Rockford, IL 
Anna Page Park - East Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
3 / 365ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Awesome place for a day of disc golf!!

1    7/8/2017   7/12/2017
Review By: Nussbuss
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Signage was great- Teesigns were accurate and attractive, and "next tee" signs were used when needed (sometimes under the basket)

There's also a nice course map next to the parking lot that was quite helpful since it was my first time.

Teepads- nice, sturdy concrete pads. Even one particularly long hole had a broom!

Maintenance: Fairways were fair and clean. The course did still have some teeth if you got off the fairway but still had multiple lines to the pin.

Baskets: Seemed to be in good shape, no unfair spit outs. I believe they were mach 3's. They were also marked with colored tape for multiple hole layouts. I think south course had chainstars.

Lots of the teepads had accompanying picnic tables which is always a nice touch. Some are a bit graffitied with some graphic images, which may not be a good representation for young or new players.
Cons: The only things I can say is that a few more trash cans and some soap in the restrooms would be nice. I didn't notice a ton of trash, but some spare cans and trash here and there.
Other Thoughts: Overall awesome course! Good for newer players yet also attackable for intermediate through advanced players.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

best course at the complex IMO

1    3/6/2017   3/6/2017
Review By: DrewbieDoobieDoo
Played: 112  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 4.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was the third of the three courses that I played at Anna Page, and I think I saved the best for last. The South and West courses are terrific as well, but I liked the East course best!

Each teeing area has big cement tee pads, and a great map. Most tees have benches/ table/ garbage cans. The maps show a huge photograph of the hole with multiple pin locations marked with distance. There is also a drawing of the overhead view depicting the fairways and possible lines. The next tee direction is also pointed out on each map.

Almost every hole has two baskets (a short red/pink basket, and a long blue one). they have bright blue or pink tape on them making them easy to spot from far away. The few holes that have only one basket have two separate tee pads for blue and red.

The rolling wooded terrain is ideal for DG and the land is used beautifully to create a good mix of long holes to heavily guarded baskets and shorter technical shots. The fairways are scattered with large trees creating many different line options causing you to really stop and consider you shot and disc selection on the tee. You will go up, down, left, and right several times each! The holes will challenge advanced players to make birdies, while still being accessible to novice players for pars.
Cons: Some of the pins and fairways play awfully close to some tees, and there is a little bit of a flow concern (a little confusing for a first timer, but hey- I should have just looked at each tee map- Duh!) I could easily see discs flying into other groups on busy days.
Other Thoughts: While I like the wooded South course, and hilly West course, I think the East course at Anna Page best combines the two. The two baskets on most holes, each basket offering a truly different hole from the tee, makes this course my favorite of the three.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    2/22/2017   2/23/2017
Review By: xtinox
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First course I played and still enjoy getting out on this course when I can. The course is open enough to have fun, but has some challenges along the way to keep it interesting. Well maintained by the park district and the board members.

Multiple baskets help change the course up a bit as well.
Cons: Being a nature lover, I find it disheartening to see random trash on the course, especially when I know they have random clean up days just for this reason.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    2/15/2017   2/16/2017
Review By: bearmax
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 28 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The east course can be beginner friendly or very challenging depending on which layout you choose to play. New signs were installed last fall.
Cons: Dense thickets of honeysuckle & buckthorn are throughout the woods. Club volunteers & the Rockford Park District are working together to remedy the problem.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Getting better all the time

1    1/29/2017   1/29/2017
Review By: The Rake
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Open enough to give less experienced players a chance, and long enough with enough obstacles to keep it challenging for more experienced players. Some holes that used to be meh have been lengthened or given better definition to make this a much better course than what you might have played five years ago. These include 2, a very narrow pro-type shortie requing a midrange or PA dart, 3, a gently fading alley approach. 5, lots of options for the tee pad drive with a long air it out second shot. The new 6 with a web of dead guardian trees. A longer uphill lefty friendly 9. 11 now takes you through some trees, 14 finally lost the overhanging branch that penalized good upslope shots. 15, a bomber from a majestic (for AnnaPage) elevated tee), and 16, a legit pro upslope bomber that challenges everyone. This is a couse that does a lot with the limitations of the landscape. I personally really like the ace run on 1 to get you started. The initial birdie gets you revved up. Lots of variety with distances to bring out a variety of discs from your bag. Although open in appearance obstacles can make this corse play tighter than you'd expect.
Cons: Newer baskets would be great. Would like to see a real gap in the trees on 12 so u have the option to go through or around. That's about it.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

This one packs it in

1    11/14/2016   11/15/2016
Review By: tangerinewarehouse
Played: 76  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 7/14/2017
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is really fun
Very nice terrain for DG
Mature groves of different types of trees
Two baskets on most holes
Multiple concrete tee pads on some holes
Good signs on every hole
elevation changes from rolling hills
Nice and secluded
good baskets with color coding
Lots of chances to air it out
Cons: some cluster in the design and maybe slightly confusing for 1sters
dangerous possibly with crowds and errant shots
not the most challenging course
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty fun course for intermediate players with nice rolling hills and clusters of trees and other growth. This course is pretty easy to follow but some of the tees are close to the previous baskets might be dangerous at times. Nice flow to the course with a variety of shots needed but not too long on the distances. Not too much risk as far as roll aways or water hazards. This course might not be as difficult or beautiful as the west course but it might be more fun. Just a solid disc golf course that made the most of the land available with a good design that really packs in a lot of DG with the multi tees and dual baskets.I had a lot of fun at this course but I think the clustered design could be tweaked slightly.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A reason to visit Rockford

5+    7/25/2015   1/6/2016
Review By: Spike Hyzer 23
Played: 92  Reviewed: 88  Exp: 24 Years
This review was updated on 1/20/2016
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The card tricks you immediately into believing the course will be easy. The deuce on the first hole is followed by the most protected 220 foot hole I've ever seen (I deuced once when I could still throw hammers OVER 100 foot trees, and a few other times from 50-75 from the right).

The course is simply magnificent from that point on. It is full of mature growth tree and large ares of shrubs, and the designers have tucked the pins away to protect from easy ace runs on the shorter holes (and you know you've earned your deuces on those). Longer more open holes, such as #5, still force you around shrubbery and to make a great second shot to save par.

A seemingly easy, lefty friendly, hole like #9 forces this lefty to use a driver at a mid range distance to navigate the huge hyzer curve. The 10th is similar but with slightly altered technical obstacles.
The 14th is a huge favorite, a protected green that gave me the rare deuce when I ricocheted a hammer off of the telephone pole and parked it (leaving creosote on my disc!).
Cons: A few fairways cross.
Other Thoughts: The original is still my favorite because it is challenging and technical without overwhelming length. It's a great reason to visit what Money Magazine once called the worst city in the US (maybe the only reason outside of that vegan Indian restaurant).

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 awful

5+    6/10/2015   9/30/2015
Review By: chuge847
Played: 64  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 20 Not
Pros: its a disc golf course. the one teebox for the telephone pole basket is nice.
Cons: everything. but its rockford so you cant expect much.
inaccurate signs. crossing fairways. multiple baskets on each hole make it very confusing. i guess i threw at a hole i wasnt supposed to and some jackass kicked my disc and yelled "FOUND IT".
Other Thoughts: if you are going to be in rockford, play the college course. and dont drink the water.

0 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 Solid, old-school course

1    10/3/2014   4/8/2015
Review By: MidwestZest
Played: 96  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 17.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Sprawling park setting with large mature trees as the main obstacles.
- Great location with 2 other courses. Ample parking, bathroom/shelter/playground facilities.
- Good concrete tee pads throughout the course.
- Baskets are fine, but older.
- Nice, rolling elevation on this course, used on quite a few holes. Very nice.
- The course definitely feels like the old-school course it is, and that's nice. You can see some of the old, minimalistic baskets tucked into corners here and there as separate pin placements.
- A few holes (2, 7, 14, 15) have gotten a revamp in a variety of fashions (tee, new fairway, pin location)
- Good distance and variation throughout the course. Some of the updates have added good length to add difficulty for tournament play, I'm sure. Good stuff.
- Good mix of LTR and RTL holes throughout. Some good straight-away shots too.
- #4 LOVE this hole. Hit a tiny hobbit-hole gap to go straight up the gut, or hyzer all the way around with less chance at a deuce. Nice, scenic, awesome.
- # 17 is a great tunnel shot for the last 100 feet.
Cons: - Signage is older, and decent when it's updated, but essentially does no good when both baskets are left in all the time. I found myself confused multiple times - not on where to go next, but where to throw to. Had an awesome birdie on #6, only to find out I had holed out on #10's basket. Also couldn't see #12's baskets from tee, so I think I started playing to #15's. Darn.
- Some low-lying areas that hold water.
- Not a real fan of the new #2, seems a little luck is required. (Also, the old #2 is still in service, making things confusing)
- A few holes that are essentially just wide open, not requiring a lot shaping. (An artifact of the installation date of the original course, I'm sure)
Other Thoughts: - More than anything, I was just confused during my round, while trying to enjoy the historic course and scenery. I'll bet locals love playing on this course though.
- While not the most technical of the 3 courses on site, this is definitely the most fun course to play, especially once you know where all (36+?) baskets are, and which one you've decided you'll be aiming at.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Miss this course.

5+    4/7/2010   10/6/2014
Review By: Austocans
Played: 35  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 21.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/4/2014
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great course with tons of variety. Open to wooded. Short to long. Everything about this course feels nice. Used to play this course twice a week when living in Rockford in 2010. The day i go back ill be stopping by this course for sure. The other courses are equally as pleasing.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.