• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

[Innova] Best driver on the market

Twmccoy

* Ace Member *
Obviously this is only one man's opinion, but lately I've been convinced that there simply isn't a better/more useful driver on the market than the Thunderbird. The damn disc does everything. It can be ripped for max power and still not flip over. It can be finessed nicely for shorter, accurate drives.

I've been bagging a 175 champ Thunderbird for a few months and I'm finding myself reaching for it more and more often. The disc goes where I want it with deadly accuracy. It has no high speed turn, yet will hold a flat line for the great majority of flight. For being a speed 9 its surprisingly zippy and long, just a hair shorter than my star Destroyer or Boss. The Thunderbird works very well in headwinds, cross winds, or even downwind. Wind doesn't seem to affect the disc at all.

The Thunderbird is a driver I'd throw with utter confidence on holes where accuracy and distance are needed. What really sells me on it is the fact that the Thunderbird can achieve very good distance without needing any high speed turn or S curve. It will never flip over randomly and not come back.

I won't claim that the Thunderbird is my longest disc. It isn't. However, it has easily become my most consistent/accurate flier. I also bag a champion Teebird, but I find the Thunderbird to be a better overall disc. Its a tad longer and less prone to flipping in headwinds than a Teebird.

Furthermore, I find the flight numbers printed on the disc to be spot on. 9, 5, 0, 2. No high speed turn and a fairly gradual late fade. Not a real sharp, dumpy fade like some other drivers. The Thunderbird is an absolute winner and I think everyone who throws Innova should make room in their bag for at least one of them.