• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Rockford, IL

Anna Page Park - East

3.595(based on 46 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Anna Page Park - East reviews

Filter
3 0
Johnsondere
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 1 years 136 played 83 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Beautiful Disc Golf Park drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 17, 2023 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

- Plenty of parking available.
- Two other courses available to play in the park.
- Most beginner friendly of the three.
- Dual tee pads and rotating pin positions.
- Good variety of shots asked for.

Cons:

- Some fairways play near each other, need to be aware of incoming shots.
- Navigation can get confusing at times.

Other Thoughts:

Anna Page East is 1 of 3 courses located in Anna Page Park. East is the most beginner friendly as it is the most open and not too much distance required from the short tees. There is a good variety of wooded shots to couple with the mostly open holes. Highly recommend checking out Anna Page!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
13 0
EspressoPatronum
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 18.9 years 256 played 247 reviews
4.00 star(s)

The Original Anna Page

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 28, 2023 Played the course:once

Pros:

- good mixture of open and wooded space
- incorporation of different landscapes on individual holes is cool
- some moderate elevation change on some holes
- dual color coded baskets are in good shape
- quality concrete tees, a few holes have dual tees
- same full color tee signs with maps as the rest of the park
- park is well maintained and in great shape like all of Anna Page
- some basic amenities like the other courses: port o potties, some benches/picnic tables, garbage cans

Cons:

- a few fairways double back very close to each other and present some safety hazards
- baskets are not numbered so navigation in the open can be slightly confusing
- some alternate tees are not concrete
- minor walk from hole 18 back to parking lot

Other Thoughts:

Anna Page East was the last of the 3 courses I played, and I almost didn't get to it. I'm glad I did. I was in a little bit of a rush to get home, so I managed to finish 18 holes in just over 1 hour - I recommend taking a few more minutes to enjoy the quality of this course.

While West felt very open throughout a lot of it, and South felt quite wooded for the most part, East is an interesting combination of the two. More often than not, the majority of the fairway is pretty open, but the start and end of holes is often in small wooded stands. Many of the holes hop from wooded area to wooded area. I thought this was a really cool incorporation of what the park had to work with.

Similarly, elevation change is included where possible. Anna Page doesn't have much to offer in terms of water hazards, but otherwise uses what is available well. All of the materials in the park are top notch - tee signs, baskets, and tees. Older pictures show natural tees and very basic baskets, so upgrades have clearly been made over the years which is great to see.

The park is very clean and well maintained. The shorter red MVP baskets are a lot easier, with notably less distance and in some cases, technical challenge. This is a cool way to play a nice course and not get discouraged as a beginning. I played the long blue DISCatchers, which adds a good amount of challenge for intermediate or above players - I recommend the blues here if you are fairly experienced.

A few holes near the woods had some interesting sandy soil I also saw a bit of on the South course. I've only really encountered this on Michigan courses near the lake, so that was surprising. The flow and navigation of this course are generally straightforward, but on a course with some open fairways that aren't as strictly defined, I always prefer numbers on the baskets or you can get a bit turned around on which target you are throwing to. That wasn't too bad here, but is an area for improvement.

There is flexibility here to throw different lines, as the fairways mostly aren't super tight, but there are still mature tree obstacles, technical challenge, and some wooded holes that force more shot shaping. I preferred the South course overall, because I enjoy a lot of that wooded, technical challenge. However, the East course is no slouch, and while I might have been around a 3.75 on this one, I decided it deserved the 4.

I didn't see many issues here with drainage or mud; the course seems to handle wetness well. This did seem busiest of the 3 courses and as it's the original, it may be the most popular. I think for most people I would recommend prioritizing this course, then South, then West last, but they are all great courses (and not really knowing one way or another, I played in the opposite order).

I did note a few fairways throwing back towards the last one that were close enough to have some safety concerns. Nothing too major, and can be managed by paying attention, but that's one of the few nits on this excellent course. I highly recommend making a day of Rockford and hitting all 3 courses here along with some others in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 0
knobby325
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 9 years 326 played 248 reviews
4.50 star(s)

When Can I Come Back?

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 29, 2022 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Multiple Concrete tees
-Good Baskets, 2 per hole, sometimes stacked
-Decent signage
-Immaculately cut fairways
-Good mix of open/technical, left/right, use of elevation
-Part of a 3 full 18 course park
-Good for most skill levels

Cons:

-Had to look at the map a couple of times

Other Thoughts:

Anna Page Park - East plays along with 2 other 18 hole courses in a wonderful park on the west edge of Rockford, IL. The oldest of the 3 courses is in amazing shape. Your choice of red or blue is met with corresponding baskets. Most holes have the other basket in a differing challenge spot. 5 holes have a second tee pad and at these holes the baskets are stacked on top of each other. Usually, the blue on top. but #17 was red on top. Decent signage was easy to follow. There were a couple of spots where I had to look at the map, but not often. The fairways were impressive. I felt like I was on a country club WB course. I played red and it was approachable without being short or gimicky. We really enjoyed our round here. Glad we chose this one of the 3, but would like to take a stab at those 2 at some point. There are only a few courses that have drawn me in as this one has. It says, "Come and play again". I will. Just have to be in the area again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
13 0
SneakyJedi
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15 years 149 played 83 reviews
4.00 star(s)

An Old Dog With Some New Tricks 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 18, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Two baskets on almost every hole and two tees on a few as well

- Trees are used well to provide challenge either early or late on more open holes

- Good variety with rolling hills used well and a smattering of more tightly wooded fairways

- Part of a complex with three quality courses

Cons:

- Fairways tend to be largely open

- Several locations of tall grass or thick rough can make finding discs off the fairway difficult

- Navigation is occasionally challenging, especially with some holes having new pad or basket locations that are not yet reflected on tee signs

Other Thoughts:

I was lucky enough to play the East course at Anna Page Park the day after a new set of permanent, blue banded DISCatchers were installed in the long pin positions, several of which are new. The course was recently mowed and well maintained. The mix of new DISCatchers and Black Hole baskets are great and catch well. There is a nice challenge gap between the short and long pin positions, making the course more accessible to a range of skill levels. The concrete tee pads are nice, though a few around the park did feel slightly too short. The tee signs are large and colorful, but some are out of date and a few seemed to be missing or not installed yet. The Google course map in the Links/Files section has been updated and was very helpful for navigating the course.

The majority of fairways on this course are largely open, but I was pleasantly surprised by the amount of challenge and variety that was present. Many, if not most, of the holes start and/or end in the woods. So, while much of the fairways are unobstructed or scattered with a few mature trees, there is still a healthy bit of challenge and you have to pay attention to you angle of approach on many a protected green. The East course frequently avoids an issue present on most open courses where a bad shot off the tee is not punished and an upshot for par is still relatively easy. On many holes a bad shot, or even a decent shot that did not finish with a good look at the entrance to the green, will make getting par challenging, even if you are in the middle of an open field. Line shaping and angles are more important than is apparent at first glance, especially on the blue holes. There are also a smattering of much more wooded fairways and on several holes the rolling hills are used to great effect, even if the overall elevation differential in the park is nothing all that exciting.

Long grass is used to define fairways on a few holes. It isn't overdone or overly encroaching, but it can make finding your disc on an errant throw quite frustrating. Similarly, if you find yourself off the fairway and in the woods, the rough is usually very thick and will definitely punish your shot and likely present a challenge even finding your disc. Some of the new long basket placements were carved out of the woods (I recall holes 5, 9, and 18 in particular) and are still very rough around the edges. They definitely need to be cleaned up and broken in but based on my first impression of the general maintenance at Anna Page I have no doubt this will be addressed before too long.

After finishing my round, I was surprised that this was the lowest rated course in the complex, even if not by much. Unfortunately, the South course was closed for maintenance on the day of my visit, but I enjoyed the East course as much, if not more, than the West. Having three courses on site is great, especially when they each offer something slightly different. It feels like a lot of love and work has been put into these courses, especially recently. Anna Page makes for a great day of disc golf and was well worth the hour and a half plus drive each way.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
JAL3
Experience: 10 years 28 played 4 reviews
3.50 star(s)

A Course Aging Well 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 8, 2018 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Varied pin and tee placement. Blues are long, Red/pink are short.
Excellent signage with cues to next tee, distances and wood post signage. Few courses do it better!
This course has aged beautifully with well placed pins with guardian trees, making a comfortable challenge. Most trees are large, but recently, many of the ash trees took their leave from the park due to the emerald borers. So sadly some of the trees that once made the park and exceptional course, have parted and part of the reason I have rated a little lower than I originally would have.
There is a good mix of open and guarded shots now.
The Rockford Disc Golf Club has done a lot to plant replacement trees, so as the course enters into it's fourth decade of existence, it will once again be quite special! Just watch out for those seedlings for now!
Probably my favorite course at Anna Page out of the three there. Nicely done, large and planned. Really shows the best of the park.
They do mow the grass pretty frequently, too, but still thick for rollers if that's a preferred shot of choice for the long distances.

Cons:

Usually just one pin placement available at a time, for majority of holes, so double check before you throw which pin is actually placed.
Like most of the courses at Page, stay on fairways! The long grass swallows discs, never to be heard of again. I think of it more as a challenge than a "con," but some dislike it. This particularly applied to hole three on longs. Make sure you hyzer away from it!

Other Thoughts:

Probably my favorite course at Anna Page out of the three there. Nicely done, large and planned
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 2
Nussbuss
Experience: 3 played 3 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Awesome place for a day of disc golf!! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 8, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

Signage was great- Teesigns were accurate and attractive, and "next tee" signs were used when needed (sometimes under the basket)

There's also a nice course map next to the parking lot that was quite helpful since it was my first time.

Teepads- nice, sturdy concrete pads. Even one particularly long hole had a broom!

Maintenance: Fairways were fair and clean. The course did still have some teeth if you got off the fairway but still had multiple lines to the pin.

Baskets: Seemed to be in good shape, no unfair spit outs. I believe they were mach 3's. They were also marked with colored tape for multiple hole layouts. I think south course had chainstars.

Lots of the teepads had accompanying picnic tables which is always a nice touch. Some are a bit graffitied with some graphic images, which may not be a good representation for young or new players.

Cons:

The only things I can say is that a few more trash cans and some soap in the restrooms would be nice. I didn't notice a ton of trash, but some spare cans and trash here and there.

Other Thoughts:

Overall awesome course! Good for newer players yet also attackable for intermediate through advanced players.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
DrewbieDoobieDoo
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 11 years 253 played 19 reviews
4.00 star(s)

best course at the complex IMO 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 6, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

This was the third of the three courses that I played at Anna Page, and I think I saved the best for last. The South and West courses are terrific as well, but I liked the East course best!

Each teeing area has big cement tee pads, and a great map. Most tees have benches/ table/ garbage cans. The maps show a huge photograph of the hole with multiple pin locations marked with distance. There is also a drawing of the overhead view depicting the fairways and possible lines. The next tee direction is also pointed out on each map.

Almost every hole has two baskets (a short red/pink basket, and a long blue one). they have bright blue or pink tape on them making them easy to spot from far away. The few holes that have only one basket have two separate tee pads for blue and red.

The rolling wooded terrain is ideal for DG and the land is used beautifully to create a good mix of long holes to heavily guarded baskets and shorter technical shots. The fairways are scattered with large trees creating many different line options causing you to really stop and consider you shot and disc selection on the tee. You will go up, down, left, and right several times each! The holes will challenge advanced players to make birdies, while still being accessible to novice players for pars.

Cons:

Some of the pins and fairways play awfully close to some tees, and there is a little bit of a flow concern (a little confusing for a first timer, but hey- I should have just looked at each tee map- Duh!) I could easily see discs flying into other groups on busy days.

Other Thoughts:

While I like the wooded South course, and hilly West course, I think the East course at Anna Page best combines the two. The two baskets on most holes, each basket offering a truly different hole from the tee, makes this course my favorite of the three.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
xtinox
Experience: 3 played 3 reviews
4.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 22, 2017 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

First course I played and still enjoy getting out on this course when I can. The course is open enough to have fun, but has some challenges along the way to keep it interesting. Well maintained by the park district and the board members.

Multiple baskets help change the course up a bit as well.

Cons:

Being a nature lover, I find it disheartening to see random trash on the course, especially when I know they have random clean up days just for this reason.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
bearmax
Experience: 34.9 years 4 played 4 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Feb 15, 2017 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The east course can be beginner friendly or very challenging depending on which layout you choose to play. The fairways are close cut with thick grass around the borders. New signs were installed last fall.

Cons:

Dense thickets of honeysuckle & buckthorn are throughout the woods. Club volunteers & the Rockford Park District are working together to remedy the problem.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
The Rake
Experience: 3 played 3 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Getting better all the time 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 29, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

Open enough to give less experienced players a chance, and long enough with enough obstacles to keep it challenging for more experienced players. Some holes that used to be meh have been lengthened or given better definition to make this a much better course than what you might have played five years ago. These include 2, a very narrow pro-type shortie requing a midrange or PA dart, 3, a gently fading alley approach. 5, lots of options for the tee pad drive with a long air it out second shot. The new 6 with a web of dead guardian trees. A longer uphill lefty friendly 9. 11 now takes you through some trees, 14 finally lost the overhanging branch that penalized good upslope shots. 15, a bomber from a majestic (for AnnaPage) elevated tee), and 16, a legit pro upslope bomber that challenges everyone. This is a couse that does a lot with the limitations of the landscape. I personally really like the ace run on 1 to get you started. The initial birdie gets you revved up. Lots of variety with distances to bring out a variety of discs from your bag. Although open in appearance obstacles can make this corse play tighter than you'd expect.

Cons:

Newer baskets would be great. Would like to see a real gap in the trees on 12 so u have the option to go through or around. That's about it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
tangerinewarehouse
Experience: 9.9 years 98 played 34 reviews
3.00 star(s)

This one packs it in 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Nov 14, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course is really fun
Very nice terrain for DG
Mature groves of different types of trees
Two baskets on most holes
Multiple concrete tee pads on some holes
Good signs on every hole
elevation changes from rolling hills
Nice and secluded
good baskets with color coding
Lots of chances to air it out

Cons:

some cluster in the design and maybe slightly confusing for 1sters
dangerous possibly with crowds and errant shots
not the most challenging course

Other Thoughts:

This is a pretty fun course for intermediate players with nice rolling hills and clusters of trees and other growth. This course is pretty easy to follow but some of the tees are close to the previous baskets might be dangerous at times. Nice flow to the course with a variety of shots needed but not too long on the distances. Not too much risk as far as roll aways or water hazards. This course might not be as difficult or beautiful as the west course but it might be more fun. Just a solid disc golf course that made the most of the land available with a good design that really packs in a lot of DG with the multi tees and dual baskets.I had a lot of fun at this course but I think the clustered design could be tweaked slightly.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 3
Spike Hyzer 23
Experience: 30.9 years 92 played 88 reviews
4.00 star(s)

A reason to visit Rockford 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 25, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The card tricks you immediately into believing the course will be easy. The deuce on the first hole is followed by the most protected 220 foot hole I've ever seen (I deuced once when I could still throw hammers OVER 100 foot trees, and a few other times from 50-75 from the right).

The course is simply magnificent from that point on. It is full of mature growth tree and large ares of shrubs, and the designers have tucked the pins away to protect from easy ace runs on the shorter holes (and you know you've earned your deuces on those). Longer more open holes, such as #5, still force you around shrubbery and to make a great second shot to save par.

A seemingly easy, lefty friendly, hole like #9 forces this lefty to use a driver at a mid range distance to navigate the huge hyzer curve. The 10th is similar but with slightly altered technical obstacles.
The 14th is a huge favorite, a protected green that gave me the rare deuce when I ricocheted a hammer off of the telephone pole and parked it (leaving creosote on my disc!).

Cons:

A few fairways cross.

Other Thoughts:

The original is still my favorite because it is challenging and technical without overwhelming length. It's a great reason to visit what Money Magazine once called the worst city in the US (maybe the only reason outside of that vegan Indian restaurant).
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 22
chuge847
Experience: 12 years 108 played 1 reviews
0.50 star(s)

awful 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 10, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

its a disc golf course. the one teebox for the telephone pole basket is nice.

Cons:

everything. but its rockford so you cant expect much.
inaccurate signs. crossing fairways. multiple baskets on each hole make it very confusing. i guess i threw at a hole i wasnt supposed to and some jackass kicked my disc and yelled "FOUND IT".

Other Thoughts:

if you are going to be in rockford, play the college course. and dont drink the water.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
MidwestZest
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 24 years 103 played 73 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Solid, old-school course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 15, 2020 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- Sprawling park setting with large mature trees as the main obstacles.
- Great location with 2 other courses. Ample parking, bathroom/shelter/playground facilities.
- Good concrete tee pads throughout the course.
- Nice new baskets.
- Beautiful, rolling elevation on this course, used on quite a few holes. Very nice.
- The course definitely feels like the old-school course it is, and that's nice. Hole updates throughout the course have added some legitimate length and nice scenic updates from the original course.
- Good distance and variation throughout the course. Some of the updates have added good length to add difficulty for tournament play, I'm sure. Good stuff.
- Good mix of LTR and RTL holes throughout. Some good straight-away shots too.

Cons:

- A few blind pin placements, which makes it difficult to know where you're going on the first play.
- Some low-lying areas that hold water.
- Not a real fan of the new #2, seems a little luck is required.
- Jury is still out for me on the long #18 set up as well. They've tried to carve a line through the woods directly to the pin, and it's just never going to be a legitimate option unless it gets widened. I understand that it's suppose to be more risk/reward...but the reward just probably doesn't exist for anyone. The outside, long line to the pin also requires some pinpoint accuracy from 300+ out, but otherwise leaves a player stymied by a thicket of guardian trees after a good, long 2nd shot. Like the thought, just wonder if people are actually able to execute.
- A few holes that are essentially just wide open, not requiring a lot shaping. (An artifact of the installation date of the original course, I'm sure)

Other Thoughts:

- More than anything, you can just get confused during a round, if you're not paying attention to which basket is which. It's easy to enjoy the historic course and scenery, though. I'll bet locals love playing on this course though.
- While not the most technical of the 3 courses on site, this is definitely the most fun course to play, especially once you know where all (36+?) baskets are, and which one you've decided you'll be aiming at. It's certainly a step above where it's been in years past, and is getting attention for sure.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 5
Austocans
Experience: 28.1 years 35 played 3 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Miss this course. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 7, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great course with tons of variety. Open to wooded. Short to long. Everything about this course feels nice. Used to play this course twice a week when living in Rockford in 2010. The day i go back ill be stopping by this course for sure. The other courses are equally as pleasing.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
thePatient
Experience: 10 years 15 played 4 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Nicely varied but confusing course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 22, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Course was in very good condition and appeared to be freshly mowed.
-2 pin positions for every hole and a couple had 3. Most of them add a huge difference to how the hole plays as well.
-The course calls for many different shots and players of different ability levels can probably find their own challenges here.
-The openness of the course and the multiple baskets lends itself to creating your own hole or finding one to practice on if the course isn't too busy.
-The tee signs show where to find the next hole, which is useful due to the somewhat awkward layout of the course.
-Even though the course is pretty open through the fairways, most baskets are placed in or next to stands of trees and brush.

Cons:

-It seems like a lot of baskets are left in place even if they're not technically in play. The tee signs indicate what basket is in play, but in most cases it seemed like both were in. While this can be considered a pro as you can play whichever pin you like, this can be confusing to those new to the course. Because the course is so open, there were times that I couldn't figure out which basket belonged to which hole.
-As mentioned earlier, the layout is a bit awkward and at times it feels like you have to walk across other holes to get to the next tee. There's also quite a few tees that are very close to baskets and some that are practically in the fairway of neighboring holes. If there's other people out on the course, definitely be aware of where they are and where they're throwing.

Other Thoughts:

Anna Page East is an overall good course, but it certainly has its drawbacks. I understand the course has been around a long time, and there's undoubtedly many disc golfers in the area who have a special place for it in their hearts and I think that's wonderful. I can see this course growing on you the more you play it, especially once you know where all the pin placements are. However, with the two excellent newer courses on site, it definitely seems to have lost some popularity.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Jibbacraft
Experience: 22.1 years 8 played 1 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Intermediate Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 31, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This is the first course I ever played some 13 years ago and is a major part of why I am a serious disc golfer today.
*Great variety in hole type. The course does not overly favor the RHBH at all.
*One good hole to open up and let it rip. #15
*Technical enough to for intermediate and pro players to enjoy.
*Easy enough for beginners and novices to enjoy.
*Favorite holes #7 & #15
*From professional standards the course is pretty well maintained. By usual DG standards it is very well maintained.
*Plenty of garbage cans.
*Mulberries, Blackberries & Raspberries fer dayz.
*Very little poison ivy in roughs in and around the fairways.
*Some benches for a rest if needed.
*There are some really good local players that are fun to catch a round with.
*Public Restroom by parking lot.
*May see the occasional hiker or bicyclist on 7 or 8 and 14 runs somewhat near to a fairly busy road, but besides that it is very secluded.
*3 courses on site makes it so that the course is almost NEVER crowded.
*Practice Pin near hole #1.
*Multiple Pin locations.
*Decent Signage (#2 REALLY needs to be clarified. Recent tee pad addition and no sign make for a confusing setup on official tee pad location for hole.)
*Great concrete tee pads

Cons:

*Holes like #7 & #15 (pro tee) would probably be par 4's in an NT event.
*Trash cans are sometimes overflowing.
*The condition of the public bathroom leaves a little to be desired, but hey, it's a Park District public bathroom.
*When it rains heavily, it takes days for 7,8 & 12 to dry out. No fault of anyone's, but it is a Con to the park overall.
*Sometimes stuck waiting behind newer players/groups who are not aware of proper DG etiquette and will not offer the play through.
*No tight fairways. Room to breath on every hole (though I often find the trees there are).

Other Thoughts:

Anna Page East makes a great play through for the serious disc golfer and the casual frolfer. I highly recommend a visit. Make it a day trip and play all three. East makes a good warm up course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 4
ElementZ
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.1 years 212 played 200 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Worst at Anna Page? 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 16, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

I haven't been to Anna Page in about two years, so I was looking forward to playing another course here, but I was pretty disappointed.

The good things are, quickly summarized, that there are two pins per hole (it may even be that there are two baskets per hole??), it's nice and secluded and only for disc golf, and that it's part of the biggest disc golf complex in Illinois.

I'd also like to mention that the tee signs at every hole are very informative and even mention which hole is in play.

Cons:

Cons. The holes are pretty boring. In terms of design, all the holes are mediocre and very, very average. There aren't any big elevation changes and the holes are mostly open.

The flow of the course can be a bit awkward at times.

Other Thoughts:

This is the oldest and understandably the worst rated course at Anna Page. If you're planning on spending the day at this park, I'd recommend starting here and then playing the others because it acts as a good warm up course.

However, if you're only down to play one of the courses here, I'd definitely recommend the other two over this one.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 6
buggzbrown
Experience: 15 years 3 played 3 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Better than the West 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 5, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Very easy to navigate. The signs are very helpful in determining the basket to throw to as each hols has multiple pins. there will be a letter screwed to the pole at the tee either A B or C. to tell you which basket to throw too

- Decent challenge for all player skills

- Nice rest area for water/smoke break on the pro tee with benches

-nice concrete tees on this and its sister course to the west

Cons:

- Some holes a little TOO easy and should have an ace chance every time

- If the basket gets changed and they forget to change the letter on the pole it can get very confusing where to throw

- Very busy as was the sister course next to it

Other Thoughts:

I personally prefer this course to the other one but that's only my opinion, ratings on here show the other one rated higher. But if you're already there do yourself a favor and play both makes for a real fun day.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 3
CConnors3
Experience: 20 years 197 played 17 reviews
4.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 28, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Great variety of holes which makes for versatile shot selections with a few exceptions. Great usage of the park itself as far as the layout and space available to create the course. Very well maintained property with the Park & Rec staff.

Cons:

None- I only wish the course conditions weren't so wet but what do you expect when all the snow is melting away. I got caught up with a few things before leaving from the Milwaukee area and only had time to play the East course and wish I could've played the West course the same day but I will be back!

Other Thoughts:

I noticed some great improvements to a few of the more wooded holes with the debris and a few smaller trees taken out to improve some gaps, some stumps have been removed too. I think they are also looking to install another 9 holes? I'm not sure how much truth there is to the rumor but that would be amazing!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top