and figured that was good enough. There is no feeling of "future" here. As noted above, many holes are short and open, lacking significant challenge.
Other Thoughts: Also as mentioned above, this is a good course to play if you haven't played it before, and are in the area. Otherwise, its a 2 .

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Old Park

5+    10/26/2008   10/28/2008
Review By: J.W.I.
Played: 30  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/1/2008
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice neighborhood. Beautiful park. Scorecards available sometimes. Short and sweet for young kids. Helpful signs at pads. Some nice straight shots required; you're rewarded if you make it down the tree-lined (albeit short) tunnels. If you're looking for an ace, come play here; there are bountiful opportunities. Open all Winter!
Cons: One pad and one pin makes for repetitive rounds.
Other Thoughts: Nice community. People are generally polite. Bathrooms are an added bonus. Nice place for some Winter golf.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Hatten Park

1    9/21/2008   9/27/2008
Review By: clearwaterdetail
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety of shots make this course fun. Easy to navigate and one of the better maintained courses in the area. Easy to find any discs you may miss your target with.
Cons: Very short course. Some shots are just too open to provide a challenge to experienced players.
Other Thoughts: Would play again if in the area. But not worth any travel to play.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful park

8/10/2008   8/10/2008
Review By: heywillard90
Played: 31  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 9.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Absolutely outstanding park with lots of woods. Good hole placement with tight shots around and between trees. Very good use of obstacles. Easy to find your disc in the woods with little vegetation on the ground. EXTREMELY easy to navigate. Very well maintained.
Cons: Many of the holes are very similar; 230 or less feet with some trees here and there. I would say that applies to 12 of the 18 holes, but that is just a rough estimate. It seems like this might be a begginer course with all those short shots and only 3 or 4 holes being over 300 feet.
Other Thoughts: This is just an outstanding park to be in. It is so nice. With all the extra room they have I am sure they could put longer alternate tees for each hole. That is the only improvement I would make. Alltogether Hatten park course is a really great course for its relatively remote location.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Hatten Park Review

1    2/26/2008   2/26/2008
Review By: Dahminator
Played: 24  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/14/2009
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: -Secluded park. The part itself is one of my favorites.
-Requires many different shot types

Cons: -Bring bug spray! The wooded holes especially can especially get bad with mosquitos.
-Some holes are a little too short
Other Thoughts: Go to Hatten Park, its fun

In Summer 07, I hit the chain on Hole 18, almost getting me an ace.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.